Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pousada de Bragança - Sao Bartolomeu

Bragança, 5300-271 Bragança, Portugal

#8 of 25 hotels in Bragança

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 576 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    It would be unfair to level any criticism.They all went the “extra mile” to make our stay so enjoyab
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the dinner but would have preferred a somewhat simpler meal.

    We thought that the breakfast and breakfast room were both lovely. An extremely enjoyable visit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    This is a lovely oasis of calm with beautiful views over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This is a lovely oasis of calm with beautiful views over Braganca castle. There was great attention to detail and it is obviously finding its feet. I hope it succeeds and we would definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Very stylish and a real treat to stay as part of a tour,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We counted 6 amuse bouches before the meal got going. All delightful plus yet another before the dessert! It did however take over 3 hours and left us exhausted, tired and hungry…..We took the breakfast - not good value at €12 but there are no close alternatives.

    Fantastic view of Citadel and old city across the valley. Superb evening meal but it was a little too extended. Lovely large circular pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Hotel is perfectly located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is perfectly located. We had the suite, facing the old Braganza fort. The staff were warm and welcoming. The owner, Antonio and his brother, chef Oscar, prepared a wonderful dinner for us. Went the distance to ensure we enjoyed the wines, food selection and preparation. Took time to discuss with us on the area and history. Fantastic host. We will visit again, without a doubt.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay. Need to pay attention to the breakfast offering.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food in the restaurant was good but maybe too adventurous in some of the ingredients used in its modern twist on the traditional! Breakfast coffee was awful! Some of the cold meats and cheeses in the breakfast buffet were cut so thin that they started to dry up.

    Beautiful location and lovely grounds. Being situated on a hill, the views from the spacious room were superb. The staff were very welcoming and attentive. The pool was very welcome in the hot weather.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Just lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a great find. This is a very comfortable property. The superior rooms are very spacious and seem to be newly appointed. The bathrooms are a little older but had all the necessary amenities. The pool was nice after a long and warmish motorcycle ride. You’re a bit of a captive tourist as it is a little way out of town to get to other restaurants and If you’re there for the castle it’s a bit of a hike. The night we stayed the meal at the restaurant was superb!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful view from our balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Stunning view looking over Braganca. Very comfortable hotel. Huge bed. Lovely looking pool - didn't go in. Can walk to castle and along the river. Fabulous breakfast - buffet style. Relaxing place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    If I return to this city I will look for another hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet seat broken in room; hair dryer broken in room (though replaced when I complained); Waste bin in public facilities outside breakfast room had not been cleared from previous day Sunday morning. Whilst the single member of staff on duty Saturday night was excellent, this was not to Pousada standard in the level of staffing either Saturday night or Sunday morning.

    Restaurant and food both evening and breakfast was excellent - good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Grest rooms to accompany a gastronomic meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only potential issue would be that the evening meal is a little on the epic side and a tad expensive. This does not mean that I think the meal is not worth it, as the price included 7 (!) oils to taste with bread, two amuses bouches (both very, very good) before starter 7 mains and a pre-dessert before the main dessert. All of this is good, and we enjoyed it immensely, but it was unexpected and it could be difficult if you just wanted a "meal" to round off the day.

    I have stayed here previously, but the rooms have undergone a very good upgrade and are excellent. Beautiful views over the city from the balcony. Service from all the staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and good. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We ate dinner in the restaurant, which was of a good standard. and interesting menu. Location is good, as can park up here with a 20 minute walk (much uphill on the way back!) to the town. Breakfast good, also. No faults immediately apparent for a one night stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, with an unusual and enjoyable if expensive dining experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the short overnight stay we had no time to dislike anything

    This was our first, and probably only visit to Braganza (from England). We like to see new places but would be glad for any friends to stay at your hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.0
    Overlooking Bragança below this Pousada is modernised and just fine, like the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to breakfast room was surprisingly far from our room 402 despite being just underneath. But we still have legs and the breakfast delightful. Could have done with a jaccuzzi for full relaxation

    The restaurant is exceptional, not cheap, but then quite an experience! Too cold to swim, but there is lovely pool. Good walking just above the hotel.. Views from our room are delightful. Parking good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Great restaurant and maitre d'. Hotel is comfortable and reasonable value for money.d
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in process was very poor. I arrived just behind another couple of guests and the receptionists disappeared for 20mins to take them to their room leaving me waiting while two other staff/managers who could see me just sat in the office talking.

    The food at the restaurant and maitre d' where fantastic, definitely worth a staying at the hotel for. The common area/bar area is also very cosy and views of the castle and town are great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Rewarding weekend: comfortable stay at the Pousada & 3 different cultural places to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast...visually not terribly appealing & I was not so keen on the variety of fresh fruit on offer. A very good view to the garden & pools. Staff, again, very helpful & attentive.

    I enjoyed the attitude of the staff - VERY helpful, the decor & the view from my bedroom. Dinner was excellent / gourmet / with one of the staff explaining to my English friend the ins & outs of our experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Wanted to stay longer
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that was disappointing was the coffee with breakfast.

    On arrival the staff were very helpful in showing us our rooms, explaining where the restaurants were for dinner as well as breakfast, the room was even allocated a bed for our dog! The bar area was very welcoming after a long journey through the Portuguese mountains, coffee log fire and a small beer perfect. After walk around the town with helpful advice from the staff where to go, we then had a fantastic dinner, in the hotel restaurant with the best food I have ever had and that's coming from an ex chef!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Excellent. A ‘Must Stay’ hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything about our three night stay was a delight. We were excellently welcomed by reception staff and found our Superior room excellent too: large, light, very comfortable beds, lovely bed linen, brilliant view from balcony. Perfect - and the whole hotel has been refurbished really well. On our first night we had the most excellent, imaginative, creatively cooked meal (Thanks, Oscar) and we enjoyed talking to Antonio (co-owner with brother Oscar) and responded to his passion for food, wine, the region and his hotel. Attention to detail is central to everything they and their staff do. Parking is on site, the walk down into town is only 10 minutes and the location is another bonus. We can’t recommend this hotel enough.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    World class cuisine and service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    There was a warm welcome on arrival. The evening meal was one of the best of my life, and I'm retired! The attention to detail, the outstanding customer service and award winning cuisine. Extensive wine list. I particularly liked the fact that no guests appeared to have dogs with them,,a big no no in a quality establishment!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful room, good location to the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meal was very good, but we felt a bit too precious in that we were given several amuse bouche which we would have preferred not to have. The waiter was informative and helpful about choices, but having your napkin placed on your lap with a pair of tongs, and the wearing of gloves for service is not something we would choose.

    The bedroom was spacious and newly decorated, comfortable bed and balcony with view of the Castle.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    3.8
    Terrible given the dog regulations - never seen that before anywhere and I travel extensively.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is NOT pet/dog friendly whatsoever!! I had to carry my dog to the room sometimes. Could not use hotel bar or restaurant either, or pool etc etc etc Upon checking in we were asked to sign off a separate sheet of 30 odd dog regulations. The attitude is one off not customer service but "look we are doing you a favour". Room balcony is a health hazard/dangerous - be careful. Railing is very low. Room service options are poor and very expensive. Hotel is 70's style and difficult to get around without getting lost.

    Room was ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Took a long detour to book into this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A stay of only one night.

    Took a long detour to book into this hotel again. The evening dinner is exceptional, as is the attentiveness of the staff. An unforgettable experience to be relished and remembered until your next visit!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    Great restaurant which is just as well as it is nearly 200...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to get to hotel was a nightmare as Booking.com give a wrong address on their site. Please change for the benefit of other people trying to drive there.

    Great restaurant which is just as well as it is nearly 200 steps to get down into the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful views, nice staff, good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit poor, I was surprised after our great dinner at the hotel. No warm options available, only few pastries and cold cuts. Fruits were fresh, but very limited. They had a fair variety of bread, but the toaster was broken...

    The hotel has great views of the town and the castle. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent, the staff was remarkably nice. Beautiful swimming pool. Pretty calm, not crowded. Very quiet in the night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.3
    Great view from the room (our room was on the top floor),
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The doors do not isolate sound well.

    Great view from the room (our room was on the top floor), Very nice breakfast, with eggs made to the exact point.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    The Pousada de Braganca Sao Bartolomeu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Improved signage to the hotel would be appreciated. It's nowhere near Sao Bartolomeu - the hill and chapel which is where our satnav took us.

    The Pousada de Braganca Sao Bartolomeu Is easier to find from town centre, we didn't. We went up the hill to the saint (as you do) And found the hotel signs hidden. Fairly expensive but a very nice hotel, With a great view and pool for a swim. For our two night stay, it did very well One of the nicest hotels we've been in. The restaurant bar D. Fernando Is excellent value for money. In (very) old Braganca, if you go, It's in the shade when it's sunny. We had excellent food and wine, Prosciutto ham starters and mains Great fish (wife's) and lamb (mine). For two days of Braganca's Medieval Castle, town, themed celebrations The formed the overall festival. We dined in the alley with all nations But, curiously, very few English. It's about pig roasts, actors rousting Which should appeal to the British Especially the fighting and jousting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable hotel with excellent dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning position overlooking Braganca Castle from the dining terrace and bedroom. Superb meal with sophisticated and very efficient service; chef's 3 mise-bouches were to die for. Very friendly, efficient staff who were very helpful. Newly refurbished room very comfortable Town's new cathedral disappointing, but would return for the meal alone. Gilbert Mc Ginn

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing pousada with spectacular views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited car parking spaces on site Quality of coffee at breakfast

    Beautiful view of citadel from private balcony and restaurant Friendly staff Spacious and comfortable room Inventive menu The town is not on the main tourist trail

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    5.4
    Lack of information
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was being renovated when we arrived, and the restaurant and bar were closed. It would have been helpful if someone had told us this before we arrived. Our room was upgraded, but only because the normal rooms were all being renovated. Overall the staff were nice and helpful, but the lasting impression is the smell of wet paint.

    The view from the bedroom was very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful views and excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The steep path into the town would not be suitable for elderly or infirm travellers. The restaurant is over-fussy and therefore expensive. It would be better to provide alternative simpler cuisine.

    Beautiful views from rooms and common areas. Excellent service in all areas.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Good location and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location just outside the historic area. Comfortable rooms and excellent views of the castle and the old town. Parking is free and plentiful. We did not eat at the hotel. Staff was very helpful with directions and suggestions. A very good value.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.3
    Wonderful restaurant in quite an old building (that hopefully will improve in the future)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As said, the inside of the building is rather simple and in part worn out; but try to overlook that at this moment and let us watch and possibly enjoy the future development. They really do have great, great chances ( and I am quite shure they will try their best to take them).

    Building and rooms in the style of the 1960's, a lot of wood and carpets, much of it even somewhat worn out, but will surely be renovated step by step by the new owners : HEREFORE 8 to 8.3 points. BUT - THE RESTAURANT IS SURELY EXQUISITE AND ALSO surely worth a stay overnight, it is really excellent. The new ranking in the Guide Michelin 2016 IS completely justified. They really try a lot and really want to satisfy their guests. And on the whole certainly no cheap or low but sensible prices. FROM ME THE RESTAURANT GETS 9.5 POINTS !!! And will surely improve in the future as they have very good basics and are striving to go on.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    The Pousada is creating a take on modern Portuguese food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Pousada is creating a take on modern Portuguese food using local ingredients. The service at dinner was excellent and the food fascinating. Not every dish worked but it was great fun trying. An experience in a remote corner of northern Portugal. The town is lovely with some wonderful sights. A fascinating local museum and castle. All in all to be recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    A beautiful hotel in beautiful Bragança
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent room, location, swimming pool, dinner

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Very spaceous bedroom and bathroom and beautiful view !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed a walk in shower

    Very spaceous bedroom and bathroom and beautiful view !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all perfect

    Great hotel in great location. Staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble, great family hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    a real personal touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a real personal touch

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    The view was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what it was

    The view was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    If in the vicinity will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    It was very difficult to fault. All the staff spoke English, the evening meals were exceptional as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Restaurant was exceptional - a foodie destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Restaurant was exceptional - a foodie destination View of Braganca castle from room balcony was also outstanding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    The gourmet restaurant and the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was spartan.

    The gourmet restaurant and the view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    The second time we stay in the hotel, really great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little far from the city center. Not so bad.

    The second time we stay in the hotel, really great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location with a great view of Bragança Castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom need an upgrade.

    Great location with a great view of Bragança Castle. Nice bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Very good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large bed

    Very good restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    We will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff, large bright rooms and superb restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel for weekend
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, clearness, overall confort. Beautiful landscape view from the window.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful city and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could not be properly heated.

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Excellent ambience.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent ambience. Good helpful staff. Enjoyed my stay and will definitely go again and again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    superb location , unusually good restaurant - Braganca itself rather disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast a bit skimpy and not enough staff to serve coffees etc

    wonderful views - restaurant v good - first night excellent - second less so

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    The views from the room and restaurant are incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from the room and restaurant are incredible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Pousada at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. This is a top place

    Friendly, spacious, superb staff, great meal and excellent view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Braganca is a charming place to explore and the view of the castle after dark is a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The staff were brilliant. The food in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful Poussada accommodation perfect staff so very helpful at all times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything to dislike

    Amazing views of the surrounding area including the castle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    The standard of the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The standard of the food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    The restaurant was closed, and the nearest one was quite ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was closed, and the nearest one was quite drive away

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is a work in progress but the staff were very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a work in progress but the staff were very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect, excellent gourmet dinner as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect, excellent gourmet dinner as well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    7.1
    Li
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tired

    View

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    6.7
    Beware you may not be able to get dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dinner available for residents because of party of non-residents

    Parking for camper van because arrived early.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.6
    The food and wines were excellent and worth the high price.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food and wines were excellent and worth the high price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    10
    Rooms have wonderful views of the old town and the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave.

    Rooms have wonderful views of the old town and the castle. Treat yourself to one of the taster menus which also include wine, they are excellent and very good value. The hotel director and head chef are brothers and ensure that you wont be disappointed.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    10
    You come for the view (of the castle), yet everything else...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing! It's a bit old-fashioned (but well-refurbished & comfortable) & might not be to everyone's taste but it suits the town & the region.

    You come for the view (of the castle), yet everything else is great, too. I was ill in the morning & the staff were great: they gave my husband a tray to bring some breakfast to me & allowed us to check out 2 hours late to give me a chance to get better before heading off. We'd come back to the region just to stay at this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    10
    Antonio, the manager understands customer service completely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Antonio, the manager understands customer service completely. He was so helpful and knowledgeable. Food is local and great, wine is local and doesn't give you a hangover! Not as attractive from the outside as other pousadas but makes up for it in so many other ways!

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.6
    Exceptional food and wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exceptional food and wine. Without doubt the very best we had during 10 days touring.Northern Spain and Portugal. The best table service I have ever experienced. Incredible value for money.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    9.6
    Friendly welcome, nice room, everything worked, lovely views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking on cobbles for our motorcycle slightly tricky.

    Friendly welcome, nice room, everything worked, lovely views of Braganca from our balcony. breakfast good. Much better than the Parador we stayed in the night before.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.9
    Excellent view of the citadel, 20 minutes walk away through...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As with most pousadas it seems to need bringing up to date. Would have been nice to have a separate shower rather than one over a narrow bath. No room safe.

    Excellent view of the citadel, 20 minutes walk away through town. Large room. Very clean. No real issues, but could do with updating.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.3
    It is well worth staying here to experience the amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is well worth staying here to experience the amazing dinner! We stopped off overnight on our way to the ferry at Santander. We had a tasting menu costing €32.50 which was superb value and included drinks. A very warm welcome from the Manager. The views of the castle and old walled city are beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    9.6
    Good location within short walk of both the castle and old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathrooms could do with updating.

    Good location within short walk of both the castle and old town. Pool and its surroundings were a peaceful (when we visited) place to relax. Original 1950s decor in communal areas.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    9.6
    I loved that the hotel was built in 1959 and has managed to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I loved that the hotel was built in 1959 and has managed to remain original to that period with grace and elegance. It was like stepping back in time. Nothing was too much trouble. The taster menu was excellent along with the accompanying wines.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    8.3
    Great location overlooking the town, with large comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant is a bit OTT... 2 amuse bouches before the main dish which was very small for the price. However, the waiting staff were lovely and this would be a good choice if money was no object....

    Great location overlooking the town, with large comfortable rooms with balconies

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    7.5
    Lack of foot access to town - a steep earth path, difficult...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of foot access to town - a steep earth path, difficult carrying anything and probably dangerous if wet. A gate to the track at the bottom of the site is needed by those not bringing a car.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    8.8
    The views from the balcony are marvelous;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints at all, really.

    The views from the balcony are marvelous; very nice to be within easy walking distance of the ancient, walled section of the city; lovely walks along the river; the 'Solar' restaurant in town by the cathedral; ease of parking; the pool looks very inviting (though it was too cold for us to swim in mid-April, when we visited).

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    9.2
    Pool was cold but lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bit of a walk into the town but manageable.

    Pool was cold but lovely. Views to die for. Breakfast was fab. Staff extremely friendly. Intercommunicating rooms for families.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    9.6
    The size of the "superior room", the quality of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast, although plentiful, is somewhat limited in choices.

    The size of the "superior room", the quality of the bathroom, the warm atmosphere, the grand common room with a hearth slowly burning wood, the architecture from the late fifties, friendly staff, the wonderful view over the castle, the city and the distant snowy mountains already in Spain.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic restaurant and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pricey

    Fantastic restaurant and staff!

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    6.7
    Do Restaurante excelente.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    guardafatos diminuto

    Do Restaurante excelente.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    7.5
    Perfect spot overlooking the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cold and a little dingy in the lounge area

    Perfect spot overlooking the old town

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: