Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel 4 stars

Estrada Monumental, Sao Martinho, 9000-098 Funchal, Portugal

#229 of 432 Holiday rentals in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 68 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in an excellent location within walking distance of the centre of town. The bus stops are conveniently situated outside the hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable ~ we had lovely views of Funchal and through the trees, of the sea. The gardens and the grounds are beautiful. The breakfast buffet was very good and had lots of choice. The staff were very efficient at replenishing items. All the staff we came into contact with were friendly, helpful and charming!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    A great week, lovely weather, just initially spoilt by the reception we had on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room that was allocated and the initial reception. Not being invited to the "owners' reception on Tuesday evening, just because we came via Booking.com. This was a golden opportunity for none RCI guests to talk to the rest of us about being shareholders. The invite to drinks around the pool on Wednesday to talk about Pestana Options was unnecessary as we had looked at it some time ago and we had had to decline the offer after I was diagnosed with terminal cancer, and as a consequence we lost our £400 deposit. One would assume that a record had been kept?

    Apart from the reception at the reception desk everyone strived to make us welcome. We have stayed here before and we are Pestana Gold card holders. It seemed to surprise the desk that we had a booking and said we are rather full!!! "You can move to The Village. No we will not as my wife is not keen on it..we have stayed there and love the gardens but not the accommodation. We booked a Junior Suite ..i.e.,one bedroom, bathroom and a separate shower. We got a one bedroom with a bathroom...and it was small. The balcony view was great. The small kitchen was not correctly equipped and we had to ask for items to be sent to the room. The rest of the week was as it should be. The food in the restaurants was very high standard and staff excellent. Cleaning staff excellent, take great pride in their work.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    enjoyed our stay overall but got off to a bad start with the attitude of the check in receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    ordered flowers for my wife on arrival, they did not arrive, spoke to man on reception who gave me a half hearted apology and had a dismissive attitude, saying the person who had received my e-mail was off sick, made no attempt to rectify the situation

    room was a little dated, location excellent, gardens and pool very good, breakfast excellent, cleaning staff and restaurant staff very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    We loved this hotel. Magnificent gardens and very well situated. We would stay here again.😃
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms in the room were dated, with a shower curtain which really didn't suit the rest of the hotel. Did find the breakfast selection not that good either. Very little to choose from . Stayed in Palma de Majorca also in a 4 star hotel . Aparthotel fontenellas and their breakfasts was outstanding!!

    The reception staff were exceptional and couldn't fault them at all. Very courteous and kind and very well spoken and helpful. Stunning gardens and close to Funchal town and close to the Lido and Ponte Gorda Swimming pools and sea. Loads of good restaurants with excellent food. We could walk everywhere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable hotel with buses and taxis very close by. Easy 30 to 40 minute walk to Funchal old town and even closer to the pleasant Lido area. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    View from balcony was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jaccussi was a bit cold. The coffee was not in keeping with the rest of the facilities. Car park was a bit hit and miss with regards to entering and exiting using card.

    View from balcony was excellent. The location was ideal for visiting Funchal and the rest of the island.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.5
    Nice and friendly environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had an apartment but it turned out not to really be an apartment. It was mainly a tea kitchen, so the cooking we planned for was cancelled. Not sure the partments are to be announced as apartments, the one I was in was a hotel room with a very tiny cooking facility as well as very limited cook ware. The staff is really friendly a great gesture on the island. But extremely ineffecient. Check in took ages...

    The staff is very friendly. The balconies are great and the gardens and pool area as well. Breakfast buffet was good. Nice hotel not a huge ugly building as others and for us that was important though it is a huge complex of two hotels grown into each other.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    6.7
    Nice facilities, but poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firealarm at 4am, going on for almost an hour, with no explanation, no guidance, and no excuses from staff. Poor cleaning and room service: We had room service lunch one day, and they forgot to bring cutlery and didn't remove the dirty dishes. We had an espresso machine in our room, but no coffee, except the two days when we complained, and our cups were left dirty every day. Reception staff not very accomodating. Old-fashioned safe system with locks and keys for rent at the reception.

    The private terrace (Executive suite). Fitness and spa. Nice pool size too, but freezingly cold (February)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    7.9
    A lovely relaxing stay.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor and the rooms are a little dated. Bar and restaurant prices are high Reception staff could be more welcoming and friendly

    The overall atmosphere and location Good value for money Now have wifi in all the rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    8.3
    THE STAY WAS VERY PLEASANT
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 21 nights

    BREAKFAST COULD HAVE MORE VARIETY OR CHANGE AND INTRODUCE SOME PORTUGUESE DISHES AND PITY WIFI DOESN'T WORK IN ROOMS

    THE STAY WAS VERY PLEASANT STAFF FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Lovely stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant for evening meals could have been more affordable and a menu to suit everyone as it was themed buffet. Which was a little expensive considering it is a family hotel .

    Lovely well appointed room with super view of the garden and pool and a side ocean view .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice size rooms (superior studio).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi availability limited to a couple of public areas. One of our allocated rooms had a limited view.

    Nice size rooms (superior studio). Good size pool. Excellent breakfasts included in price. Everything seemed clean and tidy and well maintained. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful staff, great breakfast, nice pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Wonderful staff, great breakfast, nice pool area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable weeks holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We understood that there was transport to downtown.

    Liked the style of the hotel, not high rise. Entertainment was a good standard

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Gym needs an update - equipment is ancient and not up to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Gym needs an update - equipment is ancient and not up to standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Niggling complaint. EVERY MORNING SHORTAGE OF CUPS. WHY?? Solution---- Buy more cups

    Fabric of hotel excellent. Gardens DELIGHTFUL.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    A very relaxing atmosphere in hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convienient. Bus stop outside. A stroll and in middle of eating places.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    Great facilities and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great facilities and very friendly staff. Would appreciate a couple of tea bags in the room itself.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Garden is too BEAUTIFUL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Liked everything

    Liked everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    Excellent stay at pestana miramar funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgraded room very good but no kitchenette facilities offered alternative room but not as good so stayed in room allocated.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    8.8
    fab accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heated outdoor pool. Pool bar closed

    Room very good and very clean

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.6
    Accommodation exceeded expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality and selection of Mains available at dinner in evening.

    Quality of snacks available at poolside at Pestana Village

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    9.2
    Good value for money, location to centre not bad, bus stop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Receptionist unwelcoming. A little outdated, needs revamp. Wifi in all rooms absolute necessity these days. Wifi did not work even in reception and staff seemed disinterested in having it fixed. Prefer a pot of coffee at breakfast not from machines.

    Good value for money, location to centre not bad, bus stop to airport right outside. breakfast quite generous.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    7.9
    Bus stop right outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unsmiling receptionist gave very unwelcoming impression when we arrived. Bedroom décor a bit tired - in need of re-vamp. 'Garden view' in our case also meant north-facing.

    Bus stop right outside. Close to a good selection of restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    6.7
    good firm mattresses, plenty of hot water, good showers and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    had to move rooms because of noisy neighbours and poor sound proofing. Only wi-fi at reception and even then too slow. Ancient cathode ray tube tv no decent channels no option to pay per view - missed Sky & BT Sports. No DVD player even.

    good firm mattresses, plenty of hot water, good showers and baths, nice location with lots of greenery. Breakfast offered wide range of foods, cooked or cold and fresh fruit salads but disappointing (machine) coffee.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    7.1
    Good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air con made a lot of noise, but didn't work effectively. Room small, and it was supposed to be a Superior, goodness knows what a standard one would be like. Fridge in kitchenette was small and didn't keep things cold

    Good facilities

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poolside meal was terrible, pillows were dreadful

    Location. Facilities. Good breakfast selection. Local bus stop just outside the hotel, also hop on hop off bus and airport bus.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room and building quality poor and very dated. In need of total refurbishment

    Location

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic location, lovely building and pool area and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing that we didn't like.

    Fantastic location, lovely building and pool area and nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    10
    Location, friendly and very helpful staff, hotel restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, friendly and very helpful staff, hotel restaurant excellent and beautiful island.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: