Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quinta da Dourada

Parque Natural Da Serra de S.Mamede-Ribeira de Niza, 7300-409 Portalegre, Portugal

#8 of 16 hotels in Portalegre

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 327 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Very nice tranquil rural place
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    if anything : The mattress could have been a bit softer ....

    Top location, very friendly staff.Nicely decorated and Nuno is a very friendly host. He was always trying to make our stay even more satisfying and every request was immediately executed. Surely we will stay again at this nice place when in the area again !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Bizarre place, no staff around
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no obvious reception area so finding staff members was challenging. The whole place was deserted when we arrived- I think the owner was away for a couple of days and it wasn’t obvious who was working there. I don’t understand why they don’t offer breakfast in a dining area. Instead it is wrapped up in the fridge in the rooms. Our left over breakfast things weren’t collected the whole of the day and on our second day we had several items missing. The pool was cleaned in the middle of the day so our children couldn’t use it at 11am when it was already 38 degrees. There were a lot of dogs around- both belonging to the guests and the place. We saw a fight between two big dogs.

    There was a lot of space in the rooms and the beds were comfortable. It was clean. The WiFi was strong.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall great stay in lovely spot and beautiful pousada
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had requested 2 beds but owner did not receive that request. He and the housekeeper made huge effort to get us the 2 beds in a wonderful and comfortable suite - hugely appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    We just enjoyed every moment of our stay and the owner was a very interesting and friendly man.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The long drive approach to the property was a graded road and uneven most of the way, but was very rustic.

    Everything about this place - the owner was an excellent chef too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    "typical Portugal". Nice place with unused potential and low maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last piece of quinta road in bad condition, booking pictures and description of the accommodation is not true! Our bathroom was very old, mirror broken&rusty, no shelf available. Breakfast w/o variation, put 1 day prior into the fridge, no fresh except the bread. There is no restaurant, no real reception, no service at all. Quinta not mantained. We paid for 90m2 modern house, but received 40m2 old, rose one without real explanation and reimbursement. 4 dogs walking around the place, asking for food. Pool was OK, but the sun bed layers were old and dirty. No activities at all. It's really pity, because the place is nice!

    The place was really nice, calm and quiet. Good location, easy to find it via GPS as well. The owner was sympathic man who changed our bed for a bigger one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    The place it's like piece of heaven on earth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place it's like piece of heaven on earth. On my second day it was raining and even so it was beautiful. My only regret is not staying on the property for more time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    A delightful setting. Would love to return in the summer for a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One does need to take care on the long drive into the property as it's uneven but other than that, there was nothing to dislike.

    Very warm welcome, spacious rooms, peaceful and an excellent, pre-booked meal in the farmhouse.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant stay, good food and a kind host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms/facilities are a little dated and need a makeover.

    Breakfast was really good and the prepared meals were delicious. The staff were very friendly and were always willing to help. A very pleasant stay in a lovely quiet location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    A welcoming and professionally run Quinta in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The charming owner and his family, as well as staff are very professional and take the services they provide seriously. We were indeed upgraded due to the time of year, being in mid February, and provided with good quality food for breakfast. When we asked about walking in the area the host provided a full walking guide in English straight away. His daughter was also very welcoming and made us feel at home. This is a lovely place to stay within the National Park area and within easy reach of Marvao and some great walks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    4.2
    Nice landscape, check-in terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - booked a house with 90sq m and got a normal studio with around 25-30sq m without any compensation. - Check-in : We had to wait for 50 min in front of the quinta, which was closed, before the owner called us to let us know, where to find the key. Even though we made an appointment for the check-in at 5 p.m. and double confirmend that at the day of arriving.

    Landscape around the quinta.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, quiet, one bedroom house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast left in the fridge could have been better. Stale bread, bottled juice, no fruit. We had dinner delivered to the room which was tasty however thought it was overpriced at 39€ for what was provided. Some of the electric appliances in the kitchenette need repair - bare wires, and cleaning.

    Our one bedroom house was comfortable and a good place to relax. Bed was very comfortable, temperature good, WiFi very good. Setting was very quiet and pretty in the autumn. Location not far from Marvao and Castelo de Vide via scenic drives through the mountains. We had a very good value on a last min. off season booking. Good communication with the host via text messages since he was mostly not around while we were there

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    A cozy country retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchenette doors were closing by themselves, everything else was fine.

    A beautiful rustic farm equipped with a friendly cat in the night and a bunch of also friendly and happy dogs in the morning. The breakfast was quite good, the beds comfortable, the rooms lovely decorated. We'd definitely return to stay again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    The perfect example of hospitality and comfort at its very best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being able to stay any longer!

    Wonderful haven after a long drive from Bilbao. Afraid Sean the Tom tom didn't have a clue but Nano (apologies if I spelt that wrong) came and met us. What a wonderful place, so peaceful and so comfortable. Massive great bed which was really comfy. Fantastic hosts served us a really excellent meal with plenty of liquid refreshment and lots of laughter. Had a wonderful evening with them and then our bread was delivered early morning to go with our buffet breakfast. Superb, superb, superb. Our poor Belgian Shepherd dog who had been really stressed since we left Cornwall just chilled and even met a couple of doggie friends who came round to call for him in the morning. A really great welcome to Portugal cannot rate it highly enough!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    An enchanting place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tucked away in the tranquil Serra de Sao Mamede, this charming Quinta is comfortable and clean with a warm welcome from its friendly Portuguese owner. Tasty food for the evening meal was packed into the fridge and eaten by moonlight on the private terrace whilst fresh bread was delivered in the morning for breakfast; a gorgeous place to stay in a special part of Portugal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    An enjoyable and comfortable country getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was really enjoyable and a pleasant surprise as we were not sure if dinner was available. It was really great that we could have dinner in a lovely setting, and not have to drive into town. Nou Nou was a wonderful host.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.7
    Had expected better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival at 5pm the room was not ready and we had to wait 40 mins. We were not given info about the facilities or meal options. Breakfast was DIY in our room - had expected it to be served in the garden. The bathroom toilet leaked. Large rust marks on radiator. Bed was 1.90m not 2m as described. Had 2 coffee capsules in our kitchen but were not advised they were intended for our b/fast.Better info needed.

    Nice location / views by pool. Quiet area. Room could have better lighting but was otherwise okay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Quinta da Dourada is an absolutely stunning place, extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quinta da Dourada is an absolutely stunning place, extremely well kept with everything one needs to relax away from the madness of city life. The apartment in which I stayed was comfortable, functional, tastefully decorated and clean - extra points for the comfortable bed and silent AC. The food prepared was outstanding and so was the wine. Nuno, the owner, was very kind and ever so helpful whenever I needed a hand with my computer not connecting properly to the internet, which was greatly appreciated as I had some work commitments that depended on it. The downside? Having stayed only two days.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.9
    Charming stay in rural accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easter week and +27 degrees but the pool was covered and no sunbeds were out. It would be nice with a couple of sunbeds/chairs outside cottage for relaxation.

    Nino and his son gave us a very nice welcome and was very helpful during our stay. We got served a 3 course meal and breakfast in our very cosy and charming cottage.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    5.8
    Country side was beautiful and tapestry museum was informative
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled strongly of air fresheners (caution if you have smell allergies). Felt that host should have supplied bottled water as the property was out of town

    View and grounds were beautiful. We didn't know that we were trespassing on the neighbours property as it was not signed properly but they were very friendly and invited in for tea.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Beatiful everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beatiful everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Quinta da Dourada
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like

    Lovely beautiful place quiet retreat with a nice pool. Our apartment has everything we needed and more

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The rural setting. The owner's helpfulness (e.g.: giving advice about near restaurants).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    We got a free upgrade to a better room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a free upgrade to a better room! Thanks!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    the best in a long time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ...

    Everything was great.the food was amazing. The view breath taking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Great location: peaceful rural setting with lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location: peaceful rural setting with lovely views. Excellent breakfast included in the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great place to stay! You should not miss the delicious food prepared by the owner for dinner!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    hard to find, but wonderfull to be there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Fabulous place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Location and the owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little hard to find. After a few directions there was not any problem.

    Location and the owner

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bumby lane for our motor bikes

    I liked the owners help and attention

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location, tasty dinner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful place in the middle of nowhere. Great to make stop over next to the border with Spain.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.6
    Peace and comfort...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is build with heart and everything is well taken care for. I would recommend it to everyone who needs peace and comfort

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.6
    Beautifull location, warm welcome and friendly host
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifull location, warm welcome and friendly host

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    10
    Nuno is the perfect host, and the Quinta is beautifully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nuno is the perfect host, and the Quinta is beautifully authentic (being his family's home for a few hundred years!). Nuno is very attentive and will make sure you are always 100% comfortable and happy. We opted to have dinners at the quinta, and the food we were served was absolutely delicious, we could not fault it. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.2
    The location up in the mountains was the kind of quiet place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The coffee machine ate our coffee pucks, so, no morning coffee :( and the owner was away so nobody around to ask for more. Otherwise, very pleasing place, gracious host, superb welcome brandy.

    The location up in the mountains was the kind of quiet place we like to visit. The historic weaving museum in nearby Portalegre was well worth the visit.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    9.6
    My family and I stayed one night in Quinta da Dourada, this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    My family and I stayed one night in Quinta da Dourada, this place was very charming, a lots of outdoor activies to enjoy and explore a Natural Park which is close by, we were heading to Oporto so this place was perfect to rest. We also had a delicious homemade dinner provide by the host! We could definitely come back and stay longer next time!!!

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    7.9
    We had a pleasant stay for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a pleasant stay for one night. The views are very nice. We were in the apartment which is spacious. We also enjoyed dinner and some of the wine they produce.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    8.8
    A lovely experience in wonderful countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely experience in wonderful countryside. A most attentive host in a delightful property. We had 2 excellent meals and Nuno is sending the trousers I left behind - thank you!

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.2
    We were upgraded to a little suite by the pool terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were upgraded to a little suite by the pool terrace. Breakfast of yogurt, ham cheese butter, jam and fresh bread and coffee is left in the fridge in the room. We enjoyed this outside on the terrace in the morning. The owner was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.2
    Quite place in natural park, spacey apartment and kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    How to find: do not use the GPS navigation, but instead, just follow the road until a blue sign "Quinta da Dourada".

    Quite place in natural park, spacey apartment and kind staff. This is real value for money.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    8.3
    Great house with nice flats.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The GPS of the rental car didn't find the mentioned adress. Furthermore the GPS coordinates appeared to be wrong so it was difficult to find the hotel. So better have a closer look on google maps before travelling! ;)

    Great house with nice flats. Quiet surrounding and beautiful swimming pool. Very friendly and assistant staff!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    The setting, ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was wonderful from the minute we arrived to the very moment we left

    The setting, ambience. host and his son, pool, gardens room, meal was fantastic. Relaxed and friendly but non intrusive

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.2
    A little hard to find but it is in the country side nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little hard to find but it is in the country side nice place very friendly family the wife cooked us a very good evening meal and the whole family we very nice breakfast was good and I would highly recommend it

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    10
    Thoughtful and friendly host, perfect location in a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Thoughtful and friendly host, perfect location in a quiet place of natural park but not far from Portalegre, the room was very cozy and had everything in it. Very nice pool. We enjoyed our stay a lot, even for just 1 day.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    10
    typical houses well maintained, so warm welcoming people,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    typical houses well maintained, so warm welcoming people, you feel at home, the view and location are perfect for having a rest in this beautiful area. This is one of the best memory of our stay in Portugal

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    9.6
    Amazing hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing hidden gem. Wonderful service from the owner who made us feel very welcome. Excellent accommodation and facilities. Highly recommend his three course dinner as an affordable and delicious meal. Definitely recommend!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    8.8
    The dinner offered by the host was excellent, with wine and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dinner offered by the host was excellent, with wine and most of ingredients produced within the property. The vintage house from the 18th century and the landscape are very beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    10
    - Very beautiful and calm place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - Very beautiful and calm place - Very nice staff and good welcoming service - the owner is very nice and friendly - Rooms/House: Very clean and very confortable -Perfectly maintained, quiet and beautiful surroundings - multiple spaces to just stay and enjoy the surrounding - The spectacular dinners they serve - all with their own products from the farm - Good breakfast - absolutely recommendable (!)

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    8.8
    - dogs friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner

    - dogs friendly - environment friendly - friendly stuff - the place is simply awesome - very quite (January) - close to Marvão - nice breakfast - you get the things and need to prepare it on your own - eggs, tea, etc. - very nice, no rush with breakfast hours, - absolutely recommendable

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Good location, very quiet and handy to tourist attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very happy with our stay.

    Good location, very quiet and handy to tourist attractions. Clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.2
    The breakfast buffet offered a broad variety of food, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast buffet offered a broad variety of food, the owner is very nice and the spot is perfect for whom is looking for peace and nature

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    7.5
    Situated in an isolated place surrounded by traditional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The weather!

    Situated in an isolated place surrounded by traditional quintas. Beautiful fountain on the property.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful host. Lovely farm house and buildings. Great evening food and nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    10
    This farm is definitely worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This farm is definitely worth a visit. Great value for money, very comfortable and great for pet Travelling.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    10
    Beautiful Quinta and Nuno the owner is an excellent person...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful Quinta and Nuno the owner is an excellent person and a great cook!!!!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    We liked the peacefulness and friendliness of the staff
    • Family with young children

    We liked the peacefulness and friendliness of the staff it was close to the city centre

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.6
    We got better appartment than we booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are quite dark.

    We got better appartment than we booked. The king-size bed was very comfortable. Good breakfeast with the fresh bread.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    9.2
    Warm welcome, lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm welcome, lovely room. The surroundings were beautiful and well cared for.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    9.6
    Lots of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Takes a bit of finding.

    Lots of space.First class dinner prepared by owner!

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    7.9
    Very beautiful and calm place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very beautiful and calm place. Good kitchen facilities. Pleasant staff. Playground for kids.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    7.9
    Hot hot water, good sized room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot hot water, good sized room. Pet friendly. Easy to find.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: