Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pestana Viking Beach & SPA Resort 4 stars

Praia Senhora Da Rocha, 8400-450 Armação de Pêra, Portugal

#10 of 60 hotels in Armação de Pêra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1085 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    It's okay. I would probably look for another place to stay next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning in our room didn't work properly. It was repaired and blew cool air for a few hours. Then it didn't work again. Pestana Viking Beach seems a bit sterile and lacking character. The personnel were not particularly personable.

    The property was very near the beach. Terrific beach(s).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    great place, great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The reception staff. Long story, I did not like them.

    The best things - the location and the miniclub. The hotel itself is nice, very nice. Very slow check-in. Do not hope they will give you the room before 3 pm. The breakfast was good, but limited choices. Not a problem if you don't stay more days. If you want to stay more, eating the same ham and cheese and scrambled eggs for 10 days can be a problem. But, the lack of choices is compensated by the pancakes they make in front of you :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    a place to relax at the beach with the comforts of a hotel a few meters away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    -tiny flies were everywhere.. in the hall, in the balcony, toilet.. they don't bite but disgusting -the aircon was a bit noisy

    -my friends were celebrating their 10th year wedding anniversary & they prepared the room with a cake & decoration. it was really sweet! -very close to the beach with a superb view and huge lounge area -i liked the pool bar with DJ mixing cool songs in the background. the audio system was great -they also offer a discounted dinner voucher at the reception

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    Honeymoon stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very uncomfortable, and I did not feel safe in the shower it was a foot high step to get in, and very small, and the shower only had half the shower covered so a lot of cold air got in defeating the purpose of a shower. Just had high expectations based on the website and reviews for hotel.

    Gorgeous view for the price. Quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful views & super relaxing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful place with great views! The staff was very nice and worked hard to give us better accommodations. Our visit was so relaxing and we would love to come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    4.2
    Sub-standard luxury hotel, with poor quality food, little entertainment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Awful breakfast, poor quality food although variety was very good, there was sugared water for fruit juice, boiled eggs black inside, fatty bacon, old soft fruit. Many members of staff were not friendly and did not smile. Spa area/Jacuzzi/swimming pool dirty, - pool, tiny changing area, showers, loo, all needed to be refurbished. Aircon was very noisy in bedroom resulting in very little sleep. Very little evening entertainment. Disappointed - as bad weather when there we would have hoped for some good entertainment in evening or daytime to create an enjoyable holiday. For a luxury hotel and the price paid we would have hoped for a much better standard of hotel.

    Spacious bedroom and lovely bathroom, nice bed, nice shower. Really useful microwave/sink/fridge area. Roomy wardrobes. Great views of beaches/sea/cliffs from bedroom. Short walk to beach and local restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    It was a pleasant stay, although the weather was awful so we spent a lot of time in the hotel unab
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was cleaned late in the day, which meant we were in it when the cleaners came, so they did it rather quickly and the floors weren't wet mopped. The bathroom didn't have a bidet or a bath (which is unusual) and there was nowhere to put your clothes, when you were in the shower. The shower head was broken, but reception fixed this as soon as we told them.

    The sea view room had a lovely view. The breakfast area was spacious and you didn't feel at all crowded in the bar area where the overspill were allowed to eat. The staff and cleaners were pleasant. There was a very nice Portuguese restaurant opposite the hotel which we went to several times and an Indian Restaurant which was nice. The Italian Restaurant up the road was disappointing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.1
    nice break in February...quiet and relaxing.Disappointed overall with staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    buffet breakfast was chaotic...no staff to assign you to a table...food was cold... We had to upgrade our room...originally first room was tiny and missing facilities we were told were included when we booked.

    good choice of food...great location next to several beaches.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    3.8
    Not the luxury we thought we’d paid for. We’re going back to cheap hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above The hotel needs investment Eg the towels are old and hard.

    Nothing! This hotel has nothing special. This is what we didn’t like..... “4*” but only Instant Coffee! Staff not good at English. Reception was not welcoming. There was a sign saying to the effect “food must not be removed from dining room” but no sign to say that the lift didn’t work properly. No evidence of security cameras in public areas. Room safe was €2 per day extra. the towels were old and hard. Etc etc

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed was VERY uncomfortable. Lack of a hob in the room limited what we could cook for ourselves. Most restaurants nearby were closed due to it being off season, we were not forewarned of this.

    Breakfast was brilliant standard, much better than the usual hotel buffet style breakfasts. Staff very friendly and helpful in the whole. Rooms and hotel very clean. Pool area was great. Proximity to the beach excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    4.2
    Was expecting better from this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel feels old and not properly renovated, not enough staff and most of them poorly trained, breakfast not very exciting besides the fruits that were good

    Hotel location is wonderful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.4
    The bed was absolutely wrong two single bed pushed together...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleaners could have supplied shampoo and conditioner with washing gel every morning. Instead it was not there. Also they should have water in the fridge at arrival as well as every morning. It would be nice to supply tea and hot chocolate in the room with a cattle. English people like to have a cup of tea when they wake up first thing in the morning.

    The bed was absolutely wrong two single bed pushed together and having a gap always in the middle. At the middle of the night we had to get up and push it together not once. Reported it to the receptionist but they did not take any notice. Also the shower leaver was impossible to change to bathwater mode, very old fashioned for a 4 star hotel. Indoor swimmingpool water was cold.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location for families (although car needed) ,will return :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Why isn't the outside Pool heated ? The hotel was full up and had to use indoor pool which got crowded at times :-((

    Beautiful setting on the cliffs ,fantastic views etc Good choice for breakfast .Staff all very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    A good value 4 star hotel in a nice location with good views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bigger room, layout was not the best, the bathroom did not have a proper door. The steam room was not great in the spa. The pool was not quite heated enough. The check in was fairly late at 3 pm.

    Lots of space for the public areas, good buffet breakfast, nice indoor pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Great family fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The interior pool is too crowded to be usable for swimming after 17h. Not enough sun chairs, either. The fact they sometimes hold swimming lessons in the pool doesn't help. But again, it's great if you use it before 17h.

    Ample, comfortable suite, quality TV set and appliances, decent wi-fi. Very good spa area, the pool was adequately heated (in December), Turkish bath, sauna and jacuzzi fully functional. Excellent breakfast. Great location and sea views.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    relax in winter times on empty beaches and sunny walks with Lisbon visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    airport shuttle time 1.5h instead 50 min as description but cheap from bus shuttle , internal swimming pool is only kids friendly 1.2 m depth, coffee could be better quality.....only couple good restaurant around hotel , so car is good to have ( recomended autoroha - 1/3 price off branded- around 20 min walk to town Armacao or free hotel bus but limited to quantity)

    location, quiet - perfect for couples in low season - empty couple beaches nearby, room size, free hotel bus to nearby town , fridge and kettle in room, huge balcony ( room 242) we chose to have bus shuttle ( 10 euro p/p one way - bus shuttle or green bus - office on airport with friendly staff ) and than we rent a car from autoroha in Armacao- best prices and friendly staff - 130 euro , fully insurance p/ week with no extra cost or hidden charges and free car collection from hotel afterwoods !!! opposite to eurocars 360 Euro per week its abargain ! there are coupe beaches around and next to hotel....petrol is 1.4-1.5 euro l only few good restaurants nearby incl indian restaurant we recommended go to : Alto village, Lagos, VIlamura port - luxury yachts and hotels, Loule for Town and Christmas shopping or christmas market and of cource Lisbon - 2.5h drive yet 20 euro motorway fee one way....but lots to see and visit over there. there is intermarche market opened untill 9 p.m with loundry service if needed - around 10 min walk... you can have dolphin and caves swim - highly recomended 35 euro p/p you can rent boat, motorboat , jet ski 45 euro p/h , there is lots of aquaparks nearby paragliding etc..... restaurant prices are very : from 22 -26 euro per couple incl soup 2-3 euro , beer 3-5 euro pint , main dish 9-14 euro .....up to 75 euro for king prawns deepends of location and restaurant , kids 5-6 euro meal ....I can recommend fish and steaks in good portugese restaurants and local wine 4-5 euro per 1l . if wine then from alentejo area ....local oranges sold nearby roads by locals are 5 euro per 3 bags but quality is non to any european shop or market so as well recomended ...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.8
    We want to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating wasn't working in our first night and we have to change the room on the next day because it couldn't be fixed.

    Excellent location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests did not use towel in the sauna.

    Best Hotel during my entire stay in Portugal. Staff is super friendly and helpful. It was quiet. Amazing breakfast with everything you need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    Great view (rooms with side view have even nicer view than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms may be a bit cleaner

    Great view (rooms with side view have even nicer view than those with full), wide choice of breakfast, rooms are big, staff is helpful, you can prepare coffee and some food in your room - small kitchens in probably every room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing is how difficult it was to find any bus to the hotel, so I spent a lot on a taxi. I did ask the hotel in advance about the options, but taxi was the only one they said. Otherwise, Im very satisfied.

    Love all the spa options there. The pools, jaquzi, sauna and even a bathtub in my room. The sea view from the hotell couldn't be more close up and beautiful. Several beach options just a few minutes walk away, same goes with the restaurants, while the closest city is about only 20 min walk away. Excellent location. I feel very refreshed and satisfied after the whole stay. Thank you!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Good experience despite incoveniences
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in (unfortunately encouraged by booking) didn't take place until very late but the hotel kept our luggage and we went out to explore the surroundings and the city. Their wifi works poorly and slow.

    The special price at this time of year was the main reason to go there. The breakfast was scrumptious. Probably in the summer time, due to the hotel being a bit far from the city, the use of their pools and other facilities would be excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value with beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms in our group were sold (and charged) as sea view rooms, but had a large tree outside the balcony blocking the view. When this was brought to the attention of the staff, the loved the couple to a different room (with a better view) for the second night.

    The breakfast buffet had many options, hot and cold, and all were delicious. We loved the location, right on the cliff overlooking the ocean. The beds were large and the room had a great view. Could not ask for a better resort for the price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.1
    The location of the hotel is great, fantastic landscape and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel need a renovation. Food menu is also not attractive. Additionally, since parking is not available, instructions about what to do in this respect should be provided.

    The location of the hotel is great, fantastic landscape and close to Praia da Rocha, Praia da Marina and Benagil. From there you can walk close to the cliffs (from the top or in the beaches).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    F&B staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor pool needs to be cleaned renewed and a group of children has swimming lessons in the afternoon. Parking is in the street, it was hard to find a parking place even in the low season.

    F&B staff very friendly. Breakfast is very good. Room comfort is ok.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Very lovely stay, nice hotel. Nice rooms and nice communal areas. Good location to beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was ok, good selection however cooked breakfast wasn't the best. Baked beans weren't cooked properly everyday. Pools were very cold, inside pool could be more heated.

    Hotel was lovely, rooms very nice. Beds very comfortable, very nice furniture and decor in rooms, bathroom very modern and nice. Outside area by the pool was very nice too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Good place for a beach holiday; we only stayed one night while passing through.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ocean view room was on the side; I would have hoped for a front-facing ocean view given the low occupancy rate at the property.

    Comfortable room, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    6.3
    Won’t be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rules of the wellness Centre were not enforced, it was like an unsupervised crèche nobody wanted to enforce the rules

    Very clean, fantastic location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Worst 4 star hotel I stayed. To be avoided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Breakfast poor, poor dinner. Breakfast begins at 07:30, but no service until 08:00, so you have to clean a used table by yourself. Poor breakfast, poor dinner, old, worn towels with holes in room. No organisation at breakfast, first employee arrives at 08:00, at this time all tables occupied or with debris from previous guest. Juices not fresh, coffee and other beverages terrible, Nescafe. No butter once, because "supplier failed". Huh? Not the supplier failed...

    Friendly staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyed the location and the gardens but would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of the hotel was the worst I have ever witnessed for a supposed 4 star. There was no lounge bar area just a bar with an area next to it which was used for meals including breakfast. Everyone passed through this bar and dining come lounge area as they went out to the pool and garden areas. You also had to go through this way and outside to get to the inside pool and gym. The so called deluxe sea view rooms are on the eastern side and only get the sun until 10:30 at the latest and the sea view is not full sea view and what there is, is badly blocked by trees in front of the rooms. Our room 418 was particularly bad. Food selection at breakfast very poor for 4 star.

    The gardens overlooking the sea with plenty of sunbeds randomly spaced out. The large pool. The hotels location overlooking the cliffs and beach. The rooms are very well furnished with excellent bathrooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.5
    If the furniture will be modernised and the F&B approved, the hotel will remain top!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was alright. Juices were no proper juices. Dinner was over all horrible. No good taste. No delicate appearance of the food. Over all the F&B outlet is not Coping with the standard of the house.

    Value for money. Location is exceptional good. Cabin sizes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    4.6
    The staff were friendly and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not expect to find what I did..I paid so much money and the pictures on the website really do not show what the hotel is actually like. It's very old looking, there wasn't much light in our room, the cups in the kitchen were dirty and one still had someone else's lipstick on it. I would never go back there again. I really think it's way too overpriced for what it was and would not recommend it to anyone. It looks nice and modern in the pictures but it's nothing like that in reality. I wish I could have my money back...

    The staff were friendly and nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    This room should not be offered as Family Suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    was not able to upgrade to better room. my room was: one small window - no balcony on 2nd floor with view of neighbor backyard. My friend had 5th floor, balcony, two bathrooms, kitchenette.

    Location, beach, pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant facility with nice rooms and an excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We accept that cleaning staff does not wash dishes. However if a kitchen and dishes are part of the room, please do supply dish soap, wash cloth and dish towels.

    Location and room size

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Loved the hotel. The staff are exceptional. The views from the gardens are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary water in the room. (Arrived to 31c ) at least a bottle to start with. I think a 4* hotel should also be offering a free safe for valuables. It's the little things which make a difference. This though didn't spoil my holiday in any way. Just an observance.

    Beautiful setting. Staff very friendly. Lovely hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.4
    Careless hotel management made a potentially good stay a really poor one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleaning. Filthy bathroom. Left bedsheets from previous occupants. Had kids cleaning rooms with no experience nor training nor sense of hygiene.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    2.9
    Worst 4 star hotel I ever stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the worst 4 star hotel I ever stayed. How this hotel has 4 stars is a mystery to me. When we arrived at our room we noticed that the room was not clean. There was hair everywhere. We told it to the reception and asked for another room but unfortunately they had none. Housekeeping would clean the room again but the only thing they did was swipe the room with a dirty clod, most hairs where still there so I cleaned it myself. After further inspection we saw that they used old towels with holes in it, how is this possible in a 4 star hotel? The rest of the hotel was also way below average. We paid €163 per night (high season, booked one week in advance) which is very overpriced with the quality and service you get. I stayed in 2 and 3 star hotels with far better service and quality. My advice, stay away from this hotel!

    The pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel, fabulous location and definitively good holiday choice for a family with kids under 12.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Being very picky - things we missed: kids disco, daily kids entertainment (our kids didn't want to go to kids club and it didn't look very exciting, to be honest) some pool slide would be better than no slide at all especially next door hotel offers decent water park (for hotel guests only :( Breakfast food a bit boring.

    Overal rating - great hotel, fabulous location and definitively good holiday choice for a family with kids under 12. Very clean rooms (massive thank you for all cleaning ladies), helpful reception staff - full help and support with choosing days out, etc. Superb Sat live music with the band - what a voice BRAVO

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Good facilities that could be great with more staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lack of control and bathing cap in the indoor pool. Facilities are good but will not last long if they're not taken care of. Managers should hire more staff as waiters and make sure pool bins are not full.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Direct access to the beach and good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coffe and fruit juices at breakfast are really disappoiniting. You have to find a place to park in the steet and this could sometimes be difficult.

    Direct access to the beach and good facilities. We don' t regret at all haing choose this propriety.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    4.2
    Not recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A big hotel. It took a few minutes from reception to our room in second floor and all over on the way it was warm. the room (Twin Room with Sea View) is not as big as claimed(32 m²) in room descriptions. It's rather tight. The balcony is huge but most of it has no privacy and so not useful. And you can forget about direct sea view. Look at five photos which I took from the room and from the balcony. Air-conditioner works but not efficiently. It makes the room not cool enough during the hot hours of the day, despite of setting it. There is not a kitchenette or microwave in room as stated in room descriptions, only a mini kettle with some cups, and a mini fridge which is too weak and does not get cold enough. Bad cleaning: After getting the room, I saw some hairs of last guests over sink and nightstand and on floor. Not enough hangers in wardrobe, and most of them had dirt stains which I wiped before use (See photos). Very bad mattress and pillows. I could not sleep well. Towels looked a bit worn out. Toilet paper holder needs to be repaired (screwed). No shelf in bathroom, just a table under sink. It was a bit hard to find a parking place outside. Very bad coffee for breakfast.

    Satellite TV, Digital safe (not deposit, but free to use), Breakfast with many diverse hot and cold choices and with possibility to have it on terrace. That's all! Pool area looked clean and nice, but we prefer to go to beaches while in Algarve.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.1
    Weather fantastic, ideal location
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air-conditioning was inadequate, room far too warm. Hotel was looking a little tired, could do with a good refurb.

    The pool area was great, breakfast was good with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.5
    Satisfied but some improvements needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat limited for meal options in the area but a few nice places. Breakfast was an average selection. Facilities were nice but a little run down. Value for money wasn't great but a nice hotel

    Excellent location with beautiful beaches nearby. Lovely views and rooms are a good size.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    Fabulous views and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It may be useful to put a small bottle of washing up detergent and tea towel in rooms with a kitchenette.

    The hotel has amazing views and is well placed for you to walk to a number of really great restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Another fantastic stay at a fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is a hotel we use regulalry and as always the staff were exceptionally helpful, the room perfect and the views from the room are simply stunning. Can't fault the hotel or staff.. thank you for another fabulous holiday.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.0
    Regretted booking it the moment I saw the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have payed extra for a room with sea view and what we got was a room facing the neighbor's roof above which we could actually see the sea (see photos). After approaching the staff about this they said that they were "only reception staff and could do nothing to help"... The hotel is dated and the bathrooms could do with a decent scrub as the tiles and ceiling were full of mould. Parking was a nightmare in May. I wonder how it's like during the Summer.

    The location is good, with easy access to Sra da Rocha Beach and lovely sea views (if you are given a decent room).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful setting,rooms and upstairs could do with an update
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not very friendly at the reception,especially the women.They didn't seem interested in helping with advice.

    The view was amazing and it was so near the beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful setting, quiet and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor issues but drink prices a little high and outside pool was a little too cold.

    Beautiful scenery, quiet and relaxing. Breakfast had lots to choose from. Staff friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    A short family get-away to the Algarve!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Seeing that the hotel is not so close to the Airport, many people rent cars to get there and to complete their trip. Unfortunately, parking spots do not coordinate whatsoever with the capacity of the hotel nor does the hotel provide an option for this. Although warned in advance by reviews, we still decided to go for it...and (due to low season) we were able to park up the road.

    We loved the way the room was put together, like a mini apartment (home away from home) with an amazing ocean view! The hotel has an amazing view itself, with great facilities for the family and is just a walk away from a beautiful beach and bussling bar/restaurant!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.3
    Condescending unhelpful staff but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff were really condescending and unhelpful. The so called "garden room" was overlooking the parking lot. The towels in the room were so used they were tearing at the seams. The cleaning staff forgot to top up the shower gel one day so I raised it with the reception - the next day we found 4 shower gels dumped in a pile on the side of the sink. We had a small accident one day and asked at reception for a first aid kit and were dismissively told they don't have one in the entire hotel. Went to the restaurant to ask for a yogurt one afternoon - we were happy to pay for it. Were laughed at and told to go to the supermarket up the road as they only serve yogurt at breakfast. I tried to explain it's really hot outside and an uphill 10 mins walk would be uncomfortable but I was dismissed with a shrug and told they lock the yogurts away after breakfast...

    The location was really good, the room decent sized and property close to good restaurants. Breakfast was pretty decent as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    6.3
    Just OK. Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel needs renovation. Lack of parking space around can be a problem in high season. Also, this hotel has breakfast rated as very good. The truth is that they do not serve anything special - every day bacon, eggs, beans, jam. Sometimes they change fruits or sweet cakes. Good but not very good ... monotony...

    Location is good. A few nice beaches and good restaurants close by. Friendly staff. Facilities outside (swimming pool etc.) look good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay at a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good, large selection. However we paid for evening buffet and looked good but chewy meat and food was disappointing.

    Staff all very friendly great location and easy access to beach. Would definetly return 😁

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Microwave oven in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast open too late. Prefer 0630 to 0700 to open. Had to leave before breakfast served.

    Microwave oven in room. Dishes and silverware in room. Balcony overlooking ocean. Great hiking trail nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Location, friendly and helpful personnel, comfortable, big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, friendly and helpful personnel, comfortable, big room, view over the ocean. Good food, although it could be more variety, but you can choose something every single day of your stay there. Close to a beatiful sandy beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    A good place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    more choice for dinner, the buffet was too expensive, lighter version would be better

    great breakfast, great view of the ocean , closer to hike /walk along the cliffs

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there are no private parking places, but you can easily find one on the streets surrounding the hotel.

    Very beautiful location and sea view from our room. Good facilities, friendly hotel staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.3
    Complete package but nothing extra ordinary
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than expected. Sea view was more side view not frontal. Wifi in the room not very fast. Very standard design overall nothing fancy. Wellness treatments highly overpriced. Breakfast same every day no variation.

    Nice location close to several pitoresque little beaches. Great restaurants nearby: Vilarinho right on the beach serving fresh fish every day. Belmondo for good Italian. Palmeiras for varied plates and cold beers. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    ocean front, walk to most scenic coast of Algrave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location with full view of ocean. Not in the middle of Albufeira touristy busy area. Can walk along most scenic coast of Algrave right west from hotel for a few km to many km. Can walk to few different restaurants. Best breakfast anywhere.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.2
    We had a brilliant week in the Algarve away from the cold wet winter weather in the UK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You couldn't self-cater in the room as only a microwave is provided but there are some good restaurants and takeaways within walking distance of the hotel.

    Outstanding views over the beach from the bedroom balcony. Beautiful blue seas and rugged cliffs. Great choice of good food for breakfast with helpful staff in restaurant. Brilliant hotel for a beach family holiday or if you are keen golfers.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    A great value hotel on the Algarve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The wifi was poor quality and rarely stretched as far as floor five...even on the ground floor it was patchy. I suggest a major revamp of the system before saying that it is free to all and plentiful throughout the hotel. We found the reception staff helpful but slow and too busy taking phone calls when dealing with us both when we checked in and checked out. Either have someone dealing with phone calls separately or deal with the client face to face till the obligation has been fulfilled: any other way is being rude!

    Everything about the hotel was excellent with two exceptions. The restaurant staff were first class. The breakfasts too were very good and plentiful though busy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.3
    Overall we had a lovely time dispite small 'hiccups'. The staff was amazing! The location brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym - hardly can call it as a gym. Sauna and steam room could be hotter, indoor swimming pool really cold water, a bit slippery floor around. Cleanliness in those above areas could be improved. Few other things which we expected for 4* hotel did not reached our expectations but ... it was compensated by friendliness of the staff who were keen to help on every occasion.

    Overall we had a lovely time dispite small 'hiccups'. The staff was amazing! The location brilliant. Every problem we had was solved in no time after speaking to someone. Thank you for all the efforts to make our weekend special. We will go again when we have an opportunity. I enjoyed my short break :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    Perfect relaxation break in a quiet area of Algarve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toaster at breakfast too old and slow.

    Beds and room generally excellent. Clean. Staff very helpful and friendly. Facilities and pool very good. Bar, restaurant and reception staff are fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.3
    Great clifftop location and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building itself is ugly 70's design- dont be put off! The interior is fine! Thought the food at pool bar a little expensive.

    Location on headland with sound of sea in the background. Bedrooms look recently refurbished, bathrooms very good and decent hot showers. (We had side sea view room).Nice that we had the full buffet breakfast offered (`buffet` not stipulated on our confirmation) rather than continental. Several sandy coves within walking distance. Plenty of sunbeds around the pool. This was very good value out of season. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.1
    Handy to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a hotel room near our friends and we're put in a apartment away from the hotel and our friends. Because the hotel was overbooked.

    Great location to beach

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    5.8
    Not a true spa resort as advertised !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose this spa resort but found that the Turkish bath was either not working or very poor.We reported the problem but over five days nothing was fixed or improved. Very disappointing. The bath water was the color of tea!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.8
    The cliff location of the hotel was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a bit of renovation but nothing major to spoil the holidays.

    The cliff location of the hotel was excellent! Enjoyed amazing views from the balcony and short walk to the nearby beach. Staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was fine. Already planning to come back!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    8.8
    Confortable and clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The wifi signal in the room was strong but bitrate very low. We went regularly to the lobby where the internet was just flying fast. It was not any big problem we came here for enjoying Algarve and not surfing on internet :-)

    We spent beautiful 10 days at Pestana Viking hotel in September 2016. The double room with small kitchen was clean and correct. Everyday service was just excellent. The outdoor swimming pool with salty water was nice and we appreciated the beds and umbrellas around the pool as well as the pool bar open all the time. The other restaurant providing breakfast was correct and staff very helpful. The beach was nearby just few steps out of the hotel and (excellent) Vilarinho fish restaurant was our dinner place for almost of our evenings.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.8
    good location, watch out for strange hotel policies
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked a room but they gave us a apartment outside the hotel. could be better but with a small child more walking is not so good.guess they overbook the hotel rooms. They require full upfront payment, very unusual and not mentioned in the conditions

    Located very close to a nice beach

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    7.9
    Amazing placed hotel with great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff was really occupied and tired. We ordered double bed, but we got two single beds put together. Parking is not too easy.

    Great location with amazing view. Good breakfast, clean room. Fridge and dishes in the room. Some of the staff was frienfdly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    5.4
    Ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchenette did not have any cooking possibilities, the restaurant served dirty sallad and the staff got all grumpy about it when we raised it. A lot of staff but slow service.

    The pool area with a view, the gym and closeness to several beaches. Close by you found a local lunch restaurant/bar and a great italian restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    8.3
    good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    animation in swiming pool (each day same and poor...omg) small issues without influance of stay expensive,however this year it is almost everywhere overpriced

    great localisation, english speaking personel,breakfast OK, WIFI could be better, clean, generally i can recommend this hotel as 4,5 points in my scale (1-6 where 6 is excellent)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    3.8
    Wont be using Pestana again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very poor service overall. I was charged 10 euros to use an iron for 10 minutes but was never warned of cost when iron was given. Took 3 days to sort of fix A/C

    outdoors swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    4.6
    Attention!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Problem with check in, didn´t get the room we paid for (Sea view, booked + 6 month in advance) tried to change with major problems and got downgraded instead! Bad cleaning in toilet on arrival, big problems with payment within the hotel even after have beeing charged + 200 euro in advance for expected purchases at the hotel and even though the stay was paid in full with CC on check in. Denied breakfast, although included on 1 occasion. By checkout they wanted to charge a bill from the bar that it wasn´t ours,(was a problem for front desk to take out even if our account was closed and fully settled 2 days before on our own demand) somebody had consumed it and put it in our room number, which is normal according to the hotel manager! (Many people were complaining about this, normal according to Ricardo Santos*) We talked with Hotel Manager Ricardo Santos* and he said that this is what You should expect on a holiday at his place and anywhere, problems were solved according to him! We spend 4 nights there and at least 6 hours (almost one working day!) of this went to problem solving, not accptable. Tip: Don´t book and pay extra for Seaview! (Most rooms are garden or poor partly seaview). We have more valuable things to do on our vacation then solving a lot of problems so we are not going back to Pestana Viking Beach & SPA Resort!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning was never done till 4pm or later.

    Closeness to the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful interior design and great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful interior design and great facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was slow and the breakfast was cold

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pestana Viking Beach & SPA Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: