Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Real d Obidos 4 stars

Rua D. João de Ornelas, 2510-074 Óbidos, Portugal

#6 of 15 hotels in Óbidos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 730 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its location is excellent, right in the center of all the sights of Óbidos. Breakfast is good and the staff very kind. Although the room is small, it is comfortable and clean. The view from our room was very beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool opens only in june so we couldn't enjoy it.

    The Hotel is amazingly located, th estaff was really nice, the room comfortable & facilities great. We loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. We liked everything!

    Really good breakfast with a lot of variety. Helpfull staff. Bed is comfy. Everything really clean. Quiet room. Beautiful decor(medieval).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, we had no hot water in the morning because the “boiler was acting up.” While this was unpleasant for us, the staff admitted the problem and brought a carafe of hot water to our room — the best they could do under the circumstances. Strangely, the morning coffee served out of another carafe wasn’t hot either — who knows why? Still, overall we would recommend the place.

    Very clean and central. Accommodating and helpful staff. Generous and tasty breakfast — lots of variety.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Beatiful hotel in the old building next to old town. Fantastic room, great breakfast and excellent service. Could not be any better. Would have loved to stay longer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In room tea or coffee making facility would be nice.

    Friendly staff. Great location in centre of Obidos, next to the wall. Unique medieval theme, comfortable room. Huge delicious breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had a bad smell both in the reception and in the room. We made a mistake and booked our room for the night before we actually were intending to come and didn't realize our error until we arrived. The hotel charged us for both the night we didn't arrive and the following night. Then having confirmed one rate upon check out we were given another rate that was more. When we pointed out that the rate they were attempting to charge us was incorrect, they charged the rate we were told. Altogether I feel the hotel could have been more accommodating and if not let us stay the night we arrived free of charge at least give us a discount on the room. It's not as though they were full on the night we mistakenly booked so they lost revenue. I know that they had availability.

    The location and one of the staff was very helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for an iron to borrow, and they don't have any. For the price they charge, at least 1 iron per hotel can be in place.

    The atmosphere in the hotel and in the room is amazing, you live like in a medieval times. Very comfortable and nice place. And they have a garage, which is very convenient. Though in Obidos it's a plenty areas to park.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a themed hotel which isn't really my thing. The rooms are fairly basic for the money. Obidos is certainly worth a visit but I wouldn't recommend staying there. What is an incredible medieval walled town has been over taken by kitsch tourist shops if you get my drift and this hotel fits that category. It also has one of those smells, like they are trying to cover up other smells. The breakfast is completely over the top with so many things you would never dream of eating. They would benefit in paring it back and providing less of a better quality in my opinion.

    Good location, quiet, parking on site, nice views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took ages to get enough water into the bath. The bedroom area is a bit noisy because of the themed decor.

    The hotel was located close to the city walls of Obidos and there was underground parking. The decor was beautiful, as expected from the write up, and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The room was beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good size room and bathroom. Comfortable bed. Great Breakfast. View of the room overlooking the old town wall. Location is right by the wall of the old town. Walking distance to all the interesting places in town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay 2 euros a night to use the safe ,having to pay 2 euros to get towels for the pool and having to pay 1.50 euros for a wine glass.

    Excellent helpful staff, good breakfast ,great location and free parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. We arrived at about 5pm and there was no car spaces available in the carpark for us, so we had to risk a parking fine and park on the street

    The breakfast was great! Enjoy a G&T around the corner in the library/G&T bar ;)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The plastic flowers on the breakfast table , and the silk flowers in the bedroom , and with so many fresh flowers around the place .Quite sad .

    The pool was great .Will we hope definitely come back to this hotel .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The medieval theme and staff uniform was a bit weird and we felt a little bit uncomfortable despite the staff being very helpful. There is no proper bar and the bed was extremely creaky!

    Clean modern hotel right outside gate through city walls with lovely terrace and swimming pool. Excellent breakfast spread.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every detail is good about this hotel, medieval style, modern comfort. Quiet, comfortable and excellent facilities. The pool is lovely. Breakfast had lots of variety, I particularly enjoyed the scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything!

    Fabulous location just outside the town walls Excellent breakfast Beautiful rooftop pool with views towards the town walls Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in a lovely area! Great location, right outside the wall. Very comfortable, great breakfast, beautiful grounds, very nice and helpful staff! We wish we could have stayed longer! Highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - A bit of mold in the walls. - Swimming pool was not clean (ie leaves in the water)

    - parking spot in secured garage - staff is very friendly and helpful - position (400 mt from the inner walls of obidos) - breakfast is amazing - rooms are very big and with all the necessarities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't fault this place it was perfect. Maybe the old fashion key was clunky noisy and a bit hard to use, but added to the medieval charm.

    Loved the medieval charm of the hotel lobby and lounge. The staff were even dressed up. The rooms were immaculate with antique style furniture, beautiful french balcony with an amazing view. Loved the suits of armour around the hotel. Breakfast was probably the best we had in Portugal. Everything we wanted was there. Nearby restaurant was outstanding and well priced. Will certainly be back. So nice to see a hotel where cleanliness is taken to the highest level.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and room were very nice. Staff was friendly and very helpful. The view from the hotel is stunning. It's in a great location and he parking is very helpful. The only slight downside was the breakfast - not the greatest quality or choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No bar but you could purchase drinks which had a surcharge for service, Somber background music all the time, even Henry V111 liked jolly jigs, Towels, had to pay extra for pool towels? 4/5 star hotels don't charge

    staff excellent, hotel clean and excellent position near Obidos. lovely views from room breakfast great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is just our opinion, but we thought the hotel had taken the 'Medieval' theme a little too far. It almost felt like a Disney film set in some areas. Even the reception staff were in costume. On our arrival the reception staff did not gives us any info about the hotel facilities. We had to ask where the breakfast area was and where the pool and patio areas were located. The floorboards in our room (105) squeaked very badly. As usual with continental hotels there were no tea or coffee making facilities so pack your travel kettle and tea bags.

    Excellent location just outside the town walls and the breakfast was very good. The room and bathroom were both of a good size. There are many good restaurants close by, inside and outside the town walls and the views from the walls are spectacular. We spend a day on the beaches at the Lagoe de Obidos near Foz de Arelho about 15 km away. You can have wild surf on the Atlantic beach side and flat calm child friendly water in the lagoon, well worth a visit. The hotels black cat is very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon was not that cool and it was quite hot at night. Also the hotel is just outside the walls of Obidos (great location!) BUT at the bottom of one very long and steep hill. So if you have to take a bus you have to walk up the hill with all your baggage! There was no assistance available from the hotel in this regard.

    The hotel swimming pool was an absolute highlight - especially in the heat. The hotel is also very central and the service was very good. Wifi was good. We enjoyed the medieval theme of the hotel and it fits with the atmosphere in Obidos. Lovely. Good value for money!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Beds a little hard.

    Lovely little Hotel just outside the walls of the old town. Much better than inside as easy to get to and parking provided. Staff were excellent and recommended a very good restaurant for dinner. Beautiful pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful Hotel right outside of the wall of Obidos. Easy to walk into town. The hotel has an underground parking lot and everyone was very friendly. Very bountiful breakfast. Location was great for our one night stop.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Perfect location at the entrance of Obidos medieval town, easy access by car and car park in hotel. Lovely room and house with an atmosphere. Breakfast is delicious and staff is friendly and helpful. Lots of restaurants around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was in a fantastic location just outside the city walls. The view in the evening was lovely! The grounds were well kept. We loved the pool area and terraces. The medieval theme decorating was also very charming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The awful smell, like a sewer so couldn't use the lounge facilities. The showers - couldn't reach to connect shower and when it fell on my head and caused an injury - staff were very unsympathetic. Cannot recommend and would not stay again.

    The bathrooms were clean. Fresh orange juice - didn't even get this at the pousadas!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, short walk to old town, and selection of restaurants. Basement garage keeps the car safe and then for a little bit of sunbathing... there's an outdoor pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell. When we arrived we were met with an overpowering sewerage smell which lasted throughout our three night stay, would not have stayed had we known this. Some problems with pipework and rain, however could not use hotel lounge as the smell was just too awful, so missed out on the hotel facilities. The showers were a nightmare, hand held that required a giant to set onto the hook provided (had to get staff assistance every time you wanted a shower), then the water just went everywhere. One shower head fell on my sister's head - ouch! and she ended up with a lump on her head - no concern of staff who just dismissed this (must happen often). And there was no reduction in price for single occupancy of a double room (had to pay for 2 breakfasts per room as each of us had a double room) however only given towels and pillows for one. Needed to request more each day. Not a 4 star hotel.

    The location was great - it was easy access to all Obidos had to offer but away from the noise of tourists. Fresh orange juice at breakfast, after almost 5 weeks travel through Portugal this was the first hotel that provided this (forget the pousadas).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast, very friendly staff, fantastic location and privet parking. The medival decor theme makes you really get into the perfect mood to visit Obidos.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A medieval theme was apparent on entering the hotel- all furniture, staff outfits- even our door key! It was all well done. There was a great choice of food at breakfast. Staff were all friendly and helpful. We were able to park car in hotel garage underneath and leave it there for another 3 hours after we had checked out. The position of the hotel was great- a very short walk into the walled town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately too early to take advantage of the swimming pool- but it looked lovely!

    Atmospheric, comfy rooms with great views. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Told by the receptionist we couldn't use the pool even though it was full, clean and the weather amazing then saw other guests using the pool. Charging for beach towels, it's 4 star hotel a deposit so that they're returned would be ok but not providing guests with towels/ charging extra makes no sense.

    Location, room decor and size and lots of variety for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For Sat-Nav i the car, your Booking details of the hotel spelt the street name as Rua D. Joao de Omelas. It should have been spelt Ornelas.

    Excellent hotel in an old mansion with much historic character, located at the walls of the ancient town of Obidos.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room--which may have dated from the 15th century--was mildewy. I might have been able to combat the mildew with the ventilation system, but the fan, blower, and air conditioner barely moved air. If you have allergies or are sensitive to mold or mildew, I'd steer clear.

    Great location just outside the walls of the city with dedicated parking. Exceptionally helpful young man checked us in. Interesting decor with armor and swords. Great, ancient building. It was too cool to use the pool.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool doesn't officially open until June. Swim at your own risk.

    The view from our bedroom was spectacular and the romantic package is well worth the extra money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    It is a great location just outside the wall with a really good restaurant across the road. The staff were marvelous and dress in period costumes. There are lots of medieval artifacts to gaze at. The room was very clean and comfortable. Great value when compared to the pousada inside the town walls. It also has indoor parking which is an unusual feature.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the standard room needed a seating area for two but then it is a very old building and the superior rooms do offer this. Tea / coffee making facilities in the room would also be appreciated.

    Very professional, friendly and helpful staff. Great location in centre of Obidos. Medieval theme. Pool (when in season) and amazing breakfast range. Special mention to Keko the hotel cat!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A big warm welcoming fire in main lounge room where we felt very comfortable and where we enjoyed a snack and a drink. Easy access with undercover parking immediately outside castle wall. Great restaurants very close by.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was too dark, more light would have been helpful. The building is outside the castle wall, and it is a steep walk to the main street.

    The hotel was located in an updated 14th century building, and the staff were dressed in old-fashioned garments.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a stink of sewer in a large area of the property! It was overwhelming in certain areas. There wasn't any attempts made to correct the problem and the comment by the staff was that it had rained the day before and because the building was old there was a smell. Even without this problem it should not be classified a 4 star hotel.

    Breakfast was excellent rooms were spotless BUT

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a single thing.

    Totally wonderful all around. Staff was extremely helpful answering our questions, room was lovely, and the breakfast was fantastic! So many choices! Everything was beautifully presented and very delicious. Highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Being just outside the town walls was perfect, as was having garage parking available right next door for free. The room was lovely, elegant, comfortable and quiet, with a roomy bathroom. Breakfast was abundant and delicious. Front desk attendant insisted on bubble wrapping the 4 bottles of ginja we bought so they wouldn't break in transit. Great hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is in no way a criticism - I just feel it unnecessary for hotel staff to have to wear traditional costumes. Always makes me feel rather sorry for them!

    A pleasant, comfortable hotel in a 14th century townhouse with an interior designed in the romantic/military style, stuffed full of antiques, four-poster beds, helmets and swords. Two very pleasant terraces with lovely views (and one with a pool). A good place to rest after battling with the crowds of tourists in the centre which is just a few minutes away through the town walls. Helpful staff and convenient help-yourself drinks available throughout the day. No restaurant but plenty around and there is good room service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our mattress was very hard, slept poorly. Should have asked if they had a room with a softer mattress.

    Way beyond my expectations of a hotel in a little town. It is very charming, staff are wonderful and multilingual. The premises are very well kept and the views are to-die-for. Beautiful breakfast, self serve bar off the lobby, beautiful pool and deck. Almost makes you want to forget about sightseeing the absolutely marvelous town of Obidos.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Watch out for the hook at the bath room door, could injure you and the clothes. Moaning dog in the earliy morning, hopefully just this morning

    Bed very good! Special design on the hotel, interesting. Great breakfast. Parked 50 meters from hotel at the street, out side the door when loading.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Needs refurbishing..Mattresses were too hard.Need more outlets for recharging .Stairs to garage need to be able to handle luggage.You can't unload in front because of narrow street.Lobby lounge area needs to be a little cheery and brighter .

    Outside city walls.Parking in private garage.Short walk to city center.Nice pool area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee a bit stewed at breakfast. Nespresso machine in lounge provided better coffee

    Great location just outside city wall. 2 minute walk to shops and restaurants. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to leave it too soon. Wish I could stay longer. Spots in the garage left in the evening when I arrived were too small for a midsize car. Instead staff helped to locate a place for street parking.

    An amazing place with atmosphere and ambiance. Caring and attentive staff, very clean rooms, comfy beds, quiet at night and great location. A very memorable experience.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like about the hotel, however I recommend you take some shoes with good sole grips. The ancient cobblestone around the area are slippery and as you have to walk uphill to get into the town its a must.

    Friendly and attentive staff. All speak good English. Room very good, with excellent en-suite facilities. Breakfast selection was vast and more than enough choices for a vegetarian. Air conditioning was very welcome in the room as the weather was very hot. The swimming pool terrace was right next to the room and there were plenty of seating for all.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could be better

    Atmosphere is great. The hotel is just by the walls of obidos and the roof terrace by the pool has lovely views. The breakfast was beautifully laid out and sumptuous and the staff are genuinely friendly and helpful and seem very proud of their hotel. They have a small parking garage so you should ask them about booking that if you're going. Otherwise there is general parking a few mins walk away. This is a special hotel in a very special place.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the nicest hotel I've stayed in. The setting around the pool, castle and landscape, just can't be beaten. Also, whilst outside the wall it is right next to a side entrance. Also, parking in Obidos? Yes, I'll take it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a great medieval hotel right on the entrance of the walled town. Easy parking and lovely hotel. Fabulous breakfast spread to keep you going throughout the day. The staff are very friendly and will help you in any way they can.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing at all

    secure parking was a bonus in Obidos staff very helpful and friendly breakfast was excellent lovely old hotel which has been beautifully decorated in keeping with era

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Detailed instructions how to find the hotel when approaching from the highway.

    Location close to the highways, yet far enough not to hear the noise. Location just outside the old walled town - steps to ramparts and many cute restaurants within the walls. Hotel in a renovated medieval building - medieval interior decor with all the modern amenities, including internet and swimming pool surrounded by a large terrace.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard bed. Medieval decor - heavy, e.g. huge door key on a chain, squeaky old cupboard. Felt too closed in for me. Didn't like having to pay 2 euros for a safe key and potentially 3.5 euros to borrow a pool towel which we didn't do because it wasn't hot enough.

    Good to have parking available. It is on a first come basis. Breakfast - array of food amazing and all very fresh. Easy to find off the main road.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still trying to think of something !!

    Lovely, themed hotel in the spirit of the ancient walled town of Obidos. All staff, without exception, went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our 4 night stay. The key to the room is big enough to open a castle gate ! Very convenient for restaraunts etc but would recommend you are physically able, as it is on a hill. Garaging available for cars adjoining the hotel. Good beaches a short drive away.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and very friendly staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool not open until June

    Everything Location superb Very comfortable bed Very clean and nice large bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View was amazing and the staff were great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a view of the walled city and the Castle from our room. Beautiful. We slept in a super comfortable canopied four poster bed. Perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sounds from neighboring rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sewer smell in lobby after rain

    Warm atmosphere, great staff, comfortable space

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BARBARA WAS GREAT

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, friendly staff. Wonderful mideval theme. Close to the gate of the city wall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location is perfect very nice and helpfull service . Special deco

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and clean room, nice breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heavy keys were not worth the so called charm

    The staff and the beauty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange smell in the room and reception

    I like the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The design of the place is great in a medieval style. Breakfast was great - we even received home made pastillas de nata, fresh from the oven.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style, amazing with the location. Amazing staff, really nice to get to know the village

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Magnificent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People at reception were great and we loved the location

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Real d Obidos traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: