Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Charming Hotels - Quinta das Vistas 5 stars

Caminho de Santo António, 52, Sao Pedro, 9000-187 Funchal, Portugal

#41 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 70 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    4.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place . totally relaxing pity about delay at departure. Stall excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shuttle bus only ran 9.00am and 11.30 am. and Sunday not at all. Piano bar was Wednesday night only. Ordering lunchtime sandwich on departure day took 75 minutes to receive stale bread. Not good value at 10 Euro each. Distance to walk to town understated. 20 minute walk for a mountain goat!

    Fantastic views over the harbour at Funchal. Very comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent.(We always eat out so no comment on evening food.). Quiet and clean. Relatively isolated on top of hill.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Stunning views
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No coffee/tea making facilities in rooms Hard to find staff at bar/cafe Wifi not good in the rooms

    Stunning views Friendly reception Large rooms and balcony Beautiful gardens

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic I would highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I was a little cold a night but otherwise o.k

    The staff were so helpful. My mum was ill and they were fantastic bringing room service and allowing us to stay in our room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    location, garden, pool and building all beautiful and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi in the rooms extremely slow (even for e-mail) breakfast and food average a little understaffed at times walk to the city a bit far and not so nice

    location, garden, pool and building all beautiful and nice to be in, views and outside terraces especially nice staff friendly wifi in public spaces okay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    Very nearly excellent 5 star hotel, but lacking a little management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is so close to being fantastic. There were lots of niggles that could be easily ironed out with a bit of management. There were stains on the carpet in the bedroom and corridors, the bath had seen better days and there was a gap between the shower curtain and the bath. Parts of the minibar were laid out around the room so they looked like they were free which was a bit misleading. The waiting staff were lovely but often difficult to find. When ordering a drink at the bar, the waiter would disappear without asking you to sign, so if you wanted to be honest and have it put on your bill, you had to literally track them down. The 'courtesy' bus into Funchal is an 8 seater mini bus that goes in 3 times a day and back twice, it has to be prebooked or you won't get a seat and it drops you 15 mins walk from the centre. There is nowhere nearby to walk to from the hotel, we walked from the centre once and it took over 30 mins on a very busy road, taxis cost about 7 euros each way but are efficient and easy to find. The reception staff were a bit autonomous, never once asking if you enjoyed your stay or checking that everything was ok.

    Fantastic views over Funchal and the sea, especially from the terraces - it's worth getting up early to watch the sunrise. Beautiful landscaped gardens with tropical fruit growing. Very peaceful location. Excellent breakfast buffet if you go early (the hot food isn't hot if you go later), but the made to order breakfast menu is included in the price and comes out hot. Lovely furnishings and lounge area with free wifi in the public areas. Lovely pools and jacuzzi with sun beds. An ideal hotel if you want to escape the hustle and bustle of the seafront and cruise ships. The bar food menu was reasonable and the food delicious. There are lots of tours to be booked from the hotel - be sure to ask for hotel pick up.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Great relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely large rooms very and well presented. Facilities on site are good. Best of all is the view of Funchal. There is a very busy road without pavements outside the hotel, however there is a free shuttle bus offered by the hotel that does a couple of trips a day into the old town area of Funchal. It would be good to have coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms, we took our own kettle. It’s also a lot cheaper to eat in town (you can get a 3 course meal for as little as 10€!).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.8
    Very nice but not for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There were no staff to help with luggage, Hotel had no atmosphere. Was more like a Retirement Home. Staff not friendly only one Breakfast waiter was cheerful.

    I loved view from balcony and I loved large size room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym should be open earlier. More available staff at pool bar in afternoon.

    Beautiful views. Great rooms. Staff was very nice and helpfully. This is definitely a great hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.1
    Good not Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were good or okay never bad and never brilliant - for a five star would have expected more - the location is a bit out of the way and a good 25 minute walk to the town centre - and 60 plus flights of steps high (fit bit count) the transfer bus is not as frequent as you would expect for such a obscurely located hotel (absolutely nothing but houses around it) - we have stayed at similar locations in Funchal with great transfer buses and significantly more facilities locally. Wont be back unfortunately as for the money there are as nice if not nicer hotels, in either better locations or who deal with there location better.

    Breakfast was amazing - really impressed, pool area was lovely maybe slightly tired

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a long walk down into the centre - 20 minutes brisk walk. After that we took a bus down and got a taxi back at about 5 Euros each way. There was a menu for hot items at breakfast but no indication if this was an extra. Although we tried to attract the attention of a waiter to order each morning, we were unsuccessful.

    Beautiful room with stunning views of the surrounding mountains and sea. Traditional quinta with beautiful furnishings. Lovely gardens and pool area overlooking the Atlantic and Funchal. Fresh fruit, pastries, cheese and meats at breakfast with good coffee.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    8.8
    Elegant boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is a long way from the centre, and the walk down is dangerous (no pavement). We needed more information about buses and alternative routes. Also, we were given a bottle of wine every day that I thought was complimentary but it was charged to the minibar!

    The food was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.6
    nice luxury hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bus stops were NOT "outside hotel entrance" but 200 metres in either direction! A fast dangerous road with no pavement.nice

    Furniture was very comfortable with nice selection of lounge areas.Gardens were very pleasant with fine views all round.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    6.7
    Could do better - although a nice looking hotel not much atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning in room wasn't working Breakfast was adequate but hot food was only luke warm Hotel had a very stuffy feel with not much interaction from staff - felt sterile not somewhere you wanted to sit and spend time relaxing

    Spa area was very relaxing and good choice of facilities, eg sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, pool etc

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.2
    F
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have tea/coffee facilities in the room. wouldn't have minded a charge but would have been nice to have the option. The same for an iron. Also the shower curtain didn't reach the bath which was pointless.

    The view from the room was amazing. Also fantastic view both land and see from the restaurant. Could gaze at it for hours. Very relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    A comfortable stay but travelling to Funchal to eat was a daily problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited menu. There were no light meals available

    Ambience of the hotel and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.8
    The view from the site and from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We ordered scallops Sct Jaque, and were served someting out of a can, which was even "cold"

    The view from the site and from the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    The hotel was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service from booking.com was atrocious in that you took money from us three times and that it took four weeks to get back

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful views, amazing view at breafast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff was not very welcoming, No wifi in the room

    Wonderful views, amazing view at breafast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    GREAT views, New, ok pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More a standard hotel than a Quinta (villa) Checkin was absolutely not professional

    GREAT views, New, ok pool Worth a stay (or a visit to the hotel)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing and enjoyable break in a lovely resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel with superb always friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay if you are not worried about being in the middle of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to moan about at all.

    View, breakfast, staff, lounge / bar area, swimming pool, terrace, quiet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly staff always smiling and wiling to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly staff always smiling and wiling to help.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.2
    The hotel was fresh, comfortable and contemporary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not easy to walk to and from the hotel

    The hotel was fresh, comfortable and contemporary. Lovely panoramic sea view over looking Funchal..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    3.8
    Elegant interior and good views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel has a staff morale problem due to deficiency of numbers--service was almost non -existent. Transit bus should be at times suitable to guests -not hote-- it was parked unused most of the time. Furnishings in lounge areas need cleaning Better value elsewhere

    Elegant interior and good views

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    5.4
    Staff was always friendly and polite however you could sense...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This hotel is to far away from Funchal, need to take cab all the time, the shuttle does not operate often enough and it does not take you right into Funchal they take you to their sister hotel. Breakfast is not that great, eggs are like wet pig food, they do not know how to cook eggs, coffee is terrible as well. No coffee or tea in rooms. No irons and ironing boards in the rooms. Beds are somewhat to be desired, I don't mind a firm bed but these beds were so hard, 6 nights of torture. Be cautious when you contact them to have a ride pick you up at the airport they tried to pass us on to one of their other sister hotels and we quickly told them no that we had booked 10 months ago and expected to receive what we paid for. In the end we think we were not given the correct room, it might of had a balcony but it was on the lowest level of the hotel and believe me the hotel was not full to capacity as they had lead us to believe. Chairs and Sofas in the common areas are not great, they need to be replaced or at least recovered with new supports put in them. For a 5 star this place was very disappointing, we popped into other 4 and 5 star hotels on the island and found some really nice places that earn their rating. Wifi did not work well in your room was okay if you were in the hallway outside your room or the common areas on the ground floor.

    Staff was always friendly and polite however you could sense that they were not happy as well with many of the problems that the hotel faces.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    5.4
    We do not have anything positive to report about this hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not book directly with them and feel that this played a role in the way we were treated. We had arranged to have a van pick us up at airport since there were 2 couples. The driver then proceeded to take us to another hotel that is part of the Charming Hotel chain once we arrived we refused to stay we were told that they had overbooked at the other location. Well that was not going to work for us we refused and so they made a phone call and funny they actually found us some rooms, so off we went to the correct location. Once there of course the driver charged us 55 euros rather than the 35...not impressed. Many other guests told us of the same problems. Half way through the week and after speaking to a couple other guests we came to the conclusion that room we had was not the room we booked, but we let this pass. Well breakfast was a big disappointment, they certainly do not know how to prepare eggs, coffee is terrible. This hotel has changed ownership and is in need of some work, they should not have a 5 star rating at all....there is not one comfortable chair or sofa to sit in, they need to be replaced, carpets need replacing and hallways need paint job. Beds are as hard as rock, 6 nights of torture for sleeping, the New Years Eve Gala was over priced at 180.00 euros per person, yes 360.00 euros per couple, needless to say we did not attend because if breakfast was any indication of what was to come out of the kitchen forget it. We did watch the fireworks displace from the large balcony and could see that the New Years Party was not well attended at all. You can eat well on the island anywhere for a reasonable price. No coffee in room or iron. Over all we will never stay at this location or any other Charming Hotel within the chain. Wifi did not work well in room, needed to stand in doorway or hall to have it work.

    We do not have anything positive to report about this hotel other than the staff are very polite and friendly however that will not cut it more is required to bring the customer back and we will never return to this establishment ever. We will go back to Madeira for sure, love the positive energy around the city and the people are very friendly, food is wonderful and reasonable especially if you like fish.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing we didn't like

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    10
    Everything o
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything o

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    7.5
    The people who are working there, like waiters, receptionist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They tried to book us out of the hotel twices due to overbooking

    The people who are working there, like waiters, receptionist etc.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: