Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quinta da Bela Vista 5 stars

Caminho do Avista Navios, 4, Sao Martinho, 9000-129 Funchal, Portugal

#31 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 149 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms are ok but they can do with a bit of an update. The bed can be better, pillows too soft and too small. No complementry bottle of water each day. The bathroom was ok but rather see a separate shower as showers over a bath are not great. It had a cheap shower curtain and the showerhead was constantly twisting (not a good fitting). Also they should supply flannels. All in all the rooms/bathrooms can do with a better quality and fresher furniture for the price we paid. The hotel is really geared up for the elderly as hotel is stuck in a certain routine which is a shame. We stayed there as little as possible. If we decide to go back to Madeira we will go for another hotel.

    Liked the building, very nice location, breakfast was very good, staff were friendly and has a shuttle bus to take you into Funchal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Can be unfortunate that reception staff have to leave the reception desk in order to help guests with baggage. The breakfast room can be very busy around 09.00, and we found the central tables too close together.

    Attractive setting in lovely gardens, away from the hustle and bustle of the main hotel area in Funchal. Pleasant de luxe room with balcony, although tall trees do obscure the view. We enjoyed professional service in the Manor House restaurant. The free shuttle bus service is a "bonus", but one must remember to book seats in good time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shuttle bus only held 9 people and as it is the only way to get to Funchal it was not big enough and got booked up ages in advance - hence a lot of money spent on taxi fares! Bit disappointing as they mention shuttle bus on the hotel information but fail to mention it was difficult to actually get on!

    The beautiful gardens and views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inconsistent feel of the furnishings (very minor)

    The view is spectacular and the staff could not be more helpful. Breakfast was also really good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff were exceptional. Thank you for enabling us to have rooms next door to friends in spite of late application. Enjoyed meals in all venues - A la carte particularly good and pool side enjoyable. The gardens were typical of this climate and very pleasant. The swimming pool and attendants perfect for enjoyment. Thank you Paula and staff and the Head Waiter and team to be applauded. Thank you so very much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were inadequate maps in reception - better ones were readily available at the tourist office. Internet access was poor.

    All the staff, from head waiters to gardeners, were polite, friendly and helpful and intelligent and knew their job well. The interior decoration everywhere was very tasteful and the quality of the cuisine was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sombre room - not at all luxurious. Crawling on floor to make a coffee - kettle on short lead to plug. Hard bed

    Food excellent. Staff helpful. Taxi service to sea front convenient. Pool side bar/ cafe excellent Calm , quiet location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were given the very furthest room from reception. I have trouble walking any distance (I use assistance at airports). We were not given any warning that it was a nearly 200 yard walk and on third floor with a lift that only goes from 2 to 3. We should've demanded another room on arrival but were given the impression the place was full. It turned out not to be. Bed hard, room cold (but they found us a heater) garden poorly maintained.

    Staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is somewhat out of the centre, so it's not easy just to walk out and go to a restaurant - we had a car, so this did not bother us much, and there is the courtesy mini bus, but only daytime. Most of the rooms are in separate buildings, so getting luggage to and fro reception/restaurant etc, and indeed oneself, if it is raining or one is not good at walking, is a bit of an issue.

    Superb breakfast spread - great prepared fruit selection, and generally an array of hot and cold dishes, seeds, nuts etc...Room large and comfortable, pleasant balcony and garden view - the gardens are very lovely. Courtesy mini bus service into town. We enjoyed its location out of the centre - very peaceful, lots of birdsong in the garden and indeed the rooms appear to be well sound-proofed (or maybe just quiet fellow guests!).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Ants in our room. Bed not comfy. Not very well lit outside at night especially when the ground is cobbled. No hand rail for steps at hotel entrance or at pool. Gym needs modernised, equipment needs brought up to date.

    Very tranquil. Lovely quiet pool. Good reception, prompt service. Food good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WLAN access almost NEVER worked. The reception had to be told every day to reboot the central access point and multiple repeaters. After that, Internet access would work for max 1 day, Inacceptable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing. This is a superbly well run hotel.

    The staff were wonderful and very friendly. Their relaxed professionalism was a joy to behold. The food was superb and the gardens wonderful. It is a little outside of the city, which is probably a good thing. A free shuttle bus is provided.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Panoramic View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We chose the slightly out of town location on the understanding that there was a courtesy bus into the centre 8 times a day. There is, and it works well if you can get on it, but it gets very booked up for the trips after breakfast and we ended up resorting to the city buses or taxis most days. It would be nice if they ran a few more trips at the busy times or had a few more seats. It also doesn't run late in the evening so it is no use for getting back from a meal out.

    Beautiful gardens and setting and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Generally a very nice hotel and we would certainly go back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many of the fixtures and fittings need renewal and are not of a 5 star standard. Such as worn stained carpets in bedroom, many tiles missing in the swimming pool.

    The location, friendly service, relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service was awful, hotel to impersonal / masses hotel style compared to the Quintas style in madeira

    Amazing views and the place to be at dawn in funchal

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were wonderfully big but harder than we're used to!

    The gardens were fabulous, the buildings were full of charm and character and the whole place was wonderfully peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't refresh the milk in our room and when we requested more they were going to charge €2.50. When we objected a waiter appeared at our room with the sachets . A bit grubby for a 5 star hotel !

    The hotel is set in beautiful gardens . Poor area is lovely although the cushions could do with upgrading as they are thin and grubby looking . The towels also could use an upgrade and you only get one per person . Breakfast is standard with lots of fruit etc , ask for a boiled egg or omelette and it's made for you . The hotel itself is about a 45 min walk from the town so use the shuttle bus when it's available as it's a bit precarious walking . We had a lovely room overlooking the gardens with a balcony we could sit ,relax and enjoy the view . The pool bar is fantastic to have a light bite then relax with a few drinks taking in the wonderful views . This is not a hotel I would recommend for people with young children !! Would definetly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated chairs in the room. Couldnt even seat on them. Food very expensive compared to the rest of the island. It's not the best hotel if you want to be around young people.

    Very nice staff Great view Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is in a quiet location, excellent staff a short taxi ride will take you into Funchal or you can use the shuttle bus from the hotel. It is our second visit and would go back again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can honestly say I didn't dislike anything.

    I felt so spoilt by the staff, surroundings, fine dining and the staff could not do enough to accommodate any requests. Truely a Hotel that treats its guests with a personal and unique touch, poles apart from large corporate hotels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness not acceptable - hairs in the bathroom at time of moving into the room, 'new' bath shoes were alteady used and dirty, ... ... Half pension dinner on low quality level - definitely not what you would expect in a 5 star house. Noisy at 5 am in the morning as shuttle picking up people stops right in front of the house close to the windows of te rooms.

    Good breakfast, nice garden.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Panoramic View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The gardens were a delight - filled with beautiful plants and elegant trees; and the house, restaurant and pool house were lovely having wonderful antiques with comfortable armchairs and settees.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very minor point, two small pillows instead of one normal (English?) size. A choice of either would have been better. Otherwise have only praise for this hotel.

    The staff were very nice from the restaurants to the lady who cleaned our room. There was an excellent choice of restaurants and a very good buffet at breakfast. Rooms were spacious with lovely views over the gardens to the bay of Funchal. Easy hotel minibus or taxi ride to central Funchal. We had a car for two days to explore the island and the main roads were easy to access from the hotel. If we had stayed for longer I would have used the swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we would have preferred light weight duvets on the beds. Blankets are tight and heavy and don't wrap around the body.

    very relaxed atmosphere.. friendly staff..lovely thought about areas to sit inside and outside. Peaceful shady garden for walking around. Swimming pool well placed with stunning view of Funchal and sunshine all day. Pool bar friendly and convenient to eat in the evening. Shady tennis court. Excellent buffet style breakfast with efficient waiter service of tea and coffee. Shady parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The carpet in the Room we were given was in poor state as it had extensive stains in the entrance area. Seems that all carpets are being re-laid but not all rooms finished We were given another room as an upgrade which more than made up for this. What a great room 526 is, made the holiday!

    Excellent breakfast, good pool and bar facilities for casual eating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was excellent and the staff were professional, friendly and extremely helpful. The location of the hotel although a little out of way of the town centre is set in beautiful, peaceful surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hot tub was a little too hot for us so only booked it once.

    The staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. Our flight was delayed three days due to weather conditions and we were contacted at home by Paola to check all was well. The breakfast was delicious and there was a wide choice of food, hot and cold. Our room was second floor and had a balcony - we overlooked the gardens. We ate twice at the swimming pool bar and the food is cooked to order by the chefs in the hotel - excellent. Funchal is not easy to walk to as the hotel is a little way out but there was a courtesy minibus which you could book. The pool was lovely and the view from the terrace by the pool was towards Funchal Bay. We had a wonderful time and hope to return.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The set menu for the evening dinner was 5 courses and expensive so we didn't go there. We don't need so many courses and would have welcomed a less expensive option in the evening. By contrast the lunch menu was very reasonable and sensible. The pianist in the bar was great but I would suggest that the piano is tuned and repaired as it's a nice instrument. He was a good musician and deserves to play a piano that is in tune!

    All the staff were, without exception, friendly and efficient and had the 'nothing is too much trouble' attitude to help with making our holiday perfect. Great atmosphere and comfortable throughout. The breakfast was wonderful and plenty of healthy options. The swimming pool was great and immaculately clean however a few degrees warmer would have been appreciated given that the weather isn't consistently warm in March. The a la carte restaurant was beautiful with delicious food and gracious atmosphere. Very relaxing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was 'slightly fusty' smelling or badly aired. Perhaps the fitted carpets could do with a good clean or replacing with nice tiles instead. We had to air the room each time we were there. Unfortunately for a hotel called Bêla Vista the only views available were from the pool area. This is because they are not allowed to cut the trees which run along the sea side of the property and block what could be amazing views from the guest rooms.

    The reception staff were incredibly attentive and helpful and gave us excellent suggestions for places to visit or eat. Lots of pleasant areas to relax both inside and outside. Peaceful and calm.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had a car hire so could enjoy the island and Funchal. The hotel would not have been close enough to the restaurants and coast otherwise.

    Very helpful and friendly staff and good breakfast. Pleasant pool area. A very restful week.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very expensive accommodation, food and drink. Too far away from centre. Shuttle bus timings such that you have to return to hotel late afternoon which can trap you into an expensive meal.

    Superb breakfasts, staff friendly and helpful. Interesting buildings and gardens. Nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We found the pillows a bit narrow and the toasters a bit random in toasting capacity (but these really not major problems)

    Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely ambiance in the characterful and comfortable hotel. Fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna and showers by the pool could do with a face lift although the area was clean it is a bit shabby.

    Being a solo traveler I was grateful for the way the staff treated me and looked after me. I thoroughly enjoyed my short stay at such a lovely peaceful accommodating hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom, especially the shower very out dated.

    Breakfast was really good and a nice selection of food. The friendly of the staff was phenomenal, willing to help and make the best of the visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was as it should be to make a great holiday time! So nothing bad.

    Very good services, extremely kind personnel, welcoming location, best fresh orange juice at breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was a little uncomfortable but not a problem.

    Quiet & peaceful.Staff were attentive but not intrusive seemed to enjoy providing an excellent service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little far out of the town centre to walk

    A medium sized hotel with excellent food and attentive staff in a quiet location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thinks it’s time to remove baths and put really good showers in.

    Pool looked nice but cool weather and rain prevented use.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great restaurant staff kindly looking after us on our v late arrival.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel smells very musty, could do with a deep clean of corridors and carpets.

    Suited our needs for a short break

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in an annexe, a long walk from restaurant. The gym was very poor I didn’t bother using it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No change in the breakfast

    Everything!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool towels.

    The staff very attentive. The grounds were lovely

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Good food, good room and bed / bathroom. Plenty of sun loungers, enjoyable lunches at the pool bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food at the pool bar was really only snack menu and over priced

    Location Room & balcony Views from the gardens

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Billiard Room cues had no tips.

    The friendly staff and so many lounges hidden around the place where you could read a book in peace.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good Breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is situated a long way from Funchal town centre and we had to take a taxi every day

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having a bath not just a shower. Very helpful and friendly staff. Loved antique furniture all over hotel. Wonderful buffet breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More sunshades required. Evening meals were a bit rushed.

    Gardens, rooms, peacefulness. Charming staff at the pool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it is not a 5***** hotel.... it is more a 4 stars with few services and ammenities

    the old building with the "a la carte" restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The garden, having been wonderful was a disgrace, I think they had paid the gardnersoff during the winter. Thistles everywhere which really took the edge of our stay.

    Nice old fashioned hotel with really nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant a bit small and crammed

    Excellent breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. Dinner in A la Carte restaurant a real treat - good food attentive staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If they could afford it perhaps a few morw "free" shuttle buses to the town centre.

    The variety of places to eat met our every need.The gardens we're very relaxing and beautiful

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On the last night we ate in the manor house a la carte menu. Both myself and my wife were ill afterwards. The manager said the food was not the cause. As we both had the soup and were both ill I leave you to make your own judgement.

    The majority of the staff were extremely good. The manager however was the exception.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to get some services such as 'bottle of water to be left in room each day'. Just didn't happen. Personally I would prefer pool open a bit earlier so I could swim before breakfast.

    Grounds of hotel were lovely albeit care needed on paths. Staff in reception extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel position was remote from town and although they ran a shuttle bus, this stopped at 5.30pm. Very small and uninviting bar within the hotel not conducive for socialising. Table d'hote menu offered no choice and was expensive. Lovely sitting room on 1st floor found by chance crying out for bar!

    Excellent friendly staff, lovely hotel grounds with good panoramic view over Funchal from pool area. Quality of food in a la crate restaurant was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a problem but most guests were retired and this was not a place for the young or families.

    The service was excellent as was the breakfast. Our room was up graded and was huge !! The hotel is an oasis of calm and tranquility

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't have any

    The relaxed atmosphere, the lovely surroundings, the provision of a courtesy minibus to take people into Funchal and very helpful staff who speak excellent English. Excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No music around the pool and one can wake up to the sound of birds chirping in the hotel garden which adds to the sense of tranquillity. Staff very helpful, and the 5 course set dinner is very good. Free shuttle bus for the 5 minute ride into the centre of Funchal.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor internet in the rooms. Hard bed and terrible pillows. No spa options (i.e. massage)

    The swimming pool area was lovely and so was the garden (though it needed a little love). The property and design of the hotel has so much potential, I just felt it was missing that last detail (i.e grass growing through tiles on the driveway & pool, tons of leaves in the garden)...my first impression walking up the driveway was the place was run down but its very clean and the staff are nice.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Although the fee Wi-Fi has excellent speed, it is not available in the guestrooms if you are not in the main building.

    Fantastic staff, beautiful grounds.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Refined understated hotel

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very quiet.pleasent senary

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's located some way from central Funchal

    Staff are friendly Food is good

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious traditional buildings with antique furnishings, lovely garden and pool, friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location further from Funchal old town that thought - 50 minutes walk.

    Enjoyable meal in a la carte restaurant

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi intermittent sometimes but ok

    Relaxed peaceful atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were not comfy and rooms a little out of date.

    The gardens, the staff the peace and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would hav liked a bigger and quieter bar in the main building. . .a place for guests to socialise.

    The atmosphere of the hotel and its grounds.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The Wifi is a bit spotty

    Lovely antiques Beautiful library Incredibly nice staff Sophisticated guests

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was very good but in the restaurant was really deceiving.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: