Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quinta dos Caracois 3 stars

Encosta do Funchal, 8600-320 Lagos, Portugal

#44 of 194 Holiday rentals in Lagos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 166 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    This was a nice surprise, it seems like a complex of many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a nice surprise, it seems like a complex of many little houses/apartments. I think we were the only people there, the gentleman at the reception was very nice and friendly, we loved our place, we stayed only two nights and it had everything we needed. You need a car to be here, otherwise it's very far from everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place to relax and enjoy Algarve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fine.

    Very nice place to relax. Pool in front of appartment. Appartment very spacious comfortable and clean. Cooking equitment quite complete. Washing machine. All interesting places (beaches, city, supermarkets) close and easy to reach. BUT: car is mandatory!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Highly recommend this property if you want to explore the local area. Luis & the team were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The particular apartment we stayed in had no air conditioning (ceiling Fan only) & the beds were a little lumpy. the location was a little remote (not necessarily a bad thing) but shops are not within walking distance.

    what particularly struck me about this place was how these apartments are situated, each balcony/porch are very private, quiet and in a beautiful location. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, the apartment was cleaned and towels were changed often enough. The apartment we stayed in was very safe for our 2 year old to run about in and the pool area is enclosed enough. The apartments were very well equipped. Luis was incredible, he was extremely accommodating, his knowledge & recommendations of the local area was second to none. Top Tip: a car is essential for access to Lagos & Lidl is much cheaper than Intermarche (mins away from each other)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.8
    Really nice and spacious apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our private outdoor space was facing a busy roundabout and we could hear the cars and anbulances unlike our expecations of a remote quiet place!

    Really nice and spacious apartment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to keep the door opened as there's no air condition.

    Big rooms, very good swimming pool. It looks more like a private apartment, not a hotel. Located at quite nice place, 3 km from Lagos. You should have a car to get there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful place near Lagos
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is a bit steep, but that comes from the location. Cannot walk around, but still the view compensates.

    Great stay at this place, our apartman was literally huge, with a nice view to the ocean. We liked it a lot. There was always hot water, even though we took a big bath. We were very busy to try the swimming pool, but water looked also appealing. The owner was very friendly as well. Quite place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    The location is wonderful, set in a hill, just a couple of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds, it's not a double bed, only two beds one next to the other. The TV is too small. Also it would be good to put some soap in the bathroom and the kitchen and some basics for cooking like salt and sugar.

    The location is wonderful, set in a hill, just a couple of kms from Lagos and the beaches, We enjoyed a lot staying there rather than in Lagos downtown where it's crowded and difficult to park the car. The apartments are sorrounded by a wonderful and well mantened garden, it's quiet, relaxing and simply beautiful. The swimming pool area is perfect and never crowded. The owner is friendly and can give you good advices on the area. We enjoyed a lot our stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Hillside Villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a heat wave while we were there and while we expected not to have AC, there were also no box or ceiling fans in the unit. Even with all the doors and windows open at night, the bedrooms were very hot and uncomfortable.

    A lovely property with apartments. Ours was 2 bed, 2 bath with LR, large fully equipped kitchen and terrace. It was perfect for two couples. Outside of the hustle-bustle of Lagos but close enough to be convenient. Comfortable beds and large baths. Attentive and friendly staff. The pool is a big plus!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely break away - couple without children
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a dislike - but there are many mosquitoes - so remember the repellent. Also it was very hot 35+ and there is no air conditioning - however the apartments are airy with high ceilings and the breeze is good because of it being built into the hillside.

    Nice, large private apartment - basic but everything that we needed. Lovely outdoor area attached to the apartment to walk out onto that looked over the hills. We were staying for a wedding that was 5 minutes walk away so didn't explore the neighborhood so much. Need a car for this location - we could drive to the beach in 5 minutes. The owners were lovely friendly people that were very informative of places to go to and restaurants and provides us with a map. Felt like a cosy family run place and good value for money. Perfect if you like a holiday that offers self catering and you don't mind driving to destinations such as the beach. Taxi's are very difficult to get hold of!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic apartments at very reasonable prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartments are a little off the beaten track so a car is pretty much essential as it is too far to walk into town. Also for anyone with a walking disability or those who are infirm should be aware that access to the apartments is very steep.

    Fabulous apartment, fantastic value for money. Louis who is the owner/manager was very welcoming and was happy to help with all questions/enquiries. I would happily go back to stay there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    6.7
    Pleasant apprtment with nice garden and clean swimming pool. Service could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Appartment was very hot and the owner was not willing to install a temporary ventilator. Appartment is on the ground floor, so not safe to let the doors open at night. Difficult to find with the navi due to road changes: so be prepared.

    Loction is fine, Lagos is near by. Pool is fine. Appartment = clean and daily cleaning Service. Very quiet. Owner gave very good info about restaurants and sight seeing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.9
    Location was nice & quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was terrible. It only worked if we stood (not sat) on the balcony & held up our device. Even then, it cut out every few minutes. Also, we had to go buy hand soaps for each bathroom & dishsoap. Absolute bare minimums there. Just those little extras, soaps, extra towels, salt/pepper & proper wifi would not cost the owners much but would satisfy customers a lot more.

    Location was nice & quiet...except for dogs barking & roosters at 5am but you'd get that anywhere in this type of area. I liked the apartment size & pool was very nice. Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.2
    A wonderful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a little on the firm side for me, but may just be personal preference. Also would have liked air conditioning.

    Loved the pool and apartment, very peaceful as it is a small complex(9 appartments.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    looking forward to returning to this resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We didn't have a car therefore we used a lot of taxis.

    It was quiet and relaxing. Louis (manager) was extremely nice and very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Lovely views, lovely host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely views, lovely host.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    New place in quieter, better part of Algarve, really nice place to stay and chill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Location great, owner really nice and helpful. Accommodation very large and clean. Good in all respects, cant fault at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    The pool was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant and restful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too hard

    Liked size of apartment

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.8
    Good accommodation on the outskirts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not available in rooms. Car essential.

    Warm welcome. Comfortable accommodation. Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.5
    Beautiful quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi very limiting and two single beds

    Beautiful quiet location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    8.3
    Nice and comfy in a hill but no air conditioner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. in the hill (for us no problem but can be for some)

    Nice and comfy apartment.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.6
    The staff were excellent and always wore their trademark...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were excellent and always wore their trademark smile. The location is perfectly situated between Lagos town (5 mins in a taxi) and Praia de Luiz (3 km). The accommodation was beautifully decorated with all the facilities required.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.6
    Was a very convenient position to see everything in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dogs in surrounding farms barked all night (not owner's fault), but could be an issue if you are a light sleeper. Wifi was a problem for us, but didnt seem to be so for others.

    Was a very convenient position to see everything in the area. Not so close to any restaurants, but had our own cooking facilities, so not a problem for us. Owner was extremely friendly and helpful. Lots of space in the apartment, very clean and pool area lovely. Great to have washing machine and individual clothes airer.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.6
    Everything worked well and I liked it that we had a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything worked well and I liked it that we had a quiet week with no disturbances and peace and quiet. Extremely helpful owners, clean and pretty surrounds. Very comfy. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    8.3
    Big and comfortable apartments, good view from the terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Was not hygienic supplies, dishwashing detergents.

    Big and comfortable apartments, good view from the terrace.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Very nice apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice apartment. Fully equipped kitchen with washing machine. Good bed. Excellent WiFi. Very good location. Nice bathoom. Twin beds.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    10
    lovely,queitly and very welcome place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lovely,queitly and very welcome place. perfect Conditions for very fair price.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    7.5
    Nice surroundings, calm atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No window which could be opened The mattress in the bed was not that comfortable

    Nice surroundings, calm atmosphere

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: