Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Charming Hotels - Quinta do Monte 4 stars

Caminho do Monte, 192, Monte, 9050-288 Funchal, Portugal

#50 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 106 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The carpets are catastrophic The rooms are very old fashioned so not stiel fully antique The cleanliness of the rooms is not ok

    The location and the view are fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air conditioning was noisy, but they were aware there was a problem and were trying to fix it.

    We loved it. Beautiful hotel and gardens, friendly staff, peaceful, lovely breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant service and food was not good on several occasions. we were kept waiting over 40 minutes one evening just to place the order for our meal, When the dessert arrived it was not cooked at all.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pillows were quite lumpy and we had six to choose from.

    Great breakfast selection and yes the croissants were extra flaky. The lamb shank and the "espada" on the dinner menu were delicious. Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold. To walk out of the hotel grounds required going to the car park and out the gate for cars which added 10 min walking on roads to get to the gardens, cable car, or anywhere else. There was an entrance to the grounds we could have used that took us straight to the places we wanted to go, but it was always locked. Extra unpleasant in the rain! Carpet and furnishings in room and rooms section faded and worn. Old TV in room not flat screen. No WiFi in our room. No fresh fruit juice at breakfast. Poor lighting in room.

    Public areas were very comfortable. Room was spacious and with a nice balcony with a view. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds VERY uncomfortable. The booking said two double beds and we had two single beds....I am often disappointed and dismayed that hotels frequently fail when it comes to beds....if you have a comfy bed to sleep in often other things can be ignored. This hotel failed in the 'bed and breakfast' promise....breakfast was very uninspiring. Indoor Pool was supposed to be heated but wasn't.

    Beautiful old hotel with amazing views.....charming. Very friendly staff who all spoke good to excellent english

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only in public areas. Shower didn't work in our room. The bar is only open in the evening and the outside bar has no shade.

    Beautiful location. The view from the bedroom balcony was gorgeous. Fantastic breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First person at the reception was not as friendly as the other ones, great hotel but the rooms need a little update and only a indoor pool with a hot tub that doesn't work.

    After a rocky start, Claudia at the reception was really helpful and welcoming. We ate all our dinners in the hotel and food was really good. Great view from the room, near the cablecar and the magical place of palace gardens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit old-fashioned and the bar is closed very early. The lication is very high up at the mountain and difficult to find/reach.

    Breakfast and big room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool would have been nicer slightly warmer - bit hard getting in as felt so cold. Prefer double bed to singles pushed together.

    Beautiful location especially for visiting gardens. Easy to get into Funchal by cable car, bus or hotel minibus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    carpet in room very dirty and shabby...dry carpet shampoo would work ..

    beautiful location, with magnificent views over the whole island. Very lovely staff and pool facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don´t know. I didn´t notice any difficulties.

    Very good place as a part of botanic garden with nice view to Funchal. I came after midnigth and I had trouble to find hotel becouse traffic was diverted. I calkl to reception and they not only described me way, but receptionist went against me 200 -300 meters to hill! Wonderful! Thanks to him. Luboš Smrčka

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bar service very slow; dinner slightly uninspiring, and swimming pool opening hours very restrictive. Cable Car finishes at 6pm so you feel stranded up the hill away from the nightlife. The No.20 or 21 bus was very convenient and made a fast run down winding narrow lanes to rival the toboggan!

    Breakfast pastries good, fruit salad and yogurt, and cooked option too, plus strong coffee. Beautiful gardens and far reaching views.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel bus only has 8 seats for a 40 plus bedroom hotel and very infrequent. Had to use the public bus service most days to gain access to Funchal.

    Free upgrade to a Suite

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location not ideal even if a car is hired. Winter in mountains led to a lot of low cloud.

    Staff were great and breakfast were reasonable. Room was comfortable but perhaps in need of a refresh.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Being up in the hills means you have to travel up and down to Funchal city. The complimentary hotel transport has 8 seats and travels up and down twice a day finishing at 6pm, so we mainly used local buses. It really is too steep to walk down!

    Beautiful tropical gardens with views down to the sea, felt like we staying in our own stately home. Wonderful breakfast buffet and good restaurant on site. Was far away from the rest of the 'hotel zone', which made it peaceful and less touristy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The housekeeping staff are a bit noisy in the morning in the corridors:(

    The location of this wonderful hotel is just glorious. We couldn't have asked for more! Beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    hotel free bus - practically unusable ( few seats becide big number of guests, and few rides )

    Staff was helpful and agreeable the room was clean and cosy quiet place

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The temperature in the public rooms was very low and the lighting was poor.

    The staff were excellent, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too hard. Poor ligth in the room. Cold room temperature.

    Warm athmosphere and quiet surrounding, beautiful garden

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Instructions on how to find the hotel. It is a challenge getting there through the maze of narrow streets to their gate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Incorrect GPS position made it hard to find.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location for the gardens & the quirky town

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    please don't call me Madam

    excellent breakfasts

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more opportunity to 'dine around'.

    Absolutely love the location and public rooms . The gardens are superb

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of general areas.bathroom needs updating , food very bland

    Good overall selection

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small things really spoil the otherwise very good impression. There were a bottle of wine on the table, but no opener. When requested, the opener was given and taken back. There were no price list for mini-bar. Some staff was not really fluent in English.

    Great location on top of the mountain, next to the tropical garden. Restaurant was very good and swimming pool is very nice after a long walks in the mountains. View was great!

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No iron in the room and no iron available to borrow! I was told if I wanted to iron a shirt it would have to go to one of their other hotels and it would take 24 hours by express service.

    Calm and elegant hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Facilities in the hotel were limited perhaps partly due to its location high on the mountainside. Pool was small with limited sunbathing area although this did not particularly concern us. Aspects of the hotel were tired. Bathrooms needed upgrading and carpets replacing. Although we were happy with the location it did mean that the hire car we had taken was of limited value as driving was not to be recommended. there was a cost implication to getting up and down the mountainside.

    Staff were courteous and helpful. Hotel overall was what we expected.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Solo traveller

    It was unseasonably cold, and I rarely felt warm. I would have preferred a duvet to blankets. There was not enough variation in the menu, and I did not want to go elsewhere – to other Charming Hotels, which their model of operating seemed to assume people wold do.

    The staff were good, and the position would had been fantastic: but a taxi driver said it was 5 degrees colder than at lower levels. I liked the building and ambience, and the swimming pool was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beautiful , historic building amid glorious gardens

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: