Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pousada Castelo de Alcacer do Sal 4 stars

Castelo de Alcácer, 7580-123 Alcácer do Sal, Portugal

#3 of 8 hotels in Alcácer do Sal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 447 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice property and very well renovated highlighting all the historical features, quite a relaxed feel to it, very friendly service, good if somewhat pricy restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standard of food and service in the restaurant was slightly disappointing, given that it is quite a bit more expensive than other places in the area. But, hey, you're eating in a castle!

    Nicely renovated old castle building in a fairly typical Portuguese riverside village

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very soft, bar very boring with a very limited offer, restaurant expensive, breakfast boring and not worth the price Again: there is so much more possible if the management would be better

    Very nice building, nice room, nice bathroom, friendly staff, easy parking in front of the door

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 children until 12 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My experience was really enjoyable, so it's difficult to think about something less positive to say, but I guess there's one suggestion I can leave. Just a few minutes after checking-in and getting into our room, I was unpacking when a door opened behind me and, out of nowhere, a woman was standing there looking at me as surprised as I was. We realized the rooms were connected and the door hadn't been previously locked. I must say that, as soon as she called reception and informed about the situation, this was immediately taken care of by the staff. These things can happen and none of us took it too seriously. Regardless, if leaving any suggestion it would be this - to check previously that all the internal doors connecting the rooms are well locked, in order to avoid any awckward or even problematic situation that could arise from not doing as much.

    We stayed for the weekend but left wanting more. The historical building is not only an architectural jewel, renewed with impeccable taste in the way it now harmonizes the old, original features, with the new, essentially neutral ones, but also beautifully located in the village's highest level, allowing for some amazing and really peaceful views of Álcacer do Sal, its quiet river and Alentejo's landscape, which is quite green in this area. The room was spatious, elegant and had a little balcony with a small table and two chairs, ideal to enjoy a cup of tea in the early morning or a glass of wine at night, since the lights from the village make for a really cozy atmosphere. The bed was rather comfortable, as well as the two pillows, of different size and consistency. There were two beds instead of one, but they were joined together and not at all an inconvenience. The bathroom was one of the rooms best features, along with the balcony. The breakfast was included and they have a great diversity of fruits, breads, local cheeses, homemade cakes, natural yogurt, cereal, and so on... I'm a vegetarian and had plenty to choose from. The common spaces are confortable, with pretty, natural, light, and the swimming pool benefitted from the sunny day. Surrounded by trees and grass, it really allows for a good time. There were many couples with kids there, probably because it was Mother's Day weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children until 12 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a twin room when we'd specifically booked a double - and when we asked to change we were told there were no more double rooms. Disappointing, as we would have booked alternative accommodation had we known at point of booking.

    The castle is beautifully recreated into a stylish and elegant hotel and is set in a tranquil location with a lovely river walk and some great little bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too soft, not enough support Our phone was not plugged in, and we could not figure out how to plug it in to order room service. So my husband got dressed and went down to order in person.

    Gorgeous room Enjoyed full breakfast Beautiful location Yummy dinner of chicken

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor view and too many steps for elderly with walking issues - FYI

    Comfortable room with lots of open fresh air. Excellent restaurants options by the river

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately dinner did not meet our expectations the food was bland and uninteresting the recommended dish pea basket was made with tinned peas However breakfast was very good

    The hotel , grounds and staff were superb, the hotel was spotlessly clean and a plumbing issue in our room was dealt with quickly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is really picking on a minor thing but the room had not been cleaned under the bed.

    Castle walls outside bedroom window, with a view over town, river and countryside, what is there not to like. There are also several lounges in the castle, a really nice looking bar, a cloisters even- just a pleasure to walk around. Fantastic breakfast. About 10 minutes walk to the river, where most of the shops, restaurants etc are.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cool location in a castle. The staff went above and beyond to ensure we got breakfast (we left at 6am, well before they started the usual breakfast buffet). Large room (by European standards), though the queen bed was really two twin beds put together.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city of Alcacer da Sol was a little quiet this time of year but that is to be expected since it really is off season.

    The Castle was fabulous. The Pestana Hotel Group has remodeled the Castle very tastefully. Room was very comfortable and clean; dinner in the restaurant was excellent; the museum was great; and views were breathtaking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took some while to get the aircon to work. It was only after making a fuss that, miraculously, it suddenly did work! The corridor outside our room had no lights and we had to use a torch to see where to get the key into our door lock and walk down our corridor.

    This pousada has a magnificent situation with wonderful views, especially from our huge room which had a large balcony. Pousada breakfasts are always wonderful but this was the best of the several pousadas we stayed in, there was a larger choice and the dishes were quickly topped up. The gardens at the rear were well tended with a large pool, but i would avoid a room looking over this area. We ate dinner locally rather than in the pousada.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fabulous and only let down by the bed, it could have been a better quality.

    Lovely pousada, friendly staff, great environs for a relaxing few days

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was one of the worst experience in Portugal. First of all, rooms are quite old, not renovated since a long time, mattresses are really hard, not comfortable at all. The whole facility leaves a lot of to be desired, only one elevator we have had to walk 5 minutes from our room to use it. On the top of it we got graced by presence of 100 people who been invited for a wedding at pousada Castelo. What a nightmare everywhere screaming yelling children. To put it more simple this hotel is absolutely overpriced and city itself have not so much to offer in terms of attractions. If you have to stay over there do it as short as possible.

    Only one aspect on the plus side was a delicious breakfast, containing all Portugal goodies.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. the pillows were too thin and uncomfortable 2. the bathtub leaked water into the toilet floor 3. the pool water was too cold

    location, near comporta, historical background

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as luxurious as I expected.Booked superior room so was a little disappointed.No bathrobes as promised.On check out told it was an oversight.

    Castle stay so very special,atmospheric.Interesting history,excellent archaeological museum below.Beautiful grounds with pool.Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 1 night. They have a museum under, an archeological site. Site Not managed by the Hotel but their big local attraction. We checked in 3 pm and the staff failed to inform us that the museum was closed the next day, so we were not able to see it! We asked for extra beds and they were very dusty. I explained that my kids were allergic to dust. No solution was given, just told yes they are probably dusty, the hotel is full. I asked for change on the pillows or vacuum, not an option.

    Great breakfast. Beautiful, historic detailed and close by church.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restaurant dinner offering was excellent.. there was a set menu option which featured several courses and wine but the best part was the offering of regional cuisine in the menu which provides the opportunity to sample regional foods that we might other wise have missed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative thing was missing minibar in the room, although it was mentioned in the description of the room on the website. It would be nice to be able to have nice cold drink in the fridge, especially because temperature was reaching 42 during our stay.

    I requested a bottle of Mateus wine and some olives by our arrival and it was so nice to find it already waiting for us in the room when we checked in, ice cold. Oh, and the swimming pool!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning of common areas are not done professionally! Elevator is duty. No one is cleaning pool area. Towels you have to collect at the reception. There is no SPA as declared!!!!!, there is a lady who will is coming from Lisbon upon your request!!! We paid 150€ for this!!!! This is not acceptable. Stuff didn't help with the luggage, GPS coordinates are not correct, and when we finally found the hotel and mention it to the receptionist, his answer was "oh, yea, we know, you are not the fist one who is mentioning that"! For local people its different price for 79€. For 79€ it's ok, but for 150€ it's not acceptable!!!! I wish, the hotel will return 50% of my payment as there is no SPA as declared! I am not recommending this hotel

    Nothing !!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely dirty restaurant toilets and not so clean bathroom

    Breakfast and dinner were very good but coffee lousy and no service of any sort at breakfast or around the pool .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 children until 12 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was professional and helpful. The entire property was very well maintained; the design-integrating modern within the historic building- was exceptional. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious; beds are comfortable; the location is magnificent, overlooking the river. The restaurant offered foods from the region, with high quality. The pool was in a delightful setting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner menu was more limited than other Pousadas that we had stayed at. The breakfast choices were disappointing e.g. limited fresh fruit, poor choice of cereals,

    The location was excellent with sweeping views of the Sado estuary. Tranquil ambience, very relaxing with the bonus of an outdoor pool and small gardens. They have captured the history of the site by retaining the battlements which you can walk round. Interesting features within the hotel included cloisters and a church and historic artefacts. Restaurant layout was spacious and relaxing with the added bonus of being able to take breakfast outside in the cloisters. Reception staff were very helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautifully restored historical convent located inside the walls of a Roman/Moorish/Christian castle. Lots of character. Great views of the countryside. Only 1-2 hour drive from Lisbon. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit noisy at night with windows open but stuffy if you closed them. Air conditioning was good but we don't like sleeping with it on.

    Room and restaurant

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar did not have a permanent staff on it. You had to call everytime you wanted a drink.

    The attention to detail was great! And the whole place smelled fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The prices were a bit higher than those of other Pousadas in Alentejo.

    The place is incredible, full of historical treasures and artworks. The staff is very professional and the room was really comfortable. Staying in a place like this is an experience I won't forget!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms a bit small. Family units same size as standard and really struggled to fit an extra bed.

    pool and service staff excellent. Staff very helpful when disaster struck. Close to town

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside area a bit tired. Needed a bit more attention.

    Theresa the Receptionist great. Very helpful. Room good and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, breakfast

    Location, history

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 children until 12 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation is lovely. The area certainly deserves more visits, as does the castle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fab location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated furniture.

    Nice hotel with comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good. They even had regional cheese and honey

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 children until 12 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the restaurant was not good , specifily the lombo from pork that my wife ordered , she could not eat ! The smell was bad !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff were pleasant and helpful and polite

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not friendly, mattress was hard and uncomfortable and shower wasn't hot.

    Nice views

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant not great and quite expensive for the standard of food

    Fabulous location and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was noisy as we could hear dogs barking in the town and the food was average

    roomy bedroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    liked everything but it would have liked a view of the estuary

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 children until 12 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower, beds, bed linnen, restaurant, atmosphere

    Views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Beautiful setting. Lovely town. Room and pool great. Breakfast nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    /

    Historic character of the building

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Site was a little difficult to locate on Google maps and lack of accurate signage on streets in the region.

    On-site museum was a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a bit small

    Breakfast was really good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 children until 12 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    very poor water pressure and the water did not get very hot. Impossible for a person with long hair to wash their hair.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent restaurant service & quality of food, dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff: too long to wait. There were fluff and dust under the bed in a room.

    Excellent SPA, including its staff (thank you, Ama Teresa!)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the selection of desserts for Christmas diner

    Bread was excellent Breakfasr very good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are spacious and very tasteful decorated, very clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hard to find

    historic location in castle and museum under hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inflexibility in handling clients imprevilsble issues.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At best dinner in the restaurant was average and so was the waiter

    The reception and the presentation of the hotel. Nice room and komfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner broken.

    Staff extra helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not like the perfume/scent they sprayed in all the public areas. The hotel is very nice but there is not much history within the hotel.

    A nice room. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    To large Would like tea making facilities on our room No comfortable seats in the garden Did not give TV. guide

    Extremely good breakfast Room very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The name of the hotel is still called Hotel D'afonso, despite the booking was Castelo de Alcacer de Sol. So beware. Also rooms are not really in a castle but in an extension.

    Convenient parking and easy to walk down to the river and restaurants. Excellent wifi speed in the spacious rooms, excellent buffet breakfast and staff spoke excellent English and were exceptionally helpful. Close to Lisbon for day trips. Will stay again

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really. It's on the top of a hill so be prepared for an uphill walk back after eating!

    The fabulous building, combining the ancient walls and foundations with modern contemporary style. Pleasant rooms with balconies. Good buffet breakfast. Walking distance to local riverfront restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    The decore was soothing as well as interesting. Rooms were comfortable and gave the impression of great quality and luxury. The breakfast was greatly varied and wonderful and the service was exceptional

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant had nice food but overpriced. The price for our dog was excessive.

    Superb room. Friendly staff. Sympathetic restoration. Short walk down into pleasant town. Accepts dogs.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Great historic property. Nice rooms. Clean. Professional staff. And, thanks for ironing my shirt at checkout and skip the fee - Since the bill was already made, on the house :-)

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Highly recommended hotel. It was our first time in a Pousada and we look forward to our next stay. Staff is very professional and friendly both at reception and in the restaurant. The hotel is in a old castle with a great view over the river. The old caste has been renovated and converted into an hotel with great care. The hotel itself is worth a visit. We spent the evening in the restaurant and we had a very good time with great food and wine (sangria there is excellent).

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I could not fault our experience of the hotel.

    Enjoyed our short stay immensely. We found the staff to be both courteous and helpful. The town is a genuine Portuguese town rather than a tourist creation which added to the enjoyment of our stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This place is a ridiculous bargain, and absolutely beautiful. The renovation was beautifully done -- simply walking around the pousada is an adventure in itself. The day we arrived, there happened to be a choral concert in the chapel, and it was an amazing surprise. The staff is lovely, breakfast is gracious and delicious, and the room was so comfortable. What's more, Alcacer do Sal makes it easy to get around to Evora, the megaliths, and so much more. We loved it here.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At first the hotel feels too modern to be in the old castle, but once you settle in and walk around you realize it is a very interesting design. There are many small areas to sit either to read, visit, or think. The room was large with a view over the river. Very comfortable bed, quiet and clean. Good breakfast, free parking. The pool looked inviting for warm weather, we were there in Feb. so didn't use it. We ate dinner at the restaurant, at first finding the service too formal, but once the waiters started talking with us they were more relaxed and interesting to visit with. Good food, but not cheap. Being off season the town was very quiet, but worth walking around for an afternoon, or morning. We enjoyed out stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner was disappointing, and rather expensive for what it was.

    Interesting building, although room are modern construction round an old shell. Staff were very helpful with bringing in luggage and with information, and showing us how to get to various parts of the hotel. Breakfast was good, with hot food cooked to order. Area by the river makes for a nice walk.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing comes to mind :-)

    The rooms are tasteful and very spacious, the facilities are excellent (gardens, pool) and location beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar could have been much more welcoming. A chilly time of year and a fire would have been a very welcome addition.

    Beautiful building

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful place, very helpful and considerate staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dining room service was extremely slow, 75mins before we even got the starters. Food quality was poor and vastly over charged.

    Comfortable beds

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was mediocre...

    Amazing old Castle turned Hotel at the top of Alcacer.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant serves good food. It's pretty expensive though. The Saturday bbq is not good. Avoided that.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is great if you have a car, if not, difficult to travel

    The hotel, with the swimming pool. The services & the quiet

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pousada Castelo de Alcacer do Sal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: