Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beira Rio

Rua Dr. Afonso Costa Nº 108, 7750-352 Mértola, Portugal

#10 of 15 hotels in Mértola

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1173 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lacks the charm factor - though my husband disagrees - and the view is lovely and I'm sure sunshine would have added to it.

    The hotel is very comfortable, though our room lacked charm and space, it did offer very clean, practical comfort and proximity to the castle and a lovely view over the river.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was one of the smaller ones - maybe we should have booked one with river view and patio area.

    Good range of food for the buffet style breakfast. Lovely view of the river. Can book a river trip from sister hotel next door. Nice and close to old part of town and restaurants. Good location. Building a swimming pool!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lift would have been a great asset.

    Adequate breakfast, clean rooms although a little cramped. Lot's of stairs to climb or descend, no lift. Not really suitable for those with limited mobility. Nice view of river. Steep climb to town "center"

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Television to provide limited English programs.

    The reception team were extremely helpful, we had the opportunity to inspect other bedrooms, and the bedroom we selected provided a perfect relaxation, peaceful location. The panoramic views from the wide expansive terrace allowed a perfect view of the River Guadiana both upstream and downstream. Watching the river craft, following the small herd of goats, grazing on the far river bank, accompanied by the rhythmic ring of their bells. Spacious bedroom area, affording ease of movement, with the kitchen nearby to provide us with beverage , fridge, complete homely feel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment needs mirrors in bedrooms. Bathroom needs toilet roll holder and towel rails. Apartment needs to be serviced during stay. TV in each bedroom but kitchen/lounge has none.

    Good location between old town and new. Comfortable apartment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I look really hard to try and find something I did not like., I d say the reading lamp by the bed could be a little stronger.....

    IWe liked the marvellous view, the smiling staff, the comfort of the rooms, the total quiet at night , the superb balcony overlooking the river...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to pay extra to get a room with twin bed, as in our reservation. We felt somewhat cheated upon, first time in Portugal. Seems to happen often in this hotel. Don't bother about their restaurant tips.

    Fantastic river view. Good breakfast. River tour and guide splendid, even with some language barrier. Mertola is fantastic to stroll, but be prepared for some serious climbing. Castle tower is a must. For lunch or dinner head straight for Terra Utopica, and enjoy the civilized and stylish environment and delicious food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress cover felt plasticky and made you sweat. Breakfast was average and the coffee horrible (tasted like chicory)

    The lovely balcony over the river

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no phone to contact the reception, the bathroom was not very confortable and it had no bidet. We portuguese are accostumed to it!

    The room was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not very welcoming. There are no bikes to hire as advertised on their site. Breakfast was very basic and the hotel is somewhat old.

    Hotel is very well located and easy access to all you need in Mértola.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We enjoy the independence of self-catering, but the two-bedroom apartment was too remote from the hotel to be able to readily use its facilities. Frankly, we felt rather like poor relations! We saw no staff throughout our four days there - and on check-out no-one even asked whether we'd had an enjoyable stay. The kitchen was randomly equipped (a dozen knives but three spoons! ... and we had to ask for the advertised toaster/kettle to be brought to the apartment), there was no table and only two metal chairs on the balcony and, over and above the beds and a kitchen table/chairs, there was no sitting area (a pretty useless wooden unit, with nothing in it, could be replaced by a settee or couple of easy chairs to make it more 'homely'). We only had one set of keys, which made access a problem if we split up during the day to do different things - and non-functioning lights in the entrance hall/stairs and intercom/door release were safety issues. Sorry if this sounds picky, but if a couple of the staff spent a few days in the apartment, I'm sure they'd see where improvements could be made.

    The apartment was well situated to take advantage for Mertola's attractions, its nice range of restaurants and shops, and it had a balcony which (almost) overlooked the river.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took us a while to locate someone to check us in! Be aware stairs are quite steep if carrying heavy bags. Toilet a little close to the bath if you happen to have long legs. But just minor points, overall it was good.

    Lovely big room with, as promised, a river view from the end of a large balcony. Huge comfortable bed. Location just downhill from the old town, parking on street was easy (and free).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was so slow and ineffective as to be barely there.

    Nice simple room, very clean, with views over the river. A separate shared area for guests to prepare their own food, equipped with fridge, microwave, kettle. Mertola is an amazing little jewel of a place, sleepy and quiet but steeped in history, and this hotel is in an excellent position to start exploring.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Access to the bar and other facilities in the hotel and availability of snacks could have been explained when we arrived , as we did not discover this until half way through our holiday, Also, door banging was quite noticeable at night and early morning..

    wonderful position overlooking the river with a shared terrace and breakfast room with hotel museu. Mainly helpful staff, who were also very attentive at breakfast in keeping the buffet supplied.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely friendly, helpful staff who went out of their way to accommodate us and our bicycles. Fabulous views over the river to the opposite hillside and with the castle in view from our enormous veranda. Great breakfast - would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a room for a large group, but didn't understand the rooms were in separate places. The properties were pretty close, so it was ok.

    Location was very nice. Breakfast didn't have much variety, but everything had good quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    DONT come here if you’re expecting good service. For some unknown reason we were given an inferior room the size of a shoebox and it was only after protest that we got the room with a balcony which was what we paid for. And it was not that they were overwhelmed by customers. Very poor receptionist skills and at the rate she’s going, she will drive away potential customers.

    Room was comfy but we only got the room we booked for after protest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply great. And the price very ok, 30euro in march. Great river view balcony, spacious, great comfortable bathroom with thub and shower. Very clean As IT was not a season peak I got to choose between the room that i booked (castle view) and the river view. I stayed one Night longer as i liked IT very much.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was very slow in the room; practically nonexistent. Much better reception in the lobby. Despite that I would definitely stay here again

    Room with balcony and river view. Good location in the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside door was a bit hard to close. and the room door could isolate the noise better. Maybe carpeting the hallway would help to have less noise in the corridor.

    Awesome view to the river and bed was very comfy!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the balcony was extremely small. not what i expected as the advert picture showed a spacious area. the available fridge didn't work. the un-manned hotel/reception also had an open front door that anyone could enter! unnecessary as each room has the front door key.

    the hotel/common areas/room was very clean. location and views are great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame room not ready for us at 3pm, but sat in the sun on the balcony waiting so not too bad!!

    Croissants and pastel de natas from nearby café were excellent!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room took a while to heat up as typical Portuguese room, designed to keep cool, but in February it was chilly. TV signal was a bit dodgy.

    Location was excellent, close all sites and with views of river. Plenty of choice of cakes, breads and drinks for breakfast. Great shower and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 bed apartment with no lounge??? No comfortable chair,only place to sit was at kitchen table.

    The beds were very comfortable,air con in both large bedrooms.Towels were plentiful for both of us.Kitchen well equipped.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kitchen should have a cooker not just a microwave, It does have a beautiful terrace overlooking the river though.

    Lovely place I would recommend it to anyone looking for tranquillity, nature etc. Very clean and great value. The village is beautiful and so peaceful! If you get the chance visit the waterfall nearby!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift Kitchen facilities were only small kettle, small microwave and toaster. 2 dishwashers, one out of order. No laundry facilities which we had expected - just a laundry service at 3 Euros for a shirt, 8 Euros for trousers to be washed.

    Big room on top floor with massive patio giving great views of river and castle. Shared services with Hotel Museu next door means that there is effectively 24 hour reception

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room is too small, the blanket is not clean, also the air conditioner did not work.

    the location is perfect. You could have a wonderful view of the river. The lady is very nice, also the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived at 6pm, but found the room was cold and humid. Also the tv had few channels working ... notwithstanding the amazing location, the room and care was much under the expectations from what mentioned in the website.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The information on the site could have emphasized the river front; it is gorgeous. We had a large patio right on the river. Nice spot for wine at sunset.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor niggles -No sink plug [I always take a universal sink plug] and no shelf to put toiletries on.

    Great views from the tiny balconies, comfortable be and helpful staff. No breakfast provided but an excellent bakery just up the hill, and the market cafe does very good coffee and tostas and has the best river views in town from its balcony. The hotel guest kitchen was clean, with fridge, but with limited cutlery. Perhaps a lot had "walked".

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a young girl from reseption (16/10/2017) who is unprofessional and so rudness ! I can't believe it. Please To find other jobs, unavailable ~~you are!

    We reserved a Apartment for 4 nights, it's Good location and view. The Kitchen facilities is convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not the get the expected appartment but finally an alternative in the Hotel although the rooms are okay but pretty small

    location with view on the river and close to village centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything ok. Only the lady at the front desk on our first day was not so welcoming.

    This place has surprised me a lot! It was such a great value for money. It has been a pleasure to stay there. Clean and spacious room, good and clean bathroom. Comfortable beds with clean and quality sheets and extra blanket. We had a room in the ground floor with a terrace with chairs and table which was the same size as our room:) We had there a great dinner with a fantastic view on a river, birds, goats and sheep. I have to say that I was impresses as the reality was much more better than on pictures. We have rented a kayak for 6 EUR/hour/2 person at the front desk - this was also cool. I highly recommend to visit Mertola (we have traveled 2 weeks around Portugal and this was the greatest surprise). P.S.: there is a small bakery few steps from the hotel where you can buy super fresh bread and sweets - just follow you nose.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and helpful but sometimes hard to find as the reception is in the adjoining hotel. Internet was inconsistent , from good to very patchy at times.

    Wonderful view from our balcony over the river. it was a comfortable quiet room. Also having the use of a communal kitchen with a fridge, microwave and toaster was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was smaller than expected.

    Excellent city and nice location of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and had a great view of the castle. Very nice restaurants in the local area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like to see birds in a cage on our balcony - not a practice I agree with (I wanted to free them!)

    We had a great family room with a big balcony and fantastic river views. Comfortable beds and pillows . We've stayed many times here because it's such good value for money and Mertola is a charming place. We'll be back again and again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been a bit more signage or explanation of what's available. I didn't know there was a bar on site until the last night we were there.

    Comfortable bed, air conditioned rooms (a must in the summer, when we were there). There is a breakfast available for a small extra fee - well worth the investment! Other than breakfast, there is no restaurant with other food available directly through the hotel, though there is a bar. There is an amazing restaurant (Terra Utopica) in the old part of town (inside the walls) which is about a ten minute walk from the hotel where delicious dinner with amazing views can be had. The hotel is reasonably modern and in an excellent location with good views. The balcony outside our room was huge, with a nice river view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi stopped working from time to time but was always resolved promptly.

    Great modern accommodation. The terrace of our room was very big with beautiful views over the river. The location is perfect. Very nice breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could be better and perhaps breakfast could be more varied.

    The value for money, the location and the overall good quality of the room. The views over the river Guadiana was superb.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many English channels on the television

    It was a nice apartment which is adequate for a short stay. The receptionist was very kind by letting us check in early

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some refurbishing work was done, our room should not have been rented. very noisy air conditioning all night long. dirty terrace.

    nice view on the river.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We definitely didn't like the fact that we didn't have wifi access. The access is so poor that we can't open one single website, facebook,...

    We really enjoyed the view of the rooms, the little terrace outside the hotel and as well the lilltle cat :) The place is calm and nice for people who like nature and don't suffer with the warmth (42degrees).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is near the old town of Mertola and you can reach the castle in 10 min walking. The room was comfortable and also the bathroom. at the reception the staff organize boat trip and rent you kayak.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom could use a bit more counter space as we had to store some things on a stool.

    we had a wonderful view of the river from our balcony. It was an amazing way to wake up in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not enough clothes hangers, only 3 between 2 people. Balcony was too small for 2 people not enough space to sit and have a drink unless you wanted to sit in the communal area. Pillows too soft for us but mattress was excellent, very firm. Shame we were unable to do the river boat trip, it got cancelled the 2 days we were there and that was one of the reasons we went.

    The view was superb. Good room, air con welcome as definitely needed in June. Nice shower with plenty of hot water. Fridge in shared kitchen was good although a small fridge in the room might have been better.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle a bit dated. Room small but adequate. It was very hot 38-40. No access to cold water or fridge. Cold water tap produced tepid water. No outside access to any shade. Would stay again but at cooler time!

    Very central location. Great views across the river from balcony. Friendly staff. Breakfast good 6 Euros. Good value for money.Clean :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    In terms of prize - nothing wrong

    Good location - overviewing the river. 5 min walkikng to centre and castle. Got a spacious twin bedded room with large bathroom as well. Fast wifi. Breakfast to be paid extra was OK due to Portuguese standards. Lobby is accomodated at neighbouring Hotel Museum.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it is good.

    We stayed in the older building. It is very good with large terraces on request. There is a small guest kitchen with micro wave, small stove, fridge. Beira is at the bottom of the old town, it is a steep walk to the castle. Though incredibly worthwhile effort.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had stayed here before so when I booked I called them and insisted to get one of the upper floor rooms as my previous experience in the lower floor rooms was not good at all. When contacting the property I was guaranteed I would be staying in an upper floor room as requested and they told me not to worry, when I arrived I was told after checking in that I would be staying in a lower floor room as apparently another guest decided to stay an extra night last minute and therefore I wouldn't be getting the room I requested, I was very upset because I wasn't warned about this before driving 200kms to the property, specially because I called them 2 hours before checking in at 1am saying I was on my way, which meant they already knew what was going on and simply had me fooled. The 6€ per person breakfast is very plain and I would advise having breakfast at one of the many coffee shops around where the choice abounds and you'll get more value for your money. The room had spiders in cobwebs in the windows, ceilings and furniture, cleanliness is clearly being overlooked at this property. There are no duvets, blankets are provided if you get cold I wasn't able to use them as I'm allergic to them. The wifi is very poor and if you are thinking of working on your laptop, forget about it, the tv service fails every 2 minutes and besides everyone at the property constantly complaining about the tv service and wifi, nothing is done about it and is simply addressed with a shrug of the shoulders. This property really has the potential to be great if only it's management would listen to its clientele and put in the effort...

    The location is wonderful and the view from the rooms overlooking the Guadiana River will be the highlight of your stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn't ready on arrival and took 50 minutes past their check in time to get cleaned! Absolutely pathetic and unacceptable, and nobody cares!( But this seems to be part of the portugese travel experience, as it's happening regularly)

    The room was spacious, with a lovely river view. Very clean .Comforatable bed and very quiet setting.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the shower in our room. A shelf or some place in the bathroom to put tolietries.

    Wonderful view of the river and the opposite bank with vegetation and goats. Ducks and ducklings fun to watch. We had a large deck which was good for enjoying the late afternoon and evening. We liked having the extra space. The views of the town and castle lighted after dark were beautiful. Good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the room is not drinking water and they expect you to buy drinking water and I need to take pills. They did give me some complmently water after some words.

    The pressure of theshower

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel in the centre of beautiful, old town. Situated on the river, we recommend rooms with river view. Comfortably and clean bathroom. Intetresting musuem in hotel. No problem with parking a car. Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have hot water for a shower on last night,but were able to use another rooms shower the next morning. Thanks

    Friendly helpful staff. Nice continental breakfast. Great location. Surrounding countryside beatiful and good for birding.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairway is VERY steep - no elevator. The lady staffing the desk (next door - check-in is in a separate building) carried my suitcase up. Good thing, it would have been difficult for me to do that. Walls are somewhat thin - some people down the hall were talking loudly enough to be disturbing.

    We had a fantastic large balcony (really terrace) overlooking the river, with a view of the castle if you looked in the other direction. Breakfast was good (great croissants!).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the bedroom was nice with a little balcony with lovely view ,the bed was too hard . Also had to take care not to leave window open as there was danger of mosquitos at night.

    Well located in nice position overlooking the river and close to old town, castle and museums. Good breakfast served in pleasant dining room or on large terrace outside . Very relaxing and peaceful spot .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is in the nextdoor Museo Hotel. The reception is overloaded it seems, on check in en check out times. So in Beiro Rio you see no staff. In the room a small fridge and/or water cooker would be helpful. We could not get a glass of hot water in the evening for our medicines.

    We booked a 3 bedroom for two, so we could have the lovely terrace. Nice and clean. Great spot, Mertola is quiet and very attractive. A really good deal this hotel and a fine base for hikes and walks. The helpful tourist office provdies maps and descriptions.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and shower was tiny, bathroom generally old fashioned , difficult to plug electrical equipment in anywhere in the bedroom to very small

    View over river and tranquil setting easy walk to good local restaurants

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's basic and you have to accept that. The TV needs to be replaced by a proper flatscreen type as the screen is so blurry

    It's a great location in a great little town. But you need to research the area first.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed comfort was poor. Lack of drawer space for clothes etc (ok for one night, otherwise would have to live out of a suitcase). Lighting insufficient (bedside lamp not able to connect to socket, and no lamp over desk/mirror).

    Great location, ample free parking, room views, breakfast choices, staff helpfulness and cheerfulness. Excellent check-in procedure and advice offered.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Suite (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked the 2 bedroom suite as I wanted a refrigerator. The suite was not in the hotel but located on the main shopping street of the town. It consisted of 2 bedrooms and bathroom with an outside shared courtyard (dining area) A domestic refrigerator was in the main bedroom along with the microwave! There were no plates, cutlery or drinking glasses etc. to use in the dining area. Parking outside the suite was on the street and required payment. There was noise from the street and adjacent apartments.

    The boat trip organised by the hotel on the Rio Guadiana was very pleasant. WiFi was very good. There a several cafes close by (nearer than the hotel) for breakfast. The museums and monuments are within easy walking distance. The hotel bar terrace had great views.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny shower. Overly firm beds. Not permitted to check in until 2pm. No tea/coffee facilities in the room.

    Central location with fantastic view. Helpful staff. Decent breakfast. Lovely private terrace overlooking the River Guadiana. Daily river boat trip. Kayaks and bikes for hire. Good value for money. Hairdryer and TV in room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    The riverside location is stunning, so peaceful and relaxing. The staff were super efficient but unobtrusive, catering for all your needs without making a fuss. There's plenty of free parking around the hotel and enough restaurants, bars and cafes nearby if you don't want to do any self catering. We chose to eat out and then sit on our terrace overlooking the river with a glass of wine. It's a perfect place to relax and unwind and a good base for exploring this lovely region of Portugal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Soundproofing could have been better in the rooms.

    Conveniently positioned near the castle and the river. Kayaks and bikes available to rent. Reasonable range of breakfast choices (the usual cold meats, cakes, bread, yogurt as well as croissants and scrambled eggs) Fresh orange juice available for supplement.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was old and very stale smelling. We woke up to the bathroom with many many ants, and ants crawling all over our luggage etc. We mentioned this at check out, and the lady said ants were common as it has been so dry. I told her we've been in Portugal and Spain for weeks now, and the is the first ants we've ever had in our rooms. We could hear the guy 2 doors down snoring! and the noisy a/c. The old part of the hotel is dark and badly in need of a make over. She shrugged her shoulders, I paid the bill. We would not recommend the older hotel, it was not at all what we expected. We rented a junior suit, and it was only a double and single bed and bathroom. It did had a large deck overlooking the river - but that's nothing much to see. The deck was dirty as were the chairs and the table on it - looks like it was never cleaned. We drove 5 hours to get to this hotel - wish we hadn't bothered! We did not know there was a new and an old hotel when we booked!

    Not much to like other than the old ruins and parts of the town it's self. We were obviously given a room in the old hotel. (The new hotel next door looked quite nice.)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - There was no-one at the reception when we arrived at 9 pm (though we previously indicated our arrival time), only a sign that we should go to the reception of a hotel nearby. We went there, but there was also nobody! We called loudly several times, yet nobody showed up... After about 15 minutes of waiting and calling loudly and walking around the empty hotel, I finally found the receptionist in the yard, chilling with her smartphone. She didn't seem to care or to even apologize that she wasn't at her work place... - Upon check-in the receptionist informed us that we were moved to another room than the one we had booked - without any explanation or asking if it was okay with us! :-/ As I went up to the new room, I found out that this room was MUCH smaller and didn't provide a terrace (we paid extra to have that terrace!). After I went down and complained, we were finally allowed to go into the room we had actually booked - in total, 30 minutes after our arrival at the hotel... After hours of driving that day, wasting another half an hour just to get into our room was really tiresome. All this made us feel quite unwelcome; the terrace view directly on the castle only partially made it up for the initial bad impression... :(

    - The terrace - Spacious room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surrounding area does not have much to offer.

    Hotel and sister hotel Museu were very small but clean and tidy and great value for money. River view was our choice and was probably the best choice. Mertola was a nice place to visit for a couple of days and a the short river cruise and a visit to the castle are recommended. There were two or three nice restaurants in the town to sample good local food at extremely good value for money

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the hotel under the castle and beside the river made for stunning views. The hotel was spotlessly clean but retained character. It was excellent value for money and breakfast (which cost 5 euros) was great for the cost. The hotel next door, owned by the same people, rented out kayaks and bikes.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not as big as they say. The kitchen has no cooking device except a microwave!? No privacy on the terrace, you can shake hands with your neighbours..!

    The view over the River Guadiana is just great from the terrace. The hôtel is in the town center.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air condition was mega noisy, and too hot to sleep without it. Bed was very hard. Staff did not recommend the terra utopica restaurant, which was amazing, and a must visit. (Let's hope it's not because they are polish and not Portuguese.) Also didn't mention the aqueduct, not really interested in telling guests what was great in the area.

    Location, looking over the river, close to walk to everything, esp the fab restaurant terra utopica. Good wi fi. Lovely breakfast on the terrace. Close to the amazing aqueduct.... A must see.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment lay on a different road to the main hotel and so no river views.

    We stayed in an apartment for 4 which was generally very well equipped and comfortable. For the price it was very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too hard like most in Portugal. Bathroom layout was cramped and awkward.

    Great location, our room had a large terrace with a castle and river view. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, furnishing and toilets are old.

    The staff were very friendly. Very good location near the river and a walk up to the castle. Spacious room and balcony.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Service, location, price/quality, all perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on edge of town and although the hotel is a little dated, Mertola is not a big town so the hotel was more than adequate for our needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Beira Rio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: