Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Maria Nova Lounge Hotel - Adults Only 4 stars

Rua António Pinheiro, 8800-323 Tavira, Portugal

#8 of 20 hotels in Tavira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1519 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.9
    Very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The access to the pool through the Spa and gym is only one way - to go back you have to go through the lounge on the Reception floor.

    The hotel is adults only which is great as it means the pool area is very quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Great hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful modern hotel centrally located within Tavira. Great pool area, rooms quiet and spotlessly clean. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend for exploring streets of Tavira.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.7
    - breakfast regular
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - sports facilities underequipped and outdated (expect traffic; hotel guests use the garden doors alternatively to get to/from the pool) - room had signs of strong use (e.g. lower parts of wooden bathroom doors missing; deep scratches on walls and in wooden furniture) - staff unaccommodating- not service oriented- (e.g. staff at front desk uninformed concerning hotel policies regarding room upgrades, needed 2 days in the stay to get a final response; on late arrival commentless check-in without offering complementary welcome-drink as later offered to other arrivals the next days; front desk always pretends being busy - fixating on their screens - feeling like interrupting them each and every time during steh incredibly important; request for one little birthday candle at breakfast at first kindly promised, after the 4th follow-up given up) really disappointed about the front desk “first and last impressions last!” - since rooms only offered with breakfast, the selection at buffet is pretty slim (just a few daily changes, e.g. Pastéis de Nata)

    - breakfast regular - views from the rooms facing the town/pool and from the rooftop bar - free refreshments at reception - location: few minutes walk downhill to town center & old town (restaurants/cafés/bars) - free parking (in front of the hotel first come principle; plenty regular parking spots in the neighbourhood) - daily cleaning neat and fair Will give it on more shot next time, in the hope of improvement.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.0
    Transit stay was enough would not return to the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tavira half dead town nothing much to sightsee we stayed 2 nights One to many. We were in transit to Sintra. Hotel fine but area poor did not appreciate hotels buffet food being served on 3 consecutive days but presented differently each night. So no wastage.

    Hotel and pool.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.9
    disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Silly things, roof top bar fantastic views, but hotel needed downstairs facility, ( no bottled water available at night unless you went up to bar), Fridge in room joke(had to leave wardrobe door open to work) !

    Breakfast was good standard, as expected. Evening menu not worth money much better quality and value around hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t fault it

    Lovely clean can’t fault it! Came here in April booked backup in the taxi to the airport for 4 nites, so good booked in for another 3 nites.. everyone is so friendly, helpful... breakfast is to die for every morning..

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    5.4
    Won't stay here again and actually I feel some part refund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to request room to be cleaned as we had ants in bedroom/patio doors and in bathroom. Shower leaked out onto bathroom floor. I had paid for kettle which was ok but my cups were never cleaned etc. No air con in hallways to rooms very sticky walking these areas. After paying 990euro I expected better. Bar on roof top snack /tapas selection poor ordered it one night and cured Iberian Ham was cut to chunky we couldn't eat it. One night guest across from us playing rapping music to the highest level for far too long before being told to turn it down. Went as well because of spa two of the four hydro jets did not work. Swam in outside pool while measurements of depths on side of filter of pool you cannot see when swimming where the deep end begins I can swim but did not realise this and I could not touch the bottom of pool I had a panic and quickly my husband grabbed me

    Great selection of food for breakfast and dinner buffet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Lovely staff, nice pool, no loud music, clean comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows (no support) and the gym closes too early at 20:00.

    Lovely staff, nice pool, no loud music, clean comfortable room, great location short walk to Tavira restaurants and boat to beach.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was very clean and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could do with sound proofing as we could hear the people above us.

    The hotel was very clean and friendly staff. The room was spacious and had everything we needed. Great location to all shops and restaurants. Must try the Porto Nova bakery near the hotel, Portuguese tarts and croissants with chocolate nutty filling they were so yummy! Restaurants, try the Sushi d’art, you don’t have to have raw fish, try the Gyoza and the hot salmon roll, delicious. The kohindoor Indian restaurant, samosas and onion bhaji’s very tasty and the rogan josh and bhuna curries were good too! Very friendly service. The small artisan ice cream shop is worth a try, delicious ice creams.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    It was the perfect place for a well needed rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you were down at the pool, you couldn't go straight to the spa and restaurant without going to the first floor and back down again

    It was the perfect place for a well needed rest.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.3
    A really pleasant hotel that could be first class with a few "extras" added.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although generally satisfied this hotel could be first class with minor improvements. Some sun loungers are sagging and not comfortable for reading. The indoor pool could be warmer. There is no iron in the room The toiletries in the bathroom could be improved - no shower cap, nail files - small details that make your stay more comfortable. Better quality towels also needed. Although the breakfast is good pure orange juice would not be too much to expect.

    This is a return trip so obviously very satisfied. Lovely modern hotel with very calm atmosphere. Rooms are bright with really quiet air conditioning and good sized balcony - cleaning staff very pleasant. Breakfast good (glass of sparkling wine always appreciated) Very relaxing roof top bar with such pleasant staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.9
    Peoples working there are kind and nice, all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware of what room you will book because you can have a parking view . We were lucky to have an higher floor and it was nice anyway :) The fruits juice of the morning was terrible, awful... i would change this because eeerk... but we liked our stay and would recommend it :)

    Peoples working there are kind and nice, all. We had a really good welcoming for our special moments. The hotel is really close to Tavira Center, have a nice bar view and have a sauna, pool, everything you need. The breakfast is really really good and there is a lot of choice! The room was okay and modern. Free parking really close, and a really good bakery!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel in general and fair value. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were weary on arrival after our journey and did not appreciate the rather arrogant and offhand attitude of the staff on duty that day at check in. We had wished to pay cash but payment was put through my credit card whether I liked it or not and before I had a chance to discuss this option.

    Clean, comfortable, good location, great breakfast, lovely pool area. No problem recommending it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room with pool & town views Breakfast was really good Roof top bar with lovely views Staff very helpful and friendly Location was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in great location to access Tavira. Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very minor points but my usual moan about lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room; the pool bar was (too)expensive; and, despite notices clearly prohibiting it, many people were out early reserving loungers by the pool with their towels which resulted in a very limited choice.

    This is a modern, stylish and comfortable hotel. We had a "twin room" which was huge with a large balcony affording views over the town to the sea. The bathroom was also large with a very roomy shower. Communal areas include lounges and a very nice shaded terrace overlooking the pool area. There are two pools and numerous sun loungers arranged around them. There is also a pool bar. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast excellent. There is car parking and we were able to find a space, but even if full you can park on the street right outside and I would have been perfectly happy to do so. The hotel is located perfectly to allow you to walk into the town for restaurants, shops, historic and cultural attractions and the ferry to Tavira Island. We loved this place, thought it great value for money and would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    Hotel exceeded expectations and provided very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows not comfortable for me but this is personal taste

    Professional smiley staff in efficient hotel. Excellent breakfasts very well organised with good buffet selection. Room good with decent air conditioning and general comfort good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a burger at the pool bar-it was awful. Beds were very hard. Weird that there was no kettle in the room and we had to pay €20 deposit to get one. Then it came with mugs and sugar but no tea or coffee!!

    Location was good. Breakfast excellent. Nice view from the rooftop lounge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    mixed feelings would not return there despite enjoying tavira very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breafast was not as varied as hotel eva faro and there was little outside eating space. there were no tea/coffee making faciliteas in the bedroom. the cleaning of the bed rooms was always done in the afternoons.every one had to grab a relaxerby the pool with a towel early.it was quite a steep climb to return from the centre.

    the view was good from the balcony.and the bathroom was very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Enjoyable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I had no complaints.

    Stayed on a B&B basis. Breakfast was excellent with good choice of food. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good sized pool with plenty of sun loungers. Great location, 5 mins walk from "old centre" with plenty of restuarants. 2 mins walk from a great patisserie and little cafe!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Great shame a hotel of this class doesn’t provide tea and coffee making facilities in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner buffet.Beef was inedible.couldnt cut with knife,never mind eating it.

    The whole experience was excellent.Staff ,breakfast and service was first rate.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    great location-very good facilities
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was very noisy. 1st floor at a crossroad and top of entrance to restaurant. I asked for a quiet room.

    Facilities were very good. Outside pool and gym were very good. Excellent breakfast. Location very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel good standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area a bit cramped needs more sun beds

    Roof top bar was excellent great views and very stylish with table service and music on quite a few nights

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our 7 days😎

    Wonderful establishment. The reception was so warm and welcoming. The room was minimalist and extremely comfortable. Breakfast exceptional!! Will definitely return. Staff were fantastic without exception.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    lovely holiday in a first class hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Cannot think of anything to complain about

    friendly helpful staff good breakfast choice lovely rooftop bar with stunning views over the city ideal position ten minute walk to the centre of Tavira

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    it was fine just didn't live up to expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    service

    Expensive for what it offered. Staff was not friendly. Towels were worn. The beds had no comforter, just a sheet for a cover. It was not of the quality of other hotels that we had stayed in throughout our Portugal travels and was more expensive!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Another great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    Very good size rooms clean and comfortable beds . Great rooftop bar at very reasonable prices . Swimming pool and all areas clean and safe .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Elegant and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is close to the railroad and you can hear when the train passes the bridge. It's not a real problem but we need to close the door of the balcony.

    Good quality price ratio. It's just two minutes walking to the center. Very good breakfast. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable. The staff is very warm and helpful but professional. The spa is tiny but it's quiet and we were almost alone. The building and the deco is minimalist and functional but warm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable and relaxing hotel.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Shame we couldn’t stay longer!

    The hotel is very upscale and has a relaxing atmosphere. The staff are extremely helpful and make you feel like you are expected and welcome. Our standard room was large and had a fabulous view over the town of Tavira. Breakfast is varied and plentiful. We are already booked in for NYE!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Bar at pool, breakfast room free arrival drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception were not as helpful as all other staff. No iron facilities in the room, no kettle either. Deposit of 20 required for kettle, no coffee tea or milk provided with kettle. Requested coffee and milk etc, reception did not deliver to room.

    Bar at pool, breakfast room free arrival drink.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location, very clean hotel, value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor staff extremely slow to serve customers. Had to wave down waiter/waitress every day for the entire week. Tables never cleaned up after or before guests even though it was never busy and plenty of staff on. Staff in spa are non existent and make it extremely hard to make an appointment.

    Good breakfast buffet, very clean hotel, nice pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Magical stay at Maria Nova Lounge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa isn’t great-especially the jacuzzi is so weak and steaming room isn’t intermittently functional. The little gym facility is below par for a hotel of high standard as this.

    Impeccable rooms, amazing breakfast & A la carts menu

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in Tavira, Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and bathrooms are very comfortable and spacious. The veranda facing the pool is a great addition. A place to hang wet bathing suits is a thoughtful idea. The breakfast had everything one could think of!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Come along Tavira is a great place and the hotel is in a prime location 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Twin Room with Half-board Offer
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have a very basic pallet and some of the food was not 100% for me ,but I am in the minority on that. Even French bread and Hollands Pies are on the Exotic threshold for me !

    Staff, location, bar, air con ,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    We upgraded to a suite and it was a great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We upgraded to a suite and it was a great experience! We had loads of space and the room was so comfortable - this proved particularly useful in the middle of the heatwave! We were in Tavira for our honeymoon and the suite offered that little extra luxury we'd hoped for. The staff were so helpful and friendly throughout our stay, the glass of fizz on arrival was a nice touch too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in a good location and one which i will re-visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we were in suffered from a late night noisy neighbour next door.!

    A modern hotel that is nicely designed and located on a hill which provides great views and is only a short walk into Tavira old town which is an excellent location with lots of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    Clean and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Twin Room with Half-board Offer
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too many sunbeds round pool had been reserved with towels, but did not have anyone on them. Meant that there were no available sunbeds even though many were not in use.

    Clean and comfortable hotel. Staff were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    The pool area was great, no problems getting a sun lounger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard for me but I have back problems so might be Ok for others .

    The pool area was great, no problems getting a sun lounger. The buffet breakfast was excellent .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Would stay here again, great value, perfect location, book a pool view room, worth the extra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night time roof bar allows children despite it being adult-only hotel meaning “relaxing” drinks before bedtime 11pm were interrupted by crying baby.

    Whole place is fantastic, would definitely stay here again, very little to fault. Comfortable beds, good quality breakfast, great facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was amazing, staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having swallows nest on the balcony were a little disturbing. The pool could do with a little maintenance! Not too bad to have put me off going in the pool though. Lots of bird poo around the edge of the pool at the deep end! Not good we just didn’t go that end.

    Breakfast was amazing, staff very helpful. Stayed at this hotel before when owned by another chain. Must say the renovations of the hotel is really nice. Would definitely again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing week in Tavira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Twin Room with Pool View and Half-board Offer
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool needs cleaning more regularly and thoroughly. Pool sun beds need updating/replacing. Very uncomfortable.

    Rooms overlooking pool and Tavira town are excellent. Food of a very high quality, especially salads and fresh fruit. Short walk into the centre of the old town restaurants and bars. Staff seem happy in their job, and couldn’t do enough for you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing and fun from start to end...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only minor complaint was the whole sun bed/towel shenanigans - I wish there had been a polite notice regarding leaving sunbeds free when not in use - there would have been enough to go round but unfortunately there weren't any on both occasions we tried due to the selfish 'reserving' for hours on end with towels. It would be great if hotel staff had just moved any towels off sun beds that weren't in use so that everyone could have been catered for.

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Maria Nova. The staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and a good size - the view over the pool was lovely. The roof top bar was a great way to start and end the evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    perfect - would go again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    From the moment we arrived the staff were so friendly and helpful. Our room was perfect as was breakfast. We had a lovely week in Tavira and would choose the Maria Nova again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there for a wedding but an iron wasn’t available at all in the hotel. Also a bottle of water or minibar available in the room would be nice. No tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Lovely hotel. Great pool area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Short break in Tavira
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a problem for us, but the hotel is in an elevated position so there is a little bit of a climb up the hill to it.

    Great location. Easy walk in to the town and a great base to explore the area from by car. Lovely roof top bar with great views. Fantastic staff. A great discovery!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.5
    Very enjoyable stay, ideal for a long weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some strange rules around eating at the pool, would be a big advantage to be allowed to eat at your lounger and not in the cafe area. Cabana loungers were charged extra which again seemed a bit strange in a hotel setting.

    Great breakfast, great location, good facilities, good value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    The staff were generally excellent, especially the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not great. It would have been fine for a short break but not for two weeks. You can hear the room above and doors banging at night. The hotel itself is an old building and while it has obviously has some major renovation, it is still quite dishevelled in parts.

    The staff were generally excellent, especially the breakfast manager. I never got his name unfortunately. The location is perfect and is just a short stroll into Tavira.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Stayed a week at the Maria Novo and had no complaints. Would happily recommend it to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike - a good all round hotel

    Very helpful reception & restaurant staff Good choice and selection for either a continental & cook breakfast Good location for Tavira town or public transport (local train or buses) for travelling further afield Excellent beaches nearby or via a short bus / car ride

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More sun beds around the pool as they ran out.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Room on 3rd floor looking out to sea. Modern room with plenty of storage and hangers. Wide choice of food for breakfast. Bar on the roof with excellent cocktails. Going away without the children you forget how quiet and relaxing it can be around the pool !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    This hotel isn't perfect but it suits me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like having to queue for breakfast one morning. The weather was bad and the outside terrace could not be used leading to there being a lack of tables. Having said that it was quite clear the staff didn't like the position that they put customers in either and they worked very hard to find tables fairly and efficiently.

    This hotel isn't perfect but it suits me. I have been there several times and will go again. It is a clean, pleasant hotel located a short distance from the restaurant area in Tavira, which is a town I love. It has a great rooftop bar where you can watch the sunset and a good pool area. The hotel is reasonably priced for a hotel of this quality

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel. Great pool, rooftop bar and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi and Turkish bath were not working when we visited. The room wasn’t quite as big as expected but still nice.

    The swimming pool was a great size, the rooftop bar was lovely (with amazing local wine as well as nice cocktails) and the staff were really friendly. The gym was also well equipped with weights (if you didn’t want to lie by the pool all day).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was exceptionally good, hotel staff couldn’t be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was exceptionally good, hotel staff couldn’t be more helpful and friendly. Will definitely travel back and stay with Maria nova lounge. Roof bar was a great touch aswell with best views of the town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Very friendly and helpful staff and Tavira is a great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to other 4-star European hotels there was a lack of room facilities : no iron or ironing room meant paying laundry for every item you need ironing No coffee/tea making equipment in room Breakfast was ok - but 1 very slow toast machine for dozens of hungry guests is not enough. And quality of coffee and fruit juice wasn’t great - fresh orange juice please.

    Very friendly and helpful staff and Tavira is a great place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel for swimming and relaxing by the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked fresh orange juice for breakfast, but good selection of breakfast fare. Car park small-but some parking available in nearby streets.

    Swimming is "my thing" and the outdoor pool was wonderful! Almost 30 strokes across widest diameter. Good to have a poolside bar. Also enjoyed our balcony, with "pool view". Able to hire a kettle to have tea in the room. Everyone very friendly and helpful. Great location-a short walk to restaurants in Tavira.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel in an even better setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maria Nova is set in a prime location within Tavira. Everything about the hotel was really nice, including quality of food, rooms, service and cleanliness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    We’ll be back even just for a long weekend from Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was ideal- swimming pool huge

    Stunning hotel, so modern, really comfortable, amazing staff. Location and views amazing - best hotel we stayed in the Algarve

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.0
    Ok but wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were not well soundproofed and had limited facilities (e.g. no kettle, iron or minibar). There were also no irons available at the hotel at all - you have to use their laundry service at an extra cost, which soon adds up. The staff should be given up to date information on the local area e.g. restaurant opening and closing times for lunch. We also found out that you can book this hotel (including flights) far cheaper than the price we paid so would recommend looking elsewhere.

    Rooms were clean and beds were pretty comfortable. Pool area was spacious and had plenty of sunbeds. Location was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very slow service for food at lunchtime around the pool bar/restaurant. Noisy bedroom doors banging on the corridors from 8.30 am. 2 wedding parties staying at the hotel were very noisy around the pool area which spoiled the relaxed quiet atmosphere.

    Very friendly staff, lovely breakfast. Nice pool area and roof top bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Very relaxing and great location for exploring Tavira town and local shops, bars and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like but choice of menu at pool bar very repetitive and would recommend more variety day to day as opposed to same menu choice for the twelve days we were there.

    Convenient location, friendly staff and views from room overlooking the pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    A real gem, friendly staff, amazing facilities and excellent food. Class rooftop bar too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all excellent, I couldn't fault anything.

    Fantastic place to stay, excellent staff, amazing choices at breakfast. The pool and deck area are clean and very well maintained. Bedrooms are beautifully decorated very modern and comfortable. The rooftop bar is amazing, some view.....360 degree over the town. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, nice rooms and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn’t have enough free parking and offers parking for an additional charge.... The wifi connection was very week ... and the tv service also very weak cutting out some times.

    Great hotel, nice rooms and friendly staff. Spa area was verg nice and the rooms very comfy. Restaurants brunch was great 👍🏻

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel with stupid outdated rules. they treat you like children...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    stupid rules..... you have to go from the spa up to the reception to get a towel???? than again go up to get the key of your locker from the spa aria at there reception.....the reception does not trust the staff from the Spa??? They force you to wear swimming pants in the Sauna , most swimming gear is from nylon and is very unhealthy to wear during a sauna session..... Wonder who came up with this 100 years old catholic rules.

    nice facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room not having a kettle was a little strange. This room was very big and it would be expected that there would be a kettle on this room type.

    Staff were very friendly. Room was clean and our room was very spacious. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    I will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -One afternoon I had to take the shower incl. hairwash with only cold water. -I didn´t find a notice about the possibility to use the clean room water for drinking.

    On the average everything was good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable. No time to try any spa treatments!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa water was much colder than it should have been and the steam room was not operating when we visited

    The staff were very helpful and the hotel was in a very convenient location, walking distance to the Centre and the ferry to the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Restful and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only had dinner at the hotel once, would describe it as "average" - choice seems much reduced later in the evening. House wines are very good.

    Lovely clean bathroom, very comfortable bed, everything worked as it should. Staff are friendly and efficient, most seem to speak excellent English.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Best hotel I’ve ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this property is excellent, staff literally cannot do enough for you. Everyone was very friendly and polite. Bed very comfy and rooms large and spotless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    A lovely stay, would definitely return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The sun beds needed improvement, very difficult to sit up straight to read as the backs were too low, but this is being very picky! I understand that the hotel is still undergoing some refurbishment so perhaps replacement sun beds could be on the list!

    The very friendly and helpful staff and the glass of bubbly on arrival. Bar prices were very reasonable. Would definitely return, thought it was the best hotel we saw in Tavira which is a delightful town,. There was a very good choice of restaurants, mostly very reasonably priced and the Fado concert we came across in a small local chapel was fabulous and only 8 euros!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Super visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally I wouldn’t recommend the evening buffet. Much better value and more interesting food a stones throw from the hotel. That said, the staff were very nice and of course it is a matter of taste.

    Well appointed, friendly staff, great view, lovely little town, and a very nice pool area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    The hotel and location is fab - i would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For us we would prefer a double bed instead of two singles with separate duvets - but apart from that all good

    The hotel breakfast is really good in this hotel. The cleanliness is exceptional. The hotel is within walking distance from the town, loved the locations and especially the restaurants around the corner. The hotel has a fantastic roof top bar. I would recommend asking for a pool view if possible as the views are amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    location, pool , beds very comfortable, good breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the weather was not good for us so having ondoor pool and spa was brilliant. cannot fault hotel .

    location, pool , beds very comfortable, good breakfast . view from room and rooftop bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    The perfect choice of accommodation in Tavira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though we wouldn't generally choose a modern hotel this was an excellent choice. It catered for everyone's need & was extremely relaxing. The views of Tavira from the lounge bar were incredible but above all the staff could not of done more to make you feel welcome particularly Conchelo the new porter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely break from winter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I didn't really like the pillow / blanket, but I am very perticular about those items. Usually I even bring my own pillow. Staff felt a bit inpersonal.

    Breakfast was a real treat. Different things every morning. Pool site area looked nice (but a little too cold in early April). Nice indoor pool as well. Loved the Nomad bar, nice drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of spirits in the rooftop bar,a bit expensive. One of the large glass windows/doors in the rooftop bar had a big crack in it.

    Location good but there is a sharp walk downhill to town. Did not use the facilities in the hotel so could not rate it. Never heard of the Genius perks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Calm relaxing atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing worth mentioning

    Calm relaxing atmosphere. Excellent buffet breakfast Room comfortable with lovely view of pool. Staff friendly and helpful, we fully enjoyed our short break and would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.0
    Great value hotel for adults in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kindly was assigned disabled room which was brilliant for mobility issues except every single electric socket was at base board /floor level which you could not reach with either a bad back or in a wheelchair. Socket for both bedside cabinets was underneath the cabinets to plug mobile phones in and there is no sockets at counter top level to safely use a kettle. Spa area has quickly deteriorated - indoor pool water was dirty and full of hair when swimming - wearing a swim cap is not being enforced. Broken dangerous ladder into the pool on the steam room end and blue paint on marble steps to stop slippages already worn away. Nude users of the sauna and pool offended multinational guests. Area smelled of smokers and stagnant water. Challenged to pay for dinner in dining room even though we had registered a credit card with reception - staff were insistent we had to pay them in cash before being allowed to leave. Coffee machine not working properly and orange juice tastes like powdered squash drink - not nice! Finally chambermaids have a terrible habit of knocking on guests doors starting from 8am looking to start cleaning rooms and hoping you are out having breakfast - need to not do this until atleast after 9-9:30am.

    Great breakfast and evening meal. Hotel is lovely since its refurbishment - the challenge is keeping it in top condition with increased guest numbers during high season. Wear and tear issues are quickly noticeable even since our last visit

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75