Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of LTI Pestana Grand Ocean Resort Hotel 5 stars

Ponta da Cruz, Piornais, Sao Martinho, 9000-103 Funchal, Portugal

#26 of 73 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 434 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    pleasant stay in Pestana Grand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    perhaps, reduce prices for drinks at the hotel bar as they are way too expensive in compare with bars\restaurants next door. That would encourage people to stay in the hotel for the night entertainment rather than going out for a drink.

    the sea view room was large and comfortable. The room was cleaned to a very high standard and the maid would come later on a day to check on whether we liked everything or needed anything else which was really nice touch. On a second day we were sent a bottle of Madeira wine to the room as a thank you gesture that we'd been coming to the hotel 3 times.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Great chain, great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It is little bit far than center, but you have near the ocean, a very nice promenade for walking, restaurants, a shopping center. And is very quiet place. So my recommendation is to choose that place! Don't look to the distance!

    It was what I expected from this very good chain. Large rooms, clean, rich breakfast. Swimming pool with salt water, nice terrace with great view to the ocean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Room, food and general cleanliness was second to none.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar could do with some reorganisation, we found that it closed early for a few hours during the day due to staff shortage. Some staff seemed under qualified which was also a concern during the busy periods. This was the only disappointment to the hotel which I'm sure they could address otherwise we had a wonderful time.

    Room, food and general cleanliness was second to none. Location was good and with the local bus service into Funchal was very easy and at only €2 per adult was very affordable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was probably the best feature of our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Th exchange rate at the in house ATM was something of a rip-off. The evening entertainment was ok, but rather aimed at the over 65s!

    The food and service at both breakfast and dinner were excellent. We enjoyed the buffet at dinner so much that in our 8 night stay were were never tempted to try the a la carte options. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Unfortunately, disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The receptionist, without informing, booked an additional amount of money just arriving. Moths flew in the room, they were even in the bed. The carpet is spotty and slightly cleaned. Some items and furniture are worn out more than a five-star hotel fit. Do not clean dust from small items in the bathroom. Stranger hair on hairdryer hanged during all time (we did not use it), towels were often carried away, sometimes even with holes.

    Well-equipped hotel environment, common areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful ocean resort a short ride from Funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area gets quite busy with guests checking in and out. More staff would help in reducing lines.

    Modern, big box oceanfront resort ten minutes by bus from Center of Funchal. Beautiful architecture and stunning ocean views from practically all windows. Most guests are retirees from Germany and UK but other languages can also be heard occasionally. Several attractive outdoor swimming pools face the ocean. Big shopping mall with a supermarket and numerous restaurants is right across the street. A free hotel shuttle connects the hotel with Funchal and other Pestana properties several times a day. Our elegant suite on third floor boasted two balconies with different breathtaking ocean views, a separate living room and a bedroom. Coffee maker, refrigerator and a safe came in handy. Multilingual staff at the front desk couldn’t be more helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a week's March sunshine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The clientele is quite mature and dinner in the hotel restaurant seemed a bit subdued. Only ate there once, so I may be being unfair.

    Good size rooms with super sea views. Breakfast by the pool was a real plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    This Hotel overlooked the sea, it was within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel overlooked the sea, it was within walking distance of Restaurants and a Shopping Mall. There was a free shuttle bus from the Hotel into the centre of Funchal every half hour which was a bonus. Would certainly go back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    The staff was very helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The first room we were placed in was, simply put, dirty. The carpeting was stained, the faux leather chair had flakes peeling off, the wall was chipped off, the napkins for the glasses had writings on them and someone simply turned them over (!). I'll spare putting the photos on. Even the bottle of water was long open and flat. We asked for a change and after some deliberation we got a better room with a view, but still this was not something I would expect from a 5* hotel for starters.

    The staff was very helpful and kind. After the room change we had an excellent view to the sea and we loved evenings at the balcony. Breakfasts were hefty and varied and there is nothing better than a glass of prosecco and a strong coffee in the the sun by the pool. The pool is clean and gardens very well kept. The location is also very good - a bit outside of the main city, but straight on the cliff, close to a supermarket and the mall. And once you rent a car the parking at the hotel is free.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    A Fantastic Short Break. Madeira is a Beautiful Place with very nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Buffet Style Food had a good variety both breakfast and evening meals. Evening Meal Main Couses in self serve trays were usually not very warm but staff service was excellent.

    Friendly and Helpful Staff, Low Key Evening entertainment was good. Great Location and Great sea ViewRoom. Close to Funchal. Relaxed Atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    A most enjoyable stay in a fantastic town . I will come again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Did not appreciate the evening entertainment . Could have done without this . In any case, too loud .

    the facilities and choice of food and friendliness of staff were all excellent . This is the best and most reasonably priced hotel I have stayed in .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Location was great and room was spacious and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had booked a twin room but the beds had been pushed together to make a double. We were also supplied with tea/coffee facilities but no milk which we found strange. There weren't enough towels in the bathroom.

    Location was great and room was spacious and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Perfect February break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hot tub was NOT at all hot.

    Staying at this hotel is like being on a cruise, they have activities, they take photo's the food is great and it seems 24/7. Although the TV was an older model, they have many more channels in English and I was able to watch my favorite shows at night.. a nice teat! The staff was very responsive to my needs, there were some issues with the room and they were resolved quickly. The showers were hot, and the pressure was great. The bed is very comfortable, although the pillows are a bit hard. They have a free shuttle that goes into Funchal almost every hour. The hotel is located right on the amazing coastal trail that goes to the fishing village and near the rocky beach. The pool is beautiful and warm. The internet was excellent, better than at home! If you go eat one night at the Restaurant next to the pizza place on the coastal trail ( about 400 meters from the hotel) it is EXCELLENT.. recommend the Espada.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely helpful we need a parking for a hire car and there was clean well lit underground carpark for us to use at no extra cost, also breakfast very nice and we had plenty of choice I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Hotel in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Tea and coffee at breakfast the water was not hot enough to infuse the teabag at all and the coffee was not nice at all so we just had the sparkling water and orange juice instead but everything else was fine.

    Beautiful Hotel in a fantastic location,Ideal for lovely walks into Funchal which was about 3 miles but a very enjoyable walk with lovely cafes along the way,you could also get the Hotels free shuttle bus which drops you off at the Hotel pestana CR7 and picks you up from there to take you back,Hotel near the Maderia Forum Shopping centre just up the bank from Hotel,Very nice shopping centre with a large supermarket which was very good lots of variety and very cheap wine,There is a lovely cafe/cake shop next to the forum shopping centre had a lovely stay here and would stay here next time when visiting Maderia and would recommend to others.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is on west side of Funchal centre but has plenty of amentities nearby

    Breakfast was excellent bed very comfortable facilities swimming pool excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel - Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Courtesy bus was a little hit and miss, normally full when it got to this hotel.

    Room was nice, breakfast was great, staff were friendly and location was lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    A blissful relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be absolutely picky, there was no smoked salmon on the breakfast selection which is something I personally look forward when away on holiday. Otherwise no complaints.

    The staff are wonderful and couldn't do enough for their customers to make sure they had a good stay. They were friendly, informative and professional in their approach. The hotel is very clean and the gardens are a real delight. The shuttle bus negates any worries about distance from Funchal centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    We would happily stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We liked the indoor heated pool, handy in January, and the outdoor extension to it. The gardens were beautifully kept and the view from our room was lovely and also sheltered from the occasional wind. The breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel with friendly staff and a wonderful lication
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit unconfirtable to cary the towel from the room to the pool area and back to the room, while waiting for it to be changed the folowing day. If somebody uses the spa in the afternoon and again in the morning, there will be not enough time to change the towel.

    The hotel is well orgnised and benefits from a beautiful garden and pool area. The breakfast was very good and the personel was courteous. The spa area is nice and the jacuzzi positioned toward the garden was a excellent idea. The room was big and the cleanning personel did a very good job.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    Stylish hotel in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The carpet in the room was very dirty.

    The breakfast buffet was very good. They also have a Finnish sauna in the hotel, which was very popular among the guest. There is also a free shuttle bus to the city center. Well kept and beautiful hotel. Great location just opposite the Madeira Shopping Center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful at Christmas, feels special, excellent room, but staff patronising.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    At times I felt patronised by the staff. This hotel feels like it's more suited to people of middle class backgrounds and I'm certainly not middle class. I asked questions such as where I would be sitting for breakfast and how I would be paying, and the staff replied in a way that made me feel stupid to ask. I don't know if this just culture or they are tailed to a different type of customer.

    The venue really celebrates Christmas just like all of Funchal does. The atmosphere feels warm and safe, which is what I wanted from travelling alone. My bedroom was huge and I had a wonderful view of the garden and sunsets over the sea.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    A Luxury Hotel Beside The Sea With Sea View Balconies
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An excellent hotel with comfortable rooms and the upgrade for a seaview balcony is well worth it. The buffet breakfasts and buffet dinners are very good. There is a lovely walk along a path between the hotel garden and sea but we found that the walk into Funchal was just too far. A car is useful to visit the many wonderful places around this island.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.9
    Very nice hotel but not really for kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor children's facilities in and around the hotel. Small indoor swimming pool which was an odd shape not allowing for doing lengths.

    Very good breakfast. Clean, well staffed hotel. Nice room and grounds. Nearby restaurants. Free bus to the port.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice breakfasts, great personel, rooms are very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We've booked room with sea view but get more like a tree view instead of what we've expected. Very old TV should be thrown to the trash ~20 years ago.

    Nice breakfasts, great personel, rooms are very clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in every respect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Difficult to find negative points in this hotel. One could be the existence of a single treadmill in the workout room, too little for such a large hotel. I cannot frankly find anything else...

    Excellent hotel in every respect. Great room, enough for a family with two small kids without anytime feeling crowded; excellent pools, spa and training equipment; the best breakfast buffet I have ever seen anywhere, and I have been in many good hotels; and finally great staff, always helpful without ever being too intrusive. Perfect!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Excellent, would recommend it to other families traveling together with friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The service in the restaurant by the pool is too slow, I would say they should staff up to make it a more smooth experience. Not a big deal, because we found many other good options outside the hotel.

    We had a very nice, large family room facing the ocean and the pool. The hotel location is excellent, next to many restaurants, nice walking areas and a big shopping mall. The hotell view is fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    enjoyable hotel with pleasant views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    carpeted floor in the bedroom

    The view from our room, the gardens and pool area, having breakfast outside by the pool, walking along the promenade outside the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Hotel fantastic , Breakfast excellent, just dont rely on the free buss transfer to the marina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is nothing to dislike for the exception that the free transfer to the marina needs to be controlled as the bus stops at 3 hotels and is always full and leaves people behind for another hour . All it takes is to radio ahead or call ahead and ensure another bus is dispatched at peak times especially the last bus at 18h05 . When 80 odd people at waiting and the bus arrives full those 80 have to pay for taxis . Don't offer something to everyone if you cant guarantee the same for all.

    The staff from the moment you arrived till you left where friendly , helpful and determined to make your stay 100%. The cleanliness and the efficiency in which the hotel is run is up in the top 10 I have stayed in around the world

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing as the hotel is very tired and in need of a facelift and a bit to far from town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was very tired, and the rooms in need of a refurb. The beds were very uncomfortable and the pillows lumpy, by the end of my stay, I had neck and back pain and the sheets and towels old and thin, we couldn't get out of there fast enough.

    The view and the gardens.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    This was a great hotel in a quiet ocation but quite pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The fruit selection at breakfast was not all fresh, there were alot of canned fruits. The evening restuarants were confusing as we were not half board and wanted to eat in the hotel but did not really know what was on.

    Breakfast was great Pool area was fantastic Quiet location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    relaxed stay, fabulous views and lots of choice for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The hotel is beginning to look a bit dated for five stars. The was a shortage of sunbeds sometimes but unlike a lot of hotels now people were allowed to leave towels on them for the whole day. I would have expected more show cooking for variety but there are some great eating places across the road from the hotel

    This is a lovely seaside hotel. Plentiful breakfast buffet and a la carte options in the evening. Lots of pools and gardens. There is a promenade outside the hotel but it is quite a long walk into Funchal, we like walking so it was ok but lots of people would use a taxi or the shuttle bus

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.4
    Wouldn't call this a 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was absolutely horrible. The dinner buffet was a bunch of overcooked, unseasoned and tasteless vegetables and fish ("Atlantic buffet"). For a 5 star hotel, very disappointing, wouldn't recommend it to anyone. For that amount of money we had a delicious 3-course dinner and drinks at a restaurant in the very center (Armazem do Sal). Breakfast wasn't that bad, but again for a hotel of this class, very mediocre. Wouldn't come back.

    Staff was friendly, room had a nice view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Amazing view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt we were definitely the youngest couple at the resort, but it didn't stop us from having a good time. The food was quite costly so I would recommend walking to find food (tons close by).

    The view was unreal, pool was amazing, rooms were perfect and had everything you needed. Tons of dining options!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    A wonderful holiday -feel much better for the break and hopefully we'll be back again Sept 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Our two weeks went passed too quickly

    breakfasts were lovely --plenty of choice and lovely friendly staff Beds were so soft -- we slept really well the courtesy bus was full on one day we wanted to go into Funchal but thank you Pestana Grand you organised several taxis to take those of us who couldn't get on ,. we ate in the hotel three different evenings and really enjoyed our meals -again plenty of choice The garden staff never seemed to stop working -the gardens were beautiful -we enjoyed watching the trees round the pool being pruned.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.6
    Great service with very nice staff
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I haven't found anything that I didn´t like

    Service quality is excelent, staff is very professional and very kind. Rooms are nice and big (stayed in a room with sea view) Facilities such as pool and restaurants are very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was super- wide choice of food and drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna and indoor swimming pool were opened too short time. WIFI connection was intermittent in our room.

    Breakfast was super- wide choice of food and drink.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous staff facilities and rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee at breakfast. There were 2 dedicated coffee drinkers in our group and they were really disappointed as they got good coffee elsewhere and thought such a good breakfast deserved a good coffee,

    Staff were fabulous really made staying there special. A friend had a birthday we did not tell the hotel but they must have noticed from the check in information. The bottle of sparkly wine in an ice bucket and posy of flowers really made her feel special She was 71 not a particularly momentous birthday however that gesture was a lovely surprise she said she wouldn't forget. We just loved being there and it was just what we all needed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel that will meet all your needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except the WiFi in our room was just about average. WiFi in other parts of the hotel was excellent

    Everything except the WiFi in our room was just about average. WiFi in other parts of the hotel was excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 calls during the night in 2 different days, i guess it was a wake up call.

    I had a lovely room watching the sunset in the evening. The guest relation manager arranged for us to stay in the same room after deciding to stay one more day. I would definitely come back here.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    6.7
    A bit far out from town and would suit a quiet break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Like an old folks home, everything very expensive, happy hour a joke and cheap drink served. Had to wait until our final day to know if we could stay in room for an extra two hours and then told no. Taxi in/out town €20.

    The restaurant across the road was very good until we found Mozart's who offer a chauffeur driven convertible Beetle service from hotel. The path along the sea front was just outside and you can walk for miles.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    8.8
    We liked everything , the clientele was quite elderly so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    beds extremely hard despite duvets put on top of mattress to sleep on, as requested. Although everything else was very good we wouldnt stay there again because of the beds.

    We liked everything , the clientele was quite elderly so wouldnt suit younger visitors. Hygiene, staff and setting all great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    7.5
    Very clean good housekeepers and bar staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a garden view room and got a view of a block of apartments with their washing and a banana plantation. Cooked breakfast was frequently luke warm. Reception had no adaptors when mine broke even though the service was offered in the information in the room. And the free bus service was a battered clapped out , dirty , brake grinding grey bus that needs scrapping. This is not 5 star service.

    Very clean good housekeepers and bar staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.2
    A very good price for this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Indoor pool closes at 8pm - for us too soon. 10 pm would be perfect. Housekeeping ringing before 10am - sometimes twice.

    A very good price for this hotel. Great breakfast. Free parking and perfect base for our daytrips. Very close to a big shopping center. Nice beach walk and good restautrants nearby.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, good location, nice they offer free shuttle to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet not very good at the room, breakfast was not refilled so often, so if you are a bit late there is not much to choose

    Great hotel, good location, nice they offer free shuttle to the city center. We had the ocean view room which has an amazing view from the balcony, enjoyed the sunset and sundown everyday from our balcony.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.6
    Perfect options for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The facility and funiture were a bit old. The external pool was cold

    Great breakfast. Perfect location with close ocean beach. Wonderful outlook of the garden.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    7.1
    Hotel in good location but noisy club music at night if you stay on inland view room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pestana management moved us here from another of their hotels which we had booked and paid for in September, 3 days before we arrived but didn't advise this hotel that we had paid in advance so we had to wait for 1 hour at check in to verify prior payment which included making a call to visa to obtain a reference number.Even worse was that on checkout our room charge was still on our bill and it took another 30 minutes to get the charge removed before we could leave.Very bad administration and customer service.For this reason we will never stay in a Pestana hotel again.

    Location good but rooms very noisy from club music if you stay in mountain view room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    10
    excellent location of the hotel,stunning breakfast,transfer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent location of the hotel,stunning breakfast,transfer to the center and back by bus.Good standard spa.the room is large ,bright and very comfortable.Excelents soundproofing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    9.2
    Great staff members, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot fault them anywhere, Perhaps the bed could be a bit more soft, but that s just a personal taste. In any case, I slept very well all 6 nights of my stay

    The hotel is in a great location with magnificent views. Common areas such as gym pool and restaurant clean and tidy. The staff were doing their best to accomodate everyone's needs and were always available for assistance. 100% recommended for a relaxed, quiet, stress free vacation.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    6.3
    I liked the pool and the view of the ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price paid, the hotel was very outdated. Nothing to do. Dark hallways

    I liked the pool and the view of the ocean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Rooms dates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms dates. Old tv set. Old fridge that doesn’t cool. Week shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    A little bit out of the way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking a little tired

    A little bit out of the way

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Pestana Grand
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind!!

    Great location. Excellent breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    it felt like ahome away from home - we so loved the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    absolutely nothing

    lovely breakfast excellent staff and facilities- great stay all over

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Everything was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good The Spa,facilities and staff fantastic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Hotel location set in a very quiet part of Funchal. Very close to the Forum shopping centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like. The hotel catered for all my needs.

    Loved everything, even the cleaners were on hand daily. Anything you wanted you got.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Great breakfast and amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast and amenities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mothing

    Dpace

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    So much to do at the hotel & plenty to do & see in Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    nothing

    fabulous breakfast, wonderful facilities & the staff are so helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Totally relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent restaurants marvellous pool and spa and very comfortable rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant, weather slightly disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The pool didn't lend itself to swimming as an excerise

    We liked the view , the breakfast, the people in recertion and the chambermaids

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Bed extra comfort, Breakfast nice, Staff helpful and kind,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    ??

    Bed extra comfort, Breakfast nice, Staff helpful and kind, Nice surprise with sparkling wine on my birth day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic views of the ocean and a quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single beds pushed together and to soft and bouncy.

    Fantastic views of the ocean and a quiet location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    Good value stay in nice surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room noisy - got moved to alternative one

    Breakfast choice was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    3.8
    Utterly disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a tired run down hotel. It feels like a bad 3* hotel. We moved rooms twice. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Suite was excellent. Location excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    We would, certainly, stay at this hotel again as our weekend there couldn't have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We could find no fault with any aspect of the hotel. Food, room, staff, location all excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Great location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    A very easy and comfortable stay with stunning views. Easy breakfast for dairy free, gluten free and
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast coffee

    Great balcony and sun loungers with the sea view room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A little gem

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice, relaxing, good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that a sea view cost an extra 30 euros and it wasn't even offered until I requested it.

    Breakfast was 5*

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    A nicely situatedl location one can recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    everything was fine

    Location of our suite was really good, overlooking the Sea and Cliffs .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    very good breakfast and very kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very good breakfast and very kind staff. hotel and room are clean. The important thing us free bus from hotel to center of funchal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant indeed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot think of anything right now.

    The overall feel of the hotel facilities is first class.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse LTI Pestana Grand Ocean Resort Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: