Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel 4 stars

Estrada Monumental, 302, Sao Martinho, 9000-100 Funchal, Portugal

#46 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 378 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay while visiting Funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is now under new ownership since we last came and in some ways looking a little tired in parts. The door lock in our room using the card always took 2-10 tries. The armchairs was sagging and needed recovering, the towel shelf over the bath was coming away...the shower head (though very powerful) needed replacing/refixing...in fact we would prefer a walk-in shower in future as clambering into a bath each time is awkward though there is a strong handle available. The beds maybe too hard for some. Rooms can be refreshed very cheaply and easily....new pictures, new materials/drapes would make a difference.

    Our second visit to this hotel because we loved it first time round. Top floor corner room meant panoramic views over the sea and full morning sun. Room was clean and we were well looked after by the lady who does the room. Breakfast was good and there was sufficient choice for most people. We ate out every night at the many local restaurants so did not try the hotel food. Location is good and Funchal town centre is walkable...if not, lots of buses and taxis available, lots of places to book trips around the island which we strongly recommend. This is a beautiful island and should be seen by car or by organised trips. None of the observations below should deter a visitor, this is a nice hotel in a great location. Ensure you book a sea view, accept nothing less. Visit the coffee shop just outside the hotel to the left great cakes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    No problems at all and the staff continue to be polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym/games room needs attention to equipment. Change of ownership has led to some large and very ugly signs around the place.

    As a regular visitor to this hotel pleased to see standards, service and cleanliness remain high. Very good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.7
    Rooms were ok;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The aircon in our south-facing room (sea view) was unable to cool the room adequately; reception gave us a fan to use so that we could get a comfortable night's sleep.

    Rooms were ok; little small but well-equipped; staff helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay an extra unknown about fee, which was Eleven Euros per week for a safe key. Rooms were not soundproof. Got woken up a lot by noisy people and water draining from other rooms.

    Position.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    Consistently pleasant place to stay with easy access to the Lido, restaurants and buses to Funchal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed here more than once, I cannot find fault in this hotel at this price.

    A very clean hotel throughout, staff are polite and helpful at all times and the location is good. Good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    6.3
    Cleanliness and facilities need serious upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. On the day of arrival there were old water rings from the glass visible both on the nightstand and on the table, which is nothing critical, but already suggested that cleaning was done only superficially. And sure enough - on the sheets there was somebody's dark hair, and in the bathroom there were silverfishes running around (1 on the first day, and the other 3 days later AFTER the room was left for the housekeeping to clean!). 2. The hotel also DOES ALLOW to smoke in the balconies, which is even worse than smoking in the room, because if you are located next to a room, where person smokes in the balcony, all the stink goes directly to your side and you cannot enjoy neither a nice evening in the balcony, nor even an open door from your room. 3. The air conditioning switches on automatically, when you close the balcony door, and there is no remote - the on/off panel is locate on the other side of the room (which by the way has a huge corridor - not sure, for what). Even when turned off, the air conditioning still blows weak gust, which stinks of a dirty sewerage, and makes the whole room stink. So in the end you cannot enjoy fresh air, because balcony stinks of smoke, and the room - of the sewerage. 4. Internet connection was generally ok, but every time when you go out of the room and return back in the evening, you have to reconnect to the network and every time you have to additionally sign in to the network (and sign in is not a simple button "I agree" or smth, by you have to re-enter all your registration details each and every time). If you're here for 2 days or so, might not be a problem, but if you're staying for a week - by the end of the 2nd day it starts to get really annoying.

    Very good location, big room, comfortable bed. Very nice cosy balconies with a nice view both to the mountain and to the sea. Breakfast was a little poor choice, but ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    4.2
    Went out as much as possible as did not enjoy being in the room ..... will never stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower uneven temprature .... hard beds ....lumpy pillows ....small tv and fuzzy picture .... not enough lifts for the amount of guests .... not enough parking on premises ... transporting matresses in the public lifts .... no kettle in room for tea/ coffee

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    We would definitely use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been a little bigger. But happy for what we paid. The shower water temperature fluctuated whilst having a shower.

    Excellent value for money, sea view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.9
    great view, good location, free parking (not too many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    same breakfast buffet every day, after 2-3 days bit boring

    great view, good location, free parking (not too many parking spots though), many restaurants near by

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    Overall positive experience, would go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If a lot of guests rented cars sometimes tricky to park (free parking just outside of the hotel entrance) especially if there is a bus pick up or drop off of other guests. Not the best TV quality (but you're not there to watch it anyway, are you?) Apart from that all good.

    Clean room, aircon fully functional, buffet breakfast (my favourite since I'm a big guy and can eat and drink a lot). Friendly receptionist. Nothing to complain about really (got an 'ocean view' room instead of 'inland' one I booked which was really nice).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel with great ocean view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee! Breakfast was good, but the coffee was astonishingly bad.

    Ocean view was great, from 8th floor. Otherwise the hotel was unremarkable, but generally good, and very good value via Booking.com

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.8
    Very good apart from the quality of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a whole the hotel was very clean although our room 107 was not clean and the quality of the beds are furniture leave a lot to be desired. The bedside furniture and patio furniture was dirty and one of the beds was rocking about when I moved. The fridge shelves were broken.

    Hotel swimming pool was cleaned regularly and the hotel gave my wife a complimentary bottle of bubbly as it was her birthday. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.8
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed in rooms for a 4* hotel. The views and pool area fantastic views. But rooms very basic and need updating. Very dark hotel.

    Cheap pool area great views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    Value for money, reception staff could be nicer, quiet place good to rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    As some other customers have said, the staff at the reception could be nicer.

    I liked the fact that one staff girl was extra nice during breakfast and got me soy milk from the kitchen. The hotel is also very quiet, perfect to sleep and rest.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    5.8
    Upgrade to a 5* if you can afford it this is not a 4* as we expect in England more like a 3*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No car park signs for the Hotel at the rear whatsoever & other guests had to get a taxi to guide them it is NOT EASY to find! breakfast all fruit juices taste awful + the tea as the milk is not fresh, croissants are def not butter & many people left them - the only thing we eat was fresh fruit & yogurt + toast& marmalade Even the eggs taste odd! The sunbeds are disgusting & need replacing unless you are happy to cover them with towels. It needs refurb & updating & the some of the staff were very unhelpful & gave inaccurate info from reception & the bar staff seemed to be doing you a favour to serve you. Would not eat in the restaurant when there are good places nearby

    location good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    5.0
    Breakfasts were a nightmare, too many people milling about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As above

    Breakfasts were a nightmare, too many people milling about at same time. Nightmare for both staff and guests alike. Rooms ok but noisy at night no doubt due to poor insulation

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    4.6
    The beautiful hotel facade is simply that! a facade. Enter and be really disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower did not work. Reported twice to reception, still not repaired by the time of leaving. Same problem with fellow traveller in different room (905 & 908). Noisey fridge kept me awake at night. Had to unplug. Staff miserable especially daytime poolside bar steward. Breakfast food was very ordinary, not 4 star at all. This hotel looks nice from the outside but the staff (service and maintenance) made it an uncomfortable and hopefully forgetable experience.

    Well appointed rooms. Comfortable bed. Balcony.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    Perfect little holiday base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights as we had booked scuba diving at a local centre. Accommodation was great, location very good and perfect for just a few nights. The staff are a little grumpy but that didn't bother us, overall a really good little holiday!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    Decent hotel but un-customer-friendly front of house staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once the front of house staff had greeted you, they became very indifferent and almost unfriendly. We almost felt as though we were intruding when we needed to ask a question.

    Good location with good size room, very clean and food good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff anything u want they will try to help you,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff anything u want they will try to help you, the room was big, nice decorated with a fantastic view of the seam. Breakfast was satisfied, u have from what to chose, the vessels wasn't very cleaned. Some glasses still having lipstick from other people.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, no fuss check in/ out
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We don't have any complaints, great place, we will return in future

    The check in and out were trouble free, the place was spotless everywhere, the staff are lovely, it was nice to see the manager around daily, he seemed to respect the staff, and they respected him

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.2
    I have stayed here a number of times and the service and value for money continue to be very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The furniture around the pool is getting old.

    The staff are always cheerful and helpful and considerable efforts had been made with Christmas decorations in the reception areas.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.5
    Should be 3 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't what we expected, it was nothing like the pictures in the advertisement and we also booked a double room with a double bed. It was a twin room not a double. There is also plasma TVs in the photos which is false. We also had ants in our beds and on the floor. The cleaners were great and did their best to get rid of them but they returned each day and we didn't have any food in the room why so ever. We asked for an iron and the reception advised there isn't one and we cannot rent one resulting in forking out 30 euros to buy one. Based on our room I would rate this hotel 3. Stars.

    Good location, great cleaners. New Year's Eve fireworks were awesome.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    8.8
    Good value for money in Funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people might find it a bit inaccessible, as you have to climb a few stairs to get to the reception.

    Comfortable room with ocean view, great breakfast location on the terrace. Very hospitable and careful staff - because this stay was part of our honeymoon, in the first evening we found in the room a bottle of champagne with glasses. Location well positioned for the bus lines - the airport bus has a stop just a few meters from the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    8.3
    A great holiday, but some areas of improvement needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The manager's inter-personal skills were very poor. There had been a mix-up with the reservation specification which was the fault of the hotel. The manager dealt with the whole issue in a very unprofessional way. The reception area is very tired and needs some refurbishment. We were surprised there were no Christmas decorations in the hotel. The Madeiran lights were turned on during the week and other hotels and establishments all had wonderful decorations.

    The front line staff - room cleaner, reception, pool area, restaurant and bar were really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    8.3
    As in each hotel , you cannot control the noise during the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    As in each hotel , you cannot control the noise during the night from room above or beside yours. Moving the furniture at one a clock am. Breakfast was good for the price as the overall appearance .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    6.7
    Not a good place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is situated next to quite busy street and for me too noisy to relax or to sleep with open balcony. We had ocean view, but I had no pleasure using the balcony due to noise. Air conditioning was barely working and it was very stuffy in the room. Parking is not marked (no sign it is Raga hotel parking) which made us waste some time looking for parking place and turning around. Absolutely awful scrumbled eggs for breakfast :( Machine with hot water must be mixing fluids and water was with coffee taste which made my tea taste awful.

    Clean rooms, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.1
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to find the entrance, and there are no signs/staff to show you where are the elevators to take to get to the reception.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.9
    Very good location in the hotels area, the room had a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The cleaning of the room could be better, especially the bathroom.

    Very good location in the hotels area, the room had a great view. Breakfast was great for us. The staff was nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    7.5
    I liked the atmosphere in the hotel, it was relaxed but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointed that I was supposed to get a sea view room but ended at the back with only a partial view.

    I liked the atmosphere in the hotel, it was relaxed but professional.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    It's a good place to spend your holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds instead of a double was disappointing. Staff could be more friendly.

    It's a clean hotel, very good location. Breakfast was ample.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Nice hotel and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Bem passado
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Mountain View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    O check in foi demorado

    Simpatia do pessoal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Will definitely come back to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    What started as a refuge from a cancelled flight turned out to be an excellent short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard for my liking.

    Helpfulness of the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room had a nice view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, stayed for New Year’s Eve, fantastic view of fireworks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything I didn’t like

    Maid service everyday, nice fresh towels daily

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Altogether no complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Breakfast was first class. Room with sea facing balcony and comfortable easy chairs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.1
    I ask room service at 6.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ask room service at 6.30 am 2 coffee and is not available only after 7.30 am

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Da vista do bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Os elevador

    Da vista do bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Perfect base to explore the beautiful island of Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything negative to say

    Spotlessly clean hotel. Very friendly staff, excellent food, great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location and nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff were a bit short with us at times.

    A lot of variety at breakfast. Nice pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs some improvements

    Breakfast was good, room was nice, view was incredible.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.0
    For a 4 star hotel they should be much better, but price for what they offer is OK.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lifts for such a big building are to small! In rooms there was a only one plug for battery charger!

    Position of the hotel and view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.9
    Good value .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception level from streets a steep down hill walk from top road or steps up from the lower street.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Good all round holiday and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed another shelf and English breakfast tea bags would have been better

    Good value

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.1
    Good location, hotel is okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Parking lot is too small, not enough room for all cars in the evening Lack of double bed (2 twins instead)

    Location, pool

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    5.0
    Hotel Raga is not a 4 star hotel at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not friendly. Most areas of the hotel need updating. Pool is far from the hotel room.

    The location was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.2
    Very nice view from the restaurant a very kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very nice view from the restaurant a very kind staff. Flowers are everywhere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    superb alround
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing to dislike

    everything delighful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.2
    The views from the room were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was rather cool

    The views from the room were excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    8.8
    Hotel Raga, good holiday choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfasts, located near supermarkets, shops, cafes. Sea views.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    7.5
    good hotel in the heart of everything you need for your holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    standard of cleaning could be improved

    the view from our room was great. staff were polite and helpful, overall a good place to stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    7.0
    GREAT STAY .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    POOL AREA IS NEEDING A UPGRADE IN COMFORT . THE SEATING AND SUNBEDS .

    BREAKFAST , ROOM AND THE PRICE WE PAID WERE ALL VERY GOOD .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    Close to bus stops, restaurants, grocery stores.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to bus stops, restaurants, grocery stores.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.8
    A very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very good value for money Hotel was in a good location Room was nice and clean. The staff was very helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Very homely and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room breakfast was great selection of foods to all likings

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very comfortable, with amazing view. The hotel is near shops, sea, tour operators and bus stop to go downtown. Parking inside.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.2
    lovley holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    breakfast was nice

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    5.8
    Nice breakfast, loved the fruits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was as hard as floor and I did not sleep well. Really dirty room, especially the floor. Also the sheets in bed were not clean.

    Nice breakfast, loved the fruits.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    good spacious rooms, always smily staff everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could have moore to choose from.

    good spacious rooms, always smily staff everywhere. in breakfast, in reception, in pool and pool bar, cleaning staff. Cleaning everyday, also the pool.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    5.4
    Easy car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unavailable lifts or very slow when available, only two for a 11-storey tower. Apart from Susana at breakfast, very few smiling members of staff.

    Easy car park. Quiet at night. Welcome basket of fruit.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    7.5
    10 minutes journey from Funchal old town with good bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Limited choice on breakfast buffet, and often quite difficult to get seats

    10 minutes journey from Funchal old town with good bus services nearby, Good sea views from balcony

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.1
    Sea views were wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hairdryer in difficult position not easy to use. Just lacking in a few extra touches expected from 4* rated hotel. No tea / coffee making facilities

    Sea views were wonderful

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Couldn't lock the balcony or door from the inside so not child proof. If you've not got young children then its not a concern.

    Lovely hotel in a great location. Staff very friendly, breakfast great and rooms very modern and clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    8.3
    We had a room at 9th floor, clean and comfortable and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to wait for our room to ready after 14:00 when arrived.

    We had a room at 9th floor, clean and comfortable and the wiew was amazing from balkony. Breakfast not bad, but could be better (not tried lunch or dinner).

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location - view from balcony awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room quite warm, left balcony door open at night and beds very hard, bit of a scrum at breakfast, and some choices ran out quick, but if you waited they were replenished, WIFI was annoying kept having to log in, and on last day was cut off before check out

    Excellent location - view from balcony awesome

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    7.9
    The view was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The food was not so good, just few dishes and every day the same! The bed was not very confortable!

    The view was amazing! We had an ocean view double room and the size of it was quite big!

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    6.7
    Good location and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booked an upgrade to a sea view room which was more like a roof view room, see photo. I even asked reception if we had the right room to make sure. On another day would have asked for refund and booked in somewhere else. Reception staff were having a bad day as well which didn't help. Stayed before and enjoyed it better, won't be rushing back after this visit.

    Good location and comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    9.6
    Maid service was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More variation on breakfasts. Alternated between two menus. The bar area became crowded after dinner and needs more soft chairs and low tables.

    Maid service was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    6.7
    Location, room was clean and lovely, huge balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi! No iron - it's unbelievable that 4 starts hotel does not have iron in the room or even in the reception!!! I couldn't believe it. Old tv which make your eyes tired after 2 minutes watching.

    Location, room was clean and lovely, huge balcony.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    6.3
    The lifts need to be upgraded They are too slow Some people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lifts need to be upgraded They are too slow Some people had to carry their luggage up four flights of stairs More fruit at the breakfast ie kiwis oranges were available in the kitchen

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    8.3
    We only stayed 1 night but found the Raga to represent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We only stayed 1 night but found the Raga to represent excellent value, with spacious comfortable rooms and reasonable facilities. Helpful staff. Acceptable breakfast. Good location. Would use again.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    10
    Super great, Very attentive staff, great view from the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything

    Super great, Very attentive staff, great view from the hotel room, everything is nearby: shops, restaurants, travel agencies, supermarket, where you can buy takeaway food. The bus stop is just two minutes away from the hotel. The room was very clean. It is a great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    7.1
    1. I booked my room 2 months in advance and the day we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. I booked my room 2 months in advance and the day we arrived at the hotel it had no room available for me , I could only have one room for the second day . Although the hotel management made ​​staying the first night at another hotel , this causes a lot of trouble because the booking had been confirmed with an advance of two months. 2. No choice at breakfast , is repetitive every day. 3. Not enough parking space. 4. The elevators are old , too slow and are not sufficient to meet the demand of 11 floors. 5. The ping - pong located in the entertainment area is very old and dirty .

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: