Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pestana Vintage Porto Hotel & World Heritage Site 5 stars

Praça Da Ribeira, 1, União de Freguesias do Centro, 4050-513 Porto, Portugal

#20 of 142 hotels in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1069 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Vintage Grand with balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    The rooms were clean and spcious. The beds were super comfortable as were the pillows. The view is amazing!!! The staff we very helpful and very nice. Very nice buffet at breakfast. I would definetely go back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room was advertised as of those of the city whereas all we could see was the next building some two meters away.

    Staff particularly attentive and friendly, only ate breakfast in hotel which was excellent with good choices. Room comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food at the steak restaurant was OK. It could have been better for the price.

    Bed was very good. Splendid views over the Duero. The part of Porto where the hotel is located is becoming somewhat of a victim of its own success particularly at weekends where the area around the hotel is over run with tourists, hen parties and a lot of noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small

    Fabulous location. Staff were fantastic and recommended and booked restaurants for us. Breakfast was delicious. Lots of lovely lounge areas to enjoy the view. Welcome drink on arrival. Porto is a beautiful city - we’d loved to have stayed longer

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast a bit over crowed: a continued fight at peak time

    Great location... if you do not have a car. Team ready to help whenever needed, very good quality of hotel services

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Difficult to think of negatives ... my only gripe would have to be ... having a Nespresso machine in the room was lovely but only 2 coffee pods a day (unless you asked for more) seemed a bit of a waste of the machine. I would have liked a choice of coffee pods - or no machine at all! I know that sounds petty so really , no faults with the hotel!

    I loved the location of the hotel - right on the waterfront and a perfect base for exploring the city. I loved the tranquil feel of the hotel and the external natural quirkiness of the buildings that make up the hotel. I loved the friendly staff. Most of all I loved the breakfast!! The natas were amazing ... impossible to resist. Everything was local and fresh and the staff were proud of what they had on offer for breakfast and encouraged guests to try things. Beds were super comfortable and the rooms were clean. Slept really well!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was small and looked out on a housefront and neighbours laundry

    Very nice ambiente, excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom structure was very good regarding shower and a place to keep personal belongings. The main negative issue is that the modern design of the bathroom does not allow privacity once the door to the room is a glass door.

    Excellent staff Excellent breakfast Excellent view and location. The RIB restaurant was super.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage Grand with balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing doesn’t like.

    Best location at Porto and it’s walkable distance to all the interesting places. The breakfast is brilliant and many fruit choices. Staffs are very nice and helpful. The room booked is perfect for us, although the heating is not very warm. I definitely will return again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is much too high. This hotel becomes more expensive from year to year, and if we think that a salary in Portugal is around 600€ per month - I can just say that Pestana takes profit of the situation that there is a lot of demand for trips to Porto nowadays. Few years ago I paid 50% less here...

    Best location in Porto

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They take away the face cloths at turn down....not sure why?????

    The hotel is centrally located by the river, close to the funicular railway and Sao Bento station. There are many bars and restaurants surrounding the hotel and the hotels own restaurant Rib is very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Vintage with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've got twin room instead of double and found hair in my shower just before the first usage. The staff doesn't know how to stop bleeding after minor cut.

    Location is really great and my river view was amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very attentive and helpful, mostly young people full of hope and vigor, a refreshing difference compared to other properties. We will stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Riverside view would have been nice but the cost differential was prohibitively expensive.

    Bed very comfortable. Friendly staff but breakfast servers were exceptional. Housekeeping staff also friendly and helpful. Hotel very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was our second stay at Pestana Vintage Porto Hotel, and just like the first time, our stay was perfect. The staff are all friendly and excellently trained, we found ourselves wanting for nothing. We would visit a third time!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking a little distance

    The location is very good and the hotel itself is part of the landscape. The service staff are very enthusiastic and professional and they can meet almost all requirements. The breakfast is very rich and offers a wide range of alcoholic drinks. Fresh honey is also worth trying.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is absolutely nothing we didn't like - this was really a fantastic experience overall! If and when we return to Porto, we will certainly choose Pestana again!

    Fantastic hotel with wonderful, helpful staff. The location by the river couldn't be better! Excellent breakfast, nice room...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Vintage Grand with balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Assistance in parking. Road is closed from 11am - 6:00 pm, there is parking close by, but hotel should have an agreement with this lot as they neglected to inform us that it only accepts cash. There should be valet parking or let us in to drop bags off for guests at the hotel. Taxis are allowed in throughout the day. Front desk staff instead of apologizing was arguing that the parking lot accepted credit card. Front desk should give a heads up. This a warning to others who would stay here if driving.

    View from the room, facing Douro river and on Douro river/ location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage Grand with balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    From the minute we arrived to the minute we checked out we were made to feel very special. Nothing was disappointing about staying at Pestana Porto. Our room was amazing , the view to die for , breakfast perfect and the entire staff we came across wonderful. Cannot wait to return

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service needs an improvement and that was the only minor side; more choice, and not overdone or salty however separate bit and rare to not eat in the hotel or put (we did so many tours that the last night was a luxury to stay in and why not!

    Amazing hotel located right in the centre of everything! On the Douro, across from the Port wine cellars, the Bridges, in the hub of the universe! Was amazing. Room was lovely, superior and you don't need a view as you see it all day! Staff very friendly, relaxed, breakfast delicious. The cocktail bar is excellent and we had a few martinis there. Delicious food and will be back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Weather.

    The hotel was chosen for its' iconic view and location. It could not have been bettered. The trip was to celebrate a special birthday and we were thrilled at the special treatment the "Birthday Boy" received. Thank you Pedro and your team. The breakfast was delicious and the coffee set us up for our days of exploring Porto and beyond. The one thing that was out of anyone's control was the weather - which was appalling. February isn't the best month for a birthday. Perhaps a summer visit would be a better idea. Porto and Pestana Vintage are certainly well worth visiting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The different levels of the hotel and that you have to take two different elevators to access your room sometimes. It did feel like I was in the Maze at times. Also the bathroom showers without a door leave one feeling chilled after a warm shower! insist in a room with a bathroom door.

    The location was in an old structure and renovated... besides being on the waterfront! beautiful views make for a picture postcard filled holiday, and very close to the tourist attraction the city has to offer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There seemed to be a plethora of staff not doing very much. They were all very attentive, so the service was great .. but maybe this is also why the rooms are so expensive!

    The hotel is situated right on the Douro river. Wonderful views from your rooms if you get one facing the river ... but beware these come at a cost!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage Grand with balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite requesting a walk in shower (as opposed to shower over bath) and booking months in advance and hotel confirming they had noted our request at booking and days prior to check in, it was not available. We stressed this was important due to my wife's mobility issues. The best they could do was to make it available on day two, hence we had to change rooms. Not good. Say they can never reserve such a room in advance, regardless of how far in advance you book or how early you check in?? Had similar problems at other hotels on our trip but they were always able to come up with a solution at check in, but not Pestana!! Interestingly, we never had a problem at the cheaper hotels where we did an overnight stop at airports

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even though I had made this booking months ago for my family to celebrate our wedding anniversary - when I arrived all our rooms were on different floors and buildings. When prodded the hotel rearranged the rooms but it wasn't a comfortable to have to do this. Then after this our original room had a bad smell and we were given a lovely room.

    The hotel is in a great location. My second room was fabulous spacious and airy the first room had a terrible smell. The beds were very comfortable, breakfast was wonderful and the staff when needed were helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is way more beautiful in person. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The views from this hotel can't be beat. We loved staying here, and didn't want to leave. Once you step outside you are in the city center. Rows of restaurants and bars right outside of the hotel room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although our room was comfortable and we did not need to adjust the thermostat, we were with two other couples who found their rooms extremely warm and unable to be adjusted. One couple had to change rooms but were beautifully upgraded for their inconvenience. Very accommodating staff.

    Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was spacious, clean and modern. Restaurant decor was lovely and breakfast buffet included in price was varied and delicious, especially the fruit and breads. Staff were very welcoming, cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is in the middle of the most interesting scenery in Porto. The Staff was incredibly friendly. Dinner and breakfast great value for money. Hotel is very stylish but cozy. We definitely come back for another weekend stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want to see all of Porto get transportation because it’s a climb up from the river.

    Beautiful location. Easily get to all Douro places. Plenty of food & drink options in area. Great breakfast included. Lively tourist area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a very rundown hotel . Carpet stings and you need a good sleeper to walk inside the room. Not a single cup of coffee in the regular room. I stayed one night facing river and paid €120 extra It’s not worth it . Just a plain little bigger room and a coffee machine with two servings only.

    Location and staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage Grand with balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no bad memories.

    The hotel is renovated from a heritage building with great knowledge of good architecture. Every corner every detail has been thought elegantly. I liked the colour combination of my room, very comfortable bed, bathroom was large and had very good quality shampoo, lotion and the housekeeping took care of our towels immediately. We had dinner at the RIB restaurant which was excellent and the price was very affordable. The staff was very efficient and helpful with good knowledge for someone who is new to the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Deceptive pricing of upgraded room; don't bother Price gouging on taxi; don't bother, take Uber Failure to make restaurant reservations when requested

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was perfect; the room was very nice, modern and comfortable with an excellent view of the Ribiera, the river, the bridge and Gaia. The staff was terrific, helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel ATM had a very poor exchange rate from sterling to euro.

    The position of the hotel was outstanding, the beds were the most comfortable we have ever had.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nowhere to put clothes that couldn't be hung up. Not keen on stairs into room. Very small area near bar with a random television.

    The sister hotel with pool about 10 minutes drive away was better. Good central location but very busy as you would expect. Breakfast fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel in a premium position in Porto with excellent river/bridge view during redbull air race. Extremely attentive staff upgraded us and surprised us with bubbly and cake on our wedding anniversary. Couldn't be happier with the stay and the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    This hotel has an amazing location. The room was perfect, extremely clean and the staff was very helpful with excellent restaurant recommendations and reservations. Loved that we could walk to so many!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor and inattentive service.

    Great location, little else. This hotel trades on the back of a wonderful location but is otherwise bog standard. You pay a lot of money for what is an average hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 4 nights. I would recommend that the hotel include more storage so that travelers can unpack their suitcases and store their clothes in a chest of drawers. That is our only complaint.

    Loved the location of this property. Beautiful water views of the river right outside our window. Lots of nearby restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 4 nights. I would recommend that the hotel include more storage so that travelers can unpack their suitcases and store their clothes in a chest of drawers. That is our only complaint.

    Loved the location of this property. Beautiful water views of the river right outside our window. Lots of nearby restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking situation as described above; staff did not follow request for room location AND it would have been possible to have done so; distinct lack of initiative and second effort to satisfy a specific and most important and sensitive request by a person of leadership. this need was satisfied in principal as it was found later by an underling of the person of stature, BUT AFTER THE EVENT WAS CLOSED, and as I had only one day in Porto, it was a great disappointment as it was Very important to me and not possible to correct after the fact.

    everything was perfect; location, breakfast, cleanliness, parking a bit confusing and a generalized pain in the neck due to the orientation and the pin in the road installed by the city and should have been advised of, by the hotel, to prospective guests. this is supposed to be a 4 or 5 star property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could find no fault with this hotel, it's staff nor it's location.

    Location was superb. The giant bed was wonderfully comfortable to sleep in & the room was spacious & well-equipped. The breakfast options were incredible & catered for every taste. The attached RIB restaurant was good value for dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a twin room but due to non availability was given a queen size bed. Hotel can use a major uplifting and rooms are extra small

    Excellent location and staff try very hard to accommodate demands

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff polite but lacking charm. Breakfast room chaotic. Loos hidden behind unlabelled doors. Only one loo in reception and it wasn't clean. Terrace bar had very limited menu and couldn't/wouldn't serve a basket of bread.

    Stylish and comfortable. Great river view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The riverside location in the historic old town couldn't be better and the view from our room was splendid. The welcome was very friendly and efficient and the staff, generally, were very helpful. There is a very good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage Grand with balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is perfect. Had river view and balcony, amazing day and night. Wonderful breakfast selection. Nothing too much trouble for the staff and recommendations for restaurants superb.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    being located next to the housekeeping facilities and staff were very noisy coming and going.

    The best location in Porto, do not hesitate to book this hotel. Only disappointment was that our room was located next to the housekeeping cupboard and the staff were very noisy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Simply amazing stay and so happy we went w the Pestana. You cannot beat the location on the Douro and if you choose a room with balcony you're in for a treat as you will get excellent view of Ponte Dom Luis I and the port house in Avila Nova de Gaia. It's centrally located to all the sites and you can easily walk all over the city from here. An A++!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise. There was a wedding reception going on the night on which we stayed (a Thursday), and lasted until 2-3am. We could not sleep because of the noise. We had not been warned in advance even though we had asked for a quiet room and were assured that it was going to be quiet. After we complained, we were given a discount.

    Excellent location. We had a room overlooking the river. The room was spacious, clean and modern.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But was given a room on a bottom floor with windows looking out on a walk way. Lovely room but no privacy. Had to keep curtains closed the whole time which meant I missed the beautiful view of the river.

    Location and hotel. Reservations made by staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would like free bottled water. No parking at hotel. Parking is in a parking garage a few blocks away from the hotel. Not a huge problem at all but the hotel should communicate this with guests before they arrive.

    Great view of the river. Extremely well situated. Very friendly & helpful staff. Comfortable rooms. Quirky retro decor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of aggressive beggers in Porto. Rooms smelled a little when arrived but we opened the windows to let fresh air in and it was fine.

    The location was great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property has a lot of weird smells, the rooms smelled very bad, the elevator smell was terrible and we stayed in the first floor, which is next to the restaurant stairs, so the hall had fish smell most of the time.

    The location was amazing, the staff super friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Driving down to the hotel when access was allowed was a nightmare, width restrictions and very busy with pedestrians made it very difficult. Park in the car-park, lift available and short walk down hill even with suitcases. I think the hotel should mention this to visitors who don't know the area and are likely to have a hire car.If

    The bathroom facilities were particularly good and the room was quiet as we had a room at the back. The range of food provided for breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a long stay, our room was kind of small. Fortunately we requested a front river view, otherwise it would not be worth a long stay without a nice view.

    Great location, excellent staff, extraordinary breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Our first room allocated was spotless but view was poor, it was a classic room. We asked to be moved, we had to pay a bit more but it was well worth it.

    Besides the stunning location the best thing about this hotel was the staff. Every single one, friendly, helpful all spoke great English which was fab as we speak no Portuguese.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two rooms, for 3 people (1 room with double bed and 1 room with 2 twin beds with River View) The room with Twin beds and river view did not exist and 2 people had to share a double bed. If twin beds and river view are not possible then PLEASE DO NOT MAKE THIS OPTION AVAILABLE FOR BOOKING. Very annoying when you specifically ask for 2 beds and they give you one. I do believe in determining value for money /comfort and facilities this was a major negative not having the room that was booked. Not confortable in sharing a bed, did not enjoy the room as much as I had wished and it would have been worth evey penny if the hotel had achieved what was actually booked.

    The Staff were nice and very pleasent. We loved the tiny extras with the Port wine offerings and the Pastel de Nata!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is just a way off say maybe a kilometre away.

    Everything in this property was first rate from the staff to the restaurants they couldn't have been more welcoming, we will definitely return. It was an excellent choice and we will be telling people of our experience. Martyn & Roslyn Richardson

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I used a cane & had trouble with the stairs that were 2 elevators and 1 flight of stairs to our room on the 6th floor

    The breakfast & the location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast room resembled a canteen, and quality of breakfast not particularly good. They don't know how to make a pot of tea and serve with cold milk, which considering the standard of the hotel, this was very surprising.

    The position of the Hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all

    Location fantastic. Very comfortable room with small balcony overlooking the river. Outstanding staff everywhere. Great breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit difficult to find. But not too bad

    The staff was very polite and when they saw it was our wedding night presented us with champgne and chocolate brownies.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like.

    Beautiful hotel located along the waterfront. Beautiful presented with spacious, comfortable rooms. Felt very luxiourious. The staff are all amazing! Everyone of them was always willing to help. It exceeded our expectations and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage Grand with balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room that seemed great on the booking.com pictures. Once I got there, the only thing that matched with the pictures was the view. I paid 500 euros per night for a room that was a 3 star hotel room and even worse bathroom. I was really disappointed. I was explained there was no rooms left on the new part of the hotel. I think it is a shame you book something, and you get something much worse, paying the same amount as a new room. Shame on you, Pestana Vintage. Very bad.

    Good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for the type of room. Having booked 4 months ahead at least we arrived to be put in a room backing up to the elevator, overlooking the alley, on the first floor in an area that might be better used as storage space. The room was nice enough but dark, noisy and felt like a cave.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water from the basin was slow to go, but really there was nothing not to like about the Pestana Vintage. The room rate is also quite high.

    The view over the river and overall location. The size of the room was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view, great staff

    We had a great room overlooking historical area. Room 503 had a perfect view of the water. The hotel had funky and elegant feel - the staff were helpful and attentive. Breakfast was included in cost and they put on a great spread. Close to restaurants and a short walk up the hill to the neighborhood shops. It's a bit pricey, but worth the cost.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Vintage River View with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The french windows gave lots of light into the room and a lovely view of the river. Ideally situated for a stroll by the river and the many cafes in the area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the breakfast selection was good but on two mornings the white bread / rolls were not replenished, even after a request. The cooked items on the buffet were not very warm.

    The room was clean and well presented. No beverage making facilities or guest information folder. This was requested but did not appear. The hotel location is excellent. Staff are friendly and pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the hotel was great. I do think it is good for people to be aware, as we were, that it is a bit of a walk down a steep hill from the Sao Bento train station. But we didn't mind! Most times private cars cannot go down there, though taxis can.

    The staff was very accomodating. We arrived on the late side and they upgraded us to a room with an astonishing view! Everything was very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, with perfectly ripe fruit presented beautifully. I had a massage from a massage therapist named Maria and it was excellent. I am a massage therapist so it was a delight to get such a good one on vacation!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During the afternoon the bar was a bit understaffed or staff inexperienced. They had a hard time coping but were very nice.

    We especially liked the restaurant, both for dinner and breakfast. Room was small but comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurants on the waterfront. Too big, noisy and samey. Much more interesting ones up in the town itself.

    A very comfortable hotel in a great location. Very clean and friendly. The meal in the restaurant on our first night was excellent. The restaurants in the town are better than those on the waterfront and are only a five minute stroll away. There is plenty to do and see in this city and it's easy to get around. I recommend buying a Porto card - it allows you to use the buses and underground and get discounts on most of the cities attractions. Highlights for us were port tasting in Graham's and the tour of Casa da Musica. Check out the Bom Sucesso Mercado - across the road from the Casa da Musica - for lunch. The Prosecco is just 2.00 euro per glass. Chilled, fizzy and delicious. Bliss!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked to prepare my breakfast in the morning due that I planed to live early, unfortunately they were delay.

    Exceptional kind staff. Great room. Certainly highly recommended. I love it!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant served beef, no fish, or pasta alternatives. High step to enter tub for shower, ask for a rubber mat, otherwise you can slip. Not too much shower head flow.

    Location, room overlooked the Duro river. Staff was very helpful and all spoke english fairly well

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad towels with holes due to excessive washing Floor makes sound every time I walk Loud crowd by the front Slippery stair steps in the room. Access to hotel by car is troublesome as the gate gets closed at times of the day.

    Location by the river Good breakfast Great staff Good Wifi

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: