Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pousada Castelo de Alvito

Alvito, 7920-999 Alvito, Portugal

#2 of 2 hotels in Alvito

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 228 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning staff too noisy at 8.00 am. in the corridors. Cleaning staff should remember that guests have the right to sleep until when then want and staff should be silent and not chat loudly in the corridors near the bedrooms!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fine.

    Our room was the "suite" at the top of a tower that looked like it came straight out of a fairy tale. Great view over the village. Huge comfortable bed, classy bathroom. The whole castle was very atmospheric. Nice garden and even battlements. The young staff team are graduates and students from the local college of hospitality, which now runs the place. We had a good meal in the atmospheric dining room. We asked to share all our dishes which was facilitated. All food was good. Try the trio of sweets.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal at the restaurant was not good. Food not cooked as requested and pretty tasteless. Had to wait a long time. Never had steak AND mushroom risotto before on the same plate, bit odd, overcooked fish, bland sauce, did not like the mashed bread and potato mix. Lamb stew ok, but hardly any meat on the lamb. Steak was not medium well done it was medium rare. Air con in bedroom 103 was noisy.

    Lovely building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying here was like living in a dream bubble. The staff were attentive and caring, our room was gorgeous with tasteful decor and plenty of seating and our window overlooked a town square. Dinner was delish and inexpensive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Driving to location very narrow and hilly. Somewhat limited menu.

    Beautiful view. Nice pool and gardens. Quaint town. Helpful staff. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wish it had a little more to do and nicer tables and sofas outside - perhaps a bar outside would be nice with finger foods.

    beautiful romantic place- very quite though- staff is very nice- free breakfast was great. There's a very good restaurant across the street- this is a very small quiet village.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alvito, the town is really small. Although very pretty you only have about 4/5 restaurants to choose from. But really enjoyed the hotel restaurant and perfect for a 2 night stay. Also the rooms where to big for the air-conditioning to properly work. The high ceilings made it difficult to cool the room down.

    Castle is lovely. Smaller than expected. However the rooms a big and the garden with swimming pool are really nice Breakfast was really nice. And also dinner was really good, great wine selection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above is all I would say

    The only point I would make as some one who works in a co - related hotel business and comes from a hotel family is that the young staff ( and we were aware of the relationship with the local college, which we felt was excellent ) was that the young staff could be taught to be a little more out going. They were all very professional but serious. A few more smiles was all that was needed. This is nit picking because they did a great job and we were so pleased we stayed there. We are Pestana Options Members, so we are very used to their very high standards.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the village is very nice, as far as we could say, it misses some facilities such as a larger variety of restaurants. The bathrooms could be improved, they show some wear. The sunbeds need to be replaced.

    Historical building with spacious rooms and confortable beds. Nice staff. High quality breakfast. Excellent place to have drink by the pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a road trip around Portugal and decided to stay in a Pousada and this one was in the general direction we were travelling. While its in a small town it was something quite different and we enjoyed the one night we had there. Welcoming and helpful staff greeted us when we arrived. A nice outdoor pool, very comfortable bar area and plenty of room in our bedroom made for a comfortable stay. We dinned in the restaurant and the only complaint was the staff we a bit slow and could have lifted the service level. The food was good and they did a really good breakfast the next morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quality of food for evening dinner was poor and service was very slow. However breakfast was nice.

    Bedroom was excellent. Hotel layout, architecture and general ambiance was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was a bit disorganized: not all of them spoke english so we couldn't pay our room on the first evening because we didn't understand each other. Nobody was at the bar so we had to call the reception's hostess who did a series of phone calls. Also, the room was huge, but the bathroom was quite little and with some broken parts.

    Our first experience in a pousada. The castle is lovely, the room was huge, with beautiful medieval windows with a great view. We enjoyed the swimming pool and the garden. Breakfast was good, with many food choices. The hotel staff was kind. Location is good, about 30 min. to Evòra by car, and the village of Alvito is little but charming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a great experience to stay in this quiet hotel. The staff was extremely nice, the food in the restaurant was excellent! Would definately recommend it to anyone wishing to feel like a royal family sleeping in a medieval castle.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no black tea available at breakfast. Very few restaurants in Alvito.

    Breakfast buffet was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. A quiet peaceful place. We almost had the whole castle to ourselves!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Young cheerful and very helpful staff, glorious little castle in a quiet sleepy little town. Raining when we arrived so not able to make the most of pool garden and grounds. Ate in the restaurant and set meal was good value and delicious. Chef's birthday too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We expected the interior to be little more authentic as a castle. Very nice, but completely remodeled.

    Beautiful lodging with very nice grounds. The view from our room was beautiful and the room itself was very nice as well. Spacious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Maybe mosquito screens on windows so they could be opened. Bedroom became a bit stuffy during the night from having to depend on the air conditioning.

    Friendliness of all staff, particularly when checking out at reception. Couldn't have been nicer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place only opened that day. No restaurant for evening meal, no wifi, fridge not plugged in. Put in a small room with inefficient air con, sink hole not working.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    prima room and warm. Excellent bathroom. Dining room cold and drafts. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV was not functioning very well - at least 3 of the most common Portuguese channels were not available

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old castle. Great staff. Rooms on the street are very noisy at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Excellent cuisine, fine property in a lovely location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything. The location as well as the price.

    The historical part

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Pleasant staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unique, charming and wonderfully helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient for both Evora and Beja but in the countryside. Unbeatable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double or Twin Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More restaurant options in surrounding towns

    Historic building Lovely warm pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double or Twin Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ambiance. Breakfast, room comfort, pool,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely setting,great service,great food,lovely room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Supeiror Rooms are VERY romantic... and worth the $ difference

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was average Although breakfast quite good Coffee could be better

    Location Setting Interesting building Good place for getting to vineyards

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was lovely. Staff were lovely especially the young girl who waited on us at dinner Mary Vaz. Lovely girl. Breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful castle setting!! restaurant was good but slow.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, lovely spacious room and beautiful pool. Excellent meal in the restaurant and surprised there were not more people staying there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom windows had mould and had not been cleaned.Very bad experience in the restaurant. Didn't get served for nearly 2 hours.The staff spoke very little English so we had no idea what we were doing.The dinner was also very expensive. The pork kebab was raw in the middle and was sent back.We got starters we didn't order.On checking out, we asked about the menu and the response was everyone finds it difficult to understand. This is not what we expected.

    Location is perfect, in the heart of the village.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wi-fi only available in the public lobby .... not a huge inconvenience , but something to be considered.

    Alvito is a sleepy little village about 25km from Evora ... it's great for a quiet break. The Pousada is beautiful and the staff could not do enough to help. The building is very charismatic and very well maintained - you get a real sense of living in a castle , a very luxurious castle ! This was the highlight of a week long trip around several locations in the Alentejo.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were helpful and very welcoming. The rooms were charming and the experience of staying in a historic castle was what we anticipated. The water features and pool were not ready for the season yet but we were there in May, so could be expected. The view of the gardens from our window was very pleasant. Breakfast was excellent. Wifi was available in the common rooms where there was plenty of space for everyone.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only real problem were the beds, an option of duvets should be available, and they were really hard mattresses. The pillows were too full or too small.

    We loved the peaceful gardens and the many fruit trees, the decoration of the room and the thoughtful touches such as a taster of cake (sadly as I am coeliac I couldn't try it). Very helpful staff , did their utmost to help us.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We weren't too excited about the food in the restaurant, but it was explained to us by the chef that a cut of meat in Portugal by the same name as US isn't the same cut. OK. They didn't charge us for the meal. Generous of them.

    location. On bicycle, we needed a nice place to stay in Alvito, and there was our pousada. Friendly staff, let us take our (valued) bicycles up to our room for safety.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    road noise

    good food

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everthing, but especially the friendly staff and the well done mixture of mediavel and modern comfort.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    room not ready on arrival. had to wait 30 mins.

    staff and good breakfast -

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the supper was the worst service and the food was not good.

    The pool and the room.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: