Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pousada Mosteiro de Guimaraes 5 stars

Costa, 4810-011 Guimarães, Portugal

#3 of 27 hotels in Guimarães

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 731 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only weird incident was the appearance of 2 very large dogs by the pool area, walking freely and not belonging to any of the guests ( we were told they are from a neighboring property). They seemed harmless, however our young son was uncomfortable with their presence, and the staff did nothing to remove them from the hotel property.

    This is a phenomenal hotel filled with art and history, it was a privilege to be able to be a guest there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Wonderfull staff, wonderfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. The coffee in the morning was not at the level of the breakfast, but it was ok. 2. Its 20min from the city center by foot so you have to pay 5 euros if you don't want to walk (no biggie, but still)

    Food: The breakfast in the morning was amazing (except the coffee which was maaaa), the diner was amazing. The rooms were impeccable, bathrooms clean and new (which if you consider this is a structure from the 1200) its like sleeping in a well preserved museum but with all the commodities of a new hotel. The staff was spectacular. The dinner was excellent, staff amazing, beautiful comfortable premises at a budget price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Superb stay, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 children until 12 years old)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's probably outside of the hotel's control, but on a couple of evenings the 7-a-side football pitch just outside the hotel boundary generated a considerable amount of noise until very late at night.

    This is a superb historic hotel in a wonderful building with great facilities and highly professional staff. It's like living in a palace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Tranquil retreat in historic Guimarães
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 children until 12 years old)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very little!

    What a building! The staff were so professional and friendly, really exceptional. Excellent breakfast and housekeeping staff, very comfortable rooms, good air con, lovely pool and terrace and good food options eg poolside snacks, courtyard or dining room for dinner. Guimares also absolutely charming and interesting. One of our personal favourites for so many reasons.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    OK stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a double superior room 9 months ago and was allocated a twin which could not be changed to that reserved (and paid for in advance). We were shown a double classic room (monks cell) - although these are atmospheric, they are tiny so we stayed put. Disappointing, considering the advance notice given.

    Comfortable room, quiet location, nice views of the town below

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel, pity we couldn't enjoy dinner in the restaurant as part of the whole experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 children until 12 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    When checking in we asked to have dinner in the restaurant only to be told they were fully booked! We were never advised when booking that we should reserve seats in the restaurant, instead it was suggested we could eat in the bar. When we looked in the bar later, there were comfortable sofas and low tables, not good to eat from, and the only choices were salads, soup, burger, omelette - hardly fine dining - we didn't bother. I still wore my smart dress after showering and while exploring the hotel then we snacked on fruit and trail mix that we'd brought with us! (Reception did phone at 21.30 to say we could have a table but it was too late)

    We booked this hotel in April as a luxury night while traveling around Portugal (I even packed a smart dress just to wear for dinner when we were here) We arrived at 15.45 and first impressions were very good, but... (see below). Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Walking around the hotel and through the older monastery areas and around the gardens was equally impressive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful Pousada experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location overlooking the city. Plenty of parking. Very attentive and helpful staff and service. The entire facility is amazing. Rooms very comfortable and quiet. Highly recommend this pousada.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    I look forward to returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The setting was magestic. The staff were attentive and helpful. The room was comfortable. The food was delicious and creative. A fantastic setting and excellent, unique hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful place to relax, read and reflect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furnishing at the pool area does not reflect the level of the hotel

    It is a beautiful historical building - with its own chapel, extensive grounds with swimming pool and gorgeous public rooms filled with paintings and antique furniture. It is truly like stepping back in time (see my attached photos)! This is an outstanding Pousada high above and overlooking Guimaraes, with all rooms, which are former cells of monks and so not very large but adequate, along either side of a corridor that must be 100 metres long. You can't help being impressed by the sheer size, and grandeur of the public rooms and corridors. Lovely view over the town from the terrace and the working church right next door. Huge gardens, and a nice swimming pool. The staff are most professional and lovely to deal with. Our stay at the hotel was relaxing and very enjoyable and I highly recommend it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    A definite Gem to visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely beautiful! Loved everything about this beautiful Pousada! We stayed in the older section and every step going to our room was like living in the set of Downton Abbey. The grounds are as unique as the church and former monastery. We walked into town and back. Free parking right at the entrance. The bar and dining rooms are elegant and inviting. Don’t miss this gem in Portugal!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful end to a 10 day adventure in Portugal. Lovely way to rest up before heading home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We've experienced hard mattresses all over Europe. These were by no means the hardest, but a bit too hard. Wonderful Portugese linens makes up for it.

    Everything was lovely. there is a peaceful vibe, good for weary travelers, not posh but very distinguished. Wonderful view from our room, bed, bathroom high quality. Like a giant old world living room for cocktails, magnificent dining rooms, old tasteful monastery style. Young people waiting tables were tops. Enjoyed walking the gardens, envying the beautiful pool (not a pool season for us winter weary travelers (April 2018!!!). Parking easy, and once we found the Pousada, easy access to nearby Quimaeres which was a treat, old town, great ambiance, good tapas. Loved it all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    beautiful place with so much history - never stayed anywhere like it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one thing needs improvement in my opinion - the self serve coffee at breakfast was dreadful! Really so bad I could not drink it !! Come on - you have a wonderful restaurant and the breakfast was lovely with lots of local specialities - don't ruin it with such poor coffee. I'm not a tea drinker but I know that the water needs to be freshly boiling not hanging around on a hot plate...

    Wow! I liked everything - the building and its history are fascinating. I loved that you could wander round anywhere and explore the monastery. The gardens were beautiful and would no doubt be even better in summer with more flowers out. The restaurant was so much more than I expected - incredible food, what a chef! The bar was lovely - cosy and beautifully furnished. Easy parking in the large car park ad great views over the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    A fantastic and romantic pousada.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is really good to a marvelous place. I was excited every minute of our two nights stay. Every detail in the pousada is magnificent. The room, lobby, breakfast and above all tne magnificent gardens. The stuff we're extremely friendly and helpful. Don't miss it for the world!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Elegant hilltop location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The thermostat-controlled radiator generated tons of heat, even with a low setpoint. Had to be run manually. Not a big deal. As with all the Pestana properties, the restaurants are way more pricey than the local places.

    Beautiful hilltop location - historic building & grounds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    A unique stay at a beautifully converted monastery
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms with the little windows facing the garden were truly unique. The garden was beautiful and we enjoyed strolling through the property. We arrived late and the front desk staff was so friendly and kind!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place to stay, very calm and not far from Guimarães
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was a bit hard for me Bathroom a bit old but everything working well. Good shower !

    Beautiful old monastery with big rooms ! Very nice dinner and breakfast area. Beautiful gardens and sure it must be a nice swimmimg pool in summertime ! Helpful staff. Nice views ! Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being able to stay longer, and the weather being too wet and blustery to see the gardens.

    Very helpful and friendly staff, excellent breakfast, very comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Lovely venue but early, rainy spring weather did not allow good and proper experience of facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expected a bit better comfort - pillows and room chairs were not too comfortable.

    Interesting facility and location and amazing layout of the monastery. Breakfast was great as well as the lounge. Outdoor gardens and gazebo were nice but weather did not facilitate their enjoyment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Upgraded room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Markup on bottles of wine with dinner was fairly steep.

    Upgraded room. Spacious. Very good breakfasts. Had 2 excellent dinners. Victor Machado was a great help and an ambassador for Pestana hotels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    The experience is wonderful, getting the chance to sleep in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking can be rather small especially if you arrive around dinner time and the restaurant is full. Nevertheless I was not left without a parking space.

    The experience is wonderful, getting the chance to sleep in an old monastery is something else. The staff, facilities and environment are superb, and the breakfast as complete as can be.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Feel like you’re living history, but with more luxury than the monks had!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not really a negative, but just to note that it’s at the top of a hill. I’d suggest catching a taxi (we didn’t drive to Guimarães) if there’s more than one of you, as it’s not much more than catching the public bus that goes closest to the Monastery.

    Beautiful old monastery - the rooms and the grounds were wonderful! The staff were also absolutely lovely and very helpful. It’s not cheap, but I felt like we really got our money’s worth and it was such a relaxing stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent luxury hotel nearby a very nice historical city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The city centre of Guimareas is at about 2 km away from the hotel, so took about 30 min to get there by foot.

    Marvellous historical hotelsite (former monastery) successfully transformed in a contemporary luxury hotel. The staff is very professional and friendly. The old city centre of Guimaraes is worth visiting as Guimaraes is the former capital of Portugal. On the way back from the city centre we took a taxi availble in the city centre for only 5 Euro.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful scenery disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a dinner reservation for the Saturday when we checked in on Wednesday for a 50th anniversary. When we arrived at the dining room we were told there wasn't a reservation and there was no space so we couldn't eat there. After 3 trips to reception and the dining room we were finally seated and the reservation found. The manager blamed this on our poor Portugese and the staffs poor English. And this at an international hotel! Not a good feeling on such a special occasion

    Beautiful building. Stunning views. Quiet area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    A truly wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole experience of staying here was excellent. The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful, and the building is steeped in history. Our room was very comfortable, and dinner in the evening was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Once at pouseda, felt like royalty, given the decor stateliness. But finding the property was hard!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very hard to find the place--didn't realize so far from old city. Will be more focused on whether location requires vehicle to get to town in future! Luckily, a native went out of his way to get us there /the hotel--generally the Portuguese were awesome and helpful, whether we spoke same language or not!

    Spectacular property, with some architechtural features pointed out in their brochure. [ BUT staff could not identify the features when we asked for help locating them!] The old city of Guimares was lovely to stroll /have drinks--but having seen Obidos, Visceu, and Guimares in a sequence their distinctiveness blurred.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    I wouldn’t stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 children until 12 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it is very large it felt austere and not welcoming. I thought the restaurant was over priced.

    Our bedroom was very comfortable. The pousada is a converted monastery and is very large. There is plenty of parking. The breakfast selection is good and they even went the extra mile to make me mushrooms and tomatoes for my toast as I am vegan. Our bedroom was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 children until 12 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately it was a little far from the centre of town for us to walk there in evening.

    The room and many seating areas around the property were excellent as could find sun, shade and quiet at all times. The restaurant at dinner and breakfast was very good. A really impressive building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    A unique posada with a world-beating view and historical elements with a modern, luxurious framework
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting there is not as easy as it might be, even given that posadas are often in settings that are spectacular, but not the easiest to find. Our stand sat nag was defeated, once in Guimaraes: between a helpful policeman and using Google Maps instead, we found our way. The parking is in front, with room for all even when fully booked. If there was a way to 'sign post' the directions more frequently, that would be helpful!

    This is a very special place: if we can figure out how to justify it, going back to Portugal and spending a week there would be a delight. The hotel is a greatly modernized former Augustinian Monastery, overlooking the historically famous city of Guimaraes, crucial to Portugal's historic beginning. The old town is full of historic structures going back to the country's founding days. The rooms are former monk's cells joined together, thoroughly modernized, but with touches of the original remaining— the stones framing a window, a small nook to sit in by a window with the original stonework, and so on. It not only has spacious areas for dining, but other common rooms used for various functions, including weddings/receptions. The room containing the bar (quite small) would itself be a banquet room elsewhere. Some of the original artwork has been preserved, and there is a still functioning chapel in occasional use. You must ask for rooms on the 'fifth' floor: these are the historic rooms of choice. There are more modern elsewhere, but you don't want them in a place like this. Outside there are gardens and walks, an old pool, an old orange grove, and at one end of the 'fifth' floor a lovely, covered outdoor veranda area with some interesting tile work. The original 'cloister' area is still within the posada, with areas of sit. The modern swimming pool is off to one side, easy to get too, and also overlooks the city... Both breakfasts and dinners are excellent, American and European tastes catered to at breakfast, and excellent dinners with a good wine list of the wines of Portugal. The staff is uniformly friendly and helpful: one in particular, Cristina, deserves special mention for her helpfulness and bright personality...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful destination after a hair raising drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The drive in and out is a white knuckle affair. Narrow with many switchbacks and deadly drop offs to the side of the road. Not for the faint of heart.

    Beautiful location overlooking the Douro River. Very nice room if premium selected. Helpful staff. Good food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    I would like to stay longer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the day of arriving there was a wedding and we hardly found place to park. But in the other time - it was ok.

    Room, location, atmosphere. The garden and the pool. I love that they put fruits in the room every day. In our floor I found a book of Photographer Maurício Abreu - I loved it as an art work, but also it tells a lot about Portuguese people. He is an exceptional photographer !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Magic stay in a monastry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a complain, but when you hear that you should make the booking for dinner early, take it seriously! The restaurant is not very large and it is full of people (probably coming also from the city). So, if you do not want to be hungry, make the table booking early :-)

    Contrary to what was written on the booking page, there was no option to have two single beds in a standard room (only double beds). As we preferred to have two single beds, we were upgraded (free) to the superior room. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the surrounding was almost magic. One could almost touch the history there...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    The atmosphere was very special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The atmosphere was very special. Very good beds with wonderfully crisp and clean bedlinen. Good view down to the town with a full moon shining through the big windows....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    The ideal place to enjoy the extravagance of a Pousada
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 children until 12 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Spectacular accommodation with wonderful staff, amazing quality of social areas. The swimming pool was beautiful with stunning views from all aspects of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    A comfortable and serene setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property itself is beautiful, set up on a mountain top. The room was very comfortable and the gardens were beautiful. A wonderful place to visit and stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Splended time in the stillness of the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Splendid scenery over the window, friendly and kind staff and majestic building.....Every thing we saw in this hotel was ideal. Regarding the location, indeed, it has sort of distance to the downtown, but guests will remember as an unforgettable Guimaraes just by spending the time at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect pousada
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a single thing

    impressive historical building full of antiques. You feel like a princess, but you're not on show all the time: there are lots of nooks and secluded corners. Rooms- the cheapest/ are rather small, but well-equipped. Restaurant serves local specialities. Nice gardens with seimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Great converted monastery high above the town with lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no bar available in the hotel during the day until 19.00. You have to go to the snack bar at the pool, which is a short distance away. The church, which is attached, is only open at weekends when it is used for services. As we stayed midweek we were unable visit and to go inside.

    It is a converted monastery with some really lovely touches, wide corridors with high arched ceilings, lovely views as it is high above the town, a lovely large covered verandah at the end of one of the wings with great evening views over the town. The town is lovely as well with a castle, medieval streets, lots of churches, etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    A touch of luxury, ideally situated to explore the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot think of anything

    As all the Pousadas we have stayed in the staff are brilliant. Being allowed to stay in such a historic building is a privelege. Good breakfast and a 15minute walk into town. A taxi back is recommended as its uphill all the way, cost 5 euro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Dominating the mediaeval city of Guimaraes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furnishings are clean but clearly old. The bathroom could clearly do with an update.

    We absolutely loved the charm of the ancient, very well preserved monastery. The immediate surroundings are absolutely fabulous. The rooms are large and airy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Outstanding service, stunning building and bedroom and attractive pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner, although good, was very expensive and had we been staying longer than one night, could have been a problem as there appeared to be no restaurants nearby.

    Outstanding service, including a special welcoming email prior to arrival, stunning building and bedroom and attractive pool area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    A step back in time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were really small. They were however nicely upgraded and very clean. Bed was comfortable. Prices at the hotel for dining were high for this area.

    I loved the historic history of the property the building had such old world charm. The grounds were really special there are several nice trails for lovely morning or afternoon walks with beautiful views from the property. Its only a short taxi ride to the old historic part of town which is wonderful with lots to do and see. This old city has some very good restaurants. I would stay at this property again, but would like a larger room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Incredible..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a room in the new wing of the hotel, not one of the historic rooms. It was a little bigger then those, but any room in this hotel is great. The room was clean, had everything you need and service was outstanding. The wi-fi was a little spotty sometimes in the evening, when everybody was using it. The hotel is about 1.5- 2 KM from Guimaraes. You can walk to city center, but if you have a car is even better. I highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable but not opulent. Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 children until 12 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guiamares itself was a happy surprise - I had booked this hotel more for the experience of staying in a Pousada than for the town, but i actually loved the town! The Pousada is a little distance away from town (not walkable) and it would have been nice to be closer to the center. Even though it was cool to stay in an ex-monastery and everything was comfortable I'm not sure it was really worth it for us.

    This was a unique experience although I think we were staying in the modern addition on the 2nd / 1st floor - I think if possible it would be worth requesting a room on the 5th floor. I liked the outdoor area - the swimming pool, the seating in the courtyards. Breakfast was excellent - the best we had during our trip to Portugal. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    It's great to spend some time in such place where you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's great to spend some time in such place where you can walk as in a museum but with all modern comfort. Beds are perfect. Breakfast is good. In children's room wi-fi worked properly, but in our part of hotel it was only in public area. But public areas are so pleasant place to spent your time in that it is not a complain. Pool has good view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    High above the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The new swimming pool was very useful during our stay as a way of cooling off in the searing heat. The pool bar served some very refreshing drinks. Wifi in the bedrooms in the old part of the hotel didn't work so we moved to a larger room in the new annexe where it did work. The staff were exceptionally helpful at all times.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.5
    Pleasant venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception. There was only one man there and he had to deal with several other clients . No one smiled or greeted us. Need more people smiling!!! Pool towels should be at pool, not at reception. Otherwise all well.

    Bed v comfortable. Dinner very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Spectacular pousada with panoramic views over Guimaraes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing apart from the fact that we had to drive down to Guimaraes as it was too hot to walk and the walk to the town was not very scenic. Nothing to fault with the hotel itself.

    Beautiful historic building and lovely garden. Panoramic views of city from hotel. Plenty of communal space of a high quality. Good service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Unique and great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just OK i would expect more from a 5star hotel

    Very nice and unique atmosphere, friendly staff. Building is amazing, pool is also very nice. I would highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.5
    Hisoric overpriced poised a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are sagging and uncomfortable. The overall decor is stodgy. The restaurant is overpriced for the value. When we asked the desk staff for information on some cultural institutions on the edge of the city center, we were assured they would be open and within easy walking distance from the free downtown parking lots. None were open and the walk to each was insanely long and tedious on steep hills.

    The monastery is quite a stunning property with fantastic views and manicured gardens, a lovely pool and very attentive staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    More than met our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was one of the highlights of our stay in Portugal. The facility was beautiful and the service was excellent. We had a five-course dinner for two for 75 euros. The price of the room was also reasonable for a luxury hotel. Definitely recommend this pousada.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    fantastic value!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    it is not easy to get to the property unless you are the adventurous type

    it is a beautiful setting for the hotel in an old monastery. the public rooms are comfortable and decorated in an appropriate way to the aha if the building. the staff was helpfulnsmand charming. Breakfast which was included was generous and delicious!! couldn't have asked for a better experience

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Beautifully sited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very comfortable.

    Loved the tranquility and location of the hotel. Appreciated the history of the building. Enjoyed walking through the grounds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    A lovely historical and restful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is great but the lunch we had was underwhelming

    this is a beautiful location, there is a gorgeous outdoor terrace where you can watch the sun set over the town. We spent two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the gardens and the property. The staff are efficient and friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    The dinner was delicious, and the atmosphere of dinning room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner was delicious, and the atmosphere of dinning room was very comfortable and cosy. The fireplace in downstairs made the whole building feel like a mountain cabin. Actually yes, it is. The cocks crew and stroll in the village. The stars in the night also made us feel calm. I really like to recommend this house to my friends who want to visit Las Medulas.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.6
    Sojourn in History
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Historic Double or Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointment was our failure to book far enough ahead for the Christmas lunch. I would suggest that the establishment make a greater effort to inform guests of this need.

    It is a privilege to stay in a historic monument of this antiquity in total comfort. With frost outside during our Christmas stay we were cosy in our monk's cell room and throughout the Pousada. A glass of white port by the open fire before dinner was a delight. It was also a privilege to attend Christmas Day mass in the church, with the choir singing up. We walked the grounds and admired the swimming pool, which must be wonderful in summer. I would recommend this establishment unreservedly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    10
    The staff was very helpful and friendly, the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having fresh oranges in the garden, some fresh orange juice at breakfast would have made it even better.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly, the location is amidst nature and very quiet, and the building itself is worth a visit as it's such a beautiful old monastry. The bed was very nice and comfortable... as was the whole room. We also loved the breakfast, which had some local specialities and superb pastry.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    10
    A Beautiful Retreat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have been better. I would have preferred to stay an additional day. Somewhat difficult to find on the maps, so use GPS and watch the turns if possible. Winding and narrow road access at the approprach to the location. Once there, all is forgiven!

    The property is exquisite. You are transported into the 18th century with appropriate furniture, wall hangings, etc. The staff is excellent. The proximity to the historical center is also a plus.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    The place to stay when touring Braga and Guimaraes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This historic monastery on the mountain above the old capital of Portugal is one of the national treasures and today a very comfortable hotel. Wonderful and reasonably priced restaurant so no need to drive to the town center for evening meals.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    Wish we had booked an extra night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, but the pousadas are off the beaten track. We had a taxi into town which only cost 5 euros each way and it was well worth it

    Everything was lovely, including the restaurant. A little expensive but well worth it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.3
    Historic property in a delightful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rom was rather small and plain. The bathroom was very small. We also would like a coffee maker in the room.

    Lovely historic building with much character. The breakfast room and food was especially noteworthy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.1
    Lovely building - indifferent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Historic Double or Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was pretty tiny for a self-described luxury hotel, and the bathroom was the smallest and most cramped we could remember in any hotel. As these were presumably monks' cells we would guess that all the rooms are similar. Only one small chair. Bedside table so small that the telephone had to go on the floor to fit a paperback book. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The wall-mounted television was a 50-plus inch screen which provided a 19 inch picture in the middle - the rest was blackness. Very odd. Breakfast was underwhelming - scrambled eggs and bacon were cold both mornings we were there.

    Good position, with an easy 1 km drive to a free car park on the edge of the town. Wonderful old building, and very spacious everywhere (except the bedroom and bathroom!). Staff helpful. Restaurant food was quite good, but not cheap.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Historic Double or Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor room!! No coffe or tea in the room!! Just basic room . very poor selection of breakfast!!.restaurant is just OK.

    Amazing stracture with nice garden

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    Phantastic historic monastery building
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing to complain about; could not be any better. A tip: leave your car in the parking of the hotel, walk downstairs into town and possibly take a taxi on your way back. Parking space in town is very limited.

    Excellent renovated old monastery in a historic small town, situated wonderfully on a hill above the city; should have a cool evening brise even in hot summer. Lovely rooms in the old monk cells, small windows like they always were, good bathrooms. Great historic rooms in the central house. Good restaurant in the historic halls. Free parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Historical and Luxurious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything about our stay! The rooms were spacious, the linens and towels were luxurious, the staff was extremely helpful, the breakfast was fantastic. The views from the monastery were wonderful and the gardens were peaceful. We had a car and we found this place with no issues. We followed our gps and the signage throughout town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Beautifully restored historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Historic Double or Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a large tour group who had ordered a buffet, which was not as good as courses from the menu.

    Beautifully restored historic building. wonderful grounds and opportunities for walking. Views over country and city. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.1
    Good but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Historic Double or Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar was not open when we went for drinks. Nowhere to sit outside to eat which is a crime in this setting. It's expensive for what you get. It's located a long way out of the main old town. Had to catch taxis to and from, sometimes twice a day. Could not get massages which we were looking forward to.

    The place itself is beautiful. The building is lovely. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.2
    Great service , building and gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attentive and helpful . Spacious room . Restaurant very good and good Pousada menu at €33 excellent value for money . Historic building with lots to see .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    6.3
    Shabby Treatment In Beautiful facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor dining room management. When we complained that a Japanese tour had virtually all of the early seating we were told that we should have called in advance.

    The old building is fabulous, but difficult to get to. Overall a nice facility

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.2
    A beautiful historic Pousada
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to book dinner on first night until 9.30, which was too late after a long day travelling. Formal structures of the gardens was rather tired, but they did have some lovely old specimen trees.

    Beautiful old building on hillside overlooking the town. Some wonderful old reception rooms decorated in the traditional of the building. Lovely outdoor pool (although a bit too chilly!).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    Truly exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is perfect, just a little difficult to drive to, and away from.

    Such a hotel would be the highlight of any trip. "Fabulous" seems to be an understatement. A fantastic building, in which you see loads of other clients wandering around taking photos of room after beautiful room. Dinner and breakfast both very good. Good WiFi. Friendly and efficient personnel. We highly recommend, and will go back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    8.3
    Lovely place but poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find. Confusion over its name they have two !!! Dinner not bookable even on arrival. Very slow bar service drinks and especially food.

    Fantastic building

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.2
    Magnificent pousada!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the old section where the rooms are a bit cramped and the bathroom is small. Difficult to find the hotel because the booking.com address is incorrect and there are two names to this pousada.

    This is the nicest pousadas we have ever stayed in. It is a spectacular historical building on an amazing property. Take a stroll through the gardens, relax at the pool and enjoy the excellent dinner restaurant and breakfast buffet. The bedsheets were the softest that we have ever experienced in a hotel! Best value for the money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    8.8
    Great place, odd staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff can be more accommodating: a friend gave me a wine bottle to taste (I am a sommelier in Italy) and when I asked the barman to lend me the cork opener, he refused as there was just one opener in the bar! I proposed to leave the room number and I was more then happy to return it immediately. The barman refused and offered to escort me to the room, open the wine... It was quite clear he did not trust me to return the opener... For this kind of hotel is a real rude behavior.

    This is a monastery dating back to the XVII/XVIII century, perfectly restored to be a very elegant sober peaceful hotel. perfect for my wife, she is a Ph.D. Art history. If you are lucky to find the church open, have a look!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    10
    Marvellous stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Historic Double or Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room, but that's part of the layout of the ancient monastery. The booking adress was not accurate for our gps. Dinner rather expensive but delicious.

    Lovely salons, bar, garden and patio with respect for the historic heritage. Good but simple breakfast with friendly personnel and staff. Marvellous location!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.6
    I just put this place on my girlfriend's bucket list
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I probably still have to get used to the Portuguese cuisine.

    A fantastic interior with an equally fantastic view. Once I arrived, I didn't want to leave the hotel. The breakfast matches the high expectations! Check if there is a free table to sit outside! The staff was very helpful! And spoke good English!

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pousada Mosteiro de Guimaraes traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: