Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Enotel Quinta Do Sol 4 stars

Rua Dr Pita, 6, Sao Martinho, 9000-089 Funchal, Portugal

#34 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 697 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms that face the ocean is too noisy because of the road and traffic. Also you can hear everything that is going on in the corridor as well as in your neighbor 's room.

    Good location, close to the center, restaurants, bus stops etc. Hotel has a nice and clean lobby though room are a bit shabby and out of date. It has two swimming pools and a nice view if you face the ocean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet restaurant was crowded, particularly at breakfast, and the dinner selection disappointing. After the first night we ate out every night. The position of the hotel, although good for access to Funchal, suffered bad traffic noise, even at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pool was somewhat small and shallow. The safe was somewhat archaic - key required. Not the hotels fault - but the work on the park behind was a little noisy and started quite early

    Beds very comfortable and generous balcony. The breakfast was fine with a good variety. The bar was reasonably good with a wide variety of drinks and more limited food menu. There were plenty of sun beds and space to sit either in the sun or shade

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a door between the rooms and therefore you have heard the neighbors very well! The matress was very old and used! Was way too soft! After one night we had to ask for an additional harder one!

    The location was good, close to a bus station and also a nice walking distance to restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The noisy bikes at night - but this would not put me off staying at the hotel again.

    I liked the professionalism of the staff and the way that was mixed with respect for the customer. Nothing was too much for them. You just had to ask and the staff made it so.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff was very friendly, especially the waiters at the breakfast. Location is good, hotel is clean, breakfast is plentiful. There are, however, limited parking spots, so if you come back after 7pm, you might not always find something available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are in need of some refurbishment and new furniture. For 4 stars, was expecting a mini-bar in the room (rather then an empty, hardly functioning fridge).

    Good facilities overall. Nice and large outside pool. The other pool is not 'indoors' but covered and the atmosphere there is very pleasant. Breakfast has nice variety. The staff was generally very welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor pool had its pump running all night which made it difficult to get a good nights sleep. Could hear it with the window closed

    Indoor poor was lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We couldn't have cake with our tea in the bar area after 5.00 pm ! A very small sacrifice and probably good for our waist line!

    Very helpful staff, comfortable bedroom with a lovely view of the sea and garden. Very nice to relax by the pool in the sunshine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy location (don't forget your earplugs and it'll not be a problem though) Mostly elderly clients Food is average (nice for breakfast, but the evening buffet for half board isn't of great quality - think of it as a canteen more than a real restaurant). Water not included.

    Nice bed Clean Indoor and Outdoor pools Professional staff Not too far from city centre (15' walk)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for the price, really nice indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Great food for dinner and breakfast. The staff for above all expectations, we had a 1 night booking but had a flight cancellation ant the tenants Kindly guarantee the room for the following day, avoiding us some useless stress. The hotel is well located near Funchal and easily accessible with a free parking lot. I strongly recommend it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast could have been a little bit better, more food to choose from for example, but anyway it was also okay.

    Location is good, the room is great, the hotel facilities were great and the staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Would have been nice to have had coffee and tea making facilities in the room, a working air conditioning, and a usable safe. Evening entertainment could be clearly heard in room.

    Breakfast was very good. Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1. Found the insects in the bed of my 1st room (I got changed to another one after). The hotel appologiezed though by giving me a free meal at Christmas evening. 2. Noise from the street (room with the sea view). Since the hotel is located at the cross of streets - it was quite noisy. 3. Would be nice to have tea kettle in the room

    1. Very friendly stuff, helping with everything you need. 2. Good breakfast, large variety of everything! 3. Good location - walking distance to Marina (centrum) and Lido (area with restraunts) 4. Bathtub in the room 5. Option to eat lunch at the bar is a plus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not as advertised on booking, it looks nicer on pictures, rooms are not soundproof which was disturbing as we had very loud neighbours

    The location was great, near the old city center and the staff was very kind and flexible

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance access system - in 2017 they use plastic cards with magnetic stripes. We had twice malfunction with our card and couldn’t enter our room. The advice from reception was not to wear it with coins or mobile phone. Sorry, but where should I wear the card when I am on vacation and wear swimsuit all the time? Just upgrade or return to normal key.

    Breakfast, swimmng pools, lobby bar and caipirnha

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I might be a bit biased in my review because we got a cozy room with an ocean view, tasty breakfast and live music in the lobby every evening, but, personally, I loved my stay in the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    The friendliness of all the staff. The wonderful selection of food at each mealtime. The seating in the lounge area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed mattresses were sunken in the middle and not very comfortable, even though mattress enhancers were on the beds.

    The location was good, inbetween town centre and lido area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room had a connecting door with a room next door and on the second night we had some very noisy girls staying there and I could hear the whole conversation. The minibar has to be on request which I find really anoying.

    The breakfast had a large choice and catered for specific dietary requirements. The bedrooms were very comfortable and we had a magnificente view of the ocean. It was close to the City centre and very easy to get anywhere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Smoking allowed round the pool and outside areas...puts non smokers right off. Ban it or designate areas for those with the disgusting habit....preferably near the Marina.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We liked everything

    The hotel is well located within walking distance of the centre and bus stops nearby. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We only had breakfast at the hotel but found this very good with a great choice of food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing to say

    The location is very good, quiet. We had a ocean view room (lovely sunrises). The hotel is clean, nice decorated, friendly & helpful staff. Breakfast rich and varied. There are 2 pools (one big outside and one half covered with heated water- LOVELY!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought that the cleaning of the room on a day to day basis could have been a little better. Overall very clean but the housekeeper could have hoovered and cleaned our mirrors more often. I also thought that the hotel could provide guests with all the hotels facilities and amenities available.

    The bed and bedding was amazingly cosy!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No tea / coffee available in the rooms, which we were not informed about. You had to ask for a kettle but then had to provide your own tea / coffee / milk. The bar closed at 23.00. The Spa was closed & had been for 12 months.

    The Lounge & pool area & the choice at breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Somtimes party until 11pm was very loud - I would not mind the party, but the deep bass tone was very vivid. Many construction sites around - when lying near the pool, sounds of constructions were disturbing a little.

    Staff great, breakfast great - wide variety of food to choose, pool great + looked very relaxing, location right in the middle of old city and sao martinho - touristic part with hotels and broadwalks. Staff very pleasant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water didn't drain away properly in wash basin(room 227). Plastic shower curtain. Bathroom tired and in need of upgrading not good. We were immediately above the outdoor bar. It was a bit noisy. Restaurant wasn't a pleasant place to eat. Having been allocated a table right at the top of the stairs on the first night we didn't eat dinner there again. Food was ok but it was like a school canteen. Breakfast was ok but again the restaurant let the hotel down. Some of the restaurant staff were lovely but others were very grumpy and unhelpful. We were there because we had had our flights cancelled and we're looking for a relatively cheap and comfortable hotel until we could get home. Most of the time the hotel provided this but sometimes it didn't deliver.

    Lounge and public areas good. Splash pool good. Bar staff and cleaners and reception staff very competent, very helpful. Very relaxing hotel. Beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would have been better if the Hotel had a larger indoor pool and also if they supplied robes. This was because to use the outside pool you would have to change down at the pool and when finishing your swim you would then have to dry off and dress before returning to your room.

    Nice large room with air conditioning. Breakfast good with nice choice of food. Hotel public rooms large and clean and plenty of outside space to sit with a drink on warm evenings. The Hotel position was good but being up a short steep hill may not suit some people.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The layout of the restaurant, because all the food was at one end of the rectangular room, and meant that people had to weave between tables and other guests to go backward and forward to get their breakfast.

    We had a lovely large bedroom in the garden area of the hotel. It was kept spotlessly, with regular towel changes. The hotel is very well kept from the gardens to the public areas. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We had bed and breakfast and the food was very good and plentiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Dining room too small and canteen-like. Long walk uphill from town centre to hotel. Noisy surroundings including barking dogs, building works and music school all beyond the control of hotel.

    Very clean, well appointed and good facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Selection for the vegetables and fruits for breakfast could be wider.

    We had sea view room and it was fantastic. Furthermore, they have full English breakfast and they are really good. 20 min walk to city center, but there are a lot of good restaurants and shops around hotel too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Lack of tea, coffee and sugar to go with the kettle, the steep hill up from the main road to the hotel and the coffee at breakfast.

    We had a corner room, extra large, with lots of room and good storage for cases etc.There was a kettle and cups etc but no tea, coffee or sugar. The bathroom was very good but only came with soap and bath gel/shampoo. Breakfast was plentiful with a limited selection and the coffee, well, we then drank tea! Good bar and with no silly prices and live entertainment. The inside pool with jacussi type water jets was warm (27-30.C) The main pool was quite chilly in Sept.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A nice place to stay in Funchal. The rooms were nice and quiet, the pool a nice way to cool down on a hot day. The staff was friendly and gave good recommendations. The breakfast had a large variety and the food was good. There is a parking garage available. The hotel is not in the center of Funchal; however, walking to the center is easily possible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    VERY NOISY!! Located on the on the cross-way between between two of the most circulated roads in Funchal. Very hard to get some rest, no matter that you are closing the windows or not! It seems that soundproofing is some complicated abstract theory for this hotel. They are advertising as being located one km away from Praia Formosa, when it is actually more then 3.5 km between the two location. Google maps can confirm it...

    Staff (especially from the bar), Cleanness, Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. We had the bad surprise of finding cockroach in the room. The action done by the staff was useless as we needed to keel the bugs later during the night 2. The coffee was not at our taste 3. Wireless connection fluctuating in the room

    1. Friendly staff always ready to help and to answer the questions 2. Swimming pool with warm water and jacuzzi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room 430!! What a view!! Location (half way to center, half way to lido, no need to use public transport) Excellent breakfast and dinner Clean rooms Nice pool area + sun beds We stayed twice Highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning is poor and had to move rooms due it not working but even then it barely made a difference. Lots of noise from traffic due to position next to main roads.

    Fabulous pools and spotlessly clean throughout. Good evening entertainment with very friendly bar staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner wasn't working at all times, but having sliding door open to the balcony help sleeping thru the nigth!

    Beautiful views from my room, and the terrace

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    did not get time to use your facilities due to sorting out accomadation and medication from the hospital

    nice to have breakfast for a couple of days , while we sorted ourselves out after the airline cancelled our flights. tried to stay for another 5 days but apparently you were fully booked.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of gym equipment substandard and not working correctly. Sauna and steam room not available to use.

    Easy to get to the hotel from the airport. Easy to park, lots of spaces available. Rooms clean and bed comfortable. Choice of two good-sized pools, never overcrowded. Good choices for breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel is in a great location, easy to access the whole island.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a box for "lunch package" when you have to leave hotel earlier than breakfast time would be nice; and more selection of food for that

    two very friendly woman receptionists; very clean; excellent beds and beautiful view over see with balcony

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    there was no wifi in the room, drinks were not included in dinner, and you have just hour for dinner (in our case 18:30-19:30), billiards is also charged extra

    The location is perfect, in walking distance to the city center and Lido too, the staff was very friendly, beautiful view from room, the hotel organizes evening program each day (concerts, piano, traditional folklore group..), dinners were great, i really liked indoor pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few things need improvement . The beds are hard . The bathrooms need to be updated . Our toilet had an odor that wouldn't go away . We had significant issues with access into our room . There were 3 different times we couldn't get into our room because of battery and card reader malfunctions. This was frustrating and inconvenient as we had to wait to have staff come up and deal with the matter resulting in time away from activities and family while this was being attended to . There's also a matter of privacy given the very thin walls that separate the rooms . Charging for the safe seems odd most hotels provide that as part of the room rental charge . Lastly we had requested adjoining rooms for our family of 4 when the reservation was made by our travel agent . Upon arriving I found out that apparently that was not communicated to the hotel but was assured they would attempt to accommodate when the room between us turned over the room between us did turn over during our 10 day stay but we never heard from the front desk . I think some of the value aspects of the hotel are good but the facilities are aged and insufficient in a variety of the facilities and accommodations .

    Bar staff specifically Diogo and Carlos are very good . Efficient and friendly . Front desk depending on who was there provided fluctuations in service and willingness to help .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we did not like.

    A lovely hotel and amazing staff, especially the bar staff. They couldn't do enough for us. A lovely room, with a balcony overlooking the garden and pool area. The outdoor pool was absolutely great and so refreshingly. The spa/warmer pool was lovely to relax in early evening. We had breakfast every morning. There was so much choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Limited space around the breakfast buffet area.

    Good variety of breakfast options. The fresh fruit was usually very good. Reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sun beds could have been a little more comfortable & the umbrellas were a risk when the wind blew .

    Nearly everything. The staff were friendly, the food was good,we liked the location , we also liked the pool & we thought the hotel good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , can't think of a thing !

    Great hotel, lovely place to stay and the staff were amazing- could not do enough for you just really really nice from the cleaners, bar staff and the wonderful reception staff. Our room had a lovely sea view and everything we needed, we asked for a kettle for tea and it was brought up straight away, rooms although comfortable did need a make over - but for a great hotel you must stay here !!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Restaurant food although plentiful is not the best and the layout of the seating is rather institutional. Plenty of good restaurants nearby though.

    Excellent staff. Rooms that end in 30 have excellent views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were quite dissapointed about the room when we arrived. In pictures it seemed modern and renovated, but in reality it appeared like we have returned in 80's. Oldschool furniture, oldschool feeling. Only the lobby area was renovated and it corresponded to pictures that we looked at before arrival. They didn't have robes neither slippers.

    We had a nice view from the balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'balcony' for the Regular room is only a footstep wide the superior rooms are the ones with full balconies. The bathroom and fittings are antiquated and you have to keep asking for the loo and sink to be fixed. There is no kettle or tea/coffee facilities in Tegular rooms. The fridge never gets properly cold and it's so old fashioned.

    The staff are brilliant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adjoining room door was not blocking any noise from the other room. Breakfast didn't have any of the famous exotic fruits of madeira and nothing really portuguese(except the yoghurt)

    Good location, friendly staff, indoors swimming pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The superior room did not have a separate shower (unlike the photos on booking.com), the shower was in the bathtub. The shower curtain had mold on it, when we complained to the receptionist, they removed the entire shower curtain..

    The location of the hotel is very central

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast not a pleasurable relaxed experience as the restaurant was always busy with the self service area's not spaced out enough, and part of the restaurant had long tables that were wasted, would have been better individual tables. Hotel preference was keeping people all close together. Could not get a bar meal after 5.00pm, only restaurant, not ideal as sometimes you just fancy a small meal (snack), had to go elsewhere to have one.

    Tina the receptionist was very knowledgable and helpful. Cleaners very good. Bar staff very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There were mostly senior visitors in the hotel. We didn't mind at all, but if you prefer younger guests, maybe this is not the best place.

    We stayed in a room with a sea view which was beautiful. The atmosphere in the hotel was very relaxed and staff helped us with everything we asked - they were very nice and friendly too! They organized a rent-a-car for us, so we picked it and left it later in front of the hotel, which was very practical. I liked the breakfast. Pool area is also very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately, it seems that, very regrettably, this hotel is being taken over by tour operators such as Thomson and SAGA, as a holiday destination for the elderly. As a result, at breakfast time the hotel dining room was very full and also, somewhat surprisingly, given the age of the clientele, extremely noisy, which has never been the case previously. The previous decorous ambiance had vanished completely; only to return somewhat on our last morning when several of the tours and their clientele had departed. Rather more to the point, the tour operators are bagging all of the best rooms and we found ourselves shunted to the back of the hotel overlooking the service road and a stone retaining wall. The room was cramped, dark, and lacking a balcony which meant that if one wanted to sit and read in the sunshine, one had to go down to the terrace to do so or else sit in the room with all the lights on. No chance of a move either, as those on holiday packages had commandeered all of the best rooms - those with balconies and sea views. Ours was also a room which could, if needed, be linked to the one adjoining it and so then used as part of a suite or family accommodation. With the "shared" lobby, while the door leading into the adjoining room was obviously locked from both sides, the result was that we could hear the television and the toilet being used next door. Additionally, there was a drainage cover in the surface of the access road that rattled persistently twice each and every time a vehicle went over it. First one set of wheels and then in swift succession the next. And, being on the first floor, over the public rooms below, it was much noisier than on the upper floors where we were before. Two further points: those on reception, while polite, do need to listen to what it is that guests are asking of them before, not having understood the question, jumping in with an answer.

    Our third time here and as before we were on half board; the breakfast, in terms of what was on offer, was as good as before and so too the general standard of comfort - see above regarding our bedroom - and the cleanliness of the hotel. It is very convenient for walking down into the old part of Funchal but if you are unable, or indeed unwilling to walk, then there is also a very good bus/taxi service on hand instead.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We liked our stay in this hotel a lot. Very comfortable rooms with nice sea view, hotel is clean and quiet. Great breakfast, nice indoor and outdoor pool. Location is quite close to city center, bus stop with direct connection to the airport close to the hotel. Also several restaurants and shops are very close.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedrooms require updating especially the bathroom. No balcony.

    Reception and lounge areas were very welcoming and modern. Nice pool and sun lounging area. Good choice of food at breakfast. Friendly receptionists and bar staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Croissants were a tad soggy but there was so much to choose from that it was easy to leave it and replace with one of the many breads and rolls on offer.

    The breakfast was very good and you can have omelette cooked to order. The pools were superb and the staff exceptionally friendly and very relaxed while maintaining an efficient and professional service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travelled to Madeira because my mother had fallen ill while on holiday there. The staff went out of their way to look after my father and I while my mum was in hospital. The hotel was immaculate and facilities were great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    At breakfast coffee cups are very small; could mugs be provided as an alternative; this would reduce number of trips required during the meal. In the room lighting was very poor for reading: possibly a standard lamp would provide necessary flexibility.

    Plenty of choice at Breakfast. 6th Floor room with little balcony overlooking the bay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sea view rooms face the sun as well and have large windows. When we walked in, the room was very hot. The air conditioning was next to useless. We slept with the windows open and resultant traffic noise. The 2nd night was better after we had cooled the room down during the night and kept the curtains shut and windows open during the sunny day. I would strongly advise people to book the garden rear rooms. Strangely, the location is not so well represented by near-by restaurants. It stands on a very large road spur junction, which is quite busy and noisy. The room areas generally were a bit bland. It was a little disappointing to be allocated to the early 18-00 to 19-15 dining slot which is much earlier than we would normally eat. The buffet seemed much better on our 2nd night once we had adjusted to the routine.

    The outdoor pool, seating area, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and bar and seating areas were all excellent. Breakfast worked very well with a large selection and excellent service and table re-setting for follow up customers. The price of drinks was very reasonable for a hotel, only about 20% more than average street prices.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the weather !;; ;shame i;t; ;wasn;'t ;a bit ;w;;arme;r.;

    the friendly and helpful staff; the varied choice of breakfast;the cleanliness; of ro;oms a;nd lounge areas.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Internet a bit slow. The decoration in the room a bit worn out and the beds are quite hard

    Excellent service and very friendly staff. Very good atmosphere and facilities. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although a good selection for breakfast it is buffet style with lots of guests and visitors going to and fro - all a bit institutionalised.

    Hotel is very well situated for walking or bus into Funchal centre and for Airport bus service. Hotel is spacious, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet sucks. It doesn't even connect anywhere throughout the room. The fridge is so warm that water is colder if it were left in room temp rather than being in the fridge. It emits heat 0_o It was helpful that one time we had left over pizza, tho. It actually kept them a little warm. The furniture hasn't been updated since the hotel had been open. The bed was super uncomfortable. A/C wasn't working. In a tropical environment, you'd think the A/C would be their top priority. But it serves as a heater, and they've turned the heater on and we were completely oblivious to that because the controller said that "cooling" was in effect. Fml. It was hot. Also, kinda isn't where the city is, a bus ride away, which is always packed. It's like the holocaust, we were all shoved in a small space and packed together -.-

    We honestly only enjoyed the view of our room. Other than that, we've found ourselves complaining about everything else.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Hard to fault.

    The staff were absolutely lovely throughout the stay, and the hotel was nicer than expected. Spotlessly clean. It certainly wasn't the case that the photos made it look better than it was. About a 15 minute walk from Funchal's central harbour. We started every day with a massive buffet breakfast - fry up, pancakes, fresh fruit, porridge... We didn't spend long in the hotel bar but the nightly entertainment was nice when we stopped to hear singers on one or two Evenings. Would love to go again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No tea and coffee making facilities provided - but a kettle and cups were provided on request -we had to provide our own tea bags....

    The friendliness and efficiency of the staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much not to like.

    Staff in reception, bar and restaurant all very helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfast and good value evening meal with wine include. Lounge area tastefully decorated with good "small" clusters of seating, not just a big open area. Comfy large bed. Lovely clean property. Great Christmas lights in Funchal helped to add atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closes at 11pm which makes it difficult for a nightcap if you have been out for dinner. Would be great if there was lighting in the wardrobes.

    We loved the hotel and the location. The staff are all amazing and very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the curtains in the room where not clean and well past there sale by date!!. No tea or coffee in room this is a basic item in this star rateing

    location good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wellness: sauna and steam bath was only turned on up on request, and availability of massage was not continuous (we had to book in advance when arrived, later as we were really satisfied, wanted to book another massage, which was not anymore possible, there was no massage staff available). Wifi was weak (sometimes no sign).

    Location is perfect, between lido and city center. We had sea-view room, and the panorama was wonderful. We took massage, which was amazing. Hotel staff is really friendly. Glutenfree bread was available at breakfast (although only 2nd day, up on repeated request, but staff was really kind). Breakfast was great, always the same, but big variety.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning bedroom would not pass the "Four in Bed" test! It was reasonably good, however, skirting boards had not been dusted in a while, nor had the beds been moved recently. The fruit selection at breakfast sometimes looked like it had seen better days - on day 5 or 6 the peaches (Tinned) were nearly Black and clearly hadn't been covered in the fridge from the previous day.

    The view from our 4th floor room was amazing, The shower was almost too perfect. Bedding changed at least 2 if not 3 times in 7 nights. Towels daily if we wanted them - although no hand towels provided on the last full day and was too late to ask at reception when we realised. Breakfast selection was adequate for a 4 star hotel but I have had better. We only really used it as base, so can't really comment on other facilities: Pool, Bar etc. Dinner on 1st evening was about having something to eat when we arrived at 9pm, rather than enjoying it as we would any other meal.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only had breakfast in the hotel and we're out all day, didn't use the hotel services. Nothing really to dislike.

    The breakfast had a good amount of choice. The indoor pool/jacuzzi was lovely. The beds were comfortable. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is not a 4 star hotel -WiFi hardly works (even in the lobby) -Breakfast is medium, not everything was fresh -Noise isolating was terrible! some rooms have internal doors to the next room and you literally hear everything in the room next door -Pillows aren't comfortable -Staff welcoming at check in but not when you complain about noise/wifi and so on -Parking is not big enough for the entire hotel - we didn't have a problem because the hotel wasn't full but you coudld tell it's small!!

    Good location, 20 walking min from the center Madeira is so amazing we didn't care about the hotel too much

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was chaotic and the large groups caused long queues. They need another restaurant. The food was not great at dinner.

    Excellent staff. Great location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Enotel Quinta Do Sol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: