Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Praia Sol 3 stars

Quinta Do Romão, 8125-301 Quarteira, Portugal

#9 of 9 hotels in Quarteira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 367 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea/Coffee making facilities in the room would help a lot. I had to leave at 7-30am, yet the staff wouldn't even let me get a cup of coffee from the machine that was sitting there ready.

    Great value for money, especially as the location is so good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The manager didn't even greet customers on arrival. Luckily his team of young women were very helpful and efficient.

    The breakfast wasf fine, the only downside was the coffee and tea which were poor quality. i opted to order fresh coffee from behind the bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Weak wi-fi and the buffet breakfast was not great. I do understand that it was because the hotel had very few guests due to the time of year, but there's really no excuse to put out the same buffet food for several days. The bacon and scrambled egg had been on those hot plates for longer than I stayed at the hotel!

    The location is ideal, and the price was great. Large room in reasonable condition, good water pressure in the shower with plentiful hot water.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 23 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little far from shops & supermarket, especially for those mobile but who have walking issues & elderly. In my case buses have no ramped access & no accessible taxis close to the resort. Evenings at the hotel, they need some form of entertainment as there was none, or at weekends, no form of nightlife close to and a lot of people don't,t wish to go distances away in dark nights.

    It was cleaned daily,the hotel is wheelchair accessible with lifts, the pool,the food was good too and of course the good weather. The staff were helpful enough a little hard with those speaking little English.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist never smiled once on both occasions I spoke to her. She didn't even say 'hello' when I arrived - she just looked at me with a bored expression. As 'first impressions' go - she needs some serious training. We didn't have any TV remote, so had to unplug the tv to stop the constant stream of adverts. It was on when we went into the room - otherwise it wouldn't have mattered.

    The accommodation was a basic travel hotel - good value at the price we paid.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Table on the balcony, just the legs kept getting in my way and I spilt my drink twice, much to my disappointment, Get rid of those sticky out table legs please. Can't fault anything, happy chap's here! Missed my Tempur mattress from home! but who wouldn't.

    We thought there was a very good choice of food for all! Breakfast rates high with us at this Hotel. Loved the muesli selection and the lovely fresh strawberry and natural yogurt. Dinner was also Good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was short-staffed eg receptionist was also barperson and assisting kitchen all at the same time. It didn't work. Staff doing very well in a very difficult situation. Some reception hours of work also horrendous. The hotel is closed in the off season and only opens for the summer not allowing for continuity. Dinner menu was terrible. Told by other guests to go out. If you don't want to do dinner, don't advertise it. Bar fridges removed from rooms. No tea or milk offered in rooms. English Breakfast tea (at the breakfast buffet) was Earl Grey - a very different flavour.

    We liked the fact that it was only a short walk to the Marina and shops. Was great to be so close to the main attractions! Breakfast was good. Lovely pool..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The time for breakfast was a bit too short (8:00-10:00am). Often the food was gone much before 10:00. One of the girls from the staff (Spanish-speaking) was very unpolite and aggressive every time she was in her shift, so much that we decided not to have breakfast in the hotel in our last days.

    Great location, very close to both Quarteira and Vilamoura. Very quiet neighbourhood. Very friendly and helpful staff, except for one of the girls from the restaurant ( probably from Spain). She was so unpolite that we decided to go out and pay for the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bed sheets , hairs around the room and bathroom, no fridge!

    Good value for money. Property is walking distance from marina (5 min), has its own pool and restaurant on side.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were very accommodating and friendly. The location was perfect, directly between Vilamoura, only a 5 minute walk to the marina, a 5 minute walk to the beach and a 15 minute walk into Quarteira!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great and the hotel was spotless, nice and quiet in a lovely residential area. Walking: 5 minutes to beach, 10 minutes to Vilamoura and 15 Minutes to Quarteria.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late on Friday night. The member of staff at reception didn't have much to say to welcome us. To make things worse, when we got into the lift we saw a notice to say that the pool was closed for 3 days, with no detail of the start date. We opened our balcony door to see an empty swimming pool. We then went down to reception to ask when the pool would be open and he said 'sunday'. It turned out that the pool didn't open until late afternoon on Monday. This was very frustrating for us as we were going home on Tuesday. I feel very angry with the hotel and booking.com for not informing us that the pool would be closed prior to our arrival, especially as we had the option to cancel the hotel up to 2 days before. By this time, from speaking to other guests at the hotel, the maintenance had already started. As a result of this, I will never stay at the hotel or book with booking.com again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle no iron no fridge I ordered a taxi two days before leaving and nothing on the morning,which was good the hotel wanted €38 when a taxi off a rank was only €25 plus don't ask for a coffee before 8am even when offering to pay they got basil fawlty working there

    Leaving

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with water...could not get a shower or use toilet. We were not offered bottled water to even brush teeth Not even a cup of coffee Staff not pleasant at all

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    internet computer very poor, tv very poor, room cold at night, veranda door didn't lock

    breakfast okay for price, plenty of room in bedroom and bathroom, cleaners in every day, single beds comfy

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is not worth the price. Couldn't blame the staff when one person works for reception, bar and restaurant! It's not possible to be able to handle with all these positions. Can't believe that manager or owner lets this kind of things happen.

    The only good thing is location. Hotel is quite close to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were small double and uncomfortable. Breakfast wasn't great. Not enough sun loungers and could do with some more hotel staff.

    Great location very close to walk to the marina. Nice hotel and staff that were there were helpful. Good price for being so central. They have created a new walk way at front of hotel to get to the marina which is a big bonus

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their was alot of older retired people

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfeast

    Nice room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fine as is. The place does as it advertises.

    No frills, good value for money, good location - easy access to town centre, within 30 mins of airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not comfortable

    Nice staff, good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Variety of choices and hot food for breakfast. Bike hire available & book swap too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the marina and good value

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ok

    Excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Very good 100%

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

     It's a room, not amazing but I payed €25 a night so can't complain really

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows uncomfortable

    Cheap good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better.

    Very comfortable bed and good hotel service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness and staff terrible!

    Free parking and location/price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food

    great pool, friendly staff, good atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn't work properly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money. Quite location by just 5mins from Vilamoura marina. Good breakfast and comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad Service. The Breakfast was BAD. The bathroom had mould all along the top and not very clean.

    Close to the beach and Vilamoura.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every door that closes you hear and every conversation - unfortunately all tiled very noisy .

    Convenient location close to Vilamoura

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Acoustics not great - very noisy hotel .

    Good basic hotel with s short walk to Vilamoura

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Qiietness

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was included in the room rate

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel getting old and need a lot attention

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not very clean.

    Location and facilities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beds put together come apart, breakfast choice very limited.

    Location and general presentation good. Staff good when available.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the swimming pool is not completely well photographed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE POOL AREA VERY POOR BROKEN SUN LOUNGERS

    BREAKFAST AND FRIENDLY STAFF

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The sat nav couldn't find the hotel. Tucked away in a residential area. Too far away to walk to any restaurants. Although dinner was very cheap, it was canteen food. My bedroom had flaking damp plaster opposite bathroom. Reception was a young girl, with restaurant duties also. Couldn't find our booking and gave an initial price much higher than we'd booked.

    The price we found with Booking.com. Bedroom size. Good atmosphere around bar areas. Spacious, clean.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Group

    Hotel charges 50 cent for calling a taxi or your transfer company to enquire about collection time. Also we requested late check out due to a couple meetings and late flight, we were told that our requested will be accepted once we've arrived. However they said we can't have a late checked then they said we could but charged us an additional 30€ which we wasn't happy about because we wasn't told before hand.

    Location was amazing. Literally a 7 minute walk to Marina where there's amazing restaurants. Staff we're very helpful throughout our whole stay. Accommodation was clean and cleaned everyday. Breakfast was really good. Amazing price

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The children's pool wasn't very clean and the grid for the filtration was broken and missing in places making it very unsafe. The reception said it was under control but after a week it wasn't fixed. Sunloungers are old and desperately need replacing, the hotel in general needs maintenance and a good clean.

    It's in a Good location, the room ,105, was big, has a huge safe balcony for children . The breakfast was good. It's a good budget hotel, with helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The poor girl on reception had no English, it was her first week on the job and she obviously had little training. This resulted in us spending 45 mins to check in and 3 trips back to reception to get correct key to correct bedroom... The eating area was quite chilly in the evenings with a breeze blowing through the hotel.

    Nice quiet and small hotel, only a few minutes in a taxi/decent walk from the marina, beach, shopping area etc.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    An excellent budget hotel which provides great value for money. Wish I had known the room service did not work at the week ends - I would have made my bed and bought some toilet rolls from the local supermarket! I also had an issue with the room card which took about three attempts of travelling up and down in the lift to reception before I could get it to work. All in all if you are looking for value this has to be the best place. 5 minute walk from the Marina, ample space in rooms, a great breakfast choice included in the price of 133 euros for four nights! Can't complain at that!

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room cleaning was well below standard.

    The reception, bar and catering staff (the same people) were extremely hard-working and helpful. Evening meals were of a good quality with a choice of meat or fish dish each day.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When walking around Vilamoura mariner at night all of the "touts" trying to get you to go to "their" restaurant

    The weather, so warm and the walks and beaches. Local transport was good and inexpensive,as well as food and drink

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is in a good location, only a 10 minute walk to the marina, it is clean, the staff are friendly, they serve a standard breakfast, but something for everyone, the hotel has a good swimming pool, a simple bar, 24 hour reception, value for money.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast not up to general hotel standards. Very bad cafe! Mediocre bread /pastry selection. Staff slow on cleaning the tables. Bathroom- poor lighting.

    Nice spacious room, full of light. Balcony to relax.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean. It is in Quartera but only 10 minutes walk to Villamoura marina when you use the back gate. Just check the times that you can use the gate. Only 5 euros in a taxi anyway

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Air conditioning In bedrooms very poor breakfast a joke

    The rooms are spacious and clean . The location is a little dodgy as in graffiti everywhere . The entrance to the hotel from the back door has a very unreliable buzzer . The front entrance the the hotel is a bit of a trex from the marina and althought through a residential area the lighting is not great .

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi available in room, was told we could pay for it but it doesn't work well anyway. Bed really basic and hard, lumpy pillows. Dust under bed and behind doors. No room safe.

    Quiet outlook, not too busy and free wifi available in reception

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Drunk Aged Brits at bar... Too far away from centre...

    Staff (lovely woman with daughter on night shift couldn't be more helpful) was the only plus

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food choice. Noise from air conditioning

    Secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff very friendly, especially Jonathon

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Couple

    excellent hotel for couples

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything is OK

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Breakfast, dinner and swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No easy access from front of hotel to the marina (main restaurant are all).

    Price

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access via the rear gate was never achieved by us!

    Pleasant and helpful staff. Clean pool.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Solo traveller

    That you had to pay for wifi

    Breakfast Price

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Browse Hotel Praia Sol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: