Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Costa Nova Hotel 3 stars

Rua Arrais Ançã 16, 3830-455 Costa Nova, Portugal

#1 of 7 hotels in Costa Nova

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 720 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was very clean, the pillows and bed were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view of the ocean or inlet.

    The hotel was very clean, the pillows and bed were comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again. Hotel was convenient to the inlet and a short walk to the beach. Several restaurants within steps of the hotel as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    A pleasant modern hotel, sometimes noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard floors and an open stairwell design made the hotel surprisingly noisy, with every clatter amplified through the building. Breakfast was uninspired.

    Good location, close to beach and restaurants. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable & pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast okay, but coffee and juices could have been a lot better. Everything else on offer was good.

    Fantastic location .... staff so helpful. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Its a quaint little hotel with only a few rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and the bathrooms are a little cramped.

    Its a quaint little hotel with only a few rooms. The staff was extra helpful and very friendly. The breakfast spread was sufficient. We had paid for parking at the property but our van did not fit into their garage, they promptly refunded the money with no questions asked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Warm and cozy hotel in the heart of Costa Nova
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place feels like home, from the second you enter it. Staff is incredibly nice, breakfast is amazing and hotel interior looks amazing. Exterior as well - it is one of THE striped houses. :) Location is perfect as well. Additional plus is the bike renting which was a great idea to go to the Barra, the place next to Costa Nova. All in all, I've rarely felt this cozy somewhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and good value compact hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The picture, although correct, does give you the impression of having a view. There is no view except of other buildings.

    The bed was comfortable and the toilet / shower room clean; always important. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.3
    The room could have been nicer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been nicer. It was rather small and the we had a room with atrium view. The pictures were much nicer than in person. The breakfast was very basic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    The staff was amazing, the bed super comfortable, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was amazing, the bed super comfortable, and the environment was super quiet. Even if the weather was very bad, we had a super relaxing week-end.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Fair enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and needs to be renewed

    Easy to reach with parking place available. Staff is kind and always available. Beach and restaurants are very close

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great! The breakfast was very good with a big selection. The room was quiet, comfortable and very clean. You can rent a bike there, and the stuff was very helpful and friendly. I can highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Good for one night stay, the beach is very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was limited, bread was hard and dry. Croissaint is not croissant but hard bread in shape of croissant. Maybe an option to get it fresh from bakery

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Nice Hotel near to the Beach - we can definitely recommend Costa Nova Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine for us!

    I can definitely recommend Costa Nova Hotel. We had a first nice stop at Costa Nova Hotel on the way from Porto to Lisbon so we made a second stop on our return journey to Porto. We were very satisfied with the equipment and the service - it was a realy good value for money. Parking was no problem - we were here in the off-season (in mid-October). In 5 Minutes you can be by walk at a great beach. That circumstances decided us to stay there again on our return journey. Unfortunately I forgot some T-Shirts at our second stay, but there was a superb communication with the hotel staff so they send the T-Shirts to my home address in Germany. Once again a big THANK YOU.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Modern hotel in quaint little fishing village. Easy walk to nearby: beaches, river, restaurants etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean modern well run hotel in quiet setting close to beaches, river, shops & restaurants. Good breakfasts. On site parking available, but plenty of safe free street parking in nearby surroundings. Great area for long level walks or cycling.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Good stay overall, but it would have been nice to go the extra mile with the guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I was really disappointing, that after ringing 3 times, and ask for a room looking at the back of the hotel, and hotel staff ensuring that it was allocated, they failed to do so on arrival. It was our Honeymoon, and they made little effort on it. Also, as we were during 8 nights, no one through our stay, asked us to move the room

    Hotel was nice, and staff was very welcome thought out all the stay. Always a smile in their faces.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    The hotel was very central to the beaches and the local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the teabags at breakfast were individually wrapped in plastic which were impossible to open.!

    The hotel was very central to the beaches and the local shops. It was very clean, the staff were helpful and everything worked well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    The staff was really helpfull, they let us leave our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was really helpfull, they let us leave our luggages and even printed us our boarding passes. Everything was great, hotel has a very good location and it is very clean and comfortable. We definitely will come back next year to Costa Nova.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    A cool place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are veery bad quality.

    Great location near the beach, restaurants and typical fisherman houses. Photographer's paradise. a lot of parking spaces available in the vicinity. We liked our stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Very good value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wooden floors. Comfortable separate beds. Relatively large bath with nice stone floor and walls. Very good quality breakfast. Parking in the basement or in side streets.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel in costa nova
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was nice, Location was great - close to beach and restaurants/cafes/shops, breakfast was excellent, they borrowed us an umbrella and towels for the beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Small but very nice village with beautiful coloured houses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small but very nice village with beautiful coloured houses. It takes approximately 5min to walk to the beach. Next beach cafe is about 10- 15min walk on the beach. It wasn't hatd to find a parking lot as parking is for free in the streets and there are a lot of parking lots in the parallel-street to the hotel. At least there was enough space in May...don't know how crowed it is duei g the summer months. A lot of restaurants were still closed. We definitely recommend going to aveiro, a lovely city nearby. The breakfast was good. The room and the bathroom were clean. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.5
    Good location in general,many cafes around, nature views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is not located in the 1st seaside line, so windows come to street side and balcony go to living houses. Photos of building front not real, taken from another house. At night searching for water (no service in room,no minibar) we didn't find anybody in reception,also no bar,no water automat to buy. Water from water tap is chlorinated to drink.

    Good location in general,many cafes around, nature views

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    very good location and perfect beach 5 min walking from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast - really bad orange juice. it was not a juice, it was some orange color drink

    very good location and perfect beach 5 min walking from the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice and friendly place close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls or doors are not very soundproofed, you can hear people talk on the corridor; but since the place is very small and there's only a few rooms on each floor, it doesn't happen very often.

    The room was not big, but nice and clean, with a balcony. We slept very well in the bed. There's also a safe in the room. No fridge though. Good breakfast. Very informal atmosphere, you can sit in the restaurant and read books and magazines. There is a bike rental in the hotel! The hotel is situated very close to the beach (3 min walk), also a lot of restaurants can be reached within a couple of minutes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.9
    I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small. There was only one chair. I didn't like the croissants. About the only thing I didn't like...

    Location, heating of the room, Wifi, fresh fruit at breakfast. The room was very well lighted.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.2
    Friendly hotel in a tidy summer village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room had an unspectacular view to the back yard. The village is a summer resort and seems a bit artificial.

    Small, friendly, comfortable and quiet hotel in a tidy little beach village with a beautiful beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Great location in Costa Nova, near the lagoon and the rows...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in Costa Nova, near the lagoon and the rows of beautiful striped houses. There is an excellent restaurant called Canastra do Fidalgo nearby and it's just a short walk from a really long beach which leads to an impressive lighthouse in Barra.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful Town, Beautiful Hotel, Amazing People
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I felt that bed was slightly uncomfortable in my room. But that could be just me (as my partner was fine sleeping on it)

    The staff at this hotel were AMAZING. They were respectful, polite and always had a smile on their faces. The breakfast was fresh and consisted of a good variety of foods/fruits. We stayed 4 nights here and wished our stay was longer.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay! The Hotel is in a perfect location, very close to the beach, nicely decorated and clean rooms, good breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accomodation does not have sea or river sight.

    Good room & breakfast for the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    really nice hotel close to the ocean beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing specific

    really nice hotel close to the ocean beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    I recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    I recommend this hotel. The personnel really helpful and friendly. In general 10/10.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    The underground parking is difficult to get in and out of.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good

    The underground parking is difficult to get in and out of. Need a small car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    A very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room too small.

    Eccellent position, kindness of the receptionist, good price, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, right next to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, right next to the beach. Friendly and helpful staff. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    good location to visit beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    very old disgusting terrible blankets

    good location to visit beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    A charming town with really nice beach and amazing dunes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could be for free off season.

    Comfortable balcony, unfortunately view on hotel but perfect for evening glas of vine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.3
    The facade
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular

    The facade

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel with good breakfast in a touristical place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    7 € for Underground parking No nice view from all rooms, nor to lagoon neither to ocean

    friendly Service, acceptable WLAN

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    The host went out of her way to make sure we were satisfied with our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were helpful and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean & good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    It was okay overall - but the hotel was a bit generic and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was okay overall - but the hotel was a bit generic and the breakfast wasn't good at all either.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.7
    Beaches are beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little damp

    Beaches are beautiful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room with a nice balcony. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Comfort and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service and breakfast were all excellent. A quiet hotel in a small beach settlement.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.5
    Cool location, great beaches, fun town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice location, lovely town, great beaches nearby, bright, clean room, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location. Breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.3
    For one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, breakfast -nothing special

    Quiet stay

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.1
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy hotel. Rooms could use insolated doors

    Good balance of price and service provided.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Perfect quiet and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only wish i had a room with a view.. otherwise it wa perfect

    Quiet clean great breakfast with alk the fixings

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy due to sound echoing off brick walls in corridors.

    Nice hotel with great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom could be bigger. We had to call to request higienic paper.

    Friendly staff. Hotel is a little bit old, but value for money was good. Good breakfast with a fantastic view to the castle and the city.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    2.5
    None.
    • Solo traveller

    Azevedo they do not laundry bed linen and towel. towel was wet and dirty. bed linen also was really dirty. staff does not speak English at all. No Wifi in the room. Unkindness. Waste money.

    None.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    7.9
    Location excellent: close to restaurants and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was much smaller than appeared on the website. Very basic accommodation.

    Location excellent: close to restaurants and beach. Breakfast also excellent. Nice bonus that our room had a balcony, although not really the time of year to enjoy it.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.0
    Ligging is goed, tussen strand - 200m en rivier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ligging is goed, tussen strand - 200m en rivier. Vlakbij restaurantnew en wandel promenade. Centrum Aveiro is 10 min. rijden, ideaal voor s' avonds.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    The hotel was comfortable and clean, and nothing was too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel was comfortable and clean, and nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff, who made us very welcome and were very helpful at all times.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Loved every single thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel staff was not much helpful when I was emailing them trying to get the information about public transport. Needed to find my own way.

    Loved every single thing. Room nice, bed comfortable, nice breakfast, great location.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff and clean basic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cloudy and windy weather, but it is what it is

    Friendly staff and clean basic room. Good restaurant next gorner (Dori) and beautiful sandy beach 500 meters away. Excellent ice cream&crepe bar Veneto near Barra (= lighthouse) by car 10 minutes.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    8.3
    - The location is great as you can get to the beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Minor remark: the picture showing the front view of the hotel is missleading. The hotel is located in a small street and the house at the opposite site of the street is quite close. Therefore the view of the balcony is limited. minimarket and most of the restaurants are closed during low season. you therefore might plan to go to aveiro to have lunch/dinner (about 10km)

    - The location is great as you can get to the beautiful beach in a few minutes by foot. The surrounding is really beautiful with the colorful houses. - there are plenty of parking spaces (no charge) available at the promenade. so there is no need to park in the garage of the hotel (maybe in very high season when promenade is crowded). - breakfast is okay

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    8.3
    Everything was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was clean. The rooms have no view, the room was a bit small and the breakfast is basic but is fair enough for the money spent.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.2
    Close to the ocean, everything was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to the ocean, everything was fine.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    Excellent staff, good position of the location, delicious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent staff, good position of the location, delicious breakfast, good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.9
    The best location to see Costa Nova striped houses and right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The best location to see Costa Nova striped houses and right next to beach.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    7.5
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Area is very boring. Out of way.

    Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.8
    Very good service, staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very good service, staff friendly.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    10
    Comfort, friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Comfort, friendliness

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: