Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residencial Bela Star

Rua da Alegria, 642, Bonfim, 4000-037 Porto, Portugal

#173 of 198 B&Bs and Inns in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1289 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    2.5
    The office with the keys to the rooms is some tenths kilometers away
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you want to spend a night niear arport between your flights - avoid this property. This property is a hoax - I booked it because I had connecting flight from Warsaw airport early morning next day and this hotel declares that it is nearby airport. That is a lie. The rooms actually are near airport, but the office which gives keys to said rooms is in the city center and closes at 22:00. I've arrived to the rooms 21:40, called the phone stated on the website and the receptionist asked me to come to the city center for the keys; that of course was not possible without teleportation. Fortunatelly I have an old friend in Warsaw, so he came and picked me up. I've spend a night in his apartment and leaved it at 4 o'cloack to get to the plain. I've complained to the booking already and am waiting for my money back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Everything was just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-fi connection wasn't good enough.

    Everything was just perfect! The room was comfortable and cleaned every day. We liked it very much; location is close to the downtown.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    You get what you expect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 6 nights on the ground floor, the room was moisty and had sprider webs hanging from the ceiling. Looks like those webs are there forever. The noise level is high but it all depends on your neighbours, some people just can't be quiet apparently. TV is a joke (you can see it on the photo). Nobody told us that we had to leave the key in order to get a room service, we figured that out by day five, so imagine how wet everything was. There were two power sockets in the room but only one was working. 50c to print one page is a scam, there is a printing center just behing the corner, where it costs 5c.

    The price is very good, the location is decent - 10 minutes walking from Aliados, uphill though. The stuff, even if they don't speak English, is very sweet, expecially the cleaning ladies. They clean every day. It is very easy to find this place from a metro station, no more than 5 minutes from Marques and it's flat, so it is easy with the luggage. I believe that rooms on the 1-3 floors are much better as thay have big windows and stuff. Overall it was not a bad stay as we were there just to sleep. The bed was comfy and the sheets were clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    3.8
    Receptionist did not speak a single word of English (older guy).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not stay because i was offered cold room without a window in the basement were the heating was not working. PS: it was the last room - maybe others are better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    good location, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - we had a room close to reception (204), so sometimes it was noisy due to conversations, and sometimes we could smell cigarettes - the bathroom was a bit dirty, with the hairs of previous guests on shampoo sachet

    - the receptionist was very nice, but he didn't speak a word of English or Spanish. But it wasn't a problem with google translator. - hotel is located 5 min walk from metro station (Marques). Or you can walk to the center, it takes about 25 min. - big parking place located on a steep hill. It is possible to enter the building from the main road or from the parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    4.6
    Only If you are alone and dont really care where you stay for cheap prices this is the place.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like my room at all, was dark, and old fashioned, could hear my neighbours next doors all the time, including when they were in the toilet, my window would not lock and the inner window had no privacy, the bathroom was clean but the shower was way too small and old, had mold on the fillings area, the door would not close. Walls had these yellow splash stains next to the bed, suggesting that may be some human fluids. Finally the cleaners although lovely and nice, they use bleach literally everywhere so I had to open my window when I came back from town and go for another walk because I could not stand the smell.

    I liked that the location was easy to find. The receptionist was also nice. You get exactly what you pay for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    2.5
    What a dump.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No smoking hotel??? Who do I find smoking...the receptionist. Whole hotel smell of smoke.. The attitude of the people belligerent, rude, no manners My dog has more than these clowns . surprised trip advisor gave them any support. Pls.take this hotel out of any lists. First time writing about any hotel...but couldnt let this one go. Thanks for your attn.

    What a dump.No truly it was first time Porto and what a horrible memory to take away with me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.0
    Too far no wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room. Not even in the lobby often. Very far away from the center all the way up about 30'. No hot wather for 4 days. Room very cold or ver hot with hot air that dry the athmosfhere.

    The kindness of the staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and a place to return to for security and friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Portugese government mentality is to be as unhelpful and unwilling to make the hard working Portugese workers in the private sector, get on and succeed. Many Portugese people are arrogant, ignorant and totally uninterested in making the foreign visitor welcome. This hotel was the opposite of that, keen to welcome outsiders and doing its best, despite the backward looking attitude of most other Portugese people.

    The staff were so friendly and obliging and worked so hard to make the stay of all visitors a really enjoyable one

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    6.7
    Good solid budget place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too away from the river, especially tiring to walk back after a busy day exploring Porto ))

    This place has no frills, but it's clean and comfortable for a few nights in Porto. Our room was tidied up every day, and every day they changed the towels. The staff on reception do not speak English, but they are friendly and do try to help. All in all it was comfortable, I'd stay here again...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    4.6
    There was no bathtub, they proposed a room with one but it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bathtub, they proposed a room with one but it was dark and really humid. The bed wasn't really comfortable. No kitchen. The staff wasn't really nice and the hall smelled like cigarettes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.9
    Very close to the center,quiet and safe area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pretty old furniture in the room and the bathroom, the water was continuously dropping in the shower, cleanliness was decent but could have been better.

    Very close to the center,quiet and safe area. even if the conditions were not amazing, it was good value for money. the gentleman at the reception was extremely nice and gave us all the information we needed. he did not speak English though, we knew some Portuguese so we understood him.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.8
    Only for one night if your budget is limitated.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I spent more than 20 minutes at the front door ringing the bell and then calling by phone and booking support. The owner or any reception wasn't there at 16.00 on Sunday. So another gest opened the door and then waiting for the reception 10 minutes more without apologise from nobody.

    Only for one night if your budget is limitated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful Porto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It has a narrow driveway, but given there's ample parking, this is not really a problem unless you're in a hurry.

    Convenient, ample parking, good room with ensuite, reasonably easy walking distance to city, excellent value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.8
    Decent location if you want to visit it during the summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed there at the beginning of December and in the room it was pretty cold...and this in the second room, because in the first one, no heating source, no hot water & no internet / wifi connection. In the second room, we had a heater that was working, and hot water working properly. Decent location, but I would recommend it during the summer...

    Good position in the city and the fact that it had parking at the location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could smell cigarettes smoke every morning due to personel were smoking under my window and inside reception I suppose. It was very noisy.

    Good location Cheap alternative to the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.4
    I don't recommend because...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like at all, the bed and the pillow its very uncomfortable, and the door doesn't open well, and the toilet doesn't work very well too.

    The employees was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    2.5
    Absoloutely dreadful, horrific, smelly place to stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When I got to the other destination on my trip I realised that items of clothing had been stolen from my suitcase at Residencial Bela Star. The cleaning lady stole my clothing!!! This is totally unacceptable as the clothing stolen was brand new!! I am most upset by the whole experience & would not recommend this accommodation to anyone. I feel the property needs a health & safety inspection!! I am surprised that booking.com would have such a shoddy property on their books.

    This accommodation was dreadful. I was asked for payment up front before I saw the rooms. the bathrooms were extremely smelly & full of flies, there was a constant stench of sewage. To make matters worse the owner started shouting at me when I asked for a different room for my friend Mary Foley as her room was the worst. We had paid the money upfront as requested & so we had to stay there. One evening, on returning to my room there was a mouse in my room which ran out under the huge gap on bottom of the door.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Was clean, staff friendly enough, pretty good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head broken (not attached to the wall), bathroom door knob broken so couldn't fully close the door or you wouldn't be able to open it again, wifi didn't work in our room.

    Was clean, staff friendly enough, pretty good location. Good, free, on-site parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.1
    Localization was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was located in basement, so there was no view, even the worst one. Toilet wasn't clean, but they gave me towels at least :)

    Localization was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.4
    Cheap basic accomodation with good parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was really basic with very small room and the bathroom would need some improvements (the dripping faucet, scrapes in the bathtub, towel hangers). The reception lady did not speak english. But for one night stay it was ok.

    Cheap accomodation with enough space for parking, within walking distance to the centre of Porto.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    3.8
    Never choose this place if you can avoid it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The immediate location is awful, although it is close to a shopping street. The staff didn't speak English at all and the main receptionist was really unfriendly. We could hardly lock the door of our room and could not open the window because of the shutter. The toilet was leaking all the time and finally it got clogged.

    Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.4
    There is a free parking spot with the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small with just a little window to the street. The bathroom was dirty/musty. The staff speaks mostly portuguese and only a few words english. We often stay in cheap places but even for that price, the hygienic standards were very low.

    There is a free parking spot with the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.8
    Mediocre conditions for a cheap price. Personnel is terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioner, only a fan. The personnel is not speaking english at all and is rude. Soundproof does not exist, from early morning I could hear someone talking in the corridor. For an unexperienced driver there might be problems with the parking. We came to the hotel 12:45 and the manager was really angry because the check in starts only at 13:00...

    It is really cheap place to stay for a night or two. We received a city map with points of interests.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    2.5
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WIFI in room No air condition TV does not work Rude reception. Although I had a reservation, he still did not let me stay, and his attitude is very poor. He was cursing me from the beginning to the end. I will not consider this tourist trap any more!

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    2.5
    Disgusting and disgraceful. Avoid at all cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I returned to the property with my friend (who lives in Portugal) later in the day. As we entered the property, the insane man who works behind the reception flew at my friend and blocked his entrance. He started yelling at us that the room was only for one person and waving his arms like a mad man. We explained that we were just coming for me to get my sweater before going for dinner, but he was already in a frenzy of anger. It was inexplicable and totally irrational. The only possible reason could have been that my friend was Pakistani. So after several attempts to explain that my friend had no intention of staying at the property and that he lived in Porto, I said I was going to leave and go to another hotel. I asked for a refund but he refused, even though he had phoned the owner of the hotel and she had told him to refund all but the first night (I had paid for 7 nights). I phoned my bank to ask them to start a case against the transaction, which is now currently in progress. Disgraceful!

    There is nothing that I can tell you about this dreadful property and would advise everyone to stay clear, at all cost. I would not rate this anything but a big zero. I arrived late at night after a long plane delay so was unable to do anything about complaining and endured the first night. The room was in the basement - very dark. The window was open and looked out onto the service passage where the maid arrived in the morning. There was nowhere to put clothes - a wardrobe with a broken door and one hanger! I mean, how much are hangers! No chair in the room, so clothes had to stay in suitcase. There was a very nasty plastic sheet on the mattress which I immediately removed otherwise I would never have slept because the air conditioning did not work. The main reason I actually booked this place. What can I tell you about the bathroom? I have never seen such filth. Disgusting. The shower fell apart when I used it and all I had was a hose to use. But it did not end there.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.0
    Rude, unfriendly staff. Do not expect much from this accomodation. We wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did our reservation via booking.com, but when we arrived to the pension, they did not know about it. The man there did not speak english (or any other staff), was rude and unfriendly. I tried to explain that we had a reservation and asked for wi-fi password to find its confirmation in my e-mail. He did not reply and when I asked again, he just pointed to a paper behind him with the password making gestures that it is a big sing...After that he did not want the reservation and gave us paper to fill in. So the beginning was not good. The room was under the roof with one small window - and it was a problem to open it. Room had AC, but it did not work. Also the ventilation in the bathroom was not functioning. The closet was stinky. When we got back from a short walk in town, there was another man at the reception desk who needed some time to realise that we were accomodated inthe hotel, he than gestured that we should have had left the key from the room at the reception desk before leaving the hotel - only the other guy did not mention anything about it (nor was there any sign saying that).

    We could leave our baggage the next day...but I can´t write anything else, what I would appreciate about this place...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    3.3
    They need be more professional and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and bed wasnt clean. I found some hair under the pillow. In my room wifi doesn't work. The sound isolation was too bad. I heart all sounds coming from stairs.

    Easy check in

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.1
    24h front-desk, staff was hospitable despite language...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was without a window (well, there was a small one, but it was covered-up from the outside as I think it would directly face the street sidewalk) and would use some fresh air or better ventilation. En-suite bathroom felt somewhat worn-down.

    24h front-desk, staff was hospitable despite language barrier, gave me a much-needed tourist map. Comfortable bed. Still good value for money, especially including the private bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    6.7
    Cheap in every single way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dirty and smelled very strange. The toilet was designed in a way where flushing is not easily achieved.

    The price was good and we did have an ensuite bathroom. The bed was comfortable. Staff are very nice but do not speak English

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    4.6
    there was a massive mold stain in the wall and smell of it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was a massive mold stain in the wall and smell of it as well. the room was nothing like the one advertised in your website..I understand they might be different but the one I got was more a storage room than a actual bedroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    2.5
    Very BAD!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we got there the receptionist said that booking. Com had made the reservation but did not pay it. So he wanted us to pay the full amount, otherwise no room. I called for Booking.com and it did indeed show that Booking.com had not paid to the residencial Bella Star .. it cost me an expensive phone call because I was on guard for a long time ... eventually after half an hour should I talk With someone in english because the Dutch speakers were not available ... very bored everybody ... I would like Booking.com to refund me the amount of the phone call from Porto to the Netherlands. Also for the inconvenience we have experienced during these four nights at Residencial Bella Star I want my money back. I would like to see your response. G. van Leeuwen In the room was a mouse, and crawling on the wall was a diving pot. The room was not clean clean ... the towels were old and with big holes. The tiles in the bathroom and the shower and bath were full of dike mold ... very unhygienic, The traffic noise was weird, we could not sleep, there was no aircon in the room it was quite stuffy. The staff ask that the guests have to be quiet, but they themselves make a knocker at 4:00.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.1
    Safe secure reliable budget lodging in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No facilities such as tea, coffee breakfast or drinks available from what I could see.

    Decent and adequate budget lodging in Porto. Good value for money. Room clean and pleasant with bathroom and tv. A little out of town but well located. Good wifi

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.4
    Nice staff, awful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel was far from metro stations and the center of city. The room was quite awful. The air was damp, beds were really hard to sleep in and the room was cold. We couldn't open the window because it was directly to the cleaning lady's room. There was a lot of noises in the night and really early in the morning, which made it hard to sleep.

    The staff was super nice and helpful. Didn't speak much English but we managed with hand signs. Reception gave us a great map and tips. Reception was open 24/7 and we left the key always at the reception when went out. The toilet worked ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    5.0
    Cheap but cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only Portuguese spoken,I arrived at 21:00hours and the guy at reception claimed that I had booked for 2 nights,maybe I had made a mistake when booking but it clearly stated arrive 4 May,depart 5May. I will have to check that I am not charged for 2 nights.

    Very good shower.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.2
    i would come back here as i only paid 15 euros a night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very hard to find.......no signs or indications/directions from the front gate to the house which is 50 meters around a dark corner..badly lit at night. The kitchen was poorly equipped....

    the owner was a lovely lady who gave me Two nights for FREE!...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    5.0
    don't expect a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the weather intended to be pretty cold and there were only one thin blanket for one bed in hostel, at least the heater was working, so it was always on. But as it is a very old hostel, the heater is also very very old so we were afraid each time we left the place that we will come back to the burned room :)) so not very comfortable to feel always cold in the room...

    the hostel is located not far away from the center so it's nice to walk around, the price is also not bad at all, but.. It is good if you just come to the room for sleep, but no longer, as it is such a small and empty place, you do not want to be there for a longer period of time, there is nothing what else to do

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money, decent location, ok room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff did not speak English (beyond 2-3 words), shower equipment was partially broken (but all in all it was ok)

    The value for money is great. Location is pretty decent, in 15 min. walking you are in the very center of Porto. Room was in normal condition

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    3.3
    its an old place with noisy floor, its not that clean,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    its an old place with noisy floor, its not that clean, smells bad from humidity and mold, it has some stains in the bathroom and room walls, the shouwer has warm whater and it works, the people are a bit grumpy sometimes, its noisy, the fotos are too good for what you get for real. its cheap for some reason...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    4.2
    Hot shower when I was cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No heating in the room. Mould in the bathroom and dust in the cupboard. Terrible view out of the window - walls (in the basement). No receipt given when I paid. No kitchen facility.

    Hot shower when I was cold.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    10
    cheap and entertaining
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet blocked a bit too easily

    I liked that the staff couldn't speak English but really did try. The drawings to explain things were class. I also liked that the cleaner was so eager in the morning that she came barging into our room unannounced at 8am. If our football players had shown level of commitment and enthusiasm maybe we wouldn't have lost 5-0. 10/10

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    7.5
    Cheap and cheerful, clean and simple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My (very cheap) room lacked a table and chair. Noisy neighbourhood - lots of early-morning shouting in the street outside. No breakfast offered.

    Friendly concierge. Very good price for a double room with ensuite facilities and tv with several English-language channels. Comfortable bed. Cheap eateries nearby. Easy walk downhill into the town centre & riverside. Nearby metro station too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    6.3
    The room was clean, the bed was comfy but that's about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of stairs, no lift, didn't like the man on reception. Would not stay there again. How old are the photos of this property?

    The room was clean, the bed was comfy but that's about it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    the place itself was nice and clean, the staff very nice,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only not so good thing is the location. but we knew that in advance and we had a car so to us it wasn't an issue. only people should consider that when booking.

    the place itself was nice and clean, the staff very nice,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    4.6
    Don't expect too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was right in the door, you have to draw aside if you want to get in. The room was so small you couldn't get to the bathroom without bumping your leg into the bed. The room had no window. There was a kind of tunnel in the ceiling, it was about two metres long, and the end of it here was a lighting window or something but you can imagine how many lights could get into... The bathroom was so small you couldn't pass the toilet without grazing it. It was so old that you couldn't figure out that the black somethings are dirt, mold or what. The stuff spoke no english.

    Location was good, but not in the very center of the city. The bed was quite comfortable and the linen was clean. The wifi was ok.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    6.7
    Good for quick stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is very dark, and even when you open the window there is no fresh air

    Close to metro, downtown and some shops, stuff friendly although the doesn't speak English. Very cheap. Cleaned everyday

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    4.6
    Not worth a second look.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located in the middle of a very long, noisy, dirty street with little by way of local amenities. A right muddle on arrival since my name was not on their list though I had copy of my reservation. The bathroom door in room 103 looked like it had been salvaged from a rubbish skip.

    Not much.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    5.8
    Recommended only for sleeping
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small and cramped rooms. Staff does not speak English and do not even try to do so. I was given a different room than the one that I was shown on pictures on booking.com (get smaller and cramped with tiny window and broken air condiction) WiFi avilable only on groundfloor

    good place for people who need just a place to sleep, for relax - not recommend

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    7.1
    Small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very very small - hard to walk around both sides of the bed. Also, the room was advertised with A/C but did not have A/C.

    Hot water in the showers.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    5.4
    There were nice receptionist who didn't speak English...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room near cleaning ladies room. Every morning they were starting to smoke, speak very loud and woke us up. It was super annoying thing! And of course, wifi was working very poor.. Sometime I couldn't even send a message for my parents

    There were nice receptionist who didn't speak English but honestly tried to explain all the famous place in Porto

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.6
    Mould in bathroom in shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould in bathroom in shower. Díping / leaking water in shower corner. Red spotscon walls in room from killed insects

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no window in our room, just one on the roof.

    AdminIstrator was very nice, everything was clean, bathroom is good and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Staff don't speak english but it's very proactive...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff don't speak english but it's very proactive and reliable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.4
    Helpfull receptionist, fresh towels, the lounge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, bathroom, location, rude staff member , bad Wi-Fi, staff cannot speak English

    Helpfull receptionist, fresh towels, the lounge

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    4.2
    No Wi-Fi in the rooms and smells moldy and smooke
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi in the rooms and smells moldy and smooke

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.0
    No breakfast, no speaking English
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No English

    No breakfast, no speaking English

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Needs to be remodelated.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have a working TV (no sound).

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    2.9
    I don't recomment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I want to forget about this place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    The staff was friendly, the room very clean, a calm place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No basket for waste, no glass to put the toothbrush in in the bathroom

    The staff was friendly, the room very clean, a calm place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.8
    Staff wasnt helpful, no wifi, broken tv and very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasnt helpful, no wifi, broken tv and very noisy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    3.3
    very bad, never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very COLD, no heating, no insulation,noise,mold on the walls,100perc huminidy, no english speaking staff at all, never again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful, good service, comfortable
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant helpful, tidy, clean, quiet,

    Peaceful, good service, comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.7
    The service while checking out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service while checking out

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.7
    One place in town center city
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hostel in town center with good transportation to Oporto airport by Metro !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    not to bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathrooms on the second stay

    location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.3
    There was a big leak in roof of the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a big leak in roof of the bathroom...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.3
    nearly by centre of Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    recepcionist dont speak english, very cold in room, room without window

    nearly by centre of Porto

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.8
    Only for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very small. It is difficult to bathe in a very tight space in the bathroom.

    I liked the location and the security.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bliżej sie nie da :D

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    3.8
    Was like sleeping in a giant ashtray!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was like sleeping in a giant ashtray!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Very nice location, staff and accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice location, staff and accomodation. We really liked to be there. Trully recomend it!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    3.8
    Bathroom facility was too old, and wifi did not work well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom facility was too old, and wifi did not work well. These two were the most inconvenient part.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    4.2
    Only for one cheap night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi almost not working. Staff does not speak english at all. Very uncomfortable bed, Many, many more....

    Cheap...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    A nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff didn't speak english

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    4.6
    Staff didnt know any word of English
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didnt know any word of English

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: