Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pousada Convento de Evora 5 stars

Largo Conde Vila Flor, 7000-804 Évora, Portugal

#10 of 29 hotels in Évora

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 598 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Evora....yup loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The interior of the hotel is gorgeous, the staircase leading to your rooms “cells” stunning. Location for the town, well you are literally on the door step. Pool on the cool side but lounging around it...heavenly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Luxurious pousada near the Roman ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took a long time to be seated in the restaurant for dinner, we had to get outside help. The staff seemed very unhappy to start with, but the service was attentive once we were allocated a table and food was enjoyable, and the mood of the staff improved.

    Wonderful location - everything is within walking distance

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent hotel for a short stay while you explore all the delights of Évora.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a former convent the bedrooms are converted monks' cells and are therefore not as spacious as modern hotel rooms. This was expected and didn't bother us but some might find the rooms a bit cramped. The restaurant was beautifully situated in the original cloisters. Unfortunately we felt that the food, while OK, did not do justice to the surroundings and was not of the quality expected in a hotel of this standard and price. Chef just needs to try harder.

    Beautiful historic building ideally situated in the old city of Évora, lovingly restored to create a unique very special hotel. Lovely pool area in which to relax after a day's sightseeing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    You get the feeling of being in luxury, in a historic Place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 children until 12 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much. Could have better coffee for breakfast, and water in pool was not very warm (but so was Evora..)

    You get the feeling of being in luxury, in a historic Place - both wrt hotel and its surroundings. Not extravagant but yet great comfort both in room and facilities of hotel. We truly enjoyed strolling the streets of Evora. Staff was service minded and happy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Worth a visit but not sure I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are small. The bathtub was leaking.

    The hotel architecture is beautiful and authentic. The furniture and artwork around the hallways are exquisite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in a brilliant location and the interior maintained its original, historic splendour whilst offering very comfortable rooms and excellent service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had coffee (2) pods when we checked in. The next morning we wanted to make coffee and the cleaning person did not replace the (2) pods. We went to the desk to see why and they said that we only get (2) pods. Even thought we were there 2 nights. The desk said you have to purchase the pods for 2 euros a piece. Not good! We expected coffee each morning for the price we paid for the suite.

    Enjoy the Jr. Suite very much, location of the suite was great, quiet. Loved the size of the room and beds. Breakfast was good. Location was excellent although the google maps made it a little difficult to find. We ended up stopping right in front of the hotel, but it had a different name instead of Pousada Convento Evora. Made it a little difficult to find.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Fascinating and historic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No onsite parking means you are at the mercy of the on street parking. Free for us on Sunday, but not during the week.

    Quirky and antique environment. Spacious but oddly laid out; to be expected of an old convent. The location could not be better. Easy access to all of Evora. Staff were helpful with a tour recommendation and with parking advice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Charming, Old World atmosphere, UNESCO site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub was a little hard getting in and out of for my 70 year old body but I wouldn’t have traded it. Loved the charm.

    Charming, Old World atmosphere, UNESCO site. Parking in an old city can be a challenge but just drive up and the staff will handle it, complimentary.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel but a lot of work to get there if only staying one day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Challenging to drive to once you get to historic area. Extremely narrow streets. Difficult to park. Once there you don’t want to drive if at all possible in old historic area.

    Unique. Historic. Comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Being central to the historic area was particularly good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several times the staff failed to act on my requests. The worst was their failing with a wake up call on the day of my departure.

    Being central to the historic area was particularly good. And the history and decor of the Pousada added to the enjoyment of my time there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    All good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything. Staff. location. Breakfast. Room . Appointments in the room. All excellent.

    Pousada was lovely , breakfast great, location excellent, staff excellent, Evora ....super interesting town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Location and staff excellent, arrive early for a parking space, bring earplugs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a quiet room when I booked, we were given 'cell 3' on the ground floor. A waste water pipe ran in the wall somewhere in the bedroom and every time someone got up to pee in the night and flushed, it was like someone was taking a shower next to us! We counted this 6 times during the night, so we didn't sleep very well. If we'd stayed longer, I would've asked to be moved. I'm sure other rooms are better.

    The location is excellent, very central in the old town. Parking is limited to about 10 spaces in front of the building, I don't know how far away parking is, if these spaces are taken. Whole atmosphere of the place is calm, our room was 3 'cells' joined together to make a bedroom, bathroom and sitting area. Although very comfortable, it was all looking tired. Service was excellent, staff were attentive. Plenty of restaurants locally.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    A great town and hotel to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was tiny--the cell as it's called. Not bad if you're out walking around but during our stay it rain constantly and was cold. The bed was too hard for my liking and the breakfast was quite average at best.

    I loved the proximity to all the historical sites. The Pousada is a remarkable historic structure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful historic building and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. Just a little confusion with the payment at check out. I thought I had paid for two rooms and was a little surprised when I was charged for one at check out. It turns out on checking my card account that the hotel had only charged me for one initially so they were correct.

    Very friendly staff and a great check in experience with excellent help for parking and getting luggage up to room. The rooms were the cells in the monastery so they are not big rooms but they are comfortable and the bathrooms are well set up with beautiful clawfoot baths. Great atmosphere in the hotel and interesting history and period furniture.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in an old monastry
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a little bit small, but this is due to the location in the former monk cells.

    Since the hotel is in an old monastry it is very charming and completely different from usual hotels. Breakfast and dinner in the clositer were very good. Location is in the city center, everythin can be visited by foot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Extraoridnary!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely lovely property! The location is the best right next to the Roman ruins. So fun to stay in a monk’s room. The breakfast is to die for. You have aabsolutely everything you can possibly want and then some. Be aware that eating dinner at Evora isn’t possible until after 7:30! However, we had a great sandwich and wine in the bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    The restaurant is really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small but we understand since they are built on the old cells. Very cozy and nice but yet small.

    The restaurant is really good. We had two great meals there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    An excellenet hotel in the city centre as a base for exploring a very interesting town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sometimes twin beds are better in a new location to help with sleeping. The large bed was adequate but when one partner is a poor sleeper, the twin bed option is the ideal solution.

    Splendid location and a welcoming staff. Very fine upgrading of an old institution.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Feels like a monestary
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was slightly below street level, offering relatively little daylight. Furthermore, it had an old door which was not at all soundproof, so noise from the adjacent restaurant was difficult to ignore in the evening. Guests staying in other rooms will likely have a different experience.

    The hotel is located right in the city centre of Evora, a picturesque UNESCO world heritage site, a few steps away from the ancient Roman temple. The building used to be a monestary. Orange trees growing in the inner courtyard evoke a nice Mediterranean feeling. Staff was friendly and helpful, even accommodating my request to get breakfast at 6 a.m.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Delightful "shabby chic" room that used to be a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom floor was freezing - maybe provide a larger mat.

    Delightful "shabby chic" room that used to be a cell in the time of the convent with an enormous bathroom. Staff very helpful with luggage and parking. Right next to beautiful Roman temple.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel and could not be better situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was rather small and the bed was not king size. Otherwise, loved the hotel.

    Being a former monastery, this hotel is full of atmosphere. The bedrooms were once the cells of the monks. It's a beautiful building and the staff could not be more helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    excellent place to stay in Evora!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful location; fabulous restaurant. Very nice room--and great historical property in an old convent. Delightful to stay in a converted 'cell' room, very cosy. The meal we ate was very impressive and a great taste of local cuisine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    One night in a monument in Evora
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small but annoying plumbing problem which they solved. At breakfast, eggs had to be ordered and (at least at this season) were not immediately available from the shelf. External window, when open, was directly open on to an internal passage way.

    could not be more central, parked car at door, personnel were A1+. Room in an old monk cell was cosy. That special feeling of staying in a monument, over an old cloister.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.3
    The bed was very uncomfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. Like a marble slab. And through some mysterious feat (given the thick stone walls) I could hear the man in the room next to me snoring all night. Could not sleep a wink.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location! Wonderful breakfast buffet!! Very comfortable room with cute bathroom (not large as it was a former monk's cell - but certainly big enough for 2).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    4.2
    Not worth of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our Superior room in the first floor was smelling so strongly mold that we were not able to stay there. We requested a room change and they showed us another same category room but it was even worse. There were black mold visible too. Then we were offered a lower price category Standard room in upstairs. There were no mold issue and we selected to stay there. We were told that as we have booked the room via booking.com, they cannot refund the difference between the room prices. Booking.com does not refund anything if you select to change room category. :-(

    Central location. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay in historic monastery!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a bit high for what was a pretty basic hotel - I think we were paying for its historic nature.

    It was a great experience to stay in an old monastery dating back several centuries. The staff were friendly and helped us with our bags (no elevator of course!). The included breakfast was excellent with a large variety of items available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    4.2
    The public rooms are gorgeous but the individual guest rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 children until 12 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public rooms are gorgeous but the individual guest rooms are very inefficient. The only mirror in the room was directly behind the tub, totally in accessible. I have stayed in many paradores and several pousadas and must say that the rooms here are just unacceptable for the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.3
    Poor in proportion to the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At a five star hotel we had to carry our bags without any help up the stairs to the first floor (no elevator)! Rooms seem to be a little dirrty, need to be refurnished. We had dinner at the restaurant which was simply awful! Very small menu, bad in taste! Don't go there!

    The location is fantastic! You can still feel the history everywhere. Located right in the centre of Evora.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was hard. Very limited parking. Would have been nice to know before booking that the Roman Temple was covered for renovation and unviewable.

    Excellent breakfast. Very nice accommodations. Excellent location. Sights easily accessible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Best location in town! Stay in a world heritage convent with all the luxury of a 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unpleasant humidity smell when entering the room for the first time. The bed was a total disappointment for a hotel claiming luxury quality... the mattress feels cheap and old. The room size is a bit deceiving when you look at the photos... it's actually much smaller than you expect. No slippers or bathrobe!

    Absolutely perfect location, the hotel is located between the Cathedral and the Roman temple, and you'll be able to go everywhere by foot within the city center. Amazing experience to live in a ancient convent with the luxuries of a 5 star hotel. The staff is friendly and very efficient, you'll feel welcomed at all times.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower in the old bath was very difficult to negotiate and sprays all over the place. I think the handle attachment is broken somehow. It is easier to take a bath than a shower. We were in one of the basic twin bed cells, and it was fine. The beds and pillows were comfortable and it was small, but the outside spaces more than made up for the size of the room. The dining room didn't look very inviting as there were only a couple of people eating each night so there was no atmosphere, and also the prices on the menu looked very expensive. We ate at the Enoteca opposite and it was fabulous.

    The location is fantastic, right next to the Roman temple and next to an old church. It is a beautiful old convent and feels so special to walk around the old corridors and marble staircase. The lounge area is very comfortable and spacious and a lovely place to sit and read or have a drink with friends. The breakfast is good, with all the usual, but including a variety of home made cakes which were delicious! We stayed three nights and just loved our experience. Evora is a beautiful walled city and not too busy and touristy. It is definitely one of our favourite experiences in Portugal so far.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location and Francisco!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property, because of its historic origins is a little tough for older guests as there are many stairs and levels that must be navigated many times during the stay.

    The best thing about the hotel was Francisco! He made what could have been a rather stuffy and forbidding property warm and welcoming. The property is impressive and grand in every respect with no two rooms alike. The location is the best you could ask for in Evora, step out the front door and you are in front of Roman ruins. Once again, Francisco was the highlight of the stay, he not only charmed my 86 year old mother-in-law but sent us to great casual eateries in town both nights we were there. Beds were very comfortable and the rooms spacious and luxurious in a very old school way.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in a conveted monastery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely stay in a converted monastery in the centre of historic Evora. As well as generous breakfasts we enjoyed dinners in the excellent restauarant. Room nicely furnished iwth every convenience and opening onto a courtyard with seating under a canopy of grape Vines.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful location, a must stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only negative was there was no iron available, as we were travelling our clothes were slightly creased and going for dinner that night we really needed to iron our evening clothes. My husband called reception to ask if there was an iron we could use & he was told "no, that would be impossible" was disappointing and resulted in us having to steam out the bathroom. Maybe a tip to bring travel iron if staying here. Other than that the staff were fantastic.

    The location of this hotel is simply stunning, right next to the Roman Temple of Diana & next to the church and palace. The hotel itself is incredible, so beautiful and historical. The breakfast spread was amazing! Lovely staff, who parked our car for us and took us to our room. We had a lovely night stay here for our honeymoon on our way back from Lisbon and would go back in a heartbeat!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    A unique experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a unique experience living in a hotel that was a 15 century monastery in the very center of historic Evora 50 feet from the Roman Temple. The place is listed in the guides not as a hotel but as a historical sight.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful old monastery turned hotel with excellent location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 5 star hotel, facilities should be updated, especially bathroom. Bathroom door was hard to close and that was annoying.

    Beautiful old monastery turned hotel with excellent location in Evora. Great breakfast, brunch and nice little pool area. We enjoyed our night in Pousada.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Amazing pousada in Evora
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi reception in some parts of the building was patchy

    We had the suite which was very large and elaborately decorated. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    A fantastic place to spend a couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed the time spent there. There is nothing that we didn't like

    An extraordinary site, the staff went to extra mile to accommodate our touring engagements and was most helpful for dinner at the Poussada. In our month of traveling in Portugal and Spain our time at the Poussada was the highlight of out trip.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful building, great location, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Time to deliver meals in restaurant could be faster.

    Beautiful building - beautifully restored. Cloisters where restaurant is located are superb. Great tortoise in grounds within cloisters. Staff were amazingly co-operative and helpful. Went the extra mile. Location is superb for visiting Evora.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Gorgeous boutique pousada in the heart of Evora
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too small, breakfast quality was not great

    Gorgeous property set in a historic convent turned into a luxury hotel. Convent itself was awesome, location is excellent in the heart of Evora, and staff were attentive. Parking is limited at first, but the staff can take care of this.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was weak in room, but good in lounge. Plumbing left something to be desired. Bathroom sink and tub drained VERY slowly.

    Excellent service. Very good breakfasts.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    A beautiful but quiet location from another era.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disturbed several times during the night by the noise of water running, presumably from other people using bathrooms.

    We had lots of space, including an area to sit outside, but we had a superior room. The place is beautiful as are the surroundings. We ate in the restaurant at the Pousada and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    We liked it so much we came back three days later.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 children until 12 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was helpful and attentive. The atmosphere was elegant, historic and comfortable. Food was great. We came back for an extra night at the property, we liked it so much.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    5.0
    Sleepless night !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to sleep due to air conditioning unit incapable of being switched - a problem already known to staff !! Self service breakfast tired and tea/coffee even self service.

    Friendly staff and location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.3
    Great historical property but check room specific
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description of the room having a king or 2 twins is inaccurate. It may be booking.com issue. We were given a room with a standard double bed, smaller than a queen. We didn't sleep well.

    Location and breakfast is great. The property being an old monastery makes place special too

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful location overlooking the Roman Temple of Diana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful location overlooking the Roman Temple of Diana. Historic convent where rooms are converted cells. Breakfast in the cloisters with orange trees.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    We loved the location and the presentation of the pousada...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately while the food itself was excellent we experienced bad service from the waiters. After waiting an inordinate time only one of our meals arrived which we refused to take as they said the other one was still cooking. The waiters themselves were very polite but I think the staffing could be improved especially when the restaurant was full as it was at the time.

    We loved the location and the presentation of the pousada having never stayed in one before. The rooms which definitely had an atmosphere and the interior garden is beautiful with orange trees.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    An interesting place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not comfortable. A claw-footed bathtub with shower may look picturesque, but it is hell to climb into if you are of a certain age. The service in the restaurant was a little jaded... the hotel gets a lot of visitors in much-visited historic Evora, and that is probably the reason.

    An old convent transformed into a picturesque hotel. The restaurant is in the cloister.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Lovely historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphere was a bit pompous and stuffy - perhaps geared towards older wealthy visitors. Room decor was a little tired.

    Lovely historic building in a perfect location in the middle of Evora. Excellent food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    9.2
    Wow all around!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The claw foot tubs can be tricky to navigate for those who are not as stable on their feet. Keep this in mind when booking as they have rooms with walk in showers also available.

    The rooms are large, bright and delightfully painted with murals. This only adds to the overall charm of this historic place. We enjoyed walking the grounds, exploring the nearby sites (all right there!), and relaxing in the bar. The weather was not great so we did not have a chance to jump in the pool but the area looks like the place to be on a hot summer day. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious and the breakfast was the best one we've seen in all of Portugal--massive selection and even Champagne for those interested in enjoying a mimosa!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful 2 night visit to Evora.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is a converted monastery, so a very beautiful and historic building. We stayed in a larger room that had been used for nobility. The staff was very nice and helpful. Lovely bar and lounge area. Breakfast was very good. The hotel was next to the Roman ruins and walking distance to everything inside the city walls. Perfect!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    Highly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything about the Pousada was great - the staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful, the location ideal for exploring Evora, breakfast was very satisfying. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window of our room opened onto a public area and we were uncomfortable about leaving it open which we needed to do for fresh air.

    Fantastic position. Staff. Valet parking.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.6
    beautiful setting and worth the extra cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if there was a complimentary tea and coffee station in the lobby for the evening.

    Breakfast was included and was the most amazing buffet I have ever seen. Delicous food in a unforgettable setting. Staff was vey kind and helpful. bed was very comfortable, bathroom was gorgeous.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel with great location
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful building and historic Breakfast and dining were excellent Lovely room with plenty of hot water Staff very friendly The place had a lovely ambience / feel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    10
    Fantastic Accommodation in a Historic Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool area wasn't open and it would have been nice to sit out there for an evening drink.

    The Convento is located at the foot of Roman columns that are colourfully lit at night giving the hotel a magical appearance. The inside is beautiful with a grand stone stairway leading the way to our "cell" above. All the rooms are referred to as cells. Our room was very cozy and comfortable. The inclusive breakfast was fantastic, a huge buffet of local delicacies and hot entrees. The staff was so friendly and accommodating especially with our lost luggage issue. The bar and lounge area are very cozy too with a nice fireplace blazing away. The free parking in front is very convenient. We didn't need a car because the charming town of Evora is easy to walk around even though it's hilly. The shops and Gothic Cathedral are yards away from the Convento's entrance. Cork is native to this part of the country so be sure and purchase unique gifts made with cork before leaving Evora.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.2
    Lovely historic hotel in Evora
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The suite that was offered us first did not correspond at all with the pictures shown on booking.com. It was a dark ground floor room with no ventilation and no views (just a tiny window that you could not reach). That suite was also situated just opposite the front desk, with direct access to the busy main hall of the hotel. We were offered to upgrade to a "special suite" for 15 extra euro per night. That was actually the suite shown in the pictures on booking.com. Not a big issue, but I think booking.com should fix this.

    Amazing building in the tourist hotspot of Evora. Delicious breakfast spread served in the Manueline cloister. Beautiful suite.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    9.2
    Fabulous location, fabulous town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was somewhat crowded; all the rooms are former monk's cells - so I guess lack of space is to be expected! The shower is one of those "telephone" showers located in the bathtub. Unfortunately, the tub is not very roomy, and you end up standing on the bathtub plug, and spraying water all over. Also the shower mechanism is not easy to figure out. (Also we were confused at arrival because the "Pousada Convento de Evora" is now the "Pousada dos Loios". The taxi driver left us off at the correct place, but the name didn't match the name on our hotel reservation - they had changed their name 2 months ago. booking.com should be sure to change to the current name.)

    The location couldn't be better - just a couple of steps from the Roman temple. Great breakfast overlooking the former cloister.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    7.1
    Very special, but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Highly uncomfortable shower (standing in bath tub with legs, outdated poor shower set). FYI: No elevator. Slow service in the bar.

    Incredible location, just opposite to the Roman Temple. Free parking. Special experience to stay in historic convent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Lovely Oasis in a lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are vegans, so the normal cheese/meat offerings were not options, however they did have soymilk and made a lovely cappuccino, along with cereal and fruit choices

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    A great pousada experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a beautiful converted monastery. The dining area in the cloisters is particularly special. It is in excellent location within walking distance to all the attractions. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.6
    A very unusual and good hotel - in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The location is magic, and the whole hotel is lovely and "original". The staff were great and the difficult car parking was very facilitated by them.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.3
    Property and its location, its general atmosphere, class and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room's lightning not far from beeing sinister, and the dinner itself that we found to be not at the pousadà's level

    Property and its location, its general atmosphere, class and easyness

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.8
    A superb property in a central location in gorgeous old town of Evora
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Confusion over the name - the name on the property wasn't the same as on the booking. Apparently they haven't been able to put up new signage!

    A beautiful property in a central location. Comfortable but smallish rooms in old monks' cells. The overall property is a beautiful old building with great character

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    5.0
    The location in the centre of the city, yet good reachable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive. Extremely small room with airco that hinders. Try to upgrade your room to a bigger one (even more expensive)

    The location in the centre of the city, yet good reachable by car.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.5
    Character hotel in a fabulous location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy - some things not working ie air conditioning -hair dryer and not fixed when reported .

    Location location location ! Couldn't get any better. Place 'nice' .not a wow. Breakfast (included) was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location, calm and cool
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar is quite dark -OK for late night drinking- and the restaurant is pleasant but does not have much atmosphere.

    Great location, calm and cool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    In the middle of the City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the middle of the City. Sleeping inside a monument speaks for itself

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    Unique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air conditioning Rooms are small, and rather Spartan. not a surprise, but. Be prepared

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Location and decor inside main picnic areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on the bed was too hard and uncomfortable.

    Location and decor inside main picnic areas. Staff extremely helpful as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    A travel in time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You fell like in a museum. The old monastery is very well preserved ! Very charmijg place!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location with amazing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with amazing room. Lovely pool for relaxing. Handy short walk to old town centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    really helpful staff, relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    dripping tap in bedroom

    really helpful staff, relaxing

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: