Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Porto Mare - PortoBay 4 stars

Rua Simplicio Passos de Gouveia, 21, Sao Martinho, 9004-565 Funchal, Portugal

#11 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 219 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    We loved Porto Mare!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Incredible peaceful hotel with huge beautiful botanical garden, 2 exterior swimming pools (+ 1 for kids) with lots of sun beds, 1 indoor pool, 3 restaurants, spa center. Very professional, polite and kind staff. Tried two of their restaurants, Alfama (highly recommended! food is good and sometimes they have Fado concerts) and Il Basilico, both very good, prices are more or less the same as for the restaurants near the hotel. The hotel provides free bus to Funchal city center several times a day (don't forget to reserve!). Spacious, clean room, with huge comfortable bed. We had a problem with ventilation and it was solved immediately. Good selection for breakfast, a pity they don't have fresh orange juice. Location - approx. 2 km from the city center, you can walk or take the free bus, taxis are also available. We were really impressed with this hotel and its wonderful staff. We spent 10 days there and enjoyed every minute.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    very pleasant and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dinner was overpriced and there are so many good restaurants in town it was not necessary to use it. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant although the reception staff were not very welcoming and although helpful not overly friendly.

    Breakfast buffet was amazing as was the swimming pool and spa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    GARDENS AND NO PRESSURE OF FACILITIES PEACEFUL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    QUALITY MEAT SEAFOOD AT BUFFET THE FACT THAT WEEK BEFORE WE ARRIVED THERE WAS A LOT OF SICKNESS IN THE HOTEL AND WE WERE NOT WARNED ABOUT THIS AT REGISTRATION LUCKILY A WAITER TOLD US AT OUR FIRST MEAL SO WE TOOK EXTRA CARE WITH HYGEINE

    GARDENS AND NO PRESSURE OF FACILITIES PEACEFUL

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    A reviving and comfortable holiday with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Having worked in the hotel industry in London before, we were surprised over the lack of security! Maybe nothing bad has happened yet, but it may be only a matter of time. There is no doorman, anyone can come and go, the maids work in rooms with doors open (and do they know all their guests?) and restaurants accept your room number verbally. There are safes in the rooms, which you have to pay to use. They are free to use in most hotels, and this may induce customers to take chances. I wonder if the hotel even has a security department? The Madeirans may be very honest, but it is their foreign customers they need to take caution with!

    The beds were comfortable and the room had everything we needed. We enjoyed sitting in the beautiful gardens. Breakfast was plentiful and good. We ate in all the restaurants in the complex and they were also good. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    excellent hotel with good facilities and first class local restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    could have made the sun shine more- bit cloudy!

    Nice rooms with comfortable bed and views. Indoor pool and spa so good if not hot enough for outdoors. Good breakfast selection. Bars offer evening entertainment and very reasonably priced drinks and yet rooms are quiet . Bus stop outside hotel so can easily get the airport shuttle bus 10 euros each way . Also local buses stop there and they offer a free shuttle to Funchal centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel complex.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very nice hotel complex. Great spa and swimming pools. I had to wait one hour for my room and they upgraded me intermediately to a junior suite, which was very nice, spacious, comfortable and with nice view to sea. Breakfast and service was 5 stars.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.3
    The garden in the Hotel is very nice, also the Position is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunately the eggs were at times a bit runny, I missed some Avocados....

    The garden in the Hotel is very nice, also the Position is excellent! The Access to town Funchal is so convenient, the Harbour is so beutiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    It was a wonderful resort on an island with lots to do and see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't know about the free shuttle into town until our last day.

    The breakfast buffet was large and good. Fresh made to order omelettes, eggs and waffles. Great start to the day. The resort had live music in the bar near us with happy hour prices and a good Italian restaurant on site. There were many choices of pools and places to sit outside. A very beautiful and comfortable resort.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    We would happily return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    All the staff were helpful, friendly and cheerful. The rooms were clean. The food was excellent. The hotel grounds were lovely. Good evening 'entertainment', with local musicians. Good spa facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.9
    The colourful, botanical gardens and different fauna is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The colourful, botanical gardens and different fauna is a major plus, and there are many restaurants at the property and overall, good facilities, such as a relatively well-equipped gym. We had a problem with tobacco smoke coming into our room through the ventilation. Hotel management fixed the problem in a very good way. We had a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pool attendants were never around to move umbrellas or sunbeds (because they are hiding in the stairwell by the outside toilets) and a lot of people reserve their beds with towels which is a nuisance because there are stacks of empty beds around but no pool attendants to monitor this horrible selfish practise.

    I must be one of the most difficult to please customers as I have travelled a lot, but seriously, I cannot find fault with this hotel. It was absolutely lovely in every respect. Spotlessly clean, nice staff, excellent food especially the breakfast and the facilities were great too. We enjoyed using the tennis court and the spa pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing and restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fruit juice at breakfast was from a machine and not very nice, fresh juice would have been better.

    Second stay. Immaculate gardens, lots of space, plenty of sun beds near the pool, outstanding breakfast, happy hour cocoktails.....what more can you ask? Simply perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Almost perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just picky small things: 1) Suggest to have proper hot water for tea at breakfast instead of luke warm water. 2) Suggest to have more points to charge phones/ipad/laptop in room without having to unplug lights. Many things need to charge batteries nowadays... 3) more hooks to hang things in bathroom 4) The dessert in buffet dinner is really not good, mostly synthetic flavoured moose, very very synthetic, not good dessert at all.

    First time I rated "excellent" for everything on booking.com. Free upgrade to superior room (no. 2307), quiet above indoor pool with sea view. Beautiful gardens, great clean pools. Fantastic buffet breakfast. Great restaurants and shops nearby. Tried the good buffet dinner in hotel, tasty, freshly cooked steak and tuna. Free hotel bus to city centre. Public lido by hotel is fun. Good free wifi. You feel taken care of by the staff. I think I have found my favourite hotel to return to!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    5.4
    Nice surroundings. Service was a let down though, given the price of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We stayed on the second floor and were woken up multiple times each night by the noise from below (sounded like tables being moved. At mid-night, 3am, 5am and then from 7am). Everything we asked seemed to be a nuisance: grumpy waiters and receptionists. One receptionist even rolled her eyes at us when we asked to store out suitcases in the locked room whilst out on an excursion on our last day. When asking for soft drinks in one restaurant, the waiter couldn't tell us what soft drinks they had. Seemed angry because we didn't buy expensive wine. Hotel seems to charge for things that should be a give: no hair conditioner, charge for using the safe in the room, table tennis and sauna at hotel etc. Cleaners were in and out in a matter of minutes. We had someone's toe-nails on our balcony for days (we were on the second floor). Didn't take cups away to be washed - could see bits in them after cleaners had been. Asked for additional body lotion at reception - was never sorted. So had to ask cleaner directly when saw them. Scrambled eggs at breakfast run out and never replenished. Breakfast generally not upto the same standard as other 4* hotels we have stayed at. It is a mad rush with waiters running around you clashing dishes and making no effort to make it enjoyable for you. Nice pools but outside one not heated and freezing so didnt use.

    Big rooms. Comfy bed. Nice gardens surrounding the sea-facing side of the hotel. Free shuttle into Funchal (pre-booking required at reception). Not far from airport (25 Euro for 25-30 min taxi ride). Choice of 4 restaurants at the hotel. Fridge in room. Made use of the Spa/supermarket nearby. Powerful shower.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    A most enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Difficult to think of anything!

    Very comfortable and spacious room with delightful view. Excellent variety of restaurants all with superb food. Amazing swimming pool

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    4.2
    Very Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I believe that I had booked a double room but it turns out that my confirmation was for single occupancy and I was subsequently charged an extra 141 euro per night for my partner . I have never booked a single occupancy room before and most places charge for the room only . The cost of my room rose from 640 euro to 1100 euro. If it had been 141 for the week I could understand but 141 per night for a BREAKFAST was stupid. The staff were very officious and in comparison to the Cliff Bay hotel ( part of the same group) we were very disappointed, we will not be staying there again, and I will read the small print in future.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    Beautiful ocean-front resort, with amazing gardens and nice pools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sometimes the happy hour cocktails were not so great and the entertainment was pretty sleepy most nights.

    This resort has great ocean views, amazing gardens and grounds, and a nice variety of pools. The outdoor pool was quite cold but swimmable in December, the indoor/outdoor pool was much warmer. Even the outdoor part was pretty nice. Rooms were spacious, I'd recommend getting a seaview room. Wide variety of breakfast foods available and a nice indoor/outdoor terrace to eat breakfast on. Happy hour in the bar from 5-6:30 was nice for super cheap drinks. In general the food and drink was quite reasonable. Sometimes resorts will have really steep prices, but this was quite reasonable. There are also plenty of nice restaurant options within 5-10 minute walk from the hotel and Funchal is only 30 mins walk.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    10
    Perfect experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving !!!

    The hotel is exceptionally clean. The staff take a pride in their work. The receptionists are extremely professional and knowledgeable. Nothing is too much trouble for them. They are good ambassadors for the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.6
    Best in price/quality of 5 hotels in F. if direct access to the ocean is not your wish (room 2156)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is somewhat dark. Hardly any sun on this balcony.

    Nice large garden with a beautiful pool and also a heated inside/outside pool at the spa. Large room with a balcony and garden view. Excellent large beds with a foam topp-er and good quality bedlinnens.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    8.8
    Looking forward to going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    some of the reception staff were a bit difficult.

    Rooms were comfy, beds large with a good selection of TV channels. Lots of pools and restaurants to choose from. Bit of a walk from the town, but there were bars and restaurants locally, and it suited us to be a bit further out. Spa was lovely. Would stay again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Dream hotel, amazing view, staff, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    :) you should have tropical fruits in your breakfast selection

    Swimming pools, decoration, amazing garden, view, location, staff, great breakfast, nice restaurants inside the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    5.0
    Lovely island disappointing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts awful/staff surly and unhelpful/ ants in cupboards/ very poor lighting in room-unable to read in bed/ terrible smell from drains in room every morning

    Bed comfortable quiet situation great location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.6
    This hotel is difficult to fault and we would certainly return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our only slight criticism concerns the evening buffet, where the quality and appearance of the meat and fish available could be improved.

    Perfect position, excellent staff and facilities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent peaceful break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi went down for 24hrs Not enough comfy seating

    Breakfast buffet was excellent Wifi was good when it worked Room was spacious Staff very helpful Happy hour cocktails were excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.6
    Excellent. Everything first class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Having to think very hard on this one. Maybe could have done with a quick escort of the facilities, as we traveled independently and only discovered the ice cream parlor on the last day.

    Everything was just splendid. No complaints.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    4.2
    A very disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged 30 euro/ night for our 8 years old daughter in the conditions that we rented an apartment , so with enough space for everybody.Even if we showed them that on booking.com conditions is clearly specified that a child with the age over 2 will pay the price only if using an extra bed( which was not our case because we booked an apartment , not a room, they told us either we accept, or we leave:( the worst reception I ever experienced so far!!! More , there were millions of ants in the living room and nobody could sleep on the sofa there...My husband slept there in the first night and woke up full of ants all over him:( We reported at the reception and they sent the cleaning lady with an ants spray ...useless obviously.... No apoligizes, no apartment changed, no compesation, no nothing. Only after a few days we understand that we were not acomodated in Porto Mare hotel as we booked, but in Residence( for those who are not familiar, the resort is composed of three hotels, in the middle is Porto Mare, on the right îs The Residence and on the left is Eden Mar; be carefull not to be cheated like we were, we booked and paied for PortoMare and ended in staying in the old, full of ants The Residence. Amoung so many good reviews this resort has, it is good that people should be informed correct about everything. In our case , never again here!

    Nice well kept gardens, the view from our apartment , big bedroom bed,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful views, amazing breakfast, beautiful rooms and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful views, amazing breakfast, beautiful rooms and balconies

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The late servicing of our room

    The bed was super comfortable. The breakfast was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    welcome break in a great hotel with friendly helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    range of food and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Perfect place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden, pool and the breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    More fresh pineapple & some local fresh figs(when in season}

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Stunning and can't wait to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids being loud

    Love the location and how beautiful the place is

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    The pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pools

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Enjoyed our holiday in Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast. Wonderful gardens variety of pools Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    some of the staff were a bit sorry for them selves some of the time

    breakfast was good our room was perfect amazing bed and very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.1
    bed comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    food average. service not always good. some staff on reception not helpful.

    bed comfy. room nice. view lovely.happy hour good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast choice excellant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice excellant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.1
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wear to change after leaving are room

    Sun

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Breakfast was excellent but the main impression was of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was excellent but the main impression was of fantastic service by friendly staff who made you feel like they really cared

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.6
    If you want to relax be pampered and have great food this is the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having to pay for a safe in the room

    bed was comfy and the room was greatNOCE Sea views

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.6
    Great Sea Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast room could be really busy at times as it serves the other hotels

    Location, pools and the Med restaurant, gardens, sea view from the room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    10
    Superb hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Gardens, bread, breakfast, restaurants, pool, gym, Entertainment.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.8
    Excellent facilities and mostly friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent facilities and mostly friendly staff. Food and drink were also of a high standard.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    10
    Great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All tens it was fabulous

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff and good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi

    Friendly staff and good facilities

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym could have been better.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    10
    Another great stay in the Porto Mare..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel people would need to extremely picky to note any dislikes

    This was our 12th year at this hotel complex, no more to be said.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    My opinion: very nice celebration of my birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The swimming pool and the hotel service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.6
    Wifi only available to 2 devices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only available to 2 devices

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    A very enjoyable week with fantastic weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    An iron in the room would have been appreciated.

    spacious room and balcony, splendid view across gardens and pool; to the sea.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    10
    Excellent quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very kind and helpfull. The garden and the pool were amazing. Great resort!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People were allowed to leave their towels on sun beds all day without using them.

    View was great, big pool great breakfast choice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    10
    A Resort to chill out
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast missing the raw salmon

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    7.1
    Gardens and bar areas excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The traffic noise if stayed again would want a room away from the road.

    Gardens and bar areas excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    I thought the evening dress code was being abused, many of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I thought the evening dress code was being abused, many of the men still wore shorts & traners. Whereas the dress code was, and should be. Smart eveving wear, ie long trousers,

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Everything was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were not so many young couples. Maybe it is an idea ro attract also younget people for that hotel. Wifi was a little bit slow.

    Everything was amazing. I can only recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    10
    Perfect location-had bus provided free to to travel to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only thing was two days forgot to clean room due to confusion on our leaving day but quickly rectified 😃

    Perfect location-had bus provided free to to travel to Centre of Funchal from hotel. Wonderful gardens and beautiful spa -only 5 euros for steam room/sauna for 1 hour. Delightful breakfast. Extremely large well equipped room fridge safe - beautiful sea view - would love to return. Thank you all at Porto Mare x

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    9.2
    Really comfortable beds and well appointed room beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A longer stay!!

    Really comfortable beds and well appointed room beautiful location. Staff are always amazingly friendly and attentive. Food (especially breakfast buffet) is first class.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    Professional staff,food ,accommodation and location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Too much chlorine in the inside pool

    Professional staff,food ,accommodation and location .The location was not only stunning looking onto the sea but easy to get in and out of town.Also a very efficient airport bus ( 5 euros each way or 7 euros return - stops outside the hotel and the timetable is there to see.Takes about 20 minutes).We had chosen half board which was great value but b/b would also be good as there are a lot of places to eat nearby and a great little supermarket for water,fruit etc and all reasonable and good quality. When we arrived our room was quite far from the reception .When we asked if possible to have a room nearer we were given a ground floor room, 2504, very private with a beautiful garden view of exotic plants.The room had a private patio with a little gate which led you to the pool area.Really lovely. No extra cost to use Wifi in room.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    10
    The staff were friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were friendly and accommodating. We found the beds to be the most comfortable we have experienced on any holiday in a hotel of this standard. The grounds were stunning.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    9.2
    We stayed in the Residence in a superb room with balcony...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi in room hopeless! Just about tolerable for email but anything else very frustrating. Ok in lobby.

    We stayed in the Residence in a superb room with balcony opening onto a lovely garden. Breakfast was very good but no other meals taken. Easy to get to Funchal which is very likeable and not too big. Gardens at the hotel are fabulous. Pools good too. Cleaning staff and waiters very good.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    10
    Our Room with a beautiful View &
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The In House Resturants lack a warm dining atmosphere. The wifi is very poor for a five star hotel. And charging for a room safe is very suprising & disappointing in this calibre of hotel. The reception staff having to act dual rolls as receptionist & concierge,s which also causes time conflicts with guests requiring tourist info etc Vying with guests checking in.

    Our Room with a beautiful View & Fabulous gardens including the pool area. Our Room was large & very comfortable & kept very clean by the housekeeping staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The "mattress topper" made the bed much too soft for my slightly delicate back. Apart from that the hotel was perfect.

    Comfortable and spacious room. Beautiful gardens.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    10
    Fantastic all round!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic all round! Great hotel and very welcoming and helpful staff throughout; delicious food; wonderful and spacious room; beautiful grounds; great recreational and spa facilities; a good stroll into Funchal. Couldn't have asked for any more-very much recommended!

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    10
    The comfort, space, facilities and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only negative point was a 'cold unfriendly' barman serving us cocktails ironically in 'Happy Hour'. We were quite surprised at his unfriendly manner. We left after one drink. The rest of the staff were courteous and friendly.

    The comfort, space, facilities and location.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    10
    Staff all friendly and clearly love their jobs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    Staff all friendly and clearly love their jobs. Food was amazing. Setting was beautiful. Loved the gardens. Loved happy hour cocktails. My room was brilliant!

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.2
    Hotel was full but not overcrowded - always possible to find...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Could have done with more staff on reception at busy times.

    Hotel was full but not overcrowded - always possible to find a place by the pool. Clean and fresh surroundings. Good restaurants on site.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    Excellent facilities with good views of the Atlantic Ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no dislikes for this resort complex

    Excellent facilities with good views of the Atlantic Ocean. Location is perfect with access to local buses just metres away from hotel reception desk. Many local restaurants also located very close nearby.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Great location close to beach and a pleasant walk into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Only negative (very minor) was sun hair hoggers despite hotel ruling about 1.5hrs max.

    Great location close to beach and a pleasant walk into Funchal centre. All staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Food was great both in hotel and nearby restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    10
    The view from the room and from the sunbeds, suberb...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Entertainment just below our balcony consisted of almost the same set of covers every night, some variation would have been nice. Don't get me wrong, you could still sleep perfectly even with balcony door open if you had earplugs on. And this is the only negative I could think of. :)

    The view from the room and from the sunbeds, suberb breakfast, nearby sea shore for free swimming, interesting garden tour, gym, total peacefulness, free wi-fi only in public areas (better that you don't spend too much time online in your room)

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.6
    Many restaurants (Il Basilico was our favourite), very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Service in pool bar (Varanda) wash´t very good. WiFi costs 25 euros per week.

    Many restaurants (Il Basilico was our favourite), very nice garden and pool area, good location, nice and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    The surroundings were beautiful, the staff couldn't do...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The evening entertainment wasn't the best and became very much the same every evening accept for 'spot the difference' who are worth seeing. Sun beds got taken quickly in the morning so needed to get your towels out early to get a good spot.

    The surroundings were beautiful, the staff couldn't do enough for you, the food was excellent and the pool area was stunning.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.8
    Gardens are beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Front desk staff need improvement. They can do better. They do miss verve and willingness to be helpful. Breakfast are still the same, every morning the same. If you are there like 7 nights, this could be bothering. Slight variation would be nice.

    Gardens are beautiful. It is like private botanical garden. Hotel is a truly 4 * : rooms are 4* standard, hotel equipment as well. Plenty of pools,which you can try if you do not mind a fresh water.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    9.6
    This hotel has everything: nice and spacious rooms with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi in room is not free...

    This hotel has everything: nice and spacious rooms with balcony so you can sit&relax with views over their magnificent garden/swimming pools and ocean. All facilities were optimised for the best comfort possible. Breakfast was very good; only had 2x buffet (Friday: fish) which was also very good! Busstation right in front of the hotel! (walking distance to city center for young people: 30 min). We felt totally relaxed after 1 week; I haven't seen a better hotel in Madeira as this one!!

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Porto Mare - PortoBay traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: