Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quinta da Alcaidaria Mor

En 113, número 31, 2490-819 Ourém, Portugal

#1 of 4 hotels in Ourém

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 139 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment T1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an especially lovely property in a rural setting just outside of Ourem. Our accommodation was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. We had out the door access to rural roads that were perfect for cycling. The owner, Nuno, is friendly, helpful, very attentive and responsive to anything we needed. We loved this place

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the most amazing stays, anywhere we have traveled in the world. The manor house is an experience unlike any other. The host, Nuno, and his family are made us feel so welcome in a country we love to visit. They had so many helpful tips and recommendations that made this trip incredible! It would not have been at the same phenomenal level without them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The manor house was beautiful and the effort gone to re-create an old Portuguese manor house was stunning. The breakfast was a real experience in the dining room complete with chandeliers and beautiful furnishings. The food was delicious too, with nothing too much trouble. The owner was incredibly helpful in helping us to organise our itinerary for the rest of the week. We even got to meet the new-born donkey, arrived just the day before our arrival. Wish we could have styed longer. We would definitely come back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was thorough but really too long after nearly a full day of travel. Had to wait until the next day to request an extra pillow as wasn't quite comfortable the first night. Maybe hae spare pillows in the wardrobe.

    We felt very welcome. Host was full of useful local information and showed us around the whole property and it's facilities. Breakfast was delicious full of variety, served a beautiful room and quite cheap. Beautiful setting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only suggestion is that the sofa and arm chair needs to be more comfortable.

    Passionate host willing to go the extra mile. I asked for an iron and instead of just giving me an iron they ironed my shirts. Great service. Lovely tranquil location and traditional old (but well maintained) property. Plenty of local knowledge and advice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only stayed 2 nights

    The whole experience was breathtaking. Felt like I have come home after a long journey ! The host, the grounds, the serene environment and the grand finale Nuno's Traditional Portuguese Food cooking class !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From our point of view there was nothing that was not perfect for our requirements.

    Charming hosts. Full of useful information about local places of interest and how to reach them. This was an excellent location for visiting many historical sites which was the main purpose of our visit. We were also given recommendations for local restaurants and how to find them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traveled with my girlfriend for a party weekend and stayed over. The first impression going through the avenue of trees until we reach the 500 year old manor is fantastic. The natural beauty and historical offer of the hostel stood out and arriving at that XIX century noble breakfast table with all good fresh products is like traveling back in time. The swimming pool looked absolutely refreshing, though we had no time to try it. Last but not least, the host. Nuno is a magnificent chaperone making us feel at ease and right at home. Easiness of access, they were flexible enough to arrange access even during late night hours. recommend stay for all of those in the Tomar / Ourem area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress could be a little softer.

    The host was very friendly, very welcoming and helpful. It was the perfect stay for my little family (2 little children and 1 dog). The apartment is cosy and spacious. My boy had so much fun running around, playing soccer and of course playing with Scooby (the host's friendly Labrador). Every morning we would go say hello to the donkeys and the sheeps. The swimming pool is nice and clean. We defintitily recommend this Quinta.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great host. Beautiful mansion, rooms and surroundings. The pool was very nice. Great for families and couples looking for a relaxing time. The nearby City, Tomar, and the Lake Lago Azur are worth a visit aswell.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic getaway with the family ! Kids cried when it was time to leave. Everything was perfect, the apartment, the pool, the farm and the animals. Staff went out of their way to entertain and provide whatever we asked for. Nuno was exceptionally friendly. Our dog enjoyed herding and exercising the sheep every evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in one of the houses, and maybe we got a not so modern one. It was kind of smelly (like old furniture smell). I know the place is old, but come on! Also, good thing it was a short stay and we didn't use the pseudo-kitchen. Overall it is an acceptable place to stay, but only if you get it at the right price.

    It has a swimming pool and a common living room area with pool table. The house was spatious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the property was a bit tricky to find. Better signage at the entrance would have helped.

    The property was very nice with loads of charm due to the history and age of the property. It was very well kept and the owner was awesome. His local knowledge and suggestions of places to see in the area was excellent and appreciated. The local restaurant he suggested for dinner was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi-fi works only in public area (we knew it when we chose the place). CRT TV

    Friendly owner. lots of facilities in public area (billiard, bar, lounge).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Apartment T1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The indications to arrive need slightly improvement . One possibility is to introduce rua das quintas in the navigator

    A Portuguese writer Raúl Brandao made a distinction between tourism and hospitality. That is in a nutshell what distinguishes a stay in this beautiful and relaxing place. Nuno is such a great host.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some more kitchen utilities would have been nice.

    Hospitality of Nuno, quiet & central location, daily maid service in our cottage, restaurant and sight seeing tips around.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything. From the comfortable house to the interaction with the animals. We highly recommend it for a peaceful weekend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. Mr Nuno made our stay unforgetable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment T1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exellent place with fantastic host

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Group
    • Apartment T1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, homely and just a delight to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It is a beautiful house full of character, our host was very charming and helpful. We would choose this again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    most lovely place - Nuno is a noble man who cares for his guests and helps in every way.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Th owner is a great person! very welcoming and friendly! Nice rooms and decoration. Just a bit sticky air in the room at arrival.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was a stay with a difference with a host family or estate that had been involved in every stage of Portuguese history. We particularly appreciated the family stories about Fatima. A great honeymoon

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Super friendly owner of the farm! Me, my old parents and 13 y.o. nephew spent there two nights and felt homey. I can strongly recommend this accommodation!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - Nothing. Everything was perfect for us.

    - The location of the place was perfect for us, a beautiful Quinta to relax and explore the surroundings but also further places of Portugal, like Lisbon. - Nuno and his staff were very helpful. - We spent 14 days in this property with our little son. The place is perfect for families. The swimming pool was a very good addition for us.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely country villa owned by the original family for 400 years. Still run by a great, great grandson who was very generous with information about the area. Rustic and charming grounds and chapel. Interesting stories. Convenient location to Tomar and Fatima.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Double bed, but owner said he may add twin beds to more rooms

    Everything! Wonderful family history. Owner spent plenty of leisurely time with us talking about family and the history of the Quinta. His relaxed attitude made us feel right at home. We really felt like we were guest of his family, swimming with his adorable daughters and visiting with other guests at the breakfast table which I might say was wonderful!

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The old house, complete with furnishings. Relaxed attitude of host. Good food (book dinner in advance). Looking around the farm (including chapel). Good common room area (where the wi-fi is decent).

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Nice owner, nice room, helpful with very good advice abut where t go for dinner, nice dogs, nice breakfast, nice location.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to dislike.

    Full of character and well equipped. The host was excellent at all levels and made us all very welcome including the dog.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderfull place and great host - charming, caring and offering interesting talk on the history of the place. I really do hope I will go there again

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: