Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pousada de Angra do Heroismo Castelo de S. Sebastiao

Rua do Castelinho, s/n, 9700-045 Angra do Heroísmo, Portugal

#7 of 17 hotels in Angra do Heroísmo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 275 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.8
    Historical site, nice views, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Superior Room Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a bit lack of choice in the bar and the restaurant, they could have been more popular since they are well located with good views.

    Historical site, nice views, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Great hospitality with incredible views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Superior Room Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view and location are unparallel, it is worth staying there just for the feel and the view. Room 109 has the best views and access to the very nice poo. All staff we've met were extra nice and friendly. The young man (sorry don't remember his name) in charge of the restaurant was super nice and accommodating, even opened restaurant earlier just for us and made sure we loved our meal. We did love gourmet pineapple ceviche and a steak with blood sausage. The food was exquisite. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was great.

    We got an upgrade to a better room but I suspect all rooms were similarly well finished. We had sea view, plenty of space, comfortable bed, air con, lovely bathroom. The staff were amazing. The pool was small but very pleasant for relaxing at the end of the day. The breakfast did the job. The restaurant provided us with an excellent lunch when we arrived and the waiter couldn't be more helpful. This hotel really elevated our stay in Angra.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Wonderfull environment to stay in Angra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Superior Room Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was awful. Besides the standard eggs and bacon, there were a lot of quiches. Little or no "sweet" food (which i appreciate more in the morning). The coffee was "burnt" every day which made it undrinkable. They should refresh their coffee more often. Also the orange juice was so-called "fresh" but they had put water in it (probably to save money). If they think you don't taste this, think again. Fresh orange juice with water tastes even worse than pre-packed juice.

    I had never slept in a historical site. Walking in the fortress at night and listening to the sea and the sea birds was lovely. They nicely integrated the hotel in the historical site, even with a small pool to cool down on hot days.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, great staff, and the best views you will find in Angra!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Superior Room Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I just left a two night stay at Pousada de Angra do Heroismo astelo de S. Sebastiao. The views are lovely. The staff is courteous and helpful. The pool is great. The only thing lacking at the hotel is a gym, but I instead just walked and ran in Angra. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    We look forward to returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our second time staying at the pousada and it was as wonderful as the first time. Staff is wonderful and helpful; rooms are incredibly clean; and what a view to wake up to each morning! It is set just outside of town up a steep hill- making it quiet and perfect for walking off a delicious dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Super,we would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Management of the breakfast .Staff were helpful but Priorities were not always sensible,Eghot breakfast container was empty but staff were more worried to clear tables instantly.This seemed to be down to management responsibility.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Special experience in an historic fort
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool was a bit small, would be nice to have a fitness center.

    Wonderful staff and restaurant, very affordable especially for what we got. There was a lovely balcony with an ocean view, large room, and great wifi. The hotel was built within an old fort, which was really cool. Our room was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    4.2
    The location and the small pool are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Superior Room Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a terrible mess, the staff was rude and not qualified to even run a prison canteen, there was no management capable of dealing with the situation, the post-mortem response was inadequate.

    The location and the small pool are great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    Overall, it was a beautiful place with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little uncomfortable and the design of the shower allows for water to escape the shower and soak the floor. A couple of the front desk workers were not very friendly (older women), but the other staff we interacted with were nice.

    The room was beautiful & very clean. Breakfast was good and had multiple options. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was was also good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    The staff was excellent and willing to assist in anyway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was excellent and willing to assist in anyway possible. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and the staff was willing to accommodate special requests. The view of the rooms were amazing and the location to downtown Angra do Heroismo was an easy 10 minute walk along the port/bay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Super modern hotel with lovely staff all d
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location and views. V relaxing and peaceful gardens around pool with terrific ocean views. Easy 10 min walk to town. Bar and restaurant good. Room had excellent facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.0
    That it is located within a fortress, with good views over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall value for money: staff not particularly helpful, no freshly baked bread at breakfast (nor huge choice of other things), no comfy chair to sit on the terrace in front of room, never managed to get hot water in the shower despite waiting 10-15 minutes for it to heat up, had to constantly restart the wifi-router to keep the internet going etc etc. For a property at this price level, they should do much better.

    That it is located within a fortress, with good views over the bay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Romantic stay in a wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Superior Room Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like! However the weather can be unpredictable as the island is located mid Atlantic. However the rain is warmer than the UK:-)

    The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and made our stay an enjoyable experience. Castelo de S.Sebastiao is a fort that has been beautifully converted into a hotel. The hotel is in a fantastic location on a cliff overlooking the Atlantic and the pretty port and town of Angra do Heroismo. Shops and local facilities are within easy walking distance. We only used our hire car to get to more remote locations on the island.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Pousada de Angra do Heroismo Castelo de S. Sebastiao
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great accomodation, try to rest in the ancient side of the building. Absolutely kind of the staff, concerning any question at any time even before arrival. To be back again and again. Muito obrigado!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful location, but rooms need upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Airco in first room was broken, but luckily we could switch after 1 night. Airco in 2nd room made lots of noise. Beds were hard and squeeked. TV only had few channels and looked like it was from before 2000 (4:3 format). Pool was not heated. Breakfast room was too hot. Breakfast was of good quality but limited selection.

    Great location in the old fort. Walking distance from harbour and city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    The best Angra experience you will get
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would be scratching. Maybe the step up into the bathroom.

    A very special place built in the old fort overlooking Angra. The whole interior is completely modern and comfortable with every modern facility. And it has spectacular views out to sea as the fort is built on the oceanfront.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in historic setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location with a privileged view of the city. Our room was in the old building that used to be the governor's house, so our room was beautiful and very spacious. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.2
    Best place to stay in Angra
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only pleasant memories. Super nice location and ambiance. Despite literally living in a castle (by the way it used to be a king's residence, which gives you a special thrill :)), the interior of the hotel is quite modern and inviting. The place has its own parking, which i find a big plus. Nice helpful personnel (the receptionist recommended us a nice restaurant for dinner and assisted in booking a whale-watching tour). Quality breakfast. Comfortable, well equiped rooms. I noticed that on certain days the hotel holds special events with local specialities, and live music. Unfortunately, we didn't stay long enough to witness.. In overall, we are absolutely happy with our staying here (despite it being short), its a place you want to come back

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    The bee's knees!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Superior Room Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Look no further than this hotel for a truly awesome stay in Angra. We had a great time AND the nightclubs are right down the hill! Less than a half mile!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.3
    The location is exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Superior Room Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast could be improved (compared to other places we have been). The lights of the dining room are awful.

    The location is exceptional. A good place to stay, but not exceptional (given the price).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.2
    The view was stunning and the bar and restaurant was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There could have been more information about sightseeing tours, the immediate surrounding area outside the fort are not the prettiest but the city is only a 5-10 minute walk away!

    The view was stunning and the bar and restaurant was very well priced :D

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.5
    The room overlooked the Atlantic with a high location &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Superior Room Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is hot with all the concrete of the fort & the stucco covered walls of the hotel. The hotel sits very high above the town of Angra de Heroismo & the sea, making for ease of walking a bit difficult. The staff were average in their help & interest to be sure that your stay was comfortable & recommending activities on the island.

    The room overlooked the Atlantic with a high location & outdoor terrace that overlooked the water. It was also very quiet as there was no city or street noise nearby.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Superb experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Large and comfortable room with lovely view. So special to be staying in an old fortress. Excellent breakfast. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Twin beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Must do, if only for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower window should have been longer. The whole bathroom gets wet.

    Location, beautiful. Room totally fine, breakfast is amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant serves a lousy quality dinner.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.8
    We think it’s dated and needs an upgrade and improved kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Superior Room Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible food musty smell not up to Hotel brand standards.

    Location very pretty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Superior Room Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed (noise)

    Scenery; staff; historic location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    A lovely place to stay close to the heart of Angra do Heroismo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Superior Room Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great level of comfort, lovely bathrobes, fresh fruit on arrival; all round luxurious experience for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent staff & value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Superior Room Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort of bed

    Historic aspic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Wonderful view to the sea and very quiet. The staff is very kind and the breakfast is amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Awesome place which caters well for all aspects of your stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect

    Beautiful hotel in fabulous surroundings and great facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Angra is a great place to visit and the Pousada an outstanding place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical first class Pousada, great staff in an outstanding location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Great, fresh breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Superior Room Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great, fresh breakfast. Lovely spot in the ocean. Rooms are top notch. Excellent value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quiet hotel with large rooms and nice view. Has a pool outside. The hotel was built in a old fort. Good restaurant and close to the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    10
    Beautiful place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool wasn't actually a hot tub.

    Good breakfast, unbelievable location for the winter prices.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.9
    Great stay, beautiful view from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in the room was inconsistent

    Breakfast spread was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    7.5
    Super nice staff, cool to be staying in a castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No consistent wifi access in the suite, hair dryer broken, shower couldn't be positioned down so flooded floor, ants came up through the sink, no heated pool option, breakfast options not filling.

    Super nice staff, cool to be staying in a castle

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.8
    The view from the balcony is of the sea and two islands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast coffee is awful, stewed and very unportuguese. The cutlery is for midgets.

    The view from the balcony is of the sea and two islands. It is beautiful. The manager was unceasingly helpful and charming.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    9.2
    The place is lovely in the old fortress quite near the very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are nice but small.

    The place is lovely in the old fortress quite near the very nice city of Angro do Heroismo. Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    9.6
    Location, location, location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi limited to lobby area but internet cables available at desk for computers. A minor inconvenience and sacrifice for the location & views!

    Location, location, location ... located in a medieval fort that is spectacularly preserved with a view of Split/Goat Rock, downtown Angra, and Monte Brasil over the forts walls! Only 5 minute walk to the marina and 10 to downtown shopping district. Very comfortable bed and nice deep bathtub. Great rates during off-season.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.2
    Very nice design with comfortable and clean rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very nice design with comfortable and clean rooms. I loved the amazing views from the hotel and at the same time the proximity to the city centre. Tasty breakfast and friendly staff. I will stay there again if I come back to Angra!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    6.7
    fantastic location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no internet in rooms, only near reception poor bfst for the rate of 190e, fresh fruit mixed w/canned ones, no espresso avaialble, poor assortment for bfst

    fantastic location, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    7.1
    "
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room interier: little window, wrong air conditioner placement, shower without curtain - only very short glass instead. High price. So-so restaurant.

    "Castle" location. Outwards view from the hotel yard. Nice and smily staff =) Close to Angra's main places. Large free parking nearby.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    We loved this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Wifi access in your room. In order to facetime our kids we had to go down to the restaraunt or small lobby.

    We loved this hotel! We enjoyed walking around the property and the entire staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was typical of what you expect in the Azores and not an American breakfast, but the staff made us some scrambled eggs. :) We will definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    5.8
    Great location and the staff were friendly and helpful once...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Where is the staff?! Had to go and look for them more than one time.

    Great location and the staff were friendly and helpful once we found them. Looked at other places to stay in Angra and think this is the best alternative.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    9.2
    The reception and waiting staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sorry can't cook dogfish! But again they didn't charge for the meal.... And gave me sparkling wine because it was my 60th birthday.

    The reception and waiting staff Really great design detail. Quite austere even for a castle..

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    8.8
    Staying at historic site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staying at historic site.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    9.6
    The location, the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked everything....

    The location, the view....

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    9.6
    Everything, we had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything, we had a great time.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    Excellent view from Room 103.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent view from Room 103. Very comfortable bed and great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    The staff are wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff are wonderful!!!

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Nice location, modern facility, very good quality of service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice location, modern facility, very good quality of service. Employes, from front desk to room maids, are very good and very dependable.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    9.2
    No wifi in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wifi in the room.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    9.2
    in the winter with bad weather shouldn't be so nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    in the winter with bad weather shouldn't be so nice

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    8.3
    Localização e staff simpático e atencioso
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Localização e staff simpático e atencioso

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    10
    Very nice spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice spot.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: