Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rua Jau, 54, Alcântara, 1300-314 Lisbon, Portugal

#82 of 370 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 308 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.5
    A fabulous place to unwind after our wedding weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The gardens and pools were lovely. We greatly enjoyed the lavish breakfasts and walking though the modern wing where the spa and our room was. Walking though the palace was such a treat! Will definitely recommend and would love to come back here. We were on our honeymoon and it was a beautiful place to be.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect place to relax for a couple of days. Nice and quite environment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The furniture near the swimming pole is poor and needs an up-date...

    The location. With a taxi the hotel is quite 'nearby' the centre. So, very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    9.6
    Staff, pool area, beautiful surroundings, opulent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The prices of lunch for the quality didn’t quite match up. €17 for a Caesar salad that was underwhelming...

    Staff, pool area, beautiful surroundings, opulent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    9.6
    Superb hotel experience in Lisbon !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    lack of plates and glasses at the breakfast buffet.

    Amazing pool and spa area, superb gardens, tranquility, luxury of its National Monument Building, very good wifi connections, friendly and helpful staff, room space and amenities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    10
    very happy with our choice to stay at the Pestana
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in particular.

    The staff were excellent. Good breakfast and facilities. We were there in the middle of a heatwave so the pool was a lifesaver. Overall, there are so many nice places to stay in Lisbon but we are happy we chose to stay here and would choose it for our next stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    6.7
    Staff polite and helpful, location is good as it sits to one side of lisbon, away from any noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Package
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom very small for a 5-star hotel, the room size is not the largest, however, your web page clearly states the m2 size, if there had been a photo of the bathroom we would have gone elsewhere. Additionally, extractor fan did not work.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.2
    We loved it and would come back anytime
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think as the hotel was so nice I was expecting more out of the steam room and sauna it's a bit small so in peak times I can imagine it gets busy but that's a minor issue if you're there to explore Lisbon.

    The breakfast was awesome the Palace is incredible yes it's far out of Central Lisbon but if you fancy a walk to burn off the breakfast you can and taxis are super cheap plus the hotel has a shuttle into town during the daytime

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely welcoming service, breakfast was good and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit far off from sightseeing places perhaps a complimentary shuttle to city centre can be arranged

    Lovely welcoming service, breakfast was good and the facilities complete with indoor pool Jacuzzi and sauna!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous place and a monument to art
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very cold room and all social areas very cold. Reception is very slow sometimes! I have stayed in this hotel many times!

    Fantastic palace!Fanastic breakfast!Very lovely staff. Fabulous gardens!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    9.6
    A magnificent hotel with world class service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some maintenance needed in the room. Small items like a loose socket and soap tray.

    Buffet breakfast was great and set you up for the day. The staff were very helpful and informative

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    10
    I would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The annex for the rooms didn't match the architecture from the outside so detracted in the back, but rooms were nice inside.

    Beautiful historic palace on beautiful grounds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    10
    A perfect getaway in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing! everything was perfect. I wished there were more food options but the restaurant and the bar were both great.

    A 19th century palace converted into a hotel with beautiful gardens, amazing breakfast setting and a fantastic indoor and out door pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    9.2
    A
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For a hotel in this pricerange I expect a better hair dryer and also the possability to make tea in the room The poolarea was not big enough

    Comfortable bed and a nice size room. Kind and serviceminded staff and a beatiful garden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    9.6
    Grounds, pools, building, great views
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit ponsey but after all it is a palace..... it was very good! hard to find anything walking. lots of taxis (but not very expensive in Lisbon)

    Grounds, pools, building, great views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    We had a delightful week
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was not anything that we could wrong

    The building was marvellous; the room very comfortable and the garden was immaculate. The staff, from the moment we arrived until we left were very cordial, helpful and professional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    Excellent Hotel with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel food and drink was a little on the pricey side. We only ate lunch and dinner there once. We bought in our own large bottled water, wine and snacks. Near by there is a brilliant restaurant/bar area called LX Factory - highly recommended.

    This hotel was exactly what we wanted.. excellent all round! We were staying in Lisbon for a week so wanted a hotel that we'd enjoy relaxing in, but was also easy distance to the city. perfect x Public transport is excellent - didn't use a taxi except to get to and from the airport. Wifi was brilliant. Breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    9.2
    An oasis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For those who wish to explore Lisbon, it is worth noting the hotel is not on direct public transport links. Taxis are relatively inexpensive - in fact for a family of four a taxi works out cheaper than public transport. Tram 15E, followed by 5-10min walk, is the closest, but Tram 15E also happens to be very busy as it is the key public transport link between centre of Lisbon and Belem.

    An oasis. Beautiful hotel in quiet neighbourhood. Friendly, helpful, excellent staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    10
    Perfect, fabulous ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hot breakfast was only like warm (an easy fix!) Lots of people reserve beds with towels and then the beds are empty for half the day.

    The most perfect hotel 😄 We loved every minute! Such helpful and friendly staff, beautiful grounds, fabulous rooms in the palace to explore and relax in, excellent facilities... I want to go back!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2017

    9.6
    Fairy tale type property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For a young couple it's a taxi to the hot spots in Lisbon and there aren't many food options within walking distance.

    The landscape and breakfast were both incredible. Amazing service and staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    8.8
    Had a good stay but not intimate enough for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -big hotel so breakfast and pool area were too busy -not enough lounge chairs by pool and too crowded (felt a bit like going to a public pool and not a 5 star hotel)

    -Staff were very friendly, especially reception -Main building is very beautiful -kids enjoyed pool area (indoor and outdoor pool) -beautiful garden -comfortable beds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast and the garden are wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The food and the service in the central pavilion near the pool are very poor, especially in combination with the perfect quality of the hotel in general. Even the staff is not as good as in the rest of the hotel. And the prices are even higher than roomservice?

    The breakfast and the garden are wonderful. A perfect combination of tranquility and a city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    5.8
    The restaurant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite afew things, I have already made a complaint to Pestana palace personally & written,I felt it was an over expensive disappointment

    The restaurant staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    10
    We would highly recommend Pestana Palace Lisboa to anyone travelling to Lisbon. It is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The scrambled eggs were a little watery for our tastes but the omelettes were perfect.

    The breakfasts were amazing. The special coffees is our way to start a new day especially when we are on vacation. The meals in the dining room were delicious. The service from all staff in the hotel was attentive and respectful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2017

    7.5
    love the place but make sure check the bills
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked two nights through booking.com and end of day bill came £30 pounds more than original price i booked for and they also charge 4 euro extra for the tourist charge per person.

    Bed was really comfy and really beautiful deco

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2017

    7.5
    Been to this hotel several times and like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was pretty chaotic both days of our visit. Queues, hot food that was cold etc. Not appetising either and certainly less impressive that. Previous visits

    Been to this hotel several times and like it

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    5.8
    The Phoenix should reborn from its ashes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not appreciate the unprofessionalismof the front desk! That cancel my friends booking!! Because she wanted to resale the room! ... i was coming from bali my friends were coming from angers we had plane our trip since 6month! My friends ended up in another hotel because that woment at front desk did not made her job A part from the architecture they cant pretend it s a palace... from palace they have only the name and the architecture... the rest does not really follow.. you ask to the concierge to send some medecine to a room it takes one houre... you arrive in your room no towels... etc etc

    The waiter at the breakfast! The old monument The garden The pool indoor outdoor!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2017

    10
    Worth every penny and then some!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wish they had coffee in the room. Otherwise perfect. I had stayed at another 5 star the weekend before, no comparison to the Pestana. Not even close.

    The place is beautiful but even if it was not estethically pleasing, the staff is so gracious. The service is so friendly and for a 5 star traditional property it's very kid friendly. My son walked around in his robe, attended the brunches and sat in the spa, all adult areas but the staff was very understanding and all went above and beyond to make us comfortable. Not one complaint and will book again. I was there for leisure but also to attend a conference. Service in both venues was impeccable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2016

    9.6
    Staying in is more fun then going out...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To eat in is very expensive.

    It is a beautiful setting, the staff are exquisitely trained, the food is great and the breakfasts generous. Hotel is elegant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2016

    8.3
    Excellent classical property, rooms need to be upgraded to justify price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with many classical properties, facilities tend to be a bit dated. Room was nice but nothing special for the money. A bath with a hand held shower is not exactly luxury.

    Top restaurant, great staff and service. Nice gardens and excellent pool.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2016

    9.2
    a memorable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is located outside of the 'hot' tourist spots, but it's not a problem as taxis and ubers are relatively cheap and abundant in Lisbon.

    The breakfast was superb, plenty of choice including Portuguese cheese, homemade jam etc. and the staff was very helpful. The staff at the pool and spa facilities were especially welcoming and of course, the entire complex and grounds are wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2016

    7.1
    I liked it for couple of days but I wouldn't go there again. It was an interesting experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The garden view we were promised was not exactly that and it was view of few plants. There was no ice machine anywhere and if you asked for ice it was 5 Euros. Our bed was combination of two unequal beds that had been joined together and was not comfortable. First night we ate sea food at the hotel restaurant and both of us got diarrhea. Breakfast was a OK. Windows should have screen to stop mosquitoes and bugs but there were no screens and we got bugs in our room.

    It was an impressive old palace with nice decor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2016

    10
    The best hotel in Lisbon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its wonderful. Please keep it up and we will return whenever we come to Lisbon

    The beautiful setting; the attentive staff, the excellent breakfast buffet, and great meals at your restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    7.5
    Bed was excellent, room very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was miles away, a very very long walk through long corridors.

    Bed was excellent, room very comfortable. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    7.5
    The building itself was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bell staff was not quick enough to meet us at our arrival.

    The building itself was superb.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An beautiful oasis in Lisbon with a large garden and pool, where you can rest and relax after a long day of visiting the town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    9.6
    A superb hotel in a superb city!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing that justifies mention

    It’s a real Palace and they made us feel like royalty. The breakfast is superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    changing rooms in the SPA are not clean.

    everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    10
    Awesome Palace !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Its great place with amazing staff and great hospitality! Top star hotel!! We would definitely come back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    9.6
    Marco incomparable, personal muy muy amable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Marco incomparable, personal muy muy amable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    8.8
    Bed is very comfortable and the hotel is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is not good.

    Bed is very comfortable and the hotel is beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    6.3
    Great location, room price isnt worth it though
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanliness was an issue, smelly bathroom, inexperienced staff

    Great historical location and a park around the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous luxury stay in Lisbon
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything especially the staff and food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful communal rooms and areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast standard was mediocre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    9.2
    A truly magnificent experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our cooked breakfast was cold and another couple pinched our table.

    It’s a beautiful hotel with wonderful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    9.6
    good rest in a castle
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    if you dont have rented cars, the access can be quite hard. but many ubers are there

    turn down service. good amenities , jacuzzi, Finnish sauna

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    7.5
    It was our wedding, arrived very late and no chance for late check out so we couldn´t enjoy fully.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    no bathrobe

    the bed was incredible

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    8.8
    The palace is wonderful (living Room, garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service was sometimes a bit slow

    The palace is wonderful (living Room, garden...)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    7.5
    swimming pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    swimming pool area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2017

    8.3
    A little oasis in lisbon, beautiful and relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outdoor pool was very cold, no eggs for breakfast. Pool bar expensive

    A little oasis in lisbon, beautiful and relaxed. Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    8.3
    beautifull property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location and amenities doesnt make it all, staff is lacking of service culture.

    beautifull property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    5.8
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Contracted food poisoning and did not receive a very helpful or sympathetic response on notifying them

    Beautiful hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel but location is a bit far from centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food served in coffee shop was not good.

    To have breakfast outdoor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    8.3
    Staff was very friendly and super helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was very friendly and super helpful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    9.6
    Perfection in a Palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The staff was amazing.They also lend you a phone to use for calls and internet! Great feature.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    5.4
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattress and pillow are terrible. The elevator never works.

    Nice place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    9.2
    Food.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    7.9
    Superb setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Long walk to your rooms!

    Beautiful setting - very comfortable and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2017

    7.9
    The service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    To expensive to have hotelrooms in 2 sperate building, and not in the main historical building, U better explained that better

    The service

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2017

    9.6
    Best service ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds are too soft hair drier is lame

    The staff are very helpfull

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast was extraordinary and the staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was extraordinary and the staff very supportive for our little family

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2016

    10
    A must stay in Lisbon!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2016

    8.8
    The building is magnificent -truly a historic national...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is quite a way from the centre of Lisbon but set about midway between the centre and the tourist sites like the Torre de Belem and the Mosteiro dos Jeronimos. And anyway, taxis in Lisbon are very cheap.

    The building is magnificent -truly a historic national monument. The hotel is, nevertheless extremely comfortable. It is very pleasant to sit reading your newspaper or a book in a room that Marie Antoinette would have approved of. Our room was a good size,very comfortable, and had a beautiful view over the gardens

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2016

    10
    The room was very nice with a lovely view of the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had reservations for the main dinning room for dinner.We had planned on having the seven course tasting menu plus the suggested wine.We received a phone call at 3pm which we didn't understand and didn't realize our reservation had been cancelled until we arrived. All I can say is it wasn't what we had planned. Children under 4 were screaming up and down the corridors and in and out the rooms. It was really awful.the staff tried to control them without much success. I hope the parents etc enjoyed their dinner because we certainly did not.

    The room was very nice with a lovely view of the garden. The hotel itself is very interesting because it really is an old palace. I can't wait to stay again and hopefully we won't have the ghastly dinning room experience.

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2016

    9.6
    The staff was helpful and friendly, like everyone seems to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I thought we would be staying in a palace but the hotel rooms are in large modern wings connected by long hallways off of the actual palace building. The location is a little remote, which means it was very quiet but also a &-10 euro can ride to the major downtown neighborhoods of Lisbon.

    The staff was helpful and friendly, like everyone seems to be in Portugal. We checked into a room with a view of The street and a nearby building and when we asked for a better view, they accommodated is on the second night to a room with a view of their beautiful gardens.

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2016

    10
    The staff was superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was superb! This is one of the most beautiful hotels I've ever stayed at. Simply gorgeous, with lots of comfort and history. Do not hesitate to stay here!

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2015

    8.3
    Wonderful facility, great service.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Hike up the hill from the convention center was much more strenuous than expected

    Wonderful facility, great service. Staff went out of their way to be helpful on several occasions

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2015

    5.0
    Beautiful historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Advertised city views- which wasn't true. Actual rooms we small, bath tub but no real shower & hallways felt like walking in an airport gangway. Had three day reservation and told them immediately that I would leave the next morning - they still charged me for three full nights. Quite outrageous!!Would not recommend to anyone- they are charging for a 4-5 star experience and delivering 3 stars. If you want luxury then stay at the lapa palace!

    Beautiful historic building

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Standard and superior rooms are in the new building which is not as beautyful as the old building. Anyway, the rooms are still really nice. It is true hotel is near some air traffic lanes but this is not that much a noisy as some says.

    Beautiful hotel. Kind and helpful staff. Terrace is really nice place to have the breakfast outside. Gardens are beautiful. Pool facilities are great. The location is quiet and not that far from city center.

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2015

    10
    We started our honeymoon in this wonderful place and were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We started our honeymoon in this wonderful place and were very pleased with our choice. We even didn't want to go out to the city, as hotel had a great infrastructure!

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2015

    8.3
    The staff were all extremely helpful, attentive and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We made the mistake of eating in the restaurant on the first night. It is outrageously overpriced with starters beginning at thirty euros. I know it is a five star hotel but the food was not of a standard required for the prices charged - it was style over substance with the soup starter very bland and flavourless and the main meat courses ok, but a little overdone.The bar menu was almost as expensive. There are no cafes or restaurants in the local vicinity so if you wish to stay local there is no alternative. Except for breakfast we didn't eat at the hotel again. The breakfast offered lots of choice with lovely breads, pastries, meats and cheeses and a cooked selection, but the juice was watered down so much it barely resembled fruit juice and the coffee was weak and not good quality. Again not what I would expect from a luxury hotel. We had much better coffee and juice for breakfast at two star establishments we stayed in en-route to Lisbon. Also the rooms were not well soundproofed against each other. While our neighbours were not noisy, we were woken each morning at 7am by their alarm which sounded like it was in our room(they were in Lisbon on business), and their conversations in their room could be easily heard in ours.

    The staff were all extremely helpful, attentive and friendly and our room was large, luxurious and very comfortable. We had a room with a garden view terrace which was lovely. The grounds of the hotel are beautifully maintained and there are some lovely quiet areas to sit around in the gardens. The old palace section of the hotel is impressively grand and sumptuously decorated - it is all very beautiful.

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2015

    10
    our second stay in Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    our second stay in Pestana Palace Lisboa Hotel & National Monument. Wonderful staff as ever. Excellent outdoor poor - not cold! unlike others [for some reason most pools in Portugal are really code even in mid summer!]

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2015

    8.3
    The service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to get up at 4 for early flight..Guy at reception tried to charge us for extra night. Had a strange guy screaming his head off in the kitchen, before bringing our tea/coffee & cake. No big deal really enjoyed our stay there

    The service..the breakfast..the unpretentious class of this place...The lovely weddings we saw partying there..the Grounds everything is 5 Star

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2015

    6.3
    The venue is stunning and I take it this is what you pay for.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Prices for food and drink are very high with no apparent value for money. The quality of food is simply not good enough for a 5 star. The service in the bar is slow. The Internet connectivity is sub-standard and did not meet our requirements.

    The venue is stunning and I take it this is what you pay for. Garden and pool are very nice.

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2015

    9.2
    To rest and wonder around in casual and comfortable clothes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from the building services plant was at times slightly disturbing but we understand the hotel management is dealing with the problem.

    To rest and wonder around in casual and comfortable clothes in the most elegant interior and the splendid gardens, and be looked after by a bunch of very pleasant and helpful staff.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: