Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Belmond Reid's Palace 5 stars

Estrada Monumental 139, Sao Martinho, 9000-098 Funchal, Portugal

#3 of 73 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 387 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.2
    5 star experience like it once was and how it is supposed to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers provided. Parking in front of the door is limited. Forgot to provide me with the requested newspapers. Dinner menu at balcony somewhat limited.

    Personal interest and involvement with each and every guest. Classic elegant atmosphere and customizable experience. Accesible and helpful staff. Fantastic breakfast. Good spa and restaurant. Multiple swimingpools and private sea access. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Reids Palace - a true utopia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! Everything was superlative - from the scrumptious breakfast, outstanding afternoon tea and through to the lavish cocktails and wonderful views, we could not have asked for more.

    Beautiful, historic building. Amazingly attentive and warm staff - nothing was too much trouble. We have re-booked for February - it is fantastic!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Good but not 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The building fabric was getting tired and is living on its earlier reputation Not 5 star Our room was noisy but they did move us after a very disturbed night. Breakfast was chaotic with hit or miss service and not good hot food.

    The staff were excellent and there was an old world ambience that was nice. It was very clean and on balance enjoyed our stay Breakfast fruit selection Cocktails overlooking the sea

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Relaxing holiday in a luxurious hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything perfect

    First time staying in a Belmond's hotel and it more than exceeded my expectations, Staff were very attentive and helpful. Delicious breakfast with very good selection. Beautiful gardens and pools. Highly recommend for a luxurious holiday.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    An iconic Hotel, will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in rooms we had needs replacing and halls look tired. Hot Chocolate needs improving, I make better at home.

    Very friendly, relaxed atmosphere, excellent location and staff are very helpful and try their best.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Staff were extremely professional and welcoming, facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a complaint, but this was my first time staying in a really fancy hotel and I have to say I'm not sure it's really for me but I'm glad I had the experience.

    Staff were extremely professional and welcoming, facilities were great, location was perfect, breakfast was the highlight of my day, I could go on.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Historical spirit of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Poore daily cleaning of the room. Very expensive low cost wine in the minibar! No one expect low cost wine in 5 star luxury hotel. Price in supermarket 6 Euro and 30 Euro in hotel.

    Historical spirit of the hotel. Non alcoholic drinks in the minibar for free. Atractive rockybeach access.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Superlative Value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything but it is worth noting it is slightly less refined than some of the other Belmond Hotels if you stay in this chained often.

    The staff at the hotel are undoubtedly 5 star. We couldn’t fault the performance of a single employee who all went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. The pool area is glorious and the food (especially in Villa Cipriani) is wonderful. If you are considering booking this hotel I urge you to go for it - our 3 day stay was such good value we went through the bill a couple of times to make sure they hadn’t forgotten to add the multiple bottles of champagne we drank. Thank you To all at Reid’s Palace for a spectacular weekend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    "Somewhere in time"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    although I chose a "charming room" I did not have a double bed

    the most charming five star hotel I've ever seen; location, garden, ocean access, beach areas, British Colonial style decorations, atmosphere, breakfast, service, staff were fabulous

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant William needs an overhaul to make it more appealing.

    Everything! This is an outstanding hotel, with facilities, location and a service that exceeds almost all other hotels. The staff is everywhere for you and they possess this natural kindness and professionalism. The breakfast is a dream. The gym/spa area is so nice, you can spend the entire time there, too. Room service is first class, the room is always maintained and in good shape, and the client is being spoiled by them. Well, I could continue - go there and you will realize what I write is correct!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location, hotel and room. The staff is unbelievably competent and always take the extra mile to make sure that everything is perfect. Excellent breakfast and bed. Extremely clean and great attention to detail and quality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect weekend retreat to enjoy the charms of a bygone era.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a steep walk back from town.

    Glamorous hotel which celebrates its heyday in the first half of the 20th century. World class breakfast. Absolutely charming staff. We had a fifth floor room with a pool/sea view and very comfortable bed. Good air con. Mini bar has good selection of free soft drinks. We stuck to water but there was coke, fruit juice etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    The best hotel on Madeira ...no question... we come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is realy nothing to claim..

    Perfekt breakfast,poached eggs a la Benedikt with Pata negra available and service top . to dine at the Cipriani italien Restaurant was a Highlight. The rooms are very gemütlich and service of all staff is excellent ....and highly motivated . a pleasure to stay at this historical place...in a couple of days we will be back for one night to enjoying the tea time ...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location to switch off and unwind. Customer service is second to none
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If luxury is what you're looking for - look no further. Accommodation and customer service provided at the Belmond Reid's is of the highest standard. They excel on every level.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Charming and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner at Villa Cipriani restaurant was disappointing.

    Beautiful hotel and facilities in excellent location with spectacular views. Great base to explore the island, or just to laze and relax if you are not inclined to explore! Staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive at all times. Fab breakfast by the pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only a small part of the hotels can boast such an exceptional level of service. Exceptional hotel, exceptional garden, exceptional location, exceptional service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Blissful Madeira 5 star Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Think there is room for improvement overall but only on very minor details (already raised with the hotel) Very, very quiet hotel, with a much older clientele, good to have excursions booked in or some might get a little bored.

    Great location, lovely scenery. Very quiet and relaxing. Good destination to enjoy good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant, loved everything and also the lovely garden. The old photos too, make it special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobster dish at William Restaurant was woefully inadequate, three very small pieces of lobster. It is a pity the famous pastelitos de nata are not generally available, only offered on arrival. It makes no sense, as everyone wants to try them, but not precisely then! I also thought you needed a few more toilets!

    The breakfast included in the price was phenomenal, excellent and very complete. Staff was very attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Reid's never changes - thank goodness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Having to leave

    Superb breakfast buffet and outstanding staff as always. Reid's is never bling thank goodness just always tip top for service and doing things right

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Imagining Winston Churchill and GB Shaw and others of a bygone era at Reid's was surpassed only by the great pleasure of feeling like I was inhabiting that bygone era myself during those few precious days at Reid's.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Timeless elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t get me wrong, the staff is very professional and attentive. It’s impressive that they all know your name and room number, though all this knowledge sometimes felt a little intrusive. Sometimes I just want to relax and have a look around and don’t need a taxi/drink/porter for my bags/change of towels

    The property is in a superb location and everything is beautiful from the gardens to the common areas. We very much enjoyed the pools one with salt water and one heated at 29 degrees, just perfect during windy days. Ample choice for breakfast, very fresh. We arrived a day later because our flight was cancelled and we weren’t charged for the first night without even asking for it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    A hotel that is a destination in itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The deficiencies are I suspect an inevitable consequence of the age of the property. The shower was over the bath and both were a little small and a little difficult to access due to their height. This would be a problem for those with mobility difficulties. We experienced an unfortunate odour in the room which the staff eventually dealt with. It would have been nice to have been informed what was the cause.

    This establishment lives up to it's iconic status. The gardens are magnificent and the public area facilities quite excellent. The staff gave a level of service that is more characteristic of hotels in the Far East than those in Western Europe. Breakfast was well prepared, plentiful and efficiently provided. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. (I would like to know the mattress manufacturers name!). It was a nice touch to be invited to a Manager's cocktail party. We met a most agreeable couple with whom we shall maintain contact.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Everyone helpful and courteous made stay relaxed and restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the shuttle bus dropped off at the cable car station but didn't pick up there. A long walk back to the only 'pick up' point.

    Attention to detail and service. Gardens to die for!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    An unexpected treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot imagine.

    The staff and facilities, plus attention to detail. There were many extra surprises, as we were celebrating a "special occasion".

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic windows. Noise of central air condtion can be heard on the balconies Cold white lighting in the lobby creates an unpleasant atmosphere No coffee making facilities in the room

    Beautiful garden.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful relaxing week in an old style excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bedroom was too small

    Our six day stay was wonderful. Food excellent, and though we have dined many times in Reid's in the past it was still very special to stay in the hotel. Only complaint the room was too small for the extra large bed, leaving no room to get around it. Next time will have to have a larger room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Extremely good in all respects except for eating in the evening. Not what I would expect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel, normally , has three places to eat in the evening. The main restaurant, the Michelin Star Restaurant and the Cipriano .(Italian) The main restaurant was open only on Sundays and Mondays, the Michelin Star restaurant was extremely expensive and to reach the Cipriano one has to leave the hotel and walk about a hundred yards up the main road. We were not aware off this when booking and it was quite a negative factor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    perfect for a very relaxing short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    Amazing hotel, - proper 5* but not "stuffy" - staff very relaxed and friendly - plus great sense of History as the long established best hotel on the island visited by many famous people..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    You get what you pay for and I wasnt disappointed, they treat you like royalty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing! it was excellent in every way, total luxury

    Variety and freshness was excellent, service fantastic, anything you asked for was never too much trouble.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    It has a old world charm and overall, the stay was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We mentioned that we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. The reception staff mentioned nothing at all. A verbal "congratulations" or a card in the room to mark the occasion would have make our stay more unforgettable.

    Service at the Michelin star restaurant was impeccable and food was excellent. They did remembered our anniversary and gave us a cake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Luxury., outstanding service food and ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a paying guest I could not book afternoon tea, it was full of other people from other hotels in a trip Maybe you should allocate a separate area for your own guests

    It was like traveling back in time to when service and style were paramount

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    I have never felt so relaxed, so quickly on a holiday before. We would definitely go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food and drink prices were, as expected, very expensive but we ate in town which was very reasonable and tasty. We purchased a six pack of beer and a quarter bottle of gin from the supermarket opposite the hotel for a fraction of the cost (around €6 each), used the free soft drinks from the minibar and ordered up ice from Reception to sip drinks on our balcony!!

    We booked a comfort room and thought we would only have a Juliette balcony but on arrival found it was a proper (albeit small) balcony with 2 chairs and a side table with glorious views of Funchal, the marina and Atlantic Ocean. The room felt like a mini-suite with entrance hall to loo and bathroom and inner door to the spacious bedroom which had two armchairs two desks, a large wardrobe and mini-bar (all soft drinks were free). The hotel is a 15 mins walk downhill into Funchal Centre, but the hotel has a courtesy bus that runs once an hour. Fabulous breakfast, located by the glorious pools.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful oasis of peace in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Drinks and meals are expensive.

    Secluded oasis in botanical grade gardens. Old fashioned in a very good way, feels like being home. staff cannot do enough for you. 6th visit here and best hotel on the island. If you like traditional its for you. If you like ultra modern perhaps not.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    A great trip to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Fantastic location and superb sun decks leading down to the sea. We particularly liked that we had access to swim in the sea. Stunning public rooms all with great views and extremely good breakfasts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Hotel and service from another age
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive overall compared to the other 5 star hotel (The Vine) that we stayed at in Madeira which was equally good.

    Beautiful grounds and swimming pools, superb breakfast, extremely helpful staff, nice room and facilities. Amazing view from balcony. Nice full sized snooker table. Great experience overall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    All time favorite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wow! What a place! I stay at a lot of hotels and this has to be my all time favorite. The thing that this place has is character. So many five star hotels try to make things more and more comfortable, more and more caring. However so often they end up rather vanilla - something you can't find fault with, rather than something you love itself. The hotel is certainly comfortable and luxurious but more than that it is its own place. From our balcony we have views over amazing gardens, these lead down to pools, then down cliff steps to a sea platform. Two diving boards, a small sea pool and clear water of between three and six meters in depth. It is a fabulous place for messing around; snorkelling with the fish, diving off boards, visiting the floating island. The kids loved the pools and the sea and the free mini-bar - they are easily pleased. However even I was unreasonably charmed by the staff who brought grapes and ice creams for those lounging around by the pool. Yes it's quite posh but it's old money posh not new money bling. In the many historic pictures adorning the walls I find one from The Sketch, "Lady Prudence Jellicoe in mid air, the swallow dive". It appears Lady Prudence was quite a daredevil because she's diving off the cliffs from about ten meters up. Just because you're posh doesn't mean you can't be daring and fun. It's that kind of posh. The staff are a nice mix of young and old. The younger ones are energetic and attentive much like you find in many hotels. The older sometimes more butler than staff - helpful and knowlegable but occasionally indulging in a little bit of looking over the glasses. Which is actually quite charming. If you liked the movie "The Grand Hotel Budapest" this is your kind of place. Make a point of visiting the old entranceway and reception which is a wonderful wooden construction with cubbyholes for all the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    A true 5 Star experience - We LOVED it :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The amount of steps is a lot! Thank goodness for the lift to the sea bathing area. There is no beach - getting into and out of the sea is a bit hairy! You could also do with a bar down by the sea so that the staff don't have to bring food and drink down from the top - as it is a bit of a lengthy wait for food and drinks :)

    Wow the whole team are just so brilliant - everyone appears to love their jobs, they make the stay very special. Breakfast - exceptional, Beds - Perfect, Views and sea sunbathing brilliant - A true 5* experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Treat yourself to a visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Absolutely wonderful- clean, beautiful food and all the staff, concierge, cleaners, pool attendants,bar staff, waitresses/ waiters, gardeners, receptionists and the general manager were so generous. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    A fantastic place to celebrate a special weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had dinner at the William's 1 Star Michelin restaurant - the food was exceptional and setting overlooking the sea was very picturesque. What I didn't like was being charged 6.50 Euros for a bottle of still water!

    The staff service was exceptional, the hotel ambience was very quiet and relaxing and the pools/surrounding gardens were extremely well kept! In addition we received a free bottle of champagne to celebrate my birthday and then another bottle plus bouquet of flowers to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with amazing views!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No irons or ironing boards provided as not allowed. You have to use their press service which was expensive. 50% surcharge if you want something done that day. I would recommend taking a travel iron.

    Beautiful hotel in a lovely setting. Staff were excellent and loved all the little touches. We were lucky to be upgraded with a fantastic sea view. The breakfast was very goid with an excellent selection. I would definately visit here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Luxury in Funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This hotel is spectacular in every way, the building itself, its history, its position on the headland, the facilities and the staff. The gardens are beautiful and the breakfast is of an exceptionally high quality. The bedrooms are beautiful, bedding and towels are very luxurious and there's an extensive 'pillow menu' if you're not satisfied with the ones provided. All in all it's not a cheap hotel but, in my opinion, is worth every penny.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Simply fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving - but we will be back.

    This is possibly the best hotel we have ever stayed at. The staff are incredibly friendly and extremely courteous. Nothing is too much trouble, and they all go out of their way to ensure your stay is that little bit better which makes staying here a wonderful experience. You are made to feel wanted individually and not just another guest. The building is incredibly well maintained and spotlessly clean. Our lovely room had a balcony and view overlooking the immaculate gardens and the sea. The grounds are superb, and there are plenty of places to relax and read. The food was excellent and the bar prices very reasonable. There is even an outside lift from the pool area down to the sea. When you consider the quality of service that you receive, the accommodation and the wonderful experience of staying in such a superb location, the overal cost of our stay was very reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Probably the nicest hotel on the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV in the room was small. It would be nice if there was a clothes line available either in the bathroom or on the terrace to hang wet bathing suits. There are not enough water bottles in the fridge!

    Breakfast is included in the room price and is very substantial. We could choose the continental breakfast room service, or a sumptuous spread down by the pool. Both were wonderful. The grounds are extensive and beautiful, and the location is central to lots of restaurants in the area. The afternoon tea on the terrace is memorable. It is very traditional and substantial, and the service is excellent. The Italian restaurant is superb, and again the service is outstanding. Try to book a table on the terrace and enjoy your meal al fresco.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.2
    Almost perfect 5* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room decoration, accessories and furniture are old (but well maintain) At the beginning, we had very unconfutable hammock-like mattress, but following our request they change the mattress to new one. The room was a bit small.

    This is excellent 5* hotel, with wonderful gardens, swimming pools and sea. Breakfast has variety of products and all is tasty and fresh. We had room with astonish view. Stuff is very friendly and helpfully.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Reid's is justifiably one of the famous classic hotels of the world, it has character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff were very obliging from the second we arrived: taking our hire car off to await collection, giving us coffee on the terrace while they found us an early check in, giving us a tour of the hotel (which is helpful as the two buildings only interconnect at the 5th floor so finding your way around without the tour might be interesting) and generally making our stay effortless and pleasant throughout. Reid's is justifiably one of the famous classic hotels of the world and remains traditional at heart. The gardens are fabulous and the pools are beautiful. You are only a short walk from the centre of Funchal but it is like being in another world! It was our last night in Madeira so we pushed the boat out and had dinner in William's their Michelin starred restaurant which was a delight from amuse bouche to amuse bouche!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.6
    The breakfast was great ,local fruit was included.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there was no tea or coffee in the rooms.

    The breakfast was great ,local fruit was included. The bar was opened until late with live entertainment. Staff at reception were very helpful, even allowing us to check out late .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Luxury and charm at it's finest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The separate WC in the room could have been a bit nicer but the bathroom was lovely. There was no subtle background music at Breakfast, rather silent and just a little 'awkward'. But food was very good! Otherwise, cannot fault it!

    Exceptionally comfortable beds, pillow menu and treats on arrival! Fantastic sea and Funchal views. This is not just a hotel it is an experience you will cherish forever. Attention and service is excellent, staff cannot do enough for you and go that extra mile. You feel like royalty staying in a palace! The gardens are beautiful and the entire hotel offers peace and tranquility.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    The perfect place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Impeccable staff and superb facilities. The rooms have everything you want and the food, ambience and location with beautiful pools could not be surpassed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful park, pools, sea access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could have been more spacious. Prices for food and beverages (compared to very good local restaurants nearby).

    Wonderful park, pools, sea access. All the staff was excellent. Very accomodating for children. Altogether a memorable experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    A very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfortable and tasteful decorated however it was smaller than we expected and there was no tea making facilities or iron in the room

    William 's resturant -excellent food and service . A truly amazing experience

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    Lovely old world glamour hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower went hot and cold a lot, guess this is due to the age of the property but was quite frustrating. Unfortunately we didn't get to try the hotel restaurant as my husband hadn't taken a jacket so we weren't allowed in.

    Lovely old world style hotel with beautiful views and features. Our room was lovely and very spacious with a very comfy bed and lots of wardrobe space.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    6.7
    Reid's Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee making facility in the room which seemed strange given 5 stars and a British connection historically. Smaller room than expected although perfectly furnished. A lack of information about hotel facilities and events in the hotel meant some of the entertainment poorly attended? No light on the balcony meant not able to fully enjoy the ambience after sundown to read or play cards etc. Shuttle service to and from Funchal centre but not after 6pm. Walkable downhill but may be challenging for some on the return. Concierge adequate but lacked friendliness.

    The balcony overlooking the sea. Beautiful view comfortable seating. The breakfast was sensational. Every possible taste catered for and excellent service. Complimentary non alcoholic drinks in the mini bar a surprise. Good selection of fruit juices and mixers plus water of course. Excellent shower. Good wardrobe space and very comfortable beds. Nightly entertainment in the cocktail bar welcome drinks on the first night a nice touch. Beautiful well maintained gardens with plenty of seating available to contemplate exceptional views.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    8.8
    Number 1 in service, but it has its price (room 724) (5 hotels in Funchal compared)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed looks made up as a double bed but in fact is still two separated under one cover. Small size room and bathroom. The creaky floor enforces every step from your neighbours upstairs. Standard wifi is open, unsecured and quiet slow in the room.

    Nice welcome, comprehensive tour of the facilities and an upgrade to the classic room. Chique classic furnished with a little balcony and nice harbour view, unfortunately only morning sun. Soft drinks from the minibar are inclusive and water and some small cakes on check in complimentary. Two outside pools, one heated. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    We are missing it already!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally, I would have liked a kettle in the room, although it is lovely to order a pot of tea in one of the many reception areas (or room service), nothing beats being able to quickly make oneself a "cuppa" on the spur of the moment.

    Once through the doors, you feel enveloped by the calm and comfort of a bygone era. The staff are extremely helpful and nothing seems too much trouble. The gardens are beautiful and, although we didn't spend a lot of time in them, due to inclement weather, it would have been lovely to while away a couple of hours with a book. There are two swimming pools, one heated to 25 degrees C and the other a blissful 29, which means they are useable even on a blustery December day. The breakfast buffet, served overlooking the pools and ocean, had plenty of choice, both hot and cold. We went to the Champagne buffet on the Sunday evening which, although quite expensive, was well worth it to experience the beautifully decorated dining room and to listen to top class musicians and singer. The Villa Cipriani Italian restaurant also serves very good, if pricey, food, again delightful if you want to celebrate an event. Our only problem, having treated ourselves to four nights here, is that we have been spoiled for staying anywhere else next time we come to Funchal!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    Elegant cliff-side retreat to relax and recharge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Gluten-free bread/roll/dessert options.

    The comfortable yet historic and elegant atmosphere with amazing views of the Atlantic. Staff was genteel and very accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    10
    I superb location with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the wi fi reception was poor The Cipriani restaurant did not live up to its reputation , it was overpriced and the meal very average for a flagship restaurant .

    The breakfast was very good excellent choice of local produce.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.8
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a bit old and some parts are run down. Charming anyway but could do with a little renovation. You get used to it though.

    Love the breakfast. The bed was very comfortable and they have selections of pillow. Good location. The view as also amazing. And of course, staff were well trained and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    A must visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole experience. The hotel is is the center of Funchal. You can take a stroll through the city, visit the local market on Friday mornings. Or just spend you time at the pool, with amazing views.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.2
    Times past and present with a great outlook!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel really only catered for fine dining. There was a lack of a decent alternative and it was apparent that most residents were dining in restaurants away from the hotel. There was a consequent lack of atmosphere in the evenings.

    We loved the setting of the property and the pool area. Stunning views. We also rated the breakfast and lunch rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything

    The excellent service

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    I enjoyed the History of the property as well as the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I enjoyed the History of the property as well as the old world oppulence. The staff were attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    I liked everything about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about it. Service was excelkent. Beautiful faciluty! Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    One of the best hotels we stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would love to stay longer. Oh, well, next time.

    Very beautiful hotel and view from it. Unique place for sea swimming. Lovely people!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything it was faultless.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding set up ,staff are incredible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were twins pushed together with a king topper

    The whole experience was fantastic Above my expectations

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Access to Pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Some of the pool staff were extremely rude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the pool staff were extremely rude.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Best choice for Madeira 6 Stars....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing perfect...6 Stars..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful! Hair salon superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have enjoyed coffee machine in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Birthday treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and historic building tasteful decor

    Decor , spacious , gardens, views, pools , all excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Great service Hotel agreed to late check out (5pm) Helpful concierge

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    All of it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Luxury!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything was excellent. Staff couldn’t do enough for you. We didn’t want to leave.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    I would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything!

    The staff at this hotel is so friendly, lovely! Exceptional service and staff. Beautiful location! So relaxing.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Belmond Reid's Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: