Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quinta Da Penha De Franca 4 stars

Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia , 85, Se, 9000-018 Funchal, Portugal

#35 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1138 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Staff are really welcoming, helpful and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff are really welcoming, helpful and efficient. Excellent continental breakfast. Choice of 2 pools. Nice location close to the sea and just a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Funchal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Pre- wedding stay
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated which we didn’t mind but I can imagine some prefer a more modern look!

    Traditional decor, close to ferry port (especially as we were heading to porto santo for our wedding so wanted to be close!), friendly staff, good breakfast options, reasonably priced, lovely grounds to walk round

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    A most enjoyable stay in a very friendly niche hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The menu would have been improved with more variety and a change during the stay.

    The traditional atmosphere of an elegant quinta. Within walking distance of Funchal centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Gardens are a nice respite from the Funchal traffic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pools closed way to early (6pm!) and nearby construction was a bit noisy.

    Gardens are a nice respite from the Funchal traffic. Three pools and access to the ocean! Included breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Location, a 10 minute walk into the centre of Funchal, lots...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious grounds, access to the sea, some snorkelling. Free Parking

    Location, a 10 minute walk into the centre of Funchal, lots of good local restaurants and with direct access to the sea

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    A fascinating insight into how the islands geography has shaped its history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were surrounded by building sites including 4 tall cranes.At times it was noisy and it spoilt the view.

    Small Hotel in a good location.Comfortable and clean room. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Wide variety of breakfast, nice location, free parking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Construction work nearby

    Wide variety of breakfast, nice location, free parking, scenic view from the balconies. Very friendly staff, bit annoying the nearby construction work (Apartmants towards sea, Savoy Hotel enourmous building to the road side) . Nice lounge, really fine atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    Staff was very friendly especially with our child, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was disappointing for a hotel in this category, bathroom was probably 30 years old and not in a good condition.

    Staff was very friendly especially with our child, good location with walking distance to the center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely, rather small place with nice gardens and relaxing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel forgot my pick-up from the airport and in the end I had to pay a higher rate for the taxi then had been agreed on.

    Lovely, rather small place with nice gardens and relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Calm, airy hideaway amongst the rampant concrete jungle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As mentioned amongst 'Likes', the inappropriate development of modern concrete monstrosities of 'progress' nearby, though, with a little effort, the incursion can be kept at bay.

    The old-world ambience was still present despite the awful encroachment of modern greed all-around. Convenient (healthy) walking distance of Funchal town and facilities. Staff were knowledgeable, helpful and genuinely welcoming. Breakfast was plentiful, varied and good quality. Good restauration and coffee shops close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    3.3
    The island is fantastic but we will NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The beds were rockhard, noisy, the veneer was falling of the door frame, toiletries not replaced every day. Ants in the bathroom, one day the cleaner had not locked our door after cleaning. 2 out of 4 receptionist were grumpy. Everything was too much. Breakfast really poor. No set tables, unfriendly staff. the english breakfast was in hot buffet trays from 7:30 till 10:00. No wonder anyone ate it. All this considering we visit a lot of 4 star hotels throughout the year as your bookings will attest.

    The location was good. The views were nice. We must add this was Quinta de Penha Franca MAR and not the top location. Instead of a 4 star hotel this was more like a 2 star hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel and fully enjoyed what Madeira had to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing comes to mind.

    The hotel was in an ideal location, quiet with a short walk into the town. The staff were very helpful and there was a good choice for breakfast. Nice to be able to use the pool at the sister hotel and a lovely view of the sea from there. Nice that the hotel was not your standard hotel in that it was spread out not high rise. Our room was in a block of four rooms quite private within a mini garden, lovely to sit out with a drink. Would fully recommend this hotel and if we ever go back to Madeira would definitely stay here loved the quaintness of it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Charming property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very bad soundproofing of the rooms - you can hear everything on the next room or in the corridor like it´s no door and/or walls Water pressure on the shower is very, very low

    Charming property Nice staff Location Room size and decoration

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Charming place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very bad soundproofing of the rooms - you can hear everything on the next room or in the corridor like it´s no door and/or walls Water pressure on the shower is very, very low

    Nice Staff Charming property Room size and decoration Room view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    The best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing

    This was our 5th stay at this hotel and it did not disappoint friendly staff some who have worked there many years. We stayed in the Quinta this visit the room had loads of character and was spotlessly clean. We will return next year.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Idyllic and relaxing. Just what we needed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was at night time a little cold and musty smelling. The floor was at times rather dusty and needed to be swept

    A beautiful old manor house, within 15 mins walk of down town Funchal, modernised with all creature comforts. Staff could not be more helpful and friendly, views of the sea and gardens are stunning, food reasonably priced and breakfast generous and delicious. We loved the family feel to the hotel and the opportunity to soak up the March sun by a pool surrounded by flowers. Idyllic. We will certainly come again. Thank you for a lovely holiday!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant, but has seen better days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately from the pictures, it's hard to tell that there's a behemoth hotel building being constructed behind it. It's a bit noisy and spoils the view. Also the location isn't the greatest, surrounded by English tourist trap bars and restaurants and sterile hotel buildings.

    The rooms were fairly large and beds comfortable, with a well stocked mini-bar. The pool area and inner grounds are very pleasant. The staff were flexible about changing the reservation, though some were a little grumpy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    Overall a nice place to stay in an excellent position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had a junior suite and i think it needs to be a bit more specific about where these are situated. If we had known it was in the newer block we would probably have booked a standard room.

    The location was perfect and the buffet breakfast was of a good quality and varied.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Highly recommend this relaxing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction of massive concrete hotel overlooking gardens. Planning authorities should be ashamed.

    Traditional Portuguese hotel with nice gardens and pool. Handy for port and ferry to Porto Santo, our next destination.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed it and may be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is split into two distinct parts which wasn't clear on the original booking. Sea rooms and garden rooms are actually in different hotels repeated by a walk over a bridge and down a road. It's not far but it could have split our party up considerably. This could be made clearer in the booking information.

    The staff were lovely throughout and helped to make this a positive experience. Two swimming pools were out of action due to previous bad weather although the small garden pool was available. This was ok. The hotel location was excellent making a walking trip into Funchal an easy option. The local restaurants were very good as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and well run hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Two dogs had run of pool area which is very bad. Totally out of keeping with this hotel.

    Very high standards of housekeeping. Excellent buffet breakfast. Very helpful and knowledgeable receptionists - especially good was Theresa.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Great sea views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Expensive at 128 Euro per night in February and the weather extremely changeable.

    Fantastic breakfast. Good location. Sea views at the Do Mar annexe. Loved the The Mercado dos Lavradores (Farmers' Market) in the Old Town. Easy to get to Levadas by bus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    An excellent last night after a week exploring the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walk up to the airport bus stop on leaving was steep and arduous. And it was a big mistake to have a television screen in Joe's Bar, showing a Welsh team playing football - totally out of keeping with the style of the hotel.

    The hotel had a quiet, comfortable ambience, including pleasant, unobtrusive music in the restaurant, where I enjoyed a leisurely 3-course meal, partly attended by a friendly young waitress. My room was very nicely furnisjed, including the curtains.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I’m being very picky - the room could have been a bit smarter - but I really didn’t care - it was clean and comfortable and it was great

    Fantastic location, overlooking the sea and easy access to centre of Funchal. Lovely staff. Excellent breakfast and the one evening meal we had was great too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Overall pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was noisy from early morning as there was a lot of plate clanking from the kitchen getting ready for breakfast. Would not recommend rooms 35/36.

    Nice comfortable room - probably bigger than is says on the website. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.3
    We wasnot happy staying there. The place was to noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were renovating the rooms next to ours with all imaginable noisy tools. Three days in a row We were told that they were finished, wich was not the fact. We had to escape to more serene places cutting our stay 5 days short.

    Fine breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    The room is spacious and the view from the room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For some reason shower wasn't hot enough, which was a problem as we stayed there in early January. The reception staff overcharged us for our stay at the check-out, which we realised after we left the hotel. We contacted the hotel through Booking.com and they refunded the difference, but it was a bit of a hassle.

    The room is spacious and the view from the room was great. It's in the hotel district and 10-15 minutes walk from the city centre. Room was clean though the facilities are a bit tired.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    See above no need to write more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Breakfast wonderful but need to sort out tables much to close. We recommend to make improvement on atmosphere in dining area on the night no atmosphere at all !!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    I'm glad we had the chance to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately, a truly colossal hotel is being built immediately overlooking this charming place - a major mistake on the part of Funchal planners, a blot on the city landscape.

    The Quinta itself is adorable, black and white buildings set in a lovely tropical garden. Good restaurant, very picturesque. Excellent location for easy access to Funchal central and prom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    My third visit to Madeira but got chest infection so relegated to my bed! Spectacular fireworks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Never stayed in a hotel where the tea tray was not replenished daily. One had to pay for more. The hotel should make it more apparent that access for anyone with mobility problems, with the number of steps, and not easy access between the Franca and Mar properties, is not easy.

    Excellent fresh fruit salad at breakfast. Excellent salads. Large helpings. some very pleasant staff, especially Elena Maria and Paula in the Terrace cafe, and ALL the receptionists in the Penha de Mar

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely characterful family owned hotel with view of the ocean and gardens. Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    wifi connection fluctuated and the vast savoy complex being built behind the hotel could be noisy with building work.

    Salt water pool, roomy accommodation with relaxing balcony (view of the gardens and the ocean). Excellent breakfast buffet with wonderful fresh fruit, hot and cold options and nice range of breads.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.3
    Good choice for a quiet restful stay in this fascinating island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Paid extra for a 'sea view' but really it was a pool view with the sea beyond. If we returned would stay in the lovely main building.

    Excellent buffet breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff. Good location, very convenient for marina and town centre. Most hotels are further uphill in the, to be honest, boring 'hotel quarter'. Good choice of nearby restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    Some good bits, some not so good byt nothing terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very dated. They need new showers and tiling at the very least. We have stayed in many Quinta's and PdF is quite expensive for what you get. Also,after using the small welcome pack, we do not appreciate having extra charges for tea, sugar etc when paying over a 100 euros per night!

    Fresh fruit at breakfast and decent bacon and eggs too. We also like the lounge area and Joe's bar, especially when the pianist is there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel for a romantic Christmas holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a huge hotel being built next door. Luckily for us no work over the Christmas/New Year period. No warning in the communications I would have been v. pissed otherwise.

    Lovely view, good food reasonably priced, short walk into Fuchall, quiet but central. V clean and staff cheerful, what more could you ask.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    For the last three nights my noisy neighbors..

    I liked the fact that it seemed a small hotel, the style was colonial.. The gardens were mature and I think this could have been one of the first hotel in the area. It was very handy for the promenaded and Funchal center. I would stay here again... Thank you for a lovely stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Great price lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the breakfast staff was very rude she didn't even smile at us most mornings and she was there nearly every day the pool needs updating and the sunbeds do to .

    Was lovely and clean location was great are view from are room was beautiful .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Great going back in June . Tell hotel you have stayed before for a 10% room discount .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I would have likes a little more variety with the cooked breakfast eg fried eggs, grilled tomato, fried bread. The 10 % discount at Joe's Bar was confusing as you had to pay cash and you had to drink the items in the bar only .

    room had great view over sea . Restaurant food was good and reasonable.Hotel had a lovely garden and well situated for access to the town . Everywhere was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It would be nice if there were an option for double bed.

    Friendliness, efficiency, breakfasts. Also I think maybe we were upgraded to room with balcony which was lovely surprise. It is apparent that the staff are all part of the family atmosphere of this lovely family owned hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Again, loved it, will be back next year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were teeny ants in the bedroom. This wasn't troublesome and not unusual in hotel rooms in some countries.

    Everything about this hotel is fabulous. Breakfast was huge with best fresh fruit salad ever! Staff are super efficient, friendly even the owner, couldn't have done more.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little tired and would benefit from a make over. Noise from nearby bar quiz was intrusive.

    Very good buffet breakfast. Good location. Lots of nearby cafes and bars.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing and unhurried.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A traditional family run hotel which has a quiet charm and slightly old fashioned elegance. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect. The gardens around the original part of the property are a particular attraction.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    A very comfortable and happy visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It wasn't always obvious what facilities would cost extra, such as using the pool and being given a hotel towel.

    Breakfast was superb ! Staff very helpful. Bed was very big and very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we were charged 2 euros for the bottle of water I thought was complimentary. Under list of things provided in our room was tea and coffee, water and mini bar!

    Our room was so close to to where we had breakfast, just down a spiral staircase. Good flat walk into town. Nice size balcony with our junior suite with lovely view over sea and pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful and calm garden, good access to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our beds were little bit more than soft.

    Beautiful and calm garden, good access to the sea. Very quiet place. Enjoyable breakfast. Staff at reception vey helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.1
    Reasonable accomodation in a good area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a twin but was offered a double. The replacement room had very little natural light.

    Good location, surrounded by restaurants and bars and just 10 minutes walk to the centre of Funchal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Very helpful staff who helped us book the ferry crossing to Porto Santo and gave us information to take a local bus to Porto Moniz. Excellent breakfast. Fantastic swimming pools and easy access to the sea for sea swimming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    We enjoyed it immensely and would love to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints whatsoever

    The property itself is beautiful, located on the water just a 10 minute walk from the center of Funchal. Our room was spacious, airy, and included a direct sea-view, with a small private patio with table and chairs. The breakfast, included in the cost of the room, was terrific. They had gluten-free bread (which I require) available every day, plus a large assortment of eggs (yes, fluffy), mushrooms, sausages, beans, fresh fruit, yogurt, cheeses and cold cuts, sweet breads plus breads for toasting, coffee, tea, juices, and so on. We ate well every morning on the terrace by the sea. The staff in particular were wonderful. Our luggage was lost en route to Funchal, and Filipe(sp?) made frequent calls for us to get status and let us know when the luggage had been found. He was also great in helping us plan our bus trip to a small toen up in the hills, much more help than the surly lady at the Tourist Information office in Funchal. He was cheerful, friendly and helpful at all time. We can't say enough about how nice he and the other staff there were.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Good value choice in edge-of-centre quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We originally had a "garden room" but this was in the older part of the hotel, and the beds were knackered / bathroom looking very sorry for itself. I complained, the staff were excellent, and we were upgraded at no extra cost to a room within the main hotel. This was a much better room with a sunny balcony, outdoor seating and a minibar. The beds and bathroom were better, but not as good as a 4 star hotel in England would be, so manage your expectations. However, it was a very reasonably priced room and within 15 minutes walk of the centre of Funchal. There is another hotel being constructed nearby, but this did not make very much noise and we hardly noticed it.

    Located on the edge of the town, but outside of the built-up "hotel zone" this is a great value choice - and very peaceful and quiet. It is built on a hillside, so if you can't handle stairs and steep ramps, then you are better off somewhere else. You can cross over the footbridge to the connected hotel by the sea, and use their enviable pool facilities by the sea. This is also the best way to walk into town avoiding hills (as you can take the elevator down three floors, then walk along the seafront - takes around 15 mins). Lovely to eat in the open air at the hotel restaurant. There are several other good eating places nearby within walking distance. Worth paying an extra E1.60 at breakfast to get a Bica (espresso) as their coffee was very weak!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Great stay, would definitely return in the upcoming years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1) The rooms are begging for refurbishment

    Great stay at Quinta da Penha de Franca, I will do a list of the things I've enjoyed most in Quinta: 1) Staff politeness and helpfulness (basically there were no demands from us without a viable solution provided and all done with a smile) 2) Charm of the location 3) Great breakfast 4) The 2 pools and ocean access 5) Again staff politeness and helpfulness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.3
    Not the best stay we have always enjoyed in Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Unfortuanatlly it was very uncomfortable for us because of the amount of times we were bitten by Mosquitoes,so we were unable to have a good nights sleep.We moved hotels for the remaining of our holiday.

    Close to City,easy walk

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Location. An oasis in the middle of large hotels that provided that personal touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Tea and Coffee had to be renewed by paying 4 euros when the initial supply(minimal) had run out. The fruit juice at breakfast was from a machine instead of being natural juice as you would expect from a four star hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Prime spot close to everything when need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A couple of minor things Hotel toiletries were not replenished during our stay and the first receptionist we saw when we arrived was having a bad day !

    Excellent property in a superb position between the new and old towns, would have no issues booking this Hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    For a relaxing break we will return sometime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No sun umbrellas round the (upper) pool - nearest ATM a km away up a hill.

    good breakfast choice - area could be busy at peak times - decent room & ensuite - locality with easyish access to funchal central - plenty of restaurants & 2 pubs nearby - nice garden environment

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed staying at the Penha de Franca Mar part of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a twin room with seaview and we were put in a room with side sea view and balcony. We had to complain and show our booking and were eventually moved to a ground floor room at the pool. Not a good start.

    Location and staying at the pool and close to the sea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant overall. Great food. Great pool facilities and great restaurants near by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Room 70: The Air Conditioning in the room didn't work - except for 1 day after we mentioned it to staff. The following day it stopped working. There was a constant smell from the drains in the toilet but as we kept the door closed at night - and the window open (no AC remember) it was bearable but only just.

    Access to many restaurants in the same road - I counted 12 but there may be more. No need to go into town - though we did one night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel near city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a little bit old-fashioned and needs a soft renovation. Our garden room had a lot of ants in the bath room (even in the toilet bowl) and also the terrace could have been cleaned better. The TV was very small - approx. 22".

    The pools of the hotel were very nice. Within 10 minutes walking distance you are in the center of Funchal and can visit the main attractions of the city. The parking of the hotel was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful island with friendly people and good food, and a hotel that provided an excellent base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    It would be exceptionally churlish to find any fault with this lovely hotel.

    This is a medium-sized hotel with real character. The buildings are clustered on a relatively small attractive site with trees and shrubs, a swimming pool and a terrace where meals can be eaten outdoors. There are five restaurants - at least three of them very good - within a very short walk of the hotel, and the hotel itself has a restaurant serving good food. The staff were always helpful. Our room was spacious and comfortable with two armchairs and a coffee table as well as desk/dressing table, and we had a balcony with a sea view with table and chairs. The spacious bathroom had two basins as well as bath/shower and toilet and bidet screened by a wall. We hoped for a good hotel, of course, but this exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Paradise on earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to come home

    The hotel was spotless, very comfortable and oozing warmth and charm. The staff without exception were friendly, polite and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel had excellent facilities and was located in well kept and beautiful gardens. I could go on forever 😀

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely garden hotel with nice atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not charging for water in the room.

    Great location. Nice choice for breakfast. You have to walk through sister hotel to access the larger pool by the sea. Is no hassle and is worth it. Garden room was nice felt a little small but this was due to shape of room. Shower is a little low.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed Madeira, the hotel and the people. Laid back old world charm. Impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Limited restaurant menu but plenty of alternative options nearby. Don't go for evening meal, at the hotel, near closing time!

    Hotel and grounds very impressive - old style - not ultra modern. Sister hotel on the sea front with good access to sea, salt water pools, changing facilities and snack bar - modern.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    beautiful location, very comfortable room, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing!

    beautiful location, very comfortable room, friendly staff, lovely breakfasts, closeness and accessibility to sea, joe's bar! good restaurants near by

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Loved the Quinta as always but worried about the changes nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The awful new build just behind the hotel. How big does a hotel need to be ? What were the planners thinking taking away so much of the character of this quiet side of town. Why not plant trees or a beautiful garden or even more appropriate size hotel's but not this.

    Quinta penha franca is a lovely quiet and friendly hotel near to Funchal. We have stayed there four times in twenty years, always enjoy it. One question though, why did the government allow that awful new build just above it? Such a shame to make Madeira into a concrete metropolis when what people go to the island for is it's natural beauty .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely grounds, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a cheap rate room so no balcony or outside space, but also seemed to be in a separate building away from the main Quinta - view of the church but also overlooked by the huge hotel being built opposite, not the best outlook.

    Lovely grounds, good location, peaceful but with plenty of amenities close by. Breakfast was decent, lovely to sit on the garden terrace. Was happy to go down to the bigger Mar pool, loved that it had sea access for swimming. Plenty of sun loungers and complimentary towels. Big comfortable room and bed, huge bathroom. All in all, very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Comfortable, clean and quiet room with easy chairs and good sized balcony, fridge, safe and plenty of wardrobe space. We had lovely views of the sea and the gardens from our balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only minor comment is that the safe needed to be bigger for laptop to fit .

    Quiet, calm atmosphere. unobtrusive family run business. Traditional decor Choice of two swimming pools.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location, nice character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area and general decor of the property is not what I would call 'sparkling new'. It is showing some wear in places. Not a bad price for Funchal but there are better options on the island.

    Good location, close to the ferry port, sea and town centre. The old town is a 15 min walk however. The hotel is quite splendid, evoking a colonial style. The gardens are lush and colourful although it is showing some wear and tear in places. Access to the sister hotel, with it's water side location, was a great bonus (our main reason for booking). The pool area is nice although more basic than the neighbouring Savoy, but at a far better price. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    The hotel is in a beautiful building, the gardens and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that I didn't like it but could be an issue for people with mobility issues, there are some steps to reach the sea or even the hotel but that is how Funchal is. Also we were catching the ferry boat at 7:30 and the breakfast time only starts at 7:30. We had some food taken to the room but very poor compare to the great breakfast of the hotel

    The hotel is in a beautiful building, the gardens and the views of the sea are fantastic. The staff is very friendly. The restaurant food is very good. I loved everything. I feel the pictures don't reflect how good the place is. Very good breakfast. The beds are huge

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Average hotel for an average price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The huge construction site of a new Savoy hotel right next to the property is really inconvenient (although not their fault). The hotel needs some modernizing/refurbishment. The garden is relatively small and not very well taken care of and the pool area from the ocean has no vegetation/no trees around it. It does not make you feel cozy at all. From the quinta, you need to walk on the street to get to the side of the property that is close to the ocean and this is dangerous if you have small kids. We were not able to obtain even a 1.5 h late check-out, even though we offered to pay.

    We liked that they had a pool for kids and that the pools were with salted water from the ocean. The rooms were simple but kept very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay for your visit to Funchal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was on the ground floor - prefer the first or second floor with better views.

    Wonderful location with easy access to the main town. Having breakfast on the veranda was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Second time as good as the first.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The only thing could be the new giant Savoy hotel being built quite close, although behind the Franca not obstructing the view.

    The staff were so attentive, the atmosphere great , the sub-tropical gardens so well tended, we just think it's such a great place, the only place for us on Madeira.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Perfect place for a relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The air-con wasn't very efficient in our room even after being attended to by maintenance staff.

    Our 3rd stay here - why would we stay anywhere else? Perfect location, though not sure how the massive hotel currently under construction will affect the area. Excellent breakfast, constantly being restocked right up to the time breakfast is supposed to end. Pretty, well tended gardens and choice of pools (at the sister hotel joined by a bridge over the road).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has two parts. They didn't tell us at the reception when we checked in. We found out the next day. The pool and ocean access stops at 7pm which is a bit early if you like to swim later on when the sun is not very strong.

    Cosy decoration, laid back feeling. Basically, felt like home. If we ever come back to Madeira, we know where home is! Great staff, lovely garden. Nice view of the ocean. Well, I guess your experience changes depends on which room you stay in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Staff extremely friendly helpful attentive and charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Sunloungers could do with a mattress or even ability to hire one as they are very uncomfortable.

    Staff extremely friendly helpful attentive and charming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shaving mirror in bathroom. No safety rails in shower.All right nitpicking.

    Location, location, location. Perfect bedroom. Friendly, efficient staff. Charming restaurant with good food and service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Charming, old fashioned hotel with a lovely garden, ten minutes walk from the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room was clean and comfortable but it could have been more stylish. I did like that it opened onto the garden though, and we had our own table and chairs under a frangipani tree.

    This was a little gem; a flower filled garden oasis hidden amongst all the other large modern hotels. As soon as you were through the door it felt as if you were in the countryside. The staff were very friendly and helpful and some of them had been there for years. It had the personal feeling of a family run business. The breakfast terrace was charming and the food was good. The pool at the sister hotel Franco de Mar was lovely too, and reached easily by a footbridge and lift. This gave you the best of both worlds; old style charm up the hill and modern hotel and pool overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Quinta Da Penha De Franca traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: