Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Portugal hotel reviews
  3. Norte Region B&B and inn reviews
  4. Porto B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Guest House Alvares Cabral

Reviews of Guest House Alvares Cabral

Rua Álvares Cabral, 341, União de Freguesias do Centro, 4050-041 Porto, Portugal

#138 of 296 B&Bs and inns in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 602 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2019

    10
    Good location, amazingly friendly and helpful staff, you can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location, amazingly friendly and helpful staff, you can sit in the garden to rest and drink a bit of tea. The breakfast is good! Very good price/quality ratio!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    8.3
    Normally I would not write a review but we had a wonderful time in a lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I had to come home

    All the people there were very kind, helpful and friendly and did their best to make our stay a very nice and special time. The rooms and decor were really nice and also comfortable .

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2019

    10
    They go out of their way to make sure you have a good time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They go out of their way to make sure you have a good time in Porto. Meaning, they will show you where to eat, what to do etc....extremely nice and polite!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    8.8
    Staff advice was helpful and information about Alvares Cabral was especially interesting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately on the second morning the coffee was barely warm, but we were leaving early and did not wish to delay etc

    Breakfast was very good,. Bread and pastries with home made jams were appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2019

    8.3
    Fine old home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It wasn't clear to me that I would have to pay for parking from the listing.

    The elegant old home was a treat to stay in. Walking distance to town. Wonderful hosts. Discounted parking.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    7.1
    Good value for money. It has the climate of old Porto building which is both an asset and a drawback
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Little light in a room The shower was leaking Unpleasant smell sometimes in th bathroom - from the sewers or the ventilation (I am not sure) We are not allowed to take keys with us, just to leave at the reception but anyway, it was open 24h so no problem

    Colonial & navy style inspirations for the interior design Beds - very very comfy Staff - so helpful and friendly Good value for money 24 H reception

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    10
    Fantastic place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was fantastic! It looks very nice with all those wooden art decorations in the rooms, the room was very clean and with heater, which is not so common around in Portugal. Thank you!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    6.7
    Very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom very small needs an update. Parking on site but expensive.

    Very convenient. Most things within walking distance, near metro & supermarket.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    9.6
    Simply amazing! Don't look anywhere else :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. The place was simply superb, I'll definitely stay here again! Perhaps the location was a little bit far from the main old(and hence touristy) part of Porto, but it was all accessible by walking.

    The room was beautiful, comfortable and clean. I really did not expect my stay to be this nice. Comfy hard bed. Heater! The room was nice and warm :) The price: excellent for what we were getting. All in all, I really recommend this place!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    10
    Honestly the best guest house I’ve stayed, and I travel all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Doesn’t exist.

    Honestly the best guest house I’ve stayed, and I travel all around the world! So totally recommend it! The staff are some of the best people you’d ever meet, even just a chat with them makes your day! Do choose here, it won’t disappoint!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    9.6
    The staff was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was wonderful. Very helpful and friendly. We received couple of nice advices where to go and what to see, moreover they congratulated me for my birthday, that I had at that time and we had one evening very nice talk in more people with tasting local wine and cheese. :) Guest house itself is very nice, stylish old style building, rooms comfortable and it is in a great location, few steps to the centre and also to the direct line to the airport. For me it will be always the right choice when coming back to Porto. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    10
    Great central location to see Porto, wonderful hospitality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great central location to see Porto, wonderful hospitality and local knowledge from hosts. Free port in reception was a lovely touch! Breakfast was decent. Coffee was great. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    4.5
    The rain didnt help
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Insistent on being paid upfront which I thought was weird as they already had credit card info from Booking.com - didnt happen again in a hotel throughout trip. shower holder broken, musty, too many steps upstairs. room. most of street under renovation entrance very unappealing.

    welcome porto drink. owners tried to be helpful but appeared overtired.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    7.9
    The bed was good, but rather small than expected, quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom was very weird, was not on the pics of the room profile and when you enter the room for the first time you just see a small white plastic box instead of the real bathROOM. The room itself was veeery small, no refrigerator and no place for baggage etc. Quite disappointing space-wise...

    The bed was good, but rather small than expected, quite narrow. Otherwise the personal was very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    10
    Everyone was incredibly nice, and gave excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everyone was incredibly nice, and gave excellent recommendations for dinner. The homemade jams at breakfast were delicious, and added to the lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    9.6
    Stylish guesthouse close to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got a room looking towards the inner courtyard so there was no street noise. However the other side of the building faces a very busy and noisy street. Noises from other rooms can be heard because the walls are thin.

    Very nice building. Very friendly staff. Room decoration is uniquely good in this price category.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    8.8
    good location, friendly staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the street is very busy and noise front of the hotel, but it didn't disturb us, since our room was on the other side

    good location, friendly staff, good breakfast, our room was facing to the garden so it was quiet

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    6.7
    I would probably not stay here again. Did not feel the value was worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was so uncomfortable I hardly slept (economy room). Breakfast was the least favorite on our 2 1/2 week trip.

    The Staff was wonderful and very helpful. Warm welcome and accommodating. Neighborhood was within walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful Guest House, lovely hosts, absolutely recommendable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'd have loved my own bathroom, just for the comfort, but the bathroom we used was across the hallway and super clean, the shower was excellent. The owner even opened another bathroom just for us, but that one was on the top floor and I was too lazy to walk up the stairs. I would like to mention that the road is paved with cobblestones and with the cars speeding up the hill it can get quite noisy. There is no air con and in order to not suffocate we slept with the windows open. I used ear plugs so I was fine, but I could imagine that this aspect would be an issue for some people.

    We arrived and were warmly welcomed by the owner of the Guest House. He told us that in every room there is a piece of history about how Brazil was discovered by the Portuguese. And indeed, every single room is individually designed and you can see that lots of effort and love for detail has been put into the work. The house itself is very old and could benefit from a lick of paint on the outside, but inside it's super cosy. The bathroom was clean and the shower nice and hot. We could have parked our car in a garage but decided against it, as parking on the street is available (albeit paid for between 9am and 7pm) and we left Porto for day trips to little villages, so we ever only used it at night. The guesthouse itself is located around 10-15 minutes by foot from some bars and restaurants, if you want to walk into the city centre it's take up to 30 minutes I'd assume. However, public transport is closeby and the staff are very helpful and provide you with whatever information you need.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We wanted to add a night but they were full. Ha ha- our mistake!!

    The host was super friendly as was the other staff. Gorgeous and modern room with nice back patio. Good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    10
    We stayed in 2 rooms and especially liked the first room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the garden. Very nice old house.

    We stayed in 2 rooms and especially liked the first room with an ensure bathroom. It was as much larger. The staff here go above and beyond to make guests happy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    7.9
    Friendly, helpful staff, but short beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My husband, who is only 5'9", had to sleep in the foetal position since he was too long for the bed. We would prefer a private bathroom.

    It was convenient to have a toilet and hand as in in our room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.6
    Good location, friendly knowledgable staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower leaked!

    Good location, friendly knowledgable staff. It doesn’t look much from the outside but it’s great once you get off the street. Yummy fresh bread and pastries for breakfast too! Super helpful when we needed to change our plans and they helped us with our bikes too!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    8.3
    Suggestive stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would have been better if there has been breakfast included. Anyway the price we payed was fair. I recommend it

    The owners and the staff have welcomed us with friendly and politely, giving us different advices to discover Porto in the best way: from where eat to the places to visit. My friend and I stayed in the economy room, really suggestive with historical details, besides really clean and comfortable! We had a share bathroom, with a spacious shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a short city stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Few corners were not dusted as I expected (webs and similar). Breakfast is primarily sweet. A LOT. And not as you might hope for if you're used to hotels proving a broad choice. Unrelated note for fliers: the airport metro line runs ONLY every 30 minutes. It's not a "every 5 minutes" line. You miss it, you're in pains...

    Place's perfect. Hosts were welcoming and nice, going to the next mile by doing an "extra" personal favor I asked in advance for. We felt welcomed and "nurtured". 8 minutes walk from the metro station (although not an easy one for who has small kids/strolley) which leads from/to the airport. Breakfast isn't wide in choices (on the contrary...), but is very tasty!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    8.8
    great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom should be renovated.

    Good breakfast, great staff - they helped us around the city, gave us a map and recommended tourist places and restaurants. everyone was exceptionally nice :) The room was tidy and cozy. the room was high up without an elevator, but again - the lady from the reception was awesome and helped us around with our suitcases.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyed my stay with Guest House Alvarez
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walk uphill with my luggage was a little challenging but it was worth it to find this nice quiet hideaway that is still close to the city.

    Super friendly check in with lovely Rita who took the time to give me some excellent tips of things that would interest me in Porto. Lovely garden to relax in if you need some time chilling out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    9.6
    Comfy, clean and big room even if it was an economy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very nice and cosy. The staff is very friendly, they showed us what we can visit in Porto so you can organize your day. I would recommend this hotel for future visitors.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.2
    I don't know what to say about public safety . There are no tourist police patrol at night . Why ?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The night security around this area is suspect . They are public loiterrers and smell of urine at the pavement , its terrifying after dark . I was being followed by seemingly suspicious character from my restaurant to the hostel .

    The staff . Her name Hendrietta . She is a role model for warmest reception .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.1
    The staf was very lovely and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room had a really bad smell. Also there was no free breakfast although it was mentioned in trivago's discription.

    The staf was very lovely and helpfull.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    8.8
    Nice place to stay for a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At booking it was not clear we booked a shared toilet/shower, which we cannot accept for personal reasons. At extra cost we could get another room. Don't know what we would have done when the room was not available. Parking was in a garage nearby, but was not free of charge (12 euro/day).

    It is a big house. On the outside it seems old, on the insight a lot is refurbished. We had a room with a shower box. Breakfast in the garden. Close enough to town. Very friendly and helpful personel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing staff who provided us with a great tips for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing staff who provided us with a great tips for restaurants and additonal info about easiest way to reach certain city hot spots. Perfect for couples. Special thanks to Cristina who was the real sweetheart. We would definetely recommend this place to our family and friends. Simona & Jan

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    9.6
    Cozy guest house with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The guest house is in a quiet neighbourhood, but you could hear quite well from the other rooms in the building. Especially the water pipes made some noise that could wake us up sometimes during the night. But with ear plugs that should be fine.

    It's a small and cozy guest house in a quiet neighbourhood. Only 15 minutes by walk from the city center, and not far away from bus stops and two metro stations as well (Lapa and Trindade, direct metro from there to the airport for example). Well cleaned, cozy interior design. We didn't try the breakfast here, so can't say anything about it. There are many nice cafes and bars in the area so we always had breakfast somewhere there. The staff of the guest house is so friendly, nice and helpful! When I booked our stay I had some wishes about the room that I sent to them by e-mail and they answered really quickly. And when we arrived they had arranged an even better option for us than what I asked for so we were really happy about that. Overall we had a really nice stay in this guest house and we'd recommend it to our friends as well :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    9.6
    Cosy place for decent price, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very well decorated, with interesting paintings on the wall. The pillows and the matt were wery cosy as well. The staff was very helpful and told us tips what to see in the city. They welcomed us with a small glass of portwine, which was very kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    8.3
    The rest of the stay was oki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was extremely small- we could hardly fit in 2, taking into account we do not weigh over 55kg. It could be okay for one person. The breakfast was very poor- a slice of cheese and sausage, a glass of juice, coffee, a croissant, a bun, only- I had my coffee and went to have breakfast out.

    A very helpful staff!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    lovely romantic stay in center of porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    all was great, we will surely be back.

    very lovely spot for enjoying centre and Clérigos area. about 10 minutes walk to bolhao, the owners are very helpful for all your questions and provide great itinireries for discovering porto.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a specific smell in the room and kind of cold although there was an electric heater

    The staff is very nice,helpful and communicative, good English speakers. The rooms are nicely decorated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfectly fine. Our room was very clean, really quiet and nicely furnished. What is more there wasn't any issues with heating - this is really important in February. The guest house is very well located - 15 min to the bridge so I can recommend it with no doubts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    9.6
    Good location, great and helpfull staff. Tasty local breakfast. Recomend to all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location, close to the all city routes and near city centre. Perfect and helpfull personal, tasty local breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay in Porto.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    10
    Very good place:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stuff was very helpfull, room was nice, clean, very good localisation, the busstop of night bus from airport is just a few steps from guesthouse. Very good place to stay for a few nights:)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    10
    Great place, we will stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lighting in the backyard to the kitchen is not very bright in dark winter.

    From all the places I have stayed at, this was one of the most welcoming - you have the feeling that the guest house is not just run for a living, but because they really like having guests and looking after people. Great beds, excellent room design and renovated bathrooms (don't trust the pictures). Breakfast includes fruit and stuff, and as an alternative there is a marvellous coffee place opposite. Walking distance to some great restaurants and most attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    8.8
    Great staff and guest house, fab breakfast and good location for new year celebrations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room got a little bit cold but we did have an oil filled heater which we switched on in the daytime. If you are 130kg then the shower is a little small but very powerful and did the job 😁.

    Lovely quirky, unique place to stay. The staff were all extremely helpful and lovely. Our room was very spacious with great nortical decorations. Breakfast was lovely and fresh.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    9.2
    Good hostel and amazing staff
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly staff, tidy and well cleaned place. Also, I think the decoration of the rooms are nice and creative. For sure, I would stay in this hostel again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    10
    The place to stay in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The best guest house we stayed at this year. The staff was very helpful and polite, all of them. We made the most of our time there thanks to their tips and recommendations. The room was very cozy and it is the place you expect to find when planning your ideal vacations in Portugal. You feel welcome from the first minute and we will definitely stay there next time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    9.2
    Unique building, comfortable rooms, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    elevator for the disabled, but probably not going to happen.

    Very nice continental breakfast for $5 euros. Old house without an elevator- not the place for the disabled or wheelchair bound. Comfortable, cosy, with modern bathroom and backyard where you can take your breakfast if the weather is nice. Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    9.6
    Very homely. Staff were very keen to help . Even arranged a birthday party for my wife!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A little far to walk down to the river, and of course up hill to get back! Pillows were a bit lumpy!

    Beautiful décor, really comfy bed, excellent staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    10
    Amazing time in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I made a reservation for two days and wrongly booked the economy room, my father wanted to change and on the second day they easily found a room for us. besides that, the rooms are beautiful and the location great. A special thanks to Cristina that made our stay the best possible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    8.3
    Away from the city but close enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast - too much bread and no variety. Small portion of ham and cheese. Noisy neighbours.

    Lovely staff that made us feel most welcome. Well decorated room. 24 hour reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    8.3
    Nice for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a little small (short - I am 178cm and only just fit). We were on the top floor, so the bathroom we had was with sloped ceiling, so not much headroom. The shower leaked a little. No A/C, so had to keep open a very small window which was not really enough for ventilation, and very little natural light.

    Very friendly staff, always with a smile. Lovely character in the hotel, with nicely furnished rooms. Comfortable and quiet location, only 10-15mins walk into the centre of town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    9.2
    Great place, excellent staff and can see now why it is heavily booked - will use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing that I could think of was having to use the stairs (suitcases) but very minor point and you have to expect that with this type of property.

    The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful with hints on what to visit, restaurants etc. Could not be better !! Breakfast and drinks were great value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2019

    7.9
    The staff and the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a little far from centre

    The staff and the breakfast

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2019

    7.5
    Booked a room with two beds, after the payment was made I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked a room with two beds, after the payment was made I was told I will get one bed and need to pay extra for two... not cool.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    7.1
    Helpful Staff,good knowledge of rated restaurants and trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A slight miscalculation of booking, when another occupant was included

    Helpful Staff,good knowledge of rated restaurants and trips

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2019

    8.8
    Nice hotel with excellent location
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price for this time was too expensive for the kind of hotel

    Nice hotel with excellent location

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    6.3
    It was good, but missed cleaning one day
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy from other rooms

    It was good, but missed cleaning one day

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    9.6
    The owners were very friendly, welcoming and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owners were very friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Beautiful backyard.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    10
    Wonderful stay, lovely home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really nice people, helpful, accommodating. Location great. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2019

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ---

    Friendly and helpful staff! Unique and exquisitely decorated room!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2019

    9.2
    Very friendly and caring staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ----

    Very friendly and caring staff! Good location

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    9.2
    Really awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were really friendly and genuine. Room was bigger than expected.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2019

    8.3
    Very friendly the employees from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed from my room it was a bit small.

    Very friendly the employees from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    9.2
    Very pleasant accommodation with welcoming and helpful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Owners and staff extremely helpful

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2019

    5.0
    Staff
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was too much old and inside there were musty smell. The moquette smell of dusty.

    Staff

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    8.8
    Great people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was cold. My bed was making a lot of noise when I move on it.

    Staff was really helpful and kind.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable bed in a quirky looking room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very comfortable bed in a quirky looking room

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice staff and perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was ok.

    Very nice staff and perfect location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    8.8
    Rustic & nice accommodation with very helpful personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, old and original building but well maintained, very helpful and friendly personnel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    8.3
    Helpful and kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful people.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    9.6
    Look forward to staying here again when return to Porto, which we loved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could not fault it.

    The staff were the best. Loved breakfast either sitting inside or in the sunny garden.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    9.2
    Cozy room, nice position, super nice breakfast in the garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cozy room, nice position, super nice breakfast in the garden

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    7.9
    A great visit to a fabulous city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everyone was very helpful and made my stay very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    6.3
    Cleanness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanness . I paid for two although I was alone.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    8.3
    Good value, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good value budget choice with very friendly and helpful owner and staff. Single room was comfortable but a bit small (see value comment)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely old house with a great welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely old house friendly, helpful and welcoming proprietors.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    8.3
    had a comfortable stay and nice and quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    helpful staff and easy check in. As we had to leave early they were cooperative.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: