Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Regua Douro 4 stars

Largo Da Estação Da Cp, 5050-237 Peso da Régua, Portugal

#3 of 5 hotels in Peso da Régua

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 598 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the selection in the restaurant was good and the staff attentive, our fish was overlooked and could have been better. But that does not affect the rating as we would return again.

    This hotel has a fantastic location on the river. Being on the second floor, we had lovely views up and down the river. The breakfast room and restaurant are on the top floor, again with great views. Breakfast was very good, plenty of fresh food on a buffet service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, really

    We used the Hotel Regua Douro for our stay in the Douro Valley and left satisfied. Read on for details. Located near the bridge and on a main street, The Hotel Regua Douro is right on the banks of the river. Our room, overlooking the river, had a fantastic view. The room is spacious, updated with a modern bathroom, firmly comfortable bed and yucky mushy pillows. Our room along the water was quiet at night. While there is free parking on a lot just behind the hotel, navigation is tight and the spaces small. I wished I had not allowed the rental agency to upgrade me to a larger car. The hotel is a good place to explore the surrounding area on foot. It was short walk to a local café for an excellent, reasonably priced breakfast. If I return to the beautiful Douro Valley, I'd return to the Hotel Regua Douro.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were a little soft for us, there were spare pillows though but all very soft. Duvets would have been nice a bit old fashioned to have sheets and blankets.

    The location on the riverside is very good, waking up to the view (ask for a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the river) and opposite the railway station as we travelled by train. The breakfast was first class, lots of choice in a relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in the bar area was absent when we were there but could be because quiet time of year

    Great location overlooking river. Staff well trained and attentive. Lovely breakfast. Love the slightly faded grandeur of the place, from a bygone age

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor noise isolation. Uncomfortable pillows. Difficulties in accessing some web sites, too slow connections sometimes. With the large orange production in Douro, ultra delicious oranges by the way, I couldn't understand why concentrate, instead of freshly squeezed orange juice was served at breakfast.

    Superbe location next to train station. Views. Breakfast pastries. Ample room and bathroom. Great wine bath amenities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator to parking area (outside) stops 1 floor before and then you have to access by a long ramp that can be problematic when air temperatures was below 0º

    The sightseeing from room veranda and the quality and variety of the breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs some paint, Swimmingpool was closed. That is hard to understand looking at their prices and the fact that they are a 4 star hotel. No I expect for the prices they charge some better facilities. Look at your terrace outside, look at the ceilings. Lazy managment and greedy owners I guess?

    This hotel gives great views of the river. Breakfast is good, location is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel it self a little dated. Rooms due for an upgrade but overall very good value for money.

    Breakfast was very good. Plenty of selection with fresh fruit as well as the other options. More than enough for even the fussiest of eaters

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very dated which is not evident from the photos on booking.com. The buffet breakfast was not very good, very dated and nothing healthy apart from a small platter of fresh fruit. The hotel is in dire need of a makeover, it has an amazing location.

    The location is convenient to the train station and has beautiful views of the river. The room was neat and clean and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property looks tired and dated externally.

    Room was fresh and clean, good size with balcony overlooking the river. Breakfast was included and very generous with some cooked food and a wide variety of cereals breads, meats, fruit and pastries. Good sized swimming pool as well. Front desk staff were fabulous. Air con worked well, room was quiet and recently refurbished.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel a little dated.

    Loved the location of this hotel, a room with river view and balcony is a must. It is across the road from the train station from where you can get the train to travel along the Douro. There are also boats near the hotel should you want a trip on the water. The room was more than adequate for our stay , a very good level of cleanliness. Breakfast was also good , plenty of choice and well presented. We did not use the restaurant as we wanted to try restaurants in Regua . The bar is pleasant and expensive, however the bar staff were exceptional. There are a couple of wine tasting venues which must not be missed just along the road from the hotel near the station Gato Preto being my favourite. We really loved Regua as a town for exploring the Douro valley.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a double bed, and as they knew I was a solo traveller they just pushed two single beds together which is pretty poor form. The hotel was nothing special otherwise, a bit dated.

    Proximity to train station (as a solo traveller), pool even though it was too cold to swim, plentiful breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were first rate, breakfast excellent. The hotel is located right on the river and across the street from the train station and a short walk to the riverfront where the tour boats dock. View from the public areas (including breakfast and dining area) were amazing. I was lucky enough to land a room with a balcony facing the river and was pleased to open the curtains each morning and step out on the balcony and take in the view. I extended my stay from from one night to three to use the hotel as my base for exploring the Douro River Valley.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sliding door to the balcony did not lock. We were given a piece of angle iron to put in the track! Did the job, but thought maintenance may have been preferable.

    This hotel is in a great position looking over the Douro River and close to bus and train station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent location, clean swimming pool, allowing full day extra for car parking ,checked out in the morning, went on a boat cruise and picked up the car after cruise in the evening, leaving hotel. Cruise left too early, therefor no experience with Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot

    Excellent location on the Douro. Great bars and restaurants such as Sabores just down the hill. Railway station over the road for trip along the valley to Pinhao and Tua. River trips ten euros great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The buffet for Dinner was acceptable but overpriced.

    The room had a balcony and a beautiful view of the River Douro and the vessels touring up and down the river. Room was large giving plenty of space. The sunday afternoon historic steam train journey commence 100 metres away at Regua station, and was really enjoyable to Tua and return. The local bus service to Lamego was used before climbing the 700 steps of the monastery. (and down again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On our arrival though the desk was not busy, the reservation staff did not offer any local information, nor any assistance with our luggage. We were totally left to our own devices which was disappointing for a four star hotel.

    The hotel was very nice set right on the Douro River. We booked a room on the river side so the view from our room and balcony was wonderful. Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very good. We had a room with a decent sized balcony overlooking the river. It was quiet and the view lovely. The hotel is very close to the station, which is great if travelling by train, which we did to get back to Porto. Breakfast was plentiful and the dining room overlooked the river.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a non-stop sound of water running through the pipes in the wall. Before going out for the evening, I asked at the front desk if they would look into it. When I returned around midnight, I discovered that the sound of running water continued. I went back down to the front desk and they switched me to another room. Bed was very firm.

    Great location if arriving by train!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most annoying wifi - couldn't stay logged in & must have reentered my log in 50 times! The gym was shut & we asked about the jacuzzi & was told it would take 4 hours to heat up & cost us 18 euros each!

    Balcony with superb river view, comfortable room & parking. Close to station if you are thinking of taking the train up the valley. The breakfast room is on the 3rd floor with great views. If you are looking for a cheap meal try the cafeteria attached to the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could be a little more friendly ,

    The location was the best thing about the hotel , abandoning your car in the busy street while you went inside to get a card to give you access to the car park was not good , the staff were fine but no warmth , maybe they were having a bad day , it was exceptionally clean ,kettle in the room but couldn't find a spare socket to plug it in so gave up ,would I go back yes but because it was the best located hotel for easy access to the town ,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal very very poor, not worth going to. Better off going out Hotel could do with a lick of paint, shame as it looks worst than it is from the outside.

    Location of Hotel, just a few yards from Railway station , Buses & Taxis. New view over the river. Very good Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Wifi until last day. What happened to the waiters in the restaurtant ? The Evening meals now just a buffet, served on cold plates ! I have stayed ot this Hotel more than once before & the evening meals were always very good. But not now. Also noticed the firedoors are bent

    Very near the railway station, & very nice view over the river. Breakfast very good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Business hotel with little charm.

    Modern and comfortable hotel. Nice views from the breakfast room. Breakfast is better than average in Portugal, even if not amazing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel looks tired and in need of maintenance BUT it has the best location. Reception staff were efficient but lacking in any welcome or warmth. Most staff looked as though they need some guest interaction and smile training, or a pay increase. However, the hotel is still very good value.

    Excellent position right on the Douro. Choose 2nd floor room with balcony and river view. Easy and free drive-in parking that works well. Room and bed comfortable, good value. Great views from rooms' large balcony. Gym and outside pool are OK. Pool with geat views. Beakfast buffet adequate, Room service delivered a surprisingly good plate of pig's cheeks confit. Hotel is in the centre of Peso Regua, easy to walk all shops and restaurants. Close to train station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our lunch in the restaurant was not very good.

    Great location to explore the Douro Valley. A fabulous and tasty breakfast was included in the room rate. The river view from the riverside room was beautiful and worth the extra cost.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception staff could be more attentive/welcoming to guests.

    Breakfast presentation and the quality and variety of the food excellent. Evening meal purchased once, a buffet , and again the food presentation and quality was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great spot on the banks of the Douro and just a couple of minutes walk from railway station, also close to the quay for river boat trips. Staff very helpful. Full hot and cold buffet breakfast included was very good. I had an a la carte dinner in the restaurant once and it was excellent and very reasonably priced, with nice view over the river from the 3rd floor. They had a buffet on too, which looked very good and was only €15 for a wide range of choices.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. The hotel had everything that I needed.

    Everything was nice. The location. The room view. Very clean. Breakfast was great. Having parking available. Very comfortable. Having a pool was great too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location on the river excellent. Cruises, train and tours at your doorstep. The restaurant Castos e Pratos is an absolute must. This was the best place we dined in Portugal.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. Elevator does not go all the way down to the parking, there is a ramp but very steep. Not a problem for us but worth mentioning.

    Great view from room, excellent breakfast, good bed, parking included.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely two nights here. Did a mountain bike ride with Nuno from GoOnBike which was fantastic and drove up to Pinhao which is a lovely village nearby. The pool here was a godsend given the temperatures!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cold meat cuts were very poor quality, otherwise the breakfast was good.

    Rooms a good size. Beds were comfortable and rooms were very clean. Hotel was in a perfect location and had good free car parking. Staff were pleasant. The view from breakfast room were really beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and tired installations

    Great location and comfortable. Nice views of the river.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast with an amazing view of Douro

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and modern in ancient environment

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all very bland.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast and food in general could be better.

    Good place with awesome views.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is old and needs some renovation

    Good hotel, reliable decent facilities, pleasant helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of the river from our room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for exploring the Douro Valley. Our room was spacious with a balcony overlooking the river. Breakfast was varied and good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price too high

    Comfortable large, clean and quiet room, friendly staff, very good breakfast, good wifi, excellent location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough lighting in the rooms and hallway; coffee for breakfast was not very good

    Bed and mattress were very good; good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner buffet excellent as was breakfast . Position outstanding .Rooms verycomfortable and easy to use shower

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location ion is really great. Restaurants are in walking distance, it is right on he river.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to bring luggage to hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    interior dark, muted atmosphere

    location, large room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff on arrival were totally unwelcoming and unhelpful. The breakfast was really not good in my view.

    The pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay and well worth the price which was reasonable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of welcome.

    Attractive breakfast room with superb view. Good coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too dark in the stairs

    Great view and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was proper

    Great location, comfy room, good value, parking

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fantastic.....

    Everything!!!!!!!And the view overlooking the Douro Valley is breathtaking........

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated but OK

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    River view from room, location of hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurante panoramico, piscina

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad experience in car park with dog poo and had to throw shoes away .

    Location ,breakfast was lovely ,great stopover for tour of valley .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Relaxing. Location. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was 2nd time staying here. We really like the place. It's a great place to stay if your going on river cruise.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The carpeting was old and when we turned on the heater it blew cigarette smoke odor into our room.

    Just across the street from the train station, we had a beautiful view of the Douro River. Easy to walk around this small town. The staff helped us find a last minute river cruise which was great.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lift runs down to floor -3 but parking is at floor -4 and awkward metal staircase to surmount between -4 and -3.

    Excellent location giving some lovely views. Free parking at rear of hotel. Decent breakfast on 3rd floor.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were placed in a room on the ground floor next to the restaurant. I can't remember when I was ever offered a smaller room, possibly never! We had a view of the side street which wasn't pretty. Staff were helpful and the location was acceptable. However, the room quality was really poor. The hotel is a bit dated in most ways.

    Breakfast was fine. Reasonable location and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that we only stayed one night.

    The hotel is on the banks of the Duoro river. The views are breathtaking. The hotel is very large and had all we needed including a kettle which hadnt been in any other hotel thay we stayed in. Our room had a balcony which was so peaceful to sit at and enjoy the views. Dinner was very good with the restairant on the 3rd floor with panoric views. Nreakfast was good. The hotel is very grand with a gym but just a bit tired. Considering the economy that Portugal has struggled with I would say that high stamdards are maintained as much as possible. The hotel was excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Were roomy, clean, well located. We travel in the very "Off" season so the hotel was mostly empty so we got a upgraded to a riverside suite which was great and at a special room rate.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Right across the street from the train station. Our room was very nice and we had a balcony that overlooked the Douro River. It was just beautiful. The breakfast was very good. We had dinner at the hotel and it was excellent and the price was very reasonable. We liked the hotel so much we tried to extend our visit but the hotel was full. The views from the hotel are breath-taking.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot water was brown but the staff kindly offered us another room which was fine

    Excellent location overlooking the river with parking. Romantic package and all meals were great with a view of the Douro

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no fresh bread for my breakfast. I could understand this because I arrived near the end of breakfast time but bread is such a basic item.

    The room had an amazing view to the river.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Like others, this hotel was booked because of close proximity to the train and boat dock. But that is the ONLY reason. The public space of the hotel is depressing, the hallways and lobby ar poorly lit, lobby is furnished with minimum and filthy furniture and area rugs. The hotel room is adequate, we paid extra for the river view with balcony and that made the stay in the room bearable. Room looks superficially clean, we had ants crawling and flyes visiting. Shower spraying and leaking, light bulbs burned out. So sad that a nearby is a dog that must be either neglected or tied up, as it is barking and crying frequently. The staff at the front desk is inattentive and one feels passing by as if we are non visible. This place is overdue for refurbishment and management that cares about the customers and provide quality service. Room Tip: If you have to stay here, be sure to have room on the river side with a balcony or go stay in nearby...

    If you have to stay here, be sure to have room on the river side with a balcony or go stay in nearby...

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service at bar and in restaurant for dinner was extremely poor. We stayed for 2 nights and the 4 main courses we had between us were horrible.

    Lovely location next to the river Douro. Room had balcony so could watch river traffic.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We'd booked dinner, bed and breakfast. The breakfast was good but the dinner was one of the few bad meals we had during our holiday. For a main course, we were only offered two choices: fish or turkey. We chose turkey. The meat consisted of two rubbery slices in a sauce. Our DBB 'deal' included a bottle of wine. We chose red. I don't know if we could have paid more to have an a la carte meal and better wine but if we stayed there again and couldn't do that, we'd dine elsewhere.

    Great location, next to the Douro, 2 minutes from train station, 5 minutes from river cruises' quay. Very helpful staff, especially at front desk. We'd booked a city view room but asked to upgrade to a river view. Definitely worth the extra 15 euros. We had a room with a balcony, with table and chairs, overlooking the Douro.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was not impressed by the dining room. One dinner just had canned beans, pineapple & beans. Other dinner has mostly imitation crab for the seafood. Breakfast was good.

    Location is excellent, and view of the Douro wonderful. Also good parking.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location excellent for walking around Regua and very near to train station. We had a river view room with balcony, nice view. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool needs some improvements, but was nice and clean. Breakfast could be better. The parking has no access directly to an elevator, need to climb some stairs with luggage is not very nice.

    Fantastic location, clean and very friendly people. Confortable room.

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: