Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4 stars

Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia,31, Sao Martinho, 9000-001 Funchal, Portugal

#14 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 363 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay at Pestana Promanade, it was our second stay with Pestana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not too comfortable. King beds are two beds side by side with a seem down the middle, makes it uncomfortable when one bed sinks to ine side.

    Breakfast options great. Bath towels were fluffy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice pool and garden, bus stop very close, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average international breakfast, small TV, first evening we got a bad room but next day we got a better one.

    Nice pool and garden, bus stop very close, friendly staff, nice view for the ocean, free parking near.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Liked the pool layout & the availability of beds and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom furniture & decor well past its best, plus most rooms decorated in an ugly green colour scheme. Ugly pink carpet in the corridors. The entertainment was awful, might be OK for a care home but nothing else! Want happy about not being given a welcome drink of coffee, especially as we were early arrivals and had to wait for our room.

    Liked the pool layout & the availability of beds and umbrellas; also plenty of outdoor seating areas in the shade. Large bedroom and bathroom, nice food, very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stuff and great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit expensive snacks and drinks at the buffet by swimming pool (Deck) and in the bar in the hotel. It is better to use the "happy hours" between 17 and 19 = the prices are ok.

    Great location, great views from the room, silent hotel, excellent service and stuff, good and spacy place around the (great!) swimming pools, delicious breakfasts and champagne throughout the sunday' s breakfasts...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice Hotel in Funchal 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Selection of vegetables could have been better at breakfast.

    The hotel is situated on the sea cost, premium rooms are large and comfortable. Hotel staff is friendly, overall good breakfast, nice swimming pool, small fitness room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Once we got into our new, upgraded room, then it was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a side sea view room and ended up in what appeared to be a basement. There was a metal cage on the window with no natural light when closed, with a balcony that opened directly onto the public pathway. We asked to be moved to another room but they didn't have one so we ended up paying more to upgrade because we could not stay in that cramped room.

    Once we got into our new, upgraded room, then it was a better experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    the room has a wonderful view to the swimming pool and the sea with palm trees right in front of our eyes. The outdoor pools are very large although the water was a bit too cold for us to swim in. (There are others who swim.) But there is the indoor heated pool in the spa which is big enough for a good swim. The sauna is opened every day at 4.30pm and it's really good after a long day especially after hiking. The hotel is in a good area by the promenade where one can take a stoll along the seaside in the evening and visit different kiosks or restaurants there. Nearby is also a conveniently located and rather newly built shopping mall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.1
    Very good hotel, only let down was uncomfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very hard & double was just two singles pushed together not zipped together.

    Breakfast & evening buffet very good. Good location with access to promenade. Sea views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice, clean spa hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    - the breakfast buffet had a great selection but was bland - the guests from the room above us woke us up almost every morning between 6 and 7 o'clock by moving the furniture (probably the twin beds) around on the parquet floor and thus making a lot of noise - no coffee and tea facilities in the room - the mattresses were a bit too hard - we would have liked the spa facilities to be open until 10 p.m. or at least 9 p.m., most of the days we didn’t get back to the hotel early enough to use them - the shower in our bathroom turned suddenly hot or cold - no real sea view from the 1st floor, only partial sea view through the trees in the garden. The garden looks very nice though (I added a photo of the view from the balcony) - no elliptical or any other kind of bike in the gym

    Beautiful hotel, very clean, good location with a bus station in front of the hotel and many restaurants and a supermarket near, great sea view from the public areas, beautiful and well-groomed garden, friendly staff, nice spa facilities, fridge in the room, lots of fruits for breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Views over pool and garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom furniture was looking a bit tatty and in need of replacing.

    Views over pool and garden. The indoor pool & jacuzzi were very pleasant. The A La Carte restaurant was a very enjoyable & relaxing experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet cold since too much prepared beforehand.

    Very comfortable bed. Breakfast buffet very good but sometimes cold. Staff very accommodating and friendly. Lovely spa. This was our second vacation at this resort. Would not hesitate to return for a third time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    A very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As others have pointed out, perhaps the decor in the rooms are beginning to look a little dated, but really this is a minor matter when everything else is taken into account.

    The staff at this hotel were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Even when we immediately asked on arrival for a change of room they dealt with the matter immediately and we were given a room much more to our liking. The room was spacious, the beds comfortable, the breakfast plentiful and fresh and the hotel is immaculately looked after. A very pleasant stay and overall terrific value for money in comparison to other hotels in the vicinity.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel that is good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    It would have been useful to have more plug sockets in the room for charging my various devices. I also missed having tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    The room was very comfortable, and had a nice view over the pool and out to sea. The hotel Wifi was excellent, and the breakfast was very good. There were also good transport links to the center of town and to and from the airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    I checked-in a bit earlier as expected which was no problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The check-in was a bit poor. I didn't get proper introduction about the property and the offered services. The pool was partially blocked by a construction site, which was right in front of my room terrace.

    I checked-in a bit earlier as expected which was no problem.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice and easy hotel with great comfort and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very big variety in breakfast - I think they should lower the quantity and raise the quality. High prices in the outdoor bar for which you get low-medium quality food.

    Nice hotel by the ocean - give you a grat view of the promenade from which you can walk to most other areas like nice restaurants and bars, Family friendly and great comfort. Friendly and smiling staff. Big pools and nice facities like indoor pool, spa and sauna.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.1
    - The amazing view from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The coffee at breakfast - There was a construction going on by the pool the whole Saturday; they were renewing the tiles. People come to a hotel like this to relax and possibly enjoy the day by the pool especially on a Saturday. I think if the construction has to be done that day, they need to find a way to compensate for the inconvenience. Even from our room, it was quite loud.

    - The amazing view from the room - The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel let down a bit by it's food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food distinctly average. Don't buy the buffet deal! Renovation work on the pool for our entire stay 😓

    Well appointed reasonably priced rooms. Friendly helpful staff. Lovely location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    We got an upgrade to a suite room which was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Spa could be a little bit cleaner (especially floors).

    We got an upgrade to a suite room which was fantastic. Geat beds, stunning views. Personnel very friendly. Spa area (with sauna) included in the price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.1
    Hotel was ok, but needs a renovation, not top cleanliness. Pool area & spa very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Hotel definitely needs a renovation - my room had all sorts of stains/scratches on walls/floor, cleaning ladies appeared to just swap towels, duvets and ashtray but not doing any cleaning at all. And dirty windows, dirty windows all around the building. There are two lifts available when building got 7 or so floors, and sometimes you need to waste couple minutes just waiting for them to arrive or going up/down with people that don't know how lifts operates. To be honest, I was told I can use staff stairs, but there was garbage point near to them, so not great smell. During second week of my stay they started painting walls on my floor and smell of paint was terrible, I just couldn't breathe freely. For some reason, jacuzzi in spa one day had heated water, other day coldish, which makes no sense. Mojito at pool bar was awful and expensive.

    Very nice pool area and spa, nice location, not very crowded in October, smiling staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.4
    Disapointed with the hotel. Wouldnt book another Pestana hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    After booking a Sea View room, it would have been nice to have been offered one. The hotel do not have any classic double sea view rooms. They suggested I contact Booking.com and inform you that your room information about this hotel was incorrect. We were allocated a room overlooking the street opposite a noisy hotel and nightclub. We were not offered an alternative room for the whole of our 11 night stay. It seems that once the hotel have your payment, they forget about you even though they were aware that a quiet room was originally requested.

    Breakfast o.k. pretty standard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved the stay and can't find a fault.

    The place was beautiful - the pool area was very clean and I loved all the foliage! The view from the balcony was just stunning, firstly of the pool area and gardens, and then the stunning sea background. Our stay was part of our honeymoon and the staff upgraded us to a junior suite and decorated the room beautifully with fresh Bougainvillea. I love animals so was thrilled to see so many lizards running around the gardens, as well as the beautiful Monarch butterflies! The surrounding area of the hotel was also lovely - nice promenade, bars, restaurants. I did think, as we were walking along the promenade, that we had picked the nicest hotel from what I could see from the outside. Other hotels seemed too crowded in the pool area. The staff were very friendly and attentive during breakfast and dinner and most on reception; one particular member of the reception, whose name we unfortunately did not catch, was helpful when we encountered a problem with our luggage. He did not stop until all was resolved.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant. Staff were very helpful and service superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The coffee at breakfast from the machines was horrible but when asked for a jug of coffee instead was better . The coffee in the poolside bar is the best.

    Beds and pillows were very comfortable.The apartment was amazing and very clean with excellent facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.8
    Good location friendly staff but looking a bit worn in places
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning very poor pool area requires attention paths surrounding pool very uneven with patches plastic grate around pool area broken in places which you can hurt your feet on also seating area outside restraunt seat covers worn and dirty. Little facilities for young children

    Location and friendliness of staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel, let down by minor things, apart from the lifts which would be costly to install more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Only two lifts means at times long waits. Air conditioning was broken in our room for the length of our stay. Some days the room was not serviced very well and we had to request items from the reception. Towels for pool and bathroom are very tired.

    Bar staff. Breakfast and staff. Pool gardens and staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Very nice, modern, clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice, modern, clean hotel. Staff were very helpful. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite at check in, which was completely unexpected and the room was beautiful. The hotel is in a great location - right on the promenade and excellent views. Lots of lovely restaurants close by. Easy to get to from airport (the airport bus stops right outside). Would definitely return!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner buffet.

    We stayed in the resort for 3 days (young couple). We went to celebrate my birthday, and the staff, at the time of check in, noted (when she asked for my personal documents, for the reservation) that my birthday was one day before and asked if we were celebrating! After the check in, we went for a walk and when we came back there was a surprise! They really know how to treat the guests!! For me, the Staff and Hotel are amazing! Wonderful view, location and amenities. We had dinner at the hotel (buffet) and it was not as good as the rest of the services from the Hotel. I definitely will come back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small complaint was often no staff at pool bar and no snacks served after 3pm.

    Excellent location. Staff very friendly. Fantastic breakfast with a very good choice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.6
    Convenience and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    In house evening eating unappealing

    Convenience of nearby very good restaurants for eating out and bus stop nearby for frequent service to Funchal, and yellow/red bus services

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel with beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities. Outside pool not heated & was rather cold.

    Lovely hotel with beautiful views. Great breakfast & rooms are great too. Free safe in room. Very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Nice relaxing end to a 5 days walking trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm not a fan of Buffet style dinners but the food was fine and varied.

    This Hotel is well placed. Far enough away from Funchal centre but close enough to walk along the promenade into town. Our forth floor room, with balcony, overlooked the outdoor pool and ocean. Very nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    A week in paradise away from the British winter. Superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool outdoor was a little to cold for this time of year

    Breakfast, location, facilities, cleanliness, staff. Hard to fault this hotel. A very enjoyable stay

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    5.4
    The good reviews are overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Very overrated hotel - they expect you to complain during the stay to get a good service - Very tiny terrace to pay for an uplift for sea sight (1,5 m2), it only fits 2 chairs, really not like described. - room was not clean, a lot of dust under the bed - every day the cleaning lady made mistakes with towels and blankets - when crowdy, they miss an additional coffee machine and toaster, long waiting times - swiming pool outside is not heated well -sauna is closed during the day

    Quality breakfast Location is very good Wellness facilities are good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    6.7
    Sadly let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That my prior emailed request, for a mattress topper and feather pillow, was not carried out despite being assured it would be - it meant I got no sleep on the very hard bed and suffered great pain which should have been avoided! This was eventually corrected, but no apology! The shower head was not fixed on the pole and had to be hand held - very difficult when showering and hair washing! The towels were extremely thin and hard and had seen better days - not what I expect from a 4* hotel!

    The Spa and particularly the masseuse Steven - he was excellent! The location on the promenade with easy access to town and local restaurants. The breakfast was a feast of variety. The views from the balcony were stunning! The pool and garden areas were lovely.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.6
    Our first Pestana experience - won't be our last!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The filling in the pillows felt odd - like little bits of chopped up foam, but we got used to them. Shame, because the bed itself was super-comfy!

    From our balcony we had a beautiful view of pool and ocean beyond. The mattresses were wide & comfortable and the shower was one of the best we have ever had in a hotel. Lovely friendly atmosphere thoughout the property, much of it generated by smiling, helpful employees.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    A brilliant Winter Break, with plenty sunshine, flowers, and relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal in hotel okay, but plenty nicer restaurants for eating nearby. Not enough hooks to hang things in bedroom!

    The hotel generally. Location, weather, flowers, room with sea view balcony.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    6.3
    Rooms don't live up to the promise of the rest of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa pool was ok, jacuzzi was too cool, area in general wasn't kept warm enough for a relaxation area. Treatments were good but wait for the offers as like all hotels that charge far too much they come round with cards with offers every day.

    Breakfast had a good choice, even a few gluten free bits. Pool was nice. Location was good but quite a long way from the old town, about an hours walk! But if you want to be near the sea, not beach, then it's a great option. Not many lifts so at busy times was a pain. Rooms vary greatly, we had a superior sea view , I questioned whether it was a superior room as it looked exactly the same as a classic double, I was told that anything fourth floor and above was classed as superior! Hence you pay extra for a higher up view of the sea☹️ , which meant a longer wait for the lift as you would be less likely to use the stairs. Some rooms however have a double balcony and some have a kitchen!! Go figure, guess if your German you get put in a higher speck room! Well that was the impression I got. Beds were not comfortable, didn't sleep that well. Aircon wasn't cool enough so had to open the patio doors and my husband kept getting bitten. Hotel looks impressive from the outside that faces the sea, hotel lobby and surrounding area look good but rooms are poor in comparison. I often find this is the case though, they lure you in to a false sense of glamour and let you down on the basic creature comforts that you actually pay for. Wouldn't stay there again .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, lacks atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we had a big balcony, there was no furniture to fill it - could have done with sun loungers. Would have liked tea and coffee making facilities - we ordered tea for the room one morning and it cost €13!! Also, the main bar area lacked atmosphere, as did the reception, both quite clinical unlike other pestana hotels we have stayed in on the island.

    The room was lovely, huge balcony! Location is excellent and pool area was stunning.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    3.3
    I can't adv
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked rooms with sea view, got roomS with pool view. Instead of non smoking got only smoking rooms with terrible smell. It takes,3 timeS to change rooms. In both rooms find ants. In each room walls had dirty oily look spots. Only outside hotel and in front entrance hotel looks decent. Outdated and need renovation in each room. Staff is very snubby. Breakfast has a very limited selection, feels like a 3 star hotel.

    Travel advisor

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    Big, clean, well-run hotel with pleasing layout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Some small things could've been better: How about tea/coffee making facilities or a chair or two in the room? How about some music stations on the TV?

    Big, clean, well-run hotel with pleasing layout. Nice pool/garden area. Big room with big bathroom. Bathroom even has window to the nice little private balcony.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.3
    Fabulous short break .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing we could find that was not great at this superb hotel was the chairs in the dining room , although modern they are very low to the table and this made for an uncomfortable eating experience but only a very minor fault .

    The staff were brilliant , from the receptionists to the cleaners all were cheerful and pleasant

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    Room was very spacious and fantastic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All really great. Couldn't think of anything we didn't like.

    Room was very spacious and fantastic views. Excellent breakfast and buffet at night really good. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely spa and treatments.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Have to pay for parking if you want to use hotel car park which is a bit odd experience. Not enough classes for hotel guests ( only aqua classes at really odd times). Although the hotel is nice and clean but in need of some serious refurbishment as it's fading slightly. Mattress and pillows are terrible and need some serious upgrade. Bathrobe/hotel slippers should be part of each room due to an indoor spa/swimming pool. There is a charge of 10 euros for some rooms. On top the robes are way too small. Not really engaging evening activities for younger couples.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Go the extra mile. Great selection for breakfast, good indoor swimming pool/sauna. Amazing location with great views. Hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    5.0
    we where asked to change hotel to the Pestana CR7 in Funchal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    we where asked to change hotel to the Pestana CR7 in Funchal,this hotel is in our opinion not suitable for retired people as it is 60 Mts Away from Cruise Ships will there engines going all the time,no sleep no views Totally Disapointing . Barry Fryer.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel disappointed on arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although well compensated ( upgrade and voucher) we were sad to be given a noisy ground floor back room overlooking the bus stop on arrival for our 1st night as hotel was full ( our reservation was 2 months prior)

    Lovely room with beautiful sea view and pool was fabulous Staff happy to help and happy at work!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    A relaxing, comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room, a very minor discomfort!

    Upgraded to suite, staff very friendly, great sea view and access to centre of Funchal via bus or walking.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice position within walking distance of good selection of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea view on 1st floor restricted due to height of Palm trees. Room in need of some decoration and toilet seat in need of replacement.

    Nice position within walking distance of good selection of restaurants. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.3
    A great choice in Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I would rate the room just under 4 stars as the room that we were in was nice but slightly tired and in in need of an update.

    Good location with brilliant views. Got a free upgrade to a sea facing view. Staff were friendly and had no issues during our stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel with proffessional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The most inconvenient thing was the cockroach in the room, with whom we fighted couple of nights, but understood they are usual creatures there and its not connected with bad hygene.

    Everything!!! Great pool area, close to the ocean, nice news, relatively new hotel. Great staff, always helpful, real professionals.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Excellent Hotel in Every Way
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about this hotel.

    Bright modern hotel in an excellent location with superb ocean views. Very helpful, friendly and professional staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Good resort. Great pool and facilities. A little crowded with British holiday makers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many package holiday makers

    Pool area very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    Stay in Funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are pretty basic.

    Breakfast is very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    We like our creature comforts +were not disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We tried the buffet dinner but were not impressed.

    Room was quite,clean +comfortable. Excellent choice at breakfast.5 star atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    The room was spacious and the patio associated to the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and the patio associated to the room was spacious and gave a first class view of the ocean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee machine in room lack of electric sockets

    Not over busy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.5
    It did not matc my expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was ok but need to be renovated, it was looking worn and outdated. And the price does not matc the room standard.

    The total evaluation is ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    I loved this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike in my opinion.

    Absolutely everythin

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Best views on the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Buffet. Wonderful pool and great views. Made friends with the Eagle trainer on the premises to keep away any seagulls. Very pjrofessional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    Sort stay but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The veiw from the room I added pictures of veiw.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Indoor pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indoor pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.8
    The view from the balcony looking out over the swimming pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view from the balcony looking out over the swimming pool and to the ocean. The rooms were clean and an excellent choice food at breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable excellent facilities and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy building work around the pool for a good part of our stay.

    The facilities and the location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Great place for exploring Funchal and for relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spectacular sea view from the room balcony. Excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    It's located in a nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was really bad and we had a strange smell in the room tje while time which was't really nice.

    It's located in a nice area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot

    Very good standard of hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    all nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    tea making facilities needed for uk people in room

    all nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.7
    Location, size, nice wiev
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    Location, size, nice wiev

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Relaxing & comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room service daily, friendly helpful staff, beautiful gardens relaxing areas overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    A very enjoyable and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find any faults.

    Superb location, excellent breakfast, friendly & helpful staff. Very good facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Gorgeous hotel, friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was amazing. Our room was clean and tidy. The view from it was breathtaking :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Very old beach towels!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Very old beach towels!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Beautyful hotel, lovely Climate, friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airco is nog very powerful.

    Te view!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful and dramatic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC didn't get room cool enough.

    Breakfast buffet was wonderful. Loved the waffles and sunny up eggs. Selection was extensive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food was very expensive in the hotel and not great

    very clean , excellent housekeeping staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    in order to move to floor 4 instead of ground floor i was asked to pay 25 euro per night

    great view, very good room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    situation de l'hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    situation de l'hotel gentillesse du personnel qualité des services

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: