Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quinta Da Ventuzela

Lugar Do Casal, 4690-019 Cinfães, Portugal

#1 of 14 hotels in Cinfães

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 180 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More lighting in the bathroom would be beneficial.

    Furnishings throughout the house. Very chic. Lovely bedlinen. Good breakfast with delicious jams.Self serve bar is a nice idea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building should be a little renewned.

    Wonderfull surrounding, romantic old building, beautifull views onto the river, very kind and helpful owner, fantastic breakfast, comfortable bed, clean ropm

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Marvellous in all respects (beauty of the surroundings, exquisite taste of the accommodation,an ideal place). Very welcoming and extremely nice hosts in a most friendly country.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything - place, view, facilities, breakfast, people... it was great! From very beginning it felt like at home. Vincente has done a great job converting old Quinta to amazing place with very nice design and paying attention to so many details. Highly recommended place!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like going back home

    Everything was exellent. The house , every detail in the house, the garden, the pool, breakfast, and most of all the nice warm people that worked there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    Very friendly staff and lovely beautifully decorated old farm. Every morning we were offered freshly made eggs and bacon and the bread was just delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Without question, Quinta de Ventuzela was the highlight of our holiday. Our hosts; Lourdes, Vicente and Mario were exceptional as were the rest of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble, they were so kind. The food was completely delicious and the property itself is gorgeous, the pictures do not do it justice, the pool was divine and the views of the Douro River, incredible. The town was lovely and quaint, with a couple of nice restaurants and the people very friendly - we even got invited to a local's house for dinner one evening! There weren't many tourists, making it very relaxing and chilled, but it also means you get a better feel for local life. Me and my partner will never forget it. What a gem. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is such a lovely place to stay! Amazing view and excellent breakfast. Never met so friendly hosts! We will come back again and will definitely stay longer than one night!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have a car so a trip to resturant or anywhere cost around 10euro. Not much resturant choices around.

    Cosy 3 levels house we shared with other guests. Each room has its own bathroom and bath tub. Share swimming pool and kitchen. Beautiful scenery and the house is beautifully decorated. The owner and staffs are very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great host!! very nicy and friendly. good location. clean. excellent breakfast with fresh bread and omlett;)). there are few dogs witch are in closed garden so you dont feel them but for rhe kids it was great fun to play with!! highly recomended!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An idyllic and romantic place to stay, fully surrounded by peace and beauty. Loved the gorgeous views of Douro, amazing pool area, elegant yet welcoming decor, super-comfy bed and giant bathtub, delicious breakfast and kind charming hosts. Bonus treat: sweetest blueberries you'll ever have. Seriously.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed 2 nights at the Quinta de Venezuela with our 3 year-old son and wished we stayed longer ! Vincente, his friends and everyone at the Quinta de Ventuzela was very welcoming and helpful; They made us feel at home and created a very warm and relaxed atmosphere. They were also very accommodating with special requests. The house is decorated with great taste and offers different areas (living room, bar) to relax. The terrace and the views are simply amazing. The bedroom was spacious and confortable and offered great views over the Douro valley.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from our room's little balcony was like something out of a movie, and dinner made on site one night was the highlight of our 12 days in Portugal. We couldn't have been happier with our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!!!

    Wow wow wow!! Our stay at Quinta da Ventuzela was exceptional from start to finish - Lurdes, Vincent eand all the staff were incredibly attentive, welcoming and genuinely lovely - they all went the extra mile to help us with anything that we needed. The breakfast was amazing (fresh blueberries picked from the garden - amazing!), room was exceptionally clean with free toiletries and towels changed everyday and the grounds of the house are stunning - the estate has amazing unobstructed views of the douro valley and beyond. As hosts, they were incredible - we were offered a free upgrade when we arrived, help with booking activities in the area and they even offered us a free dinner on our last evening, which was the best food we had eaten in our whole trip in Portugal (all fresh ingredients grown on the gardens). They went above and beyond as hosts and made our stay unforgettable and absolutely perfect!! You will not be disappointed if you stay here - our only regret was not staying for longer - we did not wan to leave!! THANK YOU LURDES AND VINCENTE!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful large house and from the minute we arrived were really made to feel at home and was just like staying with friends. Very nice owners and staff and fantastic breakfast..home made jams and cakes ..wouldn't want anything more. Felt very comfortable sitting in the lovely lounge and bar area, honesty bar with great selection of drinks, very welcoming after a day out sightseeing. Nice pool,sunbeds and outdoor seating area overlooking the Douro which we couldn't take advantage of unfortunately as weather a bit on the cool side but would be lovely . Room was very nice with a large bathroom. Arranged to eat in one evening which was definitely worth it. The nearest restaurants are about 10/15 minute drive and the one we visited..Meu Gatinho..was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to leave!!!

    Vincinte truly amazing host when I arrived by bicycle from Porto (quite tired) he had a nice plate of his own fresh blueberries some cheeses and bread and beer.... was amazing !! Then he upgraded my room to the guest house away from the main house where it was very quiet and private . I had a nice swim au naturale in their pool ... might have given a thrill to the ladies picking blueberries?! Very nice dinner and so relaxing sitting on the veranda overlooking the river Great breakfast in the morning with nice conversation with couple from Brazil and lady from Lithuania In summary a truly memorable stay and one I would recommend to my children

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful place, the most amazing Breakfast we had on our Travels. This establishment is ran by two fabulous people who are so friendly, we will be back and are looking forward to our next trip. Thank you for a lovely time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit hard to find with GPS, so watch for the blue signs when you're close to Cinfaes. Try to get there during daylight if possible.

    Lurdes and Vicente were the most wonderful hosts. She helped us with a problem we had with the toll road company by phoning them for us, and both of them couldn't be more attentive to our every need. Adelaide fed us way too much and takes much pride in her work. We wanted to bring her home with us. Our room had a beautiful view of the river and valley, not that we spent much time in it because there are so many cosy little nooks to sit and drink wine or read a book. The honesty system in the wine room was great and we made good use of it, sitting outside in the late afternoon looking at the view. We intended to stay one night but stayed three.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted to stay forever...and had to go home :(

    Just the most warmly hosted, beautifully appointed, familiar, and luxurious place we stayed our whole trip to Portugal!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we don't live there all year.

    Unbelievable hospitality and heavenly views of the Doura Valley in the most wonderfully decorated home. We loved all the very friendly dogs and cats and chickens who live on the grounds too (though not in the house so allergies are not a worry)! Such a warm and happy place with lovely and luxurious features. It was truly hard to leave!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Our stay at this property was the highlight out of the entire trip to Portugal. Beautiful property, thoughtfully decorated with taste. It is big house with swimming pool and inner courtyard and there is also a terrace with unobstracted view over the Douro river. Breakfast was included in our rate and was the best one we've had during the trip. Food was fresh and very delicious. Someone might say that it is very simple, which is true but then homemade food is always the best. Our room was on the top floor and had the best view over the Douro river. Toilettries and towels were also provided, as well as free parking. Owners of the property were very kind, friendly and helpful, and you can see how they actually take care of the house on the daily basis. I definitely recommend this property to everyone and would love to stay there again if ever in Douro valley again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to fault !!!

    An exceptional facility.....great hospitality...first class breakfast...absolutely charming ambiance...surrounded by artistically arranged objects of décor

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An amazing place with incredibly kind and welcoming hosts that do their utmost to make you feel comfortable. I changed my travel plans and stayed 2 more nights to enjoy the calmness and the overwhelming scenery of the Dourus river.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just the owner spoke English, but the rest of the family was also very nice, they did their best even communication was not such easy.

    The atmosphere. Furniture and so on is absolute lovely. Nice breakfast. The possibility to take a bottle of wine or a Porto each time you want. Very friendly owner. Furthermore the region is just awesome!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was the cash only or bank transfer. No credit cards. As long as you know in advance this is easily taken care of

    This Quinta was definitely one of the highlights of our trip! Lurdes & Vicente took care of us like we were family. Upon our arrival we were delivered a beautiful tray of meat, cheeses & bread with a chilled bottle of vino verde for us and sodas for our 2 boys. The pool area is beautiful and the view is so relaxing, looking over the valley & Douro River. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment which is separate from the main house and we had more than enough space for our family, including 3 full bathrooms and a full size kitchen which we cooked in our 2nd night. The apartment was very clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfast had plenty of choices and we were also offered fresh cooked eggs and bacon each morning. You also have the choice of eating inside or outside on their garden terrace. Lurdes & Vicente were warm, friendly and extremely helpful in giving us ideas for activities, dinner suggestions, directions and train schedules. The days were were there they had a full Quinta of guests (18pp) but I watched them both take time to talk with and help all their guests. I was amazed at how well they operated their business. It truly shows how much they love what they do. If time had permitted us we would have loved to stay with them longer. I hope our paths cross again someday but until then I will be recommending to all our friends and family to go and spend a visit here. Stacey, Greg, Jackson & Greyson Kenney 🇨🇦

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small refrigerator in the room or a big shared one elsewhere in the house for some small groceries would be very handy.

    personal attendance of staff and owners.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A beautiful home with fantastic views on the Douro.The owners are extremely kind in many ways, make you very welcome and do everything to make you feel 'at home'. The hosts even made us an evening meal at no extra cost on a Sunday because there was nothing open in the neighbourhood. The breakfast with local produce is very good , the rooms are comfortable and the pool area is relaxing. The staff is very friendly. Of all the Quinta's we stayed in while travelling through Portugal this home is on the top of our list and we would not hesitate to go back there or to recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - the house, the garden,the pool, the food, but most of all - the people! Lurdes & Vicente are the most welcoming and warm people we met during our trip. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Warm, friendly and helpful hosts. Comfortable. Fantastic atmosphere, beautiful views and facilities containing all one needs!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellant breakfast. Feeling at home away from home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything - but particularly the breakfast in the sunny dining room, the views all around, nothing was too much trouble - just a great stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vincent and staff were great. Room was wonderful and breakfast was simply outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great value for the price, well located, very good food, very nice house and land/view of the Douro river!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too many dogs, a little old bedroom

    stuff, view, breakfast, excellent Wi-Fi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In this place you can feel that the owners made their dreams come true.. great attention for detail. Best breakfast ever!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice view over Duoro river Excellent Breakfast- Try the Blueberries!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was lovely and the breakfast was beautiful. View was amazing. Vincent was really helpful and kind.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to drive to get somethere.

    The views from the property is amazing. The interior of the property is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everybody was very, very nice! I really felt at home!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great with fantastic views

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was beautiful, pool was fantastic for the kids. The breakfast spread was out of this world.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful views, pool and breakfast and dinner! Wonderful hosts. Thank you

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hard to find better place to rest and have a fun. Fantastic owners, excellent service.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect. The location, the house, the breakfast and the hosts.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds only 140 cm wide and a bit hard. Low water pressure.

    Excellent breakfast and a fantastic view of the Douro river. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect

    Everything, from A to Z, was jus perfect. The ultimate 4 days vacation The hosts were the nicest you can imagine, the place is soooo beautiful, relaxed, extremely worth the price. We felt like a coulee of princes. View is amazing, and so is the house, with careful attention to every detail.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This lovely quinta is in a gorgeous location with views out to the river. Our corner room was beautifully decorated and had views on two sides. The breakfast was the best we had on our entire trip: such an array for just the two of us!

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's little to criticize about this place. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the views are wonderful, the breakfasts are incredible, the staff hosts / staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is overall very relaxed and welcoming, and the prices can't be beat. We ordered a vegetarian dinner once and the hostess Lurdes went out of her way to make an amazing meal, which we ate on the terrace with a spectacular view of the Douro. The quinta also doubles as an organic farm and animal refuge of sorts, with blueberry bushes, fig and orange trees, lots of dogs, cats, chickens, and a horse, so be sure to take the time to explore the property. If we visit Portugal again someday, Quinta da Ventuzela will be at the very top of our list! Thank you so much!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maybe some more knowledge about what to visit in the area would be helpful.

    Overall perfect stay in the douro area. best breakfast we ever had in a hotel. Nice swimming pool. Pictures on booking.com dont show how the place looks like in reality.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our apartment with 3 floors is spacious and clean for our family & friends of 4 persons. Decorations and collections are all great and artistic. View is gorgeous if you don't want to stay in the city. Breakfast is fantastic, with fresh baked breads, fresh fruits, fresh juices, eggs, bacon, ham & choices of tea etc. Staff is friendly. Luckily we can secure a place in September during low season, otherwise book earlier & stay for longer days.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - there was absolutely nothing we did not love about this place

    - lovely and unprecedentedly welcoming owners with big hearts - Lurds and Vicente take care of 17 abandoned dogs which are adorable by themselves! - outstanding, one-in-a-kind view from the room and common areas on River Douro and on the mountains! - delicious breakfast made of local produce - beautiful and stylish room and other common areas in a style of a renovated old mansion - much much more:)

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds could have been a little bit more comfortable.

    Very friendly and helpful staff Beautiful location Swimming pool Delicious breakfast Lovely house/quinta, fun to have the dogs and cats walking around.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing!

    The owner and staff were wonderful. He invited us to explore the house and grounds which were beautiful and interesting. They made us feel very much at home, providing a wonderful breakfast just for the two of us. Would love to go back.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Thank you for a lovely reception!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not easy to find even with GPS

    Incredible view

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The warm welcome we accorded by the staff and the owners was a delight the food was wonderful, and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location, though beautifully located on the river is a little remote!

    Whole experience, hospitality of the owners is unrivaled.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Double-bed a little small.

    Fantastic location,incredible attention to details and spotless clean. Very nice and friendly staff. Gorgeous pool area.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    The view from the villa overlooking the Douro River is amazing. The villa is extremely comfortable and well maintained, beautifully decorated.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The warmest welcome ever, the exemplary attention to detail, the relaxed ambience and excellent facilities (including super pool).

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beyond expectations, incredible place in many ways. Lovely people, beautiful rooms, great atmosphere. Kids didn't want to leave, neither did we!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic in every way from start to end, definitely coming back!

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owners and staff so friendly helpful, room excellent with all facilities and a fab view over the Douro river, clean and spacious.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Browse Quinta Da Ventuzela traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: