Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quinta da Vigia 3 stars

Rua da Praia Pequena Nº 20, 2705-329 Colares, Portugal

#6 of 12 Holiday rentals in Colares

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 293 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st morning in the hotel, breakfast only includes coffee, coffee with milk and hot chocolate, slice of bread with butter and jam. When asked for an orange juice instead, I was told I had to pay for it. Don't expect any help from the hotel if you have any food alergies. Shower - worst shower ever! Had to let water run about 5min to get hot water, and when in shower water stopped running. Constant noise in the room of water running through pipes. Light kept blinking in the room, after switching off the lights. Hotel advertises food and drinks up to 23h, never found anybody to serve us anything. Billiard table full of dead mosquitos, no ambience in the room. Staff completely disorganised.

    View from the window.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All apartments have a damp, musty smell. Place needs thorough renovation. Booking. com should not be recommending this accommodation. The photos about the apartment were misleading.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were doing some works outside and we could not enjoy it. Either the swimming pool because it was too cold. You must to pay to play paddle and pimpom

    I liked the sea view, we could share the room with our friends and you have everything on there if you want to cook anything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was very poor, instant coffee and cellophane wrapped croissants. No eggs, nothing warm on offer. We stayed for 3 nights, and there was no internet. Every time we complained, the reception could not find a solution. The technician did not come... The technician came but he cannot fix the internet connection... In this day and age, it is inconceivable to stay for 4 days and 3 nights at a location that is far from town, with no other high street for miles, and there is no internet.

    Superb view of the sea

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is not nice - smells bad, it's filthy and very neglected, one of the worst hotels I ever stayed in. And not that cheap! (75eur per night) There was no shower, but bathtub - we wanted to take a bath but there was no plug. We asked the staff for the plug but there was no in the whole hotel. Seriously?? The breakfast was extremely poor - we were only served with bread and jam. Appartently other guests also had cheese and ham, but there was no left for us - how difiicult is it to predict the food needed for just few guests? We bought juice at the bar - expired 3 months earlier!

    Baby crib was nice and clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Change towels and do something about thedamp in the room.

    Breakfast was o.k. Room was moisty. Damp towels. I suppose because it is theseasom, but it would have been nice if the towels were changed. The wall in the bathroom is wet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not bad but not as nice as shown in the pictures (definitely not worth the price), wifi connection was very bed. Breakfast was ok but noting special.

    The view from our room (ocean view room) was amazing. The owner is really nice and ready to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We booked an apartment with seaview. When we arrived this turned out to a view on the tennis court and a big hedge. We stayed in apartment 205, the only one without seaview. We were disappointed and the staff didn't do anything about it. We felt sorry for this, what they promise online was not the reality.

    The location is perfect for surfing, visiting Sintra, Lissabon. Enough to do and see nearby! Friendly housekeeping. Beautiful nature, good restaurants (Bar do Fundo!)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds in the living room was not so comfortable - even though it was children sleeping in them. If would be nice to have a darker curtain in the living room so the whole appartment was dark in the morning, and not just the bedroom

    The place was nice and close to the beach. Clean and nice staff. Garbage was collected and beds made every day by the nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly staff. Amazing location. Direct view to the ocean. The beach is perfect for surfers. The landscape is really beautiful. Close to Sintra and Cascais.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room with sea view means that you can see the ocean slightly from the corner of a small window, not a real sea view from our room or the pool either. The room was not too comfortable. The breakfast was a bit poor and basic.

    The facilities are the highlights of this place, the jacuzzi and the pool are amazing. The staff was very nice and helpful! The location is also great, close to beaches and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a lot of bug bites when we left our windows open - I wish we could have been warned or had some kind of repellant.

    The location was absolutely incredible!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Continental breakfast was fair enough, but not excellent.

    The design of the hotel and facilities were excellent. The staff were very efficient,friendly, helpful and gave some excellent recommendations for dining out as well as being very helpful for general enquiries. For a young family break I can not recommend this hotel highly enough. It was perfect in terms of location, facilities, and layout.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -A problem with the booking, we could not get the apartment the first night, inconvenient and had to move elsewhere for one night. -The apartment lacked a good ventilation,had a smell of moist, hot at night. -Inventory of the kitchen is quite poor -A dog is kept in a cage day and night and we found that simply cruel.

    Nice area, close to the ocean and nice pool, quiet location, plenty of space

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and the location were the best part of the hotel. In general the room was very nice and also clean, however the breakfast could have a more choice and the bathroom needed renewing. It is very close to the beach and nearby restaurants which make this hotel superb.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We chose this property since we needed some rest in a beach front location however we were severely disappointed: - Room was very dirty and never cleaned in 4 nights stay (including changing the towels); there was no light in the room and many amenities were rusty and old with a horrendous smell of sewage contaminating it. - There was also a draft in the room (nights in this location can be very chilled despite the high temperatures during the day) as the windows did not close properly. - Very dirty swimming pool, would not dare to step my feet inside it. - The Breakfast menu is apparently appetizing (fresh fruit salad, baker's basket, tea/coffee, fresh juice, cheese+ham) but in the end it was made up of old - plastic like - croissants (packaged), fake canned syrup fruit salad, warm boxed juice; on top of that, you wait at least half hour to be served, one item per time. - Staff was not friendly and most of time absent - we are still waiting for a "Welcome" or "Good Morning and Thanks". - Forget about this place, you can get much better value for the same or lower price. - Should you need a shuttle service for the airport, their offer is ~70$ one way: we paid less than 30$ by regular taxi.

    Location near the beach, nice fresh fish restaurants in walking distance

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access road not asphalted, rooms without Air conditioned, Shower water tap without pressure, cleaning staff doing the rooms too late not less than 4 pm, served breakfast very poor, caned fruit salad and frying eggs charged at 3 Euros per unit ?

    Excellent location. Excellent Ocean view. Staff very helpful and smilling especially Mr Pedro.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelent service very nice place very clean and nice! Definitely we going to use this place again and referral to all friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was cold and woken up by builder fixing roof.

    Staff were really accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful location. Exceptional view. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ocean view was not really great. Small window to the garden with a bit of ocean on the side.

    Mostly everything was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice view, spacious rooms, all necessary in the kitchenette

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    El desayuno muy impersonal con productos confecionados y de poca calidad

    The position and the view are amasing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast slightly disappointing in terms of variety.

    Great location, friendly staff, well equipped rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beds were a little too hard.

    The staff were very friendly and the accommodation had everything you would need for a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little cold in the pool.

    Great place with a nice view overlooking the ocean. Nice garden with a pool. It is a good thing to come with a car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxing , quite, cold weather

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was amazing. Felt like family by the end of the visit

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sleeper sofa not clean.

    View of ocean and private patios.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow internet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beautiful place near three beaches in walking distance. Good infrastructure. Thanks to the staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the strange smell in the room

    I love the beach front ...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    mosquitos, lack if air conditining and lack of proper curtains ensuring darkness at nights

    location and staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad breakfast, no protection from mosquitos, filthy terrace, bad smells in the lobby

    Great view, located right at the seaside; quiet; comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was really nice. Apartment was good with children. Hotel area was safe. Nice pool. Beaches in walking distance. Great view.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very pleasent stay with marvelous view to the beach ,good food in the village. Really enjoyed the vintage house in the modern way, everything was clean and tidy. Congrats to the maneger! An expirience to repeat! I strongly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff were exceptionally unprofessional. They tried to charge us more for the room than indicated in our booking.com confirmation and raised the fee for their (poor) laundry service from 15 Euro to 35 Euro without informing us about that change beforehand. The room service is very patchy. For example, we repeatedly had to ask for toilet paper. One of our beds was not very sturdy and moved when my father-in-law sat down on it, which resulted in him falling and hurting his head. We also experienced a microclimate issue during our stay: on four out of seven days the weather was overcast and cool in the hotel and at their beach but pleasant and sunny in Lisbon, where we then decided to spend most of our time.

    The location is pleasant and the general facilities ok although not particularly clean.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very poor cleaning, each time we entered the room we could only smell dust. We had to remove all the rugs and covers because they were full of dust. Despite our complaints no reaction from the services. The pool was also dirty most of the week, it's really a nasty place to go on holidays. The road the the hotel is also very bad... no TV working... wi-fi was also out of service. Really a place to avoid unless you're looking for an expensive price without the any benefits. The rating for this hotel should be 0 stars.

    The view was the only point in favor.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The key to our apartment failed to lock the door and it took two trips to the owner to obtain a replacement key. Some of the fixtures and fittings were just hanging on loose screws, which meant things like the shower head rail came away easily. Soap dispenser also loose. Mouldy patches on the bedroom ceiling. Unfortunately the garden view apartments look out on to the grass, and a wall, which blocks the sea view. The swimming pool was murky, and did not look very clean. Wifi,but only in public areas.

    Friendly staff, Pedro especially helpful gave us suggestions where and how to see the sights of Sintra. Spacious appartment, virtually on the beach Good parking facilities, close to apartment, and secure at night.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ocean, ocean, ocean ...

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The fruit salad at breakfast. Cheap breakfast. Moldy closets.

    The location. The view, stunning. The swimming pool.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Quinta da Vigia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: