Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rural Quinta do Marco - Nature & Dining 4 stars

Sitio do Marco, Caixa Postal 632-A, 8800-164 Santa Catarina do Bispo, Tavira, 8800-164 Tavira, Portugal

#4 of 17 hotels in Tavira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 579 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.5
    A good base in the eastern Algarve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upper floor rooms have the best views, a broad sweep of coast from the Spanish border to Fuzeta. Rooms are spacious with plenty of space to sit out and enjoy the views. The young staff could not be nicer and the restaurant was very helpful over special dietary needs. It seems popular with young families: there is a spacious pool area and extensive grounds to explore.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful setting in the countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not dislike this, but if you want to be on the doorstep of bars / restaurants you will have to drive a fair few miles. The food is excellent at the hotel and not at all expensive for the quality.

    We stayed here last year and we just love being here. The owners are lovely, as are their family and staff. The hotel is in the countryside and ŵe just love the organic way of eating and the relaxed but very civilised style of the hotel. It is very tastefully designed with beautiful gardens; herbs are mixed with bushes and trees. Walking around the gardens does not disappoint because there are little areas where you can find hanging seats where you can relax and enjoy the panoramic views of the countryside. There is also a little outside gym, quite hidden away, but yet again seeing the views. As for the swimming pool, it is so nice and there is a pool for little children. All the of the rooms face the views of the countryside and late at night you hear the owls. Each room either has a balcony, or an outside terrace. The rooms are big, spotlessly clean and those that have balconies are large. The ladies that clean the rooms are friendly as well. Breakfast seems to be nicely seasonal with a lot of the fruit grown in the hotel grounds. I love the the goats from which I think some of the cheese comes from. The chickens supply the eggs. The donkey is a rescue who is the hotel mascot! Anyway, I could go on, it is lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel in stunning surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. A simply beautiful hotel

    The deluxe room with it's huge terrace was everything we hoped for. The staff were helpful yet discrete. There were animals to look at and the grounds were beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful location, beautiful scenery, friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have absolutely nothing to complain about the this hotel. Only booking.com! Our stay was wonderful but I only later realized booking.com had given us a higher tarif at the end of our stay during the check out. Concidering we stayed for 8 nights, this really made a big impact on our holiday budget. I will always try and book directly with the hotels now. Sorry Bokking.com, but you failed me this time, big time!

    Wonderful location, beautiful scenery, friendly and helpful staff, clean and relaxing! And the restaurant has great food!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    The place reminded us somehow of Toscany with the olive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner a few times and the service was a bit slow but nothing major!

    The place reminded us somehow of Toscany with the olive trees around the agriturism. The beautyful garden with a magnitude of different plants and trees is wonderfully kept. The breakfast is of high quality and fresh with the majority of the products homemade. Fresh squeezed orange juice from their own trees, very sweet! There is a small kids playground and they have a small farm, our kids could make a ride on their donkey. The pool area is very enjoyable, we had room 28 and our friends room 29 that were recently renovated and were located in front of the pool, very practical! Those cost a bit more compared to the “older” rooms but it’s absolutely worth the money! A special thank you to the room maids, very professional and kind! Tavira is at 10 min drive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sandwiches served at the pool bar were very basic for their price. But that is really all we disliked.

    The best place we stayed in during our Portuguese trip. Very relaxing atmosphere. Nice and comfortable room with balcony and amazing views. Great swimming pool, amazing gardens with so many small hidden places to relax, very tasty food (breakfasts and dinner). We really liked wide range of fresh fruit for the breakfast. Staff was friendly but professional, willing to meet all our wishes. To sum it up, it was a perfect stay and we can only recommend Hotel Rural Quinta do Marco to everyone who wants to relax and enjoy wonderful rural area of Algarve.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    A wonderful respite from touring in the country within 10 minutes of Tavira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was meh - the fish was try and tastes. It co pulling - except I had my favorite dessert of my trip there - the almond tart. Bar is great too.

    I loved the room decor, the views, trails to hike, a few animals, proximity to town and the breakfast. I also loved the idea of the other amenities her it wasn’t warm enough to take advantage of. Nice pool, hammock seats, other sitting places. It provides a respite from touring.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Much better than I thought it would be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Pool a little on the small side and restaurant menu slightly limited. Still a very enjoyable holiday.

    A really excellent hotel, lovely room, great staff, great location, lovely breakfast served until 10.30am.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    A Real Find. Peaceful location, great quality and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautifully located small hotel with a very personal and welcoming approach. The owner sets the example for his staff by working around the hotel and the restaurant. A very roomy bedroom with great views across country to the sea. My wife was especially impressed with the quality of the bed linen and towels. We would definitely return and spend longer. The hotel provides great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful and happy experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Wonderful breakfast lots of fresh fruit constantly replenished. Stunning view from restaurant. The staff are charming and very helpful. Cannot wait to return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Excellent property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great.

    Excellent stay with the most friendly and welcoming staff. For the kids, they have a little farm with animals - turtles, chickens, etc. They animate search for eggs, donkey ride, etc. Excellent breakfast !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    the only thing lacking was perhaps things like tissues etc., in the room

    The location was stunning, the breakfast was ample, the dinner was a little bit restritive as I am unable to eat any fish.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Relaxing birding short break in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not much to dislike here .Some people might find the barking dogs from a neighbouring property a bit bothersome , but I slept through it all.

    The staff are very welcoming and friendly , and will help with any problems .They all seem to speak very good English ,which was a real bonus. The grounds are beautiful and full of birdsong .The views from the balconies are excellent , and the rooms themselves ,are well equipt with small fridge ,decent TV with many channels , a room safe and a very comfy bed .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Location and view were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we came there lots of things were still being build as this is a very new hotel. Swimming pool could have been bigger. Its quite basic but lovely for someone who is looking for a secluded place.

    Location and view were amazing. Quite remote and quite exactly what we wanted. Next to orange orchard the small around is breathtaking. Breakfast was amazing so many fresh produce. Loved all the animals and missing the donkey named Ferrari, all the chickens and sheep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Beautifully made hotel, feels so natural/organic to stay there! 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly friendly staff! They are happy with their job in this beautiful place and you feel the good vibes! This hotel is beautiful in the middle of a wonderful nature. Would definitely recommend it! Food is very nice too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.8
    Was staying there off-season due to proximity to a golf...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was staying there off-season due to proximity to a golf course - I have to say, for the rate, it was the best value I've ever come across. Staff couldn't have been lovelier, the room was sweet and the property was excellent. A real find.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    real relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We didn't have a car and although there is a bus it isn't very frequent.

    Everthing. Stunning view; peaceful, comfortable room; excellent breakfast; good restaurant; extremely helpful and friendly staff; lovely gardens; balcony; amazing walks on the doorstep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    An excellent stay in a quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the quietness of the place and the staff . The room was well decorated with fresh flowers ! The swimming pool was hot ! And the garden is really beautiful. We'll come back next year but for a longer stay that time ! The bar and the lounge are very comfortable with lots of magazines and games too !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice rural hotel in the hills near Tavira.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice rural hotel in the hills near Tavira. Very friendly staff, awesome gardens and views. The restaurant is high quality and the view in the evenings amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Boutique Hotel in the Countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a delight it was staying at Quinta do Marco. This property is well maintained. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was freshly prepared with local ingredients. Quinta do Marco is close enough to explore towns and beaches near by and far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet of the country. We appreciated the hotel owner being present as well as sharing his knowledge of the area with his guests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    A well run hotel with a lovely heated pool and towels..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The barking and howling dogs from the neighbouring farm. They sounded so sad. It made us sad.

    The extremely helpful staff. The heated pool. The fruit at breakfast. The location. The farm animals. Good towels. Fridge in the room. Wifi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Romantic getaway in beautiful surroundings. Extremely helpful and professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful surroundings. Ideal hotel for relaxation surrounded by nature. Excellent staff. We were greeted by a very friendly young lady who gave us an explanation of the hotel facilities and grounds as she walked us to our room. We had problems with our car and they assisted in contacting a mechanic for us and even arranged for another member of staff "Sidonio" to accompany us to the mechanics garage and then drove us back to the hotel whilst our car was being repaired. The staff is very young but you can tell straight away that they are very welcoming and friendly and are glad to help. To date it has been one of the best teams we have come across. We congratulate all the wonderful staff, special mention to Sidonio.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    We had a wonderfully relaxing, stress relieving and happy time in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location and views, the room and bathroom, general cleanliness, the restaurant, breakfast and bar, the swimming pool, excellence of the staff. Ferrari, the donkey and a family of turtles.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Perfect to relax away from noise and crowds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of floor carpets by the beds (room No 24). Handrails by all steps and stairs would be very appreciated.

    The staff in the dining-room! The delicious breakfast and. dinner. Reception and cleaning staff: also very kind. The hidden couches and lounge areas around the terraced ardens, the view from the balcony, the orchards, vegetable gardens and plants and shrubs everywhere!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect paradise, will visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't mind a later time for breakfast maybe until 10.30. A few mushrooms or cooked tomatoes would be nice with breakfast and tea/coffee making facilities in the room would be appreciated.

    Bed was nice and firm, lovely fresh fruit at breakfast, figs were delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful property, relaxing location, excellent food in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were first given smelled like smoke even though it was a non-smoking room. Luckily they had another room available and they switched us to it.

    Beautiful property, relaxing location, excellent food in the restaurant, very good breakfast. Wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing country retreat for a lazy trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We went for dinner at the restaurant on the first night of our stay and the service was very poor. We had to ask for menus, to order drinks and food. The food (which was actually very good except the bread starter) did not come until nearly an hour after our order. I also thought the 2 euro charge for a pool towel is a bit cheeky from a 4* hotel. A kettle in the room would also of been a nice touch. That said I would certainly go back to this hotel.

    The hotel has great views of the rolling hills down to the coast from our spacious balcony and the restaurant. We hired a car and made trips to Tavira and Santa Luiza which were well worth doing and easy to get to. The pool area was fantastic with ample loungers and a pool bar that provided food and drink from 1pm each day, the staff here were very good. The covered parking was also good as temperatures were around 40 degrees in July. The fridge in the room was also a good size which allowed us to buy bottled water in bulk as well as some food for lunches. The hotel staff were very helpful attending to our room, lending us a corkscrew and also sorting breakfast in our room as we had to leave early on our last morning. The breakfast buffet was an array of fruits and local produce along with some breads and meats, the freshly squeezed juice from the orange trees within the grounds was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice with towels provided for the sun loungers.

    Pool area with 3 pools. High comfort of bed and room. Breakfast with plenty of fresh fruits and cheese. Views of surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.8
    Decent place. Understaffed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very dark and remote region not near anything. Property manager difficult to find, and extremely low number of staff. Difficult to get help because very few staff they do have are over extended. It would take an hour to order and make a sandwich because the property manager was using only one staff member for the pool, interior, and other areas (to save money). The facilities were clean (although they have an ant problem -- all over the interior of the room). The property was in a very remote location away from anything, and the gate closed at 10pm, leaving someone who only speaks Portuguese overnight. You have to get out of your car and press the call button and keep stating that you need the gate open when you need it. Not very convenient, but decent and clean, otherwise.

    This few staff (other than the main manager) that were there were very pleasant and helpful, and did all they could humanlypossible to make our stay pleasant. The problem was that there was not enough of them.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    4.6
    Cheap in everything but the price: positive reviews are extremely over-rated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service: the staff behave like a newly formed holiday camp team. At the bar, they were rude in taking orders and took far longer than is reasonable. In the restaurant they barely know anything about the food or wine and for breakfast they are preoccupied with avoiding eye contact. One seemed rather too interested in the older ladies and young girls. At all points they were under staffed: only 1 at the pool bar when it was full. Only 1 bar open at a time, meaning that the pictures of different bars are pretty redundant. You have no choice and are hostage to the management desire to keep things on a shoestring. Facilities: the Quinta promotes a range of services, including a choice of bars, restaurant etc but only 1 is open at any one time (this is high season) and you have to navigate the staff numbers, interest and knowledge. The layout of the Quinta is haphazard and more like a camp village than the relaxed and landscaped place they promote. It also seems unfinished throughout. Food: the staff sell the fact that the Quinta has 15,000 orange trees but the breakfast juice was a mix of ice, concentrate and fresh orange. This gives you an idea of what to expect from the menu. Evening meals are inflated in price but are low quality: one chicken dish was microwaved and one starter used cheap unseasoned prosciutto. Rooms: while having been repurposed recently they seem unfinished or low quality. The mattresses of our bed (2 singles pushed together) had springs protruding, the shower head did not fit the holder and would move to spray the ceiling every 20 seconds or so, the safe didn't work and was too small to be useful. The balcony is overlooked by the restaurant. Pool: you have to bring your own towels. They give themselves 4 stars but can't provide pool towels?!

    Such a disappointment! We had chosen this Quinta over another hotel in Tavira and chose to stay here in favor of the expected solitude and service. We were wrong in every count. Do yourself a favor and go to a campsite or caravan park: you'll have a similar experience and pay a lot less!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    there was ample parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the pool could be more cleaner and there was no.much options for breakfast specially for the high price we paid for the room.

    there was ample parking. staff were friendly. location was at a nice quite and relaxong place. lot of green and rooms were beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    Quaint hotel with fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps room amenities could be a bit better - kettle, TV, etc. breakfast could be served from 7am to accommodate early risers.

    Staff was beyond friendly and helpful. Always smiling, and very attentive to the fact we had a baby. Location was great, in the peaceful rolling hills. Animals were a treat for our 1 year old, who just loved to pet the donkey aptly named Ferrari. The swimming pool was a superb alternative to the windy beach. The late afternoon gin tonic by the pool wa the perfect ending for the day. Room was cozy and spacious, and had a nice balcony to enjoy the sunset and sunrise. Sound proofing was excellent. Having an on-site restaurant was excellent. Food was good, just a bit pricey. Good value for money restaurants are a 5 min drive away. Breakfast was good, with fresh local produce (some literally from the hotel's mini farm). Certainly a place to come back to!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful rural retreat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took us a little while to find the hotel initially.

    This was a perfect rural retreat. The grounds are lovely, the staff are friendly and the swimming pool area has plenty of sun beds! I would say most, if not all, of the food is sourced within their grounds - not meat and fish though. The rooms have spectacular views across the countryside and are spacious and clean. If you want to escape into the countryside for a few days then this is the perfect hotel. However, it doesn't take long to drive to the coast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    The old tranquil Portugal is alive and well here !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's difficult to find if you are arriving for the first time. It's a fair distance from Tavira (10 to 15 mins in the car) - therefore the 'nip-ability' into Tavira is limited.

    This hotel is unique as it is a beautifully built rural hotel on the top of a hill with balcony views looking towards the coast in the distance. Peace & tranquility would best describe this hotel. It reminds me of the old Portugal. We went for a walk in the morning and saw the hotel animals - a very friendly donkey as well as goats, hens and peacocks. We also tried the high quality exercise equipment which is installed over-looking the magnificent views. The restaurant on site also has great views and the breakfasts are fantastic - fresh orange juice, hot option as well as beautiful fresh fruit, nuts, cheeses, fresh breads etc., The air con in the rooms is brilliant. The staff are very friendly & helpful. The hotel is the perfect antidote to GO GO GO GO Britain !.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Stunning views, very helpful, polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been perfect if there were tea making facilities in the room .

    Stunning views, very helpful, polite staff. Great pool area and private seating areas available to enjoy the views. Walks ranging from 2k to 13k, laminated sheets in reception. Lending library with good selection of books.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    The surrounding of the hotel is very tranquil.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is out of nowhere, if you don't have a car, it is not convenience.

    The surrounding of the hotel is very tranquil. Very relaxing atmosphere. Sleep very well. The breakfast is very good with many cut fresh fruit and fine cheese. Fresh squeeze orange Joyce and freshly bake bread and egg tarts are the plus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Lovely Hotel in the Mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more of a variety in the dinner menu.

    The room was was lovely and spacious and spotlessly clean. The bed was huge and so comfy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Views from the balcony were fantastic. It was nice to have a restaurant and bar on site although a bit pricey. The incleded breakfast was delicious, lots to choose from and something for everyone. The dinner menu choices were limited but food was good. I had the octopus rice twice and it was delicious. We drove 15 mins into Tavira for dinner a few nights but we would have eaten in the restaurant on site every night if there was more of a variety or different specials on the menu each night. The pool area has plenty of loungers & is very well kept. I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful relaxing short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff, lay out, pool area, bar area.

    The staff were welcoming and friendly, as was Ferrari the donkey ! I would highly recommend this hotel for a short break, they could not have been more welcoming. It was a wonderful relaxing two days and I will certainly return. An added bonus it was only 30 minutes from Faro airport in morning traffic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Excellent country hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing springs to mind

    Stayed three nights and pretty close to being a faultless experience. Superb location, friendly and helpful staff, excellent and well priced restaurant, and very good breakfast. Easy to find, plenty of under-cover parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful rural retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a bit on the hard side. You definitely need a car if you want to go outside the hotel. There is a dawn chorus of dogs howling most mornings which I think comes from a nearby property. If you keep the windows closed though you can't hear it.

    Very clean, beautiful fragrant gardens, heated swimming pool, delicious healthy breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    The hotel was delightful, set in attractive grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have been staying longer.

    The hotel was delightful, set in attractive grounds. Our room was huge and well equipped and it had with a balcony overlooking the countryside. We had a pleasant drink in the bar followed by a superb meal of Portugese specialities, breakfast the next day was superb, everything was fresh including freshly cooked bacon and eggs . All the staff were pleasant and made us feel really welcome. Fantastic service and comfort giving great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    9.6
    A jewel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the cool bathroom on a cold evening, there is nothing really to take issue with. However, the dinner menu could do with some rethinking. The portions are large and many are rich in taste and texture. A few lighter options would be appreciated.

    I arrived late evening but still received a warm welcome. Room very comfortable though could do with a little heating in the bathroom. Only guest so an excellent breakfast was prepared personally. Dinner was similar. Grounds nice to wander around in. Will return.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful mountain getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Bedroom View was incredible and so peaceful that you could only hear the birds. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Didn't get to spend much time on the common area but it looked very cozy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no complaints whatever.

    The views are absolutely stunning. The bar area is cosy and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet is vast and at the evening meal we had the most delicious food at reasonable prices. Staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel and grounds amidst orange groves but close...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Have booked to go back. They claim to be an eco hotel but not sure how this squares with the year round uncovered heated outdoor pool. Just a question.

    Beautiful hotel and grounds amidst orange groves but close to Tavira. Good dinner choice but a little pricey if you dine in every evening. wonderful breakfast choice, much of it locally sourced.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.8
    For those seeking peace in comfortable surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In winter? Not much... it remains to see what the hotel is like in summer.

    Staff could not help more! Lovely views; nice gardens; good food... We will go back, probably!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    A piece of heaven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The hotel is absolutely charming, a true oasis of peace and beauty. Everything is designed to delight your eyes. Orange trees, pomegranate trees, olive trees, flowers, so many kinds of flowers, hammocks, lounge chairs, the ocean to the horizon. In the morning and in the evening there is an incredibly birds concert. Regarding the staff, I have no words to describe how much attention and kindness we have enjoyed. My daughter had to leave very early in the morning to Lisbon, and the hotel owner arranged for us to have in the room everything necessary for a hearty breakfast and also sent us a coffee maker too. Every night we ate at the onsite restaurant. The food was very good and the service was great. We were pampered and treated as friends from each staff member. We recommend warmly this wonderful hotel and these awesome people.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    No need to stray,stay here a while
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My stay was too short,I'll BE Back

    flawless.Four days of total chill,wonderful leisurely walks,food to die for,great spacious room with WOW views,and probably the best staff ever,all local people,so helpful..And a donkey too

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    If you are looking for peace and calm....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ugly refrigerators in the dining hall!!! Move them to a place where the guests cannot see them. And I would love to have some Iberian-type ham, instead of the "Spam", but this is a small thing.

    The calm, the friendliness of the staff, the view from our terrasse

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Amazing spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely place, very quiet, nice swimming pool and facilities (bar near the pool, sauna, outside gym). Nice food at the restaurant and friendly staff. We loved it!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    “Ideal hotel to finish our holiday on a high note ! great, helpful, smiling Staff.”
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not easy to find but we were so very pleased when we finally got there !

    The great hotel setting, rural as needed and wanted without being too isolated, the countryside mostly covered with fruit trees and the peaceful quietness of the place made this a very special 2 last days of our "touring the Algarve" holiday. The hotel itself is functional and not pretentious, spread out without being disperse and all the facilities are available: a very good pool and pool area, a snack bar / bar during the day and a bar / lounge at night and a very good restaurant indeed both for breakfast (very good choices) and for dinner (very good menu). We particularly appreciated the care for details (lactose free yogurt at breakfast - how many 5* hotels do provide this item?), the very well appointed and large bedrooms with all the nicely provided soft furnishing that made the room so comfortable and the large bathrooms with comfy bathrobes ;-) We would also like to spend a few words of praise for the staff: they have all been very helpful indeed and they have all responded with a smile : we could not have had a better service. A hotel we are pleased to recommend and we would consider returning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Perfect place to chill and revive the spirit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one comment the wifi reception was fairly poor at busy times of day when the hotel had a lot of guests, but excellent when it was quiet, but this was a minor consideration.

    From arrival where The recption staff took you to your room, which was light modern and airy with a substantial balcony with two comfy chairs. Also provided two bathrobes and lovely large fluffy towels, daily. The view overlooking the valley and Atlantic was great. Pool area was well maintained and ample chairs with umbrellas. Grounds were attractive and well cared for. The was a restaurant on site if you wanted to eat in, which was also good. The breakfast was really good, lots of choice and particularly the fresh fruit on offer, also had hot options for those that wanted them. All in all a perfect place to relax and chill out.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    Tranquil comfortable accommodation with great staff and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful location with a panoramic view. Delicious food. Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely grounds with pool and plenty of seating. Farm animals to visit. Close to coastal attractions.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    5.4
    The breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The courtyard was very messy and full mit dust, because there were no aspfalt (just partial). The pool very small and not usable for swimming. At the hotel and in the near surroundings are nothing to do. We get little fly in bathroom from the moisture just after one day. Most of the guest were old couple.

    The breakfast was very good. Viewing from the restaurant it's super. It is a good place to rest and relax. The personal from the hotel is very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    Loved this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so helpful and friendly. They made our stay enjoyable. The grounds are so pretty. Very peaceful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Great breakfast and fab view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Great breakfast and fab view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    A week spent soaking up the stunning landscape .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Restaurant choice of meals was rather limited and repetitive if you are there for a week.

    Location superb, views from our balcony stunning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    will use this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    The dogs made lots of noise in the night

    Great location on top of a hill with great views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Location and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paperthin walls

    Location and garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Everything .
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about this hotel

    Everything ....wish we had more time to stay in this very clean, comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.5
    Overall excellent stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lack of wifi.

    Super calm location - ideal for work out of daily flow // book writing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    There were beautiful views from our room's balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were beautiful views from our room's balcony. The room was large. The restaurant was excellent. The breakfast was grand.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was limited menu and pricey. Bar snacks ok and good value

    Nice comfortable rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    lovely relaxing holyday and we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    location, hotel and garden, view, room, food, friendlyness of staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Everything
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    A perfect place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, Great view and quiet location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Space of bedroom and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No restaurants near is a bit of a problem when the restaurant of the hotel is fully booked.

    Space of bedroom and bathroom Staff very kind and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Definitely will come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very beutiful and cozy hotel for holiday! Nice garden and balcony!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal quality is good but the kitchen is extremely slow

    I like the provision of bicycles but new helmets would be a good idea

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Everything, it was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, it was excellent! Staff, rooms, food, magnificent view!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Exceptional view from our balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional view from our balcony. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Be In Nature!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful swimming pool! Superb breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent rural hotel, 12 Km from Tavira and 18 Km from Cabanas. Tranquility, not far from beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice rural hotel, with pool and good restaurant. Excellent breakfast. The pool is normally very quiet. Large room for 4.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Great relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the pool area and the viewsGreat relaxing time

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75