Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quinta Jacintina - My Secret Garden Hotel 4 stars

Urb. Quinta Jacintina Apartado, 3324, 8135-025 Vale do Lobo, Portugal

#3 of 13 hotels in Vale do Lobo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 98 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our welcome was cold to say the least . No how was your trip or welcome . We barely got a greeting .When they took us to the room and I asked what about a bed for my daughter as we booked family room (too small for family of 3) we were told his colleagues must have forgotten . Everyone else in the hotel made up for it later . But not a good start

    The F&B staff were most obliging and wonderful to us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool wasnt ready, but i guess it was because is not sumer yet and it was cold.

    Really kind and friendly host. Really clean room. The restaurant food was fantastic. The hotel in general great and clean. Parking included. And close to the beach (by car) and close to Faro (around 25min).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom a little small. No electricity point close by the kettle and not much room to facilitate making tea.

    Lovely bathroom all very clean. Bed and bedding very comfortable. Nice to have fresh milk for the tea. Staff all very nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the pool could be cleaner, but it was quite cold so maybe that's why it wasn't a 100% clean.

    Great looking property, very Portuguese & charming! Lovely staff. Welcomed us with some port.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't dislike anything at all. The only improvement we could think of would be to offer bar snacks in evening, or some sort of limited menu. On a 'get away from it all' holiday, which this hotel surely offers, sometimes it is preferable not to have to go out in the evening.

    A delightful hotel - lovely staff, comfortable bed and bedroom, a wonderful feeling of being in a retreat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Limited continental breakfast choice and ham and cheese uninspiring. Problems with the hot tub on our balcony - yes, I know! – but it was new and I think just teething hassles. If staying there you need to be aware that they don't serve evening meals, but great restaurants nearby served by very efficient local taxi app.

    Wonderful hotel - so good almost reluctant to review in case others discover it! Fabulous suite with lovely facilities, staff friendly and helpful, and excellent when I asked them to handle a lunch party for a dozen people. Lunch excellent, pool delightful even for this non-swimmer!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    On the first night we were told that the hotel didn't do evening meals yet the hotel info said they did! Continental breakfast was limited and you had to "up grade" to a full English at extra cost! Limited lunchtime menu and, as the hotel was in the middle of nowhere, we had to hire a car to drive to feed ourselves in the evenings! The pool toilet area was closed and the door blocked by a stack of boxes, the pool shower was covered over by tree branches and the gardens were poorly maintained, i.e. brown soil rather than grass - not really a secret garden in my opinion. The hotel owner didn't appear interested in the guests whereas the staff were always busy but helpful - a good job they were available. I wasn't even asked if I'd enjoyed my stay when paying the bill in full (something I did reluctantly but my wife didn't want a fuss!).

    Very good air conditioning and a lovely veranda, very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. The staff were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first visit to this fabulous hotel, I don't think it will be our last, perfect ambience with a super friendly team to look after your every need.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blood spots on the walls, rest of some wine on the table, charge for breakfast (+/- 8€ for eggs without being informed or presenting a menu), plastic grass and dirty pool. After the first cleanup, we had a concern about an opened safe that was closed before we left the room - lady at the reception addressed this directly in a public place, which was awkward for all of us. Nothing was missing and we didn't blame anyone, but we wanted to address open safe (and zipped items in it) - they (management and cleaning lady) should have dealt with this internally. The same day after we came from dinner, someone was in our room, put a little café chocolate on the night stands, folded the blankets and toilet paper (yes, right, what?) - this has left a very strange feeling.

    Beautiful area, so peaceful. Beach is a few minutes biking. Large sized terrace was great (except the empty bottles of coke from previous guest/s). Bed extremely comfy, we slept great. Dogs at the property were pleasant surprise since we love dogs. Cuties!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower head could do with some attention. Getting it to stay static and in position was a trick and one that many hotels overlook.

    A charming small hotel with friendly, smiling staff. What a joy to find a hotel that is comfortably and prettily decorated, in tune with its surroundings. Would happily return.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much within walking distance, unless you play golf!

    Lovely, traditional and comfortable room in small quality hotel. We were only ones staying, but it was November! Staff friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the breakfast included is very poor and you have to pay extra to have a complete breakfast

    the lovely garden, the location (but you need a car)and the kindness of the staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor pool could have been kept cleaner by just sweeping up every morning & perhaps a bit of colour round the pool rather than empty flower tubs but that is my only criticism!

    Beautiful little hotel - home from home 😃

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The standard breakfast is not really generous, eggs, cheese, bacon are optionnal.

    The size and the confort of the room with a private terrace giving access to the exotic garden and the pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool area needs a bit of a spruce up. The food is average but there are so many lovely restaurants around we were perfectly happy and the breakfast was lovely.

    I loved the location, the staff and the décor. Our room was particularly nice,extremely comfortable and very clean. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was a delight and the meals first class. We cannot rate this hotel experience more highly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast did not live up to the expectations. It is included in the room rate, but what you get is a poor-man's version of a continental breakfast. There is an extra charge for any other option (read: eggs). For the room comfort it looks like some shortcuts were taken (no slippers, towels look aging, poor sound isolation from the lobby, noisy fridge). The hotel is overpriced for what it offers.

    Generally the hotel was ok, in good proximity to the beach and golf courses (which we did not try). Staff was nice and did a good job. A quiet location and generous room sizes.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gardens are very tired. Needed more than a good tidy. No pool service. Neither drinks nor cold flannels. Lack of any duty staff on 2 of 3 evenings, so how can you have turndown ? Regretfully, on an overall decline, yet it could be much nicer. Was offered room No. 1. Patio area overlooked dustbins. This could easily have been camouflaged. Also next to car park (car door banging most annoying). Something, somewhere is adrift. eg. Only 1 room booked for first week of August- only 2 weeks away! Just wish I was owner/operator. Obviously struggling yet it's a lovely place !

    Nice reasonably priced luncheon/snacks with fair priced wine. Nice touch of free port in room, but we are paying a lot and do not expect ruby port. What a shame! Price differential is minimal between 10 yr old and ruby port.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Just update a little,although it was charming

    The owner and staff were very helpful and went out of their way to help

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was a gym and location was bit far out.

    The staff very friendly and the hotel room was gorgeous and pool and bar was superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like!

    Such a beautiful hotel, large rooms and the staff were all so lovely and helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff and service. Lovely room with comfy bed and good facilities. We'll be back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was empty

    Just lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow and bed, but who likes hotel bed better than home.

    Location location location Staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quiet hotel which for a longer stay might have been an issue.

    A very pleasant alternative to a large hotel. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Everything was upto standard

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite , beautiful location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No public transport or hotel transfer vehicle to resort centre so a car essential

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Service at breakfast & bar could have been better

    Convenience

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Everything was first class

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Silk Flowers, sorry there are too many of them. Less is more.A dream

    Quinta Jacintina lives up to its name

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love everything about it . Fab u Lous ...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. We shall definitely return

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet in the room was poor

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cars park in the sun

    Everything about it it is charming

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything, location good, staff great and friendly, and nice and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find anything to complain about.

    Excellent from start to finish. Really terrific place well worth a visit. Cannot wait to go back.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly old-fashioned family-run hotel, but all the better for that! Personal service, big comfortable rooms, a simple garden and pool and a quiet place for breakfast or drinks. Azure-winged Magpies and Hoopoes flitting about. Lovely, and close to all the swanky golf courses and beach bars..

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Eggs Benedict were better last time, and the breakfast croissant was definitely the previous day's!

    The double bed was outstanding for a hotel, and tea/coffee facilities in room can be unusual in Portugal. Excellent bath too.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Attention to detail.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful friendly and very helpful staff. Beautiful boutique hotel. Enjoyed a wonderful honeymoon.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness, breakfast, rooms, staff everything was very good

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The. Weather

    Shear luxury, breakfast served in the lounge and wonderful coffee freshly made. Dishes made to order. Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff were first class and rooms very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything, welcoming from hotel manager at the door, room, facilities, cook-to-order breakfast, access, surroundings, value, ....

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool was not heated.

    Hotel décor ,the location and friendliness of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Solo traveller

    No evening meal!

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: