Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Porto Santa Maria - PortoBay 4 stars

Avenida do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses, 50, Santa Maria, 9050-029 Funchal, Portugal

#6 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 327 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Good stay in a good hotel but make note of the pigeon problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Feral pigeons were an annoying pain landing on tables and attempting to eat your food, this happened daily to the annoyance of many guests. I think that the problem needs to be addressed.

    Staff were friendly and hard working

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel right on the seafront with great access to the bars and restaurants of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On a personal only note and not any reflection on the hotel I prefer smaller quieter hotels this one was a little 'touristy' for my personal choice.

    Hotel was in the best location for all the bars and restaurants of the old town. Rooms spacious and comfortable and staff were great. The breakfast was good and plentiful although its a buffet that could be busy at ties the staff kept it well stocked and cleared tables quickly to keep things moving.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Hotel, happily stay again, location good, staff/facilities good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Kitchen in rooms has no sockets to plug in the electric kettle they provide? Charging for water is I think a little much Breakfast - only issue is the hot drinks are served in a flask which can sit around for a while

    Excellent adults only hotel, with a good location and facilities, friendly staff and wonderful views out to sea. Indoor and outdoor pools, 3 hot tubs and plenty of space to relax and unwind. Rooms were clean and ours (301 junior suite) was well maintained with good air conditioning and large bathromm woth dual sinks - Happy to return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    A very enjoyable stay in a well appointed hotel adjacent to the Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner menu in the hotel did not appeal.

    A very comfortable room. The small kitchenette was a real bonus. A very comfortable lounge and a nice balcony. The location was particularly good, right next to the old town, but also quiet. A great choice of cold buffet for breakfast; the hot option did not look so appetising.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    A different room would have made our stay so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We booked and paid for ,a sea view which turned out to be a strip of blue in the distance. Ok, no big thing we are here for the sun, the room is only for sleeping in. That became difficult as even when the aircon was off, it made a noise all through the night, then at 8am each morning this was drowned out by the sound of running water as the pool pumps started up, better than any alarm clock. I should add, that three days later, half way through our week, I missed the window to move. My mistake, I was enjoying the sun.

    The hotel is nice, The location excellent, the majority of staff fantastic, the pools a good size and the food fine but no hair conditioner, the old type of hair dryer that cuts out when hot and having to pay to use the room safe seems unusual these days for what is a 4 star hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Well this is one for Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Obviously Booking.Com's administrative failure. I will book directly in future

    Well this is one for Booking.Com. The Hotel said that they did not receive my special requests to cope with my mobility disability and offered me an upgrade to junior suite as a gesture of goodwill. So this went very well and full marks to the reception staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Perfect location, in Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A few of the rooms at the sides of the hotel have disappointing views - we secured a change.

    Perfect location, in Old Town. Very comfortable hotel with very welcoming staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was big and impersonal and most people were on package holidays The staff on reception were not particularly helpful Being overcharged for drinks in bar (only corrected after complaining)

    Good location and fine seaview from room's balcony Free underground parking Easy access to good restaurants in the Old Town Excellent fresh fruits at breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    First class accommodation and food, pity about the cats
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The grounds near our room were overrun with cats who made a sickening noise most of the night, so had to sleep with the doors shut

    Location was superb, grounds were nicely laid out, albeit a little cramped. The food was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay. See you again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast. Room was beautiful with lovely toiletries. Hotel was beautiful and the pool and grounds too. Location is excellent. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Well appointed, quiet hotel in excellent Old Town location next to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I booked a sea view room. We were offered a room overlooking a large flat roof, so that the sea was not in view when we were sitting in our balcony. Instead, we were overlooked by many people sitting in their balconies. This was horrendous, where we had neither view nor privacy. Fortunately, the following day, we were offered a room with a proper sea view and privacy. The hotel does not enforce their no smoking in non-designated areas policy. Our balcony and room were frequently filled with smoke from the chain smoking man next door. The reception staff said that there was nothing that they could do, even if he were caught smoking in his room. This was really unsatisfactory and spoiled our enjoyment. I am writing a complaint about this to the hotel chain, as the adjacent corridor also stank of tobacco smoke, presumably when the guest walked out of his room.

    Excellent location. Lovely sea views. Situated in the Old Town, with many restaurants and near the teleferico to Monte. Clean, well appointed rooms with kitchenette and kettle. Comfortable beds and spacious, with sitting area as well as balcony. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    All the receptionists were very abrupt in their manner -
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It seemed to us that all the receptionists were very abrupt in their manner - Maybe this is just a "national" trait?

    All the receptionists were very abrupt in their manner - Maybe this is just a "national" trait?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Great chance to be perfect, but...some bitter details spoilt it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    in our room was cold, we turned off AC, because it worked only for cooling donw, no heating system. our room wass probably the worst one in the hotel regarding the view (and tempeturate)- garden view (what we booked) was street view actually, directly above very loud local square. For the price, we paid, i consider it unfair. Wtach out the irregular breakfast. Our departure was before breakfast time, so we asked for take away (or discount). We were offered breakfast delivered to the room. Cool. i even put the time 6:30. As a matter of fact, our breakfast was delivered at 22:00 as a room service (what we did not understand at this time) and at the morning, when it was brought eventually to our room, sorry, but it was not eatable- the whole night in the room temp. that´s was pity.

    the location (in old town) is perfect, nice choice for breakfast. Very helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay over Christmas
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indoor pool area not very appealing. Could be more attractive. Restaurant buffet dinner mediocre.

    Bedrooms and beds very comfy and spacious. Good views and easy access to all of Funchal. Breakfast buffet had good variety, but could serve better tea and coffee Kitchenette facilities very useful in the bedroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.3
    Funchal holidays ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff in reception were ignorant, no tea and coffe facilities in the room and no free water, room was not ready when we arrived but we got a free lunch, cappuccino at breakfast was not free cost around €3,00

    Location, large room (suite), many pools, all flowers in the garden, breakfast very good with a lot of choices

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    An enjoyable stay, but with some niggles!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    After checkout, luggage can be left in a locked room before you finally depart, but there is no method of identifying whose luggage belongs to who (no tokens or tags), so anyone can claim your luggage without being questioned! Kettle but no tea, coffee or fresh water in the rooms unless you were a 'group member', absolutely ridiculous for a 4 star hotel! Guests took coffee and tea bags from their breakfast table, something you should not have to do. The lady that runs the breakfast room was very friendly and efficient, but some of the staff were quite miserable and not very helpful. We missed some hotel organised activities we would liked to have participated in as they are advertised on the same day only, next day activities should be shown too so as to allow time to be organised. We utilised the pool table on a wet day, but when speaking with other guests , hardly anyone knew it was there.

    Well presented hotel, room was spacious, bed was excellent, breakfast good. Bar food well priced, happy hour drinks menu less choice than the normal drinks menu but still a good selection to choose from.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    Great except for cold pool and no TV
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Holiday did not have any english speaking TV . Unable to get any other sport than football on the bar TV( Wanted Rugby) and no English news.They said they had 5 portugese sport channels but they had very few portugese clients Had to go out to sports bar to watch.

    Bed was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Very relaxing place with good all-round facilities, we all felt the benefit of our ten days there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The first room allocated to my sister had a pervading smell of smoke which she found difficult to cope with, and was eventually moved to another room after a day and a half, which was unfortunate but at least was dealt with by the staff.

    Breakfast and dinner all good quality/standard. Husband appreciated poolside bar service ! Happy Hour and a Half in the Bar every evening was very much appreciated, great prices for cocktails.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    A relaxed week in the sun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms have less good views, overlooking roofs or walls, or tucked into corners of the garden. We rejected our first room, but got a much better one as a result.

    The location was right by the old town and restaurants, and close to the cable car and buses. The hotel is adults only, and appeals to the older clientele so is quiet, relaxed and moves at a slower pace - perfect for an opportunity to unwind. Good discounted offers in the spa for guests too. There is also an excellent roof terrace with sofas and loungers, and a jacuzzi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    The front desk staff was nice and friendly but largely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The front desk staff was nice and friendly but largely incompetent. No one could answer the simplest questions. Staff desperately needs to be better trained.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    An excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    An excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in a junior suite which was comfortable, roomy and was cleaned daily. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Loved our stay with you. That is why we came back for the 4th time now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had dinner à la carte one evening and the vegetables were not properly cooked: practically raw potatoes and no seasoning.

    Breakfast: sorry to say that the real Portuguese bread (crispy and well baked) was not available every day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Most enjoyable stay and thoroughly recommend the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No criticisms whatsoever.

    Great location in the "old town". Close to the town centre and an excellent selection of restaurants within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Particularly recommend "Mozart" restaurant. Good food and reasonable prices. Hotel staff are really friendly, particularly so of Lina in the restaurant. Cleanliness of rooms and hotel overall is first class.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic island and great hotel stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely room overlooking village square, near to a number of excellent restaurants. Ideal spot to see much of the island during a four day break. We enjoyed it so much we would go back again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    My favourite hotel ...ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Use of the safe and in-room Wi-Fi should be included in the price for all rooms.

    Great location on the waterfront, in the heart of the old town with lots of restaurants within walking distance. Good building design with nice decor and the hotel feels the right size - big enough to be impressive without losing the personal feel. Spacious room with air conditioning, comfy beds and a smart bathroom. It was nice having a fully equipped kitchenette in the room - whilst I didn't cook, the fridge and sink were really useful. Tasty cold and hot buffet breakfast - something for every taste. Friendly staff. A great place to just hang out and relax.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    A good choice of hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There were not enough sun beds and those they had were too close together. The "rule" was that you must not reserve the beds or leave things on them when you moved to another activity - but people broke this rule and no one policed it so often there was nowhere to sit by the pool.

    Perfect roof terrace, excellent choice at breakfast and near to good facilities on the island. The room was spacious, comfortable, air conditioned and had free wifi and the Gourmet Dinner was wonderful. The staff were very knowledgable and helpful. Some excellent restaurants very nearby. The cable car to the Palace Gardens was amazing (as long as you are not afraid of heights!)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Very large and comfortable bed with plenty of pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked complimentary water in room and free safe deposit box. I would expect this as a minimum when booking a suite.

    Very large and comfortable bed with plenty of pillows. Thin duvet made a pleasant change from just having a sheet. Hotel in a great location with bars and restaurants just outside. Roof terrace great but could do with drinks service up there. Small kitchenette in room a great idea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool a bit small... sun loungers not the most comfy however there were plenty of them. View from the junior suite not the best.

    Location, Food and staff excellent. Stayed in a junior suite which was nice and roomy. Would use again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    An enjoyable break in Madiera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    The location right on the sea front and next to the old town full of restaurants of every kind. A walk along the promenade take the cable car and a visit to the fantastic local fish and vegetable market were very enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel. Perfect location for Funchal and all it has to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only one issue and that is in the early evening if you wish to sit outside at the captains bar where you are bothered by pigeons. There is a falcon that is brought in during the day, maybe suggest an early evening visit as well by the falcon. Not helped by foolish guests that feed the pigeons.

    This without doubt is the best hotel we have stayed in Madeira, we go to this island every year. We stayed in junior suite room number 260. Absolutely brilliant. The staff are very friendly and the room was cleaned every day. The pool bar and the restaurant serve great food the breakfasts are of a very high standard all in all a perfect hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Great location, great staff, and beautiful gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt the reception staff could have been more welcoming and approachable

    The rooms were very clean, smelt beautiful, the beds soft and lots of pillows. Breakfast was amazing, along with Lina the host. Every morning she greeted you like you were her best friend!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.5
    Madeira great for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think Madeira could do more to attract families as it is currently a place for older visitors.

    Funchal is a lovely town, the old town is really interesting but it also has all of the shops and facilities that you would expect from a modern town. People are extremely friendly and the food is wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely weather good island to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The wifi as above very poor

    The property was excellent for getting around the island The wifi was very poor, but you could spend 6 euros per day for wifi plus but in this standard you expect good signals

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect hotel for a restful, carefree holiday with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Nothing!!!

    Location...perfect. Plenty of walks on the flat. Food excellent and very good choices both for breakfast and dinner. Staff always smiling and very helpful. Just one small negative...no handrail by the shower in the bath....only one rail at the end of the bath. Garden around the pool area very well kept.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Thought the breakfast could have been a little more interesting no local breads, egg station, pancakes or individually made items.

    Chosen for location which is perfect, right by all bars and restaurants and relatively near to aeroport bus stop. Room much like any other hotel room, the bed was very comfy, personally I like a top sheet not just a thin quilt, nice to have clean sheets on demand. Sound proofing was amazing, small balcony great view. Cocktail hour great value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    A very relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Very comfortable and in a good situation. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and dinner menu good and there were bar meals available for something less formal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    A very enjoyable holiday, with most of the offering very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Reception staff were efficient, but not as friendly as they might have been. The pillows in the bedroom were too big for the cases (or the other way around!)

    Location suited us - the Old Town is lively, with many good restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    Four Star Comfort in Madeira's Old Town district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Indoor swimming pool and gym could do with a facelift

    Excellent location in old town Close to good bus system Hotel staff booked guided walking excursions for us Breakfast was hot, well cooked and lots of choice - incredibly tasty scrambled eggs Good Happy Hour prices in the hotel bar

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    Peace and quiet by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was well located by the sea and the old part of Funchal, yet very quiet and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't have dinner there, but the breakfast buffet eas excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a sea view on the second floor. It was nice to sit on the patio and have a nice glass of Portuguese wine! Many reviews criticized the WiFi. It was fine if you want to just check email and load maps to explore the island. Otherwise you needed to pay for faster service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, mainly retiree guests at this time of year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Pillows - not enough support. Towels - thin and hard.

    Beds extremely comfy. Very convenient location, especially for the old town with many restaurants and bars within a few yards.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in an excellent location but pick a sea view room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise! We had a 'garden view' room which actually faced a municipal park and a lot of restaurants and bars so the noise often continued until 3.00 a.m. We changed room to another which was slightly better but on the same elevation so still needed earplugs. However, it was carnival week - maybe it's normally quieter.

    The beds were really comfortable and the breakfasts were amazing, they had everything you could want. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some facilities a little tired - towels well used. Bottled water in room at €3.80.

    Sea view apartment on the ground floor with access from balcony to sun loungers, pools and outdoor bar; fridge, hotplate and crockery for snacks in the room. Happy hour 6 to 7.30 in the Captain's Bar. Lots of excellent restaurants in easy walking distance. Away from "hotel ville" at the west end of the town. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Ideal for relaxing or exploring Madeira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not much to improve - we enjoyed it so much we returned a second time and will return again.

    Located in quiet part of old town but well situated for outside dining, wandering around town centre and great access to public transport (recommended) to explore Madeira. Staff all very helpful & welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    An excellent central hotel to stay in for the centre of funchall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but we thought that the evening dinner buffet could have been better. We only had one dinner on the night we arrived and decided to eat out on the other evenings as the hotel has many restaurants nearby.

    The location in the old town and the facilities nearby and the standard of the services offered by the hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.2
    Perfect Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food could be better. The live entertainment needs a serious re think. To be fair it's the same all over Funchal - a new agent is required. No one we spoke to enjoyed any of it. People don't want to listen to same old, same old!

    Great comfy beds. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and hotel - disappointed with the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Not all sea-view rooms have uninterrupted panoramic sea views as is suggested in the photographs. Our room (114) had a 50% panoramic view of a terracotta roof. Hotel unable to move us to a better location.

    Comfortable, clean with friendly staff. Good selection for breakfast. Room had everything we needed - the kitchenette was a real boon. Great place to watch cruise ships arrive and leave. Indoor pool and jacuzzi fabulous. Good range of restaurants just outside the hotel gate.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    8.8
    Great location, perfect view from the room, perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no slippers, and the staff couldn't help us with it when we decided to go to the spa the pillow was too high for me )))

    Great location, perfect view from the room, perfect breakfast, pools, jacuzzi ... Enjoyed our days here, would come back!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful location , none better in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even with Christmas decorations up it was a bit bleak in decor.

    The location is superb, and because there is level access to the lively Old Town and all the hotel facilities it is ideal accommodation for anyone with mobility difficulties.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel, staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make and female sauna's need to care for couples. And could be moved nearer to the pool. All Porto hotels could benefit from more luxurious dressing gowns and need to be slightly large to care for men. Double beds are simply two good sized singles pushed together.

    Staff excellent,pools good, excellent views of cruise ships in harbour, good swap library, my wife ate alone in the bar one night and the bar staff made her feel very much at ease - nice people! Good bar snacks at main bar and pool.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    10
    Lovely sea views able to watch the cruise liners arrive and leave port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Manager appeared at breakfast each morning and spoke to everyone also at happy hour very nice lady..Also we changed rooms which she arranged in ten minutes

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.6
    If only they would consider non smoking guests and ban smoking on the balconies it would be perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stopping people from smoking on the nearby balconies. We were unable to use our balcony to relax as we were surrounded by smokers. Smoke drifted and became unbearable for us. It was also impossible to leave the balcony door open to our room, because the smoke smell drifted and remained trapped in the room for quite a considerable time 😕

    All aspects of this hotel were very enjoyable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Waiters at breakfast could be a little more receptive.

    Location of the hotel and Adults only hotel very relaxing and quite,our room looked on to the garden with a balcony which was very nice,room was lovely very spacious and had a small kitchenette which was useful,maid did a excellent job cleaning our room,bathroom was lovely,and had bathrobes,shower was excellent,great wifi,check in was very quick and easy receptionist was very efficient and forthcoming,loved the indoor pool and Jacuzzi which we used daily after breakfast,small but nice outdoor pool with plenty of sun loungers great snack bar with very friendly staff,had a fantastic time at Santa Maria and would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.2
    Funchal is an interesting place to visit with plenty to do (not for anyone wanting a beach holiday).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had hoped that our suite would have some privacy on the balcony but it was completely overlooked by the other rooms. Considering the cost of a suite for five nights, perhaps a complimentary bottle of water in the room on arrival would have been nice rather than having a price tag of €3.5!

    Superb breakfast buffet. Only had dinner at hotel once which was good but there are also plenty of excellent restaurants nearby for more choice. Loved the rooftop terrace. Suite was very spacious and comfortable. Location of hotel couldn't be better. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.8
    Relaxing ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Couldn't access the internet. Could have been more activities-Pilates and aqua-aerobics once a week but could have been at least twice. Swimming pools a bit shallow

    Comfortable beds and rooms although our seaview room 233 was set back so not the best. Breakfast was excellent. Hotel is spotless and quiet with some good music in the evening. Also like the Happy Hour!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    So good we're hopefully returning next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The towels in the bathroom could have been a better quality but everything else was very good.

    The location was excellent and it was easy to walk into central Funchal. Also there were many excellent restaurants situated very close by.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed when told by reception they didn't have a spare room for us to sleep in when our room smelt like a sewer - the room had been fine all day but when we returned from our evening meal the smell was dreadful - after several visits to reception they discovered they DID have a spare room literally across the corridor - so why had I been told the hotel was full and that there wasn't a room?

    Great location, very clean, large room with comfortable beds, bathrobe and toiletries. All the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Excellent return visit to our favourite hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Additional supply of milk for tea and coffee making in the rooms would be appreciated.

    Great location and exceptional service. A joy to return to. First class rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    9.2
    All in all a good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that you have to pay extra money, 2€ a day for a safe and some extra Euros if you want to upgrade the poor quality wifi is unfit for an hotel of this class

    Very good location in the old part of Funchal. Free underground parking. Large room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    9.2
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Extra charge for use of safe in room - Free WiFi was slow, upgrade to faster WiFi only for extra charge - Loud music from hotel activities, often until 23.30h

    - Location directly in the Zona Velha - View from the room - Free parking in garage - Large breakfast buffet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.8
    Great hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Pool is far too small. Better gym facilities needed (more equipment) and more choice of exercise classes during the week (there was only one Pilates at inconvenient time clashing with breakfast and one Aqua class per week.

    great breakfast, perfect location, very good cleaning service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Such pleasant and welcoming staff your felt a valued guest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pool at 1.10m could have been deeper

    The locality in the old town with a very good choice of restaurants on the doorstep. Being an adults only hotel made it more peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Good location, close to restaurants etc in Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited view from room 301 due to extended roof beyond balcony. A few planters on roof or balcony would have improved the look.

    Liked the Comfy bed, and kitchenette. Good view of cruise ships coming into port.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel, Nice and Quite yet close to resturants and bars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having to pay to rent safety deposit box in room. Should be included with room rate.

    Location is brilliant, in the old town and two minutes walk to restaurants. Staff very friendly. Very peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    9.2
    Not perfect but a good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude could have been better. Reception staff lacked any warmth and made you feel they were doing you a favour when conversing. W went for breakfast on our first morning at 10 which was towards the end of the sitting and were made to feel uncomfortable; our breakfast was amongst waiting staff banging and clattering deliberately beside us.

    Excellent location and facilities.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Definitely a hotel to return to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Completely satisfied with our stay - we liked everything!

    This hotel gets things right! Teamwork ethos. Staff attitudes were excellent. Food, innovative buffets, Gourmet Dinner first class - Michelin standard! Location perfect for exploring old Funchal Walking distance to Marina - new promenade borders this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location in the old town and by the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was the perfect base for our holiday.

    Excellent location in the old town and by the sea. Lovely pools and hot tubs for relaxing during the day. Staff are helpful for organising walking tours around Madeira.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location adult-only hotel with interesting views of the beach and bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff including arrangement of pick up from the airport. Good breakfast and evening buffets. The "Gourmet evening" offered excellent selection of courses and service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    10
    Anniversary celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People putting down their towels on sun beds and leaving them there for a while even though there were signs stating this was not allowed. Also people coming from in from outside and using the facilities. Never saw pool staff until it was time to close up outside

    Junior suite was excellent. Loads of wardrobe space. Very clean and sheets were change 2 or 3 times while we were there. Good kitchen facilities. Very good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.2
    A delight in Maderia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front of house could be more helpful, but in know way did that detract from am absolutely brilliant holiday. So much to do (or not)'on this gem of am island

    Fantastic balcony view from our room over looking the sea, spacious room, good bathroom. Cooking facilities and fridge which we didn't use as straight outside the hotel is old Funchal where there are dozens and dozens of restaurants. Fabulous indoor and outdoor pools with a relaxing jacuzzi. Good pool bar, shame it closes at 18:00 when the pool is open until 20:00. Wonderful help yourself breakfast offering everything imaginable. Pretty much perfect, the location of the hotel I doubt could be beaten.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    10
    Loved every moment of our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super comfy bed , plenty of pool towels were provided . In an excellent location to explore Funchal and the surrounding area. We felt that great service was provided by all staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable clean room if a little cold and attentive helpful staff made our stay a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    A high quality hotel situated in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The beds were very comfortable. Staff were excellent and very friendly. The buffet provided gave a very wide choice and the quality was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The welcome and friendliness of staff. Relaxed atmosphere. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel with perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel serves a very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Porto Santa Maria - PortoBay traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: