Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Pestana Casino Park Hotel & Casino This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rua Imperatriz Dona Amélia, Se, 9004-513 Funchal, Portugal

#26 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1179 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.5
    Underwhelming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor in rooms and on bedroom levels is very shabby and out dated. The dark brown wood was depressing and the room layout could be improved. Lack of kettle and tea making facilities was disappointing. No real work space or dressing table and no iron.

    Beds were comfy and air con was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    7.1
    It was located at the ocean site and close to the city on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The reception , and the room was really till at the end of the gangway while I reguested a room not to far from the elevator

    It was located at the ocean site and close to the city on walking distance

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.9
    The pool and views were really exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms and property overall are a bit dated. The room was not dirty by any means but it could have been cleaner.

    The pool and views were really exceptional. The best part about the hotel. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    Conveniently placed Funchal hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    I emailed the Pestana group requesting a high room with a harbour view. The room which was ready on our arrival was perfect. The infinity swimming pool is beautiful and just the correct temperature to swim in. The cava breakfasts are a treat. The surrounding gardens are beautiful and to top it all off the staff are particularly, helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.2
    Overall very good, hotel just needs to improve on the small things and its evening buffet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At breakfast having to use machine for drinks, queuing etc. Much better for tea, coffee etc served at the table, just as easy to provide a pot of tea & coffee! The evening buffet on offer in the main restaurant was not good at all and certainly not worth the cost. You can find local restaurants just on the doorstep that offer much better quality and variety. The room was not fully cleaned on the day our usual cleaner was not on duty, bins not emptied etc. On arrival I also had to ask for extra hangers, only 5 provided for 2 people!! The slippers were not provided as they should have been as standard, and I also had to request a face cloth each day as not automatically replaced! Use of iron and ironing board - free for one hour then a charge levied!! Small things may be, but then again, for a hotel with this claimed star rating - not good!

    The location, hotel gardens, pool and spa facilities were excellent. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good, wide choice available and chef cooking 'daily eggs to order' was always friendly, despite how busy she was! The room was comfortable but feel the rooms in need of an update and redecoration. The staff were all very friendly and reception staff very helpful in booking restaurants etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant stay in 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is not a 5 Star hotel. It is dated and worn. There is a charge for tea / coffee supplies in room. I asked at bar for ice and was told not usual policy to give ice to guests! Breakfast was like a large canteen and personally I found the coffee unpleasant - seems to cater mainly for holiday companies.

    Location good - nice views from terrace and walking distance to town with lots of restuarants. Swimming pool looked nice (weather not warm enough for us to use) and lots of sun beds. Staff in pool bar very friendly and helpful. Staff in reception very helpful and cheerful. Cleaning staff very good. IF you like 1970's architecture you would probably appreciate the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    7.9
    Recommend this hotel and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Only downside in the room was the shower being in the bath with a plastic shower curtain.

    Very extensive grounds with a lovely large pool and outside bar and snacks area with great views over Funchal. There's entertainment every night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms grubby overall needed refurbished. Lacked touches of 5 star hotel. Toiletries in room. Lack is slippers

    5 star staff but not 5 star hotel. Very dated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    10
    We had a lovely stay the breakfast was excellent and the hotel was very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds could have been more comfortable

    We had two nights of disturbed sleep which was reported The manager apologised to us and upgraded our room Which was unexpected and very welcome

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The car park costs €1.60 per hour (!!!) Seriously??? In a 5 stars hotel? Overall style a bit ‘80s It’s giant, recommended for big conferences

    Location Pool area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay at Pestana Casino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms could have been a little bit better.. they were a decent and comfortable size however the floorboards beside the bed were a little bouncy and could come loose. Bathroom was nice with a separate toilet room. However bath was a little narrow and there was no separate shower facilities, just in the bathtub. Room was kept clean during our stay. Our “mountain view” room was mainly other hotels and buildings and a construction site but we had a partial sea view on the far left of the balcony. Balcony not huge but had two chairs and a table.

    Breakfast was excellent, lots of hot and cold items to choose from. Enjoyed the prosecco every morning. Beautiful hotel grounds and friendly staff. There was someone at the door to meet and greet us even though we arrived late in the evening and he took our cases straight up to the room as we checked in. We were served a complimentary glass of passion fruit fizzy drink upon arrival. There was also Zarco, the bird of prey, who we saw every morning and is more than happy to get attention from hotel guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    4.6
    the beds were comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Overcrowded breakfast area. Overbooked from touroperators. Should be renovated urgently, the hotel is so old as their guests. Very noisy through cruises ships (up to three daily) and casino disco every weekend. Absolutely nothing for individualists.

    the beds were comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect, room, breakfast, cleanness, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I selected a room with partial view to ocean, I went to room but the view was almost to garden just 10% of view was ocean less than what I expected! then I came back to reception and they changed my room!

    Everything was perfect, room, breakfast, cleanness, location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    10
    Despite the poor weather we enjoyed our stay here and will probably return to the same hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location was right for us and the rooms were comfortable. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was very spacious with a nice pool area. Unfortunately the weather wasn't conducive to outdoor bathing so we availed ourselves of the indoor facilities instead.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    7.1
    Overall good location clean bar area could be better laid out and bar food could improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One day unable to have breakfast as a queue of over 30 people and we had a trip booked so could not wait! Told staff they only apologised did not compensate

    Views and space

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    9.2
    Great views and well positioned for the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a very big busy hotel. Also it is very close to the cruise ship terminal which gives rise to plenty of conversation when you are lying on your lounger looking at them but could be noise at night

    Great views and well positioned for the town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    7.9
    It made a most comfortable and relaxing base for a week's walking holiday, and very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Buffet breakfast offered a wide selection with plenty of availability, though I was always early to arrive. Fruit juices disappointing quality. For such an enormous hotel it was (pleasantly) surprising that there was continuity of staff who were gernerallt very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    9.6
    An amazingly beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Quite shabby furniture, no slippers, no toothpaste in the bathroom.

    Great view from the balcony, very nice, helpful staff, very clean room. Location was near marina, esplanada, city center. A lot of beautifuly green parks with an amazing variety of trees, flowers from everywhere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Though the spa area was nice it could do with some modernisation.

    Loved breakfast. It was super. Nothing missing. A great selection of everything. Bedroom was a good size with nice balcony. Bed was also super comfy. Staff were all very pleasant and so helpful. Location was perfect. 5 minutes walk to the centre of Funchal. Also bus stop just outside the door. Tourist Info Centre in the grounds of hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, helpful staff, well maintained...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Noise from the ships/cruise-liners in the near-by port (but nothing to do due to location). Most important criticism: Food - breakfast and dinner is good quality but just that. In Portugal, it is expected and usually provided much much more (I know nearly all places in Portugal and tens of hotels of different categories). Portuguese food when genuine is absolutely fantastic, phenomenal, in fact it can only compare to Italian food and to nothing else on this planet. In this hotel the food suffered by too much adaptation to German/British tastes (I suppose because of profile of most customers). Coffee machines at breakfast make awful espresso. Even when ordered at the bar espresso is so so. Again, in Portugal, even at much more modest hotels, one usually drinks much better espresso. My recommendation: stick to GENUINE PORTUGUESE AND MADEIRENSE FOOD and coffee, never adapt to Nordic, German, British tastes.

    Excellent location, helpful staff, well maintained facilities, interesting architecture and matching interior design. Nice pool area. Beautiful views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    10
    Brilliant, the Carnival dinner was the highlight of our stay - FANTASTIC
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    there was no tomato juice available, but the staff brought me some. The croissants were not freshly baked. The scrambled eggs were a little "solid"

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    7.5
    The pools were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a very noisy hotel. The doors bang all the time. You can hear conversations in the next room and the traffic noise was terrible.

    The pools were good. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    10
    Relaxing holiday which have left happy memories, will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More comfy chairs on the balcony as far too low for getting up from but that is being too picky and it’s not a real issue. Bar a little on the expensive side but to be expected in hotels. If you gave a Pestana group card you get discount in the hotel bar.

    Lovely large beds for a twin room. Good size balcony, fantastic view of the mountains above Funchal from our room. We had a buffet style breakfast with plenty of hot and cold options to choose from. Pretty exceptional with eggs and omelettes cooked fresh to order. Spacious bar and relaxing areas both interior and exterior. Plenty of sun beds on various levels overlooking the Harbour where the cruise ships come in. Internal pool and spa is just lovely and relaxing with a Sauna, Vapor room and Turkish bath area for those who enjoy this type of relaxation. Had a pedicure at the beauty spa which was one of the best I have had. Staff and reception staff were friendly and informative on the surrounding area. They give you a map on arrival and are very tentative if you have questions about where to eat and visit. On the whole cannot fault this hotel. Will be returning

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    9.2
    Very good as always :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    after arrival we've got very poor room on the 5th floor, there were problems with electricity, sink, bathtube. After our intervention we moved to very good, renovated room :)

    Grate breakfasts, very helpfull and nice staff. I love this place and I/m staying there during every visit in Madera

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No car park for guests. We had to pay extra money for parking car by the casino.

    Great location, helpful staff, fantastic viewing, rich breakfasts, indoor swimming pool and saunas, very good Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Croissants not kept warm Poor choice of cereals- nearly all sweet ones Orange juice poor quality - tasted made from powder Room cleaners forgot about replacing our used tea cups or replenish the tea and coffee supplies Gym facilities very poor- small number of machines available - only three static bikes - only one of which was working properly. No rowing machines.

    Breakfast choices very good. Lots of fruit and breads Staff at reception very pleasant Hotel very open plan and modern

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not have the slippers mentioned in the website description (at first we thought it was fine with us) but when we were leaving, we found they actually had the slippers in other rooms next to ours.

    The breakfast and buffet were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    7.5
    Not 5 star, but good 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outdoor pool isn’t heated, pillows were terrible, bed wasn’t comfortable, breakfast was chaotic, coffee terrible, but there’s a great cafe across the road.

    Location, architecture of building, large room with excellent view, large pools, staff very polite, clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    7.5
    The beds ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking facilities were terrible. Lots of parking at casino but you had to pay. Paying hotel guests should be able to park free.

    The beds ok. Breakfast- too Little variation of fruit on an Island with lots of fruit. Bacon was horrible! Otherwise breakfast was fine if you like a high calorie, high cholesterol diet. Buffet restaurant was not inviting. Personale were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    5.0
    The elevators work well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too few parking spaces. Pillows were poor. Air conditioning was not working. Bathrobes and slippers were not provided until we asked for them. Breakfast was not as good as other "5 star" hotels and we had to make our own tea and coffee!! The view from the room was blocked by tall trees and the Casino. The Casio car park was noisy during the night. There was no mirror in the bedroom suitable for doing hair and makeup E.G. a dressing table. The plugs in both hand basins didn't work well and the water drained away while my husband was trying to shave. When you tried to fill the bidet water sprayed all over the bathroom. Altogether a poor experience.

    The elevators work well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    7.9
    Despite the poor rooms and corridors, my family and I had a lovely time during our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I won’t rate this hotel as a 5 Star. The rooms need an upgrade. Pillows were very uncomfortable, the corridors to the rooms are poorly lit and the rooms have no irons. You have to go to a common room to iron if you needed to. The irons there were not clean and had burnt stains on the plate. I have never been in any five star hotel where I have to iron my clothes in a common room. Also, the rooms had no literature on services, including room service menu etc. There was no clock or anything else to indicate the time of the day except your mobile phone or watch.

    I loved the location. Staff were friendly and polite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2017

    10
    A super holiday experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Indoor swimming pool closed at 8.00pm. Would have preferred 9.00pm Other than this small point we had no dislikes

    A superb quiet hotel with friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. Good location near the centre of Funchal. Bedrooms very clean and comfortable. Superb restaurant overlooks the sea. Breakfasts were magnificent. Good indoor swimming pool and sauna. We look forward to coming again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    9.6
    A lovely well located place for a relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    reception slightly confused at times but very patient with us to get things right in the end

    good breakfasts, excellent facilities, great swimming pools, good workout area, nice views, lots of good restaurants nearby, a short walk into town, really nice park nearby, comfortable rooms, flowers everywhere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms have interconnecting doors to the neighbouring room and unfortunately this makes the rooms less private as your neighbours can be heard !

    This hotel is in an excellent position and it is easy to walk to the sea front and shops and bars , the airport bus stops a few yards away . Breakfast is included and is a buffet breakfast and of a very high standard , staff are friendly and helpful . Rooms are large and have a very private sheltered balcony with sea views .Gardens surrounding the hotel are beautiful with wonderful views

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2017

    9.6
    Great location good food good views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No where to dry wet shoes/boots, bags and jackets. Staff offered to have clothes washed and dry but not shoes/boots. With the island being quiet wet I’m sure I’m not the only one that need to dry wet kit to wear the next day.

    Restaurant were buffet style with good selection and massive dinning room with a great view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money stay in a stylish setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Cruise liners in nearby harbour were noisy and smelly as they left engines idling...had to keep balcony door closed many times. Towels were getting worn.

    Excellent staff. Very clean hotel. Great breakfast in lovely room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    6.7
    Quite disappointing for a 5 Star, for me tb was more of a 4...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite disappointing for a 5 Star, for me tb was more of a 4 Star hotel. Beautiful architecture with outdated rooms and very poor amenities (in the room). Bed was wonky, it smelled mouldy. No atention to details that I expect from a 5 Star hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    6.7
    Good location but very old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building is old and the rooms are not clean. When i checked in my room it was all smelly like nobody open the door and windows for months. The Bed shit were all dusty (they changed them in the morning as per my request) the bathroom and toilet doors handles were dirty, the hot water coming straight from the main tap was all red (due to the lack of useage or was it rust)? The cupboard was also smelly (dusty) and I had to keep it close and leave the balcony door open as it was really bothering my stay in the room. Also the carpet are old and smelly

    The location was perfect and the staff are very professional and frindly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    3.8
    Really bad, far away from 5 star!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were really disappointed for our staying at this hotel! We had booked our staying for 5 nights, but ended up staying there only one night! The hotel was far from 5 star! The hotel was not clean, pictures at the website are total difference what the reality is. At the breakfast the coffee isn’t fresh, it comes from old dirty machine, even 3 star hotel don’t have this! Really disappointing staying :(

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, great view, lovely grounds, breakfast good. I would choose to stay agin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The meal we ordered from the pool side bar/restaurant wasn't very good. The hotel could use updating, the rooms are sparsely decorated but clean. Great value and a super location, The property is very large, we found the front approach quite dark, the walkways and the driveway, more lighting would be nice

    The location was the best, good value, we got a suite and it was great. Grounds are very good and great walking distance to everything. There are many newer hotels, this one is quite dated but I would choose to stay there again. I loved the views and felt very safe.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.6
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast: No vegetarian sausages as requested or freshly squeezed orange juice. The first room offered did not match the views booked. We were given a new room on the opposite side which was superb. Casino should have a separate smoking area. We would have spent more time and money in the casino. Even smokers do not like it.

    Pools and spa, location, communal areas, music, dining room comfort and views. Staff were very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel. Would consider staying again and will recommend to family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tea making facilities in room would add to comfort. Showers in indoor pool area inadequate during busy periods. Shower cubicles in change room area would add to comfort and convenience.

    The buffet breakfast is excellent. Lots of choice and fresh fruit. Indoor pool and spar a welcome end to sightseeing and walking during day. Highly recommended

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    7.9
    a nice enough hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the interior is a little bit outdated and there is n't enough free parking

    good location, the hotel has everything you need and amazing views over the sea and city if you get a top floor room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    7.1
    Madeira is fab, but we’d stay in a different hotel next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise!!! If you get a room facing the casino don’t expect to sleep on Friday and Saturday nights! The casino has a club which plays music, VERY LOUDLY, until 4 in the morning!! You can hear all the people outside as well . (Unless you’re into that sort of thing.) Also it’s right next to the harbour where all the cruise ships dock and stay for the night. The big ones are pretty quiet but some of the smaller ones sit there with their engines running all the time so you can hear that all through the night too! We booked an Asian themed meal for one of the nights, it wasn’t really that good. The prawn crackers were especially bad, like bits of chewy plastic. You don’t get tea/coffee replenished in the rooms unless you ask for it????!!!! And even then you don’t get milk??!! Parking should be free, for what you pay for the hotel. I’d expect a five star hotel to be better than this.

    Great selection at breakfast. Everything you could possibly want. We had a suite type room which was great, having a separate bedroom and bathroom area from the living area. Very nice spa and the bar was good too. WiFi is excellent.The staff are super nice though, very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    7.5
    Would have been great if not for the loud music at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located next to the port that is, unfortunately, a frequent stop of large cruise ships. On our first night, one of those ships (AIDA) was parked there and had very loud music until 2am, and it was impossible to sleep. We contacted the reception to complain several times that night, and they said they informed the police, but nothing was done. We also found out that this is a common phenomenon (I cannot understand why it was not obvious from other reviews)! This is the unacceptable. A good night's stay is the minimum one can expect from a hotel, let alone a 5-star. If they cannot negotiate with the police to do their job, they should have taken legal measures, or put up better insulation on the windows. This was the only thing we did not like, but it is an important one.

    The hotel facilities were great, especially the pool and spa area. Perfect for relaxing after a hike. Breakfast was varied and staff were polite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent staff and good facilities made for a great hoilday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    inconsistency with who/when parking was allowed outside designated spots. snack bar area subject to strong winds and requires windbreaks 10 minute walk uphill from centre but still the best location overlooking cruise ships.

    staff attitude, cleanliness. Stress free atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is comfortable and located in a perfect location. Close to all the important sites, and within walking distance of most of them. Breakfast is very good with amazing sea view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    9.2
    Buffet breakfast excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Concrete wall in restaurant could do with covering / painting Swimming pool is 5ft 5inc deep with no shallow end for children but it's a great infinity pool.

    Buffet breakfast excellent Staff very attentive and polite Great location for sight seeing and rearaurants. A short picturesque walk into old town. Beautiful infinity pool and loads of sun beds. Outside bar and food is great Entertaining watching the eagle chase away the pigeons and sparrow hawks at breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel spoilt by no sleep first night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air con control was broken so kept awake all first night as unable to turn off and had been left on full blast. Complained next morning and switch fixed (however didn't seem to get as cool after this). Very disappointed to get this in 5* hotel and even more disappointed to get no apology. Some good entertainment but would have liked every evening. Horrible shower curtain - would expect a door in 5*.

    Lovely pool. Lovely breakfast with outside eating area. Comfy beds + pillows. Good English channels on TV.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    7.5
    Waste of money i wont stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The food was absolutely shocking, way over priced and completely tasteless, even presentation very poor, very disappointing atmosphere. Staff were friendly, hotel very boring. wont stay again!

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    9.2
    Great spacious room with an amazing view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't really have any complaints. The sofa felt a bit worn out (sinking in) but that hardly bothered us.

    Great spacious room with an amazing view of the city/mountain and sea. Comfortable bathroom. Very pleasant balcony. Overall a nice property, really relaxing to stay there

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    9.6
    Room with an amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Suites could do with a little mini-kichen area. Coffee sachets did not get replaced after use. All minor stuff though.

    Stayed in a suite with fantastic views on the harbour and hills, and great space. Breakfast is spectacular. Love the general design of the building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    9.6
    A great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Jacuzzi was too cold. The towels and napkins were frayed and pilling. The tub/shower was very deep and slippery. There was cosmetic maintenance that you could see needed to be completed (painting, linens)

    I loved the hotel, the staff is wonderful, so helpful and considerate. (and speak English) The building and pools were amazingly beautiful. The buffet breakfast was very good, although the bacon was dry. The artwork in the lobby was stunning. And the views from the room and main dining room were awesome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    7.1
    Ok but would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedroom decor was poor. That is the seats were badly marked and stained and the bed base was horribly stained. This was reported to th reception but nothing was done. Certainly very bad for a supposedly 5 star hotel.

    Breakfast was excellent with plenty choice and staff very efficient. Bed was comfortable and air conditioning worked well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Had problems at check in. We booked 3 sea view rooms but were given garden view rooms with no explanation or apology. We returned to reception to query this and were told that the hotel was over-booked and there were no sea view rooms available. They moved us after two days and gave us a free evening meal.

    Good location - easy to walk into town (steep hill coming back!). The pool area is lovely with plenty of sun beds. Nice indoor pool and spa. Breakfasts are very good and the view from the restaurant over the harbour is quite stunning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    5.8
    Madeira was great hotel was very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are very dated- there where holes in the towels and my sheets- the photos are not a true reflection of the hotel- the staff told us they didn’t use the air conditioning in public place as it was to expensive so very hot in public places- hotel was full so they say but there was very few people in the one and only bar which doesn’t open till 17.30 unless you use the pool bar which only save plastic glasses- food at breakfast was also very poor as it is a buffe style so food was display for long times - evening entertainment was poor - at best this hotel was 3* to Uk standards.

    Location only and good staff just let down by hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    7.9
    Hotel was nice but getting in need of refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Juice at breakfast was not fresh. Would expect better for a 5 star hotel. There was a lot of noisy building work taking place next to hotel.

    view from poolside was spectacular, day and night

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    9.2
    Perfectly position , and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked via booking.com . Noticed on my credit card bill that the money had been paid many months before we travelled . And made a mental note that it was paid . When booking in at the hotel the chap at the desk said we had NOT PAID , I was really cross as I knew that we had paid . He said oh I will look on the system .....YES I had paid Had I not remembered I am sure they would have took the money again . Future customers TAKE PROOF that you have paid

    The position of the hotel very good BRILLIANT VIEWS of the bay . Breakfast LOVELY . No complaints

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    8.3
    very pleasant stay and worth value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I think the quality of the breakfast certainly could be better. In addition, customer usually come and stay more than 3 days (it would be better if they could rotate the options of the meal). In addition complementary coffee/ tea set in the room would be appreciated.

    I love all the small details and thoughtful gesture that the hotel team prepare for us during our stay such as water bottle upon arrival, champagne and roses in the room and sweet chocolate in the evening. The facilities was amazing (jacuzzi, outdoor and indoor pool).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    9.6
    Great location, within walking distance to main attractions...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, within walking distance to main attractions in Funchal, as well as the ferry that goes to Porto santo. Good supermarkets and restaurants near by. Nightclub in casino next door is ok .staff is very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    10
    I really enjoyed my stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a piña colada with hardly any alcohol in it. The price is the same with or without alcohol. Also dinner is too expensive, especially the fact the the drinks are not included.

    The closeness to town, the variety of bread and cakes and breakfast, and the Rooms are spacious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    7.5
    Great base for exploring Funchal, hotel in need of a little tlc and fine tuning with staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No pool service for drinks - unwelcoming pool staff - let the team down. Slow lifts Hot breakfast selection wasn't the best, poor quality bacon and sausage, plus the potato dish they put out each day (chips!, wedges, cubes etc) all tasted of cardboard. Shower curtains - get rid of them, old fashioned and unhygienic. Hotel generally needs a little tlc and updating. Room cleaning sometimes didn't replace pool towels even though we left them out and didn't replace toiletries.

    Location great for exploring new and old Funchal. Cold breakfast selection was varied and good omelettes. Pool setting is nice overlooking harbour.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The accommodation floors are pretty dated. Not the rooms themselves but the corridors and landings. All dark wood and dark red carpet and very tired. But when everything else was so brilliant it was barely worth mentioning. Also, fresh coffee at breakfast would have been nice rather than machine dispensed. But I am struggling to find things I didn't like

    The breakfast choices were amazing and the one time I had the buffet dinner it was superb (although expensive). Pool bar/cafe was excellent. Staff great. Location just a very short walk into the town centre or the harbour area. Gardens lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    7.5
    Lovely holiday, shame about the building site
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a construction site right outside my room. Noise from 7.45am till about 6.40pm x 6 days a week. Asked to be moved but they said they were full. Feel I should have been warned - I couldn't leave the window open or use the balcony as it was so noisy.

    Beautiful building. Generous, spectacular buffet breakfast. Stunning views from the coast side at the pool. Very nice staff, generally.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    7.1
    Madeira is a wonderful place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Air Conditioning unit in our room didn't work very well. The majority of the time our room was far too warm. The room could have done with a complete refurbish or renovation.

    The breakfast buffet choice was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Just the room towels

    Staff excellent, Breakfast excellent, my only quibble would be with the room towels, generally need replacing, mind you they were good for exfoliating, had a word with our chambermaid though and she made sure we had fluffier ones from then on, just a minor quibble but we do expect good towels in this quality of hotel The gardens are well tended and plenty of space

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    9.6
    A beautifully designed hotel in which to chill and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Two things. I would have liked to have had tea/coffee making facilities in my room. This is very unusual in a five star hotel not to be provided with a kettle etc. The piped music in the hotel concourse and in the poolside cafe is awfu!! Lots of loud jazz (which isn't to my taste!)

    Lovely hotel with magnificent pool area - we had an extremely comfortable large room. Fantastic breakfast - I cannot think of anything that is not on offer for breakfast!! Especially liked Freddy the Eagle who was there every morning to chase away any seagulls who were contemplating stealing breakfast from outside diners. Staff very friendly and helpful. Many superb restaurants nearby to visit in evenings. Easy walk into the centre of Funchal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    8.3
    Good value for the price I paid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I expected the outdoor pool to be bigger. The room and carpet needs to be updated. Dinner buffet expensive at 25 euros a person!

    The buffet was great. Walking distance to funchal. Beautiful views. Great indoor pool. Comfy bed!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    10
    Perfect!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's nothing we didn't like, can't think of any negatives.

    Everything, great location, facilities & staff. There is nothing to not like.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    6.3
    If you are looking for 5 stars, don't go there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service at the hotel doesn't deserve 5 stars! From the checkin to easy requests e.g. an ironing board, none of our enquiries could be fulfilled. Further, the interior of the entire place is really dark and dated, the restaurant feels more like a huge canteen than the restaurant of a 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    10
    Great hotel, loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing really, some areas of the hotel could do with a refreshment. Maybe some more variety of breakfast items but that is being picky...the breakfast is fairly extensive

    Really good location, 15 mins from old town, 5 mins from CR7 Museum

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    9.6
    I liked the location, and extraordinary view from our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel itself is not a brand new one, but everything was working. Price could be less.

    I liked the location, and extraordinary view from our balcony, to the ocean, part, mountain and the city. I liked the casino right near the hotel. Excellent swimming pool and inside facilities - jakuzzu and sauna. The restaurant was also excellent, beautiful view, assortment. I liked this hotel so much! Dreaming to return there as soon as possible. And the cocktail reception as a compliment was nice!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    10
    A pleasing start to our Madeiran holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really,A

    Amble spaces and areas in which to relax and enjoy the vacation. Pleasant staff throughout the establishment. Excellent choice of food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    9.2
    Good option for central Funchal with all the facilities you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Was on a room on the 1st floor this time and it was a little jaded whereas previously was on the 4th floor. Maybe this latest room was earlier in the renovation cycle and had seen more use. Large mirror in the room was in the wrong place (next to bed and wardrobe) but a minor irritant. Tea bag selection/quality also poor (I mentioned this previously). Towels were at the end of their life cycle and were worn and thin. So nothing that I would call I real problem and just minor advisories.

    Had previously been there in January this year so saw a different aspect to the hotel which was a lot busier this time. It is big enough and coped well with the numbers and had obviously ramped up the operation to suit. The views from the pool and dining room are exceptional. The gardens are extensive and well maintained. The location is a 100 metre walk from the main town area and port although this involves negotiating a long steep hill which is not easily negotiable when wet. Taxis are available in abundance though. The staff were exceptionally good and obviously well trained and motivated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    6.3
    enjoyable stay in Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    quality of meets used for breakfast

    the bar staff and greeter were very courteous and always happy to help. the corridors to the hotel room were very poorly lit and the carpets looked as though someone had walked along and urinated on it.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pestana Casino Park Hotel & Casino Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: