Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Praia do Sol 2 stars

Rua dos Pescadores, 12, 2825 - 386 Costa da Caparica, Portugal

#13 of 13 hotels in Costa da Caparica

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1302 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    A very nice location for a low-budget vacation. Not a classy fancy place, but perfect for our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was facing the main street, which is quite crowded and a bit noisy until midnight, so we had to keep the window shut. If you're sensitive to noise, you should ask for a room facing the back of the building. There was only one electrical outlet available in the room, opposite to the bed (and another one behind the bathroom door) - not very handy with today's many appliances that need charging. An extension cord would make things much better. This was my first time using Booking.com, and it was a nice stay altogether at a very good price - that is why I choose to give the maximum rating. Otherwise, this situation with the electrical outlets was quite annoying and I would have given the hotel a lower rating. An electric kettle in the room, for a quick cup of tea would be much appreciated. The bathroom has separate cold and hot water taps, which makes it more difficult to set water temperature in the shower. The building is old, which gives is a bit of charm, but it also brings some problems: the bathroom door was very difficult to open and close, weak hinges making it rub on the floor. Communication to the hotel prior to our stay was really bad: I asked a few questions via Booking.com messaging and got no response. IT had me a bit worried and, at one point, I seriously considered cancelling the reservation for this reason.

    The cleaning staff outdid themselves - they changed towels even when we made it clear we didn't want them changed. No personal items were moved by the cleaning staff, which we highly appreciate. The hotel is located on one of the main streets in town, full of restaurants, beach clothing and apparel, and souvenir shops, granting direct access to both the beach and the but stations (we needed to go to Lisbon and other places south of the Tejo). The staff was always nice and took care of everything we needed. Everyone spoke enough English to get along with. A rather small room, with a vintage dresser, a chair and small table, but a nice comfy bed. If you like to spend the day in, that's not much to look at, but it did not bother us in any way - we were out all day and needed the room to sleep in and shower, which it served for perfectly. Breakfast was plentiful, including cereal, fruit, some pastries, several types of fresh bread, tea, coffee, orange juice, some ham and Swiss cheese. A nice selection in our view, but if you prefer a cooked meal (eggs, omelets, sausages, and so on), you shouldn't expect them here. Walls thick enough, so we were not bothered by noises from other rooms. The street noise subsided around midnight. We didn't spend the day in the room, so we can't say about that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Basic Hotel but very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist could be a bit nicer. It's really annoynig having to deliver the room key (really big and old key) everytime you go out.

    spotless clean, good breakfast, grat location, 3 minutes walking distance to the beach. lot of entertainment around the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Good value, excellent location hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have been more variety for breakfast, rooms are quite dark. a few steps to get up before you get to reception but there is then a lift.

    Close to restaurants, beach, shops, buses etc. 24 hr reception, excellent value for money. Friendly staff, free beach parasols to borrow, nice tv lounge and bar area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Third time in 4 years at the hotel, must have changed ownership as staff much younger (less experience) and far too serious in approach. We booked a "romantic" room which was just a normal double room so not sure how it was thought to be romantic?? Has had a fresh coat of paint but that is about all, there are better accommodations in Costa da Caparica for same price. Will not be back.

    Proximity to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.5
    I cannot fault the location of this hotel. Customer service skills are needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Somehow this hotel managed to cancel our booking. I had two bookings through Booking.com for two different dates of arrival. I cancelled one of them as we needed to stay earlier. A member of staff somehow cancelled the other booking so when we went to check in the booking was not there. At first the guy at the desk simply said we didn't have a booking but as I had my reservation on my phone through the app, (thank you Booking.com) he was forced to investigate further. After an hour, yes hour of waiting and trying to get to the bottom of the situation he discovered that the booking had been cancelled. Luckily the y had rooms and he was able to reactivate the booking. Unfortunately, the young man at the desk was very unfriendly. There was no apology or mention of a discount and although we requested a nice room with a balcony we were given a room right next to the lift. We were there for 3 days and for 3 days we could hear the lift going up and down at all hours of the day and into the night. This stay was very disappointing. I found all the staff at the desk to be unfriendly. They did not know how to smile. The friendliest staff members were the housekeepers who were always polite. The maintenance man who always smiled when he saw us and the young Indian man who managed the breakfast. He was very polite, always working and could understand English perfectly. There is a lot of competition for business in the area and when we next visit Costa Da Caparica we will be using a different hotel. This is a nice hotel. The décor in the rooms is out of date but it is clean. However, for me the staff at the desk disappointed me and I don't want to spend my money somewhere to be mistreated.

    We have been staying at this hotel when we visit Costa Da Caparica for several years and always stay here. It is a 5 minute walk to the beach. A continental style breakfast is provided and the rooms are clean although the décor is outdated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.6
    There was nothing about this hotel we liked, it doesn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we liked , it was horrible. Felt dirty staying there.

    There was nothing about this hotel we liked, it doesn't deserve the title of hotel. The shower room facilities were dire, to the point I did not shower on the last day. The room was dark and depressing and the breakfast area was like the rest of this establishment, dirty, outdated and the breakfast was extremely poor only ate there once during our 3 night stay. Even the staff were grubby, unkempt and poorly presented. A full refund should be given. It was totally shocking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, tiny dated bedroom and bathroom, old grey towels, horrible shower, no natural light, very noisy, fire alarm went off twice every morning

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Staff very nice, including housekeeping-every morning were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a fridge in the room :) Toaster at breakfast not great Having to buzz to get in during the day because the other door was locked got annoying sometimes.

    Staff very nice, including housekeeping-every morning were smiling and cheery. Location perfect if you want the beach. Everything you need nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.2
    Hotel is very old, even no fridge and a/c in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very old, even no fridge and a/c in the room. Because of hotel old room and bathroom is smelling. Staff 0 product knowledge. we have checked out second day to the near by apartments which is much cleaner and comfortable with lower even price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Old but quaint. Good beach location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very different from listing on website which implies there is a pool and sauna when there is not. It is a pay for use spa. Walls are VERY thin.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    It was mostly good, the staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was mostly good, the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is far from city centre but very close to see. It was clean and they gave clean towels each day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Our stay was absolutely fine and really enjoyed our first time in Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise early morning on the landing . Never saw one person in the bar which is served from reception when there not busy considering there is only one bar near think they could do more

    Comfy bed but not much room and very dated staff can look very serious at times but they are very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was full of school kids on a group trip the noise...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was full of school kids on a group trip the noise was terrible they were running up and down the corridors and in and out of each other’s rooms I did in the end have to make a complaint to reception. The hotel was full and when we went down for breakfast we had to wait for a table and the selection was not all filled up. Bathroom was not well thought out as you could not hardly sit on the loo as it had the hand basin right in front the light in the bathroom was not at all suitable it must have only been a 1 watt as it gave out no light what so ever.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Good location, friendly staff who were very keen to help...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, friendly staff who were very keen to help with finding our way around the area, breakfast was good and not too much trouble to get hot water when asked, all food was fresh and plenty of it. The room is basic, the bed was very comfy, bathroom facilities were good, all in all just what you need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Old school charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old school charm has its downsides :) - only one power outlet available in room for charging devices. But that's really minor.

    Historic hotel on a great location, super close to the beach and restaurants. Bed was very comfortable, whole hotel clean, good breakfast, nice staff, WiFi worked well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was clear. They let me check in earlier, as I was staying for only a half day (arrived in the morning, left around 10PM). They were really flexible. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was good and enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our arrival time was stated in the booking. It was winter time. We were expecting to find a warm room but it was cold because the heating wasn't on. Because of the humidity, it was difficult to breathe. After turning the heat on, it returned to normal. We asked for a room with a nice view. We couldn't. We also asked for two separate beds but there were two adjoining single beds. Except these details, everything was good.

    The breakfast was good and enough. The location was easy to reach to many spots. The room was clean. Overall it was a nice experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice budget hotel which is close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendliness of staff at reception

    We stay at this hotel once a year to visit my husband's family. Over the years I have seen a great improvement and the hotel looks alot better with the renovations done. The breakfast is always great and part of the price. The only problem was at check in the old man at the desk did not know what he was doing. Also, we left our passports at the other property we were staying at in Lisbon and this caused lots of problems. Remember to bring your passports for check in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Location couldn't be better. We have the beach near us, just a few meters.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Employees very old-fashioned and the person that serves breakfast doesn't even speak the language of the country

    Location couldn't be better to relax and run away from everything to persons who really are passionate about the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    Room is very small but still a safe place and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Too small a room, and room facility is basically non-existent. Only a good TV set, nothing at all, no cups, no hot water, no tea, no coffee, and the bed, bed sheets are old and should have been replaced months ago. The room carpet looks filthy and should have been replaced years ago. Just go to the room, rest and sleep.

    Just only the pricing and the location are good. The hotel is located at the centre. The bath-room is reasonably good. For this pricing, the breakfast is okey. There are shops and good restaurants within 1 minute walking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    2.5
    Disgusting!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and dirty little 'hostel' I wouldn't even call it a hotel. Rooms the size of a prison cell, dirty, without air-con. In bathrooms everything is a hazard. Everything is falling apart. Tables at breakfast stank dirty cloth. The choice of food is none. E.g: few slices of ham and cheese. Some rolls, jam and orange juice. No even slice of any vegetable, nothing! Like it would cost a fortune. They don't even know what 'half board' means. They only provide you with a voucher and you have to walk to the restaurant near by. What's the point of paying for dinner if you have to walk somewhere else. You can do it yourself without paying money to this frauds.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.0
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room facilities are old for the price. We booked a romantic room and the staff had no idea about it when my boyfriend asked for the bottle of champagne they struggle to find one, the chocolates given to us were out of date as well! We shouldn't have to ask for this because it was on our reservation! In our last night the the hotel had a power cut, TV and sockets stopped working, we call reception and the staff told us they couldn't do anything until next morning! We raised this concerns when we left but the staff didn't seemed bothered about it or even apologised! We won't go back there for sure!!!

    The fact that was need the beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Good location, nice hotel, the best value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    They didn't provide a safe for our valuable. You have to pay a fee of 3 euros/day for it, and still, it is not the service which I was very happy with. But this is something totally minor compared to the perfect breakfast, the nice rooms and the tidiness of the place!

    The place is very well situated, if you are planning to do some surfing at Costa da Caparica, this is the best. Close to the beach, it is on a lively street (basically the main street) and it is very nice. Not very big, but calm, simple and tidy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    It was ok, I guess aside my problem with the old receptionist. I hope they can make the room cleane.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an old guy who I usually see work as a receptionist in the morning. When I approached him on the 2nd day of my stay I asked if the fan in my room can be cleaned since I saw it was accumulating a lot of dust, he became defensive and quite argumentative of the fact that all rooms are cleaned everyday. When I came back that night still the fan is dirty. The next time I asked him he cut me off immediately. I don't know why this hotel employs people like this guy. He is in the hotel service but he has very poor communication skills. He doesn't listen to complaints, he's defensive about everything. I came to Portugal for a holiday, I didn't come there to be stressed out and be in a fight with a receptionist whose work is to make sure all the hotel guests are comfortable during their stay. I didn't ask for the moon from him I just want my fan to be cleaned, is that too much to ask? His attitude towards me was uncalled for. I didn't get his name but I remember he usually works in the receptionist desk in the morning, elderly guy, I think he's of Indian descent, not really sure if he's wearing glasses, a little on the heavy side. I would suggest to the hotel guest not to ask for anything from this guy if you don't want to ruin your day!!!!

    2 young staff was exceptionally accommodating and helpful. They went an extra mile to make my stay more comfortable. I think one guy is named raffy who carried my luggage down when The elevator broke down on my last day, I couldn't thank enough coz my luggage is quite heavy. The other guy who I met while I'm checking in was very nice and accommodating. He even brought my champagne in my room!, unlike the other receptionist I met during my 8 days stay. He made sure that my stay is comfortable and he served with a smile. I couldn't remember his name but he's the one wearing glasses and has beard, young guy with an accent. Thank you for your service, I do appreciate it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.7
    Central Beach Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The is a classic old hotel that has seen better days which is a shame because with a full refurbish, especially the bathrooms!, it could be very nice. Parking as always is an issue but you can park at the door, drop bags, then park a few blocks away for free. The lift doesn't always work so if you don't like stairs get a lower floor. Definitely a budget hotel.

    Location is fantastic and quite although right in the centre of the Costa. The bed was also comfortable which is important.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel at reasonable price
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Preferred it when there was a coffee/tea/hot chocolate machine as water was boiling hot. Tea needs boiling water and the water from the flask is not hot enough for a proper cup of tea.

    Breakfast variety.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Best hotel I've ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like how long it took for the lift to come to the ground floor to then take us to the second floor.

    Breakfast was brilliant, staff were so friendly! I would highly recommend this place. You would be silly not to.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    3.8
    Worst place ever for holiday built in the 60's and looks it all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place its been taken over by cheap and nasty burger joints and kebab restaurants also the info on booking.com led us to believe the hotel was 2-5 kilometres from Lisbon centre more like 45

    Breakfast was just about edible room was very small bed was a regular double unlike all the pictures SHOWER room was very small tiny window looked out to the backs of other buildings the area was run down and seedy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    8.8
    Very reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Water in flask not hot enough to make decent drinks. Was better when the hot water machine was there.

    Very reasonable price. Excellent location. Pleasant staff. Very good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.3
    Good economical hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in flask not hot enough to make a decent cup of tea/coffee, which spoilt it for us. Was better last year with coffee machine.

    Good self service breakfast. Plenty of choice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    I can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No improvements needed!

    The location is superb, between the beach, shops & restaurants. The room was clean & comfortable. No problem with getting fresh towels. Breakfast was fantastic! Breads, cereals, fruit, scrambelled egg, ham, cheese, juice etc Huge variety of tv channels in the room. Staff were very friendly and helpful advising on the best transport options to get to Lisbon centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    3.3
    never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff not friendly, room not clean or done on second night Pictures do not corresponde to reality Towels ripped, curtains falling of the railings Breakfast offer very poor Would never come back

    very nice location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    5.8
    Acceptable, in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a problem with people missing each other, and not having their cell phones with them. The hotel personnel refused to call the other person. This was incredible. The hotel is somewhat low quality, which is ok for most of the year, but not when the price is too high.

    Acceptable, in a good location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    8.8
    It was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC (though it wasn't hot) No mini bar/fridge to keep stuff in The safe was too old therefor useless. It didn't even close. I had to find hideouts for my cash and passport to be safe..though I feel like it's a very safe hotel, I left my camera + expensive headphones + MacBook in the closet and they were just fine.

    Property is 2 mins from the beach. LOADS of restaurants around, pizzerias, 5 star hotels, snacks..u name it. There are two pharmacies 5 mins away, lots of surf shops and the bus from downtown Lisbon drops you 5 mins away (walking) from the hotel. Also everyone knows Rua dos pescadores as there's a street market on it (and shops). Room is good for 1 person, certainly not for more than one. At least the one I stayed in. Breakfast is decent, internet fast, good channels on TV.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    5.4
    Looks like the setting for horror movie
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We left our room locked and when we came back the door was wide open. Also, the rooms looked nothing like the pictures on this site and the corridors were extremely creepy.

    The staff were friendly and agreed to give us another room. And the breakfast was okey too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the bathroom. No enough electricity sockets.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Small, old bed. One chair for two people. Hot and stuffy. Very noisy. Strange musty smelll in the room and bathroom.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant

    Closeness to the beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Location near the Ocean
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast.

    Location near the Ocean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Was enjoyable and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly stuff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    De
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    De

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.0
    No coment
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit small room

    Nice atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.0
    I would not go there again
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashion shower. No heating. Basic!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    excellent value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower ran hot and cold, bathroom would benefit from some maintenance

    comfy bed, great breakfast considering the price of the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    Was great to use as a base for visiting friends in the Lisbon area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took a very long time to get hot water

    Value for money, security, comfortable beds, clean rooms, fast WiFi, very friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.3
    I advice any one want the beach near of him to be there very...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I advice any one want the beach near of him to be there very nice .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Great hotel and great staffs , breakfast was amazing too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young receptionist guy with the glasses was amazing went extra mile and the lady was very nice too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Really nice area and the beach really close
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little old, and the curtain needed replacing

    Location, easy access

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.2
    Try really to find another place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, run down,

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.2
    Terrible. I checked out the next day
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.6
    Too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what it is. Very old

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Good beach location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor bathroom in need of renovation

    Location friendly staff bed comfy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    2.5
    Not that much clean.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that much clean. Pictures in website are misleading. Smelly carpet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the pool pictures are lie

    Good Shampoo , ar, more light, a brackfast more nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    *****
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect , staff was amazing . Food was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    6.5
    /
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the room was very hot, no air conditioning at all

    the satff`s in general was very helpull and very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    None
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All Fine

    Fine

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.8
    Good place to relax after hard days of work
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NIL

    It was a clean new place and lots of places to shop and eat our meals.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    5-star customer service !
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wheelchair access ramp .....

    5-star customer service !!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    5.8
    The bar had no white wine the hot water in the bathroom was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar had no white wine the hot water in the bathroom was not good 10mins to run hot

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    everything is good
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    everything is good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    Fourth time we have stayed and we will be back!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is vary varied and makes a nice start to the day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    7.1
    Hotel has a lot of potential, was being refurbished during our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't order spaghetti from the more traditional restaurants.

    The freshly grilled chicken shop.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    9.6
    Kind staff, clean rooms and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kind staff, clean rooms and great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.3
    Not luxurious, but excellent price for room and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed hotter water than the flask for breakfast drinks.

    Room service was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    We liked everything, good location and very very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything, good location and very very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.9
    Good hotel for the price, but not in Summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning, which made sleeping very incomfortable.

    Loved the location and the friendly staff. The Breakfast was not bad.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    5.0
    Louis and Joao great job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Louis and Joao great job. Thank You!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    7.1
    Location
    • Family with young children

    The room was soo diffrent from the photos, we ordered with 3 beds and the third bed was in the wholeway, the bathroom was terrible ! The painting from the walls in the bathtub was falling off! Luckly we were just there for two nights.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    7.5
    Location so close to beach, price, cleaned room every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    New carpets needed. Noise from room above, but think was the inconsiderate guests fault not the hotels

    Location so close to beach, price, cleaned room every day. Overall good experience.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.1
    Staff very friendly and a nice food at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Works.they need to inform that is some inprovements going on.what they need to do ASAP very unpleasant. Overall valeu for money

    Staff very friendly and a nice food at breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    3.3
    There wasnt anything to like , I was shocked on arrival as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Where to start ? Room looks like walking in to past aprox 30years back to eighties - facilities is extremely bad , requires redecaration and doesnt deserve even2 starts Breakfast we only had 1 day thought it was for free , its awful. I wanted a fruit , took an orange which was rotten !!!! Showed to staff who completely ignored me- no even sorry. Avoid this hotel!

    There wasnt anything to like , I was shocked on arrival as it didnt look like anything in photos. There is not a snoocker/pool table and as reception staff stated it hasnt been there for 2 years but the managament still keeps it on booking.com

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Praia do Sol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: