Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort 5 stars

Praia da Falesia, PO Box 644, 8200-909 Albufeira, Portugal

#13 of 69 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 147 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants on site were very expensive. A tiny thing but it would have been useful to have little bags in the indoor pool area for wet hats and costumes.

    An amazing place. Superb breakfasts, staff, cleanliness and comfort. So much space. Beautiful pools particularly the indoor one. Stayed in a very spacious and well equipped residence.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking. Com did mislead us I recommend dealing directly with the Hotel not only for the best deal, but for full information on the best locations on what is a very large resort.

    The facilities are excellent and enabled all three generations of our family who travelled to fully enjoy themselves according to their age and needs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel restaurants and some facilities(train from one end of site to another) were not available to regular guests as they had a large booking (Jaguar/Land Rover) who had exclusive access to these!!!!! Would have been helpful and a matter of courtesy to let us know before we arrived. 😞 They had bouncers/guards to keep us out of exclusive areas 😞

    Lovely spacious apartment, friendly and helpful staff. Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfriendly and badly organized reception staff. Shame that the front line folks ruin the place. Everyone else working there were super friendly. Many things that might need not to cost extra (baby beds, going on trampoline at the kids area), which is frustrating for a five star place that charges premium

    Excellent facilities, great food. Best beach I have seen in Europe

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel should really invest in heated pools. They say they have 1 outdoor heated pool but only "slightly" heated and it was not working during our stay. Their indoor 'heated' pool is also very cold. For the amount of money Pine Cliffs charges, this should be an easy capital investment for them. Also, some of the food prices are quite absurd. 46EUR for a buffet? That's a bit of robbery.

    The resort is beautiful and the staff we dealt with were all wonderful. Our 2 bedroom apartment was also very nice, comfortable and quiet (despite construction outside).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pools are cold as not heated but plenty of them

    Everything was first class, food, service, people, accommodation. Early in year so pools are cold. Amazing sports facilities and beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive hotel and restaurants inside the resort. Food in resort 50+ euros per person for dinner. Resort is very large and takes some time to get used to the facilities; NOT WALKABLE.  beach access is quite far (if not in main hotel, need to go there, walk through and behind, go down elevator/steps, and walk on a boardwalk for several minutes to get to the beach). Signage in the resort is just so so....may be because of the size!

    Professional multilingual staff. Very helpful staff. Immaculately manicured grounds, clean rooms with room/maid service twice a day, good location with a variety of restaurants both inside and outside the resort. Breakfast buffet is very elaborate with omelette station, wide variety of pastries, fresh fruits, hot and cold meat, juices and even champagne! Beautiful beach. Limited access makes it almost exclusive. Hotel employed lifeguards and towel service. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The walk to the beach was 15 to 20 minutes (whereas we were lead to believe it was just 7 minutes) from our apartment. In the end this wasn't a big deal as we are 4 fit adults. The only other criticism would be the 5* prices for food and drink on the resort. There are numerous local restaurants serving great food for a fraction of the price charged on the resort and we used them after the first couple of days. There is also a local supermarket on the road opposite the resort exit which is great value for money and their croissants are excellent if you can be bothered to take a walk before breakfast.

    We liked the location, the 5* accommodation (especially the spacious balcony overlooking the golf Course), the luxury spa, the champagne bar, the swimming pools and the beach. We had been in hotels and, therefore, eating out for the previous 6 nights so we appreciated the well equipped kitchen in order to have a couple of nights in. The washing machine and tumble dryer were also useful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of basic aminities like 24h market since the location is far from the center and it is configured as a stand alone community

    Location and facilities and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service on restaurants is not at the same level as the hotel. Some restaurants must be improved on the service care and customer care.

    Facilities, beach, staff is awesome!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Distance of apartments from main hotel - not walkable in 36 degree heat (with family). Requirement to travel by car to get around resort as train shuttle not frequent enough (self-drive golf cars would be a welcome facility) Parking by main hotel often challenging Main gate security could be improved if this is a checkpoint Welcome / pre-arrival directions could be improved (signage for reception - drove around resort twice in dark before stopping at wrong reception point, of which there were 3) Would expect water by pools, at restaurants vs paying for bottled water constantly Distance to/ ease of getting to beach a pain (was a struggle for asthmatic parent). Pricey. Charged 5 EUR per head for children to play mini-golf. Did not use kids club as excessively expensive.

    Apartment furnished to a high quality. Exceptionally clean. Beautiful setting & hotel lobby/ facilities & grounds Notably attentive & friendly staff. Plenty of variety (pools/ restaurants) Good children activities. Family friendly whilst still attracting a diverse crowd Great spa Added bonus of hearing UB40 play live from our balcony (true highlight)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What happened to the tennis ? Previously it has been excellent I went in hope to play tennis. The club only able to offer lessons but No social tennis. Other clubs offer social tennis a couple of times a week. Turn up and play! Needs more advertising The drive from the airport to resort need more signs

    Wonderful Choice of swimming pools we went to a different one each day & safe beach for swimming . good gym Friendly staff Lovely views from Golf course

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Penthouse
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No detailed maps to guide you round the paths in the resort. Not much else to do if you don't golf. Watersports were closed in June.

    Clean and comfortable. Nice pools and sunbeds

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We loved everything!

    We stayed in the Pine Cliffs Residence for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment. The apartment was very spacious and everything felt brand new and very clean. We loved having a fully equipped kitchen, with every appliance you would have in your own home (having a 1.5, 5, and 7 year old means we wake up early for breakfast before the buffet) Was very nice to also have a washer and dryer. Nothing beats coming home from vacation to a suitcase full of CLEAN laundry instead of the opposite. Our apartment was located just next to the only heated swimming pools on the resort property. All 3 children loved the pool. Our 2 older children went to the kids club one day for a full day of fun, they did crazy obstacle races, bowling, mini golf, bouncy castle, and lunch as well as snacks were provided. The Pine Cliffs are located on a cliff so I was a little shocked when I read other reviews complaining about the long walk down to the beach. We did not mind it one bit. There is an elevator that takes you half way down, and than after that you need to walk, and I suggest leaving the stroller by the elevator, there were loads of families who did this. The beach is clean and since we went in the off season (last week of May) there were many chairs to sit on, each chair has a sun shade too. I really liked that there were bathroom facilities at the beach bar as well as a towel service saved our arms from carrying down 5 big towels. My boys loved turn down service, our housekeeper did a phenomenal job keeping our room spotless and sand-free. I can't speak for any of the restaurants on the resort property but just across the street from the resort there is a pizzaria that many guests visit, we only ate out one evening the rest of the nights we cooked in the apartment. The food was delicious at the restaurant and the service was top notch, very child friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurants have siesta. If you are hungry at 16-00, you can't expect refined cuisine, even at these high prices (a lunch or dinner for the family of four was usually around 150 euro). The area of the hotel is just immense. You just have to move around in a car, if you live in a faraway suite and want to have breakfast / go to spa / to the beach. On one hand, this is great, but in reality it forces you to spend more time in your room, because it is just too far away to go somewhere. Overall, it just felt too big. Slow internet, even if payed for (extra option).

    Very nice design of everything, starting from the natural reserved area (sands and hills at the beach), and ending with the bedroom furniture. Vast amounts of pools, restaurants, kids playing facilities. A lot of staff - once at the beach we've seen like 6-7 rescuers, while there was not a single man in the water.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The grocery from the inhouse grocery store was too expensive. It was great to provide the shuttle in the Pine Cliffs properties from hotel-villa-residence. As the location is very closeby to the little town, will be perfect if there is shuttles to the city.

    The property is very clean and nicely maintained, well equipped and staff are all very nice and helpful. The rooms are spacious and functional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Supermarket was limited and expensive

    Very children friendly , nothing was too much trouble for staff , level of comfort was exceptional specially beds/ showers etc

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites with Garden Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor pools were really cold. Some of the restaurants were very slow with their service.

    Buffet breakfast was really good. Kids facilities were great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurants and additional activities are quite pricey. Quality is OK. If travelling with kids, check the bill to see if correct rate is applied at buffet restaurants.

    Great family holidays. All-in-one resort !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If more of the onsite facilities were available out of season.

    The apartment was amazing and very spacious. The beds were very comfortable. The view from our apartment was stunning.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is far from everything so cannot do without a car! Which is a down side

    Everything about the apartment was very good Beach was clean and very well kept One thing to note that many things are closed in December time, restaurants, the shops etc

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was little tricky to find reception and right appartment at first time

    Nice beach with excellent restaurant. Lot of possibilities for different activities ( tennis, golf, ect). Well equipped spacious rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites with Garden Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel but very very expensive. On the whole service was ok but a lot of guests so more staff needed on pool bar and restaurant. Finally we were unable to walk to the beach through the hotel so they need to address transport of guests around the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Penthouse
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way, way too expensive. Not value for money. Reception staff clueless. Room not ready for 4pm Check in. Wifi is 15 euros a day. Breakfast a whopping 20. Cot bed an additional cost. Service not fast enough. Not enough staff for such a large site. Getting from front entrance to suite hit and miss waiting for train or transport. Systems awful on checkout - took over an hour. 2nd room booked had trucks parked next to it. Would not visit again.

    Lovely beach. Great breakfast selection. Did not use golf course but looks amazing. 3 bed penthouse was fab. Very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Penthouse
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing to complain about was the lack of quality and quantity of food served at the night time buffet in the grill restaurant , for the price you pay. Where as it is a lovely menu in the day time.

    The facilities and activities for children were excellent Both my 6 year old and 1 year old attended multiple clubs to keep them entertained daily. The room was very spacious and had more than what we bargained for for a holiday resort, including multiple bathrooms, washing machine and dryer and plenty of TV choice in English.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our residence was very far from the hotel facilities and the only way to get to the various pools, clubs was by the small shuttle which was half hourly. This can be overcome by choosing a closer room/residence. Restaurants are adequate and very expensive, the japanese was very good.

    accommodation was very nice and clean Staff could have been more helpful, we found some were not very accommodating. There was plenty for the children to do.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Penthouse
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Food is quite bad in all restaurants apart from the Beach restaurant which is closed for dinner. And too pricey for the quality offered.

    Nice residential place to stay with children

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel on 70 hectares of land, breathtaking views, high quality service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 Bedroom Residence Suites with Garden Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful property and facilities are really good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent resort highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional relax in beautiful environment, perfect holiday in Portugal. Just go and enjoy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Penthouse
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms and spacious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Couple
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites with Garden Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Land train too irregular to be convenient.

    Wifi facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited options for dining in evenings, many restaurants stopped serving food at 5pm.

    Facilities, staff, luxury

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Residence Suites
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Stunning resort, lots of options to eat, kids friendly, wonderful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Felt like we were nickel and dimed. WiFi not included, even for Starwood Members, no dish or dishwasher soap, no laundry soap, no coffee or tea or salt and pepper. Two bottles of water. Facility is somewhat remote from Albufeira and without a car need to take a taxi. It seems that there is public bus transportation but the staff did not tell us about this, even when asked about public buses into town. They are clearly used to folks who have a car. If you arrive by railroad and do not have a private car to pick you up it is difficult to get taxis. There is a bus that takes you into Albufeira and taxis are available there. Most people appear to arrive by plane and fly into Faro.

    It is a beautiful facility and in a very pretty setting. The one bedroom suite was fabulous and exceedingly clean. The balcony was large and we wished that we would have been able to use it, but the rain interfered while we were there. PiriPiri restaurant was superb. Club House served breakfast and lunch and was very good as well. Portions are large and can be easily shared.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The outdoor pool that is heated is too cold. I am no wimp as I happily swim in the sea but for 95% of the people it is too cold to swim in. Nobody could stay in for long. Heat the pool properly please!!!

    the staff were excellent....they did all we asked and more..

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The resort was extremely well maintained, the facilities and restaurants very good. All of the staff were very friendly and nothing too much trouble for them.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Complex spread over a large area, we had a hire car therefore not a problem for us but would have been difficult without one as the shuttle train was not regular

    Great size rooms felt very spacious. Cleaner every day Washing machine and tumble dryer made life much easier

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There should be free wifi every where.

    Fabulous place for a break away. Would definately go here again. Plenty to do. The place is so comfortable and spotless.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Having to pay €15 a day extra for wifi when you are already paying €400 per night for a room. Seriously not cool !

    Loved the staff, the hotel/resort grounds and the food.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Had to pay for WiFi in unit - should be complimentary at this level of resort. But doesn't change perfect rating for resort - absolutely wonderful.

    Resort is luxurious. Unit is spacious, comfortable and clean. Food is fantastic. Staff amazing.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beach facilities are not sufficient during hot season. For example, we left for a 30 minutes lunch at the beach restaurants leaving our beach bags and toys on our beach deck chairs to save them. These chairs were assigned to us by the resort staff when we checked in to the beach in the morning. When we came back from lunch our stuff disappeared and the chairs were used by other people. We spoke to the staff and at first nobody could help us and we kept walking through the chairs trying to find our place. A half an hour later one of the staff members approached us to say that they thought we were gone, took our bags to the reception and re-assigned our chairs to other people. As there were no more available beach chairs we had to leave the beach.

    Porto Pirata - organized activities for young kids. Golf, tennis, large territory.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Would like a lifeguard on pool duty A cycle lane would b helpful around the resort

    Easy access to everything ..lovely beach ..Good food very clean rooms,restaurants & poolside

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Charging extra for internet in the room. Sometimes staff gives impression like they are doing you a favour while performing regular services.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great hotel and facilities, beautiful location

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    n/a

    Simply a great property with great hospitality, friendly and professional Employees! Top english level of almost all employees we met!

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Resort,too big and far from beach. Wi Fi very expensive Euro 30 per day

    The best choice for family

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    understaffed reception an breakfast

    the beach and the rooms!

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurants Too few Enthusiastically priced for the quality

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole resort is beautiful. 5 star excellence.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Crowded pool area. Resort and facilities may become even more stretched when hotel re-opens

    Lots to do. Relaxing holiday

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing to do for teenagers. Ended up with gastric bug while staying.

    Children's facilities up to 12 years.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    fabulous location

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    hotel in door swimming pool closed due to building works

    excellent apartment

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: