Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Praia Mar 4 stars

Rua do Gurué, 16, 2775-581 Carcavelos, Portugal

#19 of 22 hotels in Carcavelos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1151 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.7

  • Comfort

    5.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    5.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and entire rooms smelled, I moved to another room it smelled also, old hotel, poor WiFi, you defiantly need an auto.

    Near the ocean and a small shopping center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was really really bad.. Everything in the hotel interior is worn down and old. There was a bad smell everywhere too. I could not wait to get out of that place.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    My friends travelling with me did report their opinion that the quality of the breakfast did vary from day to day; some days very good, other days limited choice. The hotel is showing its age a little, but I still felt it was value for money for what we ordered. I'm afraid some of the other hotel guests were very noisy and so some disturbed sleep at night or early in the morning. Some people don't seem to realise the etiquette of not shouting to each other at the other ends of the corridor; they appear to think they're the only people staying. Would have preferred a balcony room rather than one at the back which isn't a good view.

    Very close to the beaches and just around the corner were several restaurants and bars which were good value. Particularly Avenida 5 bar, where the staff and owner made us feel very welcome and became our 'local of choice' during our stay. The Italian restaurant was good - but nearly all veggie options so meat lovers be aware. The Chinese restaurant was also very good value for money. Good supermarket further around the corner of the hotel, in the shopping centre next door to the Riviera hotel - very good bargains on Portuguese wine. Shortish walk to the railway station so you can visit Cascais, Estoril and Lisbon easily - trains run until about 2-3am for those night owls. Just up the road outside the hotel (on the way to walking to the railway station) is the stop for the Lisbon sightseeing bus - very handy; ask at reception for departure times. We were early in the season and so the pool etc wasn't open. They looked to be renovating part of the hotel while we were there, but we were not disturbed by any noise or dust etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel and rooms look nice in the website pictures but they are not true or real. The people stayed there had bad and unhappy experience. old rooms,, smelly and poor cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very old place... very old staff... I was at reception waiting for someone until I decide to call the hotel and even that took some minutes more...The tv on the room was 20 years old! For the money was very poor! The pool was not open and not clean. To go from the car parking to the reception you go up and down in stairs with your luggage and there’s no staff to help you.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was done to renovate this hotel since the 50s. Everything was pretty old and shady. The pool was also not ready for our stay. The beds are awful, and it took us 3 days to get a mattress topper.

    This hotel was close to the sea which is why we picked it. The closest beach was a nice on and good for surfing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels... now I’m not a snob but those towels are good for drying my dogs and that’s about it. Very worn and in need of new ones. Even if the towels were updated the hotel would be a lot nicer. The bathroom door handle didn’t work and was fitted incorrectly, then there is the drainage smell in the entrance of the hotel. That’s the main area with seats and large tv always showing sports but no one was there because of the bad smell. However it isn’t anywhere else in the hotel thankfully.

    The proximité to the beach is a 2 minute walk, beaches are sandy, some rocks, ideal for surfing or kids to play in. The hotel it’s self is a little tired, I’m sure when it was first opened maybe in the 80’s it was magnificent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a double bed and when I arrived to the room the bed was separeted very unconfortable to sleep with that division in my back plus pillows very low quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The interior has an odour and the furnishing is old. Bed was hard and TV, old type, is small and did not work.

    Great sea view from the restaurant. Really hot water and good pressure in the shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door required to be closed forcefully to be able to lock. Difficult when departing room early not to create noise for neighbors.

    Staff in restaurant were amazing, thanks Alex👌 So helpful in choosing local dishes to complement our experience of Portugal! Spacious, comfortable room with large ensuite, excellent when travelling with children. Fantastic location, loved walking to beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets, walls and rooms were filthy. Beds old and uncomfortable. Staff grumpy. Appalling. You shouldn’t take bookings for this property it is a scam

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually the price seems to be quite high for what you get

    The location and the view is just awesome. Hotel itself deserves better maintenance, but maybe it can be my impresion caused by very few people and these "off-season" feeling.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel appeared t be under renovation. The rooms we were given had not been renovated. They were very dated, the carpet on the floor was very tired, the lock on my door was difficult to operate (with a standard key), only one of the two elevators was in operation, and the WiFi did not work on our floor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shoddy room/bathroom doors (and handles). Dirty balcony, the AC unit on it seemed like it may fall. Wi-Fi didn't work most of the time. 30 years old CRT TV unit. Overall, it seemed like this may have been a nice hotel some 20/30 years ago, but it has been poorly maintained since.

    Great location and view. Spacious room with decent bathroom. Acceptable breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romance by the Sea
    • Stayed 4 nights

    DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL. Paid £130 for one night and left the next morning. This hotel is awarded 4 stars but in reality deserves 1.5 stars maximum. Issues: - outdated hotel (possibly not updated in over 20 years) with stained tiles in pool (didn't dare enter it as it looked infectious) - lumpy useless pillows - smelly bathroom - TV was about 20 years old with a hole burnt in the top - Hopeless concierge who seemed to know how bad the hotel was but didn't compensate with better service - breakfast just about OK. (for the money, no gym, no facilities e.g. spa / sauna / entertainment / kids play areas) Ultimately we moved to a proper 5 star hotel the next day and paid only 20 or 30 pounds extra per night. If they charged £30 a night it would have been acceptable. Worst value for money I have ever gotten from a hotel

    The location close to the nearest good beach to Lisbon was the only good feature.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    4 stars is to much. Dirty windows and carpet. Tasteless breakfasts.

    Great location. Ocean view room. Helpful service. Restaurant located on on the 8th floor with wonderful view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is poor quality; processed meats and orange squash instead of real juices. Quality of rooms and bathroom is poor. Overall very tired looking and building in somewhat of a state of disrepair.

    Location; beautiful views and close to the beach..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not ready on time and we had to wait 1 hour. we were compensated with a sea view room except we weren't planning to stare out the window but could have done with that hour on the beach as we had planned, so a bit redundant. The lunch/dinner was 23 euros pp which was expensive, so we tended to eat out and save. There was no kettle inside the room, which would have been a bonus.

    The room was spacious and clean. The views for breakfast were breathtaking. The beach was only 5-10 minutes away. The staff during breakfast were very thoughtful and kind.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Probably the worst hotel I've stayed in a long time. It's extremely run down and a very tired vibe over the whole building. They renovated the lobby a little bit so the booking.com photos look ok. Breakfast is terrible but the view amazing.

    Locations is good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel from the 70s. It does not deserve 4*, nor 2*. It feels like a time travel. The pictures show much better view then the reality. Would not recommend to anybody.

    Staff was friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lampshades falling off the wall. Carpets always dirty. Old TV with minimal channels Old decor Plug socket was loose on wall Not qualities of a 4* hotel

    Great location. The staff were polite

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection sucks. We were mad that we didn't get to the internet because the wifi comes and goes and it's almost impossible to get anything done in internet SO IF wifi is important to you then i dont reccommend this Hotel for you! Also we were angry because there is no fridge in the room and no waterbottles from the Hotel. We expected this for a 4star Hotel. And the Hotel overall looks really old and needs to be renovate to actually be 4star hotel. So we think its a little bit overprized place

    We really liked the breakfast! The location of the Hotel is also really good, supermarket and beach are really near and local nightclub also! :) Anyway Hotel is clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathroom is a bit smelly. the bed needs to be replaced with a new/softer one.

    a beautiful ocean view from the balcony. the dinner menu is much better than having a buffet. the hotel and its facilities are old in general, but it did not bother our stay much. If you are looking for a five-star hotel with perfect facilities, pay more and go other hotels.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was filthy, the carpets really really filthy,the staff very ignorant,rude and not helfpful! - I nearly missed breakfast one morning, and I treated very rudely by the staff - they were not helpful and I had to scramble around to find something to eat - I asked a waiter for some butter and he said there was none left - I then asked another and he got some - it was a disdressing time there!!!

    I didn't like much, a short walk to the beach maybe

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of refurbishment (old carpet in bedroom , bathroom looks old, dirty curtain, taps are old, not working properly..water gets very hot or cold, 1 plug out 2 not working in bedroom...)

    Beach front, lovely staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bedroom corridors were in need of refurbishment. Very disappointed about room, linen and bathroom were clean but everything else was badly stained or very shabby. Not 4*, not even 2* .

    Breakfast was poor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are horrible, poorly maintained. The door was not possible to lock. Fortunately at least the sheets were clean.

    Good breakfeast and dinner buffet, sea view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad cheap breakfast. A lot of unhealthy food. Noisy rooms because of wind - windows when closed make a lot of noise. Carpet in the room was all covered with spots and looked dirty.

    Nice view from the top.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not value for money; old property; lack of staff to the job, but mainly lack of management awareness. No room service (staff not picking the phone); limited breakfast & same everyday. I stopped going going with my family...

    Placement to the beach only

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romance by the Sea
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff we met were nice but there were very few of them -- one poor soul was the only waiter during dinner time AND had to be the bar staff next door. Needless to say, we weren't able to have cocktails because the man was too busy with both jobs to tend the bar. He did allow us to purchase 2 bottles of wine though so at least we got something in the end. The balcony outside of our room was a great size but barely furnished. There was one lounge chair and a table...we ended up borrowing chairs from the lounge area on the floor to allow both of us to sit on the balcony. We ordered the 'Romance by the Sea' package through Booking.com and either it wasn't communicated properly to the staff at the hotel or there were just too few of them to accommodate but we did not receive our welcome drinks upon arrival and we didn't receive our fondue/wine until hours after we arrived and only after we inquired about it. We also did not have any breakfast in our room, as also stated in the package. The phone didn't seem to work -- we tried to phone room service and the call wouldn't connect. We tried calling the front desk, but it just rang and rang. We tried several other numbers and nothing. So, again, maybe this is due to the fact that the hotel was just that understaffed.

    The hotel was VERY close to the beach, which was a huge plus when looking for hotels in the area. The swimming area was nice too, seemed clean though we only spent less than an hour there. The staff we met were nice but seemed overworked. Room was large and overlooked the ocean, great view of the coast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a great location by the carcavelos beach. Other than that it is a very old hotel with little or no maintenance. Almost everything is either old, broken, smells bad, not comfortable or all of the Above :-) The value for money is very low... 4 stars??? I doubt it.. :-(

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We were in Cascais between 21st- 31st July 2017. There was windy, as local people said, more than usually. Window had bad isolation and it make noise in our room and we slept very bad. We asked receptionists (three different persons) twice time, but nobody did not fix our problem.

    Location of the hotel is excellent. Just few steps far from the beach. Very good connection by train with Lisbon, Estoril, Cascais,...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet was dirt and full of stains, it was twin bed despite the fact I made the reservation for double. As a vegan, the restaurant didn't offer any option so I went out for a takeaway and when I got back and asked for a fork to eat in my room, the waiter said I couldn't take it because it was agains hotel rules (even after explaining that I just ordered outside because they didn't have an option that fit my diet).

    it was really hot that day and the air conditioner worked out well! It made the night bearable even under challenging circumstances.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was too expensive for the quality of the facilities. It is very run down, stains on threadbare carpets, poor type of TV, poor choice of channels, pool outdated. Was possibly quite a decent hotel 50 years ago but not any more.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need major update. Awful smell in bathroom. No where to purchase a bottle of water or any drink at night.bar in darkness and chair blocking entrance at 10pm. Reception shrugged shoulders when asked where to get water, coke etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Advertisement about Airport transfer! When I book - not cancelable, I received mail, that transport from airport I must pay about 45 E !!!! (after booking , hotel staff will arrange).

    Breakfast and wiew from Restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The staff in the hotel were extremely friendly. On top of that, the breakfast was good, the swimmingpool clean and the lobby was also very comfortable to hang out. The rooms were always clean when we were returning from the beach and the seaview while having breakfast is incredible. I would recommend Hotel Praia Mar to everyone. The location is perfect, its very close to the beach and other facilities like a supermarket, restaurants and the trainstation. I dont understand why people are complaining because I have enjoyed my stay to the fullest and would immediately return to spend my holidays again. Muito obrigada!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a 4 stars hotel! The building was in bad shape and the furniture was dated! When we arrived to our room the bathroom had hair on the wall. We asked for a couple's bed and they gave us twin beds and only told us they didn't have any alternative after our complaint! They told us that beside the fact that we made the request on booking they would do as they pleased, not what the client requested and even when the reservation was done in advance. Some of the staff were rude! The breakfast was really basic! Think twice before booking this hotel.

    The view was nice! You could see the beach from the 8th floor!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel a bit dated.

    Friendly Staff. Nice Breakfast. Beautiful view from room balcony. Proximity to beach - 5 minutes walk. 10 minutes to train station. Lovely cafés nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel should definitely not be able to receive 4 stars. When we first arrived an awful smell of fish was in the air at reception which didn't seem to dissipate. Whilst checking in we noticed that the pool was not working and Rueben explained that there had been a leak and that maintenance were trying to fix it. Felt very disappointed as Booking.com had not been notified and neither had we. These things do happen but when you are expecting something to be available and it's not it is difficult not to feel annoyed. We were then shown to our rooms which had a garden view with twin beds. On walking in it felt as if we had gone into a cell. The room was very dingy and the carpets were very marked as were the walls. It most certainly did not feel like a four star hotel more like a hostel. The rooms furniture were very dark and there was absolutely no comfort in there whatsoever. I did go and complain to Reuben who empathised with us. He then upgraded our rooms. Two of my party had a top floor suite overlooking the sea which had been refurbished. They had a jacuzzi bath, power shower, soft white robes, new carpet and all in all a much nicer feel to it. My room was on another level and although much better than the one before and had a sea view it was still poor. We could not open the door onto the balcony as it was out of its frame. The furniture again was very dark. The carpet and walls very marked and the shower in the bathroom leaked every time you used it. The beds however were surprisingly comfortable. It definitely wasn't a room you wanted to relax in. Breakfast was very mediocre and basic - again not what you would expect for a four star. All of the staff waiting were friendly and if you did ask for something extra would do their very best to get it for you. On day two Rueben explained that the pool would be available on the following day. Beds round by the pool were dirty and uncomfortable.

    Location of this hotel is excellent especially if you don't hire a car. Everything you need is there in Carcavelos. Amazing beach. Staff in the hotel especially Rueben and Ivana were excellent. Nothing too much trouble for them and they really cared about your opinions. The owners of this hotel should value them very highly because of their excellent customer service skills.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighborhood a little quiet but great if you want that. Not the hustle and bustle of Cacais.

    Read in a previous review that it was an grand old lady - it was exactly thAt. A ,title warn but still great. Views are breathtaking, close to beach and a few good restuarants near by. Breakfast with good variety and good quality.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated, old fashioned, and tired and in need of a overhaul.The restaurant furniture needs renewing, the upholstery was very worn and torn and the chairs were close to breaking. The pool was dirty and not usable, they hadn't cleaned it, the water was greeny brown. Breakfast had a basic selection on offer, not what one would expect for a 4 star hotel.

    The hotel location was nice and close to the beach and easy walking distance from the local train station. The local shops where near by too. I had Seaview room which was lovely, the seascape of Carcavelos was beautiful. There were plenty of restaurants and cafes near the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Area,Staffs,Shopping Center,Transport,See Side,Breakfast View

    Safe Place,Excellent View, amazing Staffs,Close to Restaurants and also Lovely Shopping Center, I can say completely perfect for Holiday .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some details in the room. Towels with holes for example...

    The location and sea view is perfect. The area around the hotel has lots of life, restaurants, coffee shops and shops.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and made to feel welcome The hotel has a traditional feeling, with the restaurant having wonderfull decorations, not modern as the hotel is one of the oldest in Carcavelos Very close to the famous Carcavelos beach and guests were both from surfers to pensioners Excellent views of both Lisbon and Cascais Close to shopping centre, which is both calm and has necessary amenities, restaurants, including an amazing sushi restaurant Within walking distance to the train station Thank you to all the staff and manager

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    very hard mattress and only 1 chair on balcony twice I was told one would be provided in the end they addmitted they didn't have enough chairs to put 2 chairs on each balcony

    nearness to beach and shopping centre

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pool loungers uncomfortable and pool bar closed.

    Room was spacious and clean, staff helpful and friendly. Good breakfast with great views over the bay. Short walk to beach and lovely café.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel is not in a good condition and needs some serious revamping. The bed was hard and uncomfortable and the towels (when made available) were small and had holes in them. Generally, the hotel is an old hotel and it shows in the way it has been maintained and decorated. Not worthy of its four stars.

    The location was excellent and the inclusive breakfast in the rate was a great bonus.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony had no furniture on it, ended up moving room furniture out there so we could sit and enjoy the views. Breakfast was very, very limited unless you ate bread or cooked breakfast. Not a vast amount of fresh fruit. Got a room with 2 single beds, was told the whole hotel only has 30 double beds so it's not guaranteed to get one, wouldn't have minded if we were only there for a couple of nights but we were there for 5. Hotel didn't have much information on things to do, no info on the hop on hop off bus which passes very close by. Receptionist was only able to tell us it should pass every hour. Wifi was very patchy.

    We were moved to a 7th floor room with beautiful sea views. Pool was ok, sun beds were fine, not very new but enough of them. Cleaners went above and beyond everyday while cleaning the room. Nice location for beach, train station, supermarket and shops.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast basic, hotel general areas and room are faded and jaded (need a good overhaul to get them up to a 4 star standard that hotel advertises), more a 3 star hotel, reception staff except for one tall light haired man were polite, efficient and helpful. Wanted to leave bags but their unlocked store room was full and we were told to put them against wall in main reception hall area where could easily have been stolen as reception staff stay hidden in back room. No safe in room.

    Close to a lovely beach, quiet room, good hot water shower, good daily cleaner, great view of beach and coastline from breakfast area, 10 mins easy walk to good railway line (30 mins from centre of Lisbon), area felt safe, in the main the staff friendly, few good local restaurants cheaper than Cascais/Lisbon.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romance by the Sea
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpets, very old and used pillows, old room equipment, very old and used chairs in the restaurant, dirty windows, lack of benches outside the hotel, very poor swimming pool, poor internet connection in the room

    Nice view over the ocean, good connection from Lisbon

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    staff were unhelpful. the rooms and hotel are seriously run down. retro does not even cut it. Looks like they built it in the 1960's and have done nothing with it since. not a 4 star hotel at all more like a 2 star.

    location was good and the view was ok

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This old lady needs some TLC but if you can look beyond this Her charms and decore, the out door pool with bar are loverly. But the must see is the 8th floor having breakfast and dinner with a million dollar view GO SEE

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A very minor criticism is the the very basic bar in the swimming pool which was only open for a few hours/day.

    Very relaxed friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was good. The hotel very well located for the beach, restaurants, cafes and shopping centre. The hotel swimming pool was a useful facility and offered an alternative experience to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 21 nights

    the maintenance of the hotel is poor. things get broken and are not repaired. Throughout the hotel you can find little things that are not fixed that should be. Also the whole Hotel is in need of an overall refurbishment. The carpets are mostly worn out and could do with replacement or an overall deep cleaning done by a professional company. Same with the curtains. The cleaning of the rooms is done mostly in the middle without due care to clean corners or behind the furniture. Behind the desk of my room I found cherry pips that had been there for God knows how long. At the height of the summer the staff in the restaurant is not enough to keep the tables efficiently cleared at breakfast or the food replenished. I could go on but I think this gives a good overall view of the state of the Hotel. It is classed as a 4 star hotel bbut I don't think it deserves that classification. Having said that, it is however good value for money as the price is more like a 3 star hotel which it would be a fairer qualification.

    I liked the location and the friendliness of the staff. the swimming pool is also good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has parking facilities in theory, when I asked I was told "park on the street somewhere". Cleaning once every two days. Swimming pool and all around in a terrible condition. On top of that, the hotel took the reservation for a room with double bed and then it turned out they have 20 rooms with double bed, the rest have two narrow beds. I didn't go to a hotel with a friend but with a husband so sorry but 90cm bed for each, wasn't our choice. In case they have no room like you ask, I guess it is normal they don't accept the reservation or they contact the client asking if it's fine to stay in a twin room. Total lack of professionalism, though.. Portugal. Don't expect!

    The location is really good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was good, however the sraff was not friendly at all. I recommend to change the curtains in the restarant and also the uniform of the staff there. Instead of wearing black for jeans and light fabric tops so maybe they would be happier and at least say "good morning" to the guests while colecting the dishes at the table...I liked the location. The smell is the halls to the rooms was disgusting smelling like dead rats. The hotel need some good restauration overall. I would not stay there again cause of those details.

    Location and good reception. Room were very clean and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel is old and shabby. The beds are old and not comfortable anymore, the carpet floor is very stained, the surfaces are dusty. The door knobs were almost falling off. The bathroom is small and old, there is mould around the bathtub. They ignored our reservation for a double bed and gave us a two bed room instead. When we asked about the reservation they got very snappy and basically said "you already paid - not our problem if you're unhappy now, and it must be the agency's fault anyway" This might have been a good hotel one day, but it must have been very long ago. If you are looking for overpriced (Portuguese) 3-star quality with unmotivated staff and rotting wooden doors in your room you've found it!

    The breakfast area is really nice, located on the 8th floor with a view of the beach. Located very close to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was no furniture on roof balcony.

    The hotel looks a bit worn out from the outside and seventy-like on the inside, but it is clean. Very nice view from balcony overlooking the ocean. Nice pool with relaxing chairs. Short walk to wonderful beach. 5 min. walk to very nice restaurants and cafes on the nearby square. Big shopping center only a few minuttes walk up the road.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I first got there don't get me wrong it looked run down! But once you got inside it was clean and welcoming! Room was clean amazing view! Breakfast was good for the price and was a good location. If your used to high end don't go but for the price you can't complain! X

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unkept grounds, garbage at front entrance lawn. Bed and pillow very uncomfortable. Sewer smell in bathroom. Ants in room. Room noisy in the morning. Cleaning staff very loud. WiFi never worked. Falsely Advertised airport shuttle for a fee; no shuttle offered. No towels for pool.

    Close to beach, restaurants, shopping. 8th floor restaurant panoramic ocean view. Room patio.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff... Cleanliness very poor ! I actually had a room that had faeces on the bathroom curtain, disgusting! The beds were very uncomfortable, I still have pain in my back because of it. The TV had just 14" and it was from 1989 (at least). I do not recomend this Hotel and I still did not understand why is on booking.com

    Location and ocean views.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. In the hotel description says that there is wi-fi on the all territory in the hotel, but IS NOT TRUE. There is no wi-fi in the rooms, which are far from the roof (because the router is located there) - i.e. in the half of all rooms. The hotel administration knows about it, but do nothing 2. You can get a room without mini-bar, even you payed for it. 3. There is a HORRIBLE hotel staff. They are rude, unpleasant and unfriendly. There is a discrimination in this hotel. 4. Only couple of the rooms are 4*. The most part of the rooms are 3*.

    1. A good location - near the beach, not far from the railway station. There are some shops, restaurants and personal service sector in the nearby hotel. 2. There is very beautiful view to the ocean from some rooms and from the windows in the hotel's restaurant. 3. A good breakfast 4. A good roomcleaning

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    hotel was very aged and tired. All the pictures on the wall were crooked, the wall lights were hanging off, the whole place stank of cigarettes, wall sockets and light switches were loose and the breakfast was just barable. this in my opinion is at best a two star hotel.

    location for us was perfect as we were in town for a beach soccer tournament.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel exterior and facilities is outdated and rusty. Unpleasant sight of the hotel building, rusty, paint feeling off in our balcony, leaking and noisy air conditioning, needs a major revamp and does not reflect the price of what we paid for.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No minibar despite advertised. Terrace had one chair despite there being two of us! Pillows tiny and uncomfortable. Hotel in general needs a good update and clean. Breakfast beyond basic, couldn't contend with it in the end despite it being included in price. Walls paper thin, could hear others until they eventually stopped (not their fault) and someone shutting a door was like an earthquake! Not sure what warrants 4 star rating...

    Location great, very short walk to beach and sea view great to wake up to. Free WiFi very good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. Besides swimming-pool, I found nothing that could justify any of the 4 stars they have. 2. I guess that stay from Tue to Sun needs more then two visits of the room keeping personnel. 3. 5 days in the row same same same breakfast (including sweet scrambled eggs and no any vegies)

    Ocean view.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old, very untidy, bad food, dirty, sometimes smelly. This is a 1-star hotel maximum.

    The only good thing is the location and the scenery in the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our AC broke the first night and was never fixed. There was mold on the bathroom walls and the window curtains. There was a strange, offensive, odor in the stairwell. The elevator was miniscule and broke periodically during our week stay.

    It was an easy walk to the beach, the market, and the train station.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No WiFi in the rooms which were very old and tired with marked walls, dirty carpet, peeling veneer on the cupboard and a filthy balcony glass door. Even the carpet in the hallway on our floor was littered with stains.The pics on Boooking.com do not reflect the shabby external appearence either. This is not a hotel of 4 star standard by any means.

    Near the sea and good view from the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is basic but it has something for everyone!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel run down

    Location was brilliant right by beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linen old. Building needs paint.

    Location. Next to seaside

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, room, parking, parking entrance

    Near beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor maintenance

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Praia Mar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: