Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pousada Convento de Tavira 4 stars

Rua D. Paio Peres Correia, 8800-407 Tavira, Portugal

#7 of 17 hotels in Tavira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 492 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    The pousada is quiet, cool and calm. Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have a chest of drawers in the bedroom for clothes that do not require hanging.

    The building is so calm and peaceful and so cool after a hot day on the beach. Breakfast is good and the pool area is pleasant. The bedrooms and bathrooms are large and airy and very quiet. The beds are extra large and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful historic hotel in picturesque town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did ask for a light which wasn’t working to be fixed - but this didn’t happen.

    Lovely historic building well located in the old town. Beautiful pool and communal areas. Good breakfasts and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    A bit of heaven in a heavenly town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pousada seemed to be understaffed. Sometimes you had to go looking for the restaurant or reception staff since they were busy elsewhere in the pousada.

    I knew pousadas were government owned and usually repurposed from a past life, so I figured it would have some charm and history. This one did not disappoint. It even has its own excavated archaeological site near the bar, so that was very interesting to visit. The room was nicely refurbished and we took advantage of their spa for a relaxing massage. The location can’t be beat. It is right next door to Camera Obscura, castle ruins, and adjacent churches. What a lovely pousada and town! Friendly and welcoming staff. Would definitely come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    Lovely but not 5 star service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central reservations and reception did not speak to each other so late the night before 9 of us were due to fly I was told there was a “problem” with my booking. This was very stressful. There were 2 weddings which were the priority and there were frequently no / too few staff to take orders. The ac did not work and I advised the reception and was not updated on why or if it was being fixed. It never was.

    Beautiful building and pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Accommodation with atmosphere - highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful former convent. Traditional elegant endowment of the modern hotel. 3 minutes by foot from center. Quiet location. Very large room, fine bathroom, very good beds. Excellent breakfast. Wonderful pool area with sun beds and umbrellas and service of drinks. Staff very friendly and helpful. Parking on site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    We were spoiled by our stay at the pousada Palacio d’Estoi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of room and the room rate

    We were spoiled by our stay at the pousada Palacio d’Estoi and this pousada in Tavera suffered by comparison. The room rate for a smaller room than we enjoyed in Estói and the absence of truly remarkable architectural elements were disappointing g. However, the food was excellent at the in-house restaurant and Anabela and her team went above and beyond to help us make reservations, secure bus tickets, and all in all, if price point is not an issue and architectural splendour not significant, guests can enjoy culinary delights and be attended to by caring staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Best hotel in Tavira if location and staff anything to go by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was great - Little difficult to find due to windy old streets but that is part of its attraction.

    Wonderful location in the historic part of the lovely town. ALL the staff were really friendly and helpful. Real historic feel about the place. Pool area is really nice. Would certainly come back and Tavira is one of the nicest parts left on the Algarve - especially the Ria de Formosa lagoon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall very relaxing but expensive for the facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms tired looking ,expensive for what was in the rooms no tea making facilities and only one complimentary bottle of water for the week. Breakfast average for the price.

    Location and staff very helpful building is beautiful beds comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Very quiet, with lots of spaces to relax and very close to the centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staying in a converted Convent it would have been interesting to have more information about its history and more on the artifacts that were displayed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and nice to stay somewhere with a bit of history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The central air con was set to hot and we couldn’t change it so it was very warm in our west facing room. We weren’t advised of this at check in so the first night was very uncomfortable.

    Even the standard room was high quality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    The building itself is absolutely beautiful and the grounds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were not impressed with the standard room we had originally booked and we upgraded to a superior room. Neither room was as comfortable as we would have expected in a pousada. The bathrooms were clean but dated with no separate shower.

    The building itself is absolutely beautiful and the grounds are very well kept. There is a calm and restful atmosphere throughout and all members of staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our evening meal was excellent and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    One of our favourite places in the eastern algarve great food very nice locals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It rained! But they didneed it! But the afternoons were sunny and warm

    It was as we expected we have stayed here before as we know Tavira very well very central for very good restaurants easy walking cheap taxis great coffee!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom lighting.

    Lovely bed. Heat controls difficult to use. Bathroom big and light. Bedroom too dark, it needed better lighting. Beautiful premises. Great breakfasts Obut the coffee was very weak on ohr last day 5th).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    really pleasant in nice village and interesting surroundings full of wading birds at the shores
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    every thing was perfect, but the food could improve, especially small snacks and sandwhich

    very nice designed hotel and rooms, fantastic bed and cushions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Amazing, excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Omg it is amazing everything from arriving to leaving was excellent I would highly recommend it to everyone. The building and interior stunning. Everywhere cleaned to a very high standard. Staff very helpful, pleasent, considerate. Bedrooms beautiful. Breakfast excellent with lots of choice. Everything about it, It's got the wow factor

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Although Tavira is down at heel this lovely hotel made our stay memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    The historical building The interior courtyard Our standard room had a separate toilet and separate bathroom. Contrary to a previous review there is a private free carpark for about twenty cars at the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing hotel in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I can not think of anything that could be improved on.

    This was a return visit as we stayed last New Year. The staff at this hotel are so amazing - they will do anything they possibly can to make your stay enjoyable. The reception staff, waiters/waitresses, cleaning staff and catering are all so helpful. It is a beautiful building that is a converted convent. It has traditional rooms in the older part of the hotel but also have newer rooms and suites which are at the back of the hotel overlooking the gardens and the pool. We ate at the hotel restaurant on two occasions and were not disappointed - choices included sea food, wild boar, duck etc. Breakfasts were of a very high standard and consisted of the usual cereals, hot food, breads and fruit etc. However there were also home made yoghurts, speciality festive cakes including Portuguese custard tarts and an assortment of almond cakes. Also local cheeses and cold meats. We will be booking again soon for our next New Year visit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Perfect spot for a long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't have been better.

    Staff were excellent - friendly and helpful without being obsequious. Made us feel very welcome and relaxed. Perfect spot to explore Tavira (as long as you don't mind walking up hill!). The building itself is amazing - lots of space, stylishly renovated, but in keeping with it's origins. Very peaceful room - wouldn't know you were in a hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Would definately stay again.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were excellent, even before we arrived! The restuarant has fantastic food and value, sadly underused in our stay out of season but most enjoyable. The location in Tavira and the old world charm with enchant you, it did us and the other guests we spoke to during our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk clerk Flora if I am spelling her name correctly was a superstar, the kindest, sweetest and most knowledgeable front desk person we came in contact with during our amazing two weeks in Portugal. She epitomizes hospitality, no doubt she will be managing a property of her own one day!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Very close to the city centre but equally very private...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic architecture with a central courtyard and an outdoor pool at the rear of the hotel. Great views over Tavira and the hills up to Cachopo.

    Very close to the city centre but equally very private location next to the pool. 5 minutes walk to the Roman bridge and central restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location with extremely friendly,helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was little or no drawer space in the room, just a few very shallow ones which weren't any use at all. We had to store some of our clothes in our case or on a shelf which for an 11day stay wasn't good and for a hotel of this standard I was very surprised.The breakfast was average. I asked for poached eggs on a few mornings which too for ever to arrive.

    Excellent location with extremely friendly,helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Absolutely gorgeous hotel; a jewel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps offer 1 soft pillow. No hot water machine in the room.

    THe staff was very accommodating. We forgot to vote Valter for Employee of the Month. The sitting areas were beautiful. The breakfast buffet outstanding. The total ambiance was better than expected.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay but go elsewhere for dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool undergoing maintenance. Breakfast 'hot' water not always hot. Dinner in hotel expensive and not worth it. Too much puree and foam and not enough food

    Tranquil atmosphere. Helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Former convent conveniently located for town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning in our room was too cold (even when using the blankets which were in the wardrobe) and we did not manage to adjust it so turned it off on our second night and slept with the window open. Three of the four pillows were of thick foam and uncomfortable to sleep on - a replacement pillow was provided for our second night but was also foam and not much better. The service at dinner was so poor that we gave up trying to order deserts and coffee and went elsewhere. Similarly, there was no one serving drinks around the pool nor clearing away finished glasses which led to a glass being smashed around the poolside.

    The accommodation is set round a tranquil central courtyard where breakfast and dinner were served due to the warm weather. Our bedroom was spacious with a large ensuite bathroom. The pool area is attractive and had sufficient loungers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    A lovely break in a superb place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was very good, lots of variety and always fresh food. My only disappointment was with the coffee, could have been made fresh. One lovely touch, we arrived back from a day out to find a birthday gift waiting for me! Unexpected but very much appreciated.

    The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and had a very good command of English which helped us!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.1
    very historic and romantic location with very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    insufficient lighting of room, hard matresses

    very historic and romantic location with very nice terrasse/patio to sit outside, large buffet breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    A brilliant, relaxing short break in the sunshine
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being picky here - not keen on having a shower curtain to the bath. The bathroom could do with a good dust - don’t think tops of tiles has ever seen a duster. The rooms are looking a little tired - good job the overall ambience made up for this!

    Our short break was very relaxing, the beds were very comfortable, the hotel and pool area peaceful and to top it all the weather was excellent. The location is excellent, just a couple of minutes walk to the restaurants and shops in town, a short 2€ return ferry trip to an amazing beach. We’d highly recommend the birdwatching trip to Cabanas and Luzia (despite us not being “twitchers!”) - it was lovely to see real, wild flamingoes in the salt pans.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Good but not as good as some of the other pousadas
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very slow (sometimes non-existent) service in the bar. Slow service in the restaurant, more than required solely for the good food prepared for you.

    Lovely historic building in the centre of the town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Fine building in an excellent location in a charming, traditional seaside town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The choice of food could be improved, but there are plenty of restaurants nearby.

    The building and the location could not be bettered. The hotel service is also very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    It was on the expensive side, but I would consider staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was inconvenient that I could not have access to an iron; I was told it is considered to be a fire hazard!

    A lovely, tastefully renovated old property set in landscaped grounds which includes on-site parking (necessary in a small town), with landscaped garden and pool areas. The breakfast selection is good and there is a choice of al fresco or indoor dining areas. The staff are professional and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay in a hotel that we would highly recommend to anybody wanting to visit Tavira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was spotless but the pool needed a refreshing clean at the end of the season due to high usage by clients.

    Beautiful building with sensitively added modern additions. Very friendly, welcoming & helpful staff. Large rooms that were refreshingly cool in the heat of the day. Calming environment. Good sized pool and relaxation areas. Excellent choice of hot and cold food in the buffet breakfast. Great location for exploring the town of Tavira and the local sea flood planes where a variety of wild birds lived including herons, flamingos (and many more that we didn't recognise!) Easy, quick & cheap to get a boat trip to some excellent fine sandy beaches on the outer edges of the flood plane. A variety of restaurants all dotted through the town but we were very lucky that there was a 'Food, wine & music' festival being held in the town which we explored/sampled every night it was on. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Great Stay in Historic Convent in the Old Town of Tavira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It sometimes took a little while for things at the breakfast buffet to be restocked.

    Wonderful historic location in the heart of historic Tavira. Great swimming pool and since the place was fully booked we even received an upgrade. The facilities are top, the rooms was extremely spacious and tastefully furnished. The staff were very helpful and we felt they really identifies strongly with their hotel and their work! Tavira has a beautiful old town with a very genuine feel still. A must: to take a boat for EUR 2 for a return ticket to the island of Tavira. A sheer pleasure: clear water and a beautiful 11km long sand beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Great staff, easy parking, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Refills of kettles (for tea etc) and of bread for toast and other items were inefficient

    Very comfortable bedroom. Lovely view from the balcony Excellent location Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    A lovely end to our holiday. Certainly return in near future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms a little tired but very clean. Not an easy property to find. Could do with better signage particularly from A22.

    A very tranquil setting in the centre of Tavira. Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant is worth a visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a former convent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to complain about.

    The hotel used to be a convent and the interior is grandiose. There is an outdoor restaurant in the courtyard and a swimming pool, all very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    It's relatively expensive but probably worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1. Via the Booking.com web site, we requested a late check-out before leaving home because our taxi pick-up was 5.30 pm on the last day of our holiday. We said we were happy to pay for the late check-out service. They would not offer this to us nor would they even give us their firm (negative) response until 10.00 am on our last morning. Mildly irritating. 2. We had clearly requested and booked a Superior room 4 months prior to our visit. The room they gave us on day 1 was not one of the three Superior rooms that their website says they have. There was a bit of a wrangle before they finally accepted that we were right and on day three (of seven) they transferred us to one of the very nice Superior rooms. Poor service in this regard, I'm afraid... And no compensation was ever offered to us, come to think of it. C'est la vie.

    Food was generally very good. The beds and the bed linen were all first rate. Super comfortable. This is a quiet, spacious, relaxing place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    I loved the pool area, and you could always get a lounger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I loved the pool area, and you could always get a lounger. The staff were amazing and the history of the accomodation was awesome. Our room was large which was great. I recommend this accomodation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not the fault of the hotel but the tranquil ambience by the pool was shattered by a selfish person who thought it was ok to repeatedly shout across to her child from her lounger. To make matters worse he wasn't in the kids pool but had taken over the adult pool with a big inflatable. Meanwhile she was sinking sangria and the shouting got louder and louder

    Front desk staff excellent. Great Sangria from the bar. The pool is a great sun trap.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    A relaxing visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a beautiful property, in a quiet part of town, but only a 3 minute walk to the town center. The pool area, which we used a lot, was very nice. The breakfast was excellent, and as pointed out by other reviewers, it goes until 11am, which meant we could have a leisurely morning. The bar/pool menu is very good and is served throughout most of the day. The room was comfortable and very quiet. More than anything, the people who work there make the place so good. In particular, we thank Diogo and Elena who work in the bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant and relaxing stay in a beautiful hotel in Tavira!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the room was spacious and tastefully decorated some facilities were quite poor. There was no iron and ironing board. I called to reception for one but they said none was available. If you required any items to be pressed these had to be collected from the room and each item paid for so. You also had to pay extra if you wanted these items back the same day. Also there was no coffee or tea making facilities.

    It was an excellent hotel with a very relaxed feel. The buffet breakfast was excellent although the coffee was quite poor. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Excellent location. Very nice pool area which was not too busy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay in Pousada Tavira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nice big room, airconditioning worked well. Great 'old' place, perfectly renovated and made into a hotel (38 rooms only as I understood). Garden with swimming pool and loungers is a nice place for a few hours of sun. Good food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Great stay in a beautiful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked everything!

    The breakfast buffet was wonderful, especially the cakes! Also the best coffee we had all holiday! Lovely pool area with plenty of lounge chairs. The staff were particularly friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    3.3
    Invest in maintenance and modernise your airco!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked 2 nights. Arico did not work, it blew warm air. New room, airco did not work properly either. Reception told us the hotel was full. After a night without sleep we decided to leave the next morning. When we checked out, reception said (surprisingly and not what they communicated earlier) that they had another room. Because we arranged an alternative (on information that Pousada was full) we did not want to stay (we did'nt expect it would be better). they charged us the second night 'because we booked at Booking.com'. Very dissapoining sevice. We got our money back after Booking.com called the hotel. Inner edge of wimmingpool is dirty, shower by the pool is out of order. Plasterwork comes down. This hotel laxs taking care of such a beautiful building; it's a shame.

    Good breakfast, good location in Tavira.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.1
    Atmospheric
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sun beds

    Lovely atmosphere perfect temperature in pool. Sun beds uncomfortable and not enough to start with but new ones started to arrive as we left. Food good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.1
    The staff is absolutely wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom must have been beautiful once, but very old now.

    The staff is absolutely wonderful. Quiet. The place is beautiful but unfortunately the hotel itself is run down and needs to get a lifting. Breakfast is nice. Room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Peace and tranquility - a special place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some attention required to a few of the sun loungers around the pool (a very minor point.)

    The building is steeped in history and has very sensitively been converted into a beautiful hotel. There is an overwhelming feeling of tranquility and yet you are a few minutes walk away from the shops and bars. The staff is professional and efficient yet friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.7
    Luxurious but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy all afternoon until after midnight with rock music concert close by. We were told that simply shutting the window would solve this, but that was not the case!

    Beautiful historic building. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    A great holiday - totally peaceful and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We would have liked a slightly earlier breakfast start time due to early golf tee times.

    The towels were so soft and fluffy and the bed was extremely comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We would have liked more convenient mirrors and electric points in the room.

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We had a standard room which was a good size and very quiet. The staff were very friendly and efficient, the room was clean and the building is full of character. We did not dine in as we prefer to experience the towns restaurants which are numerous and within a short walk. Breakfast was good though not impressed with the coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    Quiet spot in Tavira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that although naturally a calm space the management seems to think it a good idea to play (admittedly quite soft) piped music through the common parts.

    The location. The historic nature of the buildings. The general air of calmness. The pleasantness of the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Would love to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Perhaps this is because we visited just before Easter, but too often staff were very hard to locate!

    Location was great, staff were very pleasant and room 06 with balcony onto the main square was quiet and delightful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful hotel and fantastic service and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The customer service was superb throughout - extremely attentive, friendly and efficient. And the breakfast was fantastic - so much variety! It is a beautiful building with such a serene atmosphere, and is perfectly located in a quiet and yet very central part of Tavira. We loved our stay here and would definitely come again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.9
    Great unfulfilled potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dated, some bathroom fixtures were broken. Poor quality tea at breakfast . Dinner in restaurant in fact all the food was very bland and not enough servers to deal with the number of guests.

    Wonderful staff. We had some issues with our room such as broken toilet lid which the helpful front desk staff fixed. Quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful and restful with lots of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast and restaurant meals were a shade disappointing for a hotel of that otherwise excellent standard.

    The building is stunning, a wonderful conversion of the old convent. It's a very spacious and relaxing hotel. We were in room 111, a superior room, which was not I think as big as some, but had a very large comfortable bed, a superb ensuite and an external terrace which was bigger than the room and had a patio with 2 recliners, 2 cane chairs and a cane table, as well as a huge sun shade. It had a lovely view over the hotel pool area and the town beyond that.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.8
    Great place to relax & still so walkable to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk was hit and miss. Depended on the person working.

    Breakfast was excellent. So many offerings. Room view was overlooking tranquil pool. Quiet room for great sleeps. Beautiful historic surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    6.7
    I have viewed the property over 10 years ago whilst on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we found the room very small for the price we paid, and it needed a bit of decorating / TLC

    I have viewed the property over 10 years ago whilst on holiday and had wanted to stay since then. The property is very nice as were the staff & the grounds/ pool area. It is centrally located in Tavira with a few minutes walk to the Roman bridge.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Such a gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to locate upon first arrival - it was dark and we were relying on GPS. So not at all the fault of the property. Just something to be aware of.

    We were thrilled with every aspect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Very nice pousada, lots of charme, fantastic location, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room & bathroom a bit dated, airco not working very efficient, my room was rather 'dark' due to small window ... but it is an old buiding ... so this is rather normal.

    Very nice pousada, lots of charme, fantastic location, nice patio, good breakfast, very nice pool.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful location, in the centre of Tavira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An issue with the bed which was very quickly rectified. Breakfast could be a bit haphazard, searching for cups for coffee that could have been hotter. Oh and the bar is a bit on the steep side price wise.

    Peaceful location, in the centre of Tavira. Lovely building and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    5.0
    nice building - staff needs to be retrained
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    sick and tired of receiving the nomination forms for employee of the month every time i arrive. the room windows were very dirty. the reservation was for my wife and kids - they randomly decided to add extra charges for my wife when we explicitly discussed the booking over the phone clarifying exactly who was staying in the room. the parking lot gets abused by guests who double park and then there isnt enough room for other guests - they should monitor this. lots of dog droppings on the lawn around the parking - avoiding it is like navigating through a minefield. the room service is very basic. you cant get a basic salad while the kitchen is closed. the glasses at breakfast ran out so the staff told me to drink juice out of a coffee cup which seemed like an odd response. all feels a bit rigid and not guest oriented.

    the building has a nice atmosphere - like all pousadas in the chain it is an experience sleeping in such a historical setting. the room was nicely decorated

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.6
    Best hotel in Tavira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Our second visit a year later and standards still excellent. My husband had developed laryngitis and the desk staff were very helpful in directing us to a local clinic where he received treatment that day. They offered to ring the clinic but pointed out it would be quicker (and probably cheaper!) to drive ourselves there.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Everything about this hotel, from the sympathetically converted historic building to the staff and the facilities were a delight. One of the nicest, and most to my taste, hotels I have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.3
    The staff were all very friendly and helpful especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful especially Anabelle who was in reception. We were celebrating a special anniversary and the hotel ensured that we were well looked after.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    Tranquil interesting former monastery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tranquility of the hotel a bit heavy for our stay at Christmas Drinks prices not cheap

    Very courteous most helpful reception staff Good room allocated with terrace Liked the system for us to nominate the preferred time for cleaning the bedroom Good quiet location near centre of town

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.6
    Being banished to a monastery is not so bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is nothing not to like

    Superbly converted old convent in ideal setting and charming town. Quite comfortable room Very good breakfast. Delightful courtyard. What did you like

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    Peace and tranquility in Tavira with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't to the standard of the hotel. The coffee was not to our taste. In our view it was undrinkable.

    The peace and tranquility of the building and the staff. The lady on reception was superb.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.9
    Nice stay for one-night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room; and despite having made a request for a double bed we were given a twin-bed. The outside pool area could do with some low level music as it was far too quiet as even if you talked quietly your voice echoes for everyone to hear.

    The pousada is in a quiet area of Tavira allowing you to sleep well. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.3
    Great location in historic convent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was kingsize but the mattress was divided with individual sheets and blankets, not so comfortable

    The location of this beautiful Hotel was great, very central. The room was well appointed, lots of space. Beautiful decorated main halls and comfortable bar area. The personnel was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Characterful Covent conversion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is possibly the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Great facilities very good location and a fabulous building. Full of character. Unforgettable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    10
    Great Hotel Where You would Not Expect To Find One
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool could have been heated.

    I have traveled all around the world and stayed in some of the best hotels, and this one rates at or near the top. Excellent staff!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    Old convent restauration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The elevator was noisy with bad vibrations (poor maintenance) and our room was right next to it. Wifi was not fonctionnal everywhere in the hotel.

    The restauration of this ancient convent is fabulous. A unique experience.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.1
    Lovely hotel, overpriced, evening meal could be better, luck...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See previous I like the antiquity of the plac

    Lovely hotel, overpriced, evening meal could be better, luck of atmosphere, birthday's cake very poor...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel, but could do with a few more practical facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi in room was bad, no tea a & coffee making facilities in the room and couldn't get hold of iron after housekeeping had gone home.

    Beautiful building, room and location, lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.8
    A very nice place to stay in Tavira with only a few minor faults and we would certainly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1. Fridge in room was not well stocked. 2. Pool drinks/food service not proactive -- trip to bar to order was almost always necessary. 3. Sun beds not comfortable and probably should be replaced. 4. Hot breakfast choice was limited and not changed enough. 5. Noticeable priority given to wedding parties over other hotel residents. 6. Temperature of hot water was not always adequate at bedtime.

    1. The thick walls provide quiet rooms and the whole building is peaceful and has a special character. 2. Comfortable bed 3. Room cleaning service very efficient and unobtrusive. 3. Staff were very helpful. 4. Good choice at breakfast and the cakes were superb. 5. Great central but quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: