Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pestana Palm Gardens 4 stars

Praia Do Carvoeiro, 8400-525 Carvoeiro, Portugal

#9 of 17 hotels in Carvoeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 472 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 12 nights

    When we arrived there was not cot in the room as requested. However as soon as we notified reception they quickly bought one over. Unfortunately we didn't have a sea view, but we were close to the beach.

    Pool was great, nice a big for swimming. restaurant food was delicious, a little pricey but the quality of the food justified the price. very friendly staff. House was cleaned everyday had everything we needed. reception were quick to help. The staff were helpful when arranging a hire car also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Townhouse V1
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was too cold for me!

    We loved our accommodation it was very comfortable and full of useful items like washing machine and dishwasher etc and even washing up liquid and loo rolls which you don’t often get. The on-site restaurant was really good for breakfast and lunch (we went out in the evenings) and the staff were lovely too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew the moment we walked in to the 2 bed townhouse that we wouldn’t be staying. It was in a very poor condition, long overdue an update and it stank of bleach. All the fittings were very poor.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The top terrace was not really set up for use: it had cracked tiles on the floor and needed a clean. There were ants coming in from the patio through the living room to a hole in the wall by the dining table. The 'double' room was actually two twin beds side-by-side so plenty of potential for falling down the gap! Overall the presentation of the townhouse was a little tired and dated. A few dishwasher tabs would have been very welcome. The pool was not heated at the time of our stay (mid-April) and as such was really unusable.

    Beautiful sea view and nice spacious townhouse. The maid service was an added bonus. Comfortable living room. Loved the terrace. The grounds were well maintained and very attractive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 4 nights

    right on the cliff, short walk to the beach, great tracks for walking/running along the shore, good point to explore other beaches and south west part of Portugal but you need a car to do it comfortably, great place for a relaxed stay with family, beautiful beaches nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We couldn't swim because the pool was too cold (we'd read that it would be heated in March - it wasn't). The tennis court surface was lumpy both ends, hindering play. No communal washing machines.

    The friendly staff, our comfortable apartment, the location (with nearby coastal walks and within walking distance to Carvoeiro shops, beach & restaurants), the excellent food served in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    €2 a day to rent the safe.

    The apartment worked for us. After the first day we made our own breakfast. The apartment was always warm and clean. We thought it was value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view, the view, the view. What a great spot. Near walking trails, the beach, lots of little restaurants. And the staff were all so friendly and helpful. Couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 7 nights

    condensation in upstairs rooms, no sunny private outside space (feb visit)

    comfy beds, spacious rooms, peaceful resort, great location for exploring area, loads of beaches and towns in easy reach. beach and cliff walk 200m away

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant on site is fairly expensive but plenty of places to eat within walking distance or short car ride.

    Amazing sea view from apartment. Very clean, kitchen well equipped. Staff very friendly helped organise car hire and golf.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Premium Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    booking was made for premium townhouse V2 WITH oceanview. From no spot in the townhouse could the ocean be seen. Instead there was view on parkinglot and neighboring building wall. Staff insisted, that this was exactly according to booking. Not acceptable under any circumstance, even though the property left a fair impression otherwise

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Suite (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice, clean and safe location with great facilities! Walking distance to the beach! Very peaceful in November though the temperatures were still above 20 degrees! Amazing place! Totally recommend it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Parking was a bit difficult. The apartment was poorly laid out. The toilet was hidden behind a door and the bidet was almost on top of it. There were steps in the hallway that were dangerous. You could fall through them if you weren't looking.

    Good value for my money. Able to book golf cheaper. Near the water. Nice Pool. And in a quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only trick... is to get accommodation that has good sun to the rear on the patio or balcony. A big tree can get in the way! That said we will be back.

    This was our second stay. The accommodation is extremely good and within a short walk of bars and restaurants. The grounds are tasteful. the pool excellent. Other guests were pleasant and well mannered. You can walk to two beaches and there are other small tasteful spots within 10 mins drive if you fancy a change.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything brilliant

    Excellent well furnished townhouse. Lovely restaurant overlooking floodlit pool, food excellent. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location for walk into Carvoeiro.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If your aim is to make customers feel special and respected, 2 out of the 3 reception staff we dealt with did not project this level of customer service. Our interaction with one staff member made for a very frustrating last day at the property. Our premium villa did not seem to match the quality of other vacation rentals we have stayed in. The villa was located in a premium spot on the property however the first level patio walkout and the main floor bathroom were quite small for 2 couples sharing the accommodation. Also the furnishings could use some updating and a few additional kitchen items like a cutting board and paper towels would come in handy.

    The cleaning and grounds keeping staff seemed to take pride in their work of keeping up the appearance of the property. The access to walkways atop the cliffs and to the town centre make this property a premium location in Carvoeiro. The rooftop patio was a very nice feature that provided beautiful ocean views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I found strange more than disliked was the bathroom was a bit small and the door opened inwards. That was a design fault which isn't easily rectified.

    We loved the food in Pimentapreta. The variety was great. We enjoyed most of the menu over our eight day stay. We chose to eat there as the food, wine and atmosphere were so enjoyable. The staff were so friendly and obliging. Pestana Palm Gardens is a very comfortable place for holidays. The pool is very well kept and the gardens are beautiful. The sun terrace is large enough to capture the rays all day or to avail of shade when necessary. Towels are available for use at the pool so no need to pack your own leaving your bags lighter. The complex is quiet but near enough to walk to Carvoeiro and back. Love the place and will return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bathroom is way too small. We also find the pool area small and not very inviting.

    Nice large room and comfy bed. Beautiful flowers and trees in the grounds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a walk to main restaurants . Not far but in 40 degree heat it was hardwork. No entertainment. No seaviews.

    Lovely hotel, clean, staff friendly . Food in restaurant outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff. The receptionist helped us to find a boat trip during high season days.. she was great. Good apartment, highly equipped for cooking and hosting 4 adults. Very secure and well managed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our town house was VERY warm-the design has a lot of glass in ceilings! Nice for light but not good for a hot location! TV in bedroom had virtually no reception(very snowy pictures) Bath towels were very used (but clean!) Pool towel process was cumbersome!

    Location is quiet and close for great cliff walks and views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas could do with some updating. An open bin in the kitchen led to some unpleasant smells. Shower kept going hot and cold.

    The property was a very good size and well equipped. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen wasn't very well equipped. You could easily hear the neighbours.

    The property was really clean and a good size. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms. I liked they gave you towels for your stay. We could always get sun beds around the pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good value for money. They should change name to just room for rent as they do not provide any amenity. Something like soap or towels are also given twice in 7 days stay. This is most terrible after spending $330 per night, I would expect little more. Also, it's not right in beach as advertised, quite a walk to the beach. I would rather save money and go somewhere else

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartments are past glory. Has not been modernized. Airco is not cold and made a lot of noise. And it was 35*C! You're not allowed to make use of the swimming pool after 7 pm! The nearest beach is still 20 min walking and back you have to walk up hill and takes 30 min. All in all, no value for money. Too expensive!

    The swimmingpool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool snacks were rather expensive and soft drinks not of good quality. As we didnt have a car it was too far to go to main inter marche. Local shop pricey. Would have been good to have a DO NOT disturb sign for room as some mornings we were woken by cleaner checking if we were in.

    Relaxing site very quiet and peaceful well stocked kitchen facillities reception staff very helpful. Pool was lovely and gardens well maintained

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV downstairs connection was not good for some channels. Voice was in and out. Wifi did not work in 2nd bedroom.

    Location was great! Everything you need in the kitchen is there to prepare a meal. Clean and reasonable price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 7 nights

    that we had a lake on our terrace every morning - we believe from the sprinkler system

    the location directly at the cliff with a view to the ocean; comfortable villa, very nice restaurant on site.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were brilliant & very helpful. The accommodation was clean, modern and spacious with great air con, beds were really comfy and the views were excellent. Restraunt was five star!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door was broken. 2 single beds together instead of a double bed but very comfortable!

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Also very short journey by car to amazing beaches. Praia da marinha is a must see.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Townhouse V1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was an additional €9 each and was a bit limited. A very small fruit and cereal selection and a choice of bacon sausage and tomatoes with eggs made to order. Not bad but could be a little more expansive- although there was a bottle of cava on ice for those who like a little early morning fizz.

    We stayed in a 2 bed townhouse - not luxurious (imitation terracotta never does it for me) but it was very clean and the beds were really comfortable. A small selection of TV channels in English - it was just a short walk to reception and the restaurant/pool area. Staff, as in most of portugal, were friendly and nice. Very short drive to Carvoeiro and all that has to offer..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were a bit hard.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The townhouse we stayed in was perfect. The restaurant by the pool was enjoyable. Great views, hikes starting from the property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 20 nights

    losing 4 days refund

    I loved the facilities but was very unpleased about your no refund policy. as I had to return 4 days early, due to a crisis at home, I felt you should have refunded me at least half of the fees I HAD ALREADY PAYED YOU. this policy should be revised as you have lost us and other people we know, from ever booking with you again. will also make my friends aware of this happening. Ellen Duplissie

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Townhouse V1
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Leaving!!

    Very convenient location and very well presented and maintained. Away from the main busy eating streets so a little quieter but close enough to walk if you needed to. We had a car so it was very easy to get around. Basically in the middle of a good drive east and west along the Algarve Coast. We would definitely stay here again and especially in Carvoeiro. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Very close to Vale de Centianes - great beach with a place to eat and drink.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super grumpy employee at reception- Vera. Mattresses old and moderately uncomfortable. Slightly rundown residences and furnishings

    This hotel was totally acceptable for the price point.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort was not as quiet as I hoped: workmen were fixing a terrace down the lawn during all of our stay, causing a lot of noise unfortunately. Also a neighbour in our block played music (I think The Three Tenors) very loudly on her terrace for a few hours on our last day. Just our bad luck I guess, but I really expected it to be more silent and peaceful.

    Beautiful view from the house. It was a very clean and spatious house, good kitchen utilities which we find important as we prefer to cook ourselves, great beds. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children's pool was not heated! Seems as if the property does not cater to small children. Play area for kids situated at a part of the property without any shade, and a bit boring play area. Should at least have a section of the larger heated pool for kids to use.

    Service provided by the lovely ladies who cleaned our rooms. Always smiling and friendly with our kids. Lovely Mona Lisa restaurant 3 min walk from property. Fantastic service (Tito is a gem!) and food! Tip: pork scallops to die for!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was possible to order fresh rolls for breakfast, or pick them up for dinner. Though they were small, they were very tasty. The daily service was a surprise to us and we enjoyed the cleanliness. As promised our room(s) had ocean view. It was very idyllic. Also the gardens were very well groomed. Blooming flowers everywhere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen not well set up. No introductory cleaning products for the sink or washer. Also the lady on reception was quite rude. We arrived 45 minutes early and she told us to go way and come back later. It would have been better if she had said "the room isn't quite ready but you can leave your bags and sit by the pool until it is" Not a good first impression.

    2 lovely , large sized bedrooms and a large lounge room. Overall a very clean and modern apartment. Close to town yet far enough away not to be noisy. Great , uncrowded cave and beach down the road but tricky access.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst grounds and pool area are beautiful SOME of the accommodation could do with upgrading.The restaurant is relatively expensive, if you are going to be eating there maybe you should consider upgrading to the half board option which you are able to do so on arrival.

    Quiet,relaxing,perfect for us. Central to all the Algarve but this area is quite Portuguese as opposed to "brits on holiday". We have been coming to this area for 20 years and it's hardly changed in all that time.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The only problem I have is that the bathrooms are very small in the studio flats. For some of our group this is deal breaker and they stay in the hotel next door. The wifi in the hotel next door is awful though so it depends what you prefer.

    Various groups of our family come here in March every year and stay at the Pestana Palm Gardens and the Baia Cristal hotel next door. In the early season in March it is great because the pool is heated and it is usually still pretty quiet. You can run the risk of some patchy weather though. We book the rooms with a kitchen so we can do breakfasts and lunch ourselves and then we go out to restaurants in the evenings. It is nice because it is a bit along the coast from the main part of the town and there is a beach 5 mins walk which is always really quiet. It is about 15 mins walk in to the main town down the hill which is a nice walk with lots of good restaurants on the way. You can also walk along a cliff path route to the town. The wifi is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Two bedroom, sea view apartment (which we upgraded our booking on arrival to have) was well appointed, very comfortable and very clean. Staff were great and very friendly. Pimenta Preta restaurant, which is on-site, is outstanding.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Townhouse V1
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Property Appt 15 , was totally in the shade ALL day!!!! No usable balcony. Couldn't get towels dry etc. had to sit on pavement across road for sun. Picnic table facing the car parking ?and in shade all day.. The whole point of holiday was to pick up winter sun .

    Two good bedrooms afforded privacy for teenage child. Access to cliff top walks. Heated swim pool and free loan if tennis equipment.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The general condition of the hotel is a bit run down and dated. This can also be said for the finish of the rooms and facilities etc. This all has to be considered in relation to the price and from this perspective its an absolute bargain!

    The location of the hotel was great, just a short walk to a stunning clifftop view of the ocean. Also the surrounding area of Carvoeiro is very beautiful. Free car parking was really nice with the ability to park your car directly in front of your apartment. The reception ladies were very welcoming and helpful as were the cleaners.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was super comfy. The view from the rooftop terrace was lovely. The Villa was very homely. The staff were really nice and helpful. There are lots of local beaches that are within walking distance or a short taxi ride.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restuarant overpriced with moody Waiters, and poor food for the price.house itself could do with TLC.

    Hotel lovely. Maids cleaned each day and changed bed twice weekly.the townhouse itself was furnished cheaply with the minimum amount of kitchen implements , knifes blunt,scissors didn't cut. Microwave rubbish and no instructions. Dishwasher and washing machine OK. The restuarants is run independentry. Food average and very expensive. Waiters "presious" when complained about 2 out of three meals wrong...blamed the chef!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen in the room had nearly everything you need in terms of dishes - but nothing to wash and dry them. There were a few hair on the bed stuff... the bathroom is very small, but ok. We stayed 2 nights, they didn't clean the room while we were there. Be careful with the balcony door, if you close it completely from the outside you can't get back in.

    The restaurant was good. We had dinner there once - just excellent. Breakfast was good too. If you like to sleep in though, you will not have big choice of fruit anymore. Coffee from the machine is horrible - order one at the bar and you will get a really good one. It's ony a short walk to get to the boardwalk of Carvoeiro and from there to the town's centre for dinner or shopping. Watching the sunset from the boardwalk is nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Too much space given over to the living area when you consider how tiny the bathroom was. Our apartment didn't get any sunshine on its terrace until mid afternoon. Cold in the shade until then (October) so it got hardly any use. Probably in the summer it might be very welcome shade.

    Well stocked kitchen. Large single beds. Daily maid service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 13 nights

    We booked a sea view apartment (apartment 60) but unless you strained to see it through the trees and bushes, it was not possible to see the sea. The apartment had a spiral staircase so our travel stairgate would not fit. It was a challenge trying to keep our child away from it. The children's swimming pool was absolutely freezing, possibly because it is in the shade some of the day. It didn't seem to warm up. My child's lips were blue on two occasions after just a short time in the pool and I had to take him out. I asked at reception if it could be heated a little but they said it was not possible. The location of the resort is at the top of a hill in Carveiro and its a bit of a walk into the town. We found walking down the hill in Carveiro town difficult to navigate with a buggy. The footpaths are narrow and not well maintained and have potholes. The other option is to drive into town instead of walking, it is challenging to find parking but not impossible. The beach nearest the hotel is accessed via some pretty steep steps. It is in no way practical trying to get down these with a young child, beach bags, buckets & spades etc so you would be better driving and parking by the beach if you have young children. We ate at the restaurant at Pestana Palm's which is called Pimenta Preta on our first night. The presentation of the food was lovely, it looked like a picture on the plate. The quality of the ingredients was also very good but the food was tasteless and therefore quite disappointing it just needed some simple seasoning and flavours added during cooking and it would have been perfect. We also had lunch there one day and the sandwiches were really nice.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. The resort was quiet and had a relaxed atmosphere. The apartment was very clean with a daily maid service and well equipped but the décor was a little dated. The grounds around the hotel were well maintained with lots of lovely flowering trees and bushes. There was a small playground on site which was used frequently! My husband got sick whilst we were there and the receptionist reacted quickly and called an English speaking doctor who came to the apartment on a Saturday night. This helped us a lot and made sure that the illness didn't spoil our holiday. Overall we had a lovely holiday and I would recommend the place but perhaps for families with older children.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairway to apartment. Handling suitcases up stairway difficult and dangerous. No handrail, should be fitted!!

    Caring efficient staff.good restaurant.food excellent quality.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real complaints although it was a little bit of a walk - maybe 20 mins, to the main town. There were better located units in the resort than the one we had - some with lovely views. over the ocean. The bin lorry came every day at about 7am - but it was only 5 mins of noise. There are no shops in short walking distance.

    It was quiet and pretty handy for the beach. The unit was good, no complaints internally. Staff were very friendly and all spoke good english. Carvoeiro was a small nice place - plenty bars and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Townhouse V1
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym equipment may need updating.

    Staff were very friendly and always happy to help. Location is excellent, with lots of activities in the surrounding areas. Family friendly. Access to the tennis court was very nice to have.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to report broken furniture and locks in bad repair three times Although this was actioned by staff if caused upset to our trip

    Beautiful sea views and lovely quiet area

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    People reserving sunbeds before breakfast in the morning and not using them for most of the day!

    Comfortable apartment and good housekeeping. Reception and bar staff friendly and helpful. Good rage of drinks and snacks from pool bar.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Pool, Bar and Restaurant open hours. It closes too early considering that we are in summer and day (sun exposure) is quite long.

    Location, friendly and customer oriented staff, including the cleaning ladies, and facilities.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Some of your Receptionist staff could be more friendly & approachable. One of your Snack Bar Staff (Male/Wore glasses) who worked in the afternoons was quite abrupt & unfriendly & discouraged us from availing of a pool side drink/snack with his negative attitude & abrupt tone. It appeared he was unhappy in his job!!! The changing facilities provided for guests who checked out early in the day but had a late flight were totally inadequate & were dirty & unhygienic to use. The limited space is shared with the gym facilities & for a family of 4 we found it totally inadequate & informed Reception of our issues. The people who used the gym @ the same time were unhappy about us sharing their space too which led to a very unpleasant situation!!!

    SOME of your Receptionist staff were very pleasant, welcoming & professional especially the lady who was working on the evening of Wednesday 29th June 2016 The pool & the pool area was very clean & pleasant. The accommodation was adequate & practical

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi connection in the upper part of the house/bedroom was not sufficient. In the bottom shower room the water didn't poor out very fast...

    Very nice service from the reception staff. Wonderful view! Nice beds! The clean and good looking pool and pool area and the abscence of Cinzano logotypes on the sun umbrellas :) Nice breakfast buffe!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably NOT

    Location, service and everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Spacious and clean apartment with cozy decoration.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down townhouse, not a 4 star.

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very comfortable bed, Fantastic view, Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Townhouse V1
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car directly before the appartement the pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property and complex is worn out living on its location only. Old and dirty furniture plus poor maintenance

    Leaving

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room with sea view but eventually we received another one.

    The palm trees,the bar, restaurant great food and bear and friendly Staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Suite (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Onsite restaurant was very good but a bit pricey - alternatives in town a reasonable walk away.

    Everything worked fine

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the apartment was looking onto a car park and a boundary wall / fence

    the pool area, the location to the town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view of ocean, tiny little balcony.

    we did not really need a kitchen. One room would have been enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 7 nights

    did not use the facility

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Townhouse V1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location Ambience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Townhouse V2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See View

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot chocolate mug could have been a big bigger. Gym very small and smelly, claustrophic.

    Bed comfy. Pool lovely. not far to beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money.

    Stayed for one night - it was easy and comfortable. Went for basic room without view so it was very reasonable.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pestana Palm Gardens traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: