Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pousada Conde de Ourém

Largo João Mansos - Castelos, 2490-481 Ourém, Portugal

#2 of 4 hotels in Ourém

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 245 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little austere and dark. Single window faced a wall aboutc1m away. My choice of room i guess. Furnishing was a little monastic. We arrived during a local religious ceremony and the whole Castell was one car park. My wife said she could not have driven the narros steep roads under normal circumstances. Pool was closed

    Location, staff, peacefully (eventually)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality food dinner was very bad. No pro actieve staff: nothing extra.

    The breakfast on slow days was served at the table (instead of buffet) was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You pay more because of the location, but I stayed in nicer hotels for much less

    It's right at the foot of the castle, beautiful views all around

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decor features at the Pousada could use some updating -such as the colours in the restaurant. Hairdryer in the bathroom functional but very dated.

    Very historic property. Staff helpful. Restaurant very good but decor rather dated. Had an excellent walking tour through the Tourism Office which is offered to guests at the Pousada. Highlight of our visit to Ourem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stairs for an oldie like me - parking and access not too easy, but worth the effort

    Really helpful front desk staff - very obliging receptionists who helped with our baggage and arranged a room change to assist me with the stairs. Overall a nice hotel with great views over the valley

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived by the car according to the GPS navigator. That day there was an oriental festival on the premises. At the gate some hosts of the festival told us that we arrived to a wrong place, and directed us to some other place. After more that an hour driving around (we were not sure if our GPS navigator was OK, so I was using my iPhone as a navigator and lost it somewhere there) we again arrived to the same place. This time we were allowed to enter the property. We were very exhausted, so our impression was very bad.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking & ease of access. Hotel interior just about lived up to the 3* rating - austere especially dining facilities. Little imagination shown in the decor - uninviting.

    Adequate hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The setting on the medieval hilltop town within the castle walls was beautiful with stunning 360 degree views of the surrounding countryside. The staff at the Pousada were very charming and welcoming. The room was very comfortable and the food excellent quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Amazing hotel. -Excellent, well-mannered and very attentive staff who are always ready to help. -Very clean throughout. -Both room and bathroom are spacious -Very comfortable bed and pillows -The town has a breathtaking beauty -Did not eat at the hotel restaurant, however, a restaurant minutes walk next to a bar serves excellent food. -Highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drive to pousada a little tricky. The road is narrow and up the hill. Our GPS brought us to a church and said you reached your destination. The signs to pousada also disappeared. We asked everyone around and no one knew. The people sent us in different directions and it took us more than an hour to finally find pousada even though as we later found out it was just few minutes walk from the church. Signs would be helpful. We should have called pousada right away instead of asking locals.

    The pousada is very nice. Old building but modernized with the excellent facilities. Great pool with gorgeous views. Good restaurant with reasonably priced good food and excellent service. We arrived to hotel late, after 9pm. Restaurant was supposed to close at 10 but we were told they will serve us if we hurry. We thought of getting something quick but a waiter told us to order full dinner, no problems. The staff stayed later to serve us . We have been pleasantly impressed. The staff in the hotel very nice and helpful. The best hotel from all hotels we stayed in Portugal

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel staff were welcoming,friendly and very helpful. The hotel is set in a beautiful village the views from the castle were amazing. The food was excellent. An amazing location for a perfect stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price of the hotel i think the rooms should be more cozy and colourful. They are quite plain and make the pusada look cheaper than it is. However the beds were confortable.

    The place is beautiful. The rooms are Simple and not very luxurious but the property has some very nice facilities (swimming pool area a nd outdoor living room). So all in all it was very pleasent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the restaurant could have been better. Certainly not "Pousada" level. For instance, at breakfast, the waiter refused to provide the guests with more coffee.

    Very quiet place away from touristic area. Small village with great castle view to surroundings!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very kind but slow

    It is located on a hill, close to an old castle. Village was very cute. Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good atmosphere and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are very thin and heard each sound from tenants above.

    The community experience was fascinating !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    great medieval town, setting and breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great if there had been some choice of pillows

    Loved the towels, very thick and luscious!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facility to make drinks in room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not very easy to find the Pousada, although certainly worth it once we were there.

    Wonderful views and tranquil setting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection was a bit limited

    Very friendly staff.. very clean rooms .. spectacular views. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only complaint was the temperature of the pool- it was fit for a Polar Bear

    Very nice staff!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parquing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool had no access for disbled

    Atmosphere

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed... :)

    The bed was too "hardware"...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit laberinto

    Location, bed, bathtub, breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of mold in the room.

    Very friendly and professional staff. Big room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location Twin Bed

    Food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were nothing special for the price.

    Excellent staff who spoke excellent English and were very helpful. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was amazing. The staff, the room, the food at the restaurant, everything was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant en deça de ce que l'on attend

    Vue de la piscine, village

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No other options for dinner except the hotel restaurant, unless you want to drive somewhere else...

    The Place is charming and historical.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Little hard to find even though we had a gps. The streets can be very narrow so you need to be careful which ones you go down.

    Very quiet and peaceful. Close to lots of great historic sites. Breakfast was excellent. Hotel staff, especially Alfredo, were excellent and very professional. Umbrellas to use in the rain.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was a bit disappointing: the feel of the hotel was a bit institutional, they didn't make the most of the historical nature of the building. The restaurant was OK, slow service, moderate food and quite expensive.

    The location is incredible, on top of the castle hill and a steep drive up winding roads. It is a lovely old building, and it has competent staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    awful breakfast coffee (until we found out that could order from machine) and breakfast food choice poor and disappointing. Evening dinner service dreadful on first night ( due to large non-resident party and inadequate staff to deal with them) no hair conditioner in bathroom and not enough bath toiletries, no view from room. dreadful access road and poor signposting to hotel. inadequate parking even though hotel not full. disappointing lack of original features and decor in much of building cf other pousadas we have used

    large room, clean restaurant and pleasant waiters. Evening dinner good one night but not other.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The dinner in the hotel owned restaurant was more than disappointing: Very expensive for low level cuisine.

    Large rooms, good beds, very clean. Hotel is located in renovated historical building.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Because of its relative remoteness, it is not easy to find alternatives to the hotel restaurant, which was nice but perhaps could be a little more responsive.

    A unique location, on top of a very steep hill alongside an old castle. Quite and peaceful, but actually very convenient to visit several places nearby. Very nice breakfast on a sunny terrace.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Girl on reception was exceptional. We had only booked that day and she hadn't rec'd our booking but when she saw it, she offered us an upgrade as the best rooms aren't always available online. Beautiful room overlooking the the valley below.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    restaurant does not live up to its pretentious menu and is too expensive.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were a lot of flies (more than ten) in the room and in the restaurant

    A special location

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This hotel is on the top of a hill in a small village with a castle and beautiful church. The service was excellent and we will return.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked s firm pillow, not feathers.

    Just the right size hotel, interesting site, lots of walks I the area to take I

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Beautiful situation, views from room amazing, restaurant excellent, very peaceful.The staff were very attentive and polite.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was just about perfect

    Location, quality of premises and service

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Takes you back in time. Beautiful little village. Not as hard to get there as some of other comments had indicated.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: