Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas - Small Luxury Hotels 5 stars

Rua António Augusto Gonçalves, 3041-901 Coimbra, Portugal

#6 of 31 hotels in Coimbra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1378 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel set in a unique property and gardens. The best value-to-money hotel I visited in Portugal. The outside of the city location didn't turn out to be a problem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave.

    This is my 2nd time in quinta das lagrimas, a beautiful romantic place. The garden and its history are gorgeous. The hotel is elegant and relaxing. The service is perfect. The food gourmet. We felt really spoiled.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel does not live up to the term luxury a term in uses in all its literature. - Expensive for a tatty tires hotel with no redeeming features at all

    nothing at all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room fittings need to be improved somewhat: eg door locks, shower fitting (room 31) More explanation and information needed in the garden about the special trees.

    Comfy beds. Excellent food in Arcanas and superb service. Accommodating staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike.

    Wonderful ambience with efficient and friendly staff, beautiful gardens and excellent spa centre with indoor and outdoor pool. Food is delicious and well presented. Our room is bright, well appointed with a private garden and access to the pool. Short, pleasant walk to the city centre along the river. Can’t wait to return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Grand Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an amazing property They upgrade us the to King suite Decadent , we decide to have supper at the hotel OMG This could be the next Michelin Rated restaurant in Portugal Food was outstanding

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were bitten by some insects in bed. The hotel, when informed 、moved us to another room for the following night, which was satisfactory. But what was upsetting was that the manager, in addition to asserting that there was no bed worms in the first room after inspection on the following day, insinuated that we could have brought insects upon us!! It is outrageous to receive such insults after staying at a most expensive 5 star hotel. It really ruined any sympathy with the hotel management.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Palace Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gym

    Quiet location in the wood & garden, Very helpful staff & polite. We change room from the main building to New wing easily and we were very pleased.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    The entire staff were extremely professional and assisted me with every request I had from laundry to mailing a package for me. The gardens are beautiful! I stayed for two nights but was so rested I felt like it was for a week. The food preparation was fantastic! A once in a lifetime experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were 'upgraded" to a suite that needed major updating. Felt dingy and not very clean or well-appointed. Very loud. The renovations to the hotel are not very well done. It's a beautiful palace but the updates looks very 80s and cheesy. This was our least favorite hotel we have stayed in in Portugal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wow! It's an amazing place with magical gardens. We staid there for one night for our honeymoon trip to Portugal. The stuff were amazing and kind, they upgraded our room just because it was our honeymoon and we've got the suite plus champagne on the house! The Breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The access to the hotel for luggage was a little awkward.

    Beautiful historical hotel well maintained and with period decoration. Expansive large gardens and the location of a legend of love unrequited! Rooms with access to garden and a good size with excellent bathroom facilities. Open air parking on site. Coimbra is difficult to park in so we left the car and caught taxis into town 5 Euros. It was raining otherwise town is a pleasant 30min walk through gardens.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wellness area, especially the turkish bath and the sauna. The turkish bath was industrial, while the sauna was relatively cold.

    The breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A heated toilet seat would make a great difference/experience. The best part is, its not even expensive to install a proper heated toilet seat that comes with washing functions.

    Certainly value for money and worth every penny we paid.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Palace Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaky floorboards, rattling bed headboard, noisy toilet flush, bidet plug that didn't plug and no hot water when we arrived. And the description of the hotel did not suggest we were going to be sharing it with a coach party.

    Lots of parking space in a town where parking is really in short supply. Attractive gardens and building.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room setting and toilet amenities are more of a four stars rather than five stars

    The ambiance of the hotel. The history of the location . Staff are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic areas need some attention.

    The facilities are breathtaking. Breakfast is excellent. Bar was cozy. SPA was peaceful. Staff very friendly. Restaurant is delicious and has great service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect

    This is the perfect place to stay, it is an absolutely wonderful place to stay, I'm coming back this summer to swim in the outdoor pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably because we were there in off-peak season the place seemed quiet, and we were located in the 'new wing', which actually felt it was lacking in a bit of energy/character as it was so empty. This is a very minor comment, and we really loved our stay here.

    Staff were lovely, so friendly and professional. The grounds are gorgeous, make sure you look around the gardens, and the welcome drink on arrival was a lovely touch. Make use of the sauna/pool if you can. Breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything. The staff is wonderful, they are always helpful, smile, and make you feel welcome. The rooms are absolutely beautiful, and having private access to a little patio is lovely. The welcome traditional pastries and Porto wine is such a wonderful touch. And the daily chocolates, what a treat!! The dinner at the hotel was amazing. It was delicious and also beautiful. The property is unique and very beautiful. The history of the hotel is so interesting. And the wine, the best!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floors were a little loud but bearable

    The staff were impeccable and took care of my stay even after I had booked the stay for the wrong date. A room was immediately made ready and it was like nothing has happened. and the location itself is something else!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The separated double bed

    Outstanding service and friendliness from the staff. Kind and unobtrusive. The breakfast was really good and the dinner at the restaurant was simply perfect - presentation, delicious, service and knowledge of service recommending the best wines - again prompt and unobtrusive. The spa experience was also really good with Suzete and Claudia being extremely flexible allowing us a last minute booking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The spa closes a bit too early (7pm).

    Room was very good, and the hotel itself -- including its gardens -- is beautiful inside. Its Michelin selected restaurant was delicious and not that expensive. The spa / pool / sauna were also great. Staff was helpful, and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The new building is not up to part with the old building. The interiors could be improved. Bathrooms are a bit dated, AC is quite noisy. Breakfast room could also be improved.

    The original building is beautiful, great architecture and well kept.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not in the city centre - about 20 mins walk (would be pleasant in good weather but not in winter) Few restaurants and shops near by. However it is within walking distance to Restaurante Piscinas do Mondego, which was good.

    Nice rooms, very comfortable beds Huge gardens for exploration Peaceful & quiet Included breakfast was good - wide selection Steam room, Sauna and indoor pool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is so big and has a small bath tub, shoul improve the bath tub.

    Liked the suite, rthe staff, all the ambience of the gardens. Everything is very well kept and you can feel the excellent taste and luxurious ambience. The SPA is a very nice surprise everything is tidy and the indoors swimmingpool was simply fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was great, staff was nice and the gardens are really beautiful and worth exploring. The breakfast was also amazing, full of options. Overall, great place to stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the spa section of the hotel. This section of the hotel just didn't fit with the character of the rest of the hotel. Small misses included no face cloths, the light on the make-up mirror didn't work.

    The grounds were pretty, the restaurant/breakfast was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff should be at same level of propriety and it’s not the case - their staff should have a better behaviour. Quality of products in breakfast are not adjusted to expection for this kind of hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel temperature was unexpectedly cold in all spaces including the spa! the water temperature of the indoor pool was unbearably cold.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Palace Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As an older hotel, the bathrooms did not have a modern feel. The rooms in the palace were smaller than I expected and there was a lot of up three stairs, down three stairs to get to the rooms. Stay in the spa rooms if you have any disability issues.

    Arcadas restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Palace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The modern part was banal, SPA in there and landscape wise not in harmony with the existing beautiful old part.

    We loved to leave the windows open, hear the birds and the water of the fountain, the mattresses were good, the food excellent. Awesome to get back after sightseeing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so delicious we could have stayed there a month! We also loved that the staff parked our car and on the day of check out they took the bags from the room to the car and packed the trunk while we explored the area for more time. Lovely!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    internet connection in the room was not working during the day time.

    You feel like a royal staying at this historical mansion with the famous gardens just behind the hotel. The Spa area is enjoyable and just walking around the house makes you feel like in a museums. Quite a walk to the center, but totally worth staying at this place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything super!

    The breakfast was spectacular and the tapas exceptional especially the steak morsels. The dining service was great and the menu degustation was quite elaborate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked very different than advertised! Room was really outdated with old materials, shabby finishes. Strange smell like in a church or old cellar. Bathroom is huge, but the bathtub is smaller than you could imagine. Room is extremely noisy, it is above the restaurant. We also heard noises from the neighbouring rooms (library) and from the upper floors as well. Chatter, noises of chair pulling, feets stomping etc. You can hear basically everything which you do not want to. The breakfast ks below avarage. Funny thing is that the orange juice is some cheap bevarage... should be fresh pressed at a place like this I think. The spa is nothing. There is one 20m-ish swimming pool, a so called turkish bath which is a 2sqm plastic covered room with a plastic bench and a lot of steam. Finnish sauna for maximum 4 people, very small. It was also underheated... Finishes and materials overdated here as well. There are no hot water pool, no jacuzzi, nothing. This is not a Spa. Poor value for money. I cannot imagine how this place got the 5 star rating. It is a below avarage 4.

    The building itself is very nice. The gardens are amazing. Luncs deal is very good value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the look of the boutique hotel, the beautiful grounds, the bar food and scrumptious breakfast, and the way the literature, interiors and decor remind you of the history of the place and Pedro and Ines' bittersweet love story.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel with historic buildings and gardens. Excellent restaurant and very helpful and friendly staff. We had breakfast lunch and dinner there and all were very good to excellent. The labelled trees in the gardens were also very interesting, as was the historic decor, the library and the chapel. The hotel has a 9 hole pitch and put golf course in the grounds as well as a driving range.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Grand Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked one room directly with the hotel and the booking was incorrect. The hotel is shabby looking. Our room was dark with ugly gray carpet and poor lighting. The staff was not particularly friendly and the service was poor, for example, following up on a reservation request.

    Front entrance

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. We felt like we were sleeping in a hammock. The pillow was too soft and we were annoyed by the noise of neighboring doors being closed.

    The breakfast was very good. Good variety, helpful staff, excellent food quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Palace Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rude waiter (tall, young, wore glasses) who first refused us our free welcome drinks, then slammed them down without the nuts or napkins others received. Also, said we could only have sparkling wine (not good) when others said they were offered a nice white wine.

    Got bitten in bed 18 times on the 1 night we stayed there so it must have been either bed bugs, fleas, or spiders as we could not see or hear any mosquitos. When we reported it, they denied that it could have happened.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in the first floor, felt like basement, not easy to reach, no iron in the room, the one we got was broken

    Nice surroundings, excellent service, nice staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the bathroom was spacious and did not lack anything it was a bit tired and needs some renovation. The mattress was worn. Breakfast was good, but sometimes the fresh ingredients were not fresh at all.

    Beautiful building situated in lush gardens and far from the maddening crowd. Our room was spacious and so was the bathroom. Very good linen on the bed. Their Michelin star restaurant, Arcadas, was a special culinary experience which needs not to be missed - the food and wine excellent and the service impeccable. The staff of Lagrimas was very friendly and helpful. Although not situated very central - not with the old town on its doorstep - we prefer the peaceful atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although very good qualtity of food in the restaurant, the price is relativeley high.

    Luxury hotel in a historic part of Coimbra. Professional and friendly staff. With a junior suite, personnel garde terras outside. Fantastic breakfast. Nice pool and SPA.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a little dated in our room. Bathroom could do with a refresh although very clean and comfortable.

    The pool area was very nice, the main restaurant excellent and the bed extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed a little out of date ... unfortunately, we ended up in a garden apartment which somehow had a little bit of a basement air to it. Overall, too pricy for the whole experience.

    Historical site with a lot of atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent and located in a beautiful restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Palace Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lightning was a little difficult to work with two way switches. Hot water slow to come on. A light in our outside area stayed on all night even though we asked that it be turned off..

    Beautiful old building, stunning pool and our room was enormous. Accommodation loaded with history and a leisurely 20 minute walk into old Coimbra.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was an "attitude" in Coimbra that is so different than other ares of Portual we visited. It wasn't the pride with geniality and welcomeness we experienced in other cities...it was an arrogance and unwelcomeness that was frankly quite unpleasant.

    Immerenced in history and romance with beautiful grounds and a feeling of serenity rarely experienced while traveling.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that I didn't like.

    When I had a problem with the linen on the bed the staff immediately arranged for my linen to be washed separately. They were very concerned about my comfort and did everything the could to make sure I had everything I might want. The service was personalised and we were made to feel special.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Large balcony, big windows overlooking garden, extremely comfortable king size bed, nice marble bathroom with shower/spa/bide, wonderful breakfast served in the garden. 20 min walk from city center makes for quiet night sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Palace Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom vanity too wide for short sighted people and lighting poor even with magnifying mirror.

    Beds very comfortable, staff very helpful, beautiful well maintained property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Palace Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a little defects in terms of room cleanliness, but I believe it was by mistake

    This hotel has a heritage and bring you through the history of this place. Garden is another beautiness of the hotel, beside the palace of course. They also upgraded our room to suite which was very nice from hotel's side. Also, the restaurant in the hotel is simply amazing. Don't miss to have a dinner in there, because it worth it. Service and menu is so balanced. Wine list is great and I had such a beautiful evening with my mom. If you are going to stay in this hotel I'd definitely recommend to stay in main building to fully feel the atmosphere of this wonderful hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly further from town than I expected- a half hour walk, but pleasant and good for burning off all those huge meals!

    Stunning property with huge gardens to stroll through. The staff came out to the car to greet us as we arrived! We stayed in the new wing which was actually very nice , we had a large deck with lounge chairs, facing the garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Originally we were booked for only one night but from the moment we were welcomed we knew we needed to stay longer and did! It is a quiet retreat with a hotel staff focused on your comfort. We dined both nights at the hotel Michelin quality restaurant and ate exceptional food. Breakfast is served In The garden or patio. The pool is spectacular for lap swimming and they have a pool bar again with excellent service and food. We recommend staying in Room 43 or others that face the garden. At the end of a day exploring Conimbra, I had a terrific deep tissue massage at their spa.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Palace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for early breakfast because catching train at 7:46 and breakfast began at 7:30. The man at the desk acted very put out and said it was not possible to have a breakfast early. He also wanted to know who said we could have one as of to scold this person later. I would expect a five star hotel to accommodate guests who require an early breakfast. We only needed to eat about 15 minutes early.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower leaked onto the floor of the bathroom. The air conditioning was a bit weak. But these were small details.

    An extraordinarily beautiful setting. Very friendly and natural staff for a luxury hotel. Delicious food at the restaurant - a very talented chef. We loved our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a good value for the money especially when you consider its surroundings. Overall courteous staff, clean and quiet. Like the city of Coimbra itself highly recommended for a day or two.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be better. Coffee not good.

    Loved the interleading rooms because we were travelling as a family. Very spacious rooms. Very friendly staff. Fantastic garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Great stay in a restful environment. Walking distance from Coimbra. Dining at this hotel is a must in Coimbra. If we knew we would've booked a longer stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too pretentious on occasion Dinner was excellent but, even by international standards, too expensive. Garden and water areas (adjacent to rooms) could be better maintained and kept clean. Private garden area, adjacent to room, shabby.

    Excellent breakfasts Excellent dinner Staff very helpful and friendly Beautiful grounds Very convenient for walking into city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't fault a thing.

    Every aspect of the stay was wonderful. My husband enjoyed the golf. I enjoyed the warm indoor pool with the piped music. The grounds were wonderful to walk around. Dinner was enjoyable as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors of the rooms cannot be shut properly without a hard push which caused a bang every time. It took away the tranquility and serenity of the hotel.

    The surrounding environment of the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main restaurant was pretentious & vastly overpriced .Decor & setting were lovely but the food was very ordinary flounced up to be something it certainly wasn't. There were no exquisite flavours ! We would not recommend it at all & wished we'd gone into town for dinner.

    Overall excellent facilities & grounds

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast menu was not changed during my stay for 7 days.

    My bed rooom was Calm clean cozy room on old floor I and my wife are very happy and we wish to stay again. It's garden and hotel has unique atmosphere of history . We enjoyed old library reading book in the smell of old book was fantastic .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Grand Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, would have loved to stay much longer.

    This converted palace was our last stop on our Portugal holiday and we decided to end the trip with a bit of luxury. We were definitely not disappointed. Staying in this beautiful hotel was a great way to end a wonderful holiday in Portugal. The pool area and facilities are wonderful and we stayed in the Grand Superior Suite and had a sitting room and balcony. The restaurant meal was superb. A stroll through the gardens is a must as well. If you can, stay here, you will not be disappointed. Staff were very friendly and always welcoming. Parking is on-site. It is about a 15 minute walk over the bridge to the historical area of Coimbra.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a bit tricky to find, called the hotel when we couldn't find it and the phone call doesn't take you directly to the front desk, have to hit a couple of options on the phone, then listen to music before someone finally answers. Nothing is within walking distance, really need a taxi to get to the top of the city to view the sights, we love to walk and even this would have been daunting to walk the extreme hills to go up. We did walk back to our hotel through the city and across a very busy bridge. When we arrived back to the hotel by foot, it has a gate and cannot get access unless we press the buzzer, however, no one answered for at least 5-6 minutes, the problem was the day was very, very windy and cold and after the long walk we needed to get inside. We tried calling the hotel's phone and of course again we only got the phone ringing for a while, finally a recording to hit certain buttons to reach the hotel, they never answered, but someone finally buzzed us into the gate area. Upon first glance the room looked fine, but after closer inspection we saw nasty carpet stains, the carpet was extremely worn in the room, especially so where the carpet met the bathroom, it was dirty and fraying and pulled up (see pictures). The outlets were disgusting, very dirty! The bed had severe sagging/sinking areas in the middle on each side. The TV would not work properly someone had to come to the room to fix. Definitely not worth the money. We did not come for the spa we just wanted a peaceful, safe room for visiting for one night. If we stayed more than one night we would have asked for a new room. We stayed in the newer building yet the room appeared old and dirty.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful the day we arrived, the room had a beautiful view of the gardens with a large patio just for our room. Large bathroom. Gym was very nice, quite a few machines and easy access. Breakfast was included and it was nice, but the only eggs they offered were boiled eggs, had a lot of cured meats, which I would not usually eat during breakfast maybe for lunch, but the fruits were nice, staff were very accommodating during the breakfast time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked one of the Spa suites and were very disappointed to see that the hotel is not renovated at all as is stated in the description. The "modern" part of the hotel is an ugly building made without any love at least 30 years ago. Maybe they renewed the furniture, but sanitary ware is still very old and for example the light switches are covered in old dirt. We had 2 balconies with nice view upon the gardens, but all is so ugly decorated and no atmosphere at all. We were happy to be out of the room. Overall, it did not live up to the price we paid. We had much better places for this amount of money. It would be good that the owners would hire a real designer and renovate the place with some more love

    Location in Coimbra is very good. Beautiful landscaped gardens.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the new Spa addition and rooms were ok - our shower/tub did not drain which was a bit gross and the power outlet did not work on the bathroom which was challenging. As soon as we arrived we tried to book a massage for during our stay and tried repeatedly for hours to reach someone at the spa extension with no answer, when someone finally picked up, about 15 minutes before they closed, they said they were fully booked for days. This was very disappointing.

    Property and gardens are gorgeous! We stayed in the new Spa addition and the bed and linens were very comfortable. The food in the bar was fantastic and the complementary breakfast offered was by far the best during our 3 week visit to Europe.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personell was very friendly, carefull and professional. The room was spacious and lovely made. The bed was the most comfortable we had during our trip and 4 different hotels. Breakfast outside in the garden was just perfect. we will definitely come back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. It was all good

    Excellent friendly hotel. We received helpful information from the staff to enable us to get the most from our visit to the city of Coimbra. We were also given a tour of the library at the hotel which is well worth seeing. The gardens at the hotel are lovely and we had learned about the tragic history of Inez and Pedro on our walking tour of the city and it was good to see the fountain in the garden.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Grand Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Wonderful suite with 6 meter ceilings and great space. The restaurant was vastly improved from my last visit--much more reasonably priced but still with good food and friendly servie.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude wasn't the best. Air conditioning didn't work in our room and so we notified reception as we headed out. When we returned in the evening we were advised it had been fixed - but it hadn't. Maintenance did however leave dirt and leaves all across the floor of our room though and left for us to clean up

    Very fancy luxury property with designer lobby and wonderful gardens

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Grand Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are few things in need of maintenance in its interior.

    The atmosphere of the hotel and its comfort. The staff is very friendly and breakfast is well served.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One or two of the bar staff were not helpful. Our room (12) was lovely but above the dining room and we could hear noise late into the night on our first night. Second night someone got up early in the room above and made a lot of noise.

    The attentive and helpful staff in the reception, breakfast room and housekeeping, the wonderful gardens and the room. The wonderful rooms in the house.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Spa Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the property has been ruined by using cheap and garish carpets and accessories, the new block where our bedroom was located was unwelcoming and unfriendly, very cheaply done out and no soundproofing at all, so you could hear everything in the room next door. The restauarant Arcadas which they "big up" as being culinary heaven was pretentious, slow in the extreme and food utterly underwhelming. AND the swimming pool was devoid of any water!! All in all not a 5 star property in any way. Very disappointing.

    The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: