Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pouso Dos Anjos

Rua dos Anjos, 31, Arroios, 1150-034 Lisbon, Portugal

#285 of 343 B&Bs and Inns in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 361 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I woulld have liked that the people at reception had told me about facilities available at the hotel and a bit more information about the subway.

    The bed was ok, the room clean, the neighborhood a little far from downtown walking but there was the subway station "Intendente" very near. I recommend to ask the people at the desktop about facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no lift, so carrying bags by the stairs up to the 3rd floor can be tiresome!

    Pouso Dos Anjos is not 4 or 5* accommodation but it is clean, central and with some very friendly and helpful staff. In my view it provides basic but entirely satisfactory accommodation and is excellent value for money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hostel exceeds all possible expectations!It's like a paradise in the middle of Lisbon with a secret garden on 2nd floor.Perfect cleanness, oriental fragrances and decors.Will be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very old hotel, my room was tiny and had no view, I could only see a wall from my window...wifi didn't work from my room, had to go to the lobby

    the garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s getting old and needs updating. The linens were clean, but the blankets had cig burns in them. The mattress was getting lumpy. Weirdest of all was the room set up. We got a ‘quadruple with shower’ and thought it meant private bathroom. Our bad for not reading completely. What we got was 4 beds in one room and on a platform in the corner a clear glass enclosed shower, a sink and a bidet. No walls. As a group of unrelated adults this was useless and incomprehensible. Who wants to be on display while they shower? Why a bidet but no toilet? Why no wall? There was a decent bathroom down the hall but the confusion is real. For a married couple it might be okay just because the location was so good but for us - just weird.

    The location was excellent- an easy walk to the historical center, very close to the metro. The rooms were clean and neat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place its very coold, the towels and bed sheets change every 3 days, before you get charged, you can hear everything from outside off you room.

    location, and Recepcionist

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    O

    Everything the friendly staff the room has own terrasse garden breakfast was not included but you can have it for extra payment the staff also keep our luggage after check out for free i will come back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did NOT look like the photos!!!! The shower hose and tiles were extremely dirty and disgusting. Not worth €291 we paid for 2 nights.

    Nice garden terrace

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Property was run down. No headboard. Lockers stained. Shower curtain grubby. . Hard toilet paper. Lock on bathroom door similar to what one would find in a public toilet. Toilet paper in an industrial holder. Chain lock on door had been installed upside down, so would not work as it is meant to. Extra for daily cleaning/bedmaking if required, which we did not use. We left room in perfect condition. This was way overpriced as for extra 35 euro a night we could have booked a reasonably good hotel. Location a bit seedy. Extra charge for cleaning of room after our departure. No refund if canx as it was so called "special deal" . Would have moved elsewhere otherwise.

    We liked the bed. It was a new mattress and very very comfortable. Breakfast basic but good value for money. ( Breakfast was not included in quote). Metro station very close by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old tarted up building, paper thin, walls mouldy bathroom, noisey at all hours, but a good shower and a bed for the night.

    Due to the previous booked accomodation being double booked and not available, this was last minute last room in town situation, so perserveered.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a DUMP, an expansive DUMP, that should not even be listed on booking.com!

    There is nothing to like in this place except for one staff member who was friendly and hospitable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Complementary shower gel and shampoo would have been lovely, but I guess most travellers do bring their own. Light infiltration from the window pane above the door despite it having been painted over in white, but bearable.

    The location is good and downtown is easily accessible on foot or the near by metro station, tram and bus stops. In the area are a lot of cafes and restaurants that offer excellent food for a reasonable price. Pouso dos Anjos is in an old building with period charm and our room on the 2nd floor facing the back garden had a original décor ceiling and wooden floors. It was equipped with the basics like TV, fridge, air conditioning, wardrobe, desk with chair and en suite bathroom. It was nice and quiet during our stay, but could potentially be noisy due the original wooden doors and floors Not a luxury hotel, but a very comfortable stay in a good clean hostel. Extra bonus is the garden with its trees and the shade they offer. We spend to 2 nights and had no complaints. Most hours during the day were spend exploring amazing Lisbon. Paid parking is available on the road and free after 19.00 until 9.00. Maximum stay is 4 hours, but reception offer to move your car for you and buy a new parking ticket.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a mouldy smell that hits you as soon as you enter the guest house. The male receptionist on duty the night we arrived said the smell was part of the 'character' of the building. But that's simply unacceptable. The foyer needs upgrading. The grimy couch needs to be reupholstered and the the armchair cushions need to be replaced. The carpet on the stairs is dirty and, perhaps, contributes to the bad smell in the lobby. Then the mattresses were sub-standard. I had to use both bedspreads to pad the mattress so that the barely-covered springs wouldn't hurt my back. Despite constant requests to replace the mattresses, it took 3 days before we got better ones. A decent mattress is not a luxury. It's a fundamental right - even in a guest house. On arrival, there were no towels in the room but when we asked we got them from the receptionist. Three days later, we had to ask for them to be changed! There was a notice in the bathroom stating that there was a cost of €2 for clean towels. But this was waived. We got 1 more set of towels each. Then the breakfast was unappetizing. The cereal was left open in a bowl. It should have been placed in a covered jar. I didn't have breakfast. All complaints sent by email were referred to bookings.com. The presumed owner of the establishment did not pay us the courtesy of responding to us directly, except on one occasion when we were chastised for complaining.

    The garden was lovely! Some of the staff were quite belpful, particularly the female receptionist on the day shift. The location was excellent, in walking distance to some of the city's attractions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasnt good for me, and the fact that it is not included also.

    I liked the comfort and the kindness of the Staff, also it was a good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds arent the most comfortable but it's very fine.

    I loved this place. The reviews scared me off a bit at first but once i got there it was unexpected. It was pretty easy to get there, and the location is just a 10 minute walk from the city center. It's a pretty cool place! Loved the garden! And shockingly, very strong wifi!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is lovely. I stayed for one night and it wasn't noisey and comfortable place to get your head down. The staff are so friendly and welcoming. They helped us a lot by printing off our boarding passes and let us use a plug converter! The garden is another bonus - a chilled place to hang out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    second bed was comically squeaky

    Very basic... adequate in most ways. Similar to other simple, "residencial"-style places but more expensive then most. If everything is sold out, you can stay here and not suffer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Friendliness of all the staff. Extremely welcoming especially when we arrived late. Joao very informative too. Bathroom was excellent, especially the powerful shower. Perfect for short city stay. As Lisbon has so much to offer there was very little need / desire to stay in the hotel which served its purpose. Very close to a wide range of good value cafes and restaurants especially in the back streets. Close by is Intendente metro station and only 20 mins walk to the old parts. If travelling light take metro from airport, 25 mins.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxes, out of the price. There are'nt good idea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air condition, Long black hairs in my bed. The room and hotel is very worn.

    Near by the Metro station. Okay for one or two nights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was amazing to have a full bathtub in the washroom and the secret rooftop garden was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and lovely garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No heating system, just an AC but not very efficient.

    Location is good, communication with staff is also good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows smelled like smoke.

    The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So dirty and noisy place

    I didn't like anything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location friendly staff garden

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a little dark but comfortable & quiet.

    Marta the receptionist was wonderful. Very helpful, knowledgeable & professional.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was great and staff very friendly and helpfull. I will come back, soon.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced, inefficient and noisy rooms without private bathrooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    no ceiling fans, toiletries, ambience.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what you got, small room no bathroom, lots of stairs

    Staff were helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff members were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very hard, too hard!

    The place was extremely clean, floors were superclean!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far overpriced

    The location of the guest house

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Good, staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were friendly, efficient and thoughtful, as well as helpful. Good sense of humour,treated us like people first and then paying guests. The garden was a wonderful addition to the experience.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms are not really sound isolated, so at night you could hear pretty clearly what some "neighbours" were doing, as if they are in your room.

    Nice location of the hotel. The room was quite spacious, as well as the bathroom. The subway is pretty close, city centre distance walkable in 10-15 min. The guys at the front desk are quite nice and friendly. My flight was in the late afternoon, so I could leave my luggage and pick it up later.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You have to pay for your sheets, room, and towel to be cleaned. Towel is for hire, cheaper to buy one. A double bed is two separate beds.

    Front office was helpful, location near many restaurants, very good wifi.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our room was facing the street, which quite noisy during the night, even though it is not the main road... If you manage to get a room facing the garden, I think this place is a really good deal!

    Great garden to relax and have a breakfast, close to the subway -> easy to get around.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some staff were not very helpful. Unclear about the breakfast possibilities. Quite noisy building but probably because of being an old house. Our room had no real window.

    Price is totally ok and location as well.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Couple

    The general dust in the room

    It was quiet and peacefull

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Everyone was pleasant and helpful

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Didn't provide a towel. Bed was terrible. No lift.

    Location, cheap, and good internet. Backyard is very nice chill spot.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    our room faced the garden and we woke up to bird song!

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location close to Metro.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, value for money

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great hotel with a small garden on the 2nd floor. Good value and good location to travel to centre of Lisbon. Rooms are quiet.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great service!

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Pouso Dos Anjos traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: