Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pestana Alvor Praia Premium Beach & Golf Resort 5 stars

Praia dos Três Irmãos, 8501-904 Alvor, Portugal

#8 of 11 hotels in Alvor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 321 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    4.2
    Poor and expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite a costly hotel for what you get. The room was poor and not very clean, and the staff weren't particularly amenable. I'd rate it a 3 star if I were being generous.

    Facilities such as the pool and sauna were good, but overall not a great experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    A complete silence and comfort worthy of a successful vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It would be better to have a better description of the hotel, so that you know, for example, that although you buy a sea view room, you do not see the sea yet because the floor you took is too low!

    Pestana Alvor Praia is located in southern Portugal, about 4 hours by bus to Lisbon. It is part of a group of Pestana Hotels (Pestana = Eyelash) (in Alvor: Pestana Alvor Praia, Pestana Delphim, Pestana Alvor Atlântico) where you can reach only by taxi (between 10 euros and 15 euros from Portimao bus station, where leave the bus). It is therefore important to tell the taxi driver the hotel's full name! The most elegant is Pestana Alvor Praia: salons with various destinations, swimming pool, lift to the beach (!). Thousands of thanks and gratitude to Mchaela, the head of the reception at Pestana Alvor Praia :: she solved our room overlooking the sea, so that I can always see the ocean, was my guide to discovering the best restaurants, helped solve small whims! It was always one step ahead of my touristics wishes! Breakfast was great, few large salon, a discreet live piano music, morning champagne (for "restoration"!). See in photo , the tail for a personalized omlet! Pestana Alvor Praia is 5 minutes (and 5 euros) from an Intermarche or from the Capacho Restaurant in Alvor, a 30-minute walk to a long (2.5 km) wooden walkway to Port. From the beach you can ride in a small adventure among the huges rocks perforated by waves!.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Positively Surprised!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel has a very special Charakter and we were positively surprise with the facilities. Its an older renovated hotel what makes it very unique. Beds were comfortable and we were happy with our garden view that we could also see the Sea. Looking forward to visiting the hotel again. The bathrooms in pink marble are stunning...!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice pool - good sun loungers - good location - nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Overpriced water at the bar (1 litre cold water 5 EUR - no service with this no cups with ice etc). Lack of pool facilities for very young children (under 2). Pool bar closed early while we were still enjoying the sun - little food for children after this. The level of service and the extras that make you feel pampered and welcome were below what we have experienced at other hotels (mostly in Greece) - leaving us with the feeling that it was expensive for what we got. Accounting system used whereby they place daily pending transactions onto your credit card account caused significant problems for us when we left as they did not cancel these transactions before charging the bill so their transaction was declined - this took several days to sort out - I used a Monzo account who say this method of accounting should work if the merchant cancel their transactions correctly. While we understand that late checkout cannot be guaranteed - we asked and were told we could have a room (with a charge 24 EUR I think) and suggested we come back later to book. Later on we were told there was no possibility and it was suggested that we shower in the showers by the pool. We have never experienced this at any other hotel - if not available we were always offered a room for an hour or so (free) to shower and freshen up.

    Nice pool - good sun loungers - good location - nice restaurants on the beach within easy walking distance. Dinner and lunch staff very helpful. Very helpful to one of our party who was vegan - tofu burgers were on the menu half way through the stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Perfect, we would like to make a new reservation for next year in the same Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Everything was so perfect, that we don nopt have any quarrel or some negative critics. Any person we contacted for help or some service treated us with a maximum of friendlyness, especially to two porters. One, even conductyed us personally to an other entry to the Hotelproperties, leading to the next village of Paiínha.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Relaxed easy and effortless
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little far out from the main village but panaromic views make up for it.

    Location super, room brilliant - cleaned every day and great turn down service. Staff very helpful and overall brilliant epxerience

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    We went there on our honeymoon and had a great stay, would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The pillows on the beds were bigger than me and not very comfy.

    The staff are friendly and helpful and happy to go out of their way to make your stay exceptional. The hotel has a lift directly down to the beach. The pool is kept clean and pH balanced. You can get fresh towels all day. The food is excellent. The rooms are clean. The atmosphere is warm and pleasant. It is close walk to town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    3.3
    Located by the ocean, just like many other hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is at most 3 star hotel, it’s dated, with subpar customer service (front desk). We booked a twin room with garden view but were presented with a queen bedroom. Had to upgrade to sea view room to get 2 twin beds. They took advantage of us, don’t let them do it to you!

    Located by the ocean, just like many other hotels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    wonderful beach and ocean view with reasonably good acess for those with limited mobility
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    very disappointed when arrived room was to have unobstructed ocean view it was on the 6th floor the concrete solid railing was so high i could not see above the railing when seated they gave me a room on the 5th floor where there was a metal railing that you could see through it was smaller but the view which is my main reason for booking this property was amazing the manager was helpful and interested in making me satisfied

    the view from the room the pool deck and the elevator to the beach also lots of nice beachfront restaurants within walking distance beach spectacular and not crowded and very clean with lots of waves

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable and pleasant stay. I would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered a steak to the room and it was very tough, but I was so hungry I ate it anyway and didn't complain. I arrived at 12pm with two tired toddlers and was told room wasn't ready, I had to wait until 3pm. Service at pool area for lunches is extremely slow so be prepared to wait.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful upon any request I put to them. Great selection at breakfast, my kids loved the fresh pancakes, eggs and smoked salmon. Indoor pool lovely and private. Hotel spotlessly clean throughout. Very safe and secure feel about the place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    Hotel is fab but staff very unfriendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some refurbished. Toilet seats very old and chipped. Pool area was old. Staff were so unhelpful. Reception staff were rude as were all other staff we met. They all seemed so unhappy. Its not something you would expect in a 5 star hotel.

    Large rooms, spa, breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.8
    Okay, but been to better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Still waiting for credit card holding charge (£178) to be returned after a week. Tried to get me to pay an additional £500+ even though I'd already paid for two rooms! One member of Reception staff in particular was condescending. Put me off returning.

    Housekeeping was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.8
    Great staff, but not 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast one morning, was like the porridge and beans had been put out without being cooked. Asked for ice from room service 3 times..... We're still waiting. Rooms weren't cleaned properly, got given a pillow case with marks on and glasses were just out back and not cleaned. Room 415 was also boiling. We had to sleep most nights with the door open.

    Great location on the end of the boardwalk. Made for a lovely walk into town. Staff were very friendly. Great coffees in the bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    Best hotel in Alvor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Piano playing at breakfast was a little bit disturbing , coffee not drinkable, freshly squeezed orange juice would be expected in a 5 star hotel. Also an English or German TV program we would have liked. Showers at dressing room/gym area have no soap, shampoo and hairdryer. Please look after your aquarium left side of bar, hardly any water! Must have leaked out, mentioned it, but next day the still the same.

    Nice peaceful setting overlooking the sea, direct access to beach and wonderful endless boardwalks. Garden and pool area well layed out. Room very spacious and clean with modern design, loved the dimming lights in the bathroom, staff at reception extremely helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    4.6
    3 star hotel with 5 star prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is dated and needs upgrade asap ...carpets with stains.. old furniture in room .. specifically booked double bed was given twin beds...staff rude and lazy.. the receptionist did not even great us at the arrival.. he was wearing dirty T shirt under jacket and looked disrupted when we wanted to check in . It's not their busy season in Feb but this was just unacceptable. I would rate this place maximum 3 star property. Service non existent.

    The location .. beautiful cliffs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location. Rubbish bath room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Man on check in was weird with blue braces on his teeth. 15 Euro room service delivery charge is outrageous Bathroom NOT good or fit for hotel of that standard. Vanity has no counter space. Wardrobe smelt as it has no air gap to circulate. Mini bar was not re stocked. No tea / coffe / kettle.

    Breakfast was great. Bed was v comfy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.7
    Fantastic location, very average room and horrible bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was an issue checking in and also while checking out when there shouldn't have been, it was a little annoying. The bed and the pillows were horrible, I mean horrible. Not a double bed as described but two singles bolted together with what seemed like a 2-inch mattress cover over the top which was way too soft and keep me up for hours at night. The Pillows were horrendous, totally over sized and useless and had to be thrown to the floor. There were no smaller ones available.

    The location of the hotel is almost perfect, in a quiet location overlooking the beach. The facilities were great such as the pool, sauna and steam room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Really good hotel added to relaxing and stress free holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pianist at breakfast. Scrambled eggs too dry for my liking.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Reception staff especially. Location of hotel. Very peaceful. Dimmed concealed lighting in the bathrooms. Genius. Availability of taxis.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Will stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only for constructive feedback: A lack of a dedicated receptionist for the spa or the ability to book at the main reception (in fairness I didn't inquire if this could be done.) I had to repeatedly check if someone was there to book one of my treatments but I did get someone eventually. A few times I was left standing for several minutes at the poolside snack bar. The waiters didn't acknowledge me with a nod to say someone will be right with you. They were busy to be fair but I wasn't sure if it was closed. A little sign with instructions (if it is not attended) would solve this.

    We had a fantastic welcome to the hotel from a blonde lady (possibly named Milenha). She was so warm and welcoming. Very efficiently ran through anything we would need to know at the hotel and provided us with welcome drinks. Our room wasn't available so she called housekeeping so it would be done next. I thought that was fantastic! The hotel is beautiful. Right next to the beach, there's a path/steps down or you can take the lift. The village is about a 20-minute stroll along the boardwalk which begins near this access. There's also a well-stocked supermarket 5 minutes away via the boardwalk. The facilities are amazing. A fantastic indoor pool with a steam room and sauna. A nice gym with a few cardio machines and a weights area. We enjoyed our workouts. The outdoor pool is very cold! I just managed to get in. I hate the cold! I did enjoy the indoor pool and was envious of everyone enjoying the outdoor pool, as usual. There are fantastic cabanas down on the path to the beach. We enjoyed playing pool which is in the room behind the hotel bar. We had a garden facing room. It was fantastic! Very comfortable bed, nice bath/shower which was easy to select the temperature of (I hate when it's hard to not scald yourself!), little balcony with seats, a nice sized tv and wardrobe. I'm mad we didn't upgrade to the sea facing view. It would have been fabulous! The breakfast each morning was good. The freshly made omelettes are delicious! I had one every morning. There's a selection of bread, cereal, pastries, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs and tea or coffee is brought to the table. The baked beans were a strange texture but I think that's normal in Portugal/Spain. The coffee could be stronger here but there is fantastic coffee served at the pool bar. Every other day there was a pianist. We were very happy with the breakfast each morning. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings but we did have drinks which were...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the pool bar was a bit expensive. Had dinner in the hotel one night, it was buffet style and very expensive for what it was.

    Hotel was fabulous! Breakfast was great, staff were lovely. Beaches were stunning. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    Amazing position and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge the full stay upfront which is unusual practice; room service charges 15 eur fee for each delivery, which I find unacceptable. Cleaning in the room is ok but could be more accurate.

    Amazing location and facilities. Beautiful pool and great view. Directly on the beach. Rooms are ok. Breakfast is pretty good. Staff is polite. Big parking available for free. 2 mins walk to the beach (there's even a lift down to the beach if you don't want / can't walk). Room service food quality is rather good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Great holiday, lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold coffee and cold tea at breakfast. So love my morning hot cup of coffee . Always lukewarm. My husband likes his tea, impossible to make a proper cup of tea with hot (warm) water!! Water needs to be boiling "

    Bed extra comfy, room lovely size, good shower, bathroom nice, wonderful view of the sea from balcony , loved large corridors . Books to read to be found on shelf in corridors. Loved dining room with wonderful view - especially at sunset - magic. Lounge very comfortable and entertainment good. Breakfast great. Evening meal also very good. All in all a great holiday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.4
    4 star hotel in a 5 star location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell like sewerage in room sometimes, we felt it may have been coming through the air conditioning. We mentioned it at check out as we didn't want to move room and other guests we spoke to said they could smell it in their rooms also. The wooden floor in the bedroom and the bathroom floor didn't seem like they were washed often enough. A double bed would have been nice instead of 2 singles.

    Location, 6th floor room sea view, food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Views were beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor location for shops, was at least a 10 minute walk if you wanted water etc for your room. Things like that in hotel were extremely overpriced.

    Views were beautiful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.4
    Very didappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not obliging. Paid premium price for substandard room and poor service . No way was this 5* stayed at the same hotel 3 years ago and basically paid the same for three nights half board for what we paid per night bb

    The location. Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing stay at Pestana Praia Alvor Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a direct access to the beach, however parasol and beds have to be paid extra to a local subcontractor

    Location of the property and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent and most enjoyable in a fantastic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Reception desk was staffed by young staff who lacked experience in customer care based on my observation of a number of small complaints I overheard while booking in.This didnt inspire confidence. I did not to be fair have to complain on any issue. The Pillows were enormous and not suitable for a normal size person with a normal size head!!!!

    The Chef on duty for breakfast each morning was very pleasant and helpful and made excellent omelettes!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.1
    Good Hotel, excellent and easy to reach beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Considering it is a 5 star -the beach and bath towels are old a 5 star should do better. -the staff at the receptions is very young and still need to improve on hospitality. -it was unexpected that the hotel did not have their own beach facilities, so you had to pay for it (12 euro a day).

    The facilities to reach the beach (elevator), so no long staircase or rocky steps. GREAT ! The beach itself. The hotel pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable but unnecessarily expensive drinks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices are far to high. Booking confirmed a garden view which was not available, staff did not seem to want to know. Replenishment of day to day needs in the room ALWAYS had to be chased, eg tissues,shampoo etc.

    Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.8
    Check-in very stressful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in very stressful. Junior staff. Poor English. Long queue. Service by pool very poor; non-existant! Long wait for food in pool restaurant. Under-staffed. Staff have very poor English. Bar at night empty. Soul-less. No atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel and location outside crowdy dates, but with too wary rules
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I didn't like that the hotel charged the full amount of the stay at the check-in time. Shows they are suspicious about guests which is not nice for the ones that are serious.

    I liked the lift directly to the nice beach and the comfort of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    6.7
    Recommended with some shortfalls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We asked for one large bed and ended up with two single beds with a primitive device connecting them which was supposed to make it feel like one bed. It didn't work! It was very uncomfortable. The staff lacked the finesse and often made us feel like we were putting them out when asked for information or small things. Cleaning ladies were inconsistent with supplies and linens.

    Access to the beach and to the restaurants on the beach was very good. The views from our balcony were beautiful. There was ample choice form the breakfast buffet. The town of Alvor was 5 minutes away by car or taxi. Other lovey towns were nearby to explore like Lagos, Loule and Portimao.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Golf Resort Questionable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find the hotel as signage was virtually non-existent. The facility promotes itself as being a beach and golf resort although the staff were very vague about golf. Took us lots of delving to find out what and where the associated courses were. We eventually found one of the courses ourselves where we were able to thenfind out about other courses, method of booking and discounts available.

    Pools and access to the beach were amazing. Excellent buffet breakfast. Brilliant outlook over the ocean. Great restaurants along the boardwalk nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    6.7
    Probably the best hotel to stay at in Alvor..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little basic and small, typical though for Europe. Gym equipment limited.. some better floor mats a AKO ball would be nice.

    Fantastic sea view, lovely beach.. Clean adequate accommodation. Staff very helpful made you feel valued..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee machine in the room. Coffee costs a fortune at the snack bar! €4.10 for a small one!!!!!! Come on

    Paradise and just a really top class hotel in every way. Staff fantastic, Amazing breakfast and dinner. Sea view room a must!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Bed was very comfy, breakfast had great variety and high...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Indoor pool and facilities closing stated closing time at 8pm - too early

    Bed was very comfy, breakfast had great variety and high quality, staff was very friendly and helpful and facilities were great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    5.4
    A good 4 start hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service. Lack of cleanliness in the comum areas.

    Very good location, with direct access to the beach. Nice swimming pool. The service doesn't correspond to a 5 start hotel. Could be considered a 4 start hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    7.9
    Great location on a beautiful beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was slow to respond to an issue we had with the hot water in our room-brown water unless you let it run for 15-20 minutes

    Great location on a beautiful beach.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    7.5
    It was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Food was not so tasty. The staff was nice. It is not a 5 star hotel however the price was approprite to that.

    A lot to choose for breakfast. The view from the room was beatiful. The room was big and clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    5.8
    Some aspects really good, but let down by wifi problems and inadequate room heating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not working well on arrival and not working again last two days. Had to change room to get better signal - had to move baby cot myself. Room a bit cold as air conditioner only providing cool cool. Thermostat not controlling temperature at all. Maybe not a problem most of the year during the hot months, but not good during winter months, especially with baby - electric heater was eventually provided. Gigantic bed pillows may be enjoyed by some, but would be nice to have a more normal sized alternative.

    Breakfast very good. Nice location, nice indoor pool and friendly staff (although staff unable to solve wifi and air conditioner problem during our stay).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Big and Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was only one bedside table. Why? Ok, one can used the table which is next to the arm chair. But why should it be necessary for one to move furnisher when there is plenty of space for 2 bedside tables and the coffee table. No handrail to climb out of the bath after a shower only thin and not well fixed towel rail. Why not use a thicker rail for the towels to provide a firm hold. Not everyone is 30 and fit. Aircondition as usual in hotels not working well, just a vague "wind" no cooling at all

    The hotel is tastefully decorated, super clean, Despite it's huge size it is quiet and very well run. Breakfast and dinner at the restaurant was excellent. I loved the build in sofa bed on the veranda. Perfect!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Enjoyed this holiday. We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with easy access to the beach and town. Comfortable bed, nice rooms with sunny aspect. Friendly, helpful staff. A most enjoyable holiday.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise the sliding wardrobe door made when operated, the late cleaning of the rooms.

    The hotel had a nice atmosphere with plenty of area's to relax

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.5
    New look opposted to old
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Preferred the old world look.the water feature beside bar area don't like the new look

    Have stayed here lots of times..love the location and everything about the hotel...however don't like some of the refurbishment..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in common areas

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel with awesome service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great hotel to rest from day-to-day turmoil. Great atmosphere of sea resort. Good big rooms, great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    we attended a wedding and had a great time
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room overlooked a roof

    All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The beds were extremely comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Everything and stafwas good as expected, location and views fantastic, rooms could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms wasn't to requirements.

    breakfast good, surroundings excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff very polite and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food and room service. Expensive and not so good (poor quality and variety)

    Staff very polite and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Glorious view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t beat the view or location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Beds very confit, breakfast exelent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds very confit, breakfast exelent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Views and room was wow
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment best place we have stayed

    Views and room was wow

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.5
    Have stayed here many times and will be Back very soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed Great Breakfast with friendly breakfast staff Location is idyllic Easy access to beach

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location with easy access to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location with easy access to the beach. Excellent hospitality. Wonderful facilities. Good breakfast spread and nice location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    This hotel is a 5 star hotel. For us it would be 4.5 there are just a few things that it needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron in the room, very expensive to eat and drink

    The ambience, some of the staff, the grounds itself are amazing, very clean and modern,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.4
    Beach lovely hotel no way 5 star sunbedsituation dire !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were good

    Boiled eggs good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    2.5
    We left early
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The propert was awful. The staff rude one of my worst experiences

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location nice hotel but over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were offer ed a room in a block away from hotel though we had booked a room in main hotel

    All open reception and lounge bar areas and pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    Beds gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food v expensive for basic

    Beds gorgeous

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Almost excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Service at Pool Staff there not very friendly

    Enjoyed Alvor and this area would be the reason for my return

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    WEATHER GREAT, LOCATION PERFECT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    BUFFET FOOD CHOICE NOT QUITE AS GOOD AS 2 YEARS AGO

    VIEWS FROM BEDROOM

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.9
    Reception service - a little slow
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception service - a little slow

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were so large that I couldn't sleep on them

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not cleaned well

    Everything. A big improvement on last year

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely feel to the property, nice atmosphere, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cocktails weren't great

    Lovely feel to the property, nice atmosphere, great breakfast, lovely swimming pool. Will be coming back definitely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in could be a little earlier. Had to wait a while after designated check-in

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    Like being on a boat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bacon was cold 3 mornings running. Or do you serve cold bacon in Portugal.

    Pillows too big had to wrap a cushion in a towell

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.2
    Excellent Service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Service. Location and the views from the Hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    6.5
    Had to pay twice and didn't get money refunded till second last day of our stay
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issue I had with hotel was not resolved

    Hotel was good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.5
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been hotter

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    excellent location by the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    excellent location by the beach. refurbishment of the hotel has improved its feel. Staff very helpful and any issues quickly dealt with

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.8
    Choice of food and freshness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Choice of food and freshness

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    This was my fourth visit to this hotel and I will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing a small pillow apart from the two big ones

    The location,the staff,the breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Location excellent , friendly staff, quiet , tennis club...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Afternoon cleaning if rioms

    Location excellent , friendly staff, quiet , tennis club great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    Didn't want to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi, tried give us a sub standard room

    Location and hotel are excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: