Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Portugal hotel reviews
  3. Algarve hotel reviews
  4. Albufeira hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of PortoBay Falesia

Reviews of PortoBay Falesia 4 stars

Quinta do Milharó - Olhos D'àgua, 8200-591 Albufeira, Portugal

#12 of 72 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1114 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    9.6
    Quiet and comfort at a good price. I'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    better cushions, room television could already be upgraded to newer and larger model, lacking exhaust in the bathroom

    quiet and comfort at a good price, good indoor pool included in price, excellent breakfast included, late check out

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2018

    7.5
    Mila the restaurant worker ruined my trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt really uncomfortable during my stay, people were constantly staring at us, restaurant staff were the rudest ever, there’s a lady called Mila at the restaurant who was so disgustingly rude. My trip ended from there and I was ready to go home. I informed her manager and front desk about her behaviour but they did not seem to care. Beautiful resort but it is unlikely that I will every go back to Portugal.

    The bedroom and spa.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2018

    10
    very goog
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was ok

    good location with access directly to the beach. clean, friendly staff, very good food for all tastes..... local amenities very close by

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    9.6
    Hotel is really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a wide selection of food at breakfast but it does feel a bit canteen like. Biggest downside is no option to get a proper coffee with breakfast i.e. a proper americano, cappuccino etc. Would happily have paid to have this with breakfast.

    Hotel is really nice. It is clean and well located, with good facilities on site. The beach is also really lovely.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    9.6
    Excellent staff would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we went for a buffet dinner and arrived about an hour before closing and felt that we were being hurried by the service staff The food at dinner was good but it wasn't exceptional My husband felt that the soundproofing was not great as other guests could be clearly heard in the corridors and on the floor above -

    the hotel was lovely and was an ideal stay for our last two days in the Algarve Everything was excellent and of the highest quality All staff were welcoming and the resort very clean Breakfast was exceptional

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    10
    Intimate feel, great beach, good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely pool area with additional grass area with sun beds. 2 good tennis courts, table tennis and pool. Superb views down to amazing beach which you walk along for miles. Very helpful and friendly staff. Goodbreakfast. Surprise bottle of fizz on my birthday which was a lovely gesture . Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxing holiday, in a quiet location, with the beach close at hand
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    N/A

    We had a junior suite which gave us plenty of room, beds were extra comfy. Breakfast had every choice of food you could want. Italian restaurant for lunch and an evening meal, had a lovely menu and was always served piping hot with staff being attentive and friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Will definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have nothing to complain about

    Honestly everything! And thank god we booked this one as the two hotels on either side had some sort of man on microphone event on! Basically this one was a family hotel without the noise and awkward dancing in the pool!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Outside area was lovely with fantastic views and short walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside area was lovely with fantastic views and short walk down wooden steps to the beach. Lots of space with a good size pool, nice gardens if you want time away from the pool. Breakfast was good, lots of choice with something to suit everyone and omelette to order. Rooms were clean and the beds were probably the most comfortable and so were the pillows. Staff were efficient and check in and very helpful and friendly. Had a really enjoyable stay for a long weekend Birthday celebration .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    A relaxed and enjoyable holiday in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only surprise was the frequent use of plastic straws and the lack of recycling bins which made us wonder whether any of the recyclable plastic cups used by the hotel are in fact recycled. With the recent publicity about the damage plastic causes to marine life and the environment generally, this was disappointing.

    The sea view was beautiful. The range and quality of food provided was excellent both at breakfast and dinner. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay at Portobay Falesia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noises come clearly from neighboring rooms, food at a la carte restaurant modest, found some old food at the breakfast buffet (although breakfast otherwise was good)

    Great pool, beautiful views to the sea, clean and spacy rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Just ok..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could smell the buffet in the corridors Limited restaurants Clientele too old..

    Staff were friendly Food was great in the Italian Pool area was nice Views great Beach lovely Pool towels replaced daily

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    3.8
    Beautiful views from hotel and very nice beach at the bottom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly and unhelpful staff, ridiculous prices on food and drink because they have a monopoly on everything due to the remote location of the hotel... terrible smell in the room the entire time and no help with several problems with the room.... honestly not sure what the hype is about.... this hotel could be so much more given it’s location... but it simply isn’t.

    Beautiful views from hotel and very nice beach at the bottom of the cliffs, very peaceful location (almost nothing else around)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Not a hotel.But a complete holiday destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything. It was a splendyd perfect breathtaking property

    It was oerfect for a holiday. Amazing views if tge ocean big spaces for relaxation n sports n some of the best cuisine n entertsinment in the world

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Amazing fabulous can't wait to return next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING

    The hotel staff were all excellent and very friendly. It was my birthday and the hotel upgraded our room which had the most beautiful view of the sea it was stunning !! And a bottle of champagne was also delivered to our room . Which was a lovely surprise and very thoughtful This was greatly appreciated and we can't wait to return again next year .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    beautiful garden and sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room needs an update specially bathroom tab which has broken ceramic tiles and someone tried to glue it. We have been upgraded and that is nice but to the room with broken air-condition in one option and into the room above piano bar (music till late hours) with second room. What needs to be highlighted is above 130 steps to get to the beach. For older people total killer.

    View from the hotel garden and windows is breath taking. Beautiful garden and swimming pool area. Nicely designed Italian restaurant. Very good stuff at the reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Tourists are treated like meat at a processing plant, stay at a Storage facility, you'll be happier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The visit started out on a very sour note. Walking into the hotel with our luggage cart loaded with our bags, the bellman said I'll take it from here. We said that's OK we can handle it, he said no it's my job! and I need the luggage cart. There were 2 other empty luggage carts, he insisted he'd take it. We booked for 5 nights, after 2 nights, we were ready to leave. I asked a young lady at the front desk if we could get our money refunded for the remaining 3 nights, she said we had to go thru Booking.com--Why didn't she just say NO, such BS. We have stayed in 5 hotels on this trip and The PortoBay Falesia is the only hotel to demand payment upfront. We travel a lot, this is not a place I would recommend to anyone.

    The location is good. The beach below the hotel is really nice, actually grand for a really nice walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Great well run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Buzios bar is drab and uninviting and dated in style. The entertainment in the bar is poor - mostly aimed at an older generation (we are 60 and found it too staid for us!). Getting rid of the keyboard player would be a good start! Bringing the décor, lighting and music up to date is sure to encourage more people to use the bar in the evenings. The bar staff and the drinks however are excellent.

    The very comfortable and clean rooms and excellent breakfasts. The outdoor areas were immaculately kept. The views are stunning. A great place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent holiday in superb hotel— will return!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easier access into the pool— my mum found it hard with the ladders.

    Breakfast was excellent. Staff always so helpful and quick to serve. We never had to wait long for anything. And that view... never seen anything like it!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Lovely, clean hotel. Great views and great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Everything about our stay was perfect! Reception staff sorted out our airport transfer so it was hassle free. The room was lovely and very clean, also loads of British TV channels! The breakfast was delicious... especially the freshly made pancakes and eggy bread! The staff were all very friendly and attentive, we also booked into the spa for a massage which again was faultless and very relaxing. Great deals at happy hour too! Overall, beautiful location just up from the beach (5-10 minute walk down some newly built wooden decked steps), lots to do including Portuguese lessons, yoga and external activities, great food, and lovely staff. Would definitely visit again! :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Booked suite for 4 adults.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked suite for 4 adults. Balcony too small and off one of the bedrooms instead of off living space. No window in second bedroom and very small window in living space. No sea view as had been expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indoor swimming pool is little

    Everything. Free upgrade with seaview as a result of second stay here. Breakfast was great, with a wonderful choice of fresh juices and sliced fruits, vegetables, eggs, meat, cakes and pastries. Stunning location on the cliffs of Albufeira. Free safe and free bathrobe for prestige customers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, clean, great food and beautiful groun shame about the several negitive staff issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Our floor smelt of the fish rising from the restuarant every night it was horrible! - Noisy aircon - Breakfast didnt serve lattes - Cocktails horrible Things that really put a dampner on the hotel: - Unfriendly bar staff and very rude. - Unable to use welcome drink token. We were told we couldnt use outside, told we tried to use for happy hour cocktails keep for full price and when tried to use for full price bar man laughed and walked away!!!! - Charged a £20 deposit for safe despite been told its free for you - Recieve no discount on welcome massage despite being a presitage card holder

    + Friendy helpful staff (except bar staff) from the moment we arrived + Beautiful view seaview worth the price! + Large bathroom with lovely spa miniatures + Food was excellent every time + Excellent selection for the breakfast included + Excellent spa treatments. Welcome massage was amazing!! +Lots of places to sunbath but we didnt have weather for it unfortunately. +Not far from albufeira £7 uber tax one way and £11 from Algrave shopping centre + Excellent daily activity list

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    We had a good time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - got room for handicapped (hotel fully booked) - pricy - also surrounding restaurants

    - good choice for breakfast - hotel and beach - despite main travel time (Easter) - not overcrowded - friendly staff - great beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, stunning location, good hotel staff, very poor spa experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upon arrival was told I was upgraded to a seaview room, my room was actually over looking the car park so that was disappointing. Avoid the spa if possible

    Amazing beds and the showers were fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    We had a a very relaxing two day stay - great value as compared to Pine Cliff's resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are good sized and in fairly good shape, but the walls are thin and the rooms could use an update.

    This hotel is ideally situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel to stop over on way to Western Algarve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nearer to Albufiera than Vilamoura , no satnav, so had to get directions in Vilamoura.

    Excellent location with beach Access. Lovely clean modern hotel. Friendly staff. Prices for seaview rooms maybe a little high.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great! The room was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Food was delicious and a lot. The view from that hotel was just exceptional! We’ve got the perfect holiday! This place is so beautiful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.8
    Was ok but for older people not 35-70 which is what our group was
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told to be quiet on two occasions which was no need for as we were only speaking not shouting security was called to the room saying we were loud when it was just me an my sister in the room talking we should have been told it was for older people and not going people all of this happened at eleven thirty at night I'm very disappointed in this and there was no room service for food we had to order out

    The food was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    About as good a hotel as we have experienced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Keep the hot food hot. Cold soups. We did like mostly everything.It is a very fine hotel.Bathroom is a bit tight.

    The staff were outstanding.The service whether front desk,housekeeping or catering was as high a standard as my wife and I have experienced. It must be a testament to the quality of training.The food is good but not excellent. The bed is amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    I enjoyed an overnight stay, to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    I enjoyed an overnight stay, to relax. The weather was poor however with the use of the gym and spa facilities, I was able to make the most of it. The breakfast, and restaurant was very nice. I was very pleased with the comfort of the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in Albufeira!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dated and was on the small side. We were disappointed that we did not receive an upgrade on our room considering we visited off season in the winter.

    Beautiful gardens and pool area! Gorgeous view of rock formations as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location with access to the famous falesia cliffs and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers for the spa/sauna. Breackfast coffee can be improved.

    Great location with access to the famous falesia cliffs and beach. Very nice rooms well equiped. Very rich breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    The setting is just as beautiful as the photos show.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan in bathroom.

    The setting is just as beautiful as the photos show. Stunning location, on a cliff over a very long expansive beach. The stairs down to the beach are wide and in excellent condition. Our room had a problem and the staff immediately moved us. In fact, the staff was always friendly and patient and ready to help. Even when we couldn’t figure out how to use the safe— they sent someone right up. It was user error, but we were treated well. We visited before the season really gets going. So the ocean and pool were cold, but there’s an indoor heated pool that kept my daughter happy. I personally loved the weather— warm in the sun, cool in the shade. The resort breakfast offers lots of choices, but what really surprised me is that the dinner buffet had decent food for a fair price. It caters to tourists but offers a glimpse of local dishes. I really loved the amount and variety of vegetable dishes— easy to eat a hearty meatless meal. The hotel offers many free activities for both adults and kids. We didn’t try any of them— the beach and pool were enough for us:) Oh, and I need to mention the cleanliness— I was impressed with the army of efficient housekeeping staff. They literally took the rooms apart for cleaning after a stay— saw them washing windows. Everyday I was amazed by their energy and diligence.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel and location and wonderful staff. The reception team, the maids, the waiters and restaurant managers all deliver a great service with a smile. The friendly breakfast staff make lovely omelettes and pancakes!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    amaizing oasis of peace and tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Absolutely everything!Very nice locacion,cosy room,spotlessly clean bathroom.Delicious and beautiful presented breakfast.Exellent dinner buffet.Attentive and caring service.Very peaceful and relaxing zone in the garden with the ocean view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    The most welcoming and helpful staff I have ever encountered
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. My daughter could not have been made more welcome. The cleanliness was the best I have ever experienced.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    When can I go back?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing!

    I was in two minds about writing a review for the PortoBay Falesia, because it's an absolute jewel and I almost want to keep it a secret. But that's not fair. What's so great about it? Let's start with the location. Cliff top, surrounded by pine trees, it's quite magical. There is a walk down to the beach yes but it's well worth the time and effort. All of the beautiful scenic pictures you see on the website, yep that's all really there! There are plenty of restaurants and bars in the village if you want to venture out. The accommodation was very comfortable and exceptionally clean everywhere throughout the property. The breakfast was so varied and plenty of everything. We were on B&B basis so didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel but if (when) we return I would like to have the evening buffet as it looked excellent. In a nut shell, we had 6 days from 28th Dec into Jan and it was the best holiday I've had for a long time and that's saying something. I don't usually write holiday reviews. Having worked in the travel industry for 18 years I'm rarely that impressed that I feel the need to write a review, but this hotel truly deserves all the praise!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Algarve is beautiful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our requests to booking com were not given to Porto Bay Falesia Need to change room once because of it Long discussions on reception to change to what we asked to BC

    Very nice location Good food Nice staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.1
    Great location just over the Falesia beach and overlooking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What you can expect from a big resort: you pay for any extra (view, coffee, safe). Spa is very expensive, hamam and sauna not available, food is average. Not the best place for young couples.

    Great location just over the Falesia beach and overlooking the sea. Room was clean. Lot of choice for breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.2
    Quiet stay in the scenic Portobay Falesia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel sits on the Falesia beach, stunning views when walking down to it. The Italian restaurant was amazing and had live music! Also the staff were super friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Would definitely come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work going on across the road Too much chlorine in the indoor swimming pool Outdoor pools could of been heated a little

    The stafff were friendly and helpful The location was amazing Little noise at night Room cleaning and facilities were good Food in hotel was very good Very clean hotel with a relaxed atmosphere Breakfast was amazing Local ticket shop which allows you to book transfers, activities and day trips.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.1
    The beach was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely busy area and 90% of the guest were german so felt like we were in Germany not Portugal! very strange feeling! The breakfast buffet was great, but the lunch sandwiches, pizza's and hamburgers were terrible!! did not dare to eat there for the evening, went out instead.

    The beach was beautiful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Lovely beach holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Those 130 odd steps to the beach are the only access to it, so no good for anyone with mobility problems. There was no shade at all and only one beach bar open where the prices were astronomic eg 5 Euros for a small beer, so take your own drinks. The secure car park was full every night but there was a quiet side street next to the hotel that seemed safe enough. The local village is a 10 minute walk away and had a good cocktail bar, Symbiosis, a supermarket and several restaurants.

    The location of the hotel is superb. It is about 130 steps above a lovely beach. We were upgraded to a large suite with a sunny balcony and a sea view. Staff were friendly. Pool towels provided free everyday. Plentiful breakfast buffet. Would return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towels for the swimming pool are too short.

    Great pleasant hotel makes you feel like at home. The beds are very comfortable. All staff is very professional. Some 5 stars hotels are worse that this 4 stars hotel. Will come back again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Good beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    – a bit old style (e.g. bathroom door not closing properly) – charging 1,50 Euro/day to use the safe, really???

    – very good location, above beach, nice views – friendly hotel team – great pool – big breakfast buffet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Step Back In Time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel never left the 1980'S. I didn't check "Boutique, Modern, Design, or Luxury" because Porto Bay Falesia is neither. It's out dated is what it is. Understand why they have no incentive to update because the Thomas Cook crowd still keeps on coming. Didn't have a sea view room and frankly not sure if it matters because all the rooms have so little window space. It's only a small sliding glass door. So when you lay on the bed your view is the balcony wall. It makes the rooms prison like. If you do have a sea view room your view will most likely be obstructed by the trees on the cliffs. So think twice about the extra cash for a sorta of a "sea view." In fact most everything in this hotel is small. The smallest tv was attached to a wall like they do in hospitals. They offer two "beach" towels in the rooms. They are not beach towels at all. The white bath towels offered are much bigger and beach like. The towels given at my gym are bigger than their beach towels. The room and bathroom are also tiny. Was solo so it was ok. But for more than one person, I'm not so sure. The furnishings come from another era. Part 1980's and 90'S. The food offered at breakfast was ok. Espresso and anything else was an extra charge. Asked about this because I was hoping it would be better than the coffee that was part of the breakfast included in the rate. The interesting thing about breakfast, is that it all tasted the same. Not sure how they managed this. From the dire fruit, pancakes, eggs, toast... What ever. It oddly all had that same bland flavor. Plenty of options but you walk away feeling like you didn't eat or remember what you even had. The pool area is large and they also have lounges on grass. Sadly there's no staff at the pool organizing the lounges or cleaning up. Towels get left laying around as well as plastic cups and people's waste.

    Easy access to the beach and to a good Thai and Indian restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel, not too big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor in hotel needs a bit of a revamp.

    Very nice hotel, not too big. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very nice variety and very fresh. Also had buffet dinner at hotel and it was really good. Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.1
    Great bit expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lunch/snacks were very tasty but very expensive drinks 2.95 for a small diet coke for example. The room was lovely, a little smaller than we'd just stayed. Booking process was odd, booked a room with lateral sea view, but didn't realise that would be the side of the hotel with a view of the car park also. But we did get the sun for longer this way and see the sunsetting. Very expensive room rate for what you really get soon don't think it was value for money. But still a very pleasant stay.

    Excellent location, beautiful Pool. Many sunbeds and seating areas. Breakfast was very good, we did have better at another hotel we stayed at Location rifht near the beach, close to some fab restaurants and bars. Quieter part of the Island. Always seemed clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.5
    its a beautiful location by a gorgeous beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's a fabulous resort style hotel. Our room was very comfortable and the large pool was fantastic. There are about 130 steps to get down to the beach but that didn't worry us. Good exercise and you can sit and rest along the way. Parking is easily available. Breakfast was fine. There are many restaurants about 5 minutes walk. Highly recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful location in a quieter area between Albufeira and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside photographer was unreliable

    Beautiful location in a quieter area between Albufeira and Villamoura. Comfortable rooms, good facilities at a reasonable price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Charming hotel with excellent service & amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms/ bathrooms in need of an update although this in no way detracted from our stay in this lovely hotel.

    Could not get a sea/pool room view but our side sea view on 3rd floor was very nice. Amazing breakfast choice which included crepes & French toast'. Bar Falasia was very nice and our meal in the Basilico Restaurant was of a high standard. Drinks prices reasonable for a hotel, with great house wine by the glass.The Pianist / vocalist Andre Sabhir was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel, with fantastic views and direct access to Falesia beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice location with direct access to Falesia beach (but you have ti be in relatively good shape to go back to the hotel). Nice staff and an excellent italian restaurant with a fantastic terrace that overlooks the ocean and offers beautiful sunset views. There aren't enough parking spots in the hotel but I could always find a spot outside, near the hotel. The only issue with the location is that there isn't a commercial area nearby where you could go for a walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    On booking it is specified that all children are welcome and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    On booking it is specified that all children are welcome and that there is no additional space for extra bed in the room, but NO IT IS SPECIFIED THAT THE RECEPTION ON A VERY UNIQUE TONE IS OBLIGATED TO PAY ADDITIONAL 30-40 EUROS AND MORE MORE TO SAY THAT I HAVE BEEN FAVORED THAT THE CHILD ACCEPTED FOR THE ADDITIONAL COST. So great attention ... kids are not welcome ... only if you pay extra (basically you have a hidden cost)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    6.7
    Great location, but unfriendly staff and very expensive for what you get. Not a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude and unfriendly, dinner was less than mediocre, air-conditioning was very noisy and we had to turn it off at night, otherwise we couldn't sleep (and it's August, so very hot). Every single thing requires extra pay: sauna, parking, safety deposit box, fast wifi, even water - are all extra fees, and not included in the room price. Things which are basic in every hotel and always included in the price! The staff constantly tries to convince you to spend more and more, and frown at you when you don't. Spa treatment is expensive (70-100 Euros per massage). laundry is priced per item! 3-4 Euros for each shirt or pants. 80s vibed shows in the evening with mediocre singers. Overall not such a good experience and definitely not value for money. A spa resort should do much better, and include more for the high price you pay.

    Location is great, right by the beach. Beautiful view of the water from the balcony, nice pool, nice clean room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing, great service. Definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If anything i could say, It would be the Italian restaurant at the hotel, again the service was brilliant but the food itself wasn't up to scratch which we was disappointed about as the buffet food was delicious. That is all bad i can say about the hotel.

    We went for our honeymoon and it was such a lovely place, the location was amazing. Beautiful views, a gorgeous pool and the staff were absolutely amazing. We are already planing when we are next going back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    The location of the hotel is great, just some steps to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location of the hotel is great, just some steps to the beach. Also perfect for travelling the region, all nice beaches and places to visit are just in about 1 hour driving time be it to the west or east. Not too many kids in the hotel though, nevertheless my 7 years old said he would come to this hotel again. Breakfast was good, lunch as well, we didn't have dinner in the hotel restaurants since there are plenty nice restaurants just nearby, so can not comment on that. Personal is very friendly and helpful. We would definitely return again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Hotel Food excellent, location great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a Family suit, one room didn't have a window & there was a bad smell every time we entered bedroom with the window.

    Hotel Food excellent, location great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    View was amazing, good access to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately smokers are allowed everywhere outside. Also on the baconies! Tip for the hotel: create smoking area, make smokers not visible to the public, make them keep distance from restaurants and pool, forbid smoking at the pool and restaurant area. Try to keep the air there clean and not spoil it for all non smokers! Forbid smoking in the hotel ( also balconies). This should be the future and sign of family friendly hotel!

    View was amazing, good access to the beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing hotel with great setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went very quiet from about 11pm so not so good if you want to stay up later.

    Great pool area and grounds in cliff top setting. Lots of terraces and quiet spots to relax and take in the views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Time of my life worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps going down to beach and back up again although it's not bad it didn't put me off

    Everything was perfect food ,drinks ,staff,our room lovely and comfortable.Walk to the beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location; great beach and staff but for mass tourism - not a charm experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast with "one million" guest makes it look like a hostel; hotel main building looks horrible from the outside as from the 60s (but surprisingly ok And relatively modern and good standard inside

    Location; fantastic beach; comfortable rooms; staff extremely friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It's a small point but I'd like a greater selection of fruit for breakfast

    An excellent hotel. This was our second visit> Staff are very helpful, food is excellent and the location is perfect. Highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    Great relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal selection was good but the quality could be better.

    Fantastic views. Great pool and sunbathing areas. Great place to relax and chill out for a few days.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Almost perfect.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids playground seemed a little dated and unloved.

    A great selection for the breakfast buffet and the lunch menu was great too. Majority of the staff were superb only a couple of staff who didn't seem to be pleased to be serving us / working there. Great view of the coastline made up for it though.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely! 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little bit tasteless but great variety. Bleach in jacuzzi..not comfortable

    Lovely relaxing atmosphere. Beautiful hotel. Lovely spà with offers and really caring staff. Pool and outdide area beautiful. Wasnt in pool but believe it is fresh water. And resident seagull was so cute.. had superior seaview room- well worth it..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location for beach relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with access to the beautiful Falesia beach, and easy walk to Olhos d'Agua. Good pool area and gardens. Our room was a bit small and dark, but otherwise comfortable. Good buffet breakfast with excellent choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Zen Like Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to see how this place can improve, maintaining this level of 5 star service should be the aim.

    Put away the phone and the wallet, put your shorts and sandals and enjoy this slice of paradise.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    5.4
    Twin room.
    • Couple
    • Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices were ridiculous around the pool.i won't use booking.com again!

    I booked a twin room knowing it had two beds I misread the booking details and had not booked my wife on but I had booked two beds. Having to pay an extra 240 euro's seemed to spoil the my son's wedding experience.. beware people read the booking form over and over, because the staff have no allowances for mistakes.on another note my brother in law got his accommodation 240euro's cheaper than me and it was the same room as me... my fault I know and the staff were no help..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel with a spectacular view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Don't judge the hotel by its entrance. wait until you get inside, what a stunning view, the hotel reception and pool all overlooking the beautiful beach. We loved every single minute of our stay and because it was my birthday, we came back to our room after a day out and found a bottle of champagne complimentary from the hotel. What a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Air conditioning in the room wasnt great. It didnt seem to cool the room much.

    We were given a spacious room with a view, even though we hadnt booked/paid for that room type. I think it was because it was our second year in a row there. Also recevied a welcome card in the room and a comp drink at the pool bar. Hotel is SO clean, staff are professional, polite, efficient & friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel , stunning grounds and lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked 2 rooms and our friends had a suite and our room was quite small.

    Lovely relaxing break with friends. Great location easy walk to restaurants and bars. Steep walk to the beach from the hotel grounds but a short walk to beach in the centre of resort.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful landscaping and right on the cliffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beautiful landscaping and right on the cliffs. Good restaurant at bottom of hotel's stairway to the beach. Liked that the pool area was quiet even though their were lots of adults. No loud music to disrupt relaxation. Good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.2
    Great place to get to old town Albufeira and fish restaurants. Golfinho beach bar fab and unspoilt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel was not really PortoBay standard in terms of the "scruffy" Falesia beach restaurants/bars. I was surprised to see plastic sun beds and not top notch but then I usually go to The Cliff Bay in Funchal. The food in the Il Basilico restaurant was poor as was the atmospher - no background music! The reception did not tell us we could have breakfast earlier than 07.30 am when we had to leave for our early flight - we had to ask and find out for ourselves. The whole place seemed like an "all inclusive" sort of hotel and I would not return to this property.

    The beach at this location is superb. The nightly entertainment in the bar is a plus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Twice messages from reception to house keeping didn't get passed on or failed to be carried through, nothing huge just more of an inconvenience and annoyance.

    The staff were very helpful, they were so kind and always ready to be at our service. Loved our stay and have booked again for next year!

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 – 75

Browse PortoBay Falesia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: