Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quinta Dos Moinhos De Sao Filipe

Estrada do Castelo de São Filipe, 2900-300 Setúbal, Portugal

#5 of 12 B&Bs and Inns in Setúbal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 172 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double bed too small; no airco; no mosquitonet in the window (broken); view from the room quite poor; breakfast good but always the same, might have been a bit more. The owner was a bit restrained.

    Superb view & very calm/peacefull.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there during a heatwave and the temporary aircon unit on wheels in the room was useless. I suppose that most of the year, there is no need for it.

    Very good location for those looking for peace and quiet. The swimming pool is very big and inviting. The room and the breakfast were OK.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave :( we would stay there forever.

    We had a great time, the bed was comfortable, the views were amaizing, the owner speaks great English, the breakfast was simple but fresh and delicious (loved the homemade tomato jam) and when was sunny we got to enjoy the breakfast on the balcony with a beautiful river/sea view. We will go back 😊

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were greeted by a really nice woman, she made our stay very pleasant. Breakfast was amazing, with a wonderful view of the cost and Troia. It is close to the center, big parking space, large rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No. Everything is wonderful.

    Everything is perfect. The sea view is wonderfu and you can see the view from everywhere of the quinta. The room is quiet and nice. The breakfast is delicious. The owner is very friendly. We will definitely come here again with friends!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tourist Villa Moinho 2 with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The double bed was just a little hard and small (1.40cm). The shower was very irregular and wasn't draining properly. The sofa bed in the living room extremely uncomfortable. The villa is absolutely gorgeous but too small for family 2+2

    The views of the Troia and Bay are spectacular. The villa is spotlessly clean. The hostess was so nice and very helpful. The owner very pleasant. Pool was great !!5 min by car to Setubal's city center. very relaxing holiday. Private playground for the kids.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even for a Continental breakfast the content was very disappointing. No croissants or interesting pastries just ham and cheese and a few dry rolls with jam plus some fruit and yogurt. We expected more at this price. The pillows were extremely uncomfortable- we would take our own next time. The towel rail control in the bathroom seemed to be broken so the towels were still damp when we came to use them the following morning It would have been nice to have had some means of making ourselves a hot drink in the morning It was surprising that there was no telephone in the bedroom Also surprising that at this price there was no fridge for cold drinks

    The furnishings were outstanding and the owner very pleasant. The interior was made to feel very homely. Magnificent views.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Tourist Villa Moinho 2 with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful location, with nice view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All comfort and facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good . Would have been even better if the windmill accommodation was in use and therefore available.

    Lovely host. Perfect location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tourist Villa Moinho 1 with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    everything was just perfekt !!!!!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tourist Villa Moinho 2 with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the views, location and the hospitality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay was to short

    Great place, great view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tourist Villa Moinho 1 with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircondition didn't work. We didn't get good tips or maps of the area.

    Great view. Peaceful place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tourist Villa Moinho 1 with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is perfect!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly, and they did the extra mile to keep us confortable! Amazing view! Recommend it at all levels for couples or families.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal service

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tourist Villa Moinho 1 with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor aircondition.

    Beautiful view to Sado and Troia bay. Lovely accommodation and wonderful pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    just superb

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tourist Villa Moinho 1 with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfort of 2 beds

    Location House, former wind mill Quietness

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is amazing just what I needed to relax......and the owner was very hospitable, I felt at home just wish I had staying longer!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner and staff were most helpful. The lighthouse we stayed in, is beautifully laid out and decorated. The location and views, magnificent!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly, helpful owner. Very beautifully equipped and personal sitting room, which the guest could use as well as a terrace with stunning view. Fine room and bathroom. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The "windmill" units are a very spacious two stories with superb views. The units have been finished and decorated with care. The hostess was helpful and welcoming. A superb stay, especially at the price.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    double bed was a little small (1.40cm); the shower was very irregular and wasn't draining properly

    everything else was perfect: location, view, decoration, breakfast; very kind host - also gave us some tips on places to explore

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The villa was amazing, so peaceful and tranquil. The lady of the house was so helpful and recommended a load of stuff. This place would be perfect for a small family as there is a private playground for the kids.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road up to the hotel was tricky!

    This is a beautiful place to stay and offers delightful surroundings both inside and outside of the hotel Breakfast was served on the terrace overlooking the bay

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything about the property was fine except it is a bit far from town and was hard to find.

    really unusual property. Nice ocean view, pool and patio areas in which to relax. Nice modern bathroom. Room was comfortable. Would have loved to stay in one of the windmill houses which were a bit more. Helpful and friendly staff. Very accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was minimal (ham and cheese in the fridge) for that type of pricing, we had to have an extra breakfast outside with some warm food.

    Excellent conservation of old windmills in the middle of a beautiful park. Stunning view and 5 Min to Setubal's city center. Great experience.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was just a little hard.

    The view was stunning and it was very peaceful and welcoming. Felt very much like a BNB and that I was a guest in someone's home. Not in walking distance to town but taxi was only 6 euros.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's quite tough to find when coming by car, so plan well in advance.

    The villa is absolutely gorgeous, with old style furniture and a classy atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a bit formulaic with lacklustre cheese and ham. Loud music until 4am one night from a local music festival but otherwise very quiet and beautiful.

    Views are spectacular and the property is close to the interesting town of Setuba. The owner was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This apartment is in a renovated windmill and is beautiful and spacious. The view of the Bay of Setubal is spectacular. The apartment is spotlessly clean and most attractive. The hostess was so sweet and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quinta dos Moinhos is just as good as it looks in the photos. Wonderful views across the Sado river and a short drive into the attractive and interesting city of Setùbal . Very friendly and helpful owner.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was not very elaborate; we went back to Setubal to buy a bit more ourselves. The bed was too small for two friends to share, so one of us slept on the sofa downstairs. The water pressure in the shower was not very strong.

    The view was breathtaking! The mill was gorgeous, and the staff was very kind! Despite some small negative points it was an excellent stay, and we really enjoyed it!

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If we had time to stay another day.

    The location, the staff, the views, absolutely everything.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed in our windmill was very hard. A bit tricky negotiating the toilet because of the narrow space.

    Location and view are both spectacular.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Beautiful location, excellent service, cosy inside

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice and relaxing holiday with a beautiful view.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Views were fantastic, pool was great, accommodation unusual in a positive sense. Very clean, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great staff who went out their way to help

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Simplistic breakfast. The invoice of our stay wasn't provided.

    Excellent location. Friendly staff. Very clean facilities.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location, the silence, the assistance and kindness of the staf, great value for money

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing comes to ind.

    The location and the view. You can see over the entrance to Setubal and the city.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The view and the comfort. Felt like a home! Amazing breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no evening dining available.

    unusual location, beautifully kept property, expertly designed by the owners

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have nothing bad to say.

    We liked everything about our stay.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: