Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pestana Golfe Resort

Pestana Carvoeiro Golfe - Estombar - Lagoa, 8401 - 908 Carvoeiro, Portugal

Review score

Based on 323 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    2.9
    The room was ready by 5pm.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ready by 5pm. Due to check-out at 7:30 we stay in room without cleaners only for 5 hours (except for sleep time) for the full price. There was no discount offered.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.8
    Lovely villa in a bad location for families without a car. Would be great for group of golf friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    V hard to find check in on arrival as it was 8pm and they move reception to a different hotel. Luckily our taxi driver was v good and drove us around to find it but it took 30 mins and asking staff in bar and on security several times. Would have been good to hear about this earlier in an email? I should have looked into hotel better as address is carverio but it is € 15 each way to get there. We didn’t have car which is what you need at this place. Nothing around. By time we got checked in we went to get food at 9pm but there was no restaurant open and no deliveries. We had to go to bar and get overpriced crisps for kids. Bar price is steep €4.50 for large local beer when only €1.50 to €2.50 on beaches in caervoria you are paying to be in middle of nowhere. Supermarket on site closes early and again is pricey. Disappointed that we were there for 10 days the cleaners came on day 2 but not again. Although they did good job when there. Disappointed that soap, toilet roll, bin bags are not provided in villa considering price we paid per night.

    The villa was amazing. High spec and v clean on arrival. Loads of crockery, glasses and pans. Lovely to have a private pool( we weren’t expecting it) staff we met pleasant and doing good job. Would have been perfect if in a place that was closer to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    2.5
    Terrible! Glad we were only staying for 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Terrible Customer Service 2. Dirty room 3. Tried to overcharge us 4. Having to wait 1 hour for the apartment key 5. Apartments far apart so had to drive between not within walking distance 6. Cot i requested not in room 7. Poor check in process 8. Allocated high level room up stairs when travelling with a baby 9. Parking not available outside aparment block 10. Silverfish in rooms 11. Room smelt of smoke 12. Over priced for what it is

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    The villa was great although the owner could provide some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The villa was great although the owner could provide some more kitchen knives to make food preparations easier. The mosquito net was missing from a couple of the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Peace and quiet that is not very common in August in many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We suppose to had service in the house for every 2 days but was not delivered as promised. Not a big deal but I would prefer to know upfront and plan for it.

    Peace and quiet that is not very common in August in many places in the region.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a one bed studio apartment. We booked for 2 adults and 2 children. We expected a pull out bed. There was no bed for us and my wife and I had to sleep on the sofas (uncomfortable !!)

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.3
    Very pleasant but spoilt by the above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Despite calling and emailing more than once was not able to get any information about actual apartment number or where to pick up keys. As it happens our flight was delayed by three hours and we did not arrive at property until after 11pm. When we arrived the resort it was poorly lit and signposted. Eventually a couple of security guards spotted us driving around and directed us to where we might be able to pick up keys. This we did and one of the security men drove in front of us to the apartment. The front door key did not fit. He then went off and got a masterkey to let us in. So it was about 1am before we were in to the apartment. We could not leave the apartment in the morning until someone brought us keys to lock door. It took several phone calls before a set of keys arrived about 10.30 am. This is a big complex with very poor signage. We asked at more than one reception building for a map of the site but none were available. Eventually the following day one receptionist gave us her only copy. However when we asked her to point out where she (and we were) she was unable to find it on the map. The day reception staff were much too casual and offered little help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.0
    All OK but....the pool towels !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    cleaning of hidden points (i.e. below sofa), room to room insonorization. Towels for the pools ar not supplied.........

    very new structure, opened on JAN, 2018. Rates per night are decent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Best golf holiday ever!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about this place.

    Beautiful villas in a beautiful place with a free shuttle bus to the pinta and gramacho courses. Courses were top class too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Incredible house, horrible bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Four-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really not comfortable. We woke up all with back pain (group of people in their 30’s)

    The villa was beautiful and big enough for more than 8 people.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    The apartment was great, in size and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The towels were not smelling nice and the kitchen utensils were not very well cleaned. I believe this issue should be checked.

    The apartment was great, in size and location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.3
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for one night only as we were moving into our own house the next day. The 2 bed apartment was dated - a decent size but as if it had been decorated some 30 years ago. Basic. And there was an awful smell inside. Fortunately as we arrived late, we went straight to sleep and left the next morning. We went to the club house for bfst. Ok but not of an international standard at all. Wouldn't recommend or stay again - sorry.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    2.9
    Disappointing and overpriced needing upgraded not a resort simply an apartment with no amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find the place eventually stopped at Gramscho resort and advused we were at the right place then couldn't find reception ( it was late and dark) so asked at the restaurant told reception closed wait for security who advised we were in another resort!!! Not one person for on resort contacted us never gave them proof of who we were. The beds were old smelled musty linen was very poor in that it was worn . No longer white and scratchy! Towels after we found them drying outside were thin grey and tiny. Laundered in the apartments machine and with detergent left by previous tenants! No air conditioning just a cheap broken fan for the whole apartment! Reception staff barely spoke when I checked out eventually said " everything was fine yes? As she handed me my receipt for payment.

    The pool was nice but it was only us and one other couple most days. The kitchen was well equipped and it's in a nice atea

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Decent, but room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some tiny bugs in the property only air conditioner in living room, hot and stuffy in the bedrooms

    the open spaced golf greenery was fabulous to wake up to each morning. Lovely bar and restaurant kind and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    3.3
    Very disappointing ! Watch out!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Watch out! 1- Pictures on the website do not correspond to the rooms you are booking ! 2- Equipments are very old und not at all maintained. Mattress is horrible, the couch forget it! Washing machine not working 3- Cleaning is not done. The apartment was completely dirty, kitchen utensils dirty and partially broken, kitchen itself not cleaned, drawers dirty, old towels ( some torn and with holes ), beds were not made, bed covers dirty 4- No air conditioning 5- no Wifi 6 - small tv that you can bearily see something from the sofa Summary : not worth at all. One of the worst experience I have had in a supposed 4 stars ! I do not recommend

    Pool is ok

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Good stay but the above mentioned problems with the property we're disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Four-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cupboards were broken no lock on shower room door. Shower tray wasn't draining. Outside surface were not cleaned.

    Position and outside view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Overall very pleased, would definitely book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough sun beds at communal pool

    Apartment was very close to the pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing place, wish I had more days there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms weren’t ready when we arrived...

    Amazing location, beautiful apartments.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Fabulously peaceful place and great accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    would have preferred a double bed and fluffy towels

    The location and the setting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need or refurb no soap , lights and radiators old

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Very relaxing and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was very dated along with the reception and restaurant.

    Beautiful location. Very quiet with a lovely shared pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    needed a car to reach the amenities

    well appointed accommodation well equipped and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    Boa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    5.4
    The staff we were very polite and attentive.
    • Couple

    The apartment was VERY tired and needed updating. The safe could not be used for the first two days, the kettle was broken and the bedding needed to be replaced.

    The staff we were very polite and attentive. The clubhouse and pro shop were very good. The evening meal was very good, however the breakfast was very poor.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.3
    Accommodation is a good size and clean - cleaners come every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    You really need a car. Taxi to main town is approx. 12 Euros one way. Wifi is only available in main reception area.

    Accommodation is a good size and clean - cleaners come every day. Pool was cleaned regularly. The area is a mix of owned villas/apartments and ones which are rented out. All communal areas are very clean and there are well kept gardens.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    10
    We like the place very much.
    • Group

    Everything

    We like the place very much.i will recommend this place to my friends

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: