Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa 5 stars

Avenida da Boavista, 1269, Lordelo do Ouro e Massarelos, 4100-130 Porto, Portugal

#53 of 142 hotels in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1754 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.0
    Comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Offered drinks vouchers for the bar and told that we could have 'soft' drinks instead. We ordered cokes and coffees and told that the vouchers could not be used for these drinks, which didn't make sense as they would have costed a lot less than alcoholic drinks - we paid 42 euros for 3 coffees, 2 cokes and 2 beers.

    Comfortable rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing staff attitude, especially the Management team
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of senior management when we had cause to complain about quality of food in VIP lounge and TV not working for advertised World Cup match.

    Breakfast team were very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    The HEIGHT of good taste.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the business district a good 2.5 miles from the old town where all the tourist action is. But a €6 taxi ride and the rank just outside.

    A super 5* hotel that earns its rating. Staff were super polite and helpful. The hotel was spotless and has excellent facillities. Don't hesitate to book here. Be aware that it has 19 floors and if you dont like heights (like me), you should request a lower floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Good stay but disappointed with drinks vouchers offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given vouchers for 'free' port wine and told that we could have soft drinks etc instead, but when we asked for coke and coffees, we were told we could not use vouchers!

    Nice rooms and helpful staff on Reception and Concierge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed size was excellent but the mattress could have been more comfortable. The space reserved for breakfast needs definite improvement, i believe it is temporary due to ongoing modernization of the hotel, but I am sure something can be done. The restaurant staff was very polite.

    The housekeeping staff were extra kind and considerate and would constantly ask if they can help. The views from the room were amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast location changed from the top floor with an amazing view to the first floor with no windows. But on top of this the breakfast lost quality as well.

    Very good location. Excellent facilities and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic and memorable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing than to continue to improve on their services

    Good location, very nice and courteous staff. Clean hotel and nice meal at the roof top to have a good view of the city. Very nice scene at night to watch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Confortable stay in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice stay in this modern and luxury hotel in Porto. The building is not properly downtown but it is in a nice and zone, with services available. By taxy, in 10 minutes maximum it is possible to reach the city centre. Bus and metro are also available. The view from the 11th floor room was very nice, looking towards the ocean, visible from that "altitude". The roof bar (thanks for the welcome drink ) has an amazing view 180° from the 19th floor. A special thanks to the lady at the reception who driven us to the best (and smaller) resturant in the city we tried. The airport is max at 15 minutes by taxy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.4
    Room was nice and big
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was in a conference room with no natural light. Restaurant being renovated but there is a restaurant on the top floor why they did not use that instead! The Metro is a 10 min walk to get to the tourist centre.

    Room was nice and big

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    The whole room is amazing, very comfortable bed, clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The spa and the gym/swimming pool Closing time was too early during the weekend (19:00 Saturday and 18:00 Sunday). Would be nice to be able to use the swimming pool at night. I did ask for a knife and fork to the reception and was informed the room service would take it to my room. But then I received a call informing that this would be 4 euros. I'm glad they called to inform and I could refuse it. I don't agree with charging for a knife and fork, while there are glasses and spoons and bottle opener close to the minibar. And I could've taken upstairs myself with me, since I was downstairs already.

    The whole room is amazing, very comfortable bed, clean and spacious. Bathroom separate from toilet and 2 sinks, so very good to be in couple. Breakfast was excellent, with a great variety and everything very tasteful. The rooftop bar is amazing, drinks are very good and the bar tenders are very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    There staff were very good and the breakfasts were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location of the hotel. It is a considerable distance from the centre of Porto and this meant that we had to take a taxi every time went out (normally twice a day), which over the duration of the stay amounted to a noticeable sum.

    There staff were very good and the breakfasts were excellent. The room was very pleasant too and apparently we were upgraded to an Executive Double Room which was very comfortable, and for this we must be grateful, although in all honesty I didn't feel that the room itself was particularly special, large or well appointed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    Terrible experience, however the gentleness of Rui (staff) was outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child up to 12 Years Old)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at our suite, very hot day 31C , thw air conditioning was not working, as well as the tv and wifi They sent technical people to solve (while we were, literally, melting with the hot weather Than after 90 minutes, they sent us to another room (no apologies, no complimentary from any kind) The other day, the safe box of the new room also broke (we could not open), Again techs came in and out, tookan hour or so Well the last day we asked if we could do a late checkout (1 hour only) You would believe that after they made us “loose” 3 hours of our holidays, they would be glad to attten to a small request But no! They said no!!! I havent aksed for part of my money back! But should had!!

    Gym was good, as ir is a proper fym open to all public

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    4.6
    Water and biscuits on the ground floor;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal was not polite; never excuse even if something wrong due to their fault; breakfast is definitely not 5-star breakfast, especially coffee was bad; location is not perfect, however there is a bus stop nearby (but buses never arrive on time)

    Water and biscuits on the ground floor; good view from the window (on the upper floors)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows can open. But as hotel is near residential area, quite some dogs are barking all night. Problem if you sleep with window open. If not, no problem at all.

    Comfortable room, good breakfast, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice, but not more.
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its not a five star hotel; four ist really enough. The rooms are ok; the breakfast is also a three-four stars hotel one; it has not a good restaurant (only a survival restaurant and a modern, loudly chill-out lounge, where you can eat some kind of snacks).

    Good located, rooms are ok. Nice view on the last floor. Thats all!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Loved the design of the rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the hotel staff were highly attentive to ostentatiously wealthy guests and essentially ignored guests who didn’t signal they were wealthy. Disappointing for an otherwise great hotel.

    Loved the design of the rooms. Giving it a real boutique hotel feeling.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    it was fine only the breakfast was not so good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    most of the staff they dont speak English specially at breakfast , i waited like 30 minutes to find someone who speaks English and understand that i need a lemon juice , all the staff at breakfast dont speak English at all , although they were young girls serving . the breakfast was fine but not so good ... overall it was good ...

    All staff was good and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    The room was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome. The lady was nervous and not at all helpful. She told us the metro was at the casa da musica a few steps away. We walked a lot and then turned around and around to find it. it was not there.

    The room was beautiful. The vip lounge great. All the people working there (lounge, reception and breakfast), exept for the first lady, were kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.0
    beds comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got stuck in the lift- it broke down - we were waiting 11 minutes to be released the property were asked for a discount for this but gave 20 euro not happy with this

    beds comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast is terrible for a 5 star hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is terrible for a 5 star hotel. The breakfast room is in the underground and it looks like a very bad canteen. The quality of the food is not good. It changes your experience in the hotel. The deluxe rooms are fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    The guest relations officer Rita was extremely helpful, kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child up to 12 Years Old)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The guest relations officer Rita was extremely helpful, kind and professional. She addressed an issue I had with the room I was originally given extremely well and provided me with an efficient solution which exceeded my expectations. Excellent service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    not 5 star hotel :-(
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It doesn’t stand for 5 star hotel. Inside the hotel in minus one with no view there is a breakfast which has too little people to service and reload food so you are facing empty plates. Coffee in the express machine is horrible ( you hear mixer and then you get tast of instant one) 5 star hotel? During the day you can eat only in the restaurant 50 meters outside the hotel which looks like poor bistro, empty, the waiter looked at us so surprised that anyone visited him so we went away. On the top roof there is a restaurant which serves snack till 8pm then dinner. Waiting time is ages. You can not eat proper food in nice 5 star comfort place till 8pm. Swimming pool on Sunday close at 6pm (5 star hotel?)

    view from the window towards the sea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Five-star old-fashioned hotel outside old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have to pay for parking. Swimming pool and sauna was below our expectation. In general, the hotels really needs some renovation.

    Five star hotel at reasonable price. The staff is quite helpful. The room was quite big, good breakfast, close to music hall. Bar on the top floor, though have to book in advance. Old city is easily reachable by taxi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, good location, very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff such has cleaners and room service delivery were not respectful of private space and didn’t knock before walking in the room with their master key. Within the first hour we had 3 members of staff walking in the room (cleaner to open beds, someone asking a weird question about mini bar when we literally had check in, and room service which we ordered but were expecting to be able to open the door ourselves)

    Great hotel, good location, very comfortable. Good room service food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice place to get some rest for business travelers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast room is underground and a bit dark. Street price is high vs user experience (decoration would need refreshing) but I chose it at the last minute based on special a promotion.

    Comfortable large room in line with business traveler's expectations. The staff was really friendly and efficient for check-in and check out. Location is good as it is not too far from the airport yet very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    It was Excellent I will return to that hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have good bar tendants but their cocktail menu is small .. the space in vips lounch its good but restaurant can be improved for sure

    Perfect ubication .. All staff very helpfull . Spa services are great , they could improve a little more in food and Bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    First class hotel not too far from the centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Advertised in the room,'enjoy a cuppa in your room' but there was no milk and if one wanted some, had to call room service and they would bring some to your room (for a charge!). That's pretty cheap!. Also, driving to the underground parking is a real challenge. If you are nervous of driving in tight spaces, be careful!

    Is definitely 5 stars. Excellent appointments in the room although the lighting is quite poor, but otherwise definitely first class.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child up to 12 Years Old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable room! The live music (piano) at the bar in the lobby was very nice. View from the bar on the 19th floor is amazing (even in stormy weather!)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Good choice at breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There aren't many restaurants nearby and we didn't know that most restaurants require reservations in advance (even midweek!)

    Good choice at breakfast. The staff here were all super helpful and went the extra mile - for example, in the VIP terrace lounge the bartenders were happy to make us a cocktail that wasn't on their menu. Spa facilities are excellent! We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Extremely professional and nice staff (except in spa/...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the health Center directed us to the wrong area so instead of being able to enjoy the nice spa facilities display on the picture we only had access to a fitness and swimming pool area which feels like a poor council sports Center. This was the only area were the staff was actually very bad.

    Extremely professional and nice staff (except in spa/ health Center area). Room was very comfortable and the view from the terrasse bar is lovely. Impressive breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.4
    SPA is not worth trying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SPA stuff was very unfriendly and sauna was not working there. The common swimming pool was too crowded. If you want SPA place, avoid this hotel

    View from the window, free port wine voucher

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Top quality affordable hotel in Porto!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi didn't work on the top floor (restaurant), but this is a minor detail

    Everything was above expectation: friendly staff, comfortable bedroom, very well equipped gym (and spa), complete breakfast...I will be definitely staying in this hotel again when I'm back to Porto!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    The location and views of Porto in the 19th floor are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old, needing a refurbishment. For a 5 star hotel it shouldn’t be like it is now. The TV screens are very very old, with very poor image quality.

    The location and views of Porto in the 19th floor are amazing. The staff was very kind and professional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Very Porto
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great . Thank You .

    The Hotel is well connected to the airport by taxi or metro . The room was really clean , tidy and comfortable . Fast and free Wi-Fi. Very friendly Staff .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    A good Business like hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included (our fault, but for the price we paid ...). Parking was also paid on the side. As for the rooms , our bed was significantly worse than expected , as was the TV quality.

    The facilities are very nice. The brunch has a gorgeous view over the entire city. The staff was impeccable. It had Sport TV ( paid subscription). The gym belongs to a famous chain, which ensures quality

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    The roof terrace is very nice and the pool was a plus, but...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The carpet in the room gave my husband an allergic reaction, maybe there was more dust in the room because of the carpet, the night stands seemed that they had not been cleaned at all.

    The roof terrace is very nice and the pool was a plus, but it was a bit worn. The staff was very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay, near the metro, easy to get to downtown Porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like more vegetarian choice on the menu in both restaurants. Maybe pool area needs updating.

    everything was as you would expect in a 5* establishment, attention to detail was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Access to the spa with deluxe floor booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access to the spa with deluxe floor booking. Guest Services was extremely helpful. Staff was very accommodating and efficient. Yummy cookies and beverages available at check-in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, lovely staff, lovely Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe a bit far from centre - but that can't be helped.

    Bed was massive and comfy. Lovely staff - friendly and helpful. Complimentary coffee and croissants in morning

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    Just another four star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the moment of the booking I booked the family room because from the site it looked it would be a special suite with two rooms. Instead what they call family room is only two normal connecting rooms. If I knew that I would have booked somewhere else.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    This hotel is excellent for a long stay but seemed a little reserved for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hairdryer in bathroom was a nightmare, heavy and stored in a drawer so difficult to use. No milk was available in room for coffee/tea, presume staff would have provided it if asked. Parking fee was not explained properly.

    Rooms were lovely and large and very comfortable bed. Not enough time to enjoy the Spa facilities. Staff v.helpful too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Staff were helpful- food in VIP Lounge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were helpful- food in VIP Lounge very good. My only negative would be the Room we stayed in was rather dark and dull - decor rather depressing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel with amazing amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet in our room was incongruous with the rest of the beautiful hotel—it was stained and looked very old. Everything else was perfect, so it stood out.

    We loved our room and the 18th floor terrace. Our stay was wonderful. Everyone was nice and we'd definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child up to 12 Years Old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was wonderful. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The hotel was fully booked but you could hear a sound. The bed, sheets and pillows were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Not 5 star, good transport links but a bit far out from city , disappointing spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishings , one comfortable chair and one chair for desk , no table , had to request better pillows, window in room stuck twice , safe wouldn't open , lamp not working twice . Spa facilities, very tired looking could have benefited from a deep clean , thin towel in spa

    good bed . Good staff, quick to respond to requests and repairs . Quiet at night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Nice rooms and facilities. Overall good value and would recommend
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The roof restaurant snack menu was very limited and then they could not do the sandwich I ordered due to not having the meat. For snack menu limited and expensive. With a busy conference on the last night lift access was slow.

    Very helpful and accommodating staff. Service was excellent and the rooms very comfy. Would recommend and return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Perfect in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing better is if I could have stayed longer. Unfortunately, I couldn't.

    Everything was absolutely perfect...from the staff to the room. I would highly recommend this to anyone traveling to Porto. Kudos!!! Terry

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    3.8
    Would never go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airco could not be turned off, breakfasts was poor, parking at hotel difficult to drive out and gym was not open on Sunday afternoon

    Not much. Bad experience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    It was all nice, specially the staff, Pedro who welcomed us,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pillows

    It was all nice, specially the staff, Pedro who welcomed us, kind and helpful and Rita who gave us lots of good advice - the cleaner at our floor always gave us a smile and kind word. Nice people

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!! Loved this hotel! Thank you for such a pleasant stay :). We will be back.

    Beautiful hotel, friendly staff and delicious breakfast! I would certainly go back! The spa was amazing and relaxing! Well worth a visit. :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the night (142€) didn't even include the spa entrance. I was disappointed for an hotel called "&Spa". The pool on the photos is so photoshopped it doesn't match with the reality. The pool is actually kind of old.

    The Palacio Lounge on the highest floor has an breathtaking 360 view on Porto.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Spectacular views, especially from the restaurant on top...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows could be cleaner. Ramp to the parking on -4 like a roller coaster, but you can ask the door boy for help.

    Spectacular views, especially from the restaurant on top floor. Very comfortable rooms with a nice design. Explicitly delicious products for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Great value, potentially
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The urban view could be better. You always seem to need a car around it. It starts to show its age in terms of tear and wear. Swimming pool in the basement is a no go.

    Incredible breakfast. Includes a welcome drink on a rooftop bar with an amazing view. The room is decent and very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    Average good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child up to 12 Years Old)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Personnel definitely need training, in english and in skills, overall knowledge of city and services in general. Panoramic roof restaurant is poor, except drinks. Food menu and breakfasts could be done much better.

    Average good hotel. Far away from touristic places. For couple of nights stay is OK.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    2.9
    Stay at the new Sheraton a few blocks away instead.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child up to 12 Years Old)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Suites are not suites, just two separate rooms with a single door built in front of them. This should be stated up front and not be a surprise upon arrival. This is true for ALL "suites" in the hotel I was told. 2) None of the 3 keys worked when we got to our room 3) Window was broken when I opened it, so we had to change rooms 4) Breakfast in the "VIP Lounge" was not OK. Eggs were ice cold and the capuccino came out of a jar even though there was a Nespresso machine in plain sight behind the bar. 5) Air conditioning did not consistently work in both rooms of the "suite" so our son slept in a very warm room while we had a cool one. Despite calls to reception this problem was never fixed 6) Wi Fi did not work for the first 24 hours and we had to create personal hotspots to access the internet 7) the sauna (open to the public- my wife was told that 90% of the visitors are NOT guests of the hotel) was so disgusting and moldy that my wife left after 10 minutes 8) The hotel was formerly The Sheraton. They sold it at a cheap price and built a new one a few blocks away- we should have gone there! This hotel is run down and not worthy of 5 stars whatsoever. 9) we paid 270 Euros per night which is absolutely ridiculous. Half that price would have been more realistic for this hotel. 10) Bottom line, we have traveled all around the world and we will remember this one as perhaps the worst of all, especially considering the high price.

    I would not go there again and I would not recommend this hotel to others.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel if you want somewhere out of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location - had we not been travelling by car we would have chosen somewhere more central. (That said a taxi to the centre of town cost about €6.

    The comfort and overall aesthetic of the hotel was excellent - as were the staff; everyone was superb.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Affordable luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Swimming pool facilities were looking a bit tired, but clean . Poolside beds in poor condition.

    Rooms were fantastic. Very clean and of a high specification. Room service breakfast (extra) was very nice. Staff very very helpful. Rooftop terrace and bar excellent, even though it was a bit expensive to drink, was worth it !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was a struggle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was full for some part of my stay. The service at this moment was inadequate. There wasn't enough space, tables cleaned efficiently, breakfast replaced when out of stock... fruits, yoghurt etc. For a 5 star hotel it wasn't good enough IMHO

    Nice room and hard working cleaning staff. External gym was good but avoid in peak times.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.3
    My worst experience in years using booking.com.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don’t understand why this hotel is so well rated here. The first thing we heard when we arrived, was that the pool, which was one of the reasons why we booked the hotel, was closed for a public holiday. Next we saw our “deluxe room” which was half of the size of the room of the hotel we had just left. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, the way to the metro is around 15 min… bad choice if you want to explore beautiful Porto. The hotel is a big rip-off, beer costs 3 times the price of any restaurant in the city.

    Roof top terrace

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Stayed at this hotel on two different occasions during our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed at this hotel on two different occasions during our trip. Excellent both times. Comfortable, clean, quiet and the staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    A weekend at the Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I called for room service the last night of my stay, the staff had a little bit of an attitude. I didn't ask for anything extraordinary, but I found his attitude to be rude. Nonetheless, I was still pleased with the service.

    The staff was very respectful and made us feel like royalty. Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.0
    Remote location, hotel not 5* worthy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location: you need a taxi for everything Choice at breakfast is poor Elevator waiting times >10minutes Pool not accesible for kids

    Large room Oranges and croissants at breakfast were good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    4.2
    Not 5 star !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food served in the roof top restaurant was really disappointing , I ordered Cod from the menu and when presented it was tough chewy and tasteless , really disappointed , I also had to request the wine menu myself after starter was presented , and had to request again as still no sign when main course presented . The Swimming pool and Spa area was very dirty around the walls loungers and jacuzzi very tired looking . I wondered why the main restaurant was closed on the ground floor now I know why !

    The view from the top floor bar is amazing , bed room clean modern quiet and comfortable .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.3
    good stay in Oporto
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is terrible not really working in the room and very slow in public areas. Breakfast is not recommended terrible eggs and coffee.

    Rooms is large and beds are comfy. Facilities especially the gym is top level and very enjoyable. bathrobe and slippers are supplied which is always nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    6.3
    It was ok - I'd stay again, but only if I didn't have a better choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room pictures are a little old. The carpet is a little worn. It's far away from city center. Parking is NOT free. Felt a bit stuffy.

    The bathroom was kinda amazing. The heated towel rack was a nice touch. The view was great, especially from the rooftop area. The robe was awful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    Great Hotel, Excellent staff, Big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very welcoming and nice, wifi connection was goos in the hotel. The spa and gym areas are underground and a bit dark but otherwise all the facilities were present. a bit far from the city center but not a problem to reach it. the rooms were very spacious and were cleaned and organised twice a day! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Awesome hotel, amazing roof top terrace
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The roof top restaurant and sun deck is great but the menu in the restaurant is very limited.

    Staff were very friendly, rooms very spacious and the gym and spa facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money, dated interiors, hard beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child up to 12 Years Old)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property is great. It is a little dated, but we did not mind that. The only thing I would say is, the beds are really hard. I slept terribly, and when I say hard - I am not just being high maintenance. It was like sleeping on a floor. Location - it is pretty far out from the center of town and not really near a Metro stop.

    Very friendly staff, great roof terrace, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fantastic!

    Porto Palacio is a great place to stay. It's a 5 stars hotel but very smooth in that sense. The staff was really helpful and polite. Ricardo the concierge knows his staff! Parking within the building for 10 euro all night is also a good service. The view from the top of the hotel is breathtaking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Overall a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a lovely hotel, the facilities are great and staff are responsive and helpful. It lacks a bit of character or personality though. It's a lovely place though and def worth staying but doesnt have the wow factor or the soul/heart/vibe that you often get in hotels. The location is a bit out of the way tbh. you'll need a taxi or bus to the river and that can add up.

    Amazing place to stay. Pay the extra for a deluxe room as you'll have an amazing view and access to the Spa which is absolutely beautiful. The roof top bar area doesnt open during the day, it's evening only so that might disappoint some people (it did us). Excellent service from staff, they were incredibly responsive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    5.8
    This is defiantly a business hotel, location was not ideal for leisure travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bedding was awful, hard beds and useless pillows. The daily breakfast was lukewarm and no variety.

    The spa services were exceptional and the staff was very attentive. Very clean hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel, with brilliant facilities, friendly and helpful staff, and spotlessly clean and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view from the bar and terrace on the 19th floor was amazing. We loved the leisure and fitness facilities and used the pool, gym and I had private pilates reformer lessons with Emanuel. Great stay. Thank you

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Tall building so every room has a great city view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not in center city but quick walk to the metro will get you downtown.

    Tall building so every room has a great city view. Conveniently located next to a grocery store. Great gym and spa facilities. Very clean and staff are helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    It was a lovely experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit difficult to sleep with. They were a bit too soft.

    We like the restaurant view from the 19th floor. The staff were always smiling and ready to help. We like walking a lot, so it was nice to discover that we could walk to the ocean in an hour and to city centre in 50 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    2.9
    Sehr enttäuschend
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child up to 12 Years Old)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beautiful terrasse is not open during the day!! The suite was very dark. The ac did not work properly. The light in one bath went of and one. One chair was broken. There is only a free waterbottle on the first day. The pool is 30 years old and no windows. Same with the breakfast downstairs: no windows. With ckeckout they 'force' you to take their hired taxi with no taxometer. Much more expensive than normal taxi. At the reception they can not even tell you where to rent a biceycle close by. After 5 days there was still this dead moth on the bathroom floor. The safety box did not work. After reparation the door card did not work. The price was very high: 250,-- for a suit. We have been in many 5 star hotels all over the world, but the Porto Palacio is max. a 3 star hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: